Tropical Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
91 Reviews

Write A Review

Another PERFECT Stay

5 on July 17, 2014

Two couples felt so at home and comfortable for 3 nights. We never wanted our trip to end! Jane, Allen, and Brandi are wonderful. The breakfasts are mouth watering and the property is beautiful. It is in the best location on the Island and easy to walk to everything. We can't wait to come back!


The perfect place to stay

4.8 on July 06, 2014

We loved our stay at the Tropical Inn. We were right in the middle of everything going on bur when you closed the door behind you ..you are transported to your own haven. The pool and gardens are perfect. Jane and Allen made us feel like family and we're such a help with ideas while we weres there.


Best Place on the Island

5 on July 03, 2014

We fell in love with the Tropical Inn. From the amazing to courtyard to the awesome location. Allen and Jane treated us like family. We will be back. SLM


Downtown in the middle of Everything, yet VERY peaceful!

3.6 on June 11, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 days at the Tropical Inn for our 25th Anniversary and we had the Gecko Garden room. Room was very nice & clean! Looked just like the pictures from the website. We thoroughly enjoyed being able to walk to practically everything and yet come back to a very peaceful & tranquil environment. We had our own private jacuzzi/spa which was wonderful. The whole place is very well taken care of and you see the owners, Shelby & Brandi everyday! The staff are very helpful with any sort of reservations or needs. Prices are very comparable if not better than staying in a resort, plus without all the chaos and noise. We arrived earlier than the check-in time and they had our room ready so we could go ahead and check-in early, which was very nice since we had drove from NC. We were extremely pleased and happy with our stay here and when we return we will stay here again!


birthday getaway

5 on May 30, 2014

Spent three days and nites in key west at a great place the Tropical Inn was a very good choice perfect location and very excelent staff


A Great B&B in the Heart of Key West

4.6 on April 11, 2014

The Tropical Inn is in the perfect location -- on the quiet end of Duval Street. We probably had the smallest room, but it was decorated well, and pleasant. The two highlights for us were the garden and the staff. The garden is a great place to have breakfast, or hang out. And the staff really helped us figure out to get the most out of first visit to Key West. Jim and Barbara from Rhode Island.


Duval B & B

3.2 on April 05, 2014

Wonderful location. Close walk to everything. Very private quiet and secluded patio area.


paradise retreat

4.0 on March 30, 2014

Our group enjoyed our stay. A central location which is convenient to any place you would like to visit in Key West.The service is very refreshing and would recommend staying here again.


Relaxing Get-Away

4.6 on March 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Key Lime Loft for 5 nights. It was a bit small, but the attached private deck made up for it. The deck was so private with lots of tropical foliage surrounding it. The cushioned lounge chairs and table & chair set made it very comfy - I could be happy out there for hours! The staff were always very helpful. The pool area doesn't get much sun because of all the tall trees. I wonder if they could cut some of them back? Breakfast was plentiful: lots of fresh fruit and the usual breakfast items, but also every day there was a home-cooked specialty that was always delicious!


Convenient and quiet

3.6 on March 21, 2014

The Tropical Inn is right in the center of things on Duval Street. While there is certainly a lot of activity right outside, inside the Inn is a quiet refuge. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated and we loved having breakfast by the pool. It was also convenient to be able to rent bikes right at the Inn.


Best Weekend Ever!

5 on March 17, 2014

This past weekend we celebrated our one year anniversary at the Tropical Inn, and it was beyond amazing!! The Atmosphere, the rooms, the Staff, the food, all of it, far exceeded our expectations. Thank you Jane, Brandi, Shelby, and Allen for making our anniversary so special. We are looking very forward to staying with you again! James & Amanda Wolfram


Heaven on earth!

5 on March 07, 2014

Our recent stay at Tropical Inn far exceeded our expectations which were high fomr the start. The location was perfect. The Inn itself is a treasure. Very elegant in an understated way. We loved our room, the food and the staff hospitality and willingness to answer any question or arrange any activity or restaurant reservation. Plan on returning again next year.


Tropical Inn is Top Notch

4.2 on February 25, 2014

This place is as lovely as the website portrays. The palm-shaded pool area has enough sun for those who want it & plenty of shade for those who don't. We stayed in the Conch Courtyard & spent lots of time relaxing its private fenced in outdoor sitting area. Breakfasts are very good & you can get coffee & tea (plus other soft drinks & snacks) any time. The Inn staff is friendly & helpful. And all that Duval Street has to offer is just steps from the front door. We highly recommend Tropical Inn.


Our trip to Key West

5 on February 18, 2014

We stayed for five nights and knew we had to move two times. What a great way to see the rooms. They made the move effortless for us. Loved talking to the innkeepers and loved everything about the inn. Room decor beautiful, breakfast lovely, sitting on the front porch at night watching everybody strolling by, couldn't have been any better.


Great stay - Great location

5 on February 04, 2014

We had the pleasure to stay at the main house and a cottage. We were very pleased with both rooms. The Inn was quaint, charming, and felt like Old Key West! Also, the staff/owners were very gracious and hospitable. We would definitely stay at the Tropical Inn again!


Warm, inviting, peaceful, yet close to it all!

4.4 on January 22, 2014

From the minute we step inside we feel the stress melt away. Not only because of the beautiful Key West sun, but because the owners at the Tropical Inn make us feel so good about being there. They are attentive, friendly, and always make sure we have everything we need. It is the perfect location, close to everything on Duval, yet when you close the doors to your room you feel the peacefulness of Key West.


Nelson wedding

4.8 on January 20, 2014

The room was lovely with all the comforts of a spa type environment. The pool and jacuzzi were very clean and inviting. Our room also had a private hot tub which we took full advantage of. The gardens were lush and tropical. We enjoyed breakfast every morning on the patio with a nice variety of pastries , fruits, cheese and meat . Would not hesitate to recommend this bed and breakfast ! The staff was wonderful.


this is our new favorite place to stay in Key West

4.8 on December 22, 2013

We have found a new place to stay when we visit Key West. The Tropical Inn staff were extremely considerate and helpful to our requests and made our stay memorable. The pool and spa area were like as oasis to us and our room was cozy and comfortable. This is where we plan to stay the next time we visit.


You've found what you are looking for!

5 on December 20, 2013

If you are fortunate enough to have reached this review...STOP. Your search is over. You have found heaven. The proprietors of this establishment ensure that you are taken care of when it comes to providing a home (in paradise), away from home. The Tropical Inn itself is the most delightful home with rooms that range from the quaintest of cute and comfortable to the totally plush and posh. We were lucky enough to stay in two different quarters. Once in the smallest room in the house, and once in a separate cottage. They both were magical in their own way. The pool, oh the pool. It's set among tall palms of various kinds that create a canopy of lush green leaves, allowing you to escape the sun and the heat for a mid-afternoon swim. But there is a big enough of a gap to be able to float in the pool and look up the midnight stars. The breakfasts are wonderful and more than complete with a wide variety of goodies. Not just a continental breakfast. Some mornings there would even be a home cooked treat. The quiche was most delicious. We arrived with our newlywed friends (yes, they invited us on their honeymoon with them). They stayed in another property up the road. It was nice, but it couldn't compare. We knew we were in for a treat the moment we pulled up to its brilliant sun-soaked yellow exterior. ...and, having an awesome wine bar, right next store was just a stupendous treat. Spending the afternoons on the porch with a bottle of wine and a beautiful day created memories that I will use on the roughest of days at the office. This is the place. Book it and enjoy Key West the way it was meant to be enjoyed.


The Perfect Balance in Key West

4.8 on December 15, 2013

The Tropical Inn is the perfect choice for couples looking to be close to everything yet feel far away from it all at the same time. Come and go with your house key as you please or stay and enjoy the pool and spa tub with on-site drinks and snacks (honor system) or those you stock in your mini-fridge. The cottage we stayed in was recently renovated with obvious care and nicely insulated to allow us to be close to the crazy without being right in the middle of it. We agreed with fellow guests comments that the B&B was clean and well-cared for. Breakfast was fresh eggs, fruit and baked goods enjoyed at patio tables next to the waterfall pool and surrounded by tropical landscaping. Jane, Allen, Brandi and Shelby provided some great recommendations for what to do and see and were very helpful with any request we made. Another nice surprise was their relationship with the great wine bar next door who provided special wine tastings with a great selection.


November 2013

5 on November 24, 2013

We absolutely loved our time at the Tropical Inn. Perfect location, in the middle of Duval St. Convenient walking distance to just about everything. The room was great. Quiet, clean and very comfortable. The staff was outstanding. They made sure all was taken care of. Very helpful with recommendations for restaurants, bars and our shopping experience. We will definitely stay at the Tropical Inn the next time we visit Key West, FL.


Tropical Inn, a bit of paradise

4.8 on November 21, 2013

The Inn is clean and well cared for. The garden, pool and hot tub area is private. The location is excellent. The hosts are friendly helpful and very knowledgeable of the area.


Great Place to Enjoy Key West

4.2 on November 15, 2013

Tropical Inn proved to be a great choice for our stay in Key West. First, location, location, location. The Inn is on Duval St and close to a number of places to see and eat; however, it is not downtown in the more noisy area of Duval. The service was friendly and helpful and offered suggestions for restaurants and activities. The property is well kept and includes a nice courtyard with pool and hot tub and an honor system bar. The rooms are a small but quaint with alots of character. The breakfast was a basic continental but there are a number of places close by that offeres full hot meals. We are hoping to return to Key West in the not too distant future and hope to stay at the Tropical Inn.


A true "getaway" right in the middle of town

4.8 on September 19, 2013

We had seen most of Key West when the children were growing up, but for this special anniversary, we looked for a place that was right in the middle of the art gallery district (on Duval Street), but was still a "hideaway". We weren't quite sure that it wouldn't be impossible to find a place that met both criteria - but we did, at the Tropical Inn! To top it all off, it was as carefully and as aesthtically appointed as the pictures made it out to be, combined with a "down home" feel, and the owners could hardly have been nicer. We know where we're going to be staying in Key West from now on.


Great Getaway

5 on September 19, 2013

Our first trip to Key West and we fell in love with The Keys and The Tropical Inn. Perfect location on Duval, but yet quiet, private and relaxing with their beautiful pool and tropical settings. Rooms were beautifully appointed, very clean and private. I have never stayed at a B&B or Inn, but this was just perfect. The staff was amazing, and the breakfasts every morning were delicious. We can't wait to plan another trip and our first call will be The Tropical Inn


Perfection!

5 on August 13, 2013

We think the Tropical Inn is the perfect place to stay. It is located just in the middle of Duval making walking to everything easy and the accommodations are second to none. This is our second time and it will not be our last!


Our little OASIS

5 on August 07, 2013

My husband and I regularly go to Florida for 2 weeks every year to a time share. This year we decided to venture out to Key West for a couple days. We stayed at the Tropical Inn and could not have been more pleased, it was more than everything it advertises. Beautiful accommodations and impeccably clean. A delicious hearty substantial breakfast. The pool area is incredible, you would never know you were on Duval Street as you feel you are in a tropical Oasis. I would highly recommend it to anyone.


Great place to stay

5 on August 07, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay...we enjoyed it so much!! Clean quiet and the staff is amazing....we will be back


Awesome B&B

5 on July 27, 2013

Our names are Tara and Eriic and we are from Orlando. We had such a pleasant stay and loved the quaint setting and lovely staff, Will definetaly be back,,,, Thank You


Top choice

4.6 on July 01, 2013

In the last 5 years I have visited Key West 8 times. I have stayed at the Tropical Inn 2 out of 8 and have chosen to stay at the Tropical Inn for my future visits to my favorite vacation destination. It's almost like having your own private oasis. Most days I was the only one lounging by the pool. At most no more than 3 people were in the pool area. The inn keepers are extremely helpful and attentive to your needs as well as giving you your space to enjoy this heavenly oasis. It is within walking distance of fine dining, shopping and nightlife. I highly recommend Tropical Inn and thank Brandi, Shelby, Jane and Allen for providing top notch accommodations which are the most important part of any trip.


Exceptional Oasis in the Middle of Duval Street

5 on June 16, 2013

Recently celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary in Key West. Tropical Inn was a surprise tropical oasis in the middle of busy Duval Street that provided a tranquil setting from the hustle and bustle of the outside world but convenient to so many of the sites and restaurants. Lovely accommodations that transcend you into a paradise you hate to leave behind when you head home. We definitely plan a return visit. The Becks, Rockledge, Fl


A Tropical Paradise at the Tropical Inn....

4.2 on June 13, 2013

The accomodations and ambiance at the Tropical Inn were perfect!! Located right in the middle of Duval St, access to shopping and entertainment was all in walking distance..Rooms are tucked away with just enough privacy yet a quick walk puts you among the center of Key West..Truly a wonderful stay.... If anything needed to be improved, it would just be the breakfast offered in house...abit more variety would be nice but overall, we would return on our next visit!! Thanks again for a great vacation!!!


"A little piece of Heaven"

5 on May 20, 2013

First time we have ever stayed in a bed and breakfast and the experience at the Tropical Inn in Key West far exceeded our expectations. Brandi, Shelby, Jane and Allen were very gracious hosts by providing us with directions to local activities and restaurants in the area. All the places recommended were excellent and we had an enjoyable four day stay in Key West. The staff was very friendly, our room was beautiful and well maintained, the breakfast on the back porch really made our day, and the garden and pool area was quiet and beautiful. It is in the middle of Duval Street and is within walking distance of any place you need to go. I read through the guest experience book that was located on the night table in our room and I did not find a negative anywhere in the writings. You could probably describe the Tropical Inn as a "little piece of Heaven".


15Anniversay to Key West

4.8 on May 07, 2013

This was my husbands and my first trip to Key West and the Tropical Inn April 25-30 2013. We had a wonderful time and couldnt have chosen a better place to stay. The rooms, location and staff were fantastic. I hope to be able to return next year. Jim and Barb Mullen


Tropical Inn Key West April 2013

5 on April 25, 2013

Don't stay anywhere else. On Duvall St. but quiet and within walking distance of everything else. Great relaxing cottage and refreshing pool. Staff is great, will provide you with recommendations and any reservations.


Key West B&B

3.4 on April 15, 2013

My first B&B! I was completely satisfied with my experience at the Tropical Inn. It is centrally located right on Duval Street where you want to be! They were very helpful with local info and with booking reservations for dinner, boating, tours, etc. The courtyard with pool and hot tub is especially a quiet oasis. The breakfast was great! I would defintely stay here again. Jean and Mark, Ohio


Favorite Place to stay in Key West!

4.0 on April 10, 2013

Charming Inn. Personable staff, clean accomodations, and beautiful gardens. The Pineapple Hideaway Cottage is wonderful. This was our 2nd stay at The Tropical Inn, and we will return. Location is perfect. Karen & Rod March, 2013


Key West at the Tropical Inn Banyon Room

4.2 on March 07, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Tropical Inn. Brandi and Shellby are the best!!! We felt welcomed and cared for. The accomodations were very clean and relaxing. Also, the bikes on site were a great way to tour the island. The Banyon Room was decorated nicely but was a bit small for us, especially for the the price. The pool area was relaxing but having the water heated would have been nice. The location on Duval is great.


Tropical Inn and Duvall Street

5 on February 18, 2013

Spent four night here in mid-February 2013. If you're looking for the Key West charm this is the place to stay. We have stayed in many other places up and down Duvall Street and this was by far the best. Immaculate inside and out.Great location relative to all KW activities. In spite of being located on the Duvall strip, the rooms and garden were super quiet. We stayed in the Poinciana Patio room with it's own private sitting area and entrance to the pool area and hot tub. A little small but very nice and ultra clean. The continental breakfast was outstanding with a special pastry every day (no need to go out for breakfast). They had well equipped KW style bikes available for the day or as long as you want and cheaper then the rates on the street. Low cost beer, wine, water, pop and snacks available on-site.The gardens were beautiful and Jane, Allen, Brandi and Shelby were all as helpful and friendly as can be. No need to look any further. We will keep coming back here for a long time!


At the heart of Key West, yet a quiet place to escape.

3.8 on January 23, 2013

Fabulous experience in Key West highlighted by our stay at the Tropical Inn. Right in the heart of it all yet an oasis as well once you get in the front door. Our room was beautiful and the grounds were clean and comforting. The staff was knowledgable and responsive and friendly. If you are heading to Key West we would highly recommend considering staying here.


Breakfast with An Iguana

5 on December 11, 2012

Just a lovely experience on all counts! The hosts were warm and friendly. The lush pool area is very relaxing and yet you are just moments away from the hustle and bustle if you choose. Pineapple Hideaway Cottage could not have been nicer for our 40th wedding anniversary get away. You will not be disappointed. Just go!


Great place to stay, great location

4.6 on December 09, 2012

Everything was great here, clean, fresh and friendly! Right on Duval street we walked everywhere. This is now an going to be an annual destination for us. The Conch Courtyard is the best accommodation on site. We loved it and will definitely be back.


Fabulous Stay

4.8 on November 20, 2012

My husband and I have been coming to Key West for over 20 years and have stayed in many B&Bs in order to get the KW feeling. The Tropical Inn is by far the best place we have stayed. Although it is right off Duval, once you enter the inn it is so quiet, peaceful, private and relaxing. We'll definitely stay there next time too.


Tropical Inn, Key West, FL. We enjoyed the central location on Duval Street, the lush greenery of the courtyard and pool area, the relaxing environment, and wonderful breakfasts.

4.8 on November 18, 2012

We enjoyed the wonderful central location on Duval Street! The Inn was very nice and we enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere of the grounds and pool area. Breakfast was wonderful, as were our hosts and staff. We hope to return again.


A perfect escape from life

4.4 on November 02, 2012

The Tropical Inn was located in the perfect spot for our visit to Key West. We were able to walk everywhere and we always could get back to the Inn easily. Everything at the Inn was wonderful. We were quite pleased.


Our 10 Year Anniversay

5 on October 06, 2012

My wife and I just got back from the Keys after celebrating our ten year anniversary. We had a lot of choices when it came to a bed and breakfast, but let me say our choice was perfect!! Brandi was so quick to respond to my emails to help me make it a memorable arrival for my wife. She had the champagne chilled and a gorgeous arrangement of tropical flowers in my room. Even on arrival we were made to feel right at home, even with receiving bad news that the hot tub in our room died, the backup arrangements were awesome. They moved us for one night to their best room and informed us a brand new hot tub was on its way. Both rooms we stayed in the Gecko and the Pineapple, both were amazing right in the midst of a lush tropical garden with a nice pool and community spa. The breakfast each morning was unbelievable, fresh fruit breads, and cheeses. They had bike rental right on location, which made it so easy and nice. Brandi, Allen, and Jane made us both feel so welcomed, gave us ton of suggestions and made all the reservations for us, making it very stress free for us! I cant say enough good things all I can say is that we wish we had more time to spend there. When we choose to visit Key West again hands down we will choose The Tropical Inn! Big thanks to some new friends, Brandi, Allen and Jane From Chad and Cortnie Collins


Quaint Bed and Breakfast

4.6 on September 28, 2012

My husband and me loved this place. Everyone was very helpful and informative about the area. The other guests we met were very nice. We definitely would stay at Tropical Inn again. Thank you for a lovely time.


Tropical Bliss in Paradise

3.8 on September 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I took a much needed trip for rest and relaxation sprinkled with some fun activity. We found it in Key West and at the Tropical Inn. The accommodations were quaint, clean and tropical. We stayed in the Banyan Tree Suite which was roomy and has a fabulous balcony. We enjoyed an included breakfast of fresh fruits and homemade muffins/breads every morning outside in the tropical garden. The pool was refreshing on a hot day and the hot tub was just right after a dip in the pool. Bikes are onsite for rental which was very convenient. Everything is within walking/biking distance from the Tropical Inn. Brandi and Allen were always available for any help or recommendations that we needed. Tropical Inn is a beautiful, quiet, tropical place to stay that is small and intimate unlike the large impersonal resorts. We loved it and hope to visit again in the future. Oh, and if you're lucky, you might get a visit from the resident iguanas and hear the cock-a-doodle doos of the roosters of Key West!


beautiful Anniversary get away

4.2 on September 09, 2012

We just loved this well run establishment. Never much for B&Bs in the past, but this one made us want more. Hosts are caring and accommodating. Rooms are clean, and comfortable . Our secluded cottage even had a hot tub. The pool was so inviting and private. Morning continental breakfast was more than sufficient with fresh fruits, cereals, muffins, breads, yogurts, hard boiled eggs and juices and coffee or tea. So pleasant to get yor breakfast and bring it back to your own private porch or sit poolside under the palm trees. Would definitely go back.


Key West hide-away in the center of the island!

5 on August 22, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Tropical Inn. The Inn was tidy and cozy. The back yard is a small paradise with pool and hot tub-very clean and very refreshing. August 2011


Pure Bliss in Key West

5 on August 13, 2012

The Tropical Inn does an incredible job marrying together the eccentricity of Key West with the intoxicating Tropical Island feel. The Tropical Inn is located smack dab in the middle of the Key West where you can walk to just about anywhere your heart desires. Yet, when you walk through the beautiful glass doors of the inviting Yellow exterior of the Tropical Inn you are transported to an Oasis that feels like another world. The beauty of The Tropical Inn is that you have the best of both worlds. The Peace and Quiet coupled with the quirky characters, restaurants, and bars that Key West is known for. The rooms have an Island feel accompanied by the most fantastic bedding and décor. A light breakfast of fresh seasonal fruit and freshly baked breads get you going in the morning. Although, what truly makes The Tropical Inn is the staff. Always smiling and always welcoming. I leave the Tropical Inn every time inspired and looking forward to my next stay.


We picked the BEST in Key West!

4.8 on August 05, 2012

Like other reviewers have said this is surprisingly quiet for the middle of Duvall St. The pictures of the Inn are very truthful and show how wonderful the rooms and gardens are. What they cannot show you is how wonderful and helpful the Innkeepers are. Having breakfast right here in the garden is not to be missed. Best tip is to rent bikes from them. There is a seperate back entrance that is easy to come and go and just steps away from Better Than Sex. If you want a day trip up the Keys ask Jane for her travel tips, it really helps you find the No Name Pub.


Great place to spend our week in Key West.

4.0 on July 30, 2012

Friendly and helpful owners. Wonderful gardens and the staff was great. Recommend it!


Great B&B located right in the center of Key West!!

4.6 on July 22, 2012

This was our first trip to Key West and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay at! The property is very beautiful and the gardens are well kept especially around the pool and hot tub areas. It is surprisingly very quiet and relaxing for being located right on Duval St. The staff was very accomodating too! A very nice B&B to stay at! Thank you for a nice stay!


LOVE the Tropical Inn!!!

5 on July 13, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at several other bnbs in Key West, but since we have found the Tropical Inn, we have never gone anywhere else! Great location right on Duvall in the middle, so it's convenient to both ends of the island. Even though you are on Duval though, you'd never know it. Very quiet and clean inside, nicely decorated rooms and an AMAZING tropical garden with a nice pool and hot tub. Honestly, I could spend my whole day in the pool. The front office staff are the owners and they are super nice and helpful. Definitely recommend trying the Tropical Inn!!!


A Little Piece of Paradise

5 on July 13, 2012

Top notch, friendly innkeepers greeted us, and extended every kindness to us upon our arrival. Our room was clean, very comfortable, and quiet. The inn is located in the center of everything, yet when you walk through their doors, you've entered a quiet, beautiful paradise! The garden pool area is a dream come true, and a refuge from all the craziness that is Key West! Sheer bliss....


Thinking about the Tropical Inn.

4.2 on June 30, 2012

We found the Tropical Inn online while planning our first trip to Key West. It was raining the afternoon we arrived and that part of Duval Street was closed for festival actities, so getting there,parking and unloading was a little difficult, but the staff navigated us through all the one way streets and brought us to the back door of the Inn. We loved our room. The Bamboo Room was rather small but all we needed for our 4 day stay. The pool area was beautiful and we enjoyed the quiet time, even though the rooster next door didn't seem to know what time it was. We parked the car, and walked everywhere from the Tropical Inn. What we liked the best were the staff's recommendations for sightseeing and dining, everything they recommended was wonderful. The French Pastry shop next door, however, made it hard to enjoy the breakfast foods offered at the Inn. The muffins and breads were okay, but not outstanding. We are not wine drinkers, but would have really enjoyed a cup of coffee in the afternoons by the pool, but it was not offered. But overall, we did enjoy our stay at the Inn and do recommend it to all. It was quiet, convenient, and comfortable.


Awesome place to stay!

5 on June 22, 2012

This is an awesome place to stay. It is in the perfect location. Jane, Allen, and Brandi gave us great recommendations on places to eat, things to do, etc. I highly suggest staying at the Tropical Inn!


A JEWEL IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DUVAL

4.8 on June 17, 2012

IT WAS INDEED, THE MOST ROMANTIC ROOM AND SURROUNDINGS. BEAUTIFUL GARDEN AND POOL, COZY, PRIVATE AND THE ATTENTION TO DETAIL... SUPERB!!! STAFF INCREDIBLY ATTENTIVE. CANT WAIT TO RETURN. A PERFECT 10,


Perfect stay in key west

4.6 on June 03, 2012

Wonderful hosts, great location in the middle of it all while also being very quiet and restful. we couldn't get over how quiet the rooms are despite the hustle and bustle of duval street!


Charming Bed & Breakfast

4.8 on May 21, 2012

A great location for your Key West vacation. Close to all of the action without having to rent transportation. The breakfast was more than expected. The pool area is private and relaxing. Would definitely recommend as a 5 Star Value.


Tropical Inn Anniversary

5 on May 20, 2012

So happy that we chose the Tropical Inn to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. It was everything we could have possible dreamed of....and more. Private, beautiful, clean, serene, great breakfast, lush garden and pool area, and best of all our wonderful hosts - Jane, Allen, Brandi and Blair! No other place could have been this perfect! Can't wait to go back someday...


What a wonderful place to stay in Key West - We will be back!!

4.8 on April 14, 2012

The rooms and grounds of Tropical Inn are beautiful and very clean. The grounds and rooms are also quiet. Being right on Duval Street, a concern of ours was that the noise might be excessive all day and night; but we were pleasantly surprised that at night there was no noise at all and during the day noise never became an issue. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. We are night people and prefer to sleep in and stay out late since the nightlife goes until 4a.m. in Key West. Not only were we not disturbed when we requested privacy, but when we ventured out and came back later, the room had been cleaned as if we had left early in the morning. Being "late birds" we actually expected our room to go uncleaned so this was a great surprise. The staff also helped us book a sailing adventure and recommended great places to eat and visit. As far as the value goes, the rates may seem high, but when you consider where we were staying, the rates were reasonable and competitive. We were in Key West during high season at almost the exact center of Duval Street. You couldn't ask for a better location! We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The only reason we gave 4 stars for dining instead of 5 is not that the breakfast food was bad in any way. In fact the breakfast was a continental breakfast as advertised and the spread was pretty nice. Our only suggestion would be that it would be nice to have just 1 hot dish each morning. Nothing fancy or made to order, but perhaps some scrambled eggs or pancakes being kept warm in a tray with a sterno. This is just a suggestion though and certainly will not stop us from going back next year.


Weddingmoon at Tropical Inn Key West

4.6 on March 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Tropical Inn---loved the Pineapple Hideway. It was all we imagined and more!!! We can't wait to return to the Tropical Inn to celebrate our anniversary!The sleep quality received three stars because of the rooster alarm clock each morning at 6 am. Be warned! Other than that no complaints (and this complaint is really out of anyone's control---those roosters have a mind of their own). Highly recommend.


Couldn't have found a better place to spend our Honeymoon!

4.6 on March 12, 2012

We were hesitant to stay at a "B&B" that was right in the middle of Duval street in Key West, but I am so glad that we did! My husband and I booked the Gecko Garden for our honeymoon suite to stay for a week and it was the most pleasurable experience! Our room was, as promised, tucked away in the back and it was so quiet and serene you couldn't hear one single sound from the busy street. Everyone at the Tropical Inn made us feel very welcomed and even had a perosnalized message on their board upon our arrival congratulating us on our new advemture as man and wife. Would def stay again next year and for years to come! Love to all there, Rebecca and Daniel


Paradise Found!!!

5 on July 30, 2011

There is nowhere I would rather stay. I have spent several magical weekends here with my girlfriend, fiancee and wife (all the same person!!) This is surely paradise found. Just close enough to the action to be convenient and just far enough away to be comfortable and quiet. Don't hesitate, make the reservation....! D.


Was fantastic, great helpful staff, will stay there again and again!

5 on May 27, 2011

Was fantastic, great helpful staff, will stay there again and again!


Triopical Inn Wedding

4.0 on May 19, 2011

My fiance' and I chose the Tropical Inn in Key West for our wedding. We couldn't have been more pleased. The Inn was lovely and everyone was so friendly. I would definately recommend this B & B to anyone.


AWESOME, WOW, COZY, ROMANTIC, WELCOMING

5 on May 15, 2011

APRIL 12-19, 2011 After research, the Tropical Inn was our first choice based on location, description, pictures, and reviews. We were not disappointed. The Inn is owned by Alan and his wife, Jane. and Alan's daughter, Brandi is the innkeeper/mgr. Our room for the first 5 nights was in the main house on the first floor, The Mango Room. A small, cozy queen bedroom, nicely decorated, with a compact bathroom, and a mini fridge. The continental breakfast with a special daily dish is on the covered porch in the back overlooking the beautiful pool and tropical foliage. Each morning, Brandi or Jane would have our decaf coffee ready for us. We enjoyed talks with Alan and Brandi about the history of the inn . Jane and Brandi will also make any reservations you need during your stay. We decided to stay longer, so the 6th night, we moved to another queen room, the Coconut Cabana Room in the garden cottage . The last two nights we had the luxury of staying in the Gecko's Garden. a king suite cottage with large master bath, mini bar area and it's own private enclosed patio with sunken hot tub . Each move was done for us, so when we came back from our day out, we went right to our new room. We had the opportunity to meet many of the wonderful guests staying at the inn while we were enjoying breakfast or relaxing in the lush pool/patio area. We wanted to experience the true Key West charm and the Tropical Inn far exceeded our expectations. If another trip to Key West is in our future, we will DEFINITELY return to the Tropical Inn. Paul and Lynn Marshfield ,MA


Tropical Inn Review

2.0 on May 07, 2011

my husband and I have stayed at many B&B's and we thought this one was in a league all by itself. The "breakfast" part of the B&B was a joke - it was nothing but a continental breakfast - pastries, boiled eggs, and lunchmeat. We were very disappointed with that. As far as the room - it was just OK - very small. The bathroom had no privacy at all - only a shutter type door between the bedroom and bathroom. You could hear the party on Duval Street late into the night. The pool was wonderful - that was the best part of the stay. I would recommend if you do stay here to stay in the very back bungalows. We wouldn't stay here again. The people that runs the B&B were very nice and helpful - nothing against them.

Innkeeper Response
We are sorry that this guest was unhappy with their stay with us. In all fairness, we would like to quote directly from our website regarding what type of breakfast should have been expected: "Plan your day while lingering over an ample and delicious, freshly-prepared continental breakfast buffet served on the garden terrace, beginning at the civilized hour of 8:30." This description appear on our Home page and a similar one on the Rooms & Rates page of our website. As for noise from Duval Street, the room chosen by this guest is one of our most economical, a standard queen adjacent the upstairs veranda -- overlooking Duval Street -- and is clearly described as such on our website. While we rarely have a problem with noise, as we are located outside the entertainment zone of Duval Street, if there had been any mention of discomfort with this guest's selection, we would have done everything in our power to substitute an alternate room. Certainly, we regret when any of our guests' expectations are not met. However, we do our best to portray our property and its amenities as accurately as possible and feel that it is the responsibility of our guests to choose the accommodations best suiting their needs according to what is offered.


Wonderful place to stay!

4.2 on April 29, 2011

The pictures don't do it justice! Had a wonderful 5 night stay in The Tuckaway suite. Room was clean, bed was comfy, and our private spa was great! Our needs were met promptly, and staff is very friendly, but non-obtrusive. Great location in the middle of Duval St, and a beautiful garden/pool area that almost makes you forget where you are! Highly recommended!


great location-but little service for lots of money

2.4 on April 27, 2011

$218/night for smallest room they have. Very clean but no common areas to speak of-they whole place has been transformed into lodging. Host pointed to top of stairs when we checked in, none of the "TLC" we've experienced in other B/B we've experienced. Honor bar only-no happy hour, very light continental breakfast. In other words-very similar to staying in impersonal hotel, but at twice the price. Beautiful pool/garden area. Great oldtown location

Innkeeper Response
When a guest review begins with a complaint about how much was paid, I always wonder if inadequate research was done before booking. Key West is the most costly destination in the state of Florida. This guest stayed during high season in a standard queen room. The rate paid was comparable to other Key West B&Bs, but with the added value of higher quality of accommodations and better location than most -- right on Duval Street, walking distance to everything. We appreciate this guest acknowledging our superior location, but wish they had recognized that this is a factor of the room rate. Regarding this guest's perceived value received regarding breakfast, I once again must refer to his or her expectations, as they state, based on other B&Bs in which they have stayed. Indeed, we are a bed and breakfast in the sense that breakfast is included in the room rate. However, as is typical of most Key West B&Bs, we do not have a commercial kitchen, and so, do not have the required licensing to serve a cooked-to-order, gourmet breakfast. However, we do offer a fresh and ample “continental plus” breakfast buffet that features a creative centerpiece dish each morning. We advertise nothing more. This guest was also surprised at our unobtrusive service, which they interpreted as a lack of TLC. While we are friendly and accommodating, we believe that guest privacy is paramount. Respecting that, our style is to allow each guest to set the level of interaction with us. As this guest pointed out, we have an amazingly lush and expansive tropical garden -- another factor in room rate. It serves as our common area, treating visitors to maximum enjoyment of the outdoor environment for which they have chosen Key West as their vacation destination. It has small pockets of privacy, allowing our guests enjoyment of our intimate ambience without the forced intermingling often found at more traditional B&Bs.


the fox stay

5 on April 18, 2011

What a fatastic place to stay. Right in the middle of all the Duval action and yet quiet. The pool area was a great area to relax. The morning coffee and breakfast were fantastic. What great hosts.


Most relaxed stay!

4.0 on March 31, 2011

We have been to Key West numerous times and have stayed at the Tropical Inn probably three of those times..The inn is located right on Duval Street, close to everything yet you walk through their doors and it is quiet,peaceful and most of all relaxing. We feel we have always been treated exceptionally well and would recommend to all. John & Kathy


Great hospitality and location

4.0 on March 08, 2011

We stayed at the Tropical Inn from March 3 - 7, 2011 and really enjoyed our stay. The property is beautiful and well cared for. The location was great and our hosts couldn't have been nicer. We will definitely be back next year.


Great stay at Tropical Inn!

4.0 on March 06, 2011

My husband & I were never in Key West before and this was a great experience. We spent two nights. Brandi, the Innkeeper at the Tropical Inn was very gracious and offered alot of help to us "first timers" on the island. Our room was clean, neat & tidy. Pool area was quiet & relaxing. And the breakfast both mornings were "outstanding!" We loved the homemade Apple-Stuffed French Toast and Jane's Signature Quiche. Yum! We give the Tropical Inn a "thumbs up!" D & K Painesville, Ohio


tropical inn

4.0 on March 03, 2011

Excellant location on Duval, yet when you walk through the door and into the lush garden/pool area you would never know anything was happening on Duval st. Brandi is the best! Short walk to best spots to eat. easy walk or bike to beaches and hotspots. We will be staying again.


Beautiful Room But Sleepless Noisy Night!

3.0 on March 02, 2011

The Tuckaway Room was beautifully appointed with a garden jaccuzi tub and wonderful bathroom. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location on Duval Street was very convenient. However, we spend a less than restful night that we could not get to sleep due to the noisy wine bar next door until 1 or 2 a.m. followed by the early morning garbage truck noise before 8. The sounds come right through the walls and closed windows! Other than that, it was clean, beautiful and the garden was private and restful, they need to replace the windows with double panes and insulate the walls. We are disappointed and do not feel it was a good value for the money.

Innkeeper Response
We very much regret that this guest's single-night stay coincided with a special event at the neighboring wine bar that may have resulted in a larger-than-usual crowd that perhaps generated more noise and later hours than is customary for that generally unobtrusive establishment. Always attentive to ways to improve upon guests' experience, we heeded the suggestion to replace the old windows with new, double-paned insulated ones. We very much appreciate the input from this guest, as we feel it led to an overall improvement in the quality of future guests' stays.


A true Jewel

5 on January 26, 2011

Great location right on Duval St., walk or bicycle anywhere. Jane and the staff were great, serving wonderful breakfast treats. The pool and hot tub area is loaded with lots of palms and foliage, hence the tropical feel with lots of privacy for a romantic get away. Were very helpful in arranging must do's outings and marking maps to find out of the way restaurants. Loved our stay there. If I ever get the chance to go back it will be my first choice!


Paradise Found

4.6 on May 04, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Tropical Inn several times, since 1999. We found it by chance and would never stay anywhere else. Brandi and Jane are like family now. Whenever I call or email, they always tell me if "our room" is available. We usually stay in the house, but I'm looking forward to splurging on a cottage for our next visit. It's so quiet and relaxing, but so close to everything. Just a note: since it's a historic home, the bathrooms in the main house are very small.


Key West Perfection

4.2 on January 10, 2010

This inn is the ideal place to relax and unwind in Key West. Our room was charming and very comfortable. We felt welcome the minute we stepped into the lobby! And we have already recommended Tropical Inn to our friends and neighbors. On your next visit to Key West, do NOT miss the opportunity to stay at Tropical Inn.


My new favorite place to stay in Key West

4.8 on July 22, 2009

I travel to Key West fairly often and have stayed in many different B&Bs and hotels. The Tropical Inn exceeded my expectations in many ways, from accommodating my last minute reservation to the tranquility of the inn. The garden was lovely and the pool very well kept. I had a room upstairs in the main house -- it was small and cozy, and very comfortable. I absolutely loved it and will request it every time I travel to the Keys. The bathroom is small -- similar to the showers in many European inns. That was not a concern for me, but if your vacation is not complete without a whirlpool tub, this isn't the room for you. Otherwise, it's quiet, pleasant and the front balcony is a great place to people watch all the doings on this end of Duval Street. Excellent location. Close to shops, restaurants (have the edamame and the Key Lime pie at Mangoes and anything at Blue Heaven, which are both within a few blocks). The street noise dies down by 11 and I slept well both nights. Service was friendly and efficient and I felt like I was a welcome guest in someone's home. I wish I could have stayed longer and hope they have a room available when I make my next trip to Key West. Recommended highly.


Anniversary Delight

4.6 on June 22, 2009

We just got back from our stay in Paradise. That is the Tropical Inn. Convenient location, right on Duval, but the backyard is beautifully landscaped and private. You would never know that you are in the heart of all the action. We stayed for our 30th anniversary. Everyone was very helpful and the cottage was so private and cozy. It has it's own private jacquzzi. Our suite was very clean and the staff so pleasant. We would recommend these accomodations to anyone. It will remain a wonderful memory. We hope to return on future visits.


Tropical Setting

3.8 on May 08, 2009

The owners will provide excellent advice on dinning and sightseeing. If your room does not include a parking space, pay the $15 a day fee. Street parking is very limited.


Best B & B we've been to!

4.4 on May 08, 2009

Great B & B!! It is very clean and maintained, both inside and out. The pool area is very lush and romantic. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning also!! It is located in the center of Duval Street, allowing us to get anywhere quickly! The owners are very accomodating!!


Duval Jewel

3.4 on May 08, 2009

We come back every year. A relaxing, beautiful B&B with all the amenities. Would recommend Tropical Inn to anyone.


You really should stay here!!

5 on April 29, 2009

We've stayed in quite a few Bed and Breakfasts, my husband and I travel often. This was by far one of the nicest ones we've stayed in! Very, very clean, and convenient! Right on Duval! The pool and hot tub were so relaxing and wonderful. We enjoyed ourselves so much, I'm searching for more places to write reviews!


No complaints here

3.6 on November 12, 2008

I stayed in the front room, which was exposed to noise from motorscooters, revelers, a drag queen on a horse, and music from the bar up the street. I think it added to my stay, and I liked killing time out there on the porch, but if you sleep light get another room. The house was nice and nice-looking, and I especially enjoyed the yard and pool. The food was good, and the people were accomodating. The [limited] parking was a bonus, too. I recommend the Tropical Inn -- especially if you can splurge on the more expensive rooms.


Blissful

4.6 on November 12, 2008

Just spent the weekend at the Tropical Inn to celebrate my birthday with my boyfriend and we had a wonderful stay. The service was outstanding and the cottage was beautiful. I hope we can find time to go back again real soon.


A wonderful experience

4.4 on September 08, 2008

We stayed at the Tropical Inn over spring break with my oldest daughter and found it to to be delightful and relaxing. A friendly hostess and wonderfuly clean and well decorated rooms made for a great stay. Couldn't ask for a nicer spot in Key West.


WONDERUL!!

4.2 on March 11, 2008

We have stayed there the past 2 years, and hoping to make it this year. It is a quiet oasis to come to after a day full of Key West. Brandi and her family go out of their way to accomodate you. The rooms are immaculate, the servie is impeccible, and it is truly a small piece of heaven.


Tropical Inn

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3052949977
  • Fax 1-3052921656

Visit Website »

View details

Top