The Banyan Resort Reviews

Overall
4.0

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.1
  • Value3.8
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Dining3.6

Score Breakdown based on
56 Reviews

Write A Review

Great place

4.0 on April 19, 2014

1st time staying at the Banyan, my wife and I go to Key West at least once a year. Great place, Great location, staff was great. Nice and quiet, yet right in the mix of things. We'll definitely be back. Jack and Doreen Arceneaux, Lafayette,LA


Key West's Best

4.4 on September 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Banyan a couple of times now and don't want to stay anywhere else in Key West. Location could not be better! It is one block from Duval and two blocks from Mallory Square, with great bars and restaurants nearby. Easy to walk everywhere, no need to rent a car. The grounds are beautiful and they are always working on them to keep them that way. Our rooms have been clean and just what we hoped for in a timeshare rental. The pools are lovely and a great place to spend the afternoon resting before heading out for evening fun and sunset viewing. Tiki Bar isn't large, but has had good drinks in the past and wonderful breakfast sandwiches. (Always thought I'd love to run a "small" bar such as this - lots of great ideas for food/drinks :-).) Free coffee at tiki bar in the morning is nice. We have even used the grill to prepare an evening meal. We feel that we have found a gem in Key West that is worth coming back to every year! Can't wait to go back next year! Feels like my "home away from home" except I don't have to cook & clean while there.


A Jewel in Key West

4.2 on August 07, 2013

The Banyan Resort is a spectacular property. The studio we booked exceeded our expectation by a mile. It was clean, really spacious and the room we got was newly renovated. It's in a great location..just blocks away from Mallory Square. Customer service was fantastic..Heather made us feel really welcomed. The only thing that confused us is since we discovered the place from Bed and Breakfast.com, we expected it will come with breakfast. But this is NOT a bed and breakfast, however, there were plenty of places to eat at..some just around the corner.


The Banyan is amazing!

4.8 on July 11, 2013

I feel the need to defend the Banyan after reading a surprising amount of mediocre reviews. If you don't like this place, I feel like you need to adjust your expectations. Amazing porches line these beautiful, varied units. The pools are peaceful, fun, and relaxing. You could not pick a better location on the island. Right next to Duval, Mallory Square, Blue Heaven, Tropic Cinema, and so much more. The units are always clean and pleasant. There's not really a lot of food at the resort. The tiki bar has gone downhill a bit since the longtime tiki bartender no longer works there (hence the 4 stars for service). But the Banyan is an incredible place. Open your doors and soak in the beautiful Key West nights. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.


Great Place!

4.0 on April 03, 2013

We loved the Banyon, it was private quite and relaxing.


Clean and Quiet - Great Location

4.0 on April 01, 2013

The Banyan was better than expected. The location was perfect for us (we were in Key West to celebrate St. Patrick's Day), and it was nice not feeling like we were in a hotel - it was very comfortable (esp. the bed!) and spacious for the most part. I was pleasantly surprised one morning to see that a staff member was on our front balcony wiping off the furniture. "Dining" is rated average because we ate at various establishments as we explored the island instead of at the resort. Overall, I would stay at the Banyan again!


Great location & Tiki Bar!

3.4 on March 11, 2013

Three girlfriends enjoyed a long weekend at The Banyan. The location is great! The pool areas & the Tiki Bar were wonderful highlights to enjoy great drinks & breakfast. Lunch & happy hour was also very fun!


Great Place

3.8 on March 07, 2013

Location is great - just a block off Duvall and we could walk to everything. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful. Weather did not cooperate so we did not get to use the pool area which was a big disappointment. I would not hesitate to book a room there again.


Great Location

3.6 on February 21, 2013

The Banyon is in a great location, close to the action of Duval Street, but in a quieter area. The staff was very helpful, coffee was available at the Tiki Bar each morning, and the beds were very comfy. Also, we were there with friends, so the decks and porches were a great place to meet, plan and chat.


Loved Our Stat at the Banyan!!

4.8 on February 16, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Banyan Resort! A beautiful property - obviously maintained so well! The service at the Tiki Bar was awesome! Thanks Eric and Bridgit! Plus it's such a great location - you're close to all the action yet secluded in your own tropical oasis!!


The Banyan Resort

4.2 on February 10, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay at The Banyon Resort. We had the 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. I would reccomend this resort. Had a great time!


Beautiful place

3.2 on February 09, 2013

Beautiful place - the grounds are lovely - excellent location - close to everything but tucked away in a quiet corner/great neighborhood


banyan tree

3.4 on January 22, 2013

pretty hotel excellent location able to walk to everything you need to see in key west..plenty of room and well stocked


Banyan Bounty!

4.8 on January 18, 2013

We arrived at 10:00pm as the office closed. Chris working the night check-in was extremely courteous. All the employees working the Tiki Bar were very helpful and friendly, especially Eric. The Banyan Resort is a relaxing retreat in the middle of a sometimes too fast and chaotic city. We enjoyed our stay and recommend The Banyan Resort to family and friends. We will be back! Thanks! Peter Nolan


Not a B&B

2.8 on November 15, 2012

We thought this was a b&b It was not. It was not s good value since it was not a b&b Unhappy


The Banyan Resort

5 on November 15, 2012

The Banyan Resort is one of the best places to stay in Key West. The rooms are clean and spacious. The property is beautiful and well kept! I can't say enough nice about the place!


Tree Top Seclusion

4.0 on October 11, 2012

We went to Key West with a large group to celebrate a friend’s 40th birthday. We all stayed at the Banyan and everyone’s rooms were unique but equally charming. We personally stayed in the Tree Top unit and felt like we had our own little hideaway. We were only 41 steps above and just one block away from everything on the West end of Duval. The property in general was just beautiful and meticulously maintained. We didn’t expect housekeeping service each day – that was a nice surprise. We would definitely recommend the Banyan Resort to others and will stay again!


Exquisite B&B in heart of Old Town Key West

5 on October 04, 2012

Close enough to be in the middle of the action but far enough to get away from crowds. Perfect location, Needs only one thing..King Size Beds..otherwise...Perfect!!


Richardson from Frisco Texas

3.6 on September 27, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised by the size of the room we had (#108 I think). There was a lot of construction being done right outside our room that had the adult pool closed. However the noise was kept to a bare minimum until after 10am and we still had a great time. It was our first trip to Key West and we would absolutely go back to the Banyon. Thank you for an enjoyable stay!


The Banyan

3.4 on August 03, 2012

The room was escellent and quiet enough considering it was near Duval Street, which is the party street in Key West. We were offered keys for everybody without being informed verbally that there is a $25 charge for a lost key - and of course my young adult son lost a key, AND a towel ($10). There was coffee in the am but no milk, only artificial creamer. It was a nice enough place to stay, but 2 days in Key West is enough for me.


The Banyan Resort: A Great Place in Key West

3.6 on July 25, 2012

We recently spent five nights at the Banyan Resort. It was our second time there in seven years. Last time we had a two-bedroom unit; this time we opted for a one-bedroom with the pull-out sofa for our college-age son. We were very happy with the one-bedroom unit; the rooms were actually larger than the 2 BR we previously had. The unit was clean and well-appointed, and the grounds were still as lush as we remembered. We enjoyed the adult pool, but the hot tub was a little too hot. Also, it would be nice if the pools did not close at dusk but remained open at least until 10 or 11 p.m. The staff was friendly and helpful; we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Banyan is well located in Old Town, making it easy to walk most anywhere. Since we know Key West well, we parked about three blocks away on a side street rather than pay the Banyan's daily parking fee. However, if a visitor doesn't like walking that much, there are some parking spaces to rent at the resort itself. Overall, we would recommend the Banyan to anyone visiting Old Town Key West.


Fantastic stay at Banyans

3.4 on July 03, 2012

The grounds and location were historic and authentic- just gorgeous, huge porch on our unit, loved Brad's service before and during out stay, secluded and private pool with lush foliage but surprised to find out that the second, larger pool was closed while we were there, though they sent us to La Conchia pool as an alternative. Would stay there again for sure.


A bit of paradise - in KW

4.2 on May 10, 2012

A wonderful place to "hide" from the party atmosphere of Key West...you can walk to the center of the action and retreat to the embracing arms of a huge Banyon tree that completely surrounded our 1-bedroom unit. A peaceful and charming piece of paradise in paradise.


quick business trip

4.2 on April 01, 2012

Great central location but quite and safe. Was very pleased with location, accomodations cleanliness and service. Will return


You will be charged for parking

2.4 on March 14, 2012

Rates seem to be a little high and as a guest I expected that with the increased rate the parking was included - WRONG. Be prepared to pay $20 a night for your automobile. This cost will not be disclosed until the day you check out. I felt like this was a hidden cost not properly identified on the web sight. There is an option on the web sight to select for special parking (handicap??). Even if you turn this option down you will still be charged for parking. I am glad our stay was only two nights. I could not imagine paying $20 a night for an entire week. The location for family vacationing is a plus. Pool hours end at 9 pm. My family enjoys evening swimming. We spent our days in town. We were not around during pool availability - disappointment for the family. My over all opinion of the resort is slightly below average on everything but cost. Checked prices and could have stayed at a much nicer place for the same cost. I expected better. My family will not return to the Banyan resort for our next Key West adventure.


Charming - great location!!!

4.6 on January 13, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights and loved it. Our room was located by the pool - very large and spacious. Fabulous location - just blocks from Mallory Square and parallel to Duval - very close to activity yet very quite and cozy. Do intend to stay again!!


No luxury here!

1.8 on January 12, 2012

The lady that checked us in was aloof, non-helpful and non-caring. Rooms were ok but nothing special and were definitely not “Luxury” in my opinion. Carpets were stained, what there was of furnishings were cheap and old, tv was at least 15 years old and did not work properly, kitchen fixtures and cabinets were low grade, refrigerator would not open correctly, bathrooms are very small and the fixtures were stained and rusted, no shampoo, etc. Also was woken at 7:00 AM by a very loud cleaning staff that was arguing right outside my bedroom window. When I asked them to please hold it down, as I was trying to sleep, they ignored me. Then the cleaning staff knocked on my door even though I had the Do Not Disturb sign out. No business center to print boarding passes and no wi-fi. Pools were very cold, not heated I guess. Electricity goes out at least once a day No way worth the price in my opinion, also got socked with an energy fee at checkout that no on informed us of. The location is nice if you are interested in the downtown mess.


Christmas in Key West

4.8 on December 31, 2011

Third time staying at the Banyan and it was truely wonderful again. Staff very accommodating. Beautiful property in the heart of Key West but off the beaten path enough to relax. Can't wait to go again next year.


Worth every penny!

4.6 on December 18, 2011

The only negative was the late night bar music from a neighbor.


enjoyed every minute

5 on December 12, 2011

My husband and I went with his parents and it was a wonderful stay. We have tried different B & B's in the past since we come to Key West 3 to 4 times a year, but I feel after our stay at the banyan resort we would love to be guests again on our next stay.


Great place to stay! One block away from all the action on Duval!

4.4 on December 02, 2011

We only stayed one night at the Banyan because we were heading off to the Dry Tortugas to go camping. But the check-in staff was excellent! He was extremely helpful and answered all our many questions about Key West. We checked in late and had to leave early the next morning to catch the ferry to the Dry Tortugas so we didn't do any dinning at the Banyan. We also didn't have time to use the pool or hot tub...but the poolside courtyard was beautiful. The rooms were nice and spacious. And I love that we had our own private courtyard! I also loved the location of the Banyan....which was only one block off of the north end of Duval St.


Experienced in Key West

3.4 on November 21, 2011

My scores are somewhat low, only because I am very familiar with Key West and I had previously walked around Banyan, so I pretty much knew what to expect. Really everywhere in Key West you will find friendly people, good service, beautiful landscape, and difficult parking. Banyan is no exception. The hot tub and full kitchens are a big plus. The price is in line with most others. The location is outstanding, very quiet yet walking distance to everything. Despite only average ratings, definitely a worthy experience for both Key West rookies and veterans.


Great weekend getaway

4.0 on October 31, 2011

Had a great time though it rained everyday. First time to the Keys and will come back in August. The resort really is a great place to stay, within walking distance of everything.


a Nite in Key West

4.4 on October 11, 2011

What a beautiful place!! Our second stay....so peaceful, relaxing and close to everything. Can walk to all the attractions, but far enough away to not hear the nitelife. We has a great second story balcony to sit late in the evening and have morning coffee. The only place we will stay!!


it was nice

3.8 on September 25, 2011

It was a great place. Close to everything, nice pools and nice people. The only thing that I was disappointed about was the balcony was not usable.


Banyan 101

4.0 on September 11, 2011

So lovely.2 pools and a hot tub. wonderful employees. Room did gave a musty smell and is understandable with humidity. Parked under a very messy tree and I feel that we should have been warned but This too is also understandable. Overall enjoyed our stay very much.


Well-kept Secret

5 on September 04, 2011

Location, location, location (one block from Duval; on same road as Hemingway House and Southernmost Point marker!) and accommodations in historic homes (very well maintained!!) Great staff and tiki bar! Was my best visit to Key West ever!


Great Getaway with the Perfect Location!!

4.6 on August 30, 2011

We found the Banyan Resort to be an ideal spot for a Key West getaway. The large room sizes along with the kitchenette were ideal and made it feel very homey. Additionally, our rooom faced the street and it was great to sit on the porch at night and smoke a cigar while people watching. LC


Perfect Stay

5 on August 24, 2011

We stayed in a studio and it was more space than we had imagined. The murphy bed is perfect in there, gives tons of space for during the day, easy to pull out at night and very comfortable. We had our own cute private patio, which we weren't expecting and loved it. Nice full kitchen. Very clean. Everyone who works there is super friendly and accomodating. It's a gorgeous resort in the perfect location. Quick walk to Mallory Square and tons of great bars and restaurants. Definitely recommend!


Lobstering in the Keys

3.4 on August 22, 2011

The resort was very convenient to all activities. We actually came to lobster and fish but for those days that the ladies and kids that didn't want to go out on our boats the location of this facility was in a great spot. You didn't need your car unless you were going outside of Key West... Close to grocery stores, good restaurants and shopping! Pool area clean, and landscaping well kept. Will return at some point... maybe next year or preferably sooner!


Key West

4.0 on August 14, 2011

Great place to spend time in the Keys. Could walk to everything. Get the parking pass ($20.00 a day). We would stay there again.


Bayan Resort

4.0 on August 08, 2011

This is a return visit to the best resort in Key West. Most of the guest houses are great places to stay but the Bayan is the perfect location and has beautiful pools.


Great stay!

4.2 on July 12, 2011

Room was very nice and roomy, great location. The staff was very helpful in booking excursions for us


Key West

4.8 on June 14, 2011

This resort was perfect for a Key West stay. The location was great for walking to all of the essential Key West sites. The service, accommodations and amenities were superb. We are already planning a return trip and will definitely stay at the Banyan again and recommend it.


Banyan Resort

3.2 on May 04, 2011

I loved all the different fauna surrounding the Banyan. It gave the place an exotic feel. The staff were really friendly & helpful. Our room happened to be facing the street so the traffic noise did wake me up. Also, I could here the guests above us which also woke me up. I can't rate the dining beause we did not eat there. We would stay here again, just in a different room away from the street.


Location, Location, Location!

4.0 on May 03, 2011

Want to live like Hemingway? The Banyan Resort has turned 7 homes, 5 on the National Historic Registry,in the hearts of "Old Town Key West" into a collection of studio, 1 and 2 bedroom suites with full size refrigerator, stove and kitchen accessories. One Block off busy Duval Street and 3 blocks from Sunset Pier and the Waterfront you can walk to almost anywhere. My wife and I have been coming here for almost 30 years and keep coming back once or twice a year.


Nice location & grounds but overpriced

2.6 on April 06, 2011

Beautiful grounds, especially the awesome banyan trees, and excellent location easy walk to old town restaurants etc. If you plan to use the outdoor facilities extensively during your stay (pools, jacuzzi, etc) it may be worth the price, however, my opinion is it's overpriced if you are primarily considering the room/suite that you are paying for. Suite we had was spacious but carpets were somewhat worn with odor. We realized we prefer all tile floors. We did appreciate & used the kitchen quite a bit. Street facing room fairly noisy.


The Banyan Resort is an Oasis in Historic Key West

2.8 on March 09, 2011

The gardens, the buildings, the tranquility,the sound of water fountains in the night and the quite confortable rooms plus the proximity to most of what if of interest in Key West and the friendly and helpful staff make the Banyan Resort a wonderful place to stay. On the negative side the parking situation is atrocious and room service while polite and a wonderful attitude leaves much to be desired.


Beautiful setting, great location

4.2 on March 02, 2011

A little pricey, but the banyan tree gardens and pools are beautiful. Very private and quiet while close to Duvall Street. Wish there was at least short-term free parking available for rented electric cars and scooters. Did not eat on premises, but nearby dining at Kelly's was excellent.


Key West Getaway

3.6 on January 23, 2011

I was disappointed that this property was not a Bed and Breakfast. Other than that, it was a wonderful place to stay, and it was close to Duval Street and the many attractions of the city of Key West. Be prepared to walk a lot and enjoy the warm weather. The front desk employee told us about a restaurant just down the street from Banyan, and it was great. Eat at Kelly's for a great meal.


Wonderful Resort

5 on December 19, 2010

At the Banyan Resort 12-12-10 through 12-16-10. The resort is right in the center of everything,front desk very helpful & friendly, grounds impeccable, Tiki Bar had great food. Beautiful, quiet, like being in a garden/rain forest. Family pool solar heated to 82 degrees, hot tub very nice.The temps were record lows, but the Banyan couldn't help that. Highly recommend, definitely will return.


Thanksgiving 2010

4.4 on December 01, 2010

We had a wonderful time in the Keys thansk to the wonderful facilities and people at the Banyan Resort. The people were friendly, the rooms were super clean, the pool and jacuzzi were excellent and the grounds impeccable. This in conjunction with a very friendly staff makes this a regular stop for us going forward.


Banyan the Best

3.2 on November 14, 2010

Property cldeanliness was very good. We did not dine on property nor have our room serviced for the few days we were there so just rated as "met." Our particular unit was ready for a deck painting but it looked like units around it had been done recently. The Banyan is just so unique. It is well located, pretty quiet and has conveniences such as on-site bikes and scooters available. Anyone who goes there has got to notice that, what looks like three trees across the front of the property is actually one with a canopy I estimated to be about 160 feet across. I rated the rooms as met because, although clean and serviceable, the furnishings are rather dated and a bit tired. We have looked into other lodgings in KW and still favor this one for its character and the distinct flavor of each room.


Best Place In Town !

5 on June 13, 2009

I love the Baynan resort. The rooms are very cozy and clean. The pool is always clean and the grounds are well kept. The staff is always helpful and friendly. I recommend staying at this resort.The Tiki bar is fun too!


Best Kept Secret

4.2 on November 24, 2008

Secluded tropical paradise inside of the hustle/bustle of old town Key West! Convienient to everything, shopping, bars, fishing, one block off Duval and two blocks from the water. Grounds are gorgeous! Tiki bar personnel make you feel like you never left home. Accomodations are spacious and colorful. Have vacationed here 4 times in the past ten years.


Bravo for the Banyan!

5 on March 14, 2008

Beautiful, well-groomed grounds, pool, tiki bar. Wonderful historic buildings with unique apartments right in the heart of Old Town. Across the street from Internet Cafe and Tropic Cinema. Excellent staff willing to make your stay memorable.


The Banyan Resort

Details

  • Nightly Rate $200 - $410
  • Reviews (56) 4.0
  • Rooms 38
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3052967786
  • Fax 1-3052941107
  • Toll free 1-8663719222

Visit Website »

View details

Top