Authors Guest House / Authors of Key West Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining3.4

Score Breakdown based on
37 Reviews

Write A Review

Author's guest house

2.6 on December 12, 2014

Nice room, great location. Staff were very nice and helpful. Only problem was with a plugged toilet (and that is enough of a problem...).


Beautiful hideaway!

4.6 on November 14, 2014

Authors Guest House is a beautiful hideaway tucked just 1 mile away from the crazy fun of Duval Street! Far enought to be secluded but close enough to walk! Beautiful rooms and a nice continental breakfast every morning!


def going back...

4.4 on October 20, 2014

this property is definately a value for the price... we had the artists room and was surprised at the size and cleanliness of the room. the breakfast was the standard fare but a bit upgraded with yogurts, peanut butter, and decent coffee. (throw in some hard bopiled eggs and this wouldve been perfect) staff was very helpful and friendly. will definately stay again!


Great stay

5 on August 31, 2014

It was a great stay , we enjoied the time in Key West , Thamk you for your kindness.


Very Nice Key West Feel

5 on August 30, 2014

First time in a bed and breakfast and it was a very good experience. Nice fully working kitchen, living room and master bedroom at a very good price. Staff was very nice and breakfast was out in the courtyard which gave you that island feel. We are going back for sure.


B&B

3.6 on August 18, 2014

My husband and I loved this place. In my opinion the price was perfect it was clean and best of all had air conditioner. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing I would say about the hotel is the breakfast was a bit poor but I'd much rather eat at a local restaurant.


Nice place

4.0 on August 07, 2014

Nice place we friendly staff. A walking distance to Duval street, but far enough to be a calm place. A good hotel to chill out and rest.


July 39 - 31 2014

3.4 on August 05, 2014

Quiet B & B far enough off the main drag where you can get some R & R. Plenty of shade to escape the heat. Recommend bicycles to get around town. Most parking will be on side street curb.


Authors

4.4 on July 23, 2014

Great value, peaceful, and good breakfast.


Great Stay!

4.2 on July 20, 2014

Our room was very loud, due to traffic on White Street.


First B&B experience

4.6 on June 28, 2014

The place was very nice and very quiet so good for us. We got to enjoy the pool and Jacuzzi before bed and as said before the breakfast is very light. The only downside is that it is quite far from most of the places so we had to drive. if you want to walk up and down the main street it's far and it's about a mile to a 2 miles away. All in all good price for the location and have a pleasant stay


Good value and very clean!

4.4 on June 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed there during June 2014. This was reasonalby priced compared to other accomodations in Key West. So we decided to give it a try and boy were we pleased! All the rooms and the facility were very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Short distance from many attractions, but yet quiet and private. We would definitely stay here again.


"Exceeded our expectations"

3.8 on June 10, 2014

Everything was pretty good. They could improve the breakfast which was the same the two days we were there and was just packaged food primarily.


Loved the jacuzzi!! :D

3.6 on May 29, 2014

Very neat. Loved the jacuzzi. Breakfast was okay. Pleasant stay.


perfect getaway!

4.8 on May 20, 2014

Perfect! Quiet retreat!


Fantastic hotel in Key West

5 on May 11, 2014

We loved our stay in the "Poets" room at Author's Guesthouse. Friendly staff, lovely bright spacious room, excellent continental breakfast served outside in a lovely tropical surrounding. Hotel was close to grocery store and bike rental where we rented bicycles and rode around Key West or the entire day. Author's Guesthouse certainly made our stay very enjoyable.


Always paradise -

4.8 on May 04, 2014

My sister and I have continued to return to this B & B for several reasons. 1. Tippi at the front desk graciously welcomes us and can answer any question or find what we need. 2. It's CLEAN. 3. It's quiet. 4. It's close to the seaport, just a short walk. 4. It has the best rates. 5. It's cozy and safe..


Great place and clean!

4.2 on April 04, 2014

Stayed in the Artist Room Had a private bathroom and a very comfy bed. Housekeepers left us instructions and keys to the room outside since we arrived afterhours. There is a pool. Small but it's heated which felt great on a tired body The whole room was clean which made it easy to sleep Breakfast was a typical continental but hey still works (they should use fresh Florida orange juice - tasted like tropicana - yuck) Other than that, would DEFINITELY book again.


Key West mini vacation.

4.2 on December 25, 2013

We took the Key West Express to visit and the Guest House was with walking distance of the pier. Very helpful recommendations about getting around town and places to eat. The breakfast was a little sparse so we walked a couple of blocks to a great local color hot spot, Sandy's cafe, where we had great French toast made from Cuban bread. Locals also very colorful. Wireless didn't work in our room nor the TV but we weren't there to sit in the comfortable room. We would come back,though.


Great place to stay. Will return.

3.8 on July 30, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay. The room was very nice. Johnna was an excellent host. Everything was clean and it was about a 10-15 minute walk from all the action. We will stay here next time we are in Key West.


One of the Cutest. coziest Bed and Breakfast in Key West

4.4 on December 15, 2012

One of the coziest little cottages in Key West. we stayed in the room called the Library which was stocked with books , novels and magazines!! The plantation shutters surrounded the room which made it feel like a far a wy cottage. the staff was very friendly let us check in an hour early. They were eager to become photographer at a moments notice. We reaaly loved the very friendly resident cat which liked to follow us around too!!. All in all a great place to stay at a fantastic price especially bargin hunters!!! We can't wait to return already!!!! Margie and Rick


very nice!

3.4 on August 20, 2012

Bon rapport qualité/prix. tres calme. Accueil sympathique. A recommander


Amazing!

4.4 on July 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a week in Boynton Beach visiting his parents and decided to sneak in a couple days in Key West. We stayed in the Poets room and we could not have been happier. What a beautiful, well maintained, and CLEAN room. My only regret is not staying longer.


Last minute booking, first rate stay

4.8 on March 24, 2012

We were very pleased from the moment we arrived. We'd heard about the lack of parking in Key West, but in this largely residential area we had no problem getting on-street parking and no worries about the car. We found the staff we dealt with incredibly helpful regarding places to eat, where to park when driving the couple of times we did so, where we could walk, etc. The location made walking to most places we were interested in very easy. We were surprised but pleased to find a fridge & microwave when we got to our room--dinner leftovers became lunch. The hot tub/pool was very relaxing & the breakfast area was quite appealing. Although this trip was last minute during high season, the rates were not bad at all. When we return we'll certainly be looking for availability here!


tHE POETS ROOM

4.8 on November 20, 2011

What a beautiful room. We were told it used to be used by the owner and we could see why. It really was more an effiientcy apartment. Clean, bright, roomy and equipped with a full kitchen which allowed for savings in restautant costs. The staff were all so cheerful and friendly and made the breakfast hour warm and friendly. peaceful and quiet at night but not too far from the excitement of Duval. We hope to go back next year and get the same room!!!


My stay at key west

5 on August 27, 2011

My stay In key west at the Author house was amazing the service was amazing the people were very nice and warm. I can't wait until I can return.


Trent and Jennifer

5 on August 23, 2011

This was our "Kid free" weekend and it couldn't of been more awesome! It was the first trip for me to Key West so I really didn't know what to expect. From the minute we stepped into the office, we were treated like VIP's. The room was perfect and the privacy was fantastic-we felt like the only ones there! I highly recommend this place!


not much of a bed and breakfast

2.8 on July 16, 2011

Pros: Clean place for the most part, friendly staff, good location in quiet Key West Cons: Breakfast isn't until 8:30, which means no coffee until then either. Breakfast is on par with a cheap motel (bagels, coffee, OJ...really, that's it). Also, if you have any morning activities, you'll probably miss breakfast anyways because it opens so late. The Wilder room is for up to three people, but only has two chairs to sit in--one reading chair, one wooden desk chair; the carpet has lumps in it (needs to be stretched); the beds are okay, but don't expect much; the bathroom reminds me of Europe (small with a tiny shower) and the towel rack in the bathroom was rusted. Parking is available but it's on the street. Also, as others said, the pool is really nothing more than an oversized hot tub. Overview: If I walked into a holiday inn express and the room looked like this, I would have went to another hotel, but I prepaid for this and wasn't in the room much anyways, so I stayed. For the price you pay, the breakfast sucks and in reality, I wish I had paid for a holiday inn instead. Save yourself some money and stay in a cheaper hotel or look for a bed and breakfast that lives up to the idea.


Great Place to stay in Key West

4.6 on July 04, 2011

I would highly recommend Authors of Key West, it has the keys feeling, It is close to Duvall st. Very glad we did not stay at a chain hotel, it made our trip to Key West


Cozy and inviting.

4.8 on May 14, 2011

Our rooms were clean and cozy. It felt like we were in a cabin enclosed by trees. The breakfast was good and we took advantage of the outdoor tables to enjoy it. I would tell anyone that this is where they should stay to enjoy being together.


Price was right

3.0 on March 28, 2011

For Key West the price was fair. The bed was comfy, the room was clean and the atmosphere was pleasant. The breakfast was non-existant, but held you over until you could get ready to go out for the day and grab something then. Both mornings a table was set with bagels, english muffins, coffee and juice.


Solid B and B

3.4 on January 24, 2011

Beautiful room, cordial service but breakfast bare bones. Conveniently located in Key West.


Nice stay

3.4 on September 12, 2010

We spent a night in the Lillian Herman room and were very pleased. The room was very clean and relaxing, the queen size bed comfy, the a/c worked smoothly and also comes with a refrigerator. The "pool" is an oversized jacuzzi with less jets but also very clean. Don't count on the breakfast since there's not to much to choose from but you can stil sip your weak coffee in a lively tropical backyard.


Clean, comfortable, cute room in Key West

3.4 on August 13, 2010

The room was on the small side but had everything we needed. It opened up to the pool, which made for a pretty view but also meant that it was quite noisy when people were swimming late at night. (We turned up the A/C to cover the noise and that worked well.) The breakfast was nothing special - coffee, juice, bagels, and canned fruit. But we'll be coming back again because it was charming, a good value, and walkable to Duval without being too near the noisy party scene.


Very Very Pleasant Time

4.8 on June 20, 2010

Very clean, Friendly staff, quiet location, perfect for Key West.


Would rebook for future stay

4.0 on May 28, 2010

This B&B is about 1 mile from Duval, but it was a perfect location for us because it was clean, quite and very friendly staff.


Perfect for a night or two...

2.6 on January 19, 2010

Upon check-in we learned that someone lost our reservation so we were upgraded to the only available room which was larger than the one we originally booked. We lucked out on that one. There were ants crawling on the walls and the bathroom shower was extremely small. I live in Florida so these things don't really bother me. If you are planning on staying a night or two, not spending a lot of time in your room, then stay here. If you want lavish accomodations and plan on staying in your room a lot, stay somewhere else.


Authors Guest House / Authors of Key West

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $295
  • Reviews (37) 4.1
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3052947381

Visit Website »

View details

Top