La Pensione Inn B&B Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room3.9
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining3.7

Score Breakdown based on
162 Reviews

Write A Review

Can't wait to go back!!!

5 on June 27, 2014

La Pensione couldn't have been a better fit for our group. We LOVED every minute we spent there. The staff is AMAZING and the B&B itself was quaint and lovely. I would HIGHLY recommend this establishment to couples and groups. It's close enough to all the fun without being right in the middle of all the noise and craziness. You really can't go wrong choosing La Pensione!


Getaway to Key West

4.4 on June 23, 2014

We would definitely stay there again. Such nice people.


Oustanding

4.6 on June 12, 2014

Steve and Katie Downie


Can not wait to return to La Pensione!

5 on May 23, 2014

Nothing compares to a commitment to excellence, which the owners have certainly made. We had a flawless stay, the cheerful morning greeting by either Anna or Cindy asking if we wanted waffles or coffee always made me smile. Roland saw to it that we had fresh ice daily. The location is superb for getting around Key West. I really can't wait to see them all again and just be lazy! J.G.M


Great Stay !

4.4 on May 23, 2014

Great place and outstanding staff made our stay very enjoyable !


Lovely Place

3.4 on May 22, 2014

Great place and great people! Anna and Christie were such sweet and fun people to greet us every morning. It was nice and quiet, very relaxing. Walking distance to Duval Street. Only down could be there are no televisions in the bedrooms, if that doesn't bother you you're set! Would definitely stay here again!


Best Stay Ever!

5 on May 16, 2014

The Staff at La Pensione are very accommodating throughout out entire stay. The recommendations for places to eat and things to do were very much appreciated. The housekeeping staff was amazing, everyday our clothes were folded and the room was cleaned top notch. The location is ideal for any traveler, walking distance to everything but far enough away to not get disturbed from the Duval Street craziness. We will be booking at La Pensione in the future.


Key West Getaway

4.2 on May 09, 2014

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The B&B is in a good location just three blocks from Duval and almost everything is within walking distance. Parking is available but it's a bit tight so don't drive your SUV!


Not recommended

1.4 on April 30, 2014

My husband and I are just returning from our 3 night trip to Key West, I had a Bed and Breakfast gift card to use for a 2 night Premium Room stay and we added one additional night to make it a 3 night trip. Our first night we stayed in room 2, and the plan was for us to be moved to the Premium Room #8 for our 2nd and 3rd nights. When we entered the room there was a strong odor of a strange room spray. We left the door open quite a while to help it air out. The ceiling fans were very dirty, the bedding was thin and very outdated. No decoration to the room at all and no Televisions. Four walls and a bed is how I would describe it. That night we had a lot of trouble sleeping due to the high volume of traffic on Truman, ambulances, fire and scooters all night until about 4am. At breakfast the next morning the food was just average, fruit in a bowl and waffle mix sitting out since 8 am. The Inn keeper asked my husband how he took his coffee, and he said black. She responded with "Just like your women right? You know what they say right?" So unprofessional. Then as a housekeeper walked through she smacked him on the rear end. We spent the day out and about around the beach and came back to the Inn to change for dinner. We swapped keys for our "premium room" and walked in to the exact same room as #2. Very strong room spray smell, Dirty ceiling fans, no TV, same awful coverlet on the bed, bare walls. I did get a shower and saw mold on the baseboard as I stepped out. My husband and I were so disgusted that after dinner we went and booked a room at a hotel. The rest of our stay was wonderful.


Best ever!

5 on April 24, 2014

Cindy and Roland where awesome! Our room was so clean and Cindy made us feel like we were home instead if just visiting. We will definitely be back and I would recommend La Pensione to anyone. Thanks a bunch Cindy! Glenda Griffin And Kelly Wilson


Key West vacation

4.6 on April 22, 2014

We had an exceptional stay at the LaPensione B&B in April 2014. Cindy and her staff made sure we were treated like royalty! Our room was cleaned everyday with fresh linens daily. We would definitely book this B&B again during our stay in Key West!!


Spring Key West Trip

3.8 on March 27, 2014

Great trip and really good stay at La pensione! Friendly staff. Very helpful.


We Would Recommend to Anyone

4.0 on March 07, 2014

Loved our trip to Key West... Cindy and Janey were terrific hosts - friendly and helpful with suggestions for attractions to see, dining suggestions and general information. We will return for another winter vaca... Key West is a sure bet for people of the Northeast!


Exceptional B&B Experience

4.8 on March 07, 2014

We've been to Key West many times and this b&b has been the best. The room was large and clean, the grounds are lovely but the staff and service are outstanding. We plan to return as soon as possible. The location was perfect for us, near enough to Duval, but just far enough to give us the quiet, relaxed vacation we were seeking.


Wonderful place to stay in Key West!

4.6 on March 06, 2014

La Pensione is a beautiful place to stay with excellent service. Cindy is a most gracious host and will do everything she can to assure that you have a wonderful stay. From the time she prepares your waffles in the morning to the times she makes dinner reservations, helps you with directions and what to see to giving you discount drink cards for any number of bars and restaurants, she is always on her game. Having breakfast on the porch of this beautifully restored home and time spent at their pool makes for a very memorable stay. I would highly recommend it.


Perfect Key West vacation spot

5 on March 04, 2014

La Pensione was more than expected! It is a perfect spot, the establishment is clean and comfortable. The owners and staff were so attentive and friendly that we did not want to leave. Highly recommended.


A Fun Stay.

3.6 on February 24, 2014

Great bed & breakfast. Nice location if you like to walk/bike - to the beach and the other way to old town Key West and Mallory Square.


Perfect Getaway!

4.4 on February 13, 2014

The staff couldn't have been nicer. Great place, perfect location. We will definitely go back.


Friendly and helpful staff

3.8 on February 07, 2014

A cozy place to be near most Key West attractions. Excellent restaurants nearby. Ask the very helpful staff for recommendations. Try the waffles!


Great place and location

4.2 on January 18, 2014

Very nice older B&B close to everything we wanted to do. The staff was terrific and bent over backwards to help my wife and I prepare and for our beach wedding. I could not have asked more from the staff. The Dining was pretty average for a Continental Breakfast. They will make you a waffle and it is fine, but you are in Key West, I recommend going to one of the dozens of excellent restaurants instead of eating in.


Stay at Key West

4.4 on January 02, 2014

This was our first visit to Key West and the ambience at La Pensione was "key" to our satisfaction with our trip. The staff was very accommodating and gracious, and made us feel right at home. We wished we could have stayed longer.


Our stay in Nov 2013

4.8 on December 12, 2013

We had Avery pleasent stay and we will definitely come back


Cosy B&B with excellens service

4.4 on December 07, 2013

We had a lovely stay at La Pensione B&B. Comfortable and clean rooms. Lovely and very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast and convenient location. Would highly recommend this B&B.


La Pensione is a slice of heaven in Key West

4.2 on December 04, 2013

We travel a lot to Key West as we live near Miami and this is the first time staying at La Pensione and it exceeded our expectations. The staff was one of the friendlier staffs that I've encountered. (Note to the owner...your staff are GEMS. Take good care of them. :)) Cindy is awesome. She is so friendly and accommodating as is the house keeper (I believe his name is Roland). We had a service dog with us and when he cleaned our room, he made sure that the dog had towels for a bed and also folded any clothes that were left out. He also emptied the water out of our cooler and put in fresh ice. You just can't fine this kind of service like that anymore unless you stay at a 5 star hotel. It was clean and conveniently located. Very charming. I also loved that it was adult only. It has the best breakfast as well. Most Inns only offer bagels and danishes but they offered waffles and lots of fresh fruit among other things.. If you are traveling to Key West, I urge you to stay. They also have free parking which is also hard to find at most Inns in KW. If I had to say anything negative it would be that it is located on a very busy street, Truman Ave/US. 1. I prefer quieter streets to walk my dog, however, we heard no noise during the night from the street so I would stay there again and again. And it's surrounding streets are quieter so it was all good. Kudos La Pensione!!


Awesome

4.2 on December 01, 2013

This was one of the best B & B experiences. Cindy, our host went above and beyond...thank you for such a warm welcome, all the helpful information. It was you who made our stay a most memorable one. First time experience in the Keys..we will be back...and it will be to stay at Lapensione. Thanks much. Canadians


La Pensione - Key West

4.4 on November 21, 2013

Nice clean room with large shared balcony. 5 minutes to Duval St. and very helpful staff. No complaints.


Great house, great staff!

4.0 on September 12, 2013

Cindy, Anna and Roland are super! They made us feel welcome and attended to our every need. With short notice, Cindy scheduled pedicures for us-it was a rainy Saturday morning. They had wonderful restaurant suggestions that made us feel like locals. We will definitely stay with them when we return to Key West!


Amazing Customer Service

4.2 on September 10, 2013

Cindy was awesome at making us feel very welcome. Roland was amazing cleaning our room. I have never experienced anyone like Roland before. He folded our dirty cloths and placed them neatly on our bed. Exceptional service.


La Pensione Inn, August 2013

3.8 on August 08, 2013

Staff was very friendly, and rooms were very clean. Did not care for the breakfast at all - the dining area was not air conditioned at all, so in the summer months you are hot and sweaty before your day even begins. Also, breakfast is the same every day, and not very impressive - dry waffles (seriously dry), bagels, cereal and fruit. Location is a good walk from the heart of everything, but it was nice to be away from the crowds and noise. The bedrooms are all air conditioned and temperature is individually controlled. The entire house was spotless, and the staff was very, very accommodating. If you don't care much about breakfast, in the cooler months this place would be awesome.


Keywest trip

4.2 on August 06, 2013

Pleasant quite place, clean room and good breakfast


Such a great place to stay!

4.6 on July 09, 2013

The staff at La Pensione were fabulous - so friendly and accommodating. The house is just gorgeous - the antiquity has been preserved nicely, with upgraded amenities. They gave us a cooler for the beach, along with beach chairs to use. We had a lovely room that opened to the upper balcony. We went downstairs in the morning to get coffee and a light breakfast, and brought it up to the balcony to enjoy while we watched the neighborhood "goings-on" below. Would highly recommend, and will definitely stay there when back in Key West.


Charm and convenience

3.0 on July 06, 2013

Lights on through the night on the terrace made it difficult to sleep, room: 7


Beautiful B & B

4.6 on July 02, 2013

Visited La Pensione for our anniversary. It was a beautiful B & B and the staff was very friendly and had great suggestions for places to eat and things to do. Great stay and would definetly recommend visiting!


Nice Retreat

4.4 on June 13, 2013

Our three day stay at this Inn was real nice. We had room 5 and it was clean and well kept. The shower stall needs replacement but worked good. Bike rentals were affordable and the pool area was clean. Staff worked to assist in our every need. The Turner Clan.


Great place to stay for a few nights!

4.6 on June 10, 2013

The place was very cozy and comfortable and I really liked my room. Cindy is just really friendly and lively person. I would definitely come back here again!


First time in Key West

4.6 on June 03, 2013

My wife and I stayed in La Pensione for our first time in the Keys. The staff was extremely friendly, the rooms were very clean and the location was close enough to walk to Duval street, but far enough to not party all night.


La Pensione

4.4 on May 13, 2013

from the moment that we walked through the doors, we were made to feel at home. The 2 women that are running this B&B are the most charming & helpful, we will definately be returning. The room was clean & the breakfasts were perfect


Wonderful Place to Stay!

4.8 on May 07, 2013

My husband & I were very pleased with everything La Pensione had to offer. It was a FANTASTIC B&B. We would highly recommend it. Very pleasant and comfortable.


Great stay

4.8 on April 28, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at La Penisone. Janie and her team made took great care of us.


Nice B&B

3.8 on April 24, 2013

We loved staying at La Pensione. Our room was near the pool and was very quiet. Our bed and pillows.were very comfortable and the owners/staff were helpful and friendly.


La pensione Inn B&B

4.8 on April 15, 2013

very good value for money, recommended


Great Location and Value

4.0 on April 09, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at La Pensione, we got held up in Miami and didn't arrive in Key West unitl 8:30pm but we called ahead and they told us where to find our key and everything was set up waiting for us just as she said. Breakfast was simple but more than enough to start our day, and we were 2 blocks from Duval street so we were able to leave the car and walk everywhere. They gave us lots of coupons to local bars and restaurants and they were all great spots. We will definitly come back here agian. wonderful experience.


Enjoyable stay

3.4 on March 27, 2013

La Pensione Inn B&B was just what my husband and I were looking for on our visit to Key West. We wanted someplace where we could park the car and be able to walk to points of interest. Truman Ave. can be a bit noisy for rooms that are facing the street. We were in #8 which faced the parking lot/pool area- not bad. Very enjoyable stay. Owners very friendly and rooms very clean.


La Pensione Inn

4.4 on March 25, 2013

Wonderful place. Great location. Good people


Very nice bed and breakfast

3.0 on March 18, 2013

It was a good experience to stay at La Pensione Inn


Great Time at LaPensione

3.6 on March 14, 2013

Everyone at LaPensione was helpful with great recommendations and their open hospitality. It felt a lot like a home away from home.


Love, Love, Love!

4.6 on February 21, 2013

The only thing we were sad about, is that we couldn't stay longer!


La Pensione Inn

4.0 on February 18, 2013

Quaint inn, close to Duval St. Very accommodating staff. Room was simple but clean.


Perfect choice

4.4 on January 25, 2013

The inn was in a perfect location, a short walk to everything. We stayed in room 7 which has access to the balcony, but does not directly overlook the road, so it was not too noisy. It was very clean. Breakfast was simple, but there were many options. Cindy was super nice! I would definitely stay there again.


Perfect little B&B in paradise

4.6 on January 16, 2013

We really loved our short weekend at La Pensione Inn. It was SO close to everything and they even rent out bikes for your convenience. Breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly. Only complaint was that it is on a main street and the street noise can be loud (one day it was, one day it wasn't). Despite that though, I would definitely stay here on my next trip to Key West.


Very nice B&B

3.6 on December 28, 2012

Good location, nice quiet room in the back. Off street parking, but can walk to Duvall street. Good breakfast, but a bit more variety would be welcome when you stay for more than one day. very nice friendly staff. I did miss not having a TV in my room.


2012 Thanksgiving weekend

3.8 on December 01, 2012

Good experience overall - Good location for walking around town Very accomidating staff Room 4 was rough around the edges - won't stay there again. Next time take 2nd floor balcony room Parking and available bicycles (for a fee) were handy.


La Pendione Key West

4.8 on November 16, 2012

A great place to stay. The staff is 5 star wonderful. Can't wait to go back.


Wonderful staff!

4.0 on November 08, 2012

La Pensione is a very well kept bed and breakfast. The staff is extremely personable and approachable. They handled all of our questions and concerns.....especially Cindy. They truly made you feel like a family while you were there. The location is very convenient to everything. The room was very pretty. The only downfall was the bed. The bed and pillows were very hard and made it very difficult to sleep. If you like very firm beds and pillows, would love this place. Besides the bed, could not complain at all about the La Pensione!


Just like home, but on "vacation!"

4.8 on September 23, 2012

we loved this B&B, they treated us like good friends and family; hope to return soon.


A very nice place to stay!

5 on September 11, 2012

I really enjoyed myself & I had one of the best vacations I have ever had in Key West & staying at La Pensione.


A1 stay in Key West

4.6 on August 30, 2012

An excellent stay. Very helpful friendly staff who are knowledgable about the area. Too much to eat for breakfast, but not a problem. Excellent location and very good value for money. Excellent stay


Wonderful Inn, Ideal location

4.2 on August 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at La Pensione for a long weekend. I have already recommended it to all of my friends and family. The service was absolutely outstanding and the amenities were wonderful. Loved the convenience of renting bikes right from the Inn, as well.


La Pensione

4.0 on August 18, 2012

Very nice atmosphere. Clean, but needing updates carpet and bed linens. Wicker furnishings could use a facelift, too. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great location. Easy to get to restaurants, attractions, Duval Street, and piers. Would definitely stay here again.


A great and relaxing place to stay!

3.8 on August 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our 15 year anniversary and it was great. The place has an old time charm and the employees were all very friendly and helpful. The location is prime and is close enough to all the Key West action, yet far enough away to be quiet at night. All the other guests we met were very friendly too. I suggest renting bikes to get around Key West which they have here on site. If you want a great place to stay that is reasonably priced...stay at La Pensione!


Key West Anniversary

4.8 on July 21, 2012

My wife and I spent our anniversay at La Pensione and it was wonderful.


Review of "La Pensione" in Key West

4.0 on July 15, 2012

The staff here went above and beyond their call of duty!! They were extremely hospitable and helpful, and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Great location, just minutes from Duval St.


Quaint and comfortable

4.2 on July 15, 2012

Lovely B&B. The manager Cindy was outstanding and made us feel right at home. Offered to make reservations, gave us off the beaten path recommendations. We were in one of the larger uppser balcony rooms upstairs (really nice), but keep in mind that the rooms facing Truman (a main drag) tend to be a bit noisy. Coolers and towels are available as well. Would visit again.


Birthday Trip!!!!

3.6 on July 03, 2012

Cindy front desk clerk very friendly and the atompshere wonderful!!! Must eat at Blue Heaven and El Siboney (best cuban food on earth...)


20th Anniversary

5 on July 02, 2012

We had a blast for our 20th anniversary!! La Pensione was beautiful! Our room was very nicely decorated. Room stayed cold the whole time we were there! Cindy was very nice and and made us feel at home. She recommended a cuban restaurant to us and it was amazing! She makes fabulous Love waffles!!!! We would stay here again and can't wait to visit Key West again!!!


Undiscovered Key West treasure -- and keep it that way!

4.6 on June 19, 2012

This is NOT a big-time attitude facility catering to the pretentious big-city elite. This is a low-keyed, friendly, and completely laid-back environment-- exactly what the rest of us need when looking for a few days "away from it all" in the South Florida sunshine. The staff could not be more cordial. The guests respect each others' privacy but always have interesting stories to share when people are ready to chat. There is always a diverse crowd (this IS Key West), there is on-site parking, and the saner half of Duval Street is minutes away from your front door. What is not to like? Just don't tell anyone, because we want to go back and enjoy the quietude, and once you visit , so will you.


Very enjoyable stay

3.8 on June 18, 2012

Everyone was so friendly and helpful at the La Pensione. We could not have had better service.


More details to the rating

3.0 on June 18, 2012

The room looked nice. There were a lot of mildew spots at the ceiling. Sorry, but the bathroom was not really clean (hairs from the guests before everywhere) and the bed was badly noisy. The service was friendly


June 2012

3.0 on June 13, 2012

Good location. Rooms didn't look like photos on their website - disappointing. Weird, strong, smell when we got to the room - had to air it out. Some of the inn keepers were better than others. When one heard that we had booked a sunset cruise for during our stay, she complained that it was not through her and explained that she receives commission. They have coolers, beach chairs and a beach umbrella for guest use.


Lovely Stay

4.0 on May 31, 2012

Staff/service were amazing, accommodating and knowledgeable. Location was great - about 5 min walking distance to Duval - close enough to the action so you were involved but far enough that you could have some quiet, if desired. Would definitely recommend La Pensione.


Just an Excellent B & B, very Charming!

5 on May 17, 2012

This was our second stay at the La Pensione and we just love staying here. It is so charming and the staff is wonderful! We will definitely be back!


Birthday Weekend Getaway

4.6 on May 16, 2012

La Pensione was quite cozy and very clean. The Inn keepers were very friendly and helpful. Made me want to stay and live in Key West.


AMazing service

5 on March 30, 2012

Wow,what a experience from the welcoming till the day we left everything was excellent.The staff and the host went above and beyond to make our stay unique and amazing,thanks guys.


Great place to use as headquarters!

4.0 on March 06, 2012

Found the accommodations very comfortable and friendly. Location was Perfect for walking all around Key West.


Great getaway and mini-honeymoon!

4.0 on March 06, 2012

Place is wonderful and very convenient to everything! Very cheerful and helpful staff!


A great place to stay in Key West

3.6 on March 04, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time staying at La Pensione Inn. Cindy, our host, was wonderful and so eager to help us with anything we needed. She gave us restaurant advice (when Yelp didn't cut it) and helped us rent bikes right at the inn, which was very convenient. Our room had a superb balcony and was clean. The inn is downtown and is walking distance to everything. I wish it were a little closer to the Duval St. area but the extra few minutes walk isn't that bad. Other than that, everything was great.


Pleasant Stay and So Nearby!

3.6 on March 04, 2012

La Pensione turned out to be a wonderful, pleasant place of respite in the middle of Old Town. We were not more than 1/2 mile from anything that we wanted to visit, and in the middle of an interesting neighborhood with many historic homes. Our room was very large with comfortable beds and a nice view of the yard and swimming pool. The staff were very kind and willing to make suggestions for things to do. Breakfast was enough to get us going, and the quiet swimming pool was a wonderful break in our busy schedule. We will return to La Pensione!


Key West Stay

4.0 on February 27, 2012

I wasn't impressesd with the La Pensione Inn B&B. The rooms need a major update and the bathroom was tiny. The ceiling fan in the bathroom looks as if it hadn't been dusted in years!


Classic B&B

3.2 on February 22, 2012

Being in Key West in February is always pleasant. La Pensione is near Duval St where all the action is. But Truman Ave is really US 1 so there is a lot of traffic including Harleys all night. The room was very large with a nice balcony. We would have liked a TV; the furniture was adequate but nothing fancy. The pool area is very nice and having a vending machine was helpful. Breakfast was continental and sufficient. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. For Key West the room rate was acceptable. An attractive B&B but we would have liked a TV. Ed & Karen Mitchell


Very comfortable.

3.0 on February 20, 2012

Great location for walking to Higgs Beach and Mallory Square/bars/shopping the other direction. Joe & Peggy Barylak


OK BUT NOT FANCY

2.8 on February 16, 2012

The main advantage to this property is it's closeness to "old town". You can walk to Duval Street and all the party places. The facility really needs some updating. The personnel were friendly and helpful and if you are looking for a "no frills" place to stay with easy access to old town than you will be happy. It's a little pricy for what you get however so don't expect a romantic getaway type of B&B.


Had a great time at La Pensione

4.0 on February 06, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights at la Pensione and enjoyed it very much. We stayed in room 8, which has access to the second floor porch which was very nice! The Inn is about 3 blocks from Duval and 5 blocks to the Marina which was not an issue for us. La Pension is right on Truman which has a fair amount of traffic, so it can be noisy at times. It didn't bother us since we like the sounds of the city. Overall a very nice stay.


another day in paradise

4.0 on February 01, 2012

My stay at La Pensione was a good one. Great location for walking everywhere. The room was very clean and spacious, the pool sparkling, and the common areas comfy, clean and inviting. Breakfast was healthy and ample. Main drawback - our room was in the front and at times noisy ( highway ONE). Helpful, friendly, Staff made it all worthwhile and very pleasant! Didn't miss TELEVISION at all but could have used a fridge and a microwave.


Sunshine superstar

4.0 on December 18, 2011

I did a great deal of research after having La Pensione' suggested to me. For the money, it was equal to or better than many other properties. As you would expect, the staff had good recommendations for eateries, of which there are many. We used the on site bikes to travel everywhere. Our flight out wasn't until late in the afternoon, but we used the bikes for a final lunch jaunt and were able to shower after checking out earlier. The only negative is that the B & B fronts Truman (US 1) so it is noisy in room 9. However, that should not keep you from experiencing the exceptional hospitality of La Pensione'.


Three night stay in La Pensione in November 2011

4.2 on December 06, 2011

We had very pleasant stay in La Pensione Inn B&B. Staf was friendly and competent. Its location is close to the downtown and parking is available on its premises, which is a great advantage. There are no TV sets in rooms, which is rather surprising. There is no dining in this B&B, hence the above rating for dining should be ignored. We can recommend it.


first time in Key West

4.2 on December 05, 2011

We had a great time here--only one problem. They had the hardest pillows I have ever slept on in my life---very uncomfortable!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I did not sleep well. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE ---change the pillows. Other than that everything and everyone were great.


Great Service & value

4.4 on December 05, 2011

Found this on the Internet, so we were a little leary, but it proved to be a great find. Super location. We left the car and were able to walk or bike everywhere on the island. Staff was friendly & helpful. We'll stay again when return to Key West.


Key West Getaway

3.6 on December 04, 2011

A wonderful little nugget in Key West! Centrally located which allows you to go easily to Duval and Mallory Square or the other direction to the beaches. The rooms are quaint with a romantic wraparound balcony to have morning coffee or an evening cocktail. The breakfast is limited but good and the staff is very friendly, informative, and helpful. I've stayed twice and will definitely return!


Gem of a B&B

5 on December 04, 2011

Spent two nights at the inn. I wish my wife and I could have stayed longer. One of the finest inns we have ever stayed at. We would returnain if we have the oppportunity.


Great location and great management

4.2 on November 30, 2011

Pluses - rooms, pool, friendly and helpful staff, location negatives - street noise, lack of variety for breakfast


Great Stay, good location, super value

3.8 on November 28, 2011

stayed two nights, had a great time, good location, staff is super nice and very helpful. Highly recommend!!


Very Friendly and Spacious Rooms

4.4 on November 17, 2011

Had a very good stay, location is pretty good, rooms are big, simple yet filling breakfast in the morning was nice. Staff was very friendly and was calling us by our names within the second day. We had scooters and could get to all the major attractions within minutes. The front room #9 was very nice with big balcony but the roosters in the morning will wake you up early. Good value and would stay here again.


Great B&B

4.2 on November 10, 2011

Excellent location and fantastic service. I would highly recommend this B&B.


Perfect!

4.0 on October 20, 2011

It was our home away from home. Meeting new people at breakfast (the waffles were delicious!) and then sitting on the upstairs wraparound porch watching traffic were the highlights of our trip since it rained the entire weekend. The weather did not keep us indoors and when we came back drenched, they gave us towels to dry ourselves. (We should have borrowed the umbrellas they offered before we left). The rooms were quiet and absolutely, impeccably clean. We will not have to search the internet again when we return to Key West. We have recommended La Pensione Inn to everyone we meet. Not one complaint. Perfect!


Great place to stay - La Pensione

4.0 on October 20, 2011

This B & B is just wonderful! The owners treat you like family. It feels like they are old friends. They are very accommodating. We were pulling our new little teardrop trailer and they were making arrangements for parking it months before we even arrived. The setting couldn't be more beautiful, the rooms couldn't be cleaner, the pool couldn't be cozier. The morning breakfast was hearty. The conversation was great. I urge you to make this your go-to place when you want to relax in Key West. --- Barb and Phil Jenkins


LaPensione Inn Key West stay

4.4 on October 14, 2011

very charming and friendly staff. Breakfast was more than expected. Offering coolers for the room or beach was a great bonus. Parking is a problem with a full house.


Nice Hotel

4.0 on September 23, 2011

The location of the hotel is very good. Most of the Locations can be made by walk. Service is great.


Average Bed & Breakfast

2.6 on September 09, 2011

Good Location, Bikes were great. First floor area was very hot. Breakfast was ok. Rooms very bright at night and a little loud. Pool was very nice.


Amazing

5 on August 28, 2011

The place was great, clean and very accommodating. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in key west just a couple blocks from Duval street. The staff was very helpful, definitely a place I would stay in the future.


la pensione la great stay

4.0 on August 15, 2011

We enjoyed our stay greatly. Freda and Gary were both very knowledgeable and helpful. Accommodations exceeded expectations -very roomy and comfortable. Highly recommended.


Great location, good experience but bad AC.

4.2 on August 10, 2011

The B&B is in a great location: You can walk everywhere. Everything was good except for the AC which was extremely loud. Otherwise, great place.


Key West Escape

3.4 on August 02, 2011

The Inn met my expecatations as far as cleanliness, comfort and food (continental breakfast). Parking was limited but we knew this beforehand. Pool was very warm, maybe a little too warm for the weather (heat indexes greater than 95 degrees everyday). The Inn was conveniently located and within walking distance to many things! The Innkeeper was wonderful and very helpful with directions and tour planning. Will definitely return!


Great place!

4.2 on August 01, 2011

We had a very nice stay. The rooms were great, staff was friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, just the right distance from Duval St. We will definitely be back.


a nice B&B

3.4 on July 31, 2011

Very friendly and cosy atmosphere. Very well located and easy to find. The charming landlady is a great source of information about where to eat, what to do, what not to be missed at no cost, ... All her tips were excellent. A little bit noisy as close to the main road.


Birthday vacation

3.6 on July 29, 2011

The B & B staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They made dinner and activities reservations for us, provided directions, maps, and made some suggestions. The onsite bike rental was very convenient. The best part was that we were able to shower after check out in a private bathroom by the pool. It was nice to be able to clean up after a hot day in the keys before boarding a plane.


Wonderful

4.2 on July 08, 2011

We enjoyed this B&B very much. It is only a few blocks from all the attractions on & off Duval Street. We could walk everywhere. Love that! After shopping and seeing the sights we relaxed by the pool. Already planning our next trip.


LaPensione Rox.....

5 on June 26, 2011

Staff and facilities are the best, nothing compares. We've been coming down to KW since 1992(non stop), and the LaPensione is at the top of the list for us......period.


Perfect getaway

5 on June 25, 2011

I have hi expectations...and those were all met across the board. The perfect 2 day getaway to the Keys...we'll be back at La Pensione. Rooms are very comfortable, location is quiet, clean...perfect.


Will definitely be back!

5 on June 16, 2011

Clean spacious rooms, gracious staff, and walking distance from all that Key West has to offer, we will definitely be making a return visit to La Pensione.


Key West Memorial Day

4.8 on June 05, 2011

My sister and I were in town for a wedding. La Pensione's room was big. Very clean. Staff were kind and helpful. Great location. Would recommend staying here.


Charming Victorian Inn

4.0 on June 04, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 1st Anniversary on Memorial Day weekend here. The housekeepers are very sweet and knowledgeable about everything and anything that has to do with Key West. We stayed in room 7 that has a bay window and double doors to the balcony and we loved the decor and how clean the room was. The AC was nice and cold and the beds were comfy. We had no tv but that made the experience even better...who needs to watch tv when there's so much to see and do in the Keys. Breakfast was delicious! I loved the fresh fruit and waffles every morning. I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone. I know we will definately be back.


Great experience

3.8 on June 02, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at La Pensione very much. The B&B was very quaint and full of helpful staff. The location was convenient to all Key West attractions. We'd gladly stay here again.


Fabulous spot

4.0 on May 22, 2011

A great location and quite reasonably priced. Just a short walk to Mallory Square.


Great location!

4.0 on May 11, 2011

We were so pleased with the location of La Pensione Inn. The rooms were quite spacious and immaculate. We had a balcony that enabled us to sit out in the evenings. Pool and continental breakfast made our stay complete. Definitely a " must stay" , as well for the reasonable rates!


La Pensione Inn

4.4 on May 02, 2011

A great B&B right in the middle of most locations, walking distance to all sites on Key West, but quiet enough where you don't here the noise at night. Would have liked some variety in breakfast, but promoted a continental breakfast and that was what was served. We would stay there again on the next trip to Key West.


Stay at Le Pension

3.0 on May 02, 2011

Owner was very nice to the guests. Good place to stay if you don't watch T.V.


Great get-away!

4.6 on April 26, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights in room 9 in mid April. It was close enough to walk to Duval St., but far enough away to avoid all of the noise. The accomodations were clean and comfortable, reminding me of my grandmother's old victorian. What a way to spend my birthday!


Stay at La Pensione Inn B&B

4.0 on April 19, 2011

Was VERY DISAPPONITED there was no TV in the room. We enjoy going to bed and getting up to the news. Thank You


Comfortable and Convenient

3.6 on April 07, 2011

We stayed at the La Pensione for two nights and enjoyed our stay. The staff was wonderful and helpful. The Inn has bikes available at rates much lower than the vendors around town. The breakfast was continental and not what I expected from a bed and breakfast, but all in all a reasonably priced option in a good location.


Magro vacation - 03/29 through 04/02

4.0 on April 05, 2011

First time to Key West and loved the visit. La Pensione was a wonderful place to stay. A bit noisy in the early morning hours, but we did OK.


Love Key West!

4.2 on April 04, 2011

Loved the Conch Festival. La Pensione Inn is centrally located and convenient to dozens of restaurants. Barbara, Marina del Rey, CA


Great place to stay in KW

4.0 on March 29, 2011

Great staff & very nice B&B. We stay here 2 nights and everything was perfect!


great service

3.8 on March 14, 2011

Wonderfully accommodating, helpful staff at a good location. Our room was quiet except for the 2am rooster-- a common Key West feature, I guess! Would happily stay here again. Thanks!


We had a blast!

4.6 on March 05, 2011

The owner are friendly and very helpfull with everything. The rooms are very clean. To rent bikes there is perfect for looking all over key west. We really enjoy our stay.


AMAZING!

4.8 on February 27, 2011

La Pensione Inn was a fabulous place to stay on Key West! The people who run this inn make it fantastic! They are extremely kind and were able to help my fiance and I out with all the little secrets Key West has to offer. We both highly reccomend this bed and breakfast (the waffles for breakfast are great as well!)


La Pensione Inn B&B

3.0 on February 21, 2011

Nice greeting, room was spacious and clean. Stayed in room 7 Porch light stayed on all night and lit up your room a little to bright. Should you decided to stay here, take your pistol, there is a reward for whom ever gets the Rooster. There are Roosters that roam freely and be sure, you will not need an alarm clock. The pool was clean and a bit cool but delightful. Continental breakfast was very nice. All and all, an OK place to stayto enjoy beautiful Key West.


Valentine getaway

3.8 on February 21, 2011

Very pleasant stay. Great location. Sunday brunch was above and beyond.


Nice B&B in Key West

3.6 on February 15, 2011

A short vacation with some work mates after a week in LotuSphere 2011 event at Orlando.


Staying at La Pensione

3.4 on February 11, 2011

I can really recommend this hotel, Jamie and Rita really try to make your stay a pleasant one.


Romantic Bed and Breakfast

4.0 on February 02, 2011

We had a great four year anniversary here at La Pensione Inn, I loved the location and the Inn itself was beautifully kept and very romantic. It felt like we were staying at a friends home. The Inn keeper was super helpful, she even delivered a surprise bottle of chamapagne for the occasion. It was close enough to the action of Key West but far enough to enjoy the serenity of this beautiful inn. We had a great time, the waffles were amazing!!!


A Very Nice Place to Stay

5 on January 22, 2011

We recently spent 3 nights at La Pensione and couldn't have enjoyed it more. It is a very nice, uncomplicated place that makes you feel at home. Garry was very helpful with tips around town and fixing reservations for outings. Jamie made a lovely breakfast each morning and was had very good suggestions for activities. We also got to meet Bud, which was a real highlite for us. We would strongly recommend this Inn.


Wonderful Stay!

4.2 on January 17, 2011

Stayed at La Pensione Inn from January 10 thru 14. Our room #4 was large and comfortable. The inn was within walking distance to many good restaurants and stores. They also rent bikes right at the inn and that is a nice feature. It was too cool to go in the pool but we enjoyed sitting in the sun. Breakfast each morning was good with homemade waffles, fresh fruit, coffee. Freda, the inn keeper, is wonderful. She can answer any of your questions and is extremely friendly and helpful. Looking forward to staying again in the future.


new year's eve in Key west

3.8 on January 09, 2011

We' ve been to La Pensione Inn during new Year's eve in room No. 3 and really enjoyed the stay. The parking situation is great and the beach and Duval Street are in good walking distance. The Service was great and friendly and the rooms are clean and nice. All in all La Pensione is a really good deal and we would recommend it to our friends.


Okay in a pinch

2.6 on January 06, 2011

I made reservations about 10 days before our arrival. We stayed 4 nights, December 29th, 2010, through January 2nd, 2011. Advertised continental breakfast was provided -- we found it odd that there were no juices offered. Room had louvered shutters that blocked any sunlight; made it look & feel less appealing. Convenient location, though being on the main road into town had its drawbacks with Harleys, trucks, buses, etc., gping back and forth. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool is very small; could be a good relief in the hotter months. Unexpected complimentary bottle of champagne provided on New Year's Eve


December stay

3.6 on December 18, 2010

I stayed at La Pensione for three nights from December 9th through 12th. This hotel is a good value and is in a very convenient location. Also, the staff are all very friendly and helpful.


Very clean

3.8 on December 13, 2010

Even though it was raining and cold, our stay was very pleasant. The Pensione was exactly as described on their website. Our room was large and very clean but a bit cold as there was no heat. The property is close to a number of restaurants and art shops. I recommend this place if you are not looking for full hotel services like coffee in the room…


Key west gem

5 on December 12, 2010

The staff were friendly and helpful, clean beautiful rooms, with seating on porch, nice breakfast, (simple, and all you want). Would definitely reccomend a stay! .. Girl from the north!


Gopod price and well-situated.

3.0 on December 07, 2010

Price was below comparable B&Bs in Key West, and the location was excellent. No television or phones in the room. DId not use the pool as we were out and touring most of the time we were there. Breakfast was somewhat limited in scope . . . waffles, boiled eggs, cereal, and fruit fo the most part. No coffee or tea available except at breakfast.


Loved La Pensione Key West!

5 on December 06, 2010

This was a return visit for my husband and I. Would go back in a heartbeat. Location is great to Duval. Rooms are very nice. Breakfast is always satisfying. But the staff and owners are what make the place so wonderful. Caring, kind and hard working. Thanks for another great stay! Ron and Penny Ester


A short getaway.

4.6 on December 02, 2010

The whole experience was fine. The location worked well for us, little or no driving. We had perfact weather that helped.


Thanksgiving weekend 2010

4.0 on December 02, 2010

Nice place. This is my 4th time in Key West. I finally found a place I would stay at again.


Pleasant stay in Key West

3.4 on November 15, 2010

Location was superb within walking distance of most attractions, off road car parking a big advantage,all parts of inn were tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Not cheap but there again this is Key West, only criticism was the breakfast was a bit basic


Una preciosa y tipica casa victoriana

3.4 on November 15, 2010

Pasamos una feliz estancia... gracias por todo nos vemos


Would recommend

3.6 on November 08, 2010

People were friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfast was very good.


Complete Disappointment

2.2 on October 27, 2010

We were celebrating our 1 year anniversary and the Inn was recommended to us by some friends. What a disappointment. Their website doesn't specify that they serve continental breakfast not the traditional breakfast you'd expect at a b&b. We had to go out for breakfast every morning. The rooms were very spartan. However, the staff was very friendly. We've stayed at many b&bs and they usually have coffee or tea available for their guests during the day and night; most of them also offer complimentary wine in the evening or in the rooms. At 7:00 p.m. when the office closed, the only drink service was the vending machine. We stayed in Room 9 (the most requested room according to the Inn keeper) and it faces Truman Street which can be quite noisy at night. If you're looking for the attention to detail of a traditional b&b this Inn will disappoint you. At $148.00 a night, you would get more from a traditional hotel that serves a true continental breakfast.


We loved it!

4.0 on October 26, 2010

La Pensione Inn was really a good decision! It was friendly, near the center (5 minutes with bike) we had bikes, a pool, international guests, really good breakfast, it was quiet, peacefull - we stayed one night more as we planned and I really would take it a second time again! We got towels, even for the pool and a free parking place for the car directly behind the house.


A wonderful stay at La Pensione.

4.6 on October 20, 2010

My wife and I vacationed in Key West for the second time to celebrate our 2nd anniversary and my wife's birthday. The staff (especially Freda) was extremely friendly and always helpful. The breakfast was well above average, although it was difficult for us to leave our comfortable bed before 10 am. We've stayed at comparable b&b's on the island before and this is right up with the best of them. We would highly recommend this beautiful and charming home.


Wonderful Bed & Breakfast

4.6 on October 12, 2010

La Pensione Inn was all we were hoping it would be and more. Me and my boyfriend stayed for a few days in the room next to the pool. The pool is open 24/7 and we were in it most of our stay, when we weren't out on our rental bikes (that we rented at La Pensione Inn). The room was beautiful, the staff very friendly and genuine, and we felt absolutely at home from the first minute we came. I would recommend this to anybody that want a romantic getaway...


Great B&B

4.0 on September 18, 2010

Really terrific weekend getaway spot. They have bikes onsite to rent which was wonderful and convenient.


AMAZING !!!

4.2 on July 29, 2010

We are stay just 2 nights but it was a very good stay in the Keys... with charming persons... congratulations !!! Thanks for all !! See you soon... Mr DRYPAN


Visit June 2010

3.8 on July 02, 2010

Great location! Only a few blocks from Duval St. And it has parking, which many B&B in Key West don't. Our room was much larger than we expected. This is a place that we would visit again.


La Pensione 6-12 thru 6-19

3.0 on June 28, 2010

Professional, friendly, helpful service but accomadations somewhat lacking for an extended stay. Room was nice, well kept. No coffee maker or TV in room. Breakfast was plain & same everyday. Swimming pool was extremely warm with no shade to get out of the heat. Could be a great stay with some attention to the customers needs/desires. A 6 out of 10. Tom


Our Honey Moon/ 1yr anniversary

4.6 on May 23, 2010

It was my first time in the Keys with my Husband & I wanted a perfect romantic but tropical Bed & Breakfast. The La Pensione was PERFECT!! The house was near all the attractions & night life yet peaceful & quiet late at night. The service & cleanliness was outstanding & everyone was so nice! I can't wait to come again!


just ok experience

3.0 on March 29, 2010

First experience at a B&B in Key West.The house was very old and historical. Some updates, but overall very good condition.We would not reccomend because of all the busy traffic on Truman unless you don't mind traffic noise all night long.be careful of booking room 9.It faces the front of the street where the noise is the worst.


what a nice stay!

3.8 on March 12, 2010

We came for two nights in march 2010 to key west and really felt at home here at La Pensione Inn. Location: easy to find when accessing the island, 10mins walking distance from Duval st., secure parking, quiet & clean rooms, pool & nice veranda for the breakfast outside. Staff: friendly and personal atmosphere, providing inspiration for dining and local attractions the local people find interesting besides all the tourist staff - thanks for that ! Dining: i just input average, we had no dinner here, only breakfast, the rating is for that. Summarizing our experience I would always return to this cozy place. Thanks for the good times !


Nice B&B

3.0 on January 20, 2010

La Pensione was a nice B&B. I would have preferred more variety at breakfast, hot water in the bathroom sink and a TV in the room. But I did appreciate their wireless internet access. Unfortunately it was too cold to use the pool. The people were very friendly and it was very convenient to have on-site parking plus it was in walking distance of Duvall St.


fortieth anniversary

4.4 on November 16, 2009

Historic building with french doors leading out on to second floor balcony. Cafe style tables to enjoy on balcony.Two blocks to Duval St., clean comfortable king bed,private bath,friendly staff,nice pool.Only negative nine rooms with seven parking spaces but free parking on street. Sarasota beach bum


Pleasant and charming B&B

3.4 on September 28, 2009

Pleasant rooms, excellent service and nice poolarea


Relaxing at the B &B

4.2 on March 06, 2009

Spent 2 days and the place was beautiful...very historic. Room was well decorated and very clean. Breakfast was adequate..a little skimpy on the fruit but waffle was good. Staff was available when needed and friendly. Location was good for traveling to the nearby sites...we walked everywhere. A bit noisy due to location on main highway #1 but a decent compromise for being so near to all of the sites of Key West.


Awesome place

5 on November 11, 2008

We stayed at this place for one night and loved it. The people manging the place are very friendly. The room is very neat and very well maintained. The breakfast is simply superb and we highly recommend this place for couples or families.


The Best B&B in Key West

5 on September 17, 2007

I have stay at this B & B and Loved it. The staff was Great!! The Breakfast was not frozen waffles like another review had stated, I watched the host make them. They went out of there way to make us feel welcome Thanks Again!


Wonderful Stay!

5 on July 24, 2007

What a beauty this B&B is! We had a wonderful stay and hope to stay with you again. We will recommend your Inn to our family & friends.


La Pensione Inn B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $148 - $328
  • Reviews (162) 4.1
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3052929923
  • Fax 1-3052966509
  • Toll free 1-8008931193

Visit Website »

View details

Top