Black Dolphin Inn Reviews

Overall
5.0

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5
  • Onsite Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
24 Reviews

Write A Review

Our little peace of heaven

5 on May 18, 2016

This was our second visit to this amazing b&b and our experience was every bit as wonderful as the first. Brett, Shela & the team are just so genuinely friendly and considerate of your every need. Love these people and their beautiful establishment & will definitely be traveling back from UK soon as possible.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Its always great to hear from our guests - especially when they return for a second visit. We are most grateful for your kind words and for taking the time to recognize our team of hospitality professionals for their friendly and considerate service. We truly enjoyed having you as our guests and we look forward to your return next year.


Stunning B&B

5 on October 25, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights in late November 2014 so apologies for the belated review. Put simply the was possibly the most enjoyable and rewarding accommodation experience we have encountered in all our years of travel. Beautiful house and rooms, wonderful location and hosts. Enough said, discover it for yourself. Can't wait to go back next year. Ps - Breakfasts to die for.

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for your wonderful on-line "belated" travel review. We are always happy to hear from our guests and we very much appreciated your most humbling comments regarding the Black Dolphin Inn being the most enjoyable and rewarding accommodation experience in all of your years of travel.. This is indeed high praise and we are most grateful for your kind remarks on our behalf. We look forward to welcoming you back to our award-winning boutique inn the next time you plan to visit the East Central coast of Florida.


First class and unique.

5 on October 18, 2015

First class and unique. I have stayed two years in a row. Oak Tree across balcony. Bikes, kayaks, and paddle boards. Clean, Clean, and Clean. Staff is the friendliest youll ever meet. Would recommend to anyone.

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! It always great to hear from our guests - especially when they visit us for a second time. We are delighted that you found our facilities to be first class and that you enjoyed your stay in our Bay View Suite with the enormous oak tree that runs through the balcony. We are also appreciative of your generous comments regarding the cleanliness of our inn and the friendliness of our staff. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope that you will return for a third visit to the Black Dolphin Inn.


Memorable trip and stay

5 on October 06, 2015

September 21 through 25, 2015 We were greeted warmly upon arrival and escorted to our room after an explanation of the site. We chose the Premium Bay Front King room and it was exceptional. We watched life on the Indian River lagoon from our private balcony. The shared deck is a great vantage point as well. All furnishings were chosen with great care. The entire inn, inside and out, is beautiful and meticulously kept. The service provided by everyone at the inn was prompt and personable. Breakfast daily was made to order, delicious, and served gladly with a smile and conversation. Thank you Brett, Sheila, Mackenzie and Taylor. You made our stay at your inn quite memorable.

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for your delightfully descriptive account of your recent visit to our award-winning boutique inn. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Premium Bay Front unit and we appreciated your glowing compliments regarding our great water-front views, exquisite furnishings, and our meticulous care of the property. It was also nice of you to mention our friendly and personable service - along with the delicious cooked-to-order breakfast that was served with a smile. It was certainly a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope that we can build even greater memories on your next visit to the Black Dolphin Inn.


A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE FOR ALL OF US

5 on September 14, 2015

My family, both two and four legged, recently stayed at the Black Dolphin Inn in New Smyrna Beach, and I can't begin to tell you what a terrific experience we had. Reservations were expertly handled on short notice by Deanna, who was kind enough to meet us out front upon our arrival, answering our questions and offering helpful touring suggestions and a free local map, as well. Taylor, the manager, couldn't have been more accommodating, answering yet more questions we had, as well as ensuring we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Brett, the co-owner, his wife Sheila and daughter Kenzie gave us the most unique and healthy breakfasts I personally have ever tasted, and they also looked into obtaining desired information for us and educating us on navigating unfamiliar areas. And last, but far from least, we also wish to express our sincere gratitude to Janson, who was good enough to take time out from his usual occupation in maintenance to give us a guided tour of the other gorgeous rooms and themes at the inn, plus going above and beyond in helping to see that our "pups," 12 and 17, respectively, were able to rest in comfortable beds and have yummy dog treats, too, Just hoOoOoOw nice was that? Pricing was as expected for an upscale B&B, especially on the waterfront with dolphins frolicking in the tide for our entertainment day and night, and parking was more than adequate for our midweek stay. My command of the English language simply fails me when rating the care and special attention we received from the entire family and staff at Black Dolphin Inn, and I encourage you to make a reservation right away for your OWN stay of a lifetime. You won't regret it for a single moment and will be thrilled with this beautiful property, lovely city and exquisite B&B. We WILL be back, and all of us thank each of you for allowing us such delightful memories while staying at your wonderful inn: romantic, historic and unique!! Kind regards, The Rutgers Family

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful BedandBreakfast.com review from your recent stay with us. We firmly believe that our amazing staff members are our most important asset and your genuine praise of them only serves to solidify this belief. We are so grateful that you singled-out virtually every member of our staff who contributed to your outstanding stay at our award-winning boutique inn. We are most appreciative of your kind remarks regarding our exquisite inn, water front views, comfortable beds, unique breakfasts, and the great value that we offer at a price point that is comfortable to the wallet. It was truly a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are humbled by your great review which makes the hospitality industry so rewarding to those of us who take great pride in creating indelible memories for our guests. Brett P. Smith, CHA


Exquisite stay

5 on September 06, 2015

Enjoyed my stay at the beautiful Black Dolphin Inn. We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was absolutely gorgeous. Beautiful views of the intracoastal. The staff, facilities and amenities are first class-worthy of a five star rating. The breakfast was amazing and I enjoyed the family atmosphere. Can't wait to return!!

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for your on-line review and for taking the time to share your travel experience with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that the Black Dolphin Inn was worthy of a 5 star rating. We appreciated your generous comments regarding our facilities and services and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Black Dolphin in the very near future. Brett P. Smith, CHA Owner/General Manager


YES! You want to stay here....

5 on August 06, 2015

My husband and I were looking for a dog friendly place in New Smyrna Beach, one of our favorite laid back spots in Florida. We were resigned to something dreary when we stumbled across the BLACK DOLPHIN INN. In a word it is FANTASTIC! The architecture, the decor, the food, the service, the location, the ambiance.....we could really go on and on. My favorite spot was the Pier, just steps from the front porch, breathtakingly beautiful and peaceful. If your idea of a B&B is creaking floors, musty curtains and granny serving up a few cornflakes, then you owe it to yourself to experience this first rate INN. We will be back for sure. Les and Kimberly Standiford, Miami, Florida

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for your fantastic on-line review. We are so pleased that you chose to stay at our "pet-friendly" boutique inn and that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. We are most appreciative of your glowing compliments regarding our architecture, interior design, ambiance, food, and guest service. Needless to say, we are very grateful for your enthusiastic endorsement of the Black Dolphin Inn and we hope that you will return soon and often. Brett P. Smith, CHA Owner/General Manager


Simply perfect

5 on April 28, 2015

Great place to stay. The rooms are so nice, comfortable and stylistic. And the breakfast was so tasty.

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for taking your valued time to share your recent travel experience at our award-winning boutique inn.We were delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay and we appreciated your generous comments regarding our comfortable and stylistic units - not to mention the tasty breakfast that you were served each morning. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we hope to see you again at the Black Dolphin in the very near future. Brett P. Smith, CHA Owner/General Manager


Short Stay

5 on December 18, 2014

We were just passing thru New Smyrna during a family and friends tour in Florida and were so lucky to have found the Black Dolphin Inn. Rooms are gorgeous, the place is beautiful and Brett and Sheila are the perfect hosts. We highly recommend staying here and will definitely plan on a longer stay next time we are in the area. Anne and Rob R. Port Jervis, NY

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guests and we appreciated your generous comments regarding our gorgeous rooms, beautiful property, and our own unique brand of hospitality. We thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement of our award-winning boutique and we look forward to having you return for a longer stay at the Black Dolphin Inn.


1st Year Wedding Anniversary

5 on November 25, 2014

A beautiful surprise! Perfect getaway for any occasion. Elegant , comfortable and cozy all in one! Excellent service, food and local appeal. The entire staff was amazing! Thanks for making a great memory of our 1 year wedding anniversary! We'll be back!

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review and for choosing our award-winning boutique inn as the host property for your 1 year wedding anniversary. We were delighted to read that our staff was amazing and that you found our property to be elegant, comfortable, and cozy. It is great to know that you left with many fond memories of your recent visit with us and we can't wait for you to return again in the near future. Brett P. Smith, CHA Owner/General Manager


Outstanding B&B

4.6 on November 24, 2014

Fantastic stay..location is perfect! We will definitely return!

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for taking your valued time to share your recent travel experience at our award-winning boutique inn. I was delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay and that the location was perfect. It was our pleasure to serve you and we are so pleased to know that a return visit is in your future plans.


Excellent get away!

4.8 on August 11, 2014

My husband and I vacationed here for our anniversary, having never been to the area. What a wonderful find! The inn is fabulously decorated with a mix of modern, eclectic and historical features mixed in - I couldn't stop staring. The staff was beyond helpful and had so many great tips for restaurants and things to do. The morning breakfasts were the best part - hardy Southern fare with friendly, family banter to enjoy. The private dock was a great retreat for our early morning cup of coffee or a glass of wine in the evening. This is a great place to stay for a night or a weekend.

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for taking your valued time to write such a wonderful review on BedandBreakfast.com. I am most grateful for your generous comments regarding our eclectic interior design elements, helpful staff, and great breakfasts that you enjoyed each morning. We are so pleased that your enjoyed the privacy of our dock - where enjoying a glass of wine can be such a wonderful experience. Again, thank you for sharing your positive comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Black Dolphin Inn on a future visit.


A must stay!!!!

5 on August 09, 2014

Super unique property, absolutely gorgeous, extremely nice owners.....can't wait to stay again! Our room was huge with double king beds that were so comfortable we didn't want to get up. But we are so glad we did.....only because the breakfast was phenomenal! They have a chef come in, is made to order, and the creative breakfast selections were delicious. Nice location on the water with lots to do. We are driving distance so we will definitely be back!

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! It was so nice to have you as our guests at our award-winning boutique inn. I was so pleased to read your very favorable comments regarding our absolutely gorgeous facilities, our spacious accommodations with the incredibly comfortable beds, and the creative breakfast selections each morning. We are so appreciative of your generous feedback and we will continue to work hard to make the Black Dolphin Inn a "must stay" place to visit so that we can be well-positioned to earn your business on a future visit.


Historic Elegance

5 on May 25, 2014

Wow!!! What a find. The Black Dolphin Inn is an impeccably designed and managed unique boutique B&B.The converted mini-mansion has been completely and beautifully restored beyond belief! The 14 rooms, each with it's own designer decor, are spacious,comfortable and relaxing. The daily breakfast is an experience in it's self with scrumptious offerings from fresh squeezed orange juice to riccotta blueberry pancakes and much more! Great location for sightseeing New Smryna Beach, this Inn delivers on every level.If you want to escape for a stress free weekend that pampers your soul ,I would highly reccomend the Black Dolphin Inn. The courteous and knowledgable family and staff that run the Inn are helpful and attentive to your every need.Watch the sunrise while in bed from your room or fish from the private dock on the intra-coastal waterway across the street this will be an experience you will not soon forget. If you are looking for upscale wow factor with the cozy feel of a by gone era this is for you. Nick and Norma Treasure Island ,Fl.

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for such a delightfully descriptive account of your visit to our award-winning boutique inn. I was so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and very much appreciated all of your kind remarks regarding our "signature" interior design, attentive levels of service, and the unique attributes of our destination that contributed to your very positive impression of the Black Dolphin Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are looking for a stress free vacation where you can relax and get away from it all.


Wonderful romantic weekend

5 on March 24, 2014

We were celebrating a late birthday for my wife, I selected the Luxury Bay front room. After booking, I received a nice response from the owners. A little more research on their well designed website and I found they offer room enhancement to celebrate special events. I immediately email and inquired about the Romantic Evening package. The owner added this to the package. Upon arriving at the Inn (a little earlier than expected) we were immediately impressed withe the look and feel. We were greeted by Brett who was awesome. We had initially thought we would leave our bags in the car while we went to the shop area near the beach. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room was all set up. Brett showed us to our room and we were both truly impressed. To top it off the romantic evening package was all set up including rose petals on the bed in a heart shape and place near the tub. We reluctantly left to get a late lunch and explore down near the beach. Upon our return from dinner we explored the Inn and our room. Let me just say, this place is beautiful. The room was well decorated. The deck offers a wonderful view of the river. The large tub "floating" in the center of the room was a treat. The bed was perfect. The following morning brought out another 5 star element - the breakfast. We sat at the bar area to watch them cook, but options included indoor family style seating and outdoor tables. The food was awesome. Following breakfast we fished the private dock. A drive into town for lunch and a short nap later, we received a wonderful dinner recommendation from Brett. We awoke Sunday and were greeted by another wonderful breakfast. We were saddened to leave, having thoroughly enjoyed a wonder romantic stay. I cannot say enough about the wonderful owners and staff. We would definitely stay again and will be recommending to friends and family. Oscar and Wendy

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn. We were so pleased to learn that you decided to celebrate a "late" birthday at our award-winning boutique inn. I thoroughly enjoyed reading your very detailed and descriptive account of your guest experience with us and cannot thank you enough for all your generous and glowing comments regarding the many different facets of our operation. Our passion for the hospitality business is part of our DNA and when we receive such outstanding reviews such as yours - it provides such a wonderful perspective as to how fortunate that we are to be in a business where we can build memories that will be long lasting for our guests. It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guests and we look forward to making your next visit even better.


An elegant historical Inn.Tastfully decorated in an eclectic style that puts you at easy from the start. We felt as if we were staying with family. A romantic and restfull stay. We highly recommend this B&B and plan to return.

5 on December 17, 2013

One of the best..

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for taking your valued time to share your recent guest experience with us. My staff and I take a great deal of pleasure and personal pride in delivering exceptional guest service and we are so pleased that you felt like your were staying with family and that you had a romantic and restful stay. We are very thankful to have the benefit of your wonderful comments regarding the Black Dolphin Inn and we look forward to your return in the very near future.


A memorable experience!

5 on September 20, 2013

We stayed there for our sons wedding! It was so beautiful, cleanand the chef out did himself. They made it very personal for us and took the time to help us in any way they could. Could not have asked for anything better!

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! We feel honored to have been selected as the host property for such a momentous occasion. We appreciated your positive comments regarding our attentive levels of guest service, the cleanliness of our facility, and the quality of our breakfast service. I am so glad that you "could not have asked for anything better" and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Highly recommend!

5 on September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights on our baby moon/anniversary. The B&B is both modern and personal. Everything is up-to-date, clean, and gorgeous! We highly recommend for anyone!

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for taking your valued time to share your recent experience with us at our award-winning boutique inn. We were delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves and we are most appreciative of your kind remarks regarding our gorgeous and modern facilities - not to mention our personalized levels of service. We hope that you will return often to the Black Dolphin Inn.


Pristine - Excellent

4.8 on September 09, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Black Dolphin Inn recently. The Inn is noticeably well placed along the Halifax River, with a dock and lounge chairs on the water. The building and property are pristine. Upon arrival the friendly owners greet you and show you your room, which is likely the highlight of your stay. Each room is unique in shape, decor, and amenities. Some rooms include multiple balconies overlooking the river/bay, or gorgeous large tubs placed in the center of your room beneath skylights. What's consistency is the comfort, sophistication, and warmth of each room at Black Dolphin Inn. Dining is also excellent. Our group brought back fish from a charter fishing cruise and the Inn's chef prepared an excellent dinner. The perfect stay for a business group, wedding, or a weekend trip.

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn. It was indeed a pleasure to have served as the host property for the Shared Vision conference. We very much appreciated your generous comments regarding our facilities, services and amenities. Our chef really enjoyed the opportunity to cook that fresh caught fish the last night of your stay and it was great to hear that everyone had such a great time. We hope that you will consider a repeat visit to the Black Dolphin Inn the next time you return to the central-east coast of Florida


This is a boutique hotel and puts to shame any of the chain hotels in NSB

5 on July 16, 2013

This should be listed as a fine hotel, not as a B+B. We found it to be first class in every category. Hope to return in 3 weeks or so.

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for your thoughtful and kind review. The Black Dolphin Inn provides a cozy sanctuary between the intimacy of a B&B - and the indulgent comforts of a boutique inn. We are so pleased to hear that we embody the attributes of a fine hotel and that you found everything to be first class in all phases of our operation. Thank you again for your positive review and we look forward to your return in the very near future.


Weekend Getaway

5 on June 15, 2013

Stayed at this delightful B&B during a Sat-Mon visit in June 2013. Hosts were wonderful; Sunday breakfast was first class! Our room was located on the back side of the property with two balconies (one overlooked the garden area and the other had a view of the waterway). NEXT visit -- we will book earlier to ensure we get a room on the front with full waterway view.

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit at our boutique inn and that the Full Southern Breakfast, which is served on Saturday and Sunday mornings - was first class. I will certainly pass along your positive comments to Chef Joe who will be as pleased as I was to receive them. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are looking for a relaxing getaway weekend and to providing for your care and comfort in one of our direct waterfront accommodations.


Absolutely stunning bed and breakfast

5 on May 13, 2013

Breathtaking restored 1920s mansion with every detail well thought out by the owners. Gorgeous decor with modern amenities, private balconies, oversized bathrooms with jetted tubs, European style bedding, delicious breakfast, warm and wlecoming owners...I cannot say enough about this fabulous establishment. This is far beyond your typical bed and breakfast,

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for such a delightfully descriptive account of your stay at our boutique inn. We take great pride and work hard to make each guest's experience unique and special, and we are very pleased when we succeed in doing that as evidenced by your comment that "you can not say enough about this fabulous establishment". We thank you so much for your positive comments regarding our facilities, services, and amenities and we hope that you will return soon and often to the Black Dolphin Inn.


Sumptuous Surroundings

5 on March 09, 2013

3/7/2013 Wow!!! What a find. The Black Dolphin Inn is an impeccably designed and managed unique boutique B&B.The converted mini-mansion has been completely and beautifully restored beyond belief! The 14 rooms, each with it's own designer decor, are spacious,comfortable and relaxing. The daily breakfast is an experience in it's self with scrumptious offerings from fresh squeezed orange juice to riccotta blueberry pancakes and much more! Great location for sightseeing New Smryna Beach, this Inn delivers on every level.If you want to escape for a stress free weekend that pampers your soul ,I would highly reccomend the Black Dolphin Inn. The courteous and knowledgable family and staff that run the Inn are helpful and attentive to your every need.Watch the sunrise while in bed from your room or fish from the private dock on the intra-coastal waterway across the street this will be an experience you will not soon forget. If you are looking for upscale wow factor with the cozy feel of a by gone era this is for you. Nick B. Treasure

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for such a great review and for your glowing compliments regarding the quality of our guest services,facilities,and amenities. As the newest property on the New Smyrna Beach lodging scene, we not only have to hit all of the right style notes, but we have to deliver an exceptional guest experience in a unique setting - with equal parts luxury and serenity that is cutting edge and warmly inviting. The Black Dolphin Inn is such a great place to rejuvenate your soul and senses and we are most grateful for your generous remarks regarding our signature interior design, Full Southern Breakfast featuring our incredible ricotta blueberry pancakes, exquisite views of the Indian River, and the wonderful guest service that was on display during your visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Black Dolphin Inn the next time you are looking for a stress free vacation where you can relax and get away from it all.


Opening Day

5 on February 24, 2013

We spent the the week end at the Black Dolphin and came in on their opening day. I cannot describe how perfect our stay was. The Inn is unique in our travels. The rooms are meticuloulsly decorated and the lobby is beautiful. This is a side note but our room was upstairs facing the river and both days there were dolphins playing continuously very near the end of the Inn's private dock. Breakfast was cooked in an open kithcen with a bar by an experienced Chef that proved he was creative and good. We had a wonderful week-end and would recommend this unique Inn to anyone. Thanks to the owners and staff, Richard Howard President Business Source, Inc. Jacksonville, Florida

Innkeeper Response
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for taking your valued time to share your guest experience with us. We were delighted to have you with us during our "opening weekend" this past February - and we were pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Further to your review, we are most grateful for your generous comments regarding the quality of our Full Southern breakfast, our private dock along the shores of the Indian River which is inhabited by playful dolphins, and our beautifully appointed guest accommodations and common spaces that contributed to your positive impression of our operation. Of course, we hope you will return soon and we thank you so much for singing the praises of the Black Dolphin Inn.


Black Dolphin Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $319
  • Reviews (24) 5.0
  • Rooms 14
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3864104868
  • Fax 1-3864104899
  • Mobile 1-7276868155
  • Toll free 1-8554104868

Visit Website »

View details

Top