Club Continental Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
136 Reviews

Write A Review

Absolutely beautiful exactly like the computor described

5 on April 15, 2014

Great place to go very friendly place to go


THE place to stay.

5 on April 13, 2014

This was our first stay at Club Continental, but it certainly won't be our last. The staff treated us like family, our room was lovely and very clean. We slept like babies, and breakfast was a joy. We would not hesitate to recommend Club Continental to any of our friends.


awesome view

4.0 on April 07, 2014

the breakfast was lacking, but everything else was awesome. the jacuzzi tub was really nice, and the views were unbelievable.....very nice stay


The Italian Room at Club Continental

4.2 on April 04, 2014

We decided to stay at Club Continental during the transition of our move. The grounds and view were beautiful, the room was comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. We willl definitely treat ourselves to another stay soon.


A Real Hidden Gem

4.4 on March 27, 2014

Was pleasantly surprised to find a secluded hide-a-way just a couple of blocks off busy US Highway 17. The rooms in the River Suites building have private balconies that are only a few feet from the St. Johns river--beautiful tranquill views. We had a two-room suite with a small kitchen and all the comforts of home. The included hot breakfast was served in the dining room each morning. Can't wait for a return visit!


Tower Suite review

5 on March 26, 2014

Our stay (s.) at the Club have always exceeded expectations!! Between the majestic views, amazing accommodations and the welcoming staff, we can hardly choose what makes our stay the best!! We always recommend the Club and Villa suites to our out of town guests! Thank you for keeping southern hospitality alive and well !! I tried to rate all above with all stars, however , browser would not allow!


My Son's Wedding

5 on March 26, 2014

Picture Perfect- The view The friendly, comfortable atmosphere Reasonable cost Unforgettable memories


One of the BEST places I have EVER stayed!

5 on March 25, 2014

I have lived in Jacksonville for over 20 years and never went, my husband and I will definitely be back! I was so impressed with Suite 102...River front King right on the water! Woke up to the most beautiful sunset! Great place for a wedding!


Very romantic! Would live to go back!

4.6 on March 25, 2014

Very romantic, we would live to go back! Highly recommend this place for romantic child free weekends where you want peace and relaxation- food was fabulous too!


What a joy!

4.4 on March 24, 2014

The rooms were icing on the perfect wedding!


Gorgeous! Amazing stay!

5 on March 17, 2014

We stayed for a wedding and can't stop raving about how gorgeous it was. Would recommend it to everyone!


Enchanting Views

4.0 on March 17, 2014

Like a scene from an Agatha Christie novel, the Continental transports you to a bygone era. Aged fountains and giant koi greet the entrance, yet do not expect modern conveniences such as a fridge or microwave in your room.


Outstanding Room With Great View

5 on March 15, 2014

Stayed on St. Johns River with a private balcony on the river with a spectacular view. The room was outstanding with a lot of room, a medium sized fridge, microwave and large sitting area. The bed was firm and comfortable, with soft sheets. We only had the complimentary breakfast in the hotel, which was very good. The staff was cordial and accommodating. You get a lot for the price, which was not cheap but very reasonable for what you get, well worthwhile. Highly recommend a stay there and would gladly do it again!


Gracious living one night at a time

4.4 on March 14, 2014

My husband and I spent a leisurely Saturday afternoon through Sunday at Club Continental. The house and grounds were beautiful well-kept and breakfast featured a tasty breakfast casserole, fresh fruit, assorted breads for toast, yogurt and cereals as well as juices, teas and coffee with an excellent server. I would recommend asking if there will be a function on premises when you book. There was a wedding that limited our use of much of the grounds and the building and rooms are not soundproof so we were glad when the bridal and from departed and the wedding party finally called it a night.


One night business stay

4.8 on March 06, 2014

The accomodations were wonderful! Spacious room, comfortable bed, and fabulous view from the terrace. Wish I would have had more time to enjoy the property. Would like to stay again when I have more time to relax!


Bob R

5 on March 04, 2014

For years I've told my lady about CC (I'm very familiar with you.) She would politely nod - 'that's nice.' When she finally saw it, well ....... and, probably took more photos than could ever fit on a screen saver. Thanks! br


After my second stay...

4.2 on February 28, 2014

This was the second time I've stayed at Club Continental; both times in the river suites. I travel a bit for work, and this hotel is a very nice break from the larger hotel chains. The grounds are very nice to walk around and the sunrise over the river (if you stay in the river suites) is part of what got me to come back a second time. I'd definitely stay here again.


Country in the City

5 on February 26, 2014

Delightful comfortable room overlooking the river. Service was pleasant and the food was delicious. Would definitely return.


Just like home

4.4 on February 23, 2014

One of my favorite places to stay. The staff are so warm and pleasant and the property is lovely. I love staying in the main mansion, it feels like home. And the breakfasts are delicious! Only one recommendation is that it would be good to have some lighter fare for dinner. As a guest at the hotel, a large salad, soup or lighter fare would be appreciated. Most of the people dining at the restaurant are there for a 4 course meal. Although the food is great, would love some more options.


Great Room

4.4 on February 20, 2014

Spent one night. Will be sure to stay again when we have some more time. Room was beautiful, fireplace lovely and balcony view was wonderful. Breakfast was very tasty.


Williams Review

5 on February 20, 2014

The quality of service was impeccable as always. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the secluded location. The grounds are exquisite providing a sense of serene ambiance.


Bed, Breakfast, and Beyond!

4.8 on February 17, 2014

As soon as we arrived the owners were so friendly and catering. They went so far as to actually walk us around and show us exactly where everything was on the grounds. They even told us about the many things to do in the area. When we got to our room it was amazing! It's not very often that online photos match up, but this place definitely didn't try to fool you, our room wa just what we were expecting and more. The view from the balcony was just outstanding. It was also very clean and tidy! Although we didn't eat there, we were given a tour of the dining area and it was gorgeous. Very spacious and elegant.


Club Continental

4.6 on February 17, 2014

We could tell from the web site we wanted to visit. Such a beautiful property. We were greeted when we arrived and shown our room. When standing on the balcony you are over the St John's River. Enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub, having a kitchen and a wonderful nights sleep on an extremely comfortable bed. Peaceful, quiet and relaxing. We highly recommend visiting.


Wife and my early Valentine's Day retreat

4.8 on February 11, 2014

My wife and I came for a friend's wedding and we also used it a an early getaway for Valentine's Day as grandma was watching our 23 month old. Our room on the river was very peaceful and elegant. Our only issued we had was cooler weather as it kept us from getting into the pool. We are already trying to figure out our next getaway.


Awesome

5 on February 08, 2014

Gorgeous! Stayed for business and it took everything I had to leave! I will be taking my wife back for a weekend there ASAP


our anniversary

3.4 on February 05, 2014

my husband and i chose to celebrate our 29th anniversary at club continental. we had a great time. the view from the balcony was great, the room was spacious and clean, the experience overall was very good.


Beautiful Hotel

4.0 on January 21, 2014

I stayed at Club Continental for a wedding. Beautiful reception site! Wish my stay was during a warmer month to enjoy the pool. The hotel room was large with a kitchenette making it perfect for an extended stay. When making the reservation, we were told the room only slept two people with one king size bed. There was actually a king bed and twin bed in one room and a pull out couch in another room. I suggest confirming that before arrival as we would have shared with friends to save cost.


Peaceful retreat

5 on January 20, 2014

The Club Continental is a hidden gem. I'm so glad it was recommended to me! To wake up every morning and see the sun rising over the rolling river was so peaceful, making my 9-day trip a retreat. The staff was great...housekeeping noticed I was drinking all the water and making coffee every day and began leaving an abundance of both without me asking. The dining room was a wonderful place to eat...everything I tried was delicious. I won't stay anywhere else when I am in the area again.


Under the Oaks

5 on January 19, 2014

Surrounded by beautiful moss-laden oaks, our well-equipped suite on the riverbank was just what we needed after a long drive to Jacksonviile to attend a funeral. Harry checked us in, walked us to our rooms and helped carry in our luggage. We had a wonderful view of the sunset from our balcony. Next morning, the breakfast was delicious and the waitress was friendly and prompt. Everything was perfect!


French Room

4.0 on January 13, 2014

Exceptional stay at Club Continental. I was there attending a wedding and the proximity from the room to the Winterborne made it extremely convenient. I would absolutely stay here again.


Quiet get away

4.4 on January 05, 2014

Clean large room with big water view. Pet friendly English garden with quiet breakfast time I needed this. I will be back soon.


Orange parks best kept secret!

5 on January 03, 2014

I stay at club continental regularly.. They have excellent services and amenities! I would recommend it to everyone!


JAX VACATION

5 on December 28, 2013

A great palace to stay with wonderful views of the river. Beds are comfortable. Rooms are clean. Kitchen was great! Expedia screwed up my reservation, so I was then given a room upgrade by the staff. I would definitely go back, but book directly through the hotel :)


Romantic and beautiful property. Highly recommended

4.8 on December 24, 2013

I loved the river suite. Absolutely beautiful.


Club Continental

3.8 on December 12, 2013

The rooms are very spacious and the view is beautiful. When we arrived, the carpets were wet (possibly due to a cleaning), so we had to keep everything off of the floor, including socks on our feet, until the following day. We tried phoning the office, but no one answered. The dining staff is always friendly, and we appreciated the omelet station on the one day.


Awesome

5 on December 04, 2013

We really enjoyed out stay at Club Continenal. Everything was wonderful, wish we could have stayed longer.


Wedding and Reception

4.4 on December 04, 2013

Everything was perfect. Our guests had a wonderful time. The atmosphere, the food, the service all were first rate. Club Continental is a jewel!


Great weekend

5 on December 04, 2013

We had a great time here, the place is nicer that we expected and we had a nice, relaxing and quiet weekend. Near of great places to visit and far enough to have a relaxing time.


Thanksgiving stay

4.0 on December 02, 2013

Thanksgiving weekend is a tradition for us at Club Continental. The Buffet is very good, with many selections, nicely displayed and the wait staff are helpful and attentive. We always include a stay at Club Continental any time that we are in the Jacksonville area. It feels like family!


review of club continential

5 on December 02, 2013

Wonderful romantic getaway!


Beautiful Inn

4.8 on November 27, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Club Continental. We were visiting family in the area we decided to stay at the Inn. We were so pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the Inn and the exceptional service from the staff. We are looking forward to our next stay there.


Recent wedding for my daughter Stephanie Dupree

5 on November 26, 2013

Your facility for our wedding was just prefect! Your staff was very professional and helpfull with everything, They made such a stressful , but great event so easy for us to truly relax knowing they were there to make it all happen!!! The rooms got so many compliments from our guests saying how nice and comfortable they were, it just added to our truly one of a kind experience holding daughters wedding with you! Thanks


wedding

4.6 on November 25, 2013

Clean rooms with a great view.


LOVE it here!!!!

5 on November 25, 2013

Best place to stay! Love love love it!!!


Great Historical B & B

3.8 on November 25, 2013

Went for business, should have stayed for a vacation!


Wedding

4.6 on November 23, 2013

I stayed overnight when my son had his wedding there. Everything was just perfect. I would love to stay there again in the future.


Great Gem!

5 on November 23, 2013

Love stating here. Great atmosphere and great staff. Can't wait to be back.


Beautiful Place!

4.2 on November 22, 2013

Club Continental was a beautiful place to visit. The property is set right on the lake. It couldn't get more relaxing. Pool area was gorgeous too!


Idyllic Setting for a Wedding

4.4 on November 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay at the Club Continental. The service was excellent, the setting absolutely perfect for a wedding, it was just what I was hoping for.


LOVE this place!

5 on November 20, 2013

Beautiful setting, like taking a walk back in time to old Florida!


Wedding stay

4.0 on November 19, 2013

Wedding outside was gorgeous! Weather was perfect. The view of the St John's river during the ceremony was beautiful. Our room was roomy and decorated tastefully in the style of the house. It is nice to see a old piece of Florida that has retained it's charm!


Best Value for B&B Hands Down

5 on November 19, 2013

I have been coming to this place for some 12 years now. It is an incredible value and the staff is outstanding and very accommodating! All the rooms in the historic mansion are quaint and overlook the Saint Johns River. Your stay includes membership to the Club Continental during your stay which includes a free full breakfast M-F and a great continental breakfast Sat-Sun. Use of pool and tennis is also allowed. It also allows you to 5 star-white table cloth dining at a great value. Moreover, it also includes access to The River House Pub next door which is a quaint private drinking club also overlooking The Saint Johns River.


Wedding!!

4.4 on November 19, 2013

The Club is a beautiful place and our Daughters wedding was amazing! The food, the service the beauty of the club was way more then I expected! I am very excited to see the photos because it was just so beautiful! But I am sad to say the rooms were a little dirty which surprised me a little but all in all I would love to stay again and if my youngest daughter wanted to marry at the club I would be very excited!! Thank you for a wonderful experience!


recent stay

4.2 on November 18, 2013

This place is awesome right on the water. peaceful and relaxing. Always stay here when I'm in town


Our new home away from home

5 on November 17, 2013

Southern hospitality at it's best. We need to travel to Jacksonville 2x a year now. Friends recommended Club Continental but we did not expect what we saw. We had a riverview room on the main floor. It was very modern and comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding. Both the fresh buffet and menu were available and included options. Servers were also over the top. We will be back frequently. Thanks so much Club Continental. Ashleys from Winnipeg, Canada


Perfection at Club Continental

5 on November 12, 2013

Everything from the amazing view of the St. John's River, to the perfectly relaxing room, I could not ask for more and can't wait to stay again.


Old Florida at its finest!

5 on November 09, 2013

Try to leave your cell phone in your room when you go to dinner and enjoy the view of the St. Johns River and the wonderful landscaping. The River Suites are huge rooms and very comfortable. Food in the restaurant is unique and delicious. Staff service is friendly, courteous and warm. A wonderful place to stay when I'm in Orange Park on business.


Wonderful site

4.0 on November 06, 2013

It was very pleasant to find a place like this one in Florida. Everybody was nice and the room ...super! Thanks


Most beautiful wedding ever

4.8 on November 02, 2013

I just LOVED staying there. It was like going back in time.We stayed in the River House suites with a balcony right on the river.I loved that though it was updated, it still had the feel of a country mansion from the 30's My niece was married there on the terrace overlooking the river. Couldn't have been more romantic. Also enjoyed 'retiring' to the pub after dinner. The staff there and at the mansion couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating.


Excellent Rooms- Just a minor service hiccup

3.8 on October 30, 2013

We stayed here on our wedding night saturday 10/26. On that day we called in advance to request a bottle of Champagne in our room. Communication seemed a bit dicey but long story short they figured it out. When we arrived it wasn't there and at that time we just decided to go without it. The next morning when I informed them they were very accomodating and took great care of us. I would certainly stay here again, as I honestly believe this was a rare mishap that likely doesn't normally happen.


A bygone Era.. Charming hotel. Loved all the history.

4.4 on October 29, 2013

We stayed in the Mediterranean Suite. Loved it.The view was incredible. Living room and large bedroom with extremely comfortable king size bed.. thought I could stay there forever. I would definitely go back but not on a weekend. It is definitely a wedding hot spot..Good for the hotel but not good for the guests staying there who are not invited to the wedding..very noisy.. at one point I called to the office to see how long the wedding was going to last and no one answered the phone.. in all fairness everything except a few lingering drunks returning from the small pub on the ground, was quiet by midnight. Definitely worth a stay just not on the weekend.. the breakfast was very good also but other meals aren't served on saturday or Sunday evening.


Great Room and Bathroom

4.0 on October 28, 2013

The Club Continental was my number 1 pick for a wedding venue so beautiful and lovely. The service was top notch and the food was amazing.


Lovely place, friendly people, gorgeous scenery, breakfast could be better

4.6 on October 26, 2013

Warm welcome, charming area, a clean, comfortable,and spacious room. And, a balcony with an incredible view over the river. What could be be better? The only thing that could use improvement was the breakfast! We had to leave by 8:10 am, but hot breakfast was only served from 9 am on. And for the cold breakfast, there was no protein. These days, we don't just want to have carbohydrates and fruit before starting the day!


Beautiful setting

4.6 on October 26, 2013

I stayed in the French room for my wedding night with my husband. It was a beautiful room and gorgeous setting on the river.


A Weekend Wedding in Paradise

5 on October 24, 2013

I want everyone who looks at this venue online to know how truly amazing my stay way. The Club Continental is a hidden gem and it's important that future guests hear specifically what an impact your staff made on my vacation. I am a Guest Service Manager in Lodging at the Walt Disney World Resort. I manage a resort with 1600+ rooms that runs at approximately 97% occupany. As you can imagine, I was in heaven at The Club Continental. I was sincerely impressed by the level of service, quality of amenities, pristine grounds and accomodations made for me as a guest. More importantly, I was able to relax and enjoy MY vacation; for that I will always be indebted. I am your biggest advocate and have been talking with my team about the service I hope we provide, and that I witnessed and experienced this weekend. Special thanks for Harry, for his guest service recovery when our room was having plumbing issues and for the Housekeeping (Guest Show) employee who made it her goal to clean our new room first so we could move prior to my best friend's wedding. I am already saving for my next weekend in paradise!


Club Continental review

4.8 on October 24, 2013

Old charm of an old Florida..... great views, service and appeal. Would recommend to anyone who wants to hide in the middle of everything


Excellent

5 on October 22, 2013

The Stsff were so helpfull


Great location; great service; a few minor problems

4.2 on October 21, 2013

Stayed at Club Continental for a military reunion. A local squadron officer negotiated a group rate, about half the normal room rate, which was a super value. If we had paid normal rate, I would have dropped a star overall for value. Room was very spacious and right on St. John's River with tremendous view. Unfortunately, the ancient AC ran all the time and did not dehumidify adequately; they were fixing it when we left. Other minor room issues were dealt with promptly by management. Some parts of room were not dusted well, but overall it was okay. The restaurant service and food were both excellent, and the staff were really helpful and courteous. For a gathering, it was a great venue, since we did not have to drive anywhere for our group meetings and dinner. The pool was great, and worked well for lap swimming. The patio and dock were great places to sit and talk. Overall we give 4 stars.


Reunion

4.2 on October 19, 2013

We were in a River Suite and the view looking over the river was spectacular. Pictures do not do it justice. The suites were roomy and well appointed. The property was gorgeous and the grounds well maintained. A little piece of paradise tucked away in Orange Park! Highly recommend it!


Winterbourne Inn

5 on October 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Winterbourne Inn, our suite had a perfect view to the river. Maddie and Geo Acker


Awesome Weekend

4.6 on October 18, 2013

This is a beautiful place to stay. The old oaks and the river make it a truly breathtaking place.


awesome wedding venue

3.8 on October 17, 2013

I had my wedding recently at club continental and we stayed there on site for two nights. We thought that overall everything was very nice. The breakfast left little to be desired. Also there was a hair left in the bath tub and i hate that. Overall the experience was good though. The whole place is beautiful.


Columbus weekend stay

4.0 on October 16, 2013

Wedding weekend. Reception food quite good, but breakfast each morning was exactly the same menu. Would like to have seen some egg options without potato. They over powered the baked "omelet".


An exceptional stay

5 on October 15, 2013

I had an eating disorder and Harry personally took care of me by arranging for a blender. All employees were very friendly and accommodating. I would certainly stay there again and I will recommend to others. Thanks for a wonderful stay. I was not impressed with your lap top computer that was available for the guests. It was very slow and difficult to operate. This does need attention!


Wedding stay

3.0 on October 11, 2013

The room met our expectations. It was clean and comfy.


The English Room

3.8 on October 09, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and cozy. The breakfast in the morning was very good and really made the entire experience.


MAGICAL!!!

5 on October 01, 2013

I have stayed at a 5 star Ritz Carlton and The Club Continental has the potential to rise to that extreme with just a little tweaking. The grounds are absolutely lovely! The dining room clean and beautiful with just the right soft music appropriate for the historic structure. I read all the comments before booking the suite and I was a little nervous because of a few bad remarks concerning cleanliness. I saw no evidence of such in my room. Upon arrival the office for check inn was not perfect but the gentleman who greeted us was kind and very personable. I WILL BE BACK, when I can savor more than 1 day in such a lovely get away!!! Mary


riverside paradise

5 on September 30, 2013

For our first night in Florida we stayed at the Club Continental before heading on to our business conference on Amelia Island. We liked it so much that once our conference was finished we checked out of the hotel there a day early so that we could go back to the Club Continental. If we are ever in that neighborhood again, we will definitely stay there!


Wedding Accomodations

5 on September 29, 2013

We stayed at Club Continental in STE 204 the night before our wedding and the night of our wedding. The room had a great view and was big enough for the girls to get ready in the day of the wedding. Picture taking was great too with the in-room fireplace and the balcony over looking the river.


Historical B&B

4.0 on September 24, 2013

The rooms are what I would expect for an old mansion converted into a B&B. The room themes are very cute and it makes you feel at home. Unfortunately, some restoration to the rooms is needed, but it didn't affect the quality of our stay. The walls are pretty thin...we could hear the neighbor snoring. The building and grounds are beautiful. The breakfast was simply delicious with an amazing view of the river at sunrise. I definitely recommend the B&B if you're looking for something unique and homey.


A perfect getaway

5 on September 24, 2013

The staff, the ambiance, the food and the facilities were all perfect! They go out of their way to please and to ensure you have an enjoyable stay! I would go again in a heartbeat!


Tower Suite at the Club

4.4 on September 18, 2013

I had not been back to the Club in over 10 years and was impressed at how well everything had been maintained. I was a warm and friendly homecoming. Should I need to visit Jacksonville again the Club will be my first call for reservations.


Beautiful Location - Enjoyed Our Stay!

5 on September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Club Continental during a recent visit to see friends in the Orange Park area; unfortunately, we were only in town one night and were not able to take advantage of the wonderful complimentary breakfast options, but everything sounded wonderful. Our room was beautiful, clean, and cozy/comfy...and let me just say that the bed was UBER heavenly! In fact, I was so impressed with the luxury of the sheets/pillowcases that I snuck-a-peek at the tags and went online to purchase a set for myself (The Comphy Co)!! We will definitely look forward to staying here again on our next visit and can hopefully spend more time relaxing and enjoying the grounds and amenities!


Ashley Tyler - Cody Wilson wedding Sept 7th

4.6 on September 13, 2013

Our daughter's wedding, (in the middle of the wetest month in northeast Florida and busiest month for huricane season btw) went off with the grace of God and the fantastic people at Club Continental!!! Also some of the vendors they recommended. We reheased a day earlier inside as it was raining :( but then the rain stopped so we rehearsed outside as Carla was monitoring Doppler while we reheased. Never rained again:)) I am still getting teary eyed 5 days later as I write this. Thanks to all the staff for a "Priceless Moment" in so many peoples memories!!!


weekend stay

5 on September 13, 2013

Our stay was wonderful. Everything was perfect!! the rooms were beautiful, the service was over and beyond! Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend!


Club Continental

5 on September 11, 2013

Wonderful stay and staff! Food was excellent for wedding and morning brunch! Definitely coming back!


Wish we could have stayed longer

3.8 on September 11, 2013

We were there for a beautiful wedding. Only stayed one night and wished we didn't have to leave. Wonderful view, liked the large suite on the river. Did not get to enjoy the continental breakfast because we had to leave for the Jags game.


Sept 7th Stay

5 on September 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed over 9/7/13 for a wedding. I had never been to your place before and I LOVED IT!!! It was peaceful and serene! We plan on coming for a weekend sometime in the future! A stay-cation is just what we need!!! Thank You Tina Hubbard-Fete


A wonderful place to get away

5 on September 10, 2013

Everything was great during our stay. We will be planning another trip hopefully in the near future.


What a view!!

5 on September 09, 2013

Staff was extremely helpful. Grounds were beautiful and dinner outstanding!


Came for a wedding

3.4 on September 04, 2013

We came for a friends wedding. Everything was very beautiful and clean. The servers at the wedding dinner were nice and courteous. The food, however, was disappointing. The stuffed grouper tasted like it had been frozen. The beef was fine, but not filet mignon like we anticipated. And the sauce for the beef did not taste homemade, but from a package.


...a jewel on the St. John's River

5 on September 04, 2013

We spent four nights at Club Continental. We discovered a treasure from another time. The room was luxurious with a balcony and a river view. The ground with gardens of live oak and drooping Spanish moss and pool were an oasis. There is a full off the menu breakfast or a serve yourself breakfast and an excellent dining room for lunch and diner. We had business in the area and found this hotel a treat.


wonderful experience

4.6 on September 03, 2013

This was the most wonderful getaway ever !!!! Tranquil atmosphere.... A lovely experience...


Wonderful !!! felt like I was visiting family without the "drama" of family

4.8 on September 03, 2013

The staff was wonderful, the pool was beautiful, the dining was elegant, excellent and fairly priced and the pub on the grounds had live entertainment, a beautiful view of the river and the staff was like family.


the floor had stains on the carpet

4.0 on August 23, 2013

our room was minimally cleaned and there was a huge stain on the carpet. there should either be wood floor or a way to clean the carpet.


Great weekend

4.6 on August 20, 2013

The club continental is a marvelous place to stay if you are in the Jacksonville area. The different cutural themed rooms add to the excitement and keep you on your toes. The view is outstanding and the landscape is to die for. Also the cute bar is very fun!


Night on the River

4.4 on August 20, 2013

The rooms and the view were great. The River House has a great atmosphere and is beautiful to sit by the river and have a drink. The continental breakfast was very good and fresh. Great Place to stay!


Great B&B

4.0 on August 19, 2013

I really enjoyed the views of the property and the service at the Club Continental. I look forward to staying there again.


French Room Experience

4.0 on August 19, 2013

Love this place. Food is excellent as are the people. The only thing I would recommend for this room is a small table in the bathroom, there's no place to put things. Also, the place needs to be dusted better as do the glass tables. if you don't get everything clean makes you question what you can't see. I would definitely stay here again.


A very private and wonderful secret

5 on August 16, 2013

The wife and I stayed here for 1 night on our beginning trip through Florida and 4 nights at the end of our trip to Florida. I have retired naval friends living in Orange Park and wanted to visit with them. I found the Club Continental purely by luck on the net! Our rooms were perfect, high quality and deluxe in every way. The grounds, landscaping and views of the St. Johns are second to none. The entire staff from check-in to check-out was superb and I have stayed in some of the finest hotels in Europe and these wonderful people go out of their way to tend to your needs. View the pictures on this site, they are nice, but you must walk the grounds to experience how lovely the Club Continental truly is. My wife and i will ALWAYS stay at Club Continental when visiting the Jacksonville, Orange Park area of Florida. Oh! The dining was elegent and the Chef prepared some of the most delicious plates I have ever had the previliege to enjoy! GO There!


Beautiful house BUT...

2.8 on August 09, 2013

Stayed in main house suite; beautiful old home, Mizner-esque in design and detailing. Wanted to love it BUT furnishings, case goods, linens, etc. are tired, sad, worn and badly need updating. Food was uninspired to put it kindly. Service was very good, particularly maitre'd and dining servers. River view is lovely; be aware, however, that area surrounding the club is not great.


The place where privacy, quality, and relaxation are tops

5 on August 08, 2013

Continental Suites remains my favorite romantic get away place. I started staying here in the mid 1990's and the quality hasn't changed.


Faded Glory

2.0 on August 07, 2013

This is a beautiful place, with the nicest people in the world working there. Unfortunately it is in need of renovation--but more than that it is in need of a good cleaning! We were with a group for a wedding and the other rooms I saw looked as if they had been updated, but ours was not good (301 in the River View). Even the updated rooms were not clean. Dust on headboards, baseboards dusty, windows filthy. All service people were fantastic, especially Harry in the office. Sooo nice!


A nice room with a view!

5 on August 06, 2013

We stayed overnight in one of the River Suites after our son's wedding. The view of the St. Johns River was beautiful and we even saw a couple of manatees the next morning right in front of us. The larger than average room was very clean and roomy with many amenities available. We missed the complimentary breakfast the next morning since we were up so late at the River Club after the reception and slept late. We enjoyed our short stay.


Relax

4.0 on August 05, 2013

If you're traveling to Jacksonville and are looking for a Luxury Hotel that has it all, try the Club Continental Suites. The Hotel property is gorgeous! It feels like you're in Italy or Spain. The grounds are well landscaped and the pools are beautiful. It is a perfect place to R E L A X... We arrived a little early for check in and went to the cabana at the pool and had a fantastic lunch! My wife had a brocolli salad and I had the shrimp salad. Both were a pleasant surprise! The Suites are large and well kept and have all the amenities. The river view is wonderful, and sunrise is terrific. There is a really nice paved trail along the river for walking or running. After walking, go to the contintental breakfast. They make their own coffee cake and pastry! The fruit is fresh and they even serve omlets and eggs! If you enjoy tennis they have some very nice courts. Bring your racket... You won't be disappointed!


If you stay in Orange Park, stay here

4.2 on August 01, 2013

My elderly in-laws live in Orange Park, and in our frequent visits we used to stay at the generic three-star hotels in the area. That changed permanently when we discovered Club Continental - we'll never stay anywhere else when overnighting in Orange Park. The views of the St. Johns River are stunning here, both from the room and from the expansive grounds. The rooms are beautifully appointed and generous, and the inn is remarkably quiet. Breakfast was simple but more than acceptable, with a good selection of breads, cereals, fresh fruit, and, on the morning of our last stay, made-to-order omelets. Added extra: It's very close to River Road, on a long bluff overlooking the St. Johns River and several beautiful, older homes -- one of the nicest and most relaxing walks in the greater Jacksonville area.


High school reunion

4.2 on July 31, 2013

We stayed in the river suites for one night because my high school reunion took place in the main clubhouse. What a lovely place! The river views are amazing, and the property is beautifully maintained. The only drawback is that there's little to do in the surrounding town.


just relax

4.2 on July 28, 2013

great place


Enjoyable Stay at Club Continental

3.4 on July 28, 2013

We recently stayed in the River Suites, #102 to be exact, and the view from our first floor window was of the St.John's River. Not your usual motel view. The king size bed was comfortable, a little soft for our liking. But the room layout was very charming and inviting. The grounds of the property was very "old world" Floridia, with huge Live Oaks with moss, meandering gardens, 3 very nice looking pools, 7 tennis courts, and a wonderful hot breakfast with fresh fruit, muffins and bagels, coffee, etc. that was included in the price of our stay!! The service in the dining area was very attentive to our wants and needs. If you want something different than the "run of the mill" motels/hotels, check out Club Continental


Beautiful Property, Great Staff

4.6 on July 24, 2013

We were visiting town for a wedding that took place at Club Continental, we arranged to stay and were very pleased with the staff, food, room, etc. They accomodated an early check in, our room "The Italian" was very spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. I would definetly return and recomed this property.


Outstanding and interesting place to stay.

4.8 on July 23, 2013

This is a beautiful property. We loved the vintage look and the landscape. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. If you want to experience a great getaway this is the place.


Stay For Wedding

4.0 on July 18, 2013

We came for a friends wedding . It was our first time to your properties and found them beautiful. The room over looking to water was great and the room and furnishing made us feel very comfortable in our temporary surroundings. The various staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly as well We truly enjoyed our stay at Club Continental Thanks, Gary & Kathy Weisfeld


Just what I wanted for my wedding stay

4.8 on July 17, 2013

Even though it rained, forcing the ceremony indoors, my family and friends had a blast and so did I. My husband and I stayed in the Continental Suite upstairs. The only reason I have 4 stars is because there are near to no outlets-- due to the age of the building, I suspect. That's a small drop in the bucket, but everything else was just so luxurious and so worth the value. I would love to visit again.


Romantic Weekend Getaway

5 on July 17, 2013

This is a great property to enjoy a relaxing romantic weekend getaway! We thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent together at this awesome resort. We hope to go back very soon! The view of the river off of our balcony was absolutely gorgeous...


club continental

3.6 on July 17, 2013

had a great stay, but wish the furnishings were a little cleaner in bathroom, saw tiny leaks all over the shower and took a while for the water to get hot.


Wedding

4.4 on July 15, 2013

The staff was wonderful! I would highly recommend this location.


Great Location

3.4 on July 15, 2013

Wonderful location on the St. John River. Rooms very nice. Staff very helpful and nice. Breakfast is order from a menu on certain days which is better than most hotel free breakfasts. We had stayed here before and would recommend it and will stay here again. There is a little pub next door with a lot of locals come and you can sit on an outside deck.


Another visit to my favorite Jax business accomodations

4.6 on July 14, 2013

I always enjoy staying with the nice folks at the Club. It is a warm welcome and a quiet comfy nights stay after a busy business day.


You simply cannot put a rating on the property itself. Beautiful, historic , romantic and true Florida. Beautiful location with a great staff to make everything flow smoothly. Had a wonderful experience there!!

3.0 on July 10, 2013

You simply cannot put a rating on the property itself. Beautiful, historic , romantic and true Florida. Beautiful location with a great staff to make everything flow smoothly. Had a wonderful experience there!!


Run Don't Walk to Club Continental

4.8 on July 10, 2013

Exceptional beauty; every creature comfort; clean, elegant and exemplary customer service.Kudos to Rene, the wonderful front desk manager, who turned a minor problem into a major effort to facilitate customer satisfaction (and she did). Run, don't walk to Club Continental. .Michael and Reine, Holderness, NH


4th of July Riversuite stay

3.6 on July 08, 2013

We rented room 303 for the 4th of July and the room was clean and decorated nicely but the carpet should be re-stretched or simply replaced. When you open the door, the first thing you notice is a carpet past its prime. Other than that, the room was very nice as usual.


Oustanding July 4th in Orange Park, FL

4.6 on July 08, 2013

The room was outstanding, great location, flora was spectacular, perfect ringside seat for 4th fireworks...overall a great holiday experience. JH Atlanta


Luxury, Hospitality and Affordability

5 on June 30, 2013

I have had the opportunity to stay at the Club Continental while on business, and I have been delighted by its charm, luxury and incredible history. The Chef prepares the most exquisite meals, the staff are engaging, courteous, extraordinarily helpful, and friendly in all they do. The ambiance created by the owner is matched only by the tranquility of the property and the amazing views of the St. John's river. I will continue to stay at the Club Continental, and I encourage all of my co-workers, friends and family members to stay at the Club at least once. I have never found a better place to be swept up in history while experiencing tranquility. Kelly Vickers


Elegance on the Water

4.8 on June 17, 2013

I have stayed in nearly all the rooms over the past 4 years of traveling on business. I have stayed at every major resort in Florida and find Club Continental to be elegant, private, and has old Florida charm with stunning views of old Oaks and serene river views. Do not forget that Dinner is Formal but well worth the treat!


Fantastic surprise

4.2 on June 16, 2013

I've spent the night at Club Continental before but never in the main house. I stayed in the Mediterranean suite in the main house. It was large and had a wonderful view. The main house is very old so the room is not modern but classic. There is no balcony like in some other rooms but too me it was beautiful. The bed was so comfortable. I liked the room so much that I rented it for a friend of mine who is getting married in September in Jacksonville.


Wonderful, relaxing place to stay for both business or pleasure.

4.2 on September 01, 2012

I have stayed in the River front suites a couple of times while in Orange Park for business...will definitely stay again! Love it!


Beautiful b&b

3.6 on April 10, 2011

Beautiful hidden gem. We felt like we walked into the family estate for a day. We absolutely loved the place.


Best Accommodations and Value in Jacksonville area!

3.8 on August 16, 2010

Club Continental is a beautiful and quiet place to stay right on the St. Johns river. The rooms are very large and whenever I am in Jacksonville, this is the place I will stay!


Club Continental June 2010

5 on June 11, 2010

I stayed one night in the Tower. It was a beautiful room with hardwood floors, a private kitchen, a huge bedroom and a beautiful view. I also enjoyed the swimming pools and the magnificent 200 year old trees. Thanks to Gina for arranging my stay. Robert S.


Photographer's Dream

5 on December 08, 2009

Although we are infrequent B&B travelers, this stay certainly established the fact that we need to always check out the B&B website before finalizing any travel plans! Took advantage of winter rates and a B&B website gift card special-WOW-what a combination! The grounds of this excellent property are extremely well maintained and the view of the St John's River was incredibly romantic. ... But, the greatest treat was a midnight rendezvous with a digital flash and some of the finest unique settings any photographer could hope for. The river scenes were best in the morning, but the twinkling lights surrounding the outdoor atrium and the spotlights shining on huge oak trees adorned w Spanish moss provided enviable scenes in the twilight. Stay in the elegant, spacious rooms of this historic mansion to capture the best memories as the "Olde World" charm is still prevalent amidst a nice recent renovation. ... And breakfast, in the stately well-groomed dining room, exceeded our "continental" expectations. My wife proclaimed the scrambled eggs "probably the best ever," along w homemade breads, fresh orange juice and hot coffee. Personnel were very accommodating and pleasant- obviously proud of their property. Our only regret, we were 1 week early to view the Christmas arrangements, just commencing on our day of departure!


wedding

4.0 on April 07, 2009

Nice place, beautiful view, excellent service, good price.


lovely surprize

5 on March 11, 2009

great history lesson::::home to the same people that started the palmolive/johnson soap company and the family still owns and operate this beautiful place...what a great legacy to be a part of...


Director of Operations

4.4 on November 11, 2008

Great stay. I have been staying here for 9 years when I am in town. No place in Jacksonville like IT! Excellent staff!!


Club Continental

3.2 on October 30, 2008

nice, clean rooms


fairy tale wedding

4.0 on October 29, 2008

staying at the inn was a wonderful treat. It was my first time staying at a B&B. loved it!!! On a quest to discover more. Thank you


Romantic location

3.8 on November 06, 2007

Beautiful ground on the St. John's River. Lovely setting. Nice rooms.


Club Continental

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $210
  • Reviews (136) 4.5
  • Rooms 22
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9042646070
  • Fax 1-9042159503
  • Toll free 1-8008776070

Visit Website »

View details

Top