Artist House Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Onsite Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
38 Reviews

Write A Review

Fantastica Artist House from Italia

5 on April 13, 2015

Artist House eccezionale Location da favola Camera storica Pulizia impeccabile Complimenti


Adorable Artist House

4.2 on April 12, 2015

A remarkable place to stay. Our family of 5 truly enjoyed our 3 nights in the Turret room. Super-friendly staff, nice breakfast and the afternoon happy hour is a treat. Just be aware that the ghost tours of Key West also like to stop by the house - sometimes late at night...


Inn Keepers with True Knowledge (& Love) of the Island Life

4.6 on April 06, 2015

We stayed for four nights at the end of March 2015. Laura greeted us and within minutes we were learning new things about the isle, despite this being our 16th visit. Super friendly but not intrusive, just what you want for a B&B stay. And although cliche', the Artist House truly exemplifies the phrase: Location, location, location. You are literally steps away from the water and the most intoxicating street in the USA: Duval. I felt so comfortable with our next Inn Keeper, Cindy, I tried, but failed, on an April Fool's joke. Oh well, there's always next year. But if you don't have to wait, book it now. Enjoy.


Wonderful stay

4.2 on April 01, 2015

The Artist House was a great place to stay in Key West; within walking distance to everything. The only downfall is the location is noisy with early morning noise, i.e.; delivery trucks, dumpsters being emptied etc. The house is very clean, continental breakfast is great & the staff is nothing but accommodating. All in all a great stay!!


key west adventure

4.6 on March 10, 2015

gorgeous rooms, fabulous breakfast! my only issue was the noise of the first floor front room - some from the thoughtless people in the room above, some from the street. but that's just the way it is. otherwise, a wonderful stay.


Beautiful historic Bed & Breakfast

5 on March 03, 2015

What a great stay! A beautiful Old Historic Bed & Breakfast. The home is lovingly taken care of with the original charm. We stayed three nights in the Morning room, and loved the charm. The bed was so comfortable and the claw foot bathtub was awesome for a great long soak after a day of sightseeing! It was also nice to have a private balcony to have our evening coffee on. The house is located only 2 blocks from Duvall street, and an easy walking distance to tons of shopping, dining options and the nightly sunset ceremony in Mallory square. The morning continental breakfast served was very yummy and went beyond what you usually get in a hotel. It was also nice to eat out in the backyard on the patio under palm trees and beside their dipping pool (large tiled hot tub) We will look forward to going back again one day! Oh yes, even though we were staying in the next room to the “haunted” Turret Suite room we never did bump into the spirit of the original owner Anne or her husband’s doll Robert the doll. However, it was fun to sit on the upstairs veranda in the evening and watch the ghost tours stop and take pictures!


outstanding B&B

5 on March 02, 2015

We had a lovely large room. Breakfast was great. Wine hour every day at 4:00. Only a block from famous Duval Street. Very friendly staff. Stay here you will love it.


home away form home

4.8 on February 25, 2015

One of the best B & B's in Key West. Very clean, well managed by a friendly accomodating staff, and convenient to everything near or on Duval St.


Great place, Great location, & AMAZING STAFF

4.4 on February 24, 2015

We stayed in the turette room and for the price we paid for a tiny motel room last year we got a huge 2 room place. We slept upstairs for the privacy. The staff are SOOOOO NICE and caring. And it is like HALF a block from the main street...PERFECTION. Can't wait to come back in December


Great Find!! Stay here

3.8 on February 18, 2015

Great location and history of this house make it a great find in Key West. Breakfast is served on the private back garden patio as well as drinks during happy hour every afternoon. Nice views from the front porch seating to relax and enjoy the tours passing and pointing to this beautiful house that you are staying at.


Charming B&B, highly recommended

3.6 on February 17, 2015

Perfect location, close to Duval street. Charming rooms. Delicious breakfast (that you can take to the patio). Cosy atmosphere, you really feel welcome and at home. Really value for money, highly recommended.


Awesome stay in a beautiful house

5 on February 10, 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff! Nice whirlpool in backyard, perfect to relax and enjoy key west


Our Stay at the Artist House

4.4 on February 01, 2015

Overall our stay at the Artist House was great. Cindy who worked at the inn was extremely gracious, friendly and helpful. The Continental plus breakfast was wonderful including numerous pastries from a local bakery. Cindy also hosted an inclusive with our stay happy hour daily, which was very nice. especially when food and drinks really start to add up in key west. Our room was very nicely decorated and good overall. The bed comfortable, the bathroom updated and clean. However the toilet was broken for the length of our stay, useable, but never fixed. It wasn't the end of the world for us, but we weren't offered any sort of compensation or discount for the inconvenience. And the pillows were pretty poor and need replacing in my opinion. Otherwise the rest was fine. There is a cute little balcony off the bathroom which was nice to have. The view isn't the best, overlooks the roof of a house that isn't in great condition. Not very private or quiet. Furniture on the balcony wasn't anything special, but it worked. The back yard area was cute and a nice retreat from the chaos going on around us. The wading pool was very neat, although we never used it, looked nice. The yard could use a little work to make a cuter and cozier tropical ambiance. Overall for the value and comparative to other inns in the area, The Artist house is very nice and we enjoyed our stay.


Fantastic stay !

5 on January 25, 2015

We spent 4 days at the Artist House which we found to be a lovely Inn and a great location , you can walk to everything. Our room was large , spacious and house keeping kept it immaculate. The decor was beautiful and there was a mini fridge in the room. Cindy and Laura were great hosts who gave us wonderful tips on places to eat and things to see. Breakfast was great with many choices from fresh fruit and pastries to cereal and eggs. It's a place that we would go back to next time we're in Key West.


Great stay in key west

4.6 on January 17, 2015

Was a great place to stay and when we go back to key west we would stay there again. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were very nice and clean. We stayed in the Turret suite and really enjoyed visiting every night on the large porch outside of our room.


very nice stay

3.2 on January 09, 2015

Nice large rooms with a lot of charm. The bathroom was functional but not much more. The inn keeper, Laura, was nice. The best part of the experience was the happy hour; meeting and talking with the other guests. I would love to go back but it was a bit expensive.


Great first time in Key West

4.6 on January 08, 2015

Everything was great. One weirded out moment when mouse followed me up the stairs!


Charming Bed and Breakfast!

5 on December 19, 2014

The Artist House was the perfect location for us to stay while visiting Key West. It was within walking distance to all the places we wanted to visit. Cindy and Susana made our visit even more special by making us feel at home and welcomed. The Artist House is beautifully furnished and a nice place to retreat.


Overall very happy

3.6 on December 04, 2014

the room was nice, the staff was more than helpful, and this is the perfect location if you want to be on Duval Street. It was a little loud from the wooden, old creaky floors and we stayed on the first floor, but all in all, we would definitely stay there again, plus it was fun to walk into the house as a ghost tour was going on and we were staying there!


One of the most beautiful houses in Key West

4.0 on December 01, 2014

The house an the room are gorgeous (Eugene studio), but the bathroom would need some refreshement. The location is perfect (just near the main street of Key West) and the breakfast good with a wide choice of products. A bit noisy, but it is a hold house so this is understandable, but if the light coming through the roller blinds early in the morning it is quite annoying if you want to sleep longer in the morning. The bedding is absolutely outstanding!


I'd do it agai in heartbeat!

4.2 on October 06, 2014

Stayed in the nursery. The steps are a climb but everything else meant they didnt matter. House hostess was wonderful! This place is a stones throw from Duval. Will return!!


Lovely b&b

3.6 on September 04, 2014

Great location in the old town, the property and our room was very clean, the complimentary happy hour is a nice touch. The lady on reception was very welcoming and helpful.


all perfect

5 on September 02, 2014

A friend of mine suggested me this hotel. I've been here for three days with 4 friends (coming from Italy, not so naer...). Everything was amazing. Hospitality, cleanliness, services. We couldn't ask for more. We've been happy to stay there and I think we'll surely stay in artist's house next time we go to key west.


Loved it!

5 on August 28, 2014

This place is absolutely wonderful! The house is gorgeous and the history behind it is so intersteing. The service and staff is outstanding! I will be back! :)


Great weekend stay!!!

4.8 on August 21, 2014

Beautiful hotel, friendly stuff, clean and big room. It was a weekend trip for my BF birthday and we had a great time. Quiet rooms, 2 minutes walk from all the action on Duval street. Would love to stay longer, but had to go back to work))


kicking it in the keys

4.8 on June 16, 2014

we went last minute and could not have had a better time.everything was truly great


Great B&B!!

4.6 on December 26, 2012

This is a very nice place to stay in Key West. The location is perfect, the rooms are very clean and accommodating and the breakfast and Happy Hour is great; but the best thing about the place was the staff. Helen was a joy to meet and she exceeded all expectations on what service should be. We will definitely be returning!


Great Stay!!

4.0 on October 10, 2012

My husband and I visited Key West for the first time this September 2012. We had an amazing time. Key West is a little piece of paradise! Our stay at the Artist House was wonderful. Laura was so helpful, so genuine. You can tell she loved her job, she loved Key West and she knew what she was talking about. She was always there to answer questions and give suggestions. The house itself was gorgeous, clean and had everything we needed. Close to everything, even provided bike rentals and parking nearby.We will be returning to the Artist House every year!


Quaint and Charming B&B

4.4 on October 01, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed a long weekend stay at the beautiful Artist House! Breakfast was excellent, happy hour a fun time meeting other guests and the staff was so helpful. Laura gave many wonderful tips about things to do and we found parts of Key West we had never before seen. The only drawback was the tiny shower in the Garden Room-but we'll definitely visit again. Thanks for a great get-away!


Mini-Vacation in Key West

4.4 on August 07, 2012

The Artist House was the PERFECT location if you want to be close to all of the action but far away enough from the noise. Duval street was only 1 block away and Mallory Square was 3 blocks down. We stayed in the Sun Room and it was small but nicely decorated and clean (big plus it had a mini-fridge and microwave). The free continental breakfast in the morning was delicious. There was a wide array of food to choose from and champagne to start the day off right :) Also, the free happy hour was a plus. They served beer (domestic and imported) and wine. I will definitley stay here again!


Ambiance!

4.4 on October 14, 2011

Wonderful to stay at a period house that has been so lovingly renovated and with such style!


"17th Year Wedding Anniversary"

4.8 on August 14, 2011

Just wanted to take some time to thank the staff at the Artist House (Jessica, Jo, and Tracy) for a wonderful stay on our wedding anniversary weekend. Beautiful historic Key West home, super-friendly hosts, and a superb location. Thanks again for a great weekend and see you next year!!! The Cristobals.


AMAZING!!!

5 on September 20, 2010

The Artist House is so beautiful! The rooms are large and well appointed.We stayed in the Garden Room, and the bathroom was recently remodeled. We got chance to see a fair amount of the rooms and I can honestly say they are all equally breathtaking. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. They suggested great restaurants and booked us on a fantastic snorkeling trip. Breakfast was delicious (we loved the fruit tarts and mini-quiche!) and Happy Hour every evening was a blast! The location couldn't be beat and there was no street noise to deal with. Can't wait to go back!!!


What a great place!

5 on July 02, 2009

Super friendly staff. Even let me move some furniture.


Gracious B&B

4.0 on July 01, 2009

We had a wonderul stay at the Artist House. We were very pleased with the service and the staff was very helpful kind and considerate. The Morning Room was so comfortable and restful especially after a night out on the town. The breakfast was just enough. We are looking forward to our next visit.


Loved this place, can't wait to go back!

5 on June 29, 2009

Some friends and I stayed in the Turret Suite on Memorial Day weekend 2009. We had a great time and can't wait to go back. The room was beautiful as well as the rest of the house. I loved the location which was close to everything, and the staff was was very friendly and helpful especially with their suggestions on the best places to eat, shop, and hang out. The breakfast was phenomenal and offered a huge variety which satisfied everyone of my friends. Which I will say is very difficult since one was a vegetarian and one's favorite meals are made completely of meat. My favorite part about this house was the rich history it holds, every night we were able to hear more and more about the history and ran into people who were intrigued and even a little jealous when we told them where we were staying and which room. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone and will definitely stay here again upon my return to Key West.


Amazing!

5 on June 28, 2009

We've stayed at many b&b's, and this one was by far the best! The location was within walking distance to everything. The staff were friendly and beyond accommodating and went out of our way to make sure we were enjoying our stay. We slept in late one day, so the woman left the breakfast buffet out for us! The pastries were soooo yummy! The room was much larger than any place we've ever stayed and immaculately clean and even had a claw-footed bathtub! We would recommend this b&b and will definetly return!


Don't stay here!!!

1.0 on June 12, 2009

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend..got in late Friday night and went out thinking we will have the next few days to sleep in and relax, wrong!! Someone at the house decided to bring in carpenters to repair the wooden deck which started with hammering, power saws, etc. , at 7am!! They started later the next day but as other writers have listed here...the walls are so thin you can hear people talking and walking around. We stayed in the Garden Room, no drapes to cover the windows and block out the light, so now we have sound and light keeping us from sleep. The bathroom was very small...toilet was like being on an airplane...shower was smaller than a cruise ship shower....breakfast was lacking. I wrote a letter to the owners upon my departure stating my dissatisfaction with the stay.....at $200 a night mind you....and never heard a response....look elsewhere for the above stated reasons....besides, the owners don't care!!

Innkeeper Response
We are terribly sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay. We have and continue to apologize to this guest for any inconveniences that they may have encountered during their stay. Yes, we did have essential and mandatory maintenance work performed during one on the mornings of his stay that was not routine and we can assure this guest and all future guest that this was not typical. We do pride ourselves on our complimentary continental breakfast that features fresh-cut fruit, pastries and mini-quiche delivered daily from the local French bakery, fresh bagels delivered daily from a local bagel shop, a wide selection of cereals, yogurts, whole fruit, juices, milk and coffee. We do value all of our guests and we invite this guest back in the future!


Artist House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $350
  • Reviews (38) 4.4
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3052963977
  • Fax 1-3052963210
  • Toll free 1-8005827882

Visit Website »

View details

Top