1872 John Denham House Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
54 Reviews

Write A Review

Luxury while Lobbying in Tallahassee

5 on April 11, 2014

My son and I decided to try lobbying in nearby Tallahassee. With hotels at a premium and the prices outrageous, I found the John Denham B and B online. It has been delightful! The 1870's house is restored to its prime, maintaining its charm, with the addition of some more modern conveniences such as private baths in all rooms. Each room has a theme of color and various period antiques. Extremely clean and maintained areas for socializing or just relaxing. The breakfast was outstanding and was ample enough to fill the "bottomless pit" of a teenage boy! The inn-keeper was very helpful and pleasant. I will come back again soon to achieve some political goals in the city only about 20 mins. from this lovely place!


Steps and No Steps

4.2 on April 04, 2014

After climbing several steps, my less than cordial greeting at the kitchen door, where I saw the hostess working, was to go to another door. At that door, I was told to go around to the front door. So with my bad knees and painful arthritis, I go down side steps, around house and up front steps--all without benefit of railings of any kind. Hostess was nice enough after that. We chose a room with king bed which was comfy but too tall to get into easily. A small step stool would have helped. The bathroom was large but the shower was hard to get water going without getting floor wet. It was impossible to set the unusually large shampoo and conditioner bottles on shower shelves. Lightbulb was out over sink too.


Thomas and Hanne from Copenhagen, Denmark

5 on February 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in this wonderful B&B. We truly enjoyed our stay in Monticello in John Denhams House with Patricia as a very welcoming hostess. The breakfast was the best we had in our 18 days long stay in USA


Wonderful Stay

5 on January 01, 2014

Wonderful place to stay! Very quiet. The bed and pillows were so comfy. Great weekend trip to enjoy walking and shopping at the antique shops downtown. The host, Ms. Pat, is wonderful and makes you feel like you are at home. We will definitely stay in the future.


36 Year Anniversary

5 on December 23, 2013

I set this up for me and my wife a couple of months before going, and the initial contact and registration went smoothly. On our arrival Pat had a special anniversary basket set up that included roses, champagne, and chocolates - my wife loved it. The rooms were clean and orderly, the grounds lovely, and the town a terrific place to walk around and visit - I'd recommend it for anyone seeking a memorable stay. Pat was very friendly and helpful, and her breakfasts are artful and delicious. An excellent value.


Newly Weds

4.0 on August 01, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the John Denham house on our wedding night. It was very beautifyl and exactly what you are looking for in a bed and breakfast. Breakfast was outstanding, our host was very welcoming and we really enjoyed her company. We would definatly come back and stay again. Maybe for an anniversary? :-)


Thank you Pat

4.6 on June 17, 2013

We had a great time, the room was perfect except bed a little to hard for me, the service, valued cleanliness were beyond perfect. Breakfast I have to say was the first time I have stayed anywhere where I cleaned my plate and could have stuffed myself, Pat outstanding job, would love the recipe for your pecan French toast. Will definitely be coming back.


Tranquil, old-world charm; a hidden Panhandle treasure...

4.8 on May 05, 2013

My husband, 10 year old daughter and I stayed 4 nights during Easter break. We are looking forward to returning for another 5 nights this July. This B&B is ideally situated off a quiet street, within easy walking distance of the main street in Monticello. We stayed in the pretty first floor Lacy Suite, which boasts an elegant four-poster bed with white lace coverlet. The en-suite has a gorgeous claw-foot bathtub. We paid an additional nightly fee to rent the large adjoining bedroom / study, where our daughter slept. There are many authentic touches, with tasteful, well-maintained décor throughout. I would just add that the home-cooked breakfasts were the highlight of our stay! Pat and her delightful housekeeper could not have been more solicitous for the comfort of their guests. We loved the freshly made coffee and juice, the homemade lemon-curd, waffles, scrambled eggs, fruit cups... I could go on. Breakfast was elegantly served at a large dining table around which all the guests dined. Pat puts guests at ease by introducing them and then leaving them to chat around the table. This B&B is a very special vacation experience, unlike any other in which I have stayed. You will not be disappointed.


3 Night Stay in May, 2013

5 on May 04, 2013

There are several "little" features which made Denham House a standout: our room was spacious with high ceilings + plenty of floor space; the mirrored medicine cabinet in the bathroom was high enough and the light bright enough that shaving was a breeze (I'm 6'2" + really appreciate that); the room's furnishings meant we each had a comfy chair to sit on; Pat, our innkeeper was gracious, informative and made super breakfasts, and; the home is set back from the main road adding to the peaceful atmosphere.


Great place to relax!

5 on January 26, 2013

As a business taveler, I've been a frequent guest over the past few years. Nice, clean rooms, great breakfasts, relaxing atmosphere, and the best hostess around. The Denham House is always a welcome change of pace, and the town of Monticello in a refreshing step back in time.


Old-style hostessing & Wonderful ambience

5 on January 21, 2013

We were in town for a family funeral & stayed here for 2 days. This is a taste of the Old South you rarely find anymore. Our hostess was very gracious & solicitous. The breakfast was very well prepared using many local products & ingredients. We have stayed in resort communities that could only hope to provide such exquisite hospitality. We will stay here again!!! Steve & Cindy Ingersol Monument, Colorado


Outstanding

5 on January 17, 2013

rooms and sevice were outstanding,great time felt like royalty.


Wonderful, warm and friendly.

5 on January 04, 2013

We absolutely loved our three day stay at the 1872 John Denham house. The Inn keeper "Pat" has the energy of a twenty year old. The breakfasts were wonderful and the rooms nicely decorated. We had a very relaxing experience and highly recommend this bed and breakfast. Sherry and Joe


Lovely Bed & Breakfast

5 on September 17, 2012

A friend and I stayed at this beautiful B & B just 1 night on our way home from a brief road trip. I wish so much we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the lovely home, the grounds and the surrounding area. Owner Pat Inmon could not have been more gracious, greeted us warmly and got us settled into our room in no time. Our room, "Magnolia", was clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. We were so disappointed that we didn't have time to stay another day or two. We highly recommend this beautiful B & B - try to stay more than 1 night. Oh! Did I mention we were visited by a gentle female spirit overnight? That's something I won't ever forget!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much - it was a real joy having you three stay. Pat


Peaceful B&B

5 on September 17, 2012

Peaceful rest is what we found at this beautiful house. September is the best time to go for cool crisp mornings & less traffic. Pat is a wonderful cook & a delight to speak with about anything. My husband & I couldn't have had a better time on our vacation. I would recommend this place for anyone looking to have a slow paced relaxing time.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much! The pleasure was all mine....


Very impressive trip to Monticello

5 on July 24, 2012

We came to do research on the area, soak up the culture and feel of the town. The home has been beautifully restored to original pastel tones and finishes. The beds are luxurious and the rooms VERY LARGE! Breakfast was delicious(as advertised)- the pecan waffles are a treat! Pat was very helpful with information , maps and suggestions! Prices are VERY GOOD VALUE!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for noticing and your pleasant company!


Refreshing!

5 on May 23, 2012

5 stars in every category! My husband & I stayed here for our 1 year anniversary last Sunday. We stayed in the "Gold Honeymoon/Anniversary Suite", it was much bigger than the pictures showed esp the bathroom.. It was also really nice we were able to bring our little dog, Butters, with us! Pat was such a gracious host & her breakfast was amazing!!! We were bummed we didn't get to try any of her famous pecan waffles we kept reading about but the eggs, sausage, scones and fresh fruit she made for us was delicious! We would love to stay here again if we are in the area. I would definitely recommend this to everyone!! Thanks again for making our anniversary that much better! -Nick & Nika


After Our First Time We Knew!

4.0 on January 07, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the John Denham House B & B while visiting my parents in Monticello. After that, we knew this was the place to have our family reunion. Innkeeper, Pat Inmon, did a fantastic job accommodating our very large family, providing fantastic meals and service. We are sure to stay again and again! -Bob and Lizanne Mast, Tampa Bay

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much!!


Honeymoon Weekend - Thanksgiving 2011!!

5 on December 02, 2011

We picked this B&B for its location and beauty! With ample parking available, we were able to trailer our motorcycle up with us and put 250 miles on it in two days. Monticello is a really neat town with a lot of beauty and is sidewalk friendly. Pat is a wonderful Innkeeper, very friendly and the food was AWESOME!! We felt at home the entire weekend and we will definitely be back, couldn't have picked a better place to spend our honeymoon :)


Anniversary Weekend

5 on October 22, 2011

This is the best B&B we have been to in 10 years. The breakfast was just awesome! I am still tasting the pumpkin bread, ultralight waffles, farm fresh eggs and pure florida orange juice.This year for our anniversary we did not want to stay in a big overpriced hotel. We wanted some much more low key and intimate. We were close enough to the "Big City" of Tallahassee to stop by for dinner. During the day, we estopped by one of the Nature Trails and enjoyed a lazy river boat tour. The property is so nicely tucked away and it was so very peaceful and quite. My spouse and I enjoyed just having time for conversation and reading. Make sure you ask Pat to make you that pumpkin bread...yum !! 5 stars out of 5.


Best B & B value in Monticello

4.2 on April 03, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here in March 2011. The rooms are very big, breakfast was delicious, the inn is in a quiet location off busy roads, Pat is a gracious hostess, the yard is large and pretty, and you can walk downtown. I recommend this inn.


Our Stay at the John Denham House

5 on March 08, 2011

Recently I stayed at the John Denham House. I called and made a reservation with Pat Inmon. My wife and I were greeted at the door with a warm smile and a friendly laugh. We signed in and were shown around the house and told a little about the history of the home. Having just met Pat we felt that we had known her as a family friend for years. The rooms were beautiful and her hospitality was above anything that we were expecting. Although we only stayed one night it will stay with us for a long time. We look forward to going back and spending some more time and enjoying the area. I highly recommend this to anyone who is wanting to experience the best of the best..!!!!!! John and Susan Crowley Deltona, Florida


All I have to Say is WOW! What great value and service.

5 on September 20, 2010

I was just on my way through the area and I found this HUGE gem of a place on-line, I almost just past it buy the price was so tempting I decided to stop. I have to say It felt like I found my own hideaway only in a mansion. The inn keeper was so inviting and found myself transported back in time. It was so quite and charming, I was so- stress out from the traveling, but this place just took the edge right off, big beds with such comfort. I feel like not telling anyone and keeping it to myself, so it will be just as nice when I come this way the next time. I awoke well rested, to have a breakfast that tasted like a million, right on time. Then I was ready to hit the road. I will have to stay a little longer next time the Inn Keeper Pat told me about her local ingredients and I have to say it was a lot of food. And every bite was just yummy. It was the best I have had on my trip, otherwise I would have felt guilty for not writing this review. It's said to get to a mans heart go though is stomach; well If you don't stop for the beds and a good nights the food will win your heart.


You Will Want to Move In

5 on August 04, 2010

A small mansion with beautiful grounds, on a very quiet street within walking distance of the small downtown, JD House is wonderful in every way. The huge, gourmet breakfast features creative cooking using local ingredients as much as possible. The rooms are very large, well decorated with antiques and ours had a comfortable mattress and pillows. Pat is a great cook, a terrific hostess and "concierge" with lots of advice on what to do/where to go. Try to catch one of the holidays or town festivals, like the huge craft fair that was in town when we were there. We even went to the Chamber of commerce' barbecue dinner. . . a real small town experience. Monticello is a darling, sleepy town with antique and craft shops. Not at all commercial. Well-situated about 30 minutes from Thomasville and 45 minutes from Tallahasse, there are a lot of outdoor activities. When we left, I vowed to go back for Halloween, which is a big event here, and to move in if I hit the lottery!


Best Kept Secret

5 on June 01, 2010

The Denham House is an exquisite home away from home. The house itself has the feel of home, but when the gracious hostess, Pat Inmon, adds her warmth and perfect hospitality there is nothing closer to home than The John Denham House. The room was beautifully decorated, spacious and well stocked with towels and bath accessories. My room also included a flat screen televison equipped with cable. My son was able to watch the NBA finals privately. He was so comfortable in the room that I had to call him down for the exquisite pecan waffles Pat prepared for breakfast - Just like home! The homemade breakfast with fresh authentic ingredients was simply the best! The atmosphere surrounding John Denham House was serene and picturesque. Sitting on the porch, rocking in the chair and watching the cardinals play in the trees was very relaxing. As if it could not get any better, the price was better than I have seen at any B&B! My gift certificates were accepted with no hassel. That is always a plus in this economy. Overall, I would not hesitate to choose John Denham house over any five start hotel in the area. Thanks Pat! Michelle A Jones


Staying at John Denham House is an annual event!

5 on May 02, 2010

My husband and I first stayed at John Denham House for our honey moon in 2007. The experience was so wonderful and so romantic, we have come back for every subsequent anniversary!! We always get the romance package, which is well worth the few extra dollars. The breakfasts are phenonimal and without equal. Pat has become very dear to us over the years. She really goes out of her way to make everyone's stay memorable and to make everyone feel special!! Our fondest memories of all are our stays at the John Denham House!!


We LOVE this place!

5 on April 30, 2010

We came with a group from Adventures in Florida. Pat exemplifies Southern Hospitality. The breakfasts were outrageously delicious (eggs from backyard-raised chickens and local ham, waffles with local pecans...) and amply served. Our room, the Gold Honeymoon suite, was bright and cheery. We would love to come back again!


Thank you Pat,

5 on March 24, 2010

My daughter and I stayed for three nights in March 2010. We were made very welcome. Our room was perfect and the breakfasts were positively mind-boggling. Thank you Pat Inmon.


Quiet Getaway

4.2 on March 08, 2010

My husband and I stopped in for an overnight stay and was very pleased with the accommodations, especially the warm brownies waiting on us, which we enjoyed while rocking on the front porch. Pat was very personable and had some great stories to share if you asked. The area is very quaint and rich in history. Walking around the town's sign guided 'historical tour' was very informative. Highly recommend.


I'll be going back for sure

5 on January 21, 2010

Absolutely the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, including my own!! Spent the week there filming a movie, and couldn't have asked for anything better. Loved the shower and bathtub, too! Pat and her "kids" are a pure joy. Have some time in August, planning to go back for a couple days. Michael Ray Davis


New Years at the John Denham Inn

5 on January 08, 2010

We also had a blast on our New Years trip. If you're looking for a place to get away and go back in time you will love it in Montecello especially at the Inn. The Innkeeper Pat (is a very special person) and will make your stay special. The food and coffee is really a treat. The cute couple New Years Eve added to our fun. Not to mention everyone we met while there. Noise in the night, items missing and later found in odd places, strange pic's with orbs and ????. Well it could be we're getting senile, but what ever it was we truly had a good time. If you get board mabey Pat will let you play with the Inn's dog's. Can't wait to go back, THANK'S AGAIN PAT! Good Luck, Best Wishes, God Bless, Sharon, Lorraine, & Sissy


Haunted New Years Eve

4.4 on January 01, 2010

We had so much fun! Stayed here for New Years Eve and slept in the Blue Room. Saw lots of orbs on the camera but no mischief happened. Met some fun ladies and hung out on the porch. Got to walk around town undistrubed and had a delicious breakfast! Pat was really hospitable and we enjoyed talking with her. Can't wait to come back.


My stay

5 on December 02, 2009

I stayed with Pat for a week and she treated my like family.


Wonderful, romantic weekend

5 on September 13, 2009

Pat is a warm, friendly innkeeper. She makes you feel welcome and special. We met others staying at the inn and it was nice talking with them over the wonderful food that Pat prepares for her guests. Our room was so nice and our bed was extremely comfortable. We took a walking tour which we enjoyed and Pat is so willing to share the history of the area. We look forward to returning to the John Denham House.


Wonderful Experience!

5 on June 16, 2009

Can't say enough good things about Pat and her wonderful B&B. My husband and I were in town for our son's wedding and everything was perfect. The room was large, clean and decorated with fresh flowers. Breakfast was great. Pat was gracious and friendly. The wedding pictures taken at the B&B are fantastic. Couldn't have been happier. We would definitely stay again. Thanks Pat


WOW !!!!

5 on April 08, 2009

Pat Greeted Us when we arrived and showed us to our room the room was very nice we have never stayed in a bed and breakfast be for it very nice. Pat made us feel at home. We did not want to leave we felt so pampered! It was our 20th annivarrisary and Pat made every thing very special for us from the candal lite breakfast of stuff frensh toast. to the candles in the room. My husband is really into ghost hunting so Pat gathered a lot of instresting places for us to investgest for the weekend we was the we are loooking forward to visting again real soon. and the pecan waffles are to die for! you must come visit the John Denham house if you are instrested in ghost there is a lot of activie or just to meet a real speal lady the owner Pat . Shirley & Cliff Braun Sebring Fl


Valentine Weekend Stay 2009

4.4 on February 20, 2009

We spent three wonderful days with Pat in her gracious home. . . breakfasts were plentiful and very delicious. Don is still talking about the pecan waffles! Pat and the other guests were delightful. We had good chats. . . made new friends! Enjoyed the porch and our ground floor room. Living Room was a good place to gather with others, which we did often! Ghost stories and pictures were fun! Would love to drive down from Indiana again and again. Do visit, you will be more than pleased!


A Wonderful Bed & Breakfast

4.0 on January 18, 2009

We stayed at this bed & breakfast Friday and Saturday nights (our friends daughter was getting married and they rented the whole bed & breakfast for family and friends to stay in. Our stay was very enjoyable. Our bed was so comfortable. Pat the innkeeper was very friendly and makes a wonderful breakfast. The first morning we had ham and cheese omelets, fresh fruit, and toast with a glass of juice made up of different fruits, and hot coffee and tea . It was awesome. The second morning we had pecan waffles with hot melted butter as well as hot syrup you can pour on your waffle, crisp bacon, and scrambled eggs with I think she called it fruit soup, it had fresh squeezed juice which was made up of different fruit. We were out late on Friday night , got back to the B&B around midnight and there Pat was in the kitchen squeezing grapefuit, oranges etc. We would definitely stay ate this B&B again. Becky & Paul, Deltona, Fl.


A great place to stay!

4.2 on December 29, 2008

We just finished our second stay at the Denham House. Pat is a gracious hostess and we felt very welcomed. We stayed in the Gold Room (the anniversary suite) and it was terrific - extremely comfortable bed, luxurious linens, and very spacious. You'll open your room door each morning to find a crisp newspaper, and our suite had a few magazines also. Wireless internet was a snap to use. Coffee is readily available in the morning for early risers, and while we were unable to enjoy breakfast due to zealous family cooks in the area, I'm sure like everything at the Denham house it would be excellent. I'm sure we'll be back the next time we're in town for Christmas.


Anniversary special

5 on December 01, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at the Denham house for our 28th anniversary. It was truly restful and romantic. Special thanks to Pat Inmon for helping us make it a nice memorable event!


Perfect

4.0 on October 27, 2008

After a long week of being on the road for my work, I decided instead of another hotel stay, I'd look for a quiet B&B so I could wind down before heading home. The John Denham House was the perfect choice. Nestled away about 5 miles off of I-10 in the small town of Monticello east of Tallahassee, I discovered a wonderful secret. Off by itself, quiet and beautiful rooms, wonderful bedding and Miss Pat was amazing! The service was perfect, attentive bue not over-done. Smiling, happy, with attention to detail. Clean, fresh and private. Needless to say, I will be back! This is the perfect spot for me to recoup after I come back from my next trip! JT/Vero Beach


super clean and super friendly

5 on October 22, 2008

My wife and I found our room to be quite large and sparkling clean. The owner and help were friendly --even to the point of cooking me grits-- which are not normal on their gourmet breakfast of juice, fresh fruit dish, biscuits , eggs and sausages. We will return and recommend this B&B to our friends. Great value and the grits were great too!!!


I could do this place again and again

5 on September 24, 2008

It was so charming and quite I was looking for a get away to rest my nerives and this was the ticket. Great price really good food and peaceful small town charm.


OK....not great.

3.0 on September 23, 2008

Pat is a nice woman(the Inn keeper). The front,outside of the house was "under construction" and the front outside patio was not in good shape. Travelling to many B&B's, resting on the front porch is always an important part of my stay. Front living room was, also, not real comfortable. Again, I'm used to "floppy"/read a book in, chairs and couches. There wasn't a true "hang out" room for the guests.

Innkeeper Response
Our beautiful front porch and lawn restoration is finished!! Come sit a spell in our wicker rockers and enjoy the spacious green lawn with new antique brick sidewalk and bubbling fountain. It is now a favorite wedding spot. Enjoy your your reading material or ours in our quiet parlor or veranda. Cable television is in every guest room with DVD along with comfy chairs or sofas.


Beautiful Place

5 on July 08, 2008

Neat, clean, good wonderful breakfast, can't wait to get back.


great stay

4.8 on July 03, 2008

This was a very nice room for the money. It was a little warm but we managed. The breakfast was very good and plenty of it.


1872 John Denham House

3.2 on May 08, 2008

The stay was pleasant and the innkeeper was very friendly and accomodating.


No response

4.0 on April 30, 2008

We e-mailed this B&B and asked if rooms were available during our travel dates. We never received a response.


Outstanding!

5 on December 28, 2007

This was our first experience at a B&B, and I have to stay that this was one of the most comfortable places to stay for me, next to home. Ms. Pat and Mr. T were very personable people, not like your very typical meet & greeter's at the Hyatt or the Radisson. We occupied the Magnolia room, and on the day that we had to check out I found it almost impossible to get up! It was a wonderful stay, and I'm sure that we will return, even if it is just to say hello toMs. Pat and Mr. T!!! What a beautiful place!!!


Relaxing and Inspiring

5 on September 23, 2007

I think we were the last to leave the house that morning. Pat and her staff cooked us an awesome breakfast, the best juice I've ever had. We felt like we were her only guest in years. She sat with us afterwards and showed us pictures of the house that a family member had sent her. I loved hearing about the history of the house. The house is simply gorgeous and sitting on the porch at night was a special treat, it was so silent. I couldn't have asked for more, everything was perfect.


An enchanting evening

4.4 on September 19, 2007

My wife and I enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was outstanding.


5 Musicians & the Ghost

5 on July 25, 2007

Stayed at the Denham House the week of Feb. 19th '07. Four other musicians and myself were lead into the house by Pat. She is an Awesome lady and treated all of us like family. As we entered one of our guys just happened to ask about ghosts, and she proceeded to enlighten us about the house be voted one of the best places to sleep with a ghost. Needless to say thats all we needed to hear so the hunt was on. Little did we know that our 2 day stay would provoke more activity in that house than there has probably been in 50 years, but it was one of the most fun experiences I've ever had with my buddies. We laughed at each other getting spooked so hard we were all sore for a week.If you are a ghost hunter looking for entities trust me, this house is full of chilling cold spots, flickering lights and phisical happenings that are unexplainable and definately things that I have never experienced.For ghost busters its a perfect spot to have a blast. For normal folks its a beautiful spot to vacation with awesome accomodations, a wonderful host and fantastic cooking for breakfast. Thanks for an awesome experience. Definately 5 stars all the way accross the board.


family vaction

5 on July 01, 2007

IT WAS A CHARMING B&b. The blue room was very homey.It was the most favorite room for us. It had a picture from back home in it. A very beautiful home.Also very good breakfast. very relaxing outside.


Enjoyable!

5 on March 11, 2007

Our stay at your home was so enjoyable. Our room was the gold room and it was very comfortable & welcoming. Breakfast the next morning was more than expected and delicious. Pat is a wonderful hostess and we will go back to this great little town and this B&B many more times.........can't wait!


1872 John Denham House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $160
  • Reviews (54) 4.7
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8509330456
  • Phone 1-8509974568

Visit Website »

View details

Top