The August Seven Inn Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
30 Reviews

Write A Review

August Seven

2.8 on November 22, 2013

Our stay at the August Seven Inn was good but not great. Our room - the 819 - was clean and a bit small for the gigantic bed - the bed was very high off the floor - my wife had a hard time climbing up on the bed . There was only one chair to sit in, an old analog tv, and a bathroom with no counter space. Perhaps a different room would have worked better for us. We happened to be the only guest at the inn the night we arrived. We rang the front doorbell but nobody answered - had to call the owner to let us in.- found out the doorbell was broken. Joe, the owner, showed us around and gave us a bottle of wine. Breakfast was much less than expected - we had frozen waffles cooked in a toaster and microwave bacon along with some fruit, juice and coffee. Overall a nice inn to visit - a bit over priced for what we got. Doubtful if I would return.

Innkeeper Response
I would like to mention during the time frame these folks stayed there are two reviews in the guest book in their guest room both of which give praise and wish me well from my aneurism in which I had passed away briefly in August which is a tad confusing why the book review is so much different …That said I Have read this review and all of my guests are important to me, and I feel sad that this happened to this guest…I as a standard tell every single guest when I take them to their room that there is a guest book in the room with my cell phone number, if you need anything please give us a call, I also mention you will see me around and feel free to ask for something should you need… I do this for my guest to prevent people from neglecting to mention as the guest stay is very important to me Had I been contacted the issues could have been easily resolved. I have bed steps available for beds, but had no indication it was going to be an issue, the bathroom they mentioned they needed space the bathroom counter the room they had chosen had 3 shelves near the sink and space on the back of the tub but I would have gladly provided them with other room options, or a table that would have accommodated their needs. The breakfast I do provide homemade pancakes and homemade French toast, as well as there are precut fruits, three cold cereal options, several hot cereal options, three types of breads for toasting, an assortment of waffles, the waffles are store purchased, I have these items due to the number of guests that are more accustomed to hotel travel and prefer premade items, there are also frozen pancakes as well as homemade pancakes for the same reason, homemade muffins, homemade French toast, and homemade baked goods In the guest room in the basket with other area discounts there is a café menu with additional breakfast items that may be ordered for a charge Again I attempt to accommodate the wide variety of travelers In the area.


Aaaah, Perfection

5 on June 12, 2013

And ancient, lovingly restored Victorian. Complete with wrap-around verandas. Our room was beautifully appointed, bed lines were luxurious, attention to detail exemplary, service superlative.


August 7 is an 8

4.2 on February 19, 2013

Was a late opportunity to drive at Daytona and could not get into my normal B &B. stayed at August 7. Really very good experience. Joe is very helpful and the interior is charming and meticulously maintained. Excellent value and I am not a value shopper when it comes to lodging!


Romantic Getaway

5 on February 19, 2013

My husband and I live in Orlando, and the August Seven Inn was a perfect romantic weekend getaway. I've been coming to Daytona my whole life... who would have thought such an elegant and peaceful bed and breakfast existed here? It was restful, relaxing. The house is beautiful, and nicely decorated. Joe was a gracious host, greeting us with wine on our arrival, and a yummy breakfast in the morning. Loved the popcorn and movies, and the guest fridge and sodas/water/coffee available to us at all times. The whirlpool tub was wonderful. It was a lovely place, and I highly recommend it!


I will definately stay here again

5 on December 26, 2012

This was a fantastic B&B. They went out of their way to make me feel pampered and valued. Joe overheard me say I could not have gluten so instead of bacon and eggs the next morning there were gluten free banana pancakes with candied pecans, butter and syrup. At snack time there were GF fresh baked browinies. WOW! I will definately be staying here again. The decor was very eclectic. Some items were antique and others were from pottery barn. I never felt I had to be 'careful' when sitting on the couches or using the glasses.


Absolutely gorgeous

5 on December 17, 2012

Beautiful clean rooms, friendly service, and a grand night!! Thank you Joe!!


Beautiful, romantic, great location, top notch service!

4.8 on November 20, 2012

Have stayed in many B&Bs in many places, loved this choice. Beautiful historic home, immaculate, quiet, comfortable, perfect for a romantic getaway. Our room had a large jacuzzi tub which, along with the massage chairs in the main house, was so appreciated after a long motorcycle ride, and we could park our motorcycle right outside our door. Innkeeper Joe is warm, attentive and everything an innkeeper should be. Location in historic downtown can't be beat. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, and hope to come back for Bike Week this winter.


Just Lovely

5 on September 30, 2012

August 7 Inn is a wonderful place to stay. We had a great time in Sept 2012. Joe and Phil were awesome as was the daily breakfast and nightlt snacks. I still feel like I can sit on the porch and watch the whole day go by while sipping a glass of wine. I plan on returning soon. Karen Smith


Anniversary in Daytona

5 on August 16, 2012

We spent August 14-16 2012 at the August 7 Inn. Joe Dirsa who is the innkeeper puts his heart and soul into everything done at the inn. Breakfast is comprised of home baked pancakes,danish jellies and other delicacies. Snacks are provided in each room and desserts are presented at night. Joe is very knowledgeable of the area.Room 1022 where we stayed is equipped with a jacuzzi.and was excellent.


Belated 42nd Anniversary get-away

5 on August 02, 2012

29-31 July 2012: George & Marcia Titusville, FL I found the August Seven Inn, and after checking the rooms elected to reserve “ the 819 “. As guests will learn, each room number is of special significance to the Inn and Joe the Innkeeper. The room was very comfortable – ample clothes drawer space (TV armoire and 2 night stands), hanging closet, full bathroom with shower and relaxing spa tub. The room has central AC as well as a ceiling fan. It was so relaxing to fall asleep to the Homedics SoundSpa. A continental breakfast daily in the dining room or take it outside to the wrap-around porch. Coffee, tea, juices, granola, cereal, homemade pancakes, waffles, breads for toast with specialty jams and butter, fresh fruits, hard boiled eggs, bacon and several varieties of Joe’s homemade pastries. In the evening, Joe has small snacks available on the foyer bar. Off the dining room, a small guest kitchen is “all hours”. There’s an ice maker, refrigerator (restaurant doggie bags), microwave, and an ‘honor’ refrigerator with water and soda. For something special, try to persuade Joe to fix you his special strawberry shortcake…to die for! Free popcorn and movies are available, as are numerous books in the parlor for reading. The parlor is where we twisted Joe’s and Phil’s arm to enjoy Amaretto DiSarono on the rocks coupled with lively evening conversation. The Inn’s convenient to everything Daytona Beach and Daytona Beach Shores and 4 streets East (~ 2,000ft) you are at the ocean. Numerous restaurants are in the area and Joe can get you window seating at the Chart House if you desire. Our anniversary is what we wanted it to be – a relaxing getaway just to ourselves, walking on the pier and along the boardwalk, and letting the world go by. When we arrived home in the evening we were wondering if Joe would consider delivering his strawberry shortcake!


Great birthday party

5 on May 11, 2012

I just celebrated my birthday party at the August Seven Inn and I honestly can say that it was the perfect one. The reason for that is that Joe (owner) let me have a BBQ at the front porch for a couple of friends. I've to be honest to say that when my hubbie said that he went by himself (I've never seen the place before, neither stayed in a Bed & Breakfast...after all we do not have good ones in my country, Brazil) to this Inn and he thought that we should spend a night there I looked at him....and I could not believe. So he took me there to see with my own eyes...WOW!!! I wish I had seen the place before, because definetely I'd have had our wedding there. Me and my friends had a wonderful time and we felt as if we were home. At each room you will experience different feeling and enjoy abnormal tranquility. The decoration is fantastic and the place smells so good. The bed is made for a royal family and our room 1022 had a hot tub...I have to get back there asap. I am already planning our valentines day to be celebrated there and my hubbie wants to have another party there.


A wonderful experience in Daytona.

5 on April 25, 2012

I am so glad to have found August Seven Inn. It was a pleasure to stay in this beautiful, historic Inn and Joe did everything in his power to make our stay wonderful. The Inn is filled with so many interesting pieces of furniture and Joe's attention to detail is incredible. Our bedroom, room 1022 was so comfortable, I didn't want to leave. The Inn's location couldn't be better, a very short walk to the beach. Joe is the perfect host, very helpful and pointed us in the direction of two excellent restaurants. We had a great stay and we will return. Angela and Bert Coen.


My first B & B experience

5 on August 30, 2011

It is hard to know where to begin! I wanted some where special to celebrate my birthday, to try a new place and see a new area. I have always stayed in hotels, so I was a little hesitant at first. When we arrived....it was amazing, we felt instantly comfortable, like coming to the old family home. Elegant and comfortable and welcoming, the perfect home base to come back to and relax after a day of exploring the area. Joe was a great host and was more than willing to accomedate us with anything we needed and he was like an invisible elf around there making things happen, keeping things spotless and perfect. The covered front porch was the perfect place to start the day with coffee and breakfast and to end the day with a glass of wine before retiring to the fabulous room with the most comfortable bed ever! Cudos to Joe, it was a perfect weekend and a perfect birthday!


Where I Wanted to Be

4.4 on April 19, 2011

I spent a glorious week at the gorgeous A7 Inn. The host, Joe, was extremely friendly and helpful. The front porch is the perfect spot for a morning cup of coffee, or a beer after dinner. I used one of the bicycles there to tour the never ending beaches just two blocks to the east. The inn is close to everything! Including Beach street where I'd recommend having lunch and coffee.


A Wedding Weekend

5 on July 19, 2009

We recently rented the whole Inn for my nephew's wedding. Everyone enjoyed their stay there. The rooms were amazing and staying there felt like home. We had the reception their also. Peter's help in organizing and helping to set up everything went far above the normal duties of an innkeeper. We all plan on returning for future stays.


Highly recommended for a relaxing getaway!

4.6 on May 13, 2009

My significant other and I just spend two days at the August Seven Inn, and I can't imagine it being more relaxing. We stayed in the 1022, and looked forward to being back in our room just as much as going out to the beach! I highly recommend this bed and breakfast for anyone looking for a comfortable and soothing vacation. The next time we're in Daytona Beach, we know exactly where we're staying!


Best Inn EVER

5 on March 26, 2009

I am a frequent business traveler to Daytona Beach and have NEVER been disappointed by the A7 Inn. Joe and Peter make sure you feel welcome, the rooms are immaculate, and the decor is wonderful--classic yet modern. The location is very convenient whether you are here on business or pleasure. The prices are very reasonable for the area, especially given the upscale feel of the service and decor. When I am in Daytona, there is no question that this is my lodging choice!


No Breakfast/Busy Location

3.8 on March 25, 2009

While the rooms were delightful, clean and charming, there was a listing of breakfast included, but none. Website was recently changed after we left as our booking indicated that breakfast was included. The room is located on a noise roadway and the lack of staff or written information to indicate the services being provided for the interior and exterior areas of the inn. Finally, a strong concern was the massage room chairs room being lock everyday except for the check-in of one group of people and no indication for use of the outside spa within our individual rooms. But the inn was clean and charming within our individual rooms, but felt more like a hotel instead of the personnal touch that I like of most Bed and Breakfast Inn I visit.


Bike Week '09

4.8 on March 15, 2009

Peter and Joseph are excellent Innkeepers. Our stay went very well and they were most accomodating. We highly recommend staying here and would absolutely book another stay. Clean, attractive, friendly, convenient and an excellent value.


Oasis of Comfort

4.4 on March 09, 2009

My husband and I were in Daytona Beach for Bike Week. At the end of each day of standing, walking and riding it was such a comfort and pleasure to climb into our bed each night and just feel our bodies immediately relax on a "cloud". The service was excellent and Peter and Joe were friendly and welcoming (even when Peter had to come let us in late in the night when another guest had accidentally put the dead bolt on). The location was great (close to Main St. activities) and allowed us to discover many new "less travelled" routes to many places. The room was beautifully decorated with antiques yet very luxurious and comfortable. I look forward to our next visit to Daytona and the August Seven Inn. Kudos to Peter and Joe for their wonderful "home away from home".


Wonderful getaway

4.6 on March 03, 2009

A relaxing, comfortable, one-night stay in this beautiful historic home. The decor and comfort is truly outstanding. Our hosts, Peter and Joe, were very welcoming and great people. Hats off to them!


Peaceful Getaway

5 on January 21, 2008

Our stay at August 7 was filled with tranquility and relaxation. Peter and Joseph were extremely accomadating and friendly. We thorougly enjoyed the extra detail and thought that they put into their bed and breakfast. The sound machine, the whirlpool bathtub, and the fireplace in our room were an acceptional addition to our weekend.


Luxury Guest House.

5 on September 19, 2007

They are true to their name. Hospitality and accomodations were phenominal. True Class Act!!!!!


Home away from Home

5 on August 26, 2007

My Husband and I recently had a four night stay at the Inn. It was wonderful. We loved the decor and the Innkeepers were just great. The bed was just the most confortable I have slep in. If your looking for a quiet place to stay, yet the opportunity for beach, and fun is but a step away, then this is the place for you. Breakfast was great, and the relaxation room and living room area was most comfortable. Thanks to Peter and Joe our stay was was the best.


A Wonderful Inn and New Friends

5 on August 16, 2007

I recently hosted a party at my Daytona Beach home, and rented five rooms at the Inn for my out-of-town family and friends. They all LOVED the accomodations and service. Their Inn became like an extension of my own home. I think my guests had trouble deciding where to spend their time! Peter and Joe were some so warm and friendly -- they even joined our family events! I'm glad I found such a wonderful Inn, and now some wonderful new friends, nearby. Highly, highly recommended!


A Perfect Getaway

4.6 on July 01, 2007

My husband and I were looking for a nice relaxing getaway before we have our first child. The August Seven Inn was perfect. The rooms were beautifully decorated with all the amenities you would expect at a five star hotel and more. Joe and Peter were amazing hosts and helped make our stay even more memorable. The Inn was steps away from the beach and the historic shops and sites of Daytona Beach. This is the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in. Thank you so much Joe and Peter, you will definitely see us again soon.


Relaxation and Comfort

5 on June 29, 2007

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at the August Seven Inn. The owners were very friendly and warm. The house was beautiful!! And the room was very comfortable. I can't wait to go back. The beach was a short distance from the inn, about a 5 minute walk.


Wonderful Service...Can I go back?

4.6 on June 28, 2007

We arrived, not really knowing what Daytona's Hotels had to offer. When we arrived the staff greeted us at the door, assisted us to our rooms (which were beautiful), and then we came to the sitting room and enjoyed some coffee with the owners. They were just wonderful. It is very rare that you find this type of customer service. They showed us to their little workout room that had massage chairs, which I stayed in most of the weekend and a tread mill that I should have been on all weekend. The breakfast on Sunday morning was superb. In the rooms we had these sound machines to lull us to sleep at night. All the rooms had these lovely whirlpool tubs with wonderful smelling bath salts. It was just a wonderful experience and I look forward to going back again soon. Thank you Joe and Peter for showing us such a wonderful time. I highly suggest this B&B to anyone.


A Must Stay!

5 on May 05, 2007

Joseph and Peter made us feel at home and made sure we were taken care of during our stay. Breakfast was outstanding!!! The Captains Daughters room was Cozy and Clean. Attention to detail makes August Seven a must stay when visiting Daytona.


What a B&B is supposed to be

5 on March 12, 2007

My husband and I loved the Inn from the moment we arrived and were greeted by the hosts, Joseph and Peter. We stayed in The 1205 Room, which is the on 1st floor of the main house and it was perfect for us. It has a very luxurious four-poster bed, fireplace and every convenience we could ask for, even a jetted tub. Peter talked with us during our first morning breakfast and made wonderful suggestions on what to do and where to go during our first "Bike Week" experience and his suggestions were great. Breakfast was delicious and the other guests were so friendly. The hosts truly made our stay so special by the extra touches they provided, and their genuine interest in how we spent our short time there. August Seven Inn defines what B&B inns and their hosts are supposed to be. The central location is perfect. You can walk to the beach, yet it's a quiet oasis away from the crowds at the same time. We will recommend August Seven to others and hope to return some day ourselves.


The August Seven Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $94 - $225
  • Reviews (30) 4.8
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3862488420

Visit Website »

View details

Top