The Mermaid & Alligator Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
121 Reviews

Write A Review

My new favorite place

5 on July 22, 2014

This was my first B&B experience and let me tell you -- it was INCREDIBLE. From the hospitality to the property to the breakfast, I cannot wait to go back. The staff is so warm and helpful. We planned on going to Blue Heaven for breakfast each morning but after we had breakfast the the Mermaid & the Alligator, our plans changed. The pool was perfect, too. They really take care of everything for you. I absolutely cannot wait to return.


Another great stay at the Mermaid & Alligator

4.8 on July 14, 2014

This was our third stay at the Mermaid & Alligator, and it was better than ever. The hosts are welcoming, the house is beautiful, our room was perfect! The gardens are stunning, and eating breakfast in the gardens is truly one of life's best pleasures. This is one of the most comfortable and elegant places I have ever stayed.


A cozy tropical retreat

4.6 on July 02, 2014

My wife and I had a memorable stay at the Mermaid and Alligator. The home is beautifully decorated, warm and has everything you could possibly need. The staff goes out of its way to please and helped us with all things Key West. Our room, the Caribbean Queen, was absolutely beautiful. The best feature was the wraparound porch with comfortable furniture and hammock that overlooked the street. It was a great place to relax with a book or watch a storm come through. It was also great to come home to Havana and Caya, the resident canine hosts that could always be found taking a nap or wandering the grounds. Needless to say, we will be back.


Don't Miss Out on this amazing place!

4.8 on June 11, 2014

One of the best, if not THE best experience of my life. From the comfortable rooms, to the great breakfast, to the incredible staff who is will to help you with anything! Can't wait to make another trip to key West and stay at the B & B! Me and my partner loved every part of this trip thanks to The Mermaid and the Alligator


Amazing Stay

5 on May 27, 2014

We are not normally B&B people, but we were given this stay from our kids as an anniversary gift. What we discovered is that The Mermaid & The Alligator is so much more, from the moment we walked through their door we felt at home. Dean and the staff were more than helpful setting up all our reservations, and giving us guidance on what and where to go in the area. The grounds are filled with beautiful tropical gardens with little sitting areas where you can be alone or mingle with other guest over a nice glass of wine they provide every evening. The building is located just off Duval Street a short walk to everything you might want to do. We had a great stay, I can't say enough. Bob & Jeanne


Mermaid & Alligator: Lovely place to stay.

5 on May 02, 2014

We visited the Keys for the 1st time with another couple in March 2014. We picked the Inn based on the reviews we had seen. Wow! We were surprised to find out the Inn was everything we had read about and much more. The innkeepers and their staff could not have been more accommodating. Our only disappointment was we could not stay longer. We look forward to visiting Key West again and staying at M & A. Our thanks to Dean, Paul, Geri, Rebecca and the special residents Havana and Caya.


Great Place and People

5 on April 27, 2014

We cannot say enough good things about our stay at The Mermaid and The Alligator in April 2014. The house and the setting is beautiful. There were four of us and we stayed in the very quaint and comfortable Papaya and key Lime rooms. While the doors face the back street, it was still quiet and provided us our own private veranda, however, the settings throughout the garden are so beautiful, we did not spend much time on our 'own' porch. Dean and Paul are terrific hosts and Geri and Rebecca were so attentive to our every need. They took care of so many details, ensured we had reservations for dinners, a sunset cruise (The crew of the Hindu are wonderful and the boat so lovingly restored) and other activities. The breakfasts were delicious and varied. So many little touches, from the complimentary water and sodas and, of course, the daily wine bar. We all agreed that we would return to Key West for the sole purpose of being pampered by the wonderful people at The Mermaid and The Alligator.


Delightful Stay

5 on April 06, 2014

Cannot say enough good things. The house was lovely and spotless. The garden was a little paradise. Every morning we were treated to a different home cooked meal. The host were available for suggestions for meals and activites. Geri was wonderful! Felt very pampered, yet at home, perfect combination.


Outstanding!

5 on March 20, 2014

Stayed for our third time and it is simply wonderful! Would not stay anywhere else in Key West. Can't wait to go back!


Best B&B in the Keys!

5 on November 30, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the M&A and could not have had a better time! From the delicious breakfasts (French toast & Banana Pancakes were fantastic) to the beautiful gardens, our relaxing room, and our afternoon glass of wine, our experience was top shelf! A great location, the M&A is minutes away from any activity in KW! Geri was so helpful in setting up excursions and/or reservations! We'd highly recommend the M&A to anyone looking to get away, relax, have some fun while staying in a slice of paradise wrapped in a touch of home! P.s. If you are a dog person, Caya & Havana's wagging tails always make it a joy to return from any outing!


Don't miss this B&B it's fabulous

4.8 on October 24, 2013

Our stay at the mermaid and the alligator was phenomenal. Everyone was so accommodating and the rooms (we stayed in papaya and Caribbean) had up to date decor, comfie beds, and were immaculate. We moved due too our room being booked in advance by someone else our last night. They made it easy and even moved our bags while we were at the beach. The staff made us feel so comfortable at every interaction. Breakfast, fruit, yogurts, muffins, coffee was set out, and then when we were seated offered a hot entree, which was varied but always fabulous. They provided beach towels and beach bags, chilled waters/ beverages that were complimentary and wine at happy hour! They assisted us in our choices for day excursions, and even booked for us. The pool and sitting areas in the garden were secluded fully from the street, we felt tucked in a sacred space, awesome. You won't be disappointed in this B&B, & the location is perfect.


Slice Of Paradise

5 on October 17, 2013

Dean, Paul and staff create a wonderful, relaxing, quiet tropical atmosphere. The patio garden is soothing and relaxing.The house living rooms are inviting and cozy. Our bedroom was quiet and comfortable. Our daily breakfast was scrumptious and fresh with a variety of foods to choose from. Havana and Caya provided play fun in the yard. It felt like home.The concierge service was great. It was the perfect getaway and within walking distance to the sights. Without a doubt will stay again the next time we're in town and definitely recommend it to family and friends


paradise in Key West

5 on October 10, 2013

had a great time ,close to Duval st . a little paradise in picture perfect Key West


Excellent bed and breakfast in Key West

5 on October 04, 2013

We have been coming to this great bed and breakfast for years when visiting Key West and have never been disappointed. The place is first rate in all categories!


Perfection

5 on August 14, 2013

The jewel of key west


Tropical Jungle Getaway

5 on August 07, 2013

Best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at. The Bamboo Room was beautiful and the many secluded sitting areas on the grounds were fabulous. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. We only had time to stay for one night. The following day we left our car parked at the inn while we explored Key West and then walked back to the inn for a rest in the garden and a refreshing glass of lemonade before heading on our way. Can't wait to stay here again.


AMAZING VACATION/WEDDING/HONEYMOON!!!

5 on August 01, 2013

Where to begin?!! We were completely blown away from the time we arrived at The Mermaid and the Alligator! The Inn is beautiful but the gardens are magnificent! We stayed in the Bamboo Room which is a cottage in the gardens and I would not have chosen anything different. We were steps away from everything but in almost complete seclusion if we chose to be. Dean, the owner, is a wonderful host to all of his guests and Geri and Rebecca make you feel right at home as soon as you enter. We were married in the gardens by Geri who took care of every detail of the ceremony from the flowers and photography to the champagne! The photographer, Carol was excellent! She was very helpful and a lot of fun to be around. They all made our wedding exactly what we had hoped for! Cannot say enough about the service there. All of the staff were very friendly and everything is clean and immaculate. The two dogs that live on the property are very well behaved and a joy to be around. We actually stayed an additional night there, not wanting to leave. We will definitely go back. Wish it were tomorrow!


Heaven on earth

5 on July 28, 2013

This is the most romantic B&B in Key West. We have stayed twice and each time has been wonderful. The most friendly Inn Keepers and staff. We will be staying again in October 2013 for our 25th. wedding anniversary. Until then we just dream of being in Key West and at the best B&B.


Paradise Found

5 on July 02, 2013

From the minute we arrived at this charming bed and breakfast, we felt welcomed and knew that our stay in Key West would be memorable. The owners, staff (including the dogs) and food were terrific. Highly recommend.


Kids? What kids?

4.8 on June 18, 2013

Had a wonderful weekend just the two of us. Have already booked the next trip.


A piece of heaven...

5 on June 07, 2013

The Mermaid and the Alligator in Key West is the most incredible bed and breakfast we've ever come across in our travels around the United States! It is a little tropical oasis of perfection in every way. We stayed in the Treetop Suite and the Caribbean Queen Suite and especially enjoyed the large 2nd story veranda with the Caribbean Queen! An amazing property in every way!


Home away from home

4.6 on June 04, 2013

Instantly felt welcome as though we were family. Great help yourself atmosphere if coffee, etc was needed at odd hours, breakfast was always awesome! Outdoor spaces felt like we were in our own Garden of Eden. Can't wait to get back !


Wonderful

5 on May 07, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for an anniversary getaway. The pictures do not lie. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and the service was fabulous. We are definitely going to make this our "go to" location in Key West.


Hidden Treasure in Key West

4.6 on April 11, 2013

Each morning you wake up to a wonderful, healthy breakfast in this hidden treasure in Key West. The unique rooms are only the start of why this B&B should be at the top of the list. The gardens surrounding the patio, hot tub and garden rooms make you feel like you're living in your own little sanctuary, away from the hustle that is just outside your door. Dean and Paul (and Geri and Rebecca) provide just the right amount of service without feeling like they get in your way. They seem to really know what they are doing! If you're need to get away from the great white north or just need a long weekend, this is the place for you ... I will certainly be back!


Fun in the sun

5 on April 11, 2013

Beautiful gardens, great breakfast, outstanding hosts. The location makes getting anywhere easy, but the place is so nice you almost hate to go anywhere.


An Oasis of Comfort

4.6 on March 29, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at The Mermaid & Alligator. We could not be more happy with our choice. The staff is more than helpful and friendly, the other guests are just lovely, and our room was magical. We also loved Caya and Havana, our friendly four legged friends that greeted us every time we stopped in. It really is a relaxing oasis from the hustle and bustle of Old Town Key West and we felt like we were at home. I am suggesting The Mermaid & Alligator to anyone interested in Key West or any vacation for that matter.


Perfect in every way

5 on March 21, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day stay. We stayed in the Bamboo room. We felt as though we had our own little house with a porch .After a long day what a pleasure it was to return to our oasis. The beautifully well trained dogs would greet us at the door . I would enjoy a glass of fresh lemonade or wine on my porch .The gardens are lush and well maintained The breakfasts were delicious . We never had breakfast anywhere else. The staff helped us with reservations and suggestions . The decor and cleanliness is top notch. Upon check out we immediately booked our bungalow for next year


Pure Delight

5 on January 27, 2013

The Mermaid and the Alligator is a wonderful inn. Our room was beautiful and comfortable, with a cozy decor that made us feel at home. We had a delicious breakfast every morning in the garden, including good coffee, home-made muffins, and a breakfast entree. We shared a table with various other guests, and I very much enjoyed the conversation. Owners Dean and Paul, and the concierges Geri and Rebecca, were all friendly, available, and ready with recommendations. We couldn't have asked for more.


The Very Best Place to Stay in Key West!

4.6 on January 08, 2013

We stay here every year over the New Year holiday and really cant fault it - it really is paradise on earth. The house is beautiful and always full of Christmas decorations when we visit, and the cleanliness and attention to detail in the rooms is meticulous - they think of everything. Really everyone at the Mermaid makes our stay just perfect! Our hosts Dean & Paul are very welcoming and Geri & Rebecca are most helpful in arranging anything that we need to do during our holiday in Key West.....not forgetting the dogs Havana & Kaya who make it feel like home from home!


Charming and relaxing B&B

5 on December 27, 2012

The Mermaid & Alligator provided exactly what we were looking for, an extremely clean and comfortable room, a beautiful garden to relax in and an outstanding breakfast to start the day! Everyone was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The Christmas decorations were beautifully done!


Key West's best.

5 on November 09, 2012

This was our second stay at The Mermaid, simply met all of our expectations. Their attention to detail and customer service is second to none.


Mermaid & Alligator is the best of the best!

5 on November 02, 2012

Never have I felt so at home away from home. The concierge at the Mermaid and Alligator gave my daughter and I an extensive tour of the B&B and gardens. She answered all our questions and made us feel so welcome. The owners, Dean and Paul, attention to detail was amazing. They anticipated our every want and need. The food was yummy and plentiful. The coffee was excellent. The tropical gardens were Key West magical and the room was artfully decorated in cheerful colors and accessories. It was a WOW and we loved every minute of our stay. I highly recommend the Mermaid & Alligator.


Perfect

4.4 on October 06, 2012

This was our first visit to Key West and our stay at Dean and Paul's house was a home run. We could not have asked for a beter experience and we have stayed at many B&B's. Thanks you for making this a most memorable 25th wedding anniversary and be assured if and when we return to the Keys, there won't be a moments hesitation as to where we will be staying. Chris and Sue Scholz


Aahmazing

4.8 on September 03, 2012

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at The Mermaid & The Alligator. Everything about our stay was perfection. Even tropical storm Isaac couldn't damper our visit. Paul, Dean, Rebecca, Geri along with Caya and Havana were all wonderful. Breakfast each morning was fresh and delicious and happy hour each evening with snacks and white or red wine was always a nice way to start our evening. Our room, as well as the rest of the inn, was beautiful. I could go on and on but I think the best way to put it is, we will be back.


Great experience

4.8 on August 31, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful and relaxing days at the Mermaid and The Alligator. We arrived several hours before Tropical storm Isaac. We stayed in the "Tree Top" room, it has beautiful exposed wood and great angles. Dean, Paul and Geri are there to help you have a wonderful experience from things to do, places to eat and a great breakfast every morning. Havana and Kaya are two well behaved dogs who love to play. The gardens and birds are very relaxing. Thanks for a great experience.


No better place to relax!!!

5 on August 21, 2012

The Mermaid and the Alligator has it ALL! A beautifully restored and decorated property which has gorgeous rooms and beautiful tropical gardens. The service is top notch -the breakfast delicious; there are six different seating areas in the backyard garden area which are seperated by tropical foliage which gives the guests privacy as well as lush tropical surroundings. The staff is helpful while being inobtrusive and are experts at recommending where to dine and what attractions must been seen. Nothing has been overlooked - they've paid careful attention to every detail. I will certainly return to the Mermaid and Alligator during my next trip to Key West.


Loved our visit - August, 2012

4.0 on August 20, 2012

Very Very Nice. Head and shoulders above any other B & B we have stayed at in Key West. The tropical courtyard and pool area are well kept and very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent. Rooms comfortable and clean. Highly recommended and we will stay there again.


Stay here if you can!

5 on August 07, 2012

Just stayed here on my first trip to Key West and I must say that it made the trip. The staff was so helpful in getting to know the area, getting to know restaurants, and really making the most of what was a short trip. The Inn itself was perfect and the food each morning was great! I would recommend the M&A to anyone visiting Key West!


EXTRAORDINARY STAY!

4.6 on August 06, 2012

Being our very first experience with B&Bs, I must say that the "Mermigator" has set the level of hospitality WAY high! We never anticipated such wonderful service and friendliness with the owners, Dean and Paul. The Sun suite was a great choice overlooking the back patio (and the shimmering pool reflection on our ceiling all night!). Rebecca and Geri were stellar hosts, offering tremendous suggestions for fine (and casual) dining and activities. Our personal favorite experience was the floor time we shared with the house mascots, Havana and Caya. If you're a dog person, this is the place to stay! Special bonus points to Paul for his Saturday morning breakfast frittata! We think we have found our new favorite destination spot, assuming we'll be able to book a room again at America's BEST B&B, The Mermaid & The Alligator!


Dream B&B experience

5 on May 12, 2012

My husband and I just popped down to Key West for one day and stayed in the Key Lime room. It was the highlight of our week long trip to FL. We arrived a few min.early and were given a quick tour of the gardens and kitchen...then we were asked about our plans for the short stay. Geri offered great suggestions for places to visit and eat then had bikes brought to B&B before we were even unpacked. The room was great...small but had everything we needed, bed was super comfy, and there was even a sound machine if the street noise was to much. In the morning that was helpful as Key West woke up before I wanted to. A fantastic breakfast is served until 11:30... It was delicious. I wish we had another day to lounge in the beautiful gardens and dip in the tranquil salt water pool. We will plan our next trip to Key West around a stay at this B&B.


Made our Trip

5 on May 06, 2012

We can't say enough about this B&B. The hosts and hostesses where so friendly. The Papaya Room was perfect and secluded for us (just what we wanted). Exceeded our expectations. The pics don't do it justice. You have to experience it to get the full effect. Worth the trip to Key West just for this B&B. Love the dogs, Kaya and Havanna!


The best B&B we've stayed at yet!! Relaxing, calming, BEAUTIFUL!!!!

5 on April 03, 2012

Relaxing, beautiful!! The dogs were wonderful, too!!


ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL B&B!!!!

4.4 on February 24, 2012

My partner and I stayed for a week at The Mermaid & The Alligator, it was our Honeymoon trip. This place was beautiful and SOOOO peaceful. Very centraly located to most everthing you would want to do. Just a few blocks away from Duval Street. The grounds and the gardens are breathtaking. Dean and Paul have done an amazing job to the century plus old house, decor and landscaping! The kitchen is to die for...in fact I want that kitchen in my next home! LOL...While we were there I took about 450 pictures of our trip to Key West and about 150 of those were of the B&B! The offical greeters, Kaya and Havanna (AKA, The Muffin Monsters) were friendly and warm. 2 beautiful flat coated retrivers with the hearts of gold. Always ready for a game of tug or fetch. Never invading!! The breakfasts were delicious (always vegatarian, don't let that make a difference for the carnivores out there...they were GREAT), the quiche was unbelievale, the Coasta Rician coffee, the BEST! The whole experience was wonderful. The staff and the housekeepers were GREAT. These girls did a great job! The evening glass of wine they offered was a very nice touch. They have tried to think of everything you my need (and stuff you my have forgotten) to make your stay as wonderful and relaxing as possible. Neither of us had ever been to Key West and were very glad to have experienced the carefree way of Key West. We will always remember our trip and will diffentely return. I HIGHLY reccomend this B&B, you will not be disappointed!!!!!! Barb Tyler & Kelley Larson


Love this B&B

4.8 on February 11, 2012

We have stayed at the Mermaid and the Alligator 5 times and we always look forward to going back. We have never been disappointed, ever. Love the owners, staff and of course, the dogs. Carole & Bill H.


Wonderful Getaway!

5 on February 10, 2012

The Mermaid & Alligator exceeded our expectations. The gardnens were beautiful, as well as, the house and rooms. The staff was exceptional with many recommendations for our stay. We ate our way through Key West! The daily breakfast was perfect, served in the perfect setting. Afternoon wine was fabulous. THANK YOU to all! Can't wait to return. The Royals


Heaven in the Keys

4.6 on December 27, 2011

The Mermaid & The Alligator was so precious. It was extremely clean, .The decor whimsical and lovely.Caya and Havana were the best behaved " mascots" Dean was charming,the staff the best.generally not a B&B person,LOVED it.Felt like home.Would recommend this Inn to anyone.


A few days in Paradise

5 on December 20, 2011

As we entered The Mermaid & The Alligator thru the gardens, tears came to my eyes. This B&B was as beautiful as all the pictures on Trip Advisor if not more so!! And the beauty continued as Rebecca gave us the grand tour :-) The staff was so helpful and dedicated to our "temporary" home. I wish we could have made it our permanent home :-) Everything was immaculately clean! Geri made breakfast for us every morning, answered all of our questions, and kept our Pepsi addiction supplied :-) We could just sense the love & dedication she had for her job!! Paul & Dean, the Innkeepers, were also very dedicated to the B&B. They were frequently seen decorating the B&B for the holidays. And despite Dean's challenges with the Christmas Tree lights, he persevered late into the evening to finish that tree. The dogs, Caya & Havanah, added to the home-like feeling. What a wonderful time!! If we ever get back to Key West, we will only stay here!! You can't improve on perfection!!


magnificent!!!!

5 on November 25, 2011

Rebecca meet us upon arrival, along with Havana and Cava, what a wonderful entrance into our vacation, I felt we were at home, we had just lost our companion in October. Paul, Dean and Rebecca, were very gracious around our dietary needs. Quoting another review "the grounds are beautiful and peacefully comfortable" a meditative quieting, we stayed in the Garden room, and wanting in the future to explore more. Another touch of love can be experienced by sitting in the gardens, one can feel when an environment is filled with love, this one is. For anyone who has chemical sensitivities, this is your chance to really enjoy your vacation. Everyone, from Rebecca, Dean and Paul, to the rest of the staff are gentle, respectful and very calming. Special thanks to Rebecca who does know all of the places to partake of culinary delight. Helpful, love, passion, a sense of serenity and great food, what a wonderful magnificence. Thank you so very much, for all the wagging tails. Treat yourself to love.


Outstanding stay at the Mermaid and the Alligator

5 on November 20, 2011

This is our second year in a row at the Mermaid and the Alligator. I would not stay any other place. Such attention to details! It is a beautiful Bed and Breakfast and would highly recommend.


Loved the garden

4.8 on November 17, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Mermaid and the Alligator and loved it. We particularly enjoyed the lush and serene garden. It was full of plants, including orchids, and featured a number of birds in cages, water fountains, and the B&B dogs, Caya and Havana. We came back early each day from exploring Key West just to read and relax in the garden. Breakfast was served in the garden at 8:30 each morning, but excellent coffee was available around 7 am. Breakfast alternated each day between a sweet item (e.g., banana pancakes) and a savory item (e.g., a crustless quiche). In addition, everyday they had juice, muffins, banana bread, fruit, and cereal available. All of it was very good. Wine and snacks were also served in the garden at 5 pm each day. The wine was inexpensive and the snacks were packaged chips mostly (e.g., Fritos, Cheetos), but it was another nice opportunity to relax in the garden – by yourself if you wanted, or in conversation with other guests. We stayed in the Papaya Room which is part of a cottage that is separate from the main house. It had a Queen bed and was pretty small, but certainly bigger than a lot of European hotel rooms. Besides, we really only slept and bathed there given the great garden. Our room had a nice little front porch that faced Windsor Lane, but it was pretty quiet. The bed was comfortable and we used the sound machine and slept blissfully until the town’s roosters woke me up in the morning. The owners, Dean and Paul, were very welcoming and their staff very helpful. We highly recommend the Mermaid and the Alligator.


Mermaid and alligator simply the best

5 on October 26, 2011

We recently spent four super days at the Mermaid and Alligator in Key west. we would recommend that you weigh value for money spent and this inn will be the top score,along with a bonus of being able to park free and walk to all the attractions in the town.


Another fabulous stay at The Mermaid and tahe Alogator

4.0 on October 19, 2011

This was our 3rd trip to the Mermaid and the Alligator and it has been consistently fabulous from the quality of the breakfast, great attitude of the owners and staff, convenient location and atmosphere of the beautiful backyard oasis......it doesn't get better than this! We can't wait to get back!


Awesome B&B

4.0 on October 18, 2011

If you want the most wonderful stay of your life this is the place! They go out of their way to make it enjoyable. The breakfast was always good. The owners were most pleasant and accommodating. We couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more.


A Pleasant Escape

5 on September 20, 2011

A delightful spot! Excellent recommendations for dining. Helpful suggestions for touring. A cool respite in the middle of August heat.


Great stay for our wedding/honeymoon!!!

5 on September 17, 2011

We stayed down in September 2011 and got married at the KWHYC while down there. This B&B is by far worth the cost. It is actually very comparable to other B&B's and is a much better quality. The pool is amazing and actually has shade (really, I did not see another pool in KW that had shade during the day). It is very quiet and easy to relax yet it is very close to duval street if you want to go out. The owners and staff are absolutely super sweet and very helpful for anything you want to do or need. Next time I'm setting up a couples massage in their covered area (We saw someone else getting it when we were leaving!!)!! We will definitely be going back! We have recommended it to Everyone we know who went with us, and those who didn't! If you want to have a relaxing vacation but still be close to the action to have fun...this is where you want to stay!! The homeade breakfast in the mornings were one of the best things there! You won't won't to eat out (except at Blue Heaven every now and then, but they are pricey) Cassandra and Mark


Exceeded all of our expectations in every way. This is my favorite B&B ever!

5 on August 11, 2011

The Audubon room on the first floor has french doors to a little garden - so lovely and relaxing. The place is luxurious while remaining warm and inviting, the staff is friendly without being obtrusive. The food was wonderful. The (very well behaved) dogs make it feel like a home.


The best...

5 on August 08, 2011

The Mermaid & Alligator is a treasure. I'm not prone to gushing, but this is an exceptional property run by exceptional people, and maintained by an exceptional staff. We will absolutely return and would recommend without hesitation. Simply outstanding....


A paradise in Key West

4.6 on August 02, 2011

This was our second trip to Key West, and our first to The Mermaid and The Allligator. It wont be the last. Full of expectations we where greeted by the host Dean, who showed us the facilities. We where given our own house with access to the rest of the house and garden. The staff are all very nice and did their best to make sure we had a wonderful time. New towels in the room every day and also an AC, radio and The Sound terapi from Brookstone. The breakfast was fresh and served around the pool. In the afternoon we could have a nice drink as we met the other guests. This was a memorial stay, and i am happy we had a whole week to enjoy this paradise in Key West.


We loved our stay

4.6 on July 24, 2011

My wife and I were Key West for a family wedding and the Mermaid and Alligator was so pleasant and the staff extremely friendly. It is conveniently located and felt very secluded. We would recommend this B&B to anyone.


Wonderful weekend!

4.6 on July 05, 2011

The Mermaid and the Alligator is the perfect Bed and Breakfast for a Key West vacation! I am normally very aware of cleanliness and this hotel was really spotless, down to the careful care of the gardens. The breakfast is a gourmet style breakfast made by the inn keepers, who are extremely nice and helpful. This hotel is made perfect by the attention to details, all the little things that make you comfortable are right at your fingertips. Plus, with a great location walking distance to everything, this B&B is a no-brainer.


Great place to stay

4.2 on June 28, 2011

The mermaid & alligator has a beautiful lush, tranquil setting. While you are there it is easy to forget what is going on in the streets surrounding you. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. They had excellent recommendations for both first time and returning guests. It was very clean and well maintained. It allowed for guests to either interact comfortably or be secluded. Overall a wonderful place to stay and relax.


Beautiful place, outstanding service

5 on June 22, 2011

This was our first time in Key West; The Mermaid and The Alligator embodies the beauty and hospitality of the island; the service is remarkable, the gardens in the courtyard impressive, and the artfully designed room (we got to stay in the Garden Room) impeccable. Our Key West experience was unforgettable, and The Mermaid and The Alligator was a huge part of it. Kudos to the innkeepers and the whole staff. We hope to be back.


The best B&B we've ever stayed at.

5 on June 20, 2011

We loved this B&B. The concierges -- who were in charge on our stay while the owners were away -- were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, the property beautiful.


An Oasis in Key West

4.6 on June 10, 2011

We decided to stay at The Mermaid &The Alligator based on reviews in Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. As soon as we arrived and were greeted by Geri and the two Flatcoat Retrievers, Havana and Caya, we knew we had made the right decision. This was exactly what we were looking for. The home is warm and inviting with just the right touch of modern amenities. My wife described it as a quiet oasis amongst the chaos that is Key West. The grounds are filled with beautiful flora and lots of places to sit and relax after a busy day of sightseeing in Key West. We stayed in the bamboo room, a quaint cottage room that was comfortable and inviting with an old Key West charm combined with a modern bathroom and shower. There is an incredible attention to detail throughout the home and our concierge, Geri was most helpful. She discussed our desires while in Key West and then made recommendations and reservations for dining and activities. All of her recommendations were spot on. Our host Dean, greeted us for breakfast and made us feel right at home. Breakfast included warm muffins and a hot entree on the deck by the sauna while we were greeted by the other guests and made new friends. Even after we checked out and proceeded to our day of activities, we were welcomed to return in the afternoon to change clothes and freshen up before departing Key West. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Mermaid & The Alligator and will return again.


Our first B&B Experience was wonderful!

5 on June 03, 2011

The Mermaid and Alligator was recommended to us by friends. We had never stayed at a B&B before so we were unsure what to expect. Our expectations were exceeded on every count. The rooms, we split our stay in 2 of them; The Garden Room and The Bamboo Room, were clean, the beds comfortable and the Bamboo room was more like a suite. Our hosts, Paul and Dean were very knowledgeable about Key West and Rebecca, our concierge, was available to make arrangements for us for any activity that we had in mind, from swimming with dolphins in Islamorada to going on a sunset cruise, as well as our all important dinner reservations! The breakfasts they served were most satisfying, as were the late afternoon lemonade, wine and pretzels! The attention to detail in their home, the grounds and everything at this B&B is not to be missed. We recommend that anyone planning to visit Key West and that plans on staying in a B&B consider The Mermaid and Alligator. You will be extremely pleased with your decision, as we were. As we told Dean, Paul, Rebecca and the "girls" - we will be back! Their establishment is lovely!


Key West B&B

4.4 on June 03, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mermaid and Alligator. Our hosts were very pleasant and helpful with making reservations. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and breakfast by the pool was perfect and delicious. The grounds, etc., made up for the cottage room which was really too small for 2 people. I would definitely return.


One of the best B&Bs we've ever stayed at

5 on May 30, 2011

The Mermaid and the Alligator is beautiful, cozy, quiet and friendly. The staff were immensely helpful without being intrusive. Geri, Rebecca and Paul (Dean was out of town) were also terrific in helping me arrange a birthday surprise for my wife. The garden has plenty of secluded nooks for reading or sparking. The location is far enough from the main drag to be quiet while close enough to be an easy walk to just about anywhere you'd want to go. Tasty breakfast and two friendly, laid-back dogs complete the experience.


Perfect B&B, Impeccably Clean and Service is Superior

5 on May 27, 2011

We loved the comfort and cleanliness of the Mermaid and the Alligator. We have been to Key West 3 times and we have stayed here all three times! Besides the great breakfast, they supply beach mats and towels, and so many little extras that you need and want but never find in other B&Bs.


Heaven

5 on May 10, 2011

First time my wife had ever been to Key West and this was our 39th wedding anniversary.


Best Place to stay in Key West

4.2 on May 09, 2011

Great Service - The staff is very friendly and accommodating – gave great recommendations for activities, shopping and dining. The house/ and our room was fabulous – the pictures just don’t do it justice – very comfortable bed/bedding (smelled so nice) - Room very quiet and we always got a good night’s sleep, bathroom/shower very clean and nice. Location was perfect – we could walk to everything – we rented an electric car for two hours (round trip around the island) then took it back – was fun but we didn’t need it for the entire stay. Great breakfast every morning and they offer wine at 5:00 to kick of the evening. I felt very comfortable staying at the Mermaid and the Alligator – everyone is friendly, respectful/considerate- I can’t wait to go back.


A little bit of paradise

5 on April 07, 2011

The Mermaid and Alligator is a delightful bed and breakfast. The rooms are unique and designed for you comfort. Private gardens beckon you to relax and enjoy. The soaking spa is the perfect way to end the day. Staff and owners are particularly attentive and helpful in booking any outing/reservation. We found no better place to stay during our island wanderings! This is a gem.


Love the Mermaid & Alligator!!

4.8 on March 10, 2011

I surprised my wife with a trip to Key West for her 40th Birthday. We stayed at The Mermaid & The Alligator at the recommendation of my in-laws who have stayed their frequently and love the place. I can say that it is one of the nicer B&B's we have stayed anywhere in the U.S. which is very high praise. The house is beautiful and superbly decorated, the rooms are large, beds are extremely comfortable, service was great including great dinner reservations at the best restaurants in Key West, and the daily breakfast was delicious. We will definitely stay here again. D. Swartz, Gaithersburg, MD


Fabulous B&B Mermaid & the Alligator!

4.8 on March 03, 2011

Most beautiful B&B in Key West, gorgeous gardens, wonderful innkeepers, adorable mascots Caya and Havana, delicious breakfasts, incredible relaxing, immaculate, beautiful home close to everything!


Great Place to Stay in Key West

4.0 on February 15, 2011

A perfect place to stay in Key West! Close enough to Duval Street to walk to everything, yet quiet enough after dark for relaxation. Loved the beautiful, private courtyard garden with amazing trees and blooming orchids everywhere. The hot pool was fantastic. Wonderful help from the staff with suggesting local restaurants and making the reservations for us. Great hot breakfasts in the garden and lots of fun conversing with fellow guests. We stayed in the Garden Room on the main floor. A little on the small side for the two of us as we're not particularly petite, but still we were comfortable enough and loved the very convenient location to both garden and pool. Kaya and Havana, the resident canines were simply adorable. This is a great place to stay if you're visiting Key West. You will not be disappointed.


Incredible B&B

5 on February 11, 2011

My husband and I spent a week at the Mermaid and the Alligator for our yearly vacation. It is the best B&B we've ever stayed in and we've stayed in several. The house and grounds are beautiful, the hosts are wonderful, and the staff was always helpful. I can't say enough good things about it and can't wait to go back!


We are FANS!!!

5 on January 20, 2011

The Mermaid & Alligator is fantastic! We stayed 6 nights after Christmas and just loved the place...the concierge, Geri, is WONDERFUL! We will def return...so great to have an "animal fix" daily with Caya and Havana...we were missing our one pets. Christmas decoration was lovely. The Garden is to die for... all around A+.


Paradise!

5 on January 18, 2011

Best ever! Wish we had stayed longer and now we are longing to come back. Everything was just perfect, or even better than that. Loved it!


Best B & B we've ever stayed in!

5 on January 11, 2011

The house is beautiful and very comfortable. The gardens are what complete the atmosphere. The food is always wonderful, but the cleanliness and the staff are what make the B & B experience perfect. To top it off, pets Caya and Havana allow one to feel completely at home!


Mermaid & Alligator is a Gem!

4.6 on January 05, 2011

Great place to stay and relax. Beautiful grounds and well-appointed rooms. Breakfasts are superb. No detail was overlooked. Will definitely return.


Very special place: a tropical escape from reality (with lovebirds and pooches)

5 on December 05, 2010

I had an amazing stay...everybody says that. What most people don't say is that they had an amazing stay as a solo traveler - which makes this a very special place. Rebecca, Dean and Paul made me feel like I was coming home every night during my stay. I almost moved into the tropical jacuzzi which was a dream after being out kayaking or snorkeling. The gardens are so beautiful you just have to experience them for yourself. I included a photo below, what you are missing is the sound of the wind chimes gently rustling ... Sitting in a hot tub with soft wafting music floating over you, looking up an amazing flora of tropical plans and flowers... whatever is going on in your life all your troubles slowly drift away. On a more practical level, the rooms are just beautiful, each one different. I had a little step stool up to a 4-poster bed (charming), a little balcony overlooking the tree tops when I got in in the wee hours of the morning I could sit and chill. The place is spotless ... Although frankly I missed it most mornings doing the 'Key West' thing at night, -- there is a lovely breakfast included in the morning in the gardens with more food than you can imagine. Someone was always around (usually Rebecca or Dean during my particular stay) if I needed to ask a question. They are incredibly flexible too. I had to drop my things off early on my check-in day to make an early water trip, not a problem at all... The amenities check-off below is not a great fit. They don't have a "restaurant", but they include breakfast, and there are sodas, etc. available for guests 24 hrs... Last, I am in love with their pups Caya and Havana... with Havana often just sitting at (or on) my feet keeping me company and Caya just wants to play :-)... There are beautiful birds in the gardens as well. I could go on-and-on but you should all get the idea. This is truly a very special place run by very special people...


The Mermaid & the Alligator is truly one of a kind!

5 on November 19, 2010

We stayed at the Mermaid & the Alligator for 5 wonderful nights. The rooms are beautiful the grounds are spectacular and the staff are extremely accommodating. Breakfast everyday was delicious. I would definitely visit the Mermaid & the Alligator again on my next trip back to Key West.


Elegant but comfortable B&B

4.8 on November 17, 2010

We were only able to stay 2 days, but they were absolutely perfect. The house and grounds were beautiful and roomy. Never felt crowded. Plenty of garden seating areas. Breakfasts were delicious and relaxing. The inn was so relaxing that at times it was difficult to leave it so we could enjoy the area we had come to see.


Our Honeymoon!!

5 on November 15, 2010

We absolutly loved the M & A and our Treetop Suite. EVERYTHING about this B & B was great. We will never stay anyplace else in Key West! The outside gardens made us feel as if we were secluded, miles away from civilization. Those who work in this beautiful place were attentive and assisted in our needs..and then there were the dogs..Caya & Havana..LOVED THEM.. they made it feel like you were home.. oh my, how can i NOT mention the cappuccino/chocolate chip muffins!! all that is left to say is..stay here, at least once in your life!


I have been to many B&Bs, but this one takes the cake!

4.4 on November 10, 2010

I have been staying at Key West B&Bs for 12 years now and the Mermaid and the Alligator is the best of all, and we will return...for we have found us a home! Jerri and Rebecca far exceeded our past experiences and Caya and Havana kept us playing fetch. The grounds reminded us of Old Florida, the way it is supposed to be. Close to Duval and everywhere else. Enjoy!!


Just wonderful

4.4 on September 05, 2010

This was our second trip to Key West and we didn't think we could top the first B&B we stayed at but the Mermaid and the Alligator really came up trumps and certainly didn't disappoint. From the warm welcome from Geri and the dogs to the beautiful room and wonderful breakfasts everything was just fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and there was a lot of information about things to do and places to eat which was really useful. There is also a computer available for guests which was a nice touch and quite useful in this day and age. We stayed in the Sun room which was wonderful and loved being able to sit out on the private balcony. We certainly hope to return soon


The Mermaid & The Alligator

5 on August 21, 2010

We absolutely fell in love with this B&B. The rooms were uniquely decorated (and we purposely arrived early to view the rooms without tenants). We were amazed with the outdoor area and landscaping. The service was outstanding. Paul & Dean surely made us feel at home. Caya & Havanna were a delight to play with! It is a vacation I will always remember, and we will certainly book many more weekends away at The Mermaid & The Alligator.


Perfect Honeymoon

5 on August 18, 2010

After many years of waiting for a honeymoon, this was the perfect spot. We celebrated our anniversary/honeymoon here. We could not have asked for more hospitality! Paul & Geri gave us GREAT recommendations for dinner and for activities. Everything at the inn was gorgeous & the attention to detail far surpassed our expectations. We had a glorious time & plan to go back annually.


Wonderful Getaway

5 on August 12, 2010

Our first visit to Key West was perfect thanks to the staff at The Alligator and The Mermaid. The property is beautiful and very welcoming. We enjoyed our delicious breakfast each morning on the beautiful garden patio. I would highly recommend this B&B!


Fantastic place to stay in the Keys

5 on July 21, 2010

Great place to stay and be pampered. They took care of us from the moment we stepped in until we left. Great atmosphere and the people were willing to help in any way possible.


Friendy B and B in a GREAT Location

4.6 on July 15, 2010

The Mermaid and Alligator is a great place to stay. We spent two nights in the treetop suite and enjoyed it thoroughly. The owners of the B and B are extremely pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast is delicious and elegantly served. During our stay, Caroline helped us to decide what to do and where to eat. She carefully adjusted her suggestions to fit exactly what we were looking to do. Further, she was not scared to confidently recommend ideas. Of particular note are the beautiful gardens at The Mermaid and the Alligator. You can enjoy peaceful relaxation to the tune of the many birds around. It’s easy to forget where you are. The owners’ dogs are great. Very friendly, they willingly submit to an ear scratch, but do not pester guests expecting attention. The location is extremely convenient, but there is a price you pay for that. If you want absolute silence in your room, the treetop suite is not for you. We were not bothered by the noise from highway 1, but could see how someone might be. There are rooms with no windows facing the highway, so be sure to ask for one of them if you want “silence.” Keep in mind though, you are unlikely to escape the noise anywhere in Key West. It is a busy and well traveled place. We highly recommend the Mermaid and the Alligator and would stay there again if we return to Key West.


Another Big Easy Spot

4.2 on July 14, 2010

The garden is hard to resist from coffee in the morning to wine in late afternoon. It is quite easy to feel at home. We enjoyed out stay. Fay and George Harris New Orleans, Louisiana


Best B&B :)

5 on July 07, 2010

All I can say from my weekend stay at this B&B is that....... Why didn't we book more nights? Everything was wonderful and I couldn't have asked for more. Can't wait till we return.


Relaxing

4.2 on June 23, 2010

My husband and I were celebrating 10 years of marital bliss. We had never been to Key West or stayed in a bed and breakfast. Both were beyond our expectations. The place was beautiful, the house was surrounded by magnificant gardens complete with bird cages and beautiful birds. Our breakfast was served on the back porch surrounded by the awesome foliage. The rooms were well kept and had little extra touches such as bubble bath and make-up removal pads and a black washcloth with "makeup" embroidered on it. The shower had dispensers with shampoo,conditioner, and bath gel. The Dean, Paul and their staff were awesome. They made sure your stay was memorable and helped with every detail such as directions, making dinner reservations, offering discount coupons and assisting in every way. Of course we cannot forget Havana and Caya the resident pooches. The most well mannered, manicured and playful dogs I have been around in a while. We thank all of them for allowing us to stay in their home and thank them for their warm and friendly hospitality. I will come back again and have already recommended them to several of our friends and aquaintances and will continue to do so. This made our 10th anniversary and visit to Key West one to remember.


Paradise

5 on June 15, 2010

My husband and I just returned from The Mermaid and The Alligator. It is difficult to put into words the perfection of our visit. Dean and Paul have created a Paradise in the center of Historic Key West. Their shaded tropical gardens include a cabana, pool, artwork, birds and a surprise around every corner. Even in the dead of heat it is comfortable. Their home is over the top. You could spend hours looking at the art and collections meticulously selected to make this a real Key West home. All the rooms are unique. We stayed in the Sunroom and loved it. Attention to detail is apparent. Best of all, everything is immaculate. We felt totally at home. Anything we needed was made available. If you want the most relaxing experience of your life, visit The Mermaid and Alligator. We can’t wait to go as soon as possible.


A hidden gem with terrific hosts and tranquil surroundings

4.0 on June 13, 2010

This was a delightful way to spend our first visit to Key West. The hosts (and mascots) were delightful, breakfasts delicious, rooms comfortable and well-appointed, and the garden was a tropical paradise, complete with resident finches and lovebirds. We loved it and wish we could have stayed longer. We'll be back!


Absolutely perfect

5 on May 26, 2010

Everything at the Mermaid & Alligator was perfect, nothing was missing or could have been better.


Best Spot in Key West

5 on April 26, 2010

This is an amazing place. Top shelf remodel. Everything appears super new. The owners are a couple of guys who really know how to treat people. They are energetic about helping you out, without being overbearing or nosy. The location is perfect. We could walk to the pier (for our snorkling trip to the Dry Tortugas) and we could walk to Duval Street (the main street in town). Super easy to find and great parking. Quiet. Wireless internet but no TVs in rooms. A/C in each room. Super clean.


Recharged and Refreshed

4.0 on April 20, 2010

My boyfriend and I went to Key West for spring break. Being middle school teachers, we were really in need of some tlc and relaxation. We found the Mermaid & Alligator online and booked a room after discussion with the staff about our personal preferences. The B&B was everything it promised and more. The house is absolutely lovely. Our room was an oasis. The gardens were really inviting and serene. Every morning we had a delicious breakfast in the garden. Each day was different, but each day was fabulous. The coffee and homemade muffins were self serve, but the hot dishes were served by the staff. At the end of the day, there was wine and snacks offered. There was also a refrigerator for guests that was always stocked with cold drinks, as well as a refrigerator for us to keep personal things. The owners, Dean and Paul, were very friendly and nice. The day-to-day managers, Geri and Caroline, couldn't have been more helpful. They helped figure out restaurants and activities and booked some wonderful places for us. The dogs, Kaia and Havana, were absolute sweethearts and added to the fun. We've already made reservations to return in a year!! Just loved it.


Lovely, charming tropical B&B

5 on April 11, 2010

My wife and I enjoyed our five night stay at M&A very much. Just a few blocks off Duvall, M&A's central location puts it within walking distance of nearly everything to see and do in KW. We almost never used our car, which we left in the parking area right beside the house. The art-filled, large Victorian house is lovely, and each individually-decorated, spotlessly clean room is a gem. Room air conditioning was perfect; the mattress might have been firmer for our taste. The large, decked, lush tropical garden in back is a delightful setting for the home-made breakfast served every morning and just for relaxing and getting to know the other guests. Beautiful palms, other plants, and orchids are everywhere. The concierge, Geri, is very attentive to every need and makes those great breakfasts. Soft drinks are available in the kitchen throughout the day, and wine is served on the deck in late afternoon. We enjoyed the large, comfortable hot tub in the back at the end of the day. The parlors contain a large-screen HDTV, a PC with fast internet connection, and a large collection of menus, brochures from area restaurants and recreational outlets. The owners and staff are very helpful with maps and recommendations, too. Beach towels are free for your use away from the house.


Highlight of our visit to Key West !!!!!!!!

5 on March 24, 2010

This was our first visit to Key West and we booked our stay at the Mermaid and Alligator, in large, based on posted reviews. This is one case you can believe all that is written in the excellent reviews!! No worries when in the hands of Dean & Paul, Mermaid and Alligator inn keepers, and Geri, their outstanding concierge. From the warm greeting upon arrival to their well wishes on departure, you are treated like a long-time family friend. We stayed in the Caribbean Queen room and enjoyed sitting on the wraparound porch watching the sun come up. Breakfast in the garden was excellent each and every morning. Their 2 dogs were so well behaved and a great addition to the day. I would highly recommend asking Geri’s advice for dinning and/or water excursions. She booked us on the Dream Chaser one evening for a sunset dinner cruise and on the following day on the Java Cat for an eco-kayak tour. Both were excellent and we would do them again. The only downside was we had to leave!!! Next trip to Key West will definitely include The Mermaid and The Alligator.


i love key west because of this inn.

5 on February 25, 2010

my husband and i have gone to this inn for the last 6 years. the hosts are wonderful. the conceriege exceptional and obliging. even the housekeepers friendly and accomadating. the host dogs (flat haired retrievers) even welcome us. because of this plus the island itself. we return. it is indeed a beautiful inn and garden. highly reccommend.


Nowhere else to stay.

5 on February 19, 2010

We've been staying at The Mermaid and the Alligator for five years now, and couldn't even think of staying anywhere else. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and well-thought out, as is the entire house and LUSH gardens. Breakfast is always excellent, and is served outside on the deck surrounded by a tropical garden. Also, the location (just a few blocks from Duval St.) is nicely removed from the "scene" but close enough that you can easily walk there. By far one of the best places we ever stayed anywhere.


Will recommend to others

3.4 on February 14, 2010

The Mermaid is a quick walk to all that Duval Street offers and provides a calm retreat when you need it. You step into a tropical garden and hear the birds, soak in the pool and play with the dogs. We enjoyed making friends with other guests. The concierge services were wonderful and right on target.


Mermaid & Alligator Key West

4.6 on January 27, 2010

The Mermaid & The Alligator is a wonderful place to stay and was exactly what I was hoping for but didn't expect to get! Great staff and excellent service. Love the dogs!


Romace in Paradise

5 on January 19, 2010

Dean, Paul and Gerry are wonderful hosts! The rooms are eclectic, colorful and tropical. Every little detail is taken care of. There could be a full house and it feels like you have utmost privacy. The breakfasts are wonderful and the cocktail hour is fun. Love the hot tub and my favorite memory is the crystal chandelier twinkling through the moss as it hangs from a palm tree in the wonderful paradise created by their talented gift for gardening. The rooms are so cozy, clean and private. We have just come back from our third trip to the Mermaid and look forward to our next trip there.


I keep coming back

4.0 on January 02, 2010

I have been a guest at the Mermaid and Alligator no less than 8 times. The minute I walk on the back porch all my stress melts away, it is so relaxing to be there. On of the first things I like to do is take a quite walk around the gardens, look at the birds, listen to the soothing music in the background and see what new things have been added. I have to say Mermaid and Alligator rates very high on my most favorite vacation spots. I love it.


One Terrific spot

5 on November 23, 2009

We had a super time with our hosts, their helpful and attentive staff, the terrific food and their great location. Would recommend the whole package to anyone who likes prersonal service in marvelous surroundings.


Best Key West Stay Yet!

4.6 on November 22, 2009

I have stayed at many places in Key West always believing I could find something more. Well I have and it is The Mermaid. The gardens are relaxing with many secluded alcoves. The home is warm and inviting drawing you in for a clsoer look. The innkeepers and the entire staff went above and beyond trying to make our stay perfect in everyway. I can't recommend this estbalishment enough, nor can I wait to revisit.


Two from Virginia

5 on November 22, 2009

We spent four lovely nights at the Mermaid and Alligator - we would have stayed longer but we had to go back to work! The service provided far exceeded any B&B we've stayed at before. The atmosphere was delightful and the inn was elegant and sophisticated yet comfortable and relaxing. Breakfasts were delicious and the wine and lemonade in the early evening were more than one could hope. And as we are both dog lovers, the two canine residents added a special delight to our visit. I can't wait to return to Key West and the Mermaid!


Simply the best

5 on October 10, 2009

Coming from Germany we always try to stay in an b&b rather than in an hotel - this one will tell everybody why: lovely rooms, nice hosts, outstanding garden... I could go on and on...


The best of KW

4.8 on October 06, 2009

They think of everything to make you feel at home and pampered. They will make appts. for unbelievable massages to hair salons - dining to entertainment. Quiet, peaceful, clean, tropical and historic. We have traveled here every year for the past four years -it excedes expectations.


mermaid and the alligator

4.6 on July 10, 2009

This place has all the flavor of Key West. It was the best B& B I've ever been to. So cute!


Fabulous Oasis

5 on July 08, 2009

Charming, beautiful victorian BnB. Extremely helpful staff readily available to assist with everything you could possibly want. The lush setting was gorgeous and the house was beautifully decorated.


a wonderful getaway

4.8 on June 24, 2009

The home is absolutely beautiful--inside and out! The rooms are wonderful! -- immaculate and relaxing! The gardens are amazing-- Definitely exceeded our expectations! We plan on going back!


Heaven in Key West

5 on April 23, 2009

My husband and I have travelled to Key West multiple times to meet friends for a couples get away weekend. We are from Iowa and they travel down from New York. During all our visits we stayed at the M&A after our friends discovered this gem of a B&B. Dean and Paul are exceptional hosts; our stays are always perfect! I consider the Key Lime room to be my personal 'home away from home' but we did love our stay in the Garden Room on our last visit in November 2007. The gardens are lovely, food tasty (not too much or too little) and the dogs provide the perfect touch for a pet lover/owner. 'Ask and ye shall receive' be it the best place to rent a scooter, snorkel, enjoy a show, eat a lavish meal, hoist a brew, or just lounge on a sugar sand beach, your hosts Dean and Paul will work with you to find just the right destination.


Fantastic Getaway, as usual

5 on December 31, 2008

Our favorite place to stay in the Keys...always a relaxing time spent with friends. We have stayed at the M&A 4 times and stayed in 3 of their lovely rooms. Once even during bad weather. The patio area is a great place to relax and visit with friends and other guests. Dean & Paul always perfect hosts.


3 words for this B&B FAB U LOUS!

5 on July 15, 2008

My husband and I stayed 2 nights and had the pleasure to stay in 2 different rooms. Both rooms clean and beautiful. Our friends stayed in the cottage Papaya room and loved it. Great breakfast. We will be back to see Dean, Kaiya and Havana soon. Highly recommend - you will not be disappointed.


Next time I have to Stay there...

4.0 on May 29, 2008

Actually I did not stay at this B&B (I wanted too) due to them being completely booked. However, They informed me to call a direct number & Try to see if they could accomodate my family within other locate B&B in the area. And surprisling they did find us a charming old B&B right off Duval & Caroline ( The Curry Mansion) All six of my family members had a place to stay. I owe alot to the Mermaid & Alligator cause without there info, this past weekend wouldnt had been so Happy. So, There communication was definitely A++++. I can not wait to return back to the Keys & stay at the Mermaid & the Alligator. (If they have a room ) Cause they make me feel welcomed... ;)


Amazing!

5 on March 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Bamboo Room, what a TREAT! We had no idea that it's actually it's own little private cottage. The room was very spacious and very, very clean. The shower in the bathroom was huge. The staff was very friendly and helpful, they made reservations for us and booked our sunset cruise. The breakfast was great and the wine in the evening was a great way to meet and chat with other guests. We found everything we needed to have a great time in KeyWest right at our finger-tips.


Niagara on the Lake Guests

3.8 on March 23, 2008

Our second visit here. wonderful property, Super Clean, rooms charming. breakfast great, Jer'swaffales were the best.


Gracious and charming

5 on May 31, 2007

The Mermaid & the Alligator, fondly dubbed "The Mermmigator" by Key West citizens, does what it does, and does it very, very well. This bed and breakfast is designed for the couples who want to pamper themselves and see Key West in the process.The rooms are spotlessly clean, and beautifully appointed. The property is absolutely gorgeous with colored birds and an octagonal heated pool. They offer a gracious guest services person during the day to ensure your stay goes smoothly.The breakfasts are delicious. Unlike other establishments, I felt that the rate was very, very reasonable. I need to go back!!!!


The Mermaid & Alligator

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3052941894
  • Fax 1-3052959925
  • Toll free 1-8007731894

Visit Website »

View details

Top