Blue Heron Inn Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
95 Reviews

Write A Review

A wonderful place to escape

4.8 on July 20, 2014

Blue Heron Inn is a wonderful place to escape the frenzied every day world. It is beautiful, immaculately clean, and peaceful. The rooms are comfortable and welcoming, and Julie is a marvelous Southern hostess. Her breakfasts are absolutely delicious, and the location right in historic Fernandina Beach means you can walk to almost everything you want to do. There is a lovely pool and garden as well. Highly recommended.


We will be back!!

4.8 on July 14, 2014

We were only there for one night, but it was enough to know that we would definitely be going back. Dave and Julie were so warm and welcoming. The breakfast was fantastic and the room perfect.


Great place to stay on Amelia Island

5 on June 22, 2014

This is a small bed and breakfast with outstanding service, food, and hospitality. Very much like staying at the home of a good friend. The location is good for walking to restaurants and shops in town. Very comfortable all around. Highest recommendation.


Awesome experience

4.8 on June 18, 2014

Wonderful stay. Beautiful rooms with warm hospitality. Innkeepers went above and beyond to make our stay top quality.


The Whole Package

5 on May 27, 2014

Julie and David are the consummate hostess and host. They have thought of every detail. Modern comfort with gorgeous period furnishings and decor. Extremely hospitable and friendly atmosphere. Delicious gourmet breakfast. I will return!


Blue Heron stay

4.8 on April 30, 2014

We were only there one night in the Penthouse Suite. The room was beautifully furnished, the bed extremely comfortable, and we had the added luxury of a Jacuzzi. The breakfast was delicious with French toast, fruit with a special sauce, sausage and syrup and strawberries that had been marinated. We would highly recommend this B & B as the hostess was as nice and outgoing as her furnishings were very classy.


Beautiful B&B

4.8 on March 25, 2014

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast! Beautifully furnished with antiques and very clean. The owners were very friendly and great hosts. We would definitely come back. Lori & Donnovan


One of the Very Best

5 on March 19, 2014

Beautiful Inn, Very well located to town, Extraordinary Hospitality, Delightful Happy Hour, and Wonderful Breakfast. Couldn't ask for more. Oh! Cookies on a table in the entry hall and coffee available at all hours. Adrienne & Jerry


Fantastic stay!

4.8 on March 11, 2014

Beautiful inn and excellent location on Amelia Island. Innkeepers are superb.


Mrs. Cathy Z.

5 on February 27, 2014

The rooms were gorgeous, the food was wonderful and the owners were an absolute pleasure!


Perfect B&B

5 on February 23, 2014

I can't say enough positive things about the Blue Heron Inn! The bed was so comfortable. The room was so clean that the floor squeaked when we walked on it. There were bikes available to explore Fernandina. The food was fantastic. I will definitely come back!


valentine weekend

5 on February 18, 2014

First time to Amelia Island area. David and Julie were excellent hosts, enjoyed their company as well as their hospitality. The Blue Heron Inn is beautiful and has been remodeled to make you feel right at home and feel welcomed. The food was excellent and accomodations were perfect. We had the penthouse room and it was very spacious and beautifully decorated. Look forward to going there again.

Innkeeper Response
We really enjoyed getting to know you and appreciate all of the kind words. Come back soon to enjoy the pool when it gets a little warmer.


Return trip to Fernandina Beach

4.8 on January 21, 2014

My husband and I lived in Fernandina Beach 1972-74, prior to Amelia Island Resort. We have been in town twice since then, but not to stay. We decided to break up our trip to South Florida; The Blue Heron proved to be a delightful choice for overnight lodging. Julie welcomed us and made us feel at home. The Jasmine room was lovely. There were snacks and drinks available, with a "happy hour" at 5. Not all B &B's can do that, but what a nice way to plan the rest of your day, and meet your fellow guests. Their recommendation for dinner, Davids-just up the street, was great. Breakfast had a lovely presentation and was filling without being heavy. The scones were GREAT! Hurray for Fernandina for redefining themselves and providing travelers with a wonderful place to visit, walk, and explore! We would certainly recommend The Blue Heron to others looking for a stop in North Florida!

Innkeeper Response
It was our pleasure to make your return to Amelia Island so enjoyable. Happy Hour is always fun to share a little history with our guests and their feedback on the places they eat help us recommend places to others.. Thanks.


Had a wonderful time

5 on January 17, 2014

Stayed three nights and it was fantastic. Room was perfect, large and very well appointed. The Inn itself was excellent and very well located. Julie and David were wonderful and their service and personal touch was outstanding. Each breakfast was superb and different from the day before. We will stay there again if at all possible and highly recommend it.

Innkeeper Response
What nice things to say about your stay. It is hard to see and do all the things around the island in just three days so be sure and loot at our event email each month to plan your next visit.


A Great Surprise

4.8 on December 11, 2013

My sister and I were thrilled with the whole weekend at the Blue Heron Inn. We purchased 2 nights for our parents' 50th wedding anniversary. Little did they know Julie & Dave, the owners, helped us keep the surprise that we were joining them all the way from VA for 1 night. Every detail of our stay was superbly executed. All 6 of us were treated like royalty. My family will have memories for a lifetime!


Wonderful place and hosts

4.4 on November 01, 2013

Julie and Dave designed and run this lovely B&B with much passion for Fernandina Beach in general and their guests in particular. There is a perfect place to sit in or around the house for every mood you are in - e.g. the sunny veranda observing the quite streets, the garden/pool area for leisure, the breakfast room for food, the lounge for reading, the rooms for privacy. All nicely decorated, but not in a museum-like way where one fears to touch and use something. We were offered welcome drinks while enjoying a tour through the house, bikes for a trip around the area and many more complimentary services. Make sure you try the yummy homemade cookies and take your time to enjoy the breakfast!


Amazing Experience

5 on October 18, 2013

It started with the amazing hospitality and helpfulness. The daily happy hour was amazing. We felt so at home all weekend. The owners went out of their way to get us everything we needed. Wonderful.


Charming

4.8 on October 18, 2013

Truly charming. David and Julie could not have been better hosts. The breakfasts were fabulous and made me feel pampered!!


Best B&B Ever!

4.6 on October 18, 2013

Julie and David Jones are amazing hosts. They went out of their way to accommodate our gluten-free and meat-free needs. Breakfasts were amazing and there is a 5.00 happy hour each night with wine and homemade snacks.


Fantastic

5 on October 18, 2013

Julie and David provided the best B&B experience we have ever had! We will definitely go back!


A wonderful stop at a wonderful Inn

4.8 on October 16, 2013

I stoped at the Blue Heron for a night during a business trip to get away from the usual hotels and chain food along the interestate. I had no idea that I was going to stay at a wonderful historic inn, located right in the middle of a quaint and fun filed downtown . . . . and the best part was sitting and talking with our host Julie. I cannot wait to come again!


Wonderful!

5 on October 16, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at The Blue Heron Inn and would highly recommend it.


Just like going home!

5 on October 15, 2013

Quite and comfortable,comfy bed, well appointed rooms. Great breakfast and very accommodating to my gluten free diet needs. Great location - we walked to everything!


Welcoming and peaceful

4.0 on October 14, 2013

Best place to relax and feel like you have no worries.


Wonderful stay

5 on October 09, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. It was our 20th Anniversary. The Owner's were friendly. The Inn is close to restaurants and attractions. We will visit the Blue Heron again.


Highly recommended

4.8 on October 09, 2013

Elegant and comfortable B&B with outstanding breakfasts and ideal location to explore Amelia Island. Friendly and charming hosts too.


Beautiful weekend at Blue Heron Inn

5 on September 22, 2013

The honeymoon suite was a getaway supreme. Close to great restaurants, and the bicycles took us to the beach for a fun afternoon. Gourmet food, lots of perks, and gracious hosts make this a must do getaway. And don't forget your swimsuit. Fun night time swimming with a lit-up pool, in a gorgeous garden setting - really nice!


Wonderful Birthday Weekend at The Blue Heron Inn

5 on September 15, 2013

Our inn keepers, Julie and David, were excellent hosts, and now our new friends. Within minutes of our stay we felt like part of the family at the Blue Heron. Julie's breakfasts and evening appetizer fare were a culinary delight. Both she and David were so accommodating; from helping us chose excellent area restaurants, to setting us up with bikes to tour the historical area. The Inn is in excellent condition and the decor is outstanding, reflecting the historical downtown area, and the victorian heritage of the house. An additional unexpected delight was the refreshing pool, comfortable lounge chairs, and well manicured gardens located in a private setting behind the inn. If you desire a relaxing getaway with all the comforts of home, wonderful hosts and great food, this is the place for you.


Can't wait to go back!!

5 on September 09, 2013

The owners were so accommodating and wonderfully informative. Beautiful rooms and best service I've ever had at a B&B. Loved it.


Excellent Choice for Our Weekend

5 on September 08, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Heron to enjoy our anniversary and roam around Amelia Island. David and Julie were both very inviting and accommodating for us. We truly had the chance to enjoy their hospitality. The house is beautifully appointed just off 8th street. 8th is something of a main drag in the little town but you really wouldn't know it enjoying a quiet drink on the porch facing Ash Ave. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, perfectly cooked and sensitive to my wife's dietary needs (no tomatoes, gluten free). The room we stayed in was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. If you're thinking of spending time at Amelia Island in the near future, picking the Blue Heron is a sure fire bet.


Brilliant!

5 on September 06, 2013

First time ever at a B&B and will definitely do again. David and Julie are the best. Book the Blue Heron Inn!


Elegant Comfort

5 on September 05, 2013

Beautifully decorated in period antiques and comfortable bedding.


Mother's Day Weekend

5 on September 03, 2013

Clean, decorated so 'beach' themed. Amazing food. We wanted all the recipes. Breakfast was impressive and enjoyed happy hour and appetizers by poolside. Host/hostess made trip!


What a wonderful Inn!!

5 on September 03, 2013

Julie and David were the consummate hosts. We so thoroughly enjoyed our stay that we are planning our next visit.


Great Bed and Breakfast

4.2 on August 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay from the moment we arrived. Julie and Dave were fantastic and we will be visiting again soon.


All the Extras!

5 on August 28, 2013

This was my third time staying at the inn. One reason I keep going back is because off all the extras they throw in. Wi-Fi in every room, free bikes, free beach chairs, fabulous hors d'oeuvres at happy hour, Kerig's on each floor, and snacks drinks and cookies available 24/7. They just expanded their backyard and garden so sitting by the pool is very relaxing. Highly recommend this B&B.


B&B and Beach vacation

4.6 on August 27, 2013

David and Julie very welcoming and flexible hosts. Lovely gardens and pool to sit by after the beach. North part of island easiest access. Great food and service. House filled with antiques, places to go for a quiet read.


Perfect Inn

4.8 on August 26, 2013

This Inn is perfect for any stay. The Innkeepers are most gracious. The breakfast services, and location can't be beat!


Excellent Inn

5 on August 26, 2013

Beautiful,delicious! Friendly Innkeepers! Great location! We will be back!


The Blue Heron

5 on August 25, 2013

Our quick getaway was soooo relaxing at the THE Blue Heron. Service and hospitality was first class. Will return.


Pampered and Delighted

5 on August 22, 2013

Our hosts met every need or want, including service swanky fine breakfasts on a lovely porch and happy happy hours. Sweet surprises!


Best B&B in Fernandina Beach!

5 on August 21, 2013

We loved our stay at the Blue Heron Inn. The service was impeccable - anything we needed they provided. They also have a beautiful wrap around porch where we enjoyed happy hour, breakfast and Fernandina Beach. The breakfast was amazing. This is one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at.


Home away from home

5 on August 21, 2013

Excellent accommodations and warm and welcoming service. Awesome touches at every corner. A definite MUST STAY!


"CLEAN, CLASSY AND CONVENIENT"

5 on August 19, 2013

Wonderful breakfast and gracious hosts.


HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

5 on August 16, 2013

Wonderful stay, cleanest B&B I ever stayed at. Beautiful decor. Great food. Highly recommend.


One of the best on the Island!

4.8 on August 14, 2013

The Blue Heron is one of Amelia Island's finest B&Bs! It is spotless, comfortable, nicely appointed and the breakfast was nothing less than gourmet. Lovingly prepared and attentively served. The hostess and host were superb. We will be back as soon as we can!


Nice Place!

5 on August 14, 2013

Very accommodating Innkeepers. Room Clean. Breakfast very good.


Best B&B in Amelia Island!

5 on August 13, 2013

Amazing, beautiful Inn, friendly, best food and B&B we have ever had.


Best B&B ever

5 on August 13, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Beautiful accommodations.


Wonderful Inn

4.4 on August 13, 2013

Friendly service. Beautiful accommodations. Great breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms. Loved the bed, slept great! Innkeepers were very helpful.


Attention to Details

4.8 on August 04, 2013

Our stay at Blue Heron Inn was spectacular. The rooms are beautiful and comfy. Breakfast was a gourmet meal served on fine china with flowers and music. Free bikes were available which we used to tour the historic district and beach chairs and towels for relaxing at the beach.


Beautiful, charming, perfect!

5 on August 04, 2013

We stayed here for our one year anniversary, and we could not have been more pleased! Upon arrival we were greeted by the charming innkeeper and led to tour the inn's amenities and our room. We enjoyed a relaxing, romantic happy hour, then walked the short distance to downtown where we enjoyed dinner. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the house was so clean and cozy, it was like they knew exactly what we needed to feel relaxed and refreshed. Upon learning that it was our anniversary, the innkeepers left a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room. That truly made our occasion special. The breakfast was phenomenal, and it made us feel even more at home! We will definitely be staying there in years to come, and recommending it to everyone we know!!


Perfect local

4.4 on July 22, 2013

Located within walking distance of Historic City Center. Room was comfortable, food terrific and inn keepers very charming...had a great visit. Will recommend to all my friends.


Cant miss GREAT PLACE GREAT PEOPLE A MUST MUST MUST

5 on July 21, 2013

Great place, very nice close to all the local stuff. By chance found this place and then saw all the reviews and was glad that our choice was as good as the reviews. Reviews weren't disappointing Live and in person even BETTER. HIGHLY Recommend this for a little get away. David and Julie are top notch and do everything to make sure you enjoy your time. Not enough time to say good thing after good thing after good thing.


Just Perfect

5 on July 07, 2013

This is where my husband and I spent our honeymoon, and it could not have been more perfect. After reading all of the amazing reviews I thought no place could be that good but it was truly a wonderful experience. The food is so good I just want to have all of my meals there forever. I wish Julie had a cookbook because I would snatch it up in a heartbeat! The house itself is gorgeous, located in the beautiful historic district of my hometown, where there are other B&Bs, yet having been on local tours inside of those places I can say that the style and decor of Blue Heron is refreshing. David and Julie have exquisite taste! It wasn't overdone, overwhelming, choking on theme or trying too hard. It was simply beautiful, warm, comforting. You really feel like you're at home, yet you feel pampered, spoiled, and relaxed. We stayed in the Compass Room and loved it. We plan on returning at least once a year for our anniversary but hopefully we'll be able to more often! David and Julie made us feel like everything they had done was for us. Book now, enjoy the food, the company, and the atmosphere, and definitely have breakfast on the front porch!


relaxing getaway

4.6 on July 01, 2013

A perfect place to just get away from it all, great host and lovely Inn


Blue Heron Inn

5 on June 16, 2013

What a great weekend get away! David and Julie were so nice and the food was great. Our room was really nice and was spotless! Look forward to returning.


Worth Going Back to Again, and Again, Again.......

5 on June 11, 2013

After a five & half hour drive we were greeted by a warm smile from Julie as we were getting out of the car. She asked about the drive & offered us cold drinks. She gave us a tour of their restored home which was built in the early 1900's. After settling in the Compass Rose room, one of six rooms, we were offered wine & hos-d'oeuvres by the pool, which are offered daily in the afternoons. Julie & her husband David gave us any & all information about restaurants, sightseeing, some history of the island. They offered us complimentary bikes, beach chairs & towels for the beach & pool. They will make reservations for you from restaurants to sightseeing tours, like a horse drawn carriage tour right from the inn. We found them to be perfect hosts, very warm, very caring & very sociable, very attentive but never intrusive. Breakfasts were incredible & the best we have ever had on vacation. The pecan bacon WOW. The inn is immaculate, our bed was very comfortable, good sized bathroom, jetted tub & rain shower. Plenty of hot water and heavy towels. Cold water, soda, coffee, tea, munches available all day on each floor. As others have stated, the inn is centrally located in the historic district, an easy walk to Centre Street & the water front marina area. Fort Clinch & the beach is about 1.5 miles from the inn. The best grouper dinner was at Le Clos, go when they open at 5:30, no wait, no need for reservations. Other highly recommended restaurants close to the inn, LuLu's for their shrimp dinner, and Espana. for their Paella & tapas. Julie & David, thank you for all your hard work in making our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely be back again and again.


Fantastic stay

5 on May 15, 2013

My friend & I have stayed in many bed & breakfasts over the years, but we have never felt so welcomed. David & Julie were awesome, the food was superb & the room was well appointed. We'll be back. Louise & Linda


A Wonderful Getaway

4.6 on April 25, 2013

The Blue Heron Inn was a wonderful weekend getaway. Julie and David were friendly, helpful and totally attentive to all their guests. From the fresh made cookies to coffee and tea (and hot chocolate) available anytime during the day, to the exceptional breakfast on the porch, the stay was truly enjoyable and memorable. And the Inn is located in the Historic District and ideally located within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants on Centre Street. We also loved the fact that the Inn was surrounded by beautiful historic homes - one of the reasons we went to Amellia Island. We'll definitely be back.


Wonderful B & B experience

4.8 on April 15, 2013

We stayed in the Sandpiper room. It was a lovely room, very comfortable. The owners were wonderful and very helpful in suggesting restaurants and shopping. The house is within walking distance to the historical "Centre Street." We never had to use our car during our stay. It was great!


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast and Wonderful Service

5 on April 01, 2013

Enjoyed our relaxing stay at the Blue Heron Inn. Will definitely be back for an overnight or longer visit!


Great b & b

5 on March 24, 2013

Had a great stay, David and Julie were the best hosts and made us feel at home. Can't wait to return someday.


Can't wait to get back!

5 on March 04, 2013

This was our third stay at the Blue Heron and we are already planning another trip in October. From the moment you enter the lovely front room, you feel welcome. The atmosphere is comfortable and relaxing. Located only a few blocks from Downtown, we like to utilize the private, on-site parking and walk everywhere. Breakfast is always a treat and the complimentary wine (or beer/soda) and snacks in the afternoon offer a chance to chat with the Inn Keepers. David and Julie off a sanctuary and are simply wonderful hosts.


Can't Wait to Visit Again

4.8 on February 27, 2013

Beautiful home, gorgeous and historic setting, delicious food, gracious hosts. Thanks for accomodating our special dietary needs. We can't wait to visit again.


Amazing Trip to Amelia Island

5 on January 22, 2013

The location was perfect. The quality was quaint and had beautiful Charm. The Owners were delightful and totally have their heart n soul in their work. The food was excellent and served on time, hot and plentiful. The Owners take great pride in their Bed N Breakfast! Will absolutely stay there again, Charles & Darla


Three days in paradise....

4.8 on December 10, 2012

The Blue Heron is a Five Star gourmet restaurant disguised as a relaxed, charming, comfortable inn! Julie and David were personal, welcoming, attentive, yet also left us space to enjoy the inn on our own. Not sure if we were treated more like family or royalty! Maybe a little of both. We made new friends as well as a lovely memory.


Wonderful Experience

5 on December 02, 2012

Our family stayed a week at the Blue Heron, and we occupied the whole house. It was a wonderful vacation with the B&B as our location. The house is very pretty and comfortable and clean. It is in a great location, and it is so nice to be outside at the pool and porch. Their breakfasts are delicious with beautiful presentation. The owners took very good care of us and met all of our requests. We all loved it and would go back.


My favorite bed and breakfast on the lovely Amelia Island

5 on October 28, 2012

Charming old house but with beautiful decor and light, bright rooms. The breakfasts are so delicious with ample portions. You won't need lunch! Julie and David are friendly and helpful. Lots of extras like bikes to ride to the beach, a lovely pool, fresh baked cookies down by the parlor. It's just a short walk to the sweet historic township with great shops. It's my favorite getaway, and the innkeepers make it extra special. You can tell they enjoy having people come stay. Highly recommended!


Wonderful B&B

4.8 on October 22, 2012

What a great place for a short getaway. The inn was beautiful and the inn keepers were so at tentative. Breakfast and afternoon happy hour with great snacks. The house was clean, clean, clean and always water coffee or tea available. Great location we biked to the beach and walked to downtown. Truly relaxing 3 days.


Anniversary

5 on October 07, 2012

We celebrated our anniversary. This was a first class inn with gourmet breakfasts and happy hour. The owners were terrific and our staff was fantastic. We plan to go back very soon!


We would go back. We felt pampered.

5 on October 03, 2012

To celebrate my 85th birthday, I took my family, (ages 56 to 21 years old) for a weeks vacation at the Blue Heron Inn on Amelia Island, FL. David and Julie, super hosts. House is lovely -- food excellent.


Will Return

5 on October 03, 2012

Very nice. Hosts were so considerate. Great getaway.


Best secret on the island!!

5 on September 24, 2012

If you want a B&B where you feel pampered and relaxed, then this is the place to go!! They had complimentary water and Keurig coffee/teas available 24/7 on both floors! The homemade cookies available in the foyer were fresh and scrumptious everyday!! You could literately go with the clothes on your back and they would provide you with everything you needed. There were robes, ironing boards, irons, blowdryers, pleasant soaps and hair products, bath salts, chocolates on your pillow every night, etc. They had a happy hour everyday that served the best hors d'oeuvres with full bodied wines, domestic and imported beers, carbonated flavored water, and more for your pleasure. It was just enough to wet your palette before going somewhere for dinner within walking distance from the Inn. The Inn was centrally located so you could pretty much walk to any of the best locations that makes Amelia Island famous. Breakfast tasted like it was made by a gourmet chef! You were served at your intimate table and it was just enough food to fill you but not make you stuffed. We were served bacon with maple and pecans, tomato soufflé, fresh fruit with yogurt custard, blueberry scones...just to name a few items on our 2 day trip! The ingredients are bought fresh everyday from the local market (not the grocery store!) and made that day. The home also offers games and books for your enjoyment, complimentary beach chairs and towels, and complimentary bike rentals!! The owners are an amazing couple and if your lucky they may sit down and join you for happy hour and give you some secrets about the island and where to go. we will definitely be going back, even if we have to make an excuse to go on a vacation!!


One of the finest B&B's in America without question.

5 on September 20, 2012

I wanted to take my wife Carmon to Fernandina Beach for our 15th wedding anniversary. I looked at a few B&B's online and chose The Blue Heron Inn. We have stayed at many B&B's, but none have left such a memorable impression on us as this one has. Julie was an absolute delight. She insured every detail of our stay was first class. The beautifully restored Inn is gorgeous and the rooms were beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. We had coffee and drinks on the wrap-around porch and met new friends in the process. The mornings began with an amazing breakfast prepared by Julie. My wife and I will return regulary to this terrific piece of paradise. Thanks Julie for a wonderful anniversary. See you soon. Sincerely, Marty & Carmon


Delightful B&B

5 on September 12, 2012

My husband and I just visited The Blue Heron inn, we were very happy with our stay! The Inn has been renovated and is very clean! The bedding and linens are very high quality! The breakfast one of the best we have had amongst all the b&bs we have been to. Highly recommend staying here, we will definately be back !


Sisters Weekend

5 on September 06, 2012

Clean rooms, great service and the owners are friendly and accommodating! Breakfast was fantastic!


The Best Ever

5 on September 06, 2012

Every detail was outstanding!


The Jewel of the Island

5 on August 27, 2012

We were delighted to find this jewel of a B & B on our first trip to Amelia Island. Since visiting, my husband and I have already discussed planning another visit...in large part because of our experience with Julie and David at their quaint Inn. The room was spacious and the bed was probably the most comfortable we've slept in. Both David and Julie were helpful in offering tourist suggestions and reservation on our behalf. The breakfasts were fantastic. Julie even shared one of her yummy recipes. High praise for everything about this wonderfully appointed Inn.


Awesome

5 on August 13, 2012

The Blue Heron Inn is an awesome bed & breakfast. The innkeepers made us feel so welcome! The food is delicious! Highly recommend!


Best B&B Hands Down!

5 on August 12, 2012

This bed and breakfast is truly elegant comfort. Julie and David are very friendly and accommodating. Not only is the pool and landscaping beautiful, but the inside is too.


Awesome Night.

4.8 on August 04, 2012

My husband and I took a last minute getaway for our anniversary. Since it was a holiday weekend we weren't sure we'd find anything nice. We found one night each at 2 different B&Bs. Weren't many reviews on Blue Heron so we were skeptical. However, we were impressed from the moment we walked in. We were greeted as a special guest. The hosts went over and beyond to make our stay enjoyable -- even making sure our breakfast was acceptable as vegetarians. Of all the B&Bs we've stayed, we rank this one #1 and look forward to our next visit.


Blue Heron Inn

5 on July 30, 2012

Julie and Dave run a lovingly restored B&B! They spared nothing to make our stay comfortable. The Jasmine had luxurious linens and updated details. We walked to the best of restaurants and even a farmer's market. Great location!


Service Excellence

4.2 on July 27, 2012

Our experience was wonderful; it exceeded our expectations. The food at breakfast time was great, not your usual fare. The innkeepers desire to please was unmatched, even fixed our flat tire.

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate the review and hopefully when you return we can exceed your expectations again. Thank you for for the feedback.


Amazing Time

5 on July 25, 2012

We had an amazing time at the Blue Heron Inn. David and Juile are wonderful people who are willing to go the extra mile.


More than just a place to spend the night.

5 on July 17, 2012

This was my second trip to the Blue Heron Inn, and what a fantastic experience. Everything is fresh and beautiful, and the owners have such an eye for detail. The bedding is plush and the breakfasts are 5 star. (Ask to eat breakfast on the wraparound porch.) But it was the added things that pushed this B&B over the top for me…Happy hour is served daily featuring various beers, wines and gourmet appetizers; tray of fresh cookies and citrus water are in the foyer consistently; Keurig coffee makers throughout the house for coffee, teas, cider or hot chocolate; the relaxing waterfall flowing in the pool. This is so much more than “a place to spend the night.” I can’t wait for a return trip, which will be soon since it is only 6 hours from Atlanta.


Second Visit

5 on July 03, 2012

Our second visit to the Blue Heron Inn was appreciated even more than our first. David and Julie are excellent hosts and the accomodations were superb in spite of tropical storm "Debby's" arrival on June 25th. Fernandina Beach is a charming city with a significant history and the Blue Heron Inn is a bright star of accomodations for those visiting the area. David and Julie obviously work very hard and can be proud of their achievements.


Amazing Treat!

5 on June 24, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay at the Blue Heron Inn. The home is beautifully restored and decorated, our room very relaxing and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and early evening happy hour was fun to look forward too. Julie is a gracious hostess and fun to visit with. We will definitely return.


Exceptional!

5 on March 14, 2012

Outstanding in every respect. Dave & Julie made us feel right at home with excellent hospitality. Freshly renovated to a high standard. Excellent breakfast, and fun happy hour. I had high hopes for this visit, but my expectations were exceeded at every level. Highly recommended!


Small town treat

5 on March 05, 2012

Our stay at the Blue Heron Inn was absolutely fantastic. I already had high hopes from the website and a friend's recommendation, and I was met with a serene, beautiful vacation hosted by the B&B owners Julie & David. We cannot wait to visit again!


Great Service and Friendly Hosts

4.4 on February 19, 2012

We have stayed at many fine B&Bs over the past 20 years. The Blue Heron Inn with hosts Julie and David ranks near the top, making our first visit to Fernandina Beach a delightful experience. With a totally refurbished house in 2011 Julie and David are rightfully proud to share and show off their excellent work. Their friendly service and attention to detail made us feel comfortable and very much at home.


Forever spoiled by the Blue Heron Inn

5 on January 29, 2012

I am new to staying at Bed and Breakfasts and I have been totally spoiled by my stay at the Blue Heron Inn. I often find that hotels are musty and damp, but not so at the Blue Heron Inn. The entire house is updated and fresh. The bedding is luxurious and clean. I loved the period furniture and decorations. The room I stayed in had beautiful, personal touches making me feel that I was staying with friends in their home. That is the atmosphere that Julie and David created in the physical space and with their hospitality. Julie and David prepared delicious appetizers and offered drinks in the evening. I enjoyed their company as well as the food. They recommended fantastic restaurants I could walk to in the quaint downtown. The breakfasts were above and beyond my expectations. Julie and David served a gourmet meal and made sure that I enjoyed my breakfast experience. The couple near me was vegetarian and Julie and David quickly made accommodations. I was pampered by the entire experience. The Blue Heron Inn sets a high standard! I can not wait to get back for another visit.


THE BEST BED AND BREAKFAST I HAVE EVER STAYED IN!!!

5 on January 23, 2012

While I love bed and breakfasts, too often I have found myself in a musty room that hasn't been updated in 20+ years. I was pleasantly surprised that The Blue Heron Inn was the opposite of this experience. The inn has been recently updated and the bed makes you feel like you are at home (if you have luxury linens and mattresses in your home). While this may seem like a small detail to some, a comfortable bed with really nice bedding can make or break an experience. This is just the beginning: the place is well decorated, incredibly clean, lots of hot water, a great shower head with plenty of water pressure, great value, centrally located next to Main street with all of the shops in town. Julie was a wonderful host and has paid attention to every detail. There is a water pitcher with fresh citrus for guests by the front door at all times, she offered us a glass of wine with light appetizers when we checked in, and the breakfast was truly gourmet. Julie was knowledgable about the area and helped us select a wonderful restaurant for dinner. This was truly the best bed and breakfast experience I have ever had and I would HIGHLY recommend The Blue Heron Inn to the discerning traveler who truly wants a luxurious experience.


Awesome stay at The Blu Heron Inn

5 on January 19, 2012

My stay at the Blue Heron Inn was relaxing, fun and elegant! From the time I arrived until I left, I felt at home in this beautifully decorated Inn. Julie and David were wonderful hosts with great suggestions and a lot of fun to "hang out with." the breakfst was very elegantly served and delicious. Social hour included delicious appetizers, wine and beer and a great opportunity to visit with other guests. The pool area was very inviting and they also had vintage bikes for our enjoyment. Within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. It was my first visit to the island, but it definitely will not be my last. By the way, my room was awesome, clean and comfortable. I stayed in The Jasmine room, but saw others that were just as beautiful!


A New Gem in Amelia Island

5 on January 10, 2012

We visited the inn a few years ago and found it to be in need of a "face lift." Returning recently we discovered that the new owners have taken great care in restoring the home in a manner consistent with its history while also incorporating contemporary amenities. David and Julie are wonderfully accommodating hosts who create a most relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere. We look forward to returning. Da Silva-Clark's

Innkeeper Response
We enjoyed having you stay with us and we hope to see you soon. Thank you for the nice review. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to better serve you next time you visit.


Blue Heron Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $180 - $280
  • Reviews (95) 4.9
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9044459034

Visit Website »

View details

Top