Change your search

The Saragossa Inn B&B

34 Saragossa St. , Saint Augustine, FL 32084 USA (Show map)
4.6
70 Reviews
$109 - $249
per night

Check Dates

About

The Saragossa Inn is off the beaten path in a quiet residential neighborhood just a few steps from everything you want to do and see in Saint Augustine's Historic District. The Inn has plenty of off-street parking, so once you arrive you won't need to move your car for your entire visit. The Saragossa began life as a 1924 Sears Craftsman Bungalow that has expanded over the passage of time and now houses two guest suites and four guest rooms, all with private entrances and private baths. The layout of the Saragossa will allow you all the privacy you want, yet is small enough for you to receive all the attention you need. The Saragossa is charming and romantic, quaint and comfortable, relaxing and revitalizing. Rest in a room that will pamper you and your spirit. Awake to a three-course breakfast served with the gracious hospitality you expect when choosing a Bed and Breakfast such as the Saragossa Inn.

Reviews

Overall
4.6

Write A Review

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
70 Reviews

Write A Review

Excellent Experience!

4.8 on December 24, 2014

This is the best B&B we have ever stayed at! The room was immaculate and decorated beautifully. Gibbs, the innkeeper was so helpful in making suggestions on places to see and restaurants to enjoy. We were not disappointed! We will definitely be returning to this quaint B&B and telling our family and friends about the Saragossa Inn!


Our enchanting experience !!!

5 on December 17, 2014

I went The Saragossa inn B&B with my 12 year old niece to celebrate my birthday, and my experience was awsome. The room, the ambiance of the B&B and the city of St Augustine was like living in an other era, the sound of the water fountain, the room was cozy and well decorated. My niece said to me "I could live here all my life" Mr Gibbs, was the best host, , the brunch was delightful and tasty. He treated each guest like royalty and even offered my niece others food choices in case she did not like what was on the menu, but she was so impressed with the tasty brunch, that was no needs for it. Thanks a million Mr Gibbs and Chuck for making our stay in your B&B a wonderful one. I will see you next year!


Roach In Room And A Very Rude Innkeeper

1.0 on December 07, 2014

Checked into the Saragossa Inn at 3pm.  Noticed the A/C wasn't pulling humidity out of room.  A man was working outside so we asked his assistance.  I assume he was Gibbs but he never introduced himself.  Got the problem mostly fixed, still stuffy in the room but not intolerable.  Went to dinner and Nights of Lights.  Came back and was getting pajamas out of suitcase when something caught my eye.  A huge cockroach!!!  Three inches long.  Crawling down the fireplace.  It hit the floor with a thud and ran back into the fireplace.  If you see a roach with the lights on then they are plenty more when the lights are off.  We decided we couldn't sleep there and called Gibbs.  He told me it was probably a palmetto bug.  Being born and raised in Florida I know the difference.  But did it really matter?  Didn't want it crawling across my face at 2am.  He then said "we could leave" and he would refund our deposit.  I was shocked he offered no apology or to come spray or anything.  When I requested an apology he yelled at me "WHAT DO YOU WANT ME TO DO".  He continued to yell and act uncivilized so I hung up on him.  It ruined our long weekend and we had to forfeit ghost tour tickets and plans with friends the next day but no apology.  The Inn would be lovely with a new owner and a regular pest control service. Laura Payne, Barbara Jordan and Liz Layman

Innkeeper Response
At check-in, one of the daughters whispered to us “Help me. I am with my sister and my mother and they are crazy and I don’t want to be with them!” We are glad you got out of this weekend but sorry we are taking the brunt of it. Our little Inn sits in a quiet neighborhood of residential homes surrounded by 100 year old live oaks dripping in Spanish moss. Although they are beautiful to look at, this makes great nesting for Palmetto bugs. Leave a door open for too long, say when three ladies are bringing in all of their luggage, one is likely to get inside. Since there is, to our knowledge, no such thing as a 3 inch long cockroach in Florida, we have to assume this was a Palmetto. Our home receives monthly treatments by a certified Florida pest control company. When we got a phone call from an overly frantic lady proclaiming they could not possibly sleep after seeing this bug and that they were leaving, they were graciously told that there would be no charges and that even their deposit would be refunded. There was no yelling or screaming, well not from your Innkeeper. Gibbs Moore, Owner/Innkeeper Chuck Dunster, Owner/Innkeeper


Fantastic Weekend

5 on November 26, 2014

Great B & B, Great value for your dollar, Only a couple blocks from St. George St The owner Gibbs and his staff made the weekend very special for my wife and I stay.


First time B&B experience but won't be the last

4.0 on November 20, 2014

The accomodations were excellent. The rooms were quaint, clean and very quiet. The service was very pleasant and the food was excellent and very accomodating to our unique needs. We will recommend the Saragossa Inn B & B to all of our friends and family.


St Augustine

4.2 on November 17, 2014

They had a published rate that was much lower than I had reserved at the time of my booking. Much to my surprise and delight The lower rate was honored


Quiet and clean

3.6 on November 03, 2014

Spotlessly clean, quiet, nice rooms.


My first stay at a B & B and I loved it.

4.6 on October 13, 2014

The beds were so comfortable. The location was perfect, walking distance to almost every place we wanted to go. The food was fantastic and Gibb and his staff were great. I highly recommend the Saragossa. I plan to go back and stay again.


B&B 2014

5 on September 04, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Saragossa. The rooms are exactly as pictured and very comfortable. This was a birthday trip from my husband and the staff went out of their way to accomodate his request to have roses and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for me. Gibbs you are a great cook, we never had the need for lunch because of your fabulous brunch. We will definitely stay here the next time we come to town. Thanks Gibbs and Chelsea for a wonderful time. Debbie & Mark.


A disappointment.

2.2 on September 03, 2014

This B&B is in an excellent location for exploring St Augustine and the onsite parking is a big advantage. However, were were disappointed with the room which wasn't particularly clean, many of the power outlets didn't work, and the furnishing and decoration of the room, while quaint, were not functional. The whole place seemed to be in need of professional repair and renovation. The innkeeper indicated that this was being done gradually as the place had been in very poor condition when he took it over. The other disappointment was that breakfast was not served until 9.30-10am. This was too late for us as we wanted to get out and about earlier. So we only had one breakfast in a four night stay. One further problem is that the Innkeeper and/or staff are not often on site so you have to make a phone call if you want something done. We asked in the morning for our trash to be collected and for fresh soap and toilet paper. This was not done until 6.30 pm. All in all a disappointment.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your comments about our home. The maintenance, restoration and improvement of our nearly 100 year old Sears Craftsman home is a daily labor of love. Our goal has been to maintain the historic integrity of the house to create the atmosphere of a romantic by-gone era that one might expect from a B&B located in St Augustine, our nation’s oldest city. In fact, just one month before your visit we restored the bathroom in this room to reflect its original early 20th century style. We are extremely proud of the unique, romantic and homey ambiance that we have created as an alternative to contemporary hotels that all have the same generic look and feel. We apologize if you did not feel the cleanliness of your room met our high standards. Cleanliness is of the utmost importance to us, to which our previous reviews attest. We have inspected your room for any missed housekeeping details. GFI outlets are a safety measure and we would have been happy to reset these for you, had you notified us of the issue while you were at the B&B, if you let us know of an issue AFTER you leave we are unable to help. This guest room holds a king-sized canopied bed, a dresser, nightstands with drawers, a writing desk and an overstuffed chair. The entry hall to this room has a wet bar with small refrigerator, microwave and coffee service, a day bed and entry hall table. Our brunch times of 9:30 & 10:30 have been carefully chosen based on our guests’ requests for a leisurely morning, you are on vacation after all. The times for our three-course gourmet-style brunch are clearly stated on our web site. Gibbs, Chuck & Chelsea spend the mornings with our guests in the dining room for our three-course gourmet-style brunch. We are working around the B&B for most of the day, although we are sometimes hard to find and we do on occasion need to leave the B&B. But we can always be reached by phone. In fact on the day you had housekeeping requests, we did inform you that this would possibly be later in the day and you said this would be “no problem.” Although we do our best to service all of our guests and rooms in a timely manner, a good part of the experience you have will be affected by the attitude you bring with you. WE want you to enjoy your stay with us. And we want you to feel like you’re like family. For different perspectives of guests who stayed with us at the very same time, please see recent reviews titled “We Love It” & “B&B 2014.”


View More Reviews

Rooms & Rates

SOUTHWIND

The king-sized canopy bed enveloped in golden sheers sets the tone for this romantic room. The high ceilings and hardwood floors, along with the wet bar in the entry room, creates an atmosphere for unwinding and relaxing. If there is a third person in your party, SOUTHWIND can accommodate them with a cozy daybed in the entry room. Feel the south wind at your back, guiding you toward contentment.

  • Maximum Capacity: 3

HOMEWOOD

The elegant, hand-carved mahogany queen-sized Tester bed sets the tone for high drama and deep romance in this spacious room that includes a wet bar. HOMEWOOD is a two room suite. The second room holds a full-sized East Lake bed. This suite can accommodate up to five guests. The stunning ceiling and oversized tear drop chandelier adds to the ambience that makes you feel at home.

  • Maximum Capacity: 4

PALMBREEZE

PALMBREEZE is light and airy with a queen-sized four poster bed that adds romance to the room with it's dark, intricate carvings. The dark wood beams on the ceiling, the hardwood floors and the artwork of Florida water birds will take you back to a warm sunny Florida that existed only in days gone by. Feel the breeze that makes the palms sway.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2

HONEYSUCKLE

The queen-sized sleigh bed and the antique armoire set the tone for the country feel of this comfortable room. Nestled around the bed and antique desk, greenery abounds. The cozy bathroom allows just enough room for a relaxing shower. The room seems peaceful and still, and .......there on the evening breeze is that faint sweet smell of honeysuckle.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2

TIDEWATER

Remember on summer weekends when you stole off to your grandma's beach cottage? Grandma didn't have a beach cottage, well......pretend. The heavily carved king-sized four poster bed, the twin-door antique armoire, the claw-foot tub and the vintage "kitchenette" will take you to that romantic weekend at the beach. And just before you fall asleep......you'll swear you can hear the quiet sound of the surf.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2

GARDENMIST

GARDENMIST is stately and a bit formal. The king-sized bed and the surrounding room are washed in the sheer color of a morning mist lying across a romantic English garden. The room is spacious with an entry hall wet bar, bath with shower and lots of muted morning light. The garden mist is beginning to clear and will reveal a wonderful day.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2

Check Dates Visit Website

Location

Location Type

Historic Flagler Model Land Tract, Close to Flagler College, Downtown

Airport

Jacksonville, FL (JAX) 35 miles

Directions to property:

From North: From I-95, exit onto SR 16 and go East approximately 7 miles to US 1. Turn right onto US 1 South and go 2 1/2 miles to Saragossa St. Turn left and go past 1 stop sign, then we are halfway down the block on the left. From South: From I-95, exit onto SR 207 and go East approximately 7 miles to US 1. Turn left onto US 1 North and go past the first traffic light (King St.) to Saragossa St. Turn right and go past 1 stop sign, then we are halfway down the block on the left.

Area Attractions

Antique Shopping, Art Galleries, Beach, Gourmet/Fine Dining, Historical interests, Live Music, Movie Theater, Museum, National/State parks, Nature area, Ocean, Ghost Tours, Carriage rides, Ripley's Believe It Or Not, Castillo de San Marcos, Bridge of Lions, Flagler College, Outlet Stores, Performing Theater, Picnic area, Ruins, Winery

Inn Details

Establishment type

Bed and Breakfast, Historic Inn

On-site amenities

Amenities Basket, Copier, Fax Machine, Telephone , Private Entrance with an adjoining porch, Flashlight

Room amenities

Air conditioning, Alarm clock, CD player, Ceiling fans, Coffee/Tea facilities, Desk, Fridge, Hairdryer, Internet Service, Ironing Board, Microwave, Private entrance, Radio, Satellite/Cable TV, TV, Wet bar, Wi-Fi

Check Dates Visit Website

Policies

  • Check In:: 3PM
  • Check Out:: 11AM
  • Open All Year Round: Yes
  • Smoking Allowed: Outside only Smoking allowed outside only.
  • Drinking Allowed: Yes
  • Alcohol Provided Yes
  • Suitable For Children: Yes Well behaved children of all ages welcome.
  • Childcare Provided: No
  • Guest Pets Allowed: Prior approval required One time per visit, non-refundable pet fee required.
  • Disabled Access No

Terms and Conditions

  • Minimum Stay: Two nights on weekends, three on special events and holidays
  • Accepted payments AMEX, VISA, Mastercard, Travelers checks, Cash
  • Deposit Amount Required: $50.00 non-refundable deposit.
  • Cancellations: Seven days for refund less $50.00 non-refundable deposit. Fourteen days for holidays and special events. No allowance for late arrival or early departure.

Innkeepers

Name(s)

Gibbs Moore & Chuck Dunster

Languages spoken

English

Resident Pets

Cats , Dogs , 1 Bird

Check Dates Visit Website

Meals

Breakfast

Full

  • Time Served: 9:30 am
  • Serving Location: Dining Room

Special meal options

Low fat , Restrictive , Vegetarian


Details

34 Saragossa St. , Saint Augustine, FL 32084 USA (Show map)

Property highlights


Free $60 gift card!
Top