Hotel Defuniak Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
35 Reviews

Write A Review

A hidden treasure!

5 on June 03, 2013

From the outside you could easily believe this place is a dive. Trust me it is not! The minute you walk in, the beauty and peacefulness are around you. The lobby and rooms are filled with antiques. I was checked in quickly, had the wine bar explained to me, asked if I wanted a reservation for dinner at Bogey's and was told where my room was. My room was small, but very comfortable and beautiful. It was immaculately clean. The staff is super friendly and know the town and beach area well. When I enquired about a place to go for a run, I was directed to a lake one block away. It has a 3/4 mile path around it, and many benches, two gazebo/docks, play areas, a bandshell with seating and lots of trees. I did not have a reservation, but they quickly found me a table at Bogey's where I had 5 star service, great music and superb food. BEWARE the portions are gigantic! My server was friendly and knew the menu well. Don't miss the fried green tomatoes!! Both mornings I had an excellent breakfast. Yogurt followed by a belgian waffle, covered in whipped cream, sliced bananas, and pecans served with smoked sausage on day one. The next morning was eggs scrambled with herbs, sausage patties, fresh fruit and toasted ciabatta bread. You will NOT go hungry here! They have bottled water, cold drinks and snacks available all day/night. I got to chat with the owner and he told me about the lighted displays at the lakeside for Christmas....I will be back!


Great weekend getaway

4.6 on July 28, 2012

My husband and I wanted to escape the frantic pace of Atlanta for a weekend diversion. We thought about Pensacola but after searching online, found all the accomodations either booked or ridiculously expensive. We almost gave up but stumbled upon the Hotel Defuniak. It is truly a step back in time (in all the best ways). The town if Defuniak Springs is charming though there is not much to do. There are a few antique shops and a walking trail around the small, spring fed lake. It's an easy drive to Pensacola if a visit to the beach or Naval Aviation Museum sounds appealing. We dined at Bogey's (a restaurant attached to the hotel) and found the


Charming B & B

5 on July 09, 2012

We had a wonderful time. Breakfast had the fluffiest eggs I can remember, Bogey's was a real treat. We enjoyed.


The best of everything!!

4.4 on June 21, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel twice and will go back again and again. Our first visit was so relaxing - the staff, hotel, restaurant and quiet location made it perfect for our anniversary get away. We loved it so much we brought back family on our second stay and they were not disappointed. We recommend this now to all our friends and family.


A Hidden Gem

4.0 on June 30, 2011

The room was more than expected. It was decorated with antiques which I'm always looking for in a B&B. The bed was so comfortable and the room was clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and willing to answer any questions I had. Breakfast was a delightful experience. The prices can't be beat and I'd go back in a heart beat.


Great service

4.6 on April 11, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. Customer service was top of the line. All staff members were helpful and courteous. The hot breakfast, included in price, was delicious. Bring earplugs-traffic was noisy.


One of the best!

5 on February 28, 2011

Every time I have stayed at this hotel, including a recent visit with my brother, I have been treated like royalty. Hotel DeFuniak exudes quality, and for the price, our stay was an absolute bargain. The staff accommodated our every request, including a glass of wine in the evening. Rooms are cozy, well appointed, and CLEAN. Breakfast includes a continental buffet with fresh-squeezed orange juice, a daily delicious hot specialty, and excellent coffee. Bogey's, the attached restaurant, provides a wide menu for lunch and supper and lovely service in a comfortable setting, often with delightful entertainment. Hotel DeFuniak, a block from Lake DeFuniak of Chatauqua fame, fits perfectly into this historic downtown while providing complete comfort and modern convenience. Highly recommended!


Authentically old.

3.6 on February 19, 2011

A bit of Americana. Interesting decor and furnishings.


I adore Hotel Defuniak

5 on February 14, 2011

I adore Hotel Defuniak and Defuniak Springs. I love strolling the mile around Lake Defuniak, one of only two round spring-fed lakes in the world. I enjoy the 19th Century homes that encircle the lake. I love dining at Bogey's and visiting the art gallery, both attached to Hotel Defuniak. I only wish that they would re-install the spa treatments that they used to offer on-site.


Wonderful

5 on January 20, 2011

My husband and I spent our anniversary here in the fall and were pleased with this charming B&B. The staff was very accomodating and helpful, Bogey's food was delicious, the suites were quiet and very roomy, and the rate was very reasonable. We enjoyed going to the annual festival at the local vineyard as well as taking an evening walk around the lake. This was our first time to stay at a B&B, and hopefully will not be our last.


Hotel DeFuniak

4.6 on November 16, 2010

My visit was just like coming home. The staff makes every effort to accommodate. I would love to be able to spend more time there. The rooms are clean and, though not large, are not cluttered. The service is outstanding. Room darkening shades would be a plus for late sleepers. Bogey's Restaurant is excellent, with the same quality service, plus wonderfully prepared food. A truly enjoyable experience in a quaint little old town!! Donna R. DiPesa


Pleasantly surprised!!

4.2 on October 31, 2010

My husband and I love to stay at B&B’s. We took a trip to north Florida to visit relatives, and found this wonderful Inn.The Inn was built in the 1920’s and stayed true to the theme of that era, the staff was very friendly and breakfast was delightful. With Bogey’s restaurant next to the inn it completed the theme of the Inn. It is a nice historical town and wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy all that this little town had to offer. If we pass through this town again we will surely be staying at Hotel Defuniak.


A jewel!

4.6 on October 11, 2010

The restoration of this historic building is impeccable. The owner & staff had perfect balance of availability, but allowed privacy. We were there on a day the restaurant was closed for dinner -- Breakfast was cold only.


Hotel Defuniak Review

4.4 on October 11, 2010

Lovely B&B. Walking distance to Lake Defuniak and old Victorian homes. B&B is very clean. Good breakfast, good live-in manager.


refreshingly welcoming

4.8 on October 01, 2010

We found the hotel, owner, innkeeper, and townspeople to be unpretentious and welcoming. My sensitive nose was pleased by the fresh, clean (not deoderized or perfumed) scent found throughout the hotel. Everyone we met was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed a scrumptious dinner at Bogey's and breakfast at the hotel. I enjoyed browsing the few antique stores, the mercantile, and the bookstore. We took a stroll by the circular lake and peeked in the old library. We had a yummy hot dog at H & M Hot Dog stand and even came back through for a hamburger on our way home. DeFuniak is a quaint little spot to stop on a long trip or for a quick weekend getaway.


Charming Hotel

3.6 on September 22, 2010

We spent a very pleasant afternoon and evening at the Hotel Defuniak. This was not the most elegant B & B we visited, but the friendly staff and convenient location made up for that. The common areas were very attractive, although the rooms were more modest. Bogies, the in-house restaurant, was attractive but ran out of several menu items we think of as staples (Cesar salad and baked potato). We were there on “prime rib” night and they were, perhaps unexpectedly, full. The food was good, but not four star as we had expected. The hotel and restaurant staffs made us feel very much at home and the surroundings are comfortable if not elegant. We’ll stay there again. Plan on visiting the local shops and walking around the lake.


Great jewel!

5 on September 22, 2010

The Hotel was clean and was like staying at your own home. The Innkeeper and owners were very friendly and nice and gave great service to me. The breakfast each day was outstanding! Will stay again for sure!


The Best

5 on September 12, 2010

It was a very relaxing place to have a get-away to. I couldn't of asked for a better place to stay.


Great ROMANTIC Find!

5 on September 05, 2010

We stayed Friday night and totally enjoyed 0ur too short stay. EVERYONE was friendly and super nice. The rooms are all unique and fun. We ate at Bogeys and that was 5 star from the wonderful food, the ambiance, and the staff. The breakfast was scrumptious as well. We booked another stay for October before we left and plan to go there as often as possible. Loved it. Rj & Caren


A Step Back in Time

4.6 on August 16, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Defuniak in August of 2010. What we found was amazing. Not only is the hotel decorated in "scenes" of the past, the Southern Hospitality made our stay very enjoyable. Chef Brad is amazing and our dinner was more than perfect from start to finish. We will definitely stay here again.... with pleasure


Yummy food, better folks!

4.8 on August 09, 2010

After a long hard day of riding our motorcycles from New Orleans, La. to Florida we could not have found a better place to stay. The people were friendly and most welcoming. Felt like we were home and had known Innkeepers all our lives. The food was most excellent and my favorite part of the stay. Can't wait to return and stay longer!


Fell into a vat of chocolate!

5 on July 27, 2010

Six of us from Texas were motorcycling our way to Key West & pulled off the highway for the night. We chanced on Hotel Defuniak just as the restaurant, Bogeys, was closing. They kept the restaurant open for us, fed us an unbelievable good meal and treated us like roaylty at the restaurant, the bar and the hotel. Cate, the hotel manager, prepared an exquisite breakfast and even sent us on our way with care packages of scones, bottles of water and chocolate bars. Without a doubt, it was the best hotel experience I've had to date. My husband and I will definitely go back to Hotel Defuniak as a destination.


Lovely hotel with a wonderful staff

5 on April 19, 2010

A marvelous hotel to stay in for any reason! The staff is delightful and the restaurant next door superb!


Mother and daughter trip to the Panhandle

4.8 on March 22, 2010

We stayed at the De Funiak Hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the room was well furnished and immaculate. The entire hotel was furnished in style and a delight to behold. We would recommend it most highly.


Great Weekend!

4.6 on February 21, 2010

Stayed this weekend and everyone was so nice, much better then a hotel! Thank you for a Great Time and a memory that will last forever ;) Susan


Loved it!!!

5 on November 25, 2009

Me and my wife just loved it! It is very laid back and the staff is wonderful. We will make it a yearly event! You must eat at Bogey's!!! Jonathan & Jennifer H (Wewahitchka, FL)


Would definitely go back

4.8 on October 05, 2009

Driving to Jacksonville for a wedding, we cut the trip in half and made reservations for just one night. The restaurant was closing, but the owners kept it open for us and the other couple we were traveling with. The food was outstanding and the staff were great. Had a wonderful time after dinner at the bar visiting with other customers and the staff. The overnight experience was of course strange for my husband and I because I chose room number 8 to stay in. We had an usually experience but would return with no hesitation. Would definitely recommend


our first time stay

5 on June 18, 2009

Very nice, friendly, clean, good food. Will definitely come back.


A Wonderful Place to Relax

5 on June 15, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Defuniak for our 8th Anniversary. We were in Panama City on vacation, and took a detour for the night. It was a fabulous place to stay, the room was beautiful, and the food impecable! Everyone was incredibly helpful and friendly from the hotel staff, the breakfast crew, and BOGEY'S staff. I highly recommend the "Romance Package" it would truly be worth the little bit "extra" and you will save a ton of money on dinner that way!!! A. Davis Covington, GA


Hotel Defuniak

3.2 on May 29, 2009

Pros: The hotel is charming and clean. There is a park down the street. 'Dobbs Hat room' was pretty. The breakfast was good and plentiful. Cons: They were out of syrup (bummer - I love pancakes, and I bet theirs are good). All the windows in our room were frosted. I felt a touch of claustrophobia not being able to see out. We listened to many different air conditioners on the adjacent roofs during the night. They do not offer any complementary drinks or snacks.


A secret that should no longer be kept!

5 on May 16, 2009

My husband was bicycling across Florida and it was my task to find places to stay along the way. Not knowing how far he would get each day, I would "guesstimate" his distance. When I came upon DeFuniak Springs (along I-10) I was not impressed with the hotel choices along the interstate, so I decided to go into town to see what was "historic" in downtown DeFuniak. I was SO surprised to find this quaint hotel (B&B). I went inside to inquire as to the rates and whether they had availability for that night - $75 and yes! Needless to say, we were staying. Fortunately, the hotel sits directly on Hwy. 90, which is the route my husband was riding. The hotel is decorated with antiques, friendly and helpful staff, and fantastic food. There is a library, nice sitting area, and an elevator to access the rooms which are on the 2nd floor. The hot, cooked-to-order breakfast was included and was plentiful. We had dinner at Bogey's and the food was delicious. The decor was very comfortable, the wait staff very helpful and friendly, and the prices reasonable. We will definitely stay there again. It is the perfect getaway spot.


Charming and elegant

4.0 on April 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Defunicak for 7 nights in November 2008 and for 5 nights in April 2009. We are Canadians and are very well traveled. This hotel has charm, elegance and is very quaint. It is beautifully decorated and has some amazing antiques. It is clean, and reasonably priced. All of the staff here are extremely nice and will do anything for you to make you stay comfortable. The service is top notch. Don't forget to take advantage of your complimentary breakfast. It is very tasty. Also, while you are here try Bogeys Bar and Grill, which is attached to the hotel. The food, service and atmosphere is outstanding. I would definately give Hotel Defunicak and Bogey's Bar and Grill 5 stars. I would recommend this to my friends.


Best Local Vacation Spot

4.8 on July 19, 2008

I was amazed to find this Bed & Breakfast was a very short drive from Niceville. Located in the historic district in downtown DeFuniak Springs, The DeFuniak Hotel was easy to find from Highway 90. The building is easily spotted by its cream bottom red topped brick exterior. The interior is done tastefully with antiqued decor & each room & suite contained is decorated in a specific period. I stayed in the art deco room which was a small piece of heaven for me. The antique mirrors were gorgeous and the bed was very large, roomy cozy place to relax. The food was out of this world good at the breakfasts I ate. The pancakes were huge, the bacon crisp and the eggs cooked to perfection. The stuffed grouper I enjoyed the first night of my stay was excellent as well. The entire staff was kind, caring & very knowledgeable about the local attractions, and Denise even helped me get my baggage into my car. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends & family. Thank you for your hospitality.


Very unique and tastefully decorated

5 on April 15, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Defuniak in February and chose thier romantic package. It was quite reasonable ($145 I think) and included the room & breakfast (great) dinner with a bottle of wine, appetizers, entrees and dessert. The room was very nice and decorated with antiques, each room has it's own theme we viewed several before deciding on the art deco room. The hotel is clean with great service. Dinner was WONDERFUL! they truely have a chef here that cares. I would highly reccomend it.


WOW

5 on April 26, 2007

Truely a surpise unexpected and pleasing


Hotel Defuniak

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $130
  • Reviews (35) 4.7
  • Rooms 12
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8508924383
  • Fax 1-8773376285
  • Toll free 1-8773338642

Visit Website »

View details

Top