Hoyt House Bed & Breakfast Inn Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
133 Reviews

Write A Review

The best B&B

5 on September 18, 2014

What a lovely stay a the Hoyt House! We have stayed in B&Bs in Beaufort, Savannah, Charleston and St. Augustine, and this is by far the best. Clean, cool, updated, great location and delicious cookies, breakfast and coffee. We biked around the beautiful town and to the beach. Enjoyed the large veranda to sit and enjoy the complimentary glass of wine, while watching a wedding take place at the beautiful church across the street! I can't wait to come back!


Wonderful Stay Great Location

5 on September 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night for a mini vacation. We loved the house, it was so cute and cozy. There were so many activities-we wished we were there longer to enjoy them (bicycles, pool, DVD library). The breakfast was very good also. The location couldn't have been better, walking distance to the downtown area. We loved our stay!


Amazing BB in a beautiful location

4.8 on September 04, 2014

The owners Myrta and Deb were so extremely inviting. The room was pictured, though they moved us from the particular one that I would have wanted to stay in, the Alden, to Lara's room. I was a little disappointed at the last change in plans because I really wanted to stay in the Alden. Lara's room was beautiful in its own way. The products in the bathroom were very luxurious. The only frustrating thing is that there seemed to be an electronic alarm clock going on continuously. The only reason I heard it because I turned off this white noise machine that was in the room. The breakfast was A+ with everything fresh and flavorful. The grapefruit juice was fresh squeezed, who does that anymore?? LOVED the pool area and the privacy, plus the close proximity to all Fernandina has to offer. We will definitely stay here again, esp if my parents come to visit.


Had a lot of fun

3.8 on August 27, 2014

I really enjoyed the Hoyt House. There were somemonor things I would have liked a little different but that is not about the B & B but more of my desires. The pool was the greatest.


Comfortable and Homey

5 on July 31, 2014

Myrta and Deborah are great hostesses. We felt as though we were at home and felt guilty having them wait on us. Our room was really comfortable and cozy. The Hoyt House is clean, the service is great and it is on the edge of downtown Fernandina with its shopping and great restaurants. Only minutes from the beach.


Lovely B&B

5 on July 17, 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful weekend getaway at the Hoyt House. Myrta and Deborah are fantastic people. Very attentive to detail, cordial, helpful, and a wealth of information. The room was beautiful and the breakfasts were amazing. They spoiled me of ever staying at a conventional hotel again. Erin and Zane


Hoyt House

4.8 on July 15, 2014

We had an amazing time at the Hoyt House! It was a very charming bed and breakfast. The service was impeccable, the house was clean and quiet, and the breakfast was outstanding! I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to others.


Quality Relaxing

4.8 on July 10, 2014

A wonderful stay in an architecturally beautiful B&B with impeccable service, perfect atmosphere, marvelous tea and breakfast. Will definitely go again.


Can't wait to go back

5 on June 29, 2014

Home away from home is the way I can sum up our stay. We make annual trips to Fernandina and have stayed at a different B&B. We are already planning our next visit and we are set to return to Hoyt house. Breakfasts are great a good selection from fresh fruit to the chefs special. Need insight on a place to eat Myrta will gladly fill you in and take care of the reservations. This past trip was my wife's birthday and Myrta took the time from her busy schedule to go to the local bakery and pick up a small cake that we got to enjoy with candles and all. The pool area is very relaxing as was sitting on the front porch drinking a glass of wine. The nightly happy hour gave us an opportunity to mingle with some of the guest and share stories of our day. It also was fun coming up with different Rum drink recipes. We are looking forward to coming back and would definitely recommend the Hoyt house.


20 Year anniversary trip

4.0 on June 26, 2014

Myrta the hostess was awesome. Such a neat place to stay. The room was very nice the linen was pristine. It was nice to recieve individual attention from Myrta. The Inn made me feel at home and the decor was antique. By far one of the best places that I have stayed. It was a very enjoyable stay and I will stay there again.


Great Location, Uncomfortable Bed

3.6 on June 09, 2014

The house and grounds were beautiful, and beautifully maintained. The location was within walking distance to a great deal of shops, dining, etc, however, that made from some street noise. They did have a white noise machine, which was very helpful. The food was plentiful and good, but not spectacular. The service and cleanliness was outstanding. Overall, for the price, I think with taxes around $260/night, I would have expected a better quality bed. I was not able to sleep much at all, because it was very soft and clearly old. I would have expected better food for the price of a night's stay, as well. Excellent for under $200, okay for the price paid.


spring getaway

5 on June 02, 2014

My husband and I recently took a quick trip up to Amelia Island to decompress for a few days. We chose the Hoyt House because it just seemed like our style and boy, were we right on the money! It is a beautiful home in the historic area, close to everything. We were so comfortable there we felt we should have planned to stay much longer! (The bed was heavenly too.)


Weekend stay

4.6 on May 23, 2014

Wonderful experience. Friendly staff, beautiful rooms and house as a whole, very homey feel and within walking distance to old town. Will be staying there again.


Hoyt House B&B stay

4.4 on May 21, 2014

Great location, nice grounds, very pleasant staff, very nice stay and breakfast.


Great Inn in Fernandina Beach

5 on April 28, 2014

This is one of the nicest B&B Inns we have stayed in. The innkeepers go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and have thought of all the extras. From the cozy bar to the well-decorated rooms to the pool and porch swing, this is an inn well worth visiting. We have visited three times and will be returning.


Perfect

4.4 on April 18, 2014

The house, the feel, the breakfasts, the hospitality, the pool area and most of all Myrta and Deborah made our time at the Hoyt House memorable, relaxing and the perfect place to rest, relax and enjoy being away from the hustle and bustle of our busy lives. Thank you for opening your home and your lives to us and reminding us frequently to "Relax, you are on vacation."


Comfortable B&B

3.2 on April 18, 2014

The food was good and well prepared. It was nice to have choices at breakfast. The location of the house was very convenient to shops and restaurants and the beach. The pool area was a pleasant place to relax in the nice spring weather. The rooms were nicely decorated; the front porch was wonderful to sit and read. Several times we were surprised at the tone of a response to a guest--being told to wait until later for breakfast for a space to open up. There were many open spaces (4 of 8 in use) at a large table--just no place settings and it was only 9am. We had been told breakfast would be from 8:30 until 10 with no aforementioned restrictions such as not being seated by other people.


Amazing!

5 on April 05, 2014

Incredible staff, great food, more than accommodating! They made our wedding truly special. Would recommend them to anyone looking for outstanding service at a tremendous value.


APS

4.6 on March 14, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Hoyt house on three occasions and enjoyed all of them. The effort to please and make you stay is commendable and above average. Would highly recommend the Hoyt House on any visit to Amelia Island


Just the BEST

5 on March 09, 2014

This is the best b &b we have ever stay in! Everything work just the way it should. You get what you paid for.


Romantic couple of days for young lovers

4.8 on February 22, 2014

Very friendly staff that made our two night stay at the Hoyt House unforgettable! Located in the heart of Fernadina beach, within walking distance from small art galleries and little, tasteful restaurants. The cosy rooms, the lovely yard with pool & hot tub, and the delicious breakfast all make the Hoyt House a very special place to stay!


Wonderful

5 on February 22, 2014

This was our first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast and we absolutely loved it! Myrtra and Deb made our stay very enjoyable! Everything was great from the beautiful room and luxurious linens to the the delicious breakfast with warm hand towels! We will definitely return in the future!


Delightful

5 on February 20, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed one perfect night at the Hoyt House Inn. The Inn's decor was beautiful as was the room. The champagne and chocolate covered strawberries were waiting for us in the room and were just what we had hoped for. The room was spotless, the linens were of fine quality and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and began with warm cloths to wipe our hands. The china pattern was beautiful and the crystal was sparkling. Myrta was a warm and friendly host who gave us tips on the best place to find shark teeth on the beach. We look forward to our next visit !


Good stay at Hoyt House

4.8 on February 12, 2014

Hoyt House is an excellent choice for a stay on Amelia Island. Although the weather was pretty chilly, the walk down to the harbor was easy from this location, and the house was warm. We were the only guests the nights we stayed, so we missed the fellowship which is such a large part of the B&B experience. Our hostess, however, was very pleasant, and mine of useful information, as I became ill just before our departure, and she helped us find medical help, and also introduced us to the store next door which has just about anything one could want or need whilst visiting this lovely island.


Lovely B&B

4.6 on February 01, 2014

Lovely home and great location


After Christmas Get Away

4.8 on January 03, 2014

Great service, friendly staff, excellent food and lots of pampering. A warm and friendly place where you are really welcomed in the parlours and porches. Excellent advice on the area, feel like we've know Myrta all of our lives!


Fabulous Stay!

5 on November 11, 2013

You feel as though you are staying at a private residence while visiting the Hoyt House. From the freshly prepared breakfast in the morning to evenings on the porch swing sipping wine, you feel right at home. The grounds are lovely and well kept and the location is perfectly placed at the top of Centre Street with all the downtown shops and restaurants within walking distance. I definitely plan to return hopefully during the Holidays while the Christmas decor is up and to join in on the cookie tour in the neighborhood! I also have two small dogs that came with my husband and I and it was a perfect set up for them. All in all, a fabulous stay!


My third choice was the best choice

4.4 on September 17, 2013

On a spur of the moment my wife and I decided to stay at a Bed and Breakfast in Fernandina Beach. Initially this was our third choice when we started looking. Our third choice turned out to be a very good choice. Very beautifully restored home. Very clean and comfortable. Very good full breakfast. Many amenities and conveniences provided. Clean pool and hot tub in a very beautiful yard. Walking distance to historic district, restaurants, and shopping, My wife and I will be making a return trip to Fernandina and this time the Hoyt House will be our first choice


You should not miss staying at the Hoyt House

5 on September 02, 2013

Our visit was outstanding in every way: authentic historic decor; warm greeting and hospitality, gorgeous grounds and pool, outstanding breakfasts. It is one of the finest places we have ever stayed. We were there 4 days to experience Fernandina Beach and found all of our host's recommendations to be right on.


Good Value

5 on August 21, 2013

Excellent value. A lovely facility great management and hospitality.


Beautiful and quaint!

5 on July 04, 2013

My husband and I came here to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and what a perfect place we chose! My husband and I are in our late 20s and we really really enjoyed Amelia island and the Hoyt House. There's not a whole lot of active things to do in Amelia island but that's just the point we were able to get away and relax, walk around the shops, go to the beach, the pool, eat a wonderful restaurants, and even take a horse and carriage ride. At the Hoyt House you feel like royalty...you are so well taken care of and that beautiful mansion is like it's your beautiful mansion for the days you're there. Truly an experience you should try : ) Thank you Myrta for the great service and nice chats : )


Honeymoon

5 on June 13, 2013

Loved the house and grounds, and the food. Staff is really helpful. Chairs towels and toys are provided for the beech. Close to the beach, walking distance to resturants and shops. Great old house and town, loved the Island history.


The Perfect Getaway at the most Perfect B&B

5 on May 23, 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at The Hoyt House for a friend's wedding. Having never stayed at a B&B before- only hotels- I had my personal reservations. Well, those reservations went to pot the second we arrived! Myrta gave us the grand tour of this charming estate before checking into our room. The grounds were stunning in bloom & the Inn itself simply breathtaking. The old world charm is in every detail- from the turned barley twist furniture to the beautiful original wood accents. After checking into room #4- we indulged in the delicious homemade cookies in our room & then went to the barroom for a glass of wine. At the bar we met Deborah- who was just as friendly & welcoming as Myrta. We felt right at home from the start! After the wedding rehearsal & rehearsal dinner- we retired to bed- & Oh what comfort that was! The sheets & bedding were DIVINE! I haven't slept that well in ages! The next morning, we woke to the most delicious breakfast that would give any 5 star hotel/venue a run for it's money- delicious Banana Pancakes- fresh fruit- bacon,sausage & so much more! The french press coffee was in a league of it's own! Each room also came equipped with a lovely bath line for showering- that was heavenly. I truly can not say enough about this Gem of a B&B! If we ever return to the area, we will absolutely only return to The Hoyt House- no doubt about it! Hoping everyone who visits has the pleasure of staying at this little slice of heaven! Much thanks to both Myrta & Deborah for the best stay we've had anywhere. Blessings!


Memories to Cherish!

4.8 on May 20, 2013

"Luxury Inn" definitely describes this B&B. From the time you check in with Myrta and Deborah everyone is so accommodating and pleasant you feel just like home immediately. Rooms are immaculate, beds are divine and service very prompt. Breakfasts are homemade to your liking. Nothing like waking up to the aroma of hot cinnamon sticky buns. This definitely is a place to return to for more R&R. Also one must go to David's Restaurant. This should be top of your list for a delicious gourmet romantic fine dining experience one block from this B&B. There just aren't enough words to praise this Inn.


Heaven on Earth

5 on May 06, 2013

This place is amazing. Deborah and Myrta have gone out of their way to make the guest experience one of the best ever. They have thought of everything to make their guests welcome and well cared for. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and tranquil. The breakfasts are amazing with a new and scrumptious choice every day. We stayed in the Master Suite (#9) and it was well appoint and spacious. The pool was well landscaped and heated to the perfect temperature.


Loved the Hoyt House

5 on May 01, 2013

Romantic, relaxing, felt pampered. Location was perfect. Owners were helpful and super nice. Food was delicious. Loved the house, the room, the pub, the porch. We hope to make this a yearly event!!


Perfect place on Amelia Island

4.6 on April 29, 2013

Hoyt House is a very special place with wonderful, comfortable accommodations (great bed), delicious food and a great location in Fernandina Beach. We will definitely return!


Fun stay in Amelia

4.6 on April 28, 2013

We stayed in several B & B's on this vacation and this was our favorite breakfast by far. This was the first time that we ever had a choice of breakfast items, and loved the sticky bun. Myrta & Deborah were fantastic hosts and we loved the private pub (very cool). This was a nice, comfortable place to stay that was convenient and within walking distance to everything.


Amelia's best

4.6 on April 25, 2013

The stay was for our 40th wedding anniversary and we could not have chosen a better place. Myrta one of the owners made our stay. She could not have been more helpful with suggestions and making arrangements. The accommodations were beautiful and full of charm. Check out the website. Easy to use and navigate and full of pictures. We're definitely going back! Richard & Lynn Karlitskie


Loved the Hoyt House!

5 on April 16, 2013

We could not have picked a more special place to enjoy four days at Fernandina Beach! The owners are the most friendly, accommodating, professional women,yet warm like family. Their motto is to treat you like they want to be treated and that is 100% true! The elegantly presented, delicious breakfast is beyond what you would expect! Loved the porch for reading, or just relaxing. The spa & pool were spotless and the enclosed area lovely and private so you felt like you were in your own backyard. The amenities in your room and in the rest of the historic home were exceptional. We loved the convenience of being within walking distance of the historic district and wonderful restaurants. We felt like we were in someone's home rather than in a hotel. The room was so cozy, comfortable and well-decorated. We will certainly stay at the Hoyt House again when we visit Fernandina!!


Stay Here!

5 on April 09, 2013

The experience was first class all the way. The Inn Keepers, Deborah and Myrta were the coolest! They truly go above and beyond to make your stay so special. The breakfasts were delicious and the grounds were so lovely. They have a pool and hot tub and are at the beginning of downtown. You can walk to the shops or ride bikes around town and to the beach.


Grand time at Hoyt House

5 on April 01, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Hoyt House in room #9, the master bedroom. Very nice room and very comfortable. We enjoyed visiting with the staff and service was excellent. We plan to return to Hoyt House on our next visit to Amelia Island


Fun Fun Fun

5 on March 28, 2013

Our experience staying at the "The Hoyt House" Bed and Breakfast was awesome! One we will always remember... My fiance and I had gone to Fernindina to meet with a Wedding Coordinator to discuss our upcoming wedding in June. It had been raining all day and we decided at the last minute to try to find a place to stay. We past the "Hoyt House" and my fiance decided to turn around and see if they had anything available, and they did.. This was our first time ever staying at a "Bed and Breakfast" and we are now hooked... The warmth of the Home and Hospitality that we received from the owners we will always remember.. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have reserved the "Hoyt House" for our family to stay the entire week-end of our wedding. We highly recommend anyone to stay here:)


Perfect!

5 on March 13, 2013

The Hoyt House Inn was a 5 star quality Bed and Breakfast. Deborah and Myrta, the Innkeepers, made sure our stay was perfection, and it was. Select one of 13 bedrooms, each of which is exceptionally clean and has charm. The good news was that our dogs, Toby and Teddy, we're able to join us and were welcomed by the staff. Every morning we enjoyed a cooked to order breakfast, from a menu! The sticky buns are outrageous as well as the scone and fresher baked cookie trays in the afternoon. Happy hour in the quaint bar is complimentary (beer or wine) and freshly made hors d'oeurves were present every evening. Be sure and eat at David's restaurant across the street for 5 star quality dining. It is amazing, see you next year guys...can't wait!


Good old times

4.2 on March 03, 2013

We enjoyed staying at Hoyt House. We had room 'Wells' with a huge bed, you only could get in by steps! Very comfortable and with all the old-fashioned furniture we felt like being back in the good old times. The hospitality was outstanding, Deborah made all the reservations for us for dinner and cruises. The pool was perfect for a swim the day we arrived, and we enjoyed the hot tub very much. We will highly recommend this destination and are looking forward to coming back one day.


A wonderful birthday stay.

5 on February 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit at the Hoyt House Bed & Breakfast Inn. The rooms were really comfortable and they were very accomodating. We are looking forward to returning to Amelia Island and the Hoyt House.


Excellent stay. Rooms exquisitely appointed with every attention to detail including the toothbrush holders! Amenities in room were by far the most generous and luxurious we have ever had at any Select Registry B&Bs. Myrta and Deb are fabulous hosts. We highly recommend.

5 on February 09, 2013

Liz and John, Vermont


A getaway

4.6 on January 28, 2013

My husband, myself and our toy poodle had a wonderful stay at the Hoyt House. We are already planning an anniversary weekend. The room was beautiful and comfortable.


Great place and awesome experience

5 on January 23, 2013

Hadn't stayed at a B&B in a very long time. The service, surroundings, location and experience were outstanding. Conveniently located and an outstanding breakfast. Will definitely go back.


Hoyt House

5 on December 30, 2012

We spent a fabulous Christmas get away at this beautiful Bed and Breakfast. The home was decorated for the holidays and as you enter you hear a player piano playing Christmas music. The parlors and room complete the 1905 picture. It was like being welcomed into a home by a family member. Myrta and Deb were gracious in the hospitality. The food was soooo good and I'm not even going to say much about their "sticky buns" but let you find out. You will be surprised by the offerings as part of their 3 course breakfast. One block from the historic district so there are lots of things to do. We are making this a family tradition. Put this on your must do list.


Christmas at Hoyt House

5 on December 29, 2012

This was our first visit to Amelia Island and staying at a B&B is our style. We decided to try Hoyt House after reading other reviews and just about memorizing their web site. We love old houses and the Inn met our expectations in all areas. Deborah and Myrta are the owners and they make every attempt to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. They will mix with the guests or leave you alone however you like it to be. The Inn is very well kept both inside and out. Superb location to the Historic District, local restaurants, shopping and just a few minutes drive to the beach. The breakfast is all that it is advertised to be with a wide variety of choices, well prepared and we especially enjoyed the Sticky Buns that start off each morning the right way! Hey....you are on vacation! On Christmas Eve we went to David's Restaurant which is only a block away and enjoyed a delicious dinner in a beautiful setting with a jazz bar right off the dining room. Excellent food, service and entertainment. Deborah is the Chef at David's....named after her son I am told. It was cool that weekend so we didn't use the pool or spa in the side yard but I am told others did. We met several nice couples during our stay and we always enjoy hearing where others have been and are going....part of the fun of a B&B we think. We stayed in the Mizell room which is the largest room they have I believe. It was very nice, on the ground floor and well furnished. The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub. We also ordered in-room massages which Myrta arranged and the massage therapists who came were wonderful....a husband and wife team. Turns out the wife Heather graduated from the same univeristy as we did in Ohio. Would we return again.....absolutely!


A Wonderful Inn

5 on November 15, 2012

My husband and I celebrated his birthday with a week end stay at the Hoyt House. The house is beautiful and inviting and has a wonderful warmth about it. Our room (The Wells) had a huge king sized bed and was so comfortable and clean. The extras waiting in the room (apples, cookies & bottled water) were a nice treat! This inn is located in beautiful Historic Fernandina Beach, right on Center Street and you can walk to anywhere in town. The cooked to order breakfast was amazing, the fresh fruit & Eggs Benedict are a must!! Myrta and Deborah are wonderful Innkeepers and made us feel welcome. We will definitely be back again.


Superb Vacation Destination

5 on October 28, 2012

Best relaxing vacation ever!! Myrta, Deborah and the staff made everything easy, fun and delicious!


Exceeded our expectations in every way.

4.8 on October 07, 2012

fantastic hosts, amazing breakfast, beautiful room, and a great location near center of town, easy walk to pretty much anything. Couldnt ask for a better place to stay and relax.


Nirvana!

5 on September 29, 2012

The nicest place I've ever stayed! The owners love to pamper; the home is gorgeous; the food is outstanding; the bar opens when you're thirsty; and the view of the pool at night is amazing. It's located within blocks of great restaurants and it's an easy hike to a sparsely populated beach. If a laid back vacation is what you're looking for, you can't go wrong with the Hoyt House in Amelia Island.


An excellant B&B

4.8 on September 27, 2012

Had a wonderful 2 days at the Hoyt House. I think the location is wonderful for walking to restaurants and to the shops. Would stay there again.


Made our anniversary special

5 on September 20, 2012

What a charming place! Great accommodations, amenities and service. Both the owners and staff really understand what excellent customer service entails.


Great Inn and Hosts

5 on September 12, 2012

One of the nicest B&Bs we have ever stayed at. They pay attention to every little detail. Close to everything in the area. Nice touch of a cocktail hour with great items to snack on. Very nicely maintained pool area with new lounge furniture.


Beautiful 5 Star B&B

5 on September 06, 2012

Wonderful hosts Myrta and Debbie will spoil you at this luxurious B&B complete with gourmet 3 course breakfast, wonderful linens on the beds, a fun and generous Happy Hour with lots of goodies and a relaxing pool, jacuzzi and hammock to enjoy. We had a great time and can't wait to return. This is a must visit B&B! Enjoy!


Best.Inn.Ever.

5 on September 02, 2012

This was our first trip to Amelia Island and to Hoyt House. I cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay here. Hoyt House is an absolutely beautiful historic property. The innkeepers, Deborah and Myrta, have done an outstanding job of restoring the inn and appointing it with such fine amenities. We were greeted warmly by Myrta and Deborah, and you would have thought we were long lost family. Our room (Kate's Study) was lovely and very comfortable. There were even fresh-baked cookies (heaven), apples and water waiting for us. The bed was very comfortable with some of the finest linen I have ever touched. You feel pampered every time you turn around. Your stay includes a cooked-to-order, two-course breakfast and an evening reception with marvelous appetizers. Our server for breakfast, Missi, was simply delightful and took excellent care of us. Part of your breakfast includes homemade sticky buns that were delicious and french press coffee which made waking up perfect! The evening reception includes ever changing appetizers, the company of your innkeepers and other guests, and a bar area that feels like a classic lounge. Myrta and Deborah are excellent hosts and provide great company and fantastic recommendations. We dined in the historic district at two restaurants recommended by our hosts -- spot on perfect. The inn's location made it easy for us to walk most places, and bikes are available if you want to venture further (compliments of the inn). Myrta also gave us suggestions on some out-of-the-way sights, and we had a wonderful time exploring the island and further down the coast. This had to be one of our top experiences. We definitely plan to return and will only stay at Hoyt House. I would highly recommend Hoyt House to anyone planning a trip to Amelia Island!


The Perfect Bed & Breakfast

5 on September 02, 2012

We had a great time and everything was absolutely perfect. Myrta and Deborah are gracious hosts and pay attention to every detail.


Excellent

5 on August 24, 2012

Our stay at the Hoyt House was exceptional. It is the perfect place for a relaxing get away.


Our special day!

5 on August 23, 2012

Our Wedding! How perfect and beautiful in this lovely home! Our hosts were so attentive to our needs and did everything for us! What a great way to say "I do"! Our friends were so impressed and are still talking about it! Thank you Thank you for making my day special!!!


Top Notch B&B

5 on July 31, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Hoyt House and had a great time. The staff was amazing and we can't wait to get back.


Hoyt House Bed & Breakfast

5 on July 29, 2012

Exceptional in every way.


Pampered, relaxing stay in a beautiful home!

5 on July 01, 2012

This was my first visit to the Hoyt House, but I can't wait to return, as this truly was my best experience at a B&B. I actually stayed an extra day because I enjoyed it so much. I truly felt welcomed and appreciated as a guest. The home is absolutely beautiful, retaining the charm of yesteryear but having the comforts of today, including quality linens, delicious menu ordered three-course breakfasts, and an on-site full bar with some great specialty martinis and great hors d'oeuvres during social hour. Perhaps my favorite aspect was the English Tea Experience in the afternoon, with finger sandwiches, sweet treats, and choice of tea (try the fruit sangria!) Room service occurs while you are at breakfast, so as not to interfere with your day, which was an unexpected delight! Amenities include pool and spa as well as necessities for a beach trip. Myrta and Deborah think of everything here so you don't have to! The location is great, wihin walking distance of shops, restuarants, and the marina, but still a quiet oasis to relax and unwind.


Hoyt House rocks in Amelia Island, FL

5 on June 20, 2012

This experience exceeded expectations. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Hoyt House. We plan on returning many times in the future. We found it difficult to leave the grounds to do activities on this Florida island! When we did venture off property, we looked forward to coming back home. That's what Hoyt House has figured out - how to make folks feel at home while sway from home. All aspects of the stay are well managed.


Fantastic Get-Away Inn

5 on June 13, 2012

The Inn is within a block of shopping and resturants and a pleasant stroll to the marina.


Wonderful Experience

5 on June 01, 2012

The Hoyt House was the perfect place for a long weekend getaway. The service was great - perfect restaurant recommendations, delicious breakfast, awesome bar - we had a wonderful time and cannot wait to return!


Romantic and Relaxing

5 on June 01, 2012

We loved the Hoyt House! The bar, pool and porch are great places to hang out and Myrta and Deborah are great hosts. We felt relaxed the whole time. This B&B is close to restaurants and nightlife and only a mile from the beach. you can easily ride one of their bikes to the beach. We recommend the Hoyt House for a romantic weekend or a great week long vacation


20th anniversary

4.4 on May 29, 2012

a great place to unwind. the breakfast was excellent and we really enjoyed visiting with other guests during happy hour. Myrta and Deborah were wonderful!


Hoyt House is a great choice for a B&B getaway!

4.8 on May 25, 2012

We had one night to get away for a "Babymoon" and we are so glad that we chose the Hoyt House. From the first phone call with questions to the time we checked out, Myrta and the staff were so polite and friendly. The pool was wonderful. The breakfast was INCREDIBLE. My only tip would be in you book the corner room, Kate's Study, I recommend earplugs to help with the street traffic.


Will definitely stay here again!

4.2 on May 23, 2012

Fantastic get away, great location, superb breakfast, friendly, involved innkeepers - overall - a lovely experience.


Hoyt House Bed and breakfast

4.8 on May 20, 2012

Beautiful B/B, Fantastic Service, Excellent Gourmet Breakfasts, Very informative and Personable Inn Keepers, Made us feel right at Home from the start of our visit. Will definitely return for another visit soon. Highly recommend.


Wonderful stay

5 on May 16, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at The Hoyt House. It's a wonderful home, the grounds are beautiful, rooms are nice and comfortable, Myrta and Deborah make you feel like family from the time you arrive and the food was outstanding. We can't wait to go back again this year.


Fantastic!

5 on May 16, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend at the Hoyt House. We do not stay at a bed and breakfast often, but what an outstanding vacation. The proprietors, Myrta and Deborah were gracious hostesses. Our every need was met. The property is well maintained, appointed and has all of the extras. These gals sure know how to make you feel at home. The location is fantastic- it is close to all the fun things to do and eat in Fernandina Beach. We highly recommend the Hoyt House and definitely plan to stay there again soon.


Weekday Escape

4.6 on May 14, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a quiet getaway after our busy business season and Hoyt House and Amelia Island did not disappoint. The only disappointing part was our stay was too short. Hope to return soon and continue our adventures.


Lovely B&B

4.6 on May 11, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a last minute trip up to Fernandina Beach for the night and wanted to try one of the B&Bs we'd seen during our day trips. We didn't realize it was "Shrimp Boat Festival" weekend and there were only 2 rooms left in the entire city. One was at the Hoyt House and we snapped it up. The Hoyt was just outside the barricades of the festival area so we were concerned about the noise and parking. While the on-site parking was tight, with a little creative maneuvering everyone was able to get their cars parked. We stayed in "Kate's Study", which has an octagon bay window (and which faces the festival area). It was a lovely room with a pretty sleigh bed and was surprisingly quiet! The bath was tiny, but what do you expect from an 1809 house? We got a drink from the beautiful bar and sat on the porch in rockers and watched the festival goers. There was a nice sized swimming pool and a hot tub. We enjoyed both. The breakfast was truly fantastic and the young lady who served it was charming and sweet. Everything about our stay was lovely and we would stay at the Hoyt again!


What a FAB B&B!!!

4.2 on May 06, 2012

My partner and I had a great 2 night stay in Lara's Room in March. Great, warm welcome; lovely linens and towels etc. Breakfast was amazing! Enjoyed free nibbles and wine in the afternoon and some fabulous belinis on the front porch in the evening. Borrowed an umbrella and chairs fro the 1 mile drive to the beach. Shopping and restaurants very near in the historic district. Overall a great place to stay - we will return!!


outstanding

5 on April 20, 2012

Had a wonderful time. Great service, gourmet breakfast, very clean and wonderful pool. An easy walk to all the restaurants and shopping. I highly recommend the Hoyt House.


Vacation Getaway

4.2 on April 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hoyt House for five nights and enjoyed the breakfasts and the location which is near the downtown area and allowed us to walk to many various restaurants.


Great Place to Stay

5 on April 15, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a most perfect four night stay at the Hoyt House. The inn was within walking distance of anything/everything in downtown Amelia and there were bikes available if you didn't feel like walking. The breakfast was fantastic, lots to choices and all of them delicious. Myrta and Deborah's attention to detail and "over the top" service was far beyond our expectations. They have a terrific social hour that no guest wants to miss. We feel as though we have found our home-away-from-home at the Hoyt House and will choose to stay here for all future visits


Spring Break Discovery

5 on April 12, 2012

Great hosts and amenities. location is perfect as we didn't have to use our car the entire stay.


Anniversary Getaway

5 on April 11, 2012

Wish we could have stayed 2 nights instead of just one. We enjoyed the weather, bike riding, special breakfast, accomodations were fabulous and especially enjoyed visiting other guests at the commplimentary wine and cheese social. This was our second visit and plan to make it a tradition each year.


Great weekend at Amelia Island

4.0 on March 16, 2012

The hospitality at Hoyt House was wonderful. Our room was spacious and we enjoyed the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The breakfasts were delicious and we were happy to receive made-to-order meals from a menu. Likewise, the 5 o'clock get togethers with complimentary cocktail and tasty appetizers were a treat. We sat outside by the pool which was a very beautiful setting. The outdoor whirlpool looked enticing but we didn't use it. All in all, Hoyt House made our three nights in Amelia Island memorable.


We would not change a thing!

4.8 on March 15, 2012

This was an amazing place to stay. Deborah and Myrta have this down pat. Breakfast is a culinary treat starting with homemade sticky buns! The room was perfectly appointed with everything you could need. The bed was so comfortable we did not want to leave. We would recommend this place to anyone and already booked for next year.


exceptional hospitality, incredibily delicious breakfast

5 on March 11, 2012

If you want to truly EXPERIENCE Fernandina Beach and Amelia Island Hoyt House B & B is a MUST. To the first point of contact, to our final goodbye's, Myrta and Deborah, the Innkeepers, went above and beyond to make us feel special and cared for. The 3 course breakfast was beyond anything I have ever experienced, and I travelled the world for a living. The comfort of the beds and the appointments of the rooms is more than you would expect at any 5 star resort. This was not just an ordinary vacation, this was a treasured memory that I will share with anyone that asks. Thank you Myrta and Deborah I will be back.


birthday weekend

5 on March 05, 2012

I took my husband to Amelia Island and Hoyt House as a surprise for his birthday. Myrta was extremely helpful in taking the reservation and in making reservations for me for several things - meals, a carriage ride, and a boat ride. And Deborah is a truly amazing chef.....breakfast was just elegant. The house itself is really beautifully maintained and furnished and very clean. We loved all of the extra touches - cheese, crackers and fruit in the afternoon, umbrellas in case of rain, cookies and fruit in our room when we arrived...and perhaps the most comfortable bed in the universe. It is very conveniently located - we were able to walk everywhere during our stay. Myrta, Deborah and their staff deserve very, very high marks for creating a lovely warm and welcoming place to stay. I feel so lucky to have chosen their home for our birthday "getaway" weekend. They made the difference between us having a good weekend.....and having a GREAT one. Our thanks to Myrta, Deborah and their staff along with our sincere hope to be a guest there again in the not too distant future.


Hoyt House Yacht

5 on January 15, 2012

The yacht, 'Nice Aft', was a fantastic and unusal place to take my husband for his birthday. Extremely roomy and comfortable 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom with living, kitchen and dining areas inside and open deck spaces outside. The gourmet breakfast at the main house was worthy of 5 Michelin stars. The inkeepers attention to detail and hospitality is unparalleled. Great place to stay!


I now like Florida better

5 on January 12, 2012

Very pleasant experience. Our needs were met without someone being intrusive. Room size was very nice and beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Looking forward to going back


Surley sets the standard

4.0 on January 12, 2012

Although my experience with Bed & Breakfasts in Florida is very limited, I think I've found the place that surely sets the standard. It's the Hoyt House on Amelia Island. This lovely home stands on the corners of 8th Street and Centre Street in downtown Amelia Island, in the heart of the town's historic district. And we can thank the newest innkeepers, Myrta and Deborah, for creating what I consider more than your average bed and breakfast. Their motto is "To Exceed Your Expectations" and indeed they do with extras that you don't get from other B&Bs in the area, or probably anywhere else: concierge service, DVD players in the rooms with an extensive DVD library, white noise machines to soothe you to sleep, complimentary popcorn at 4pm, complimentary beer and wine at Happy Hour in the new pub-style bar, and of course, the made to order breakfast which is second to none. Being on the main street unfortunately has its downside. 8th Street leads directly a nearby paper mill and trucks do drive by often and can be quite loud. The Hoyt House does seem to be quieter inside and the white noise machines help tremendously to keep the truck sounds to a minimum at night. We stayed in the Oliver Room which is downstairs and on the side of the house farthest from the street. We didn't hear very much street noise at night. Thank you Myrta and Deborah for your hospitality. We hope to come see you again soon.


great Christmas at the Hoyt House

5 on December 31, 2011

Deborah and Myrta have raised the bar in hospitality service to new heights. We and our daughter booked our 2011 Christmas holiday at the Hoyt House and our stay exceeded our every expectation. From the delicious breakfast menu cooked to perfection and wine, hors d'oeuvres and that special Malibu Black from their bar, to the new friendships created while enjoying the evening on the front porch, all combined to make our stay memorable. We have stayed in many B&B's across the country and by far, none can hold a candle to the ambiance and friendly service provided by Deborah, Myrta and their staff. A stay at the Hoyt House will not be forgotten. Sam And Brenda.


romantic getaway

5 on December 22, 2011

The new proprietors Myrta & Deborah have collaborated together to make the Hoyt House a wonderful and friendly experience. A beautiful Victorian mansion with all the modern amenities, yet still cozy. The owners are very friendly, kind and extremely talented. The complimentary breakfast meal is absolutely the best . We wish them continued success as we know they will always try to outdo themselves. Best Regards Dominique & Lisa Huret


Great choice :)

5 on December 05, 2011

Chose this wonderful location to get Married, & could not have made a better choice ! Between the room / house, unbelievable food, & genuine warm friendly service, made our stay, & special day all we could hope for. Planning a return very soon. Deland,Fl


Beautiful B&B; Great Get-A-Way

5 on November 09, 2011

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of being guests at the Hoyt House. What a lovely experience. The breakfast prepared by Chef Deborah was amazing. Be sure and try those wonderful sticky buns, what a treat. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. Myrta and Deborah were exceptional hosts and very personable and always available to answer questions or make reservations for dinner. We are looking forward to our next visit at the Hoyt House. Make your reservations, you won't be disappointed.


“Amazing and friendly hosts for a smooth relaxing destination wedding.”

4.6 on November 08, 2011

We just had a destination wedding at the Hoyt house. Neither us nor our guests had been to Amelia Island before, so we planned everything remotely through internet and phone. Myrta and Deborah were both very helpful and had answers for all the questions or concerns we had. We were so glad we picked this place, not only because the historic mansion is full of antique favors, big and clean rooms, huge backyard area and hot tub, but also the hosts were so accommodating! Despite its age, the house is absolutely beautiful and can accommodate every modern convenience. The breakfasts were delicious, and I'm already missing their French press coffee~!


Week End Stay

4.8 on November 03, 2011

Both Deborah and Myrta were so friendly and accomodating. We couldn't have been more pleased with their personal touch during our weekend stay. It by the way, included a murder mystery and they added to the fun everyone had. Looking forward to my next trip. Oh, and the food was great, not only breakfast but dinner too.


Great getaway weekend!

5 on October 23, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed sneaking away to Amelia Island and finding this "jewel". This place was first-class. From the private, fully stocked lounge, to the relaxing wrap-around porch with swings and rocking chairs, it was a getaway dream. Great gourmet breakfast made to order with French-pressed coffee. Overall, great B & B with warm and friendly staff. We'll be back!!!


A big "WOW" on Amelia Island

5 on October 22, 2011

Myrta and Deborah were incredible hosts that made our anniversary getaway a very special time. What a wonderful place - we'll be back.


Third time staying here - our 30th Anniversary

4.0 on October 12, 2011

This is our third time staying here over the years. We've been impressed each and every time we have stayed. The new addition of the "Bar" is a great addition and allows those that want, to socialize and talk to other visitors. The breakfast is amazing and well prepared and served. I would suggest planning your dining time in advance if you like to eat at a specific time since the starting times are staggered and fill up. Their system works well and allows you to have personalized service. I loved the new Keurig coffee makers and used them both a lot! We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and were upgraded to a nicer room. The rooms are all clean and the amenities cover everything you could possibly ask for. The location is within walking distance to the town and shopping, with lots of great dining choices!


Our favorite place to get away.

5 on October 05, 2011

The grounds were well taken care of and large enough for a leisurly walk. The pool and spa are awesome. My wife and I enjoyed the breakfast. Everything was so good that we could not finish it. We will be back.


Weekend Getaway

5 on September 23, 2011

Hoyt House was the perfect getaway weekend destination. Close to the beach and the shopping area we were provided with perfect attention to every detail and wonderful inkeepers! A beautiful pool and hottub provided the perfect way to end the day and the added bar created a friendly social gathering place. The breakfast was sinfully delicious!! We cannot wait to return!!


Awesome first time B&B experience

5 on September 16, 2011

First time at a B&B and throughly enjoyed my stay! Deb & Myrta have awesome personalities and made my boyfriend and I feel right at home! Breakfast was absolutely delicious. We stayed on the yacht which was a memorable event! If you haven't stayed on a yacht, I highly recommend it here, at the Hoyt House!


Fantastic! Will definitely make repeat visits!

5 on September 08, 2011

Myrta and Deborah run a fantastic B&B! They are friendly but not intrusive. The food is fantastic, and the complimentary happy hour is a wonderful way to cap off the day and kick off the night! Definitely take advantage of the private pool and two person hammock, and ask to get one of Deborah's phenomenal margaritas! Go and go often!


Kudos to the chef!

4.6 on September 05, 2011

Food was excellent! Exceeded my expectations. Beautiful parlor and bar area was classy and quaint. Complimentary cocktail and appetizers at 5pm with the owners and other guests. Bicycles provided to guests for a short ride to the beach. One of the few bed and breakfast in the area with it's own parking lot. The only negative comment is that is sits next to a busy street with lots of truck traffic. But the staff was friendly and courteous and I would definately stay there again!


Awesome!

4.6 on September 05, 2011

The trip was fantastic! The inn is beautiful and the ladies do a great job making you feel welcome and comfortable. The amenities are the best I have ever experienced!


As Good As It Gets!

5 on August 04, 2011

What a wonderful experience in Historic Fernandina Beach! A weekend get-a-way for my wife's birthday turned into a new appreciation for B&Bs as we have now stayed in one that got everything right. Room, social areas (including a pub room), pool, spa and every detail you could want or need. Can't wait to go back.


a beautiful and romantic get-a-way

5 on August 01, 2011

We enjoyed the entire experience at the Hoyt house. The Inn keepers are friendly and warm. They go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable and enjoy your stay. Great location in Amelia Island. A short walk to shopping and dining.


Wonderful place to stay!!!

5 on July 20, 2011

Location, hosts, room, food. Everything was wonderful!!!!


You won't be disappointed!

5 on July 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hoyt House on our 8th Anniversary. Our room was "Lara's Room" and it was lovely. The gourmet breakfast was delicious and very generous. We were able to take advantage of the spa and pool on both nights we stayed and enjoyed them very much. Myrta and Deborah are wonderful hosts and made sure everything was great for our stay. We would highly recommend Hoyt House when staying in Amelia Island.


Loved it can"t wait to come back

5 on July 17, 2011

The Inn is absolutely gorgeous. From the moment you step foot on the property, you are greeted by beautiful old trees draped with moss, with a wrap around porch to enjoy the beautiful sights of this amazing property. Inside was just as beautiful with the antique furnishings and sweet chirps from Kiwi (the lovebird). The Inn is spotless, and very comfortable and inviting. Deborah and Myrta make you feel as if you are at home.They have by far exceeded my expectations in every way possible. They truly love what they do and it is evident in every way, from the Wine and Cheese social, to the best breakfasts we have EVER eaten. Deborah really know how to cook to perfection and Myrta serves it with a beautiful smile on her face. We stayed in the Wells room, with fresh baked cookies and water on our arrival. The bed was very comfortable, and nice view of the lovely pool and Jacuzzi. We could not have chosen a better place to spend or 25th anniversary. Thank you Deborah and Myrta can't wait until we can visit again.


Last minute getaway

5 on July 08, 2011

I decided at the last minute to go away on the July 4th holiday weekend. With limited flights out of the DC area, I ended up finding a direct flight to Jacksonville and wanted to stay on Amelia Island. I first called the inn with a few questions, which Myrta happily answered and off I went. I was thrilled with the inn, accommodations, the breakfasts, the cocktail hour, the beach, the pool, the area - it was all so lovely. I stayed in a basic room but I could not have enjoyed myself more. Thank you to Myrta and Deborah, Hoyt House Innkeepers, for such attention to detail and superb service. LB


Can't wait to go back

5 on July 03, 2011

This is a beautifully restored 1905 house in the middle of Fernandina Beach. The owners Martya and Deborah are warm and loving women. As relatively new innkeepers, they provide many amenities including great breakfasts, afternoon cocktails, a pool and of course well appointed rooms. I highly recommend this B & B if you are looking for a respite in this very laid back area of North Florida. Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple


Great get away

4.0 on June 09, 2011

Wonderful place to rest & relax. Lovely wrap around porch great to sit and read. House takes you back in time full of lovely antiques. Definetly we will be back for another stay. Breakfast a special treat every day something differant. Happy hour every night so nice getting to meet the other guests. Very friendly and warm atmosphere.


Attention to every detail, wonderful spot!

4.8 on June 04, 2011

Wonderful experience with great service, food, location, pool and atmosphere. Would go back in a heart beat. Debbie


Outstanding stay at Hoyt House

5 on May 20, 2011

My husband and I spent 5 wonderful nights last week at the charming Hoyt House with the incomparable innkeepers Deborah and Myrta. They are both very warm and welcoming and exceeded our expectations to make sure we had a great vacation (They succeeded!) Our room (Willis) had a very comfortable bed and a spacious, clean bathroom. We were greeted with fresh baked cookies and apples in our room. My husband and I are still talking about the yummy, large breakfast portions (fresh fruit and especially the fritattas and the poached egg over the fried potato slices) We spent a wonderful afternoon relaxing in the fabulous backyard pool. Deborah and Myrta thought of everything--we enjoyed borrowing their bikes, beach chairs, towels, and boogie boards! We loved hanging out with the other guests at the afternoon "happy hour" complete with complimentary refreshments. they were full of wonderful advice for the area. It was a quick walk to the rest of the historic district. You'll love staying here, too!


Bed, Breakfast, & Beyond

5 on May 19, 2011

My wife and I spent our 1-week honeymoon at the Hoyt house. Deborah & Myrta gave an extra shot of warmth that no B&B could offer on it's own as well of a list of amenities that made our stay one we'll remember for the rest of our lives. We purchased the Romance Package which included out of this world chocolate covered strawberries, a bottle of champagne, a picnic basket lunch, 2 massages, and a fruit/shrimp platter. This was on top of their standard amenities which exceeded our expectations, such as 1) the daily complimentary cocktail hour (generous pour of 1 beverage of your choice) and an arrangement of fruits, meats, cheeses, olives, and hummus, 2) the complimentary bicycle rentals, 3) the assortment of newspapers and books to read, 4) the extensive DVD library, 5) the beach gear, 6) and discounts on some local activities. We most definitely will return to the Hoyt House and recommend it to our friends and family.


great charming stay

5 on May 15, 2011

we enjoyed our 3 night stay as a perfect start for a 2 1/2 week roundtrip in florida. beautifull rooms, a delicious + delightfull breakfast, a warm hosting and a super poolside. best thanks to myrta and deborah.


enjoyed just being there

4.6 on May 15, 2011

I use to live in Fernandina and know this is the best B&B on the island. My stay there was thoroughly enjoyable. The staff is awesome, the house is lovely and the porch is magic.


Great group destination

4.0 on May 10, 2011

We had our 25th annual gathering of college sorority sisters at Hoyt House and it was great. Myrta and Deborah were so accommodating and helped to make it a great 4 days. The location near the historic town of Fernandina Beach provided lots of great shopping and opportunities to enjoy the history of the area. I recommend it highly.


Best B&B on Amelia Island

5 on May 09, 2011

It was the best reunion we've ever had at a B&B. Myrta and Deborah could not have been more accomodating for needs and requests. The food was so comforting and delicious!. We all enjoyed the porch for chatting and laughing. The location is A-one for the downtown stroll and shopping. The perfect place!!


Our college sorority spent three nights and four days at

5 on May 09, 2011

this beautiful B&B. The service, meals, pool, and lovely rooms far exceeded our expectations. Wonderful care by all, would highly recommend this B&B. I would come back and recommend without hestitation.


Splendid Historic Home, Attentive Innkeepers

5 on May 04, 2011

Excellent 3-course gourmet breakfast (and loved the French press coffee). Gorgeous, historic home, a foot-friendly location at doorstep to Fernandina's main corridor of boutiques, restaurants, pubs, very attentive innkeepers Myrta and Deborah, and fun social hour for cocktails and mingling in the "English pub room." My inclination is that those who stay once at Hoyt House will be back again next time they visit Amelia Island, we'd stay again here. The innkeepers are aiming to please (and doing a very good job of it, in my opinion). These gals are really nice and made us feel welcome and at ease. If you’re a porch person, you’re going to enjoy Hoyt’s wonderful wrap around verandah. I tried Deborah's Amelia Martini (or "Hoytie Toytie") and sipped it while sitting on the porch swing (yummy). My husband and I slept in the Mizell room with bay window overlooking the rear pool garden. It’s the largest guest suite at the inn. We arrived in our room to find chocolate chip cookies (and they really were still warm), along with welcome tray offering fruit, water, and wine. We liked having robes in our room to slip into, plus there's also terry wraps (nice for back and forth to the pool/hot spa) -- they've got a hammock out there, too, and gazebo, lots of lounges. You can hop on bicycles and ride across the island about 2 miles on Atlantic Ave. (sidewalks all the way) to arrive at the beach (and Hoyt House offers complimentary bicycles for guests). I recommend getting up early, bike riding to the beach to watch the sunrise over the Atlantic which is spectacular, and then pedal back for the wonderful breakfast. We ended up skipping lunch and just enjoyed the complimentary wine with fruit & cheese at the social hour, and then ventured out into historic district for dinner. The sun sets over the river in the historic district (just walk from Hoyt 8 blocks down to the Fernandina marina area, a great spot to watch a sunset).


This B&B has it all!

5 on May 02, 2011

We just returned home from a weeks stay at the Hoyt House on Amelia Island and absolutely loved it? This B&B has it all. The owners are warm and friendly and are always available to answer questions or just chat about the local area. The mansion is decorated with period antiques and is large enough for you to find a quiet corner to read a book alone, but also just small enough where you can find company if you want it. This lovely historic home provides everything you need for a fun and relaxing vacation (even bikes are available at no additional charge to use during your stay). The beach is only a mile away and the historic district, which is full of unique restaurants and great boutiques, is literally steps away. If you don't feel like going anywhere, you can just relax on a float in the heated pool or read a juicy novel in the shade under one of the umbrellas next to the pool. We really enjoyed the social hour every day as well and met some wonderful new people and got to know the owners better. Myrta and Deborah are the hardest working innkeepers I have ever met. They go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and keep the inn running smoothly. We will definitely be returning to the Hoyt House and highly recommend it to anyone who appreciates old world charm and good southern hospitality.


The best three days one can spend at a Bed & Breakfast

5 on April 28, 2011

Innkeepers Myrta and Deborah provided us with advice and services that took all the searching out of our vacation. The breakfasts were exciting and the evening wine and cheese relaxing.


Best ever stay

4.8 on April 23, 2011

Great Inn,location,service, room, everything was just great. The ladies are a hoot as well! Best breakfast I have ever had!!


Gourmet Heaven

4.6 on April 16, 2011

Charming could describe the Hoyt House but a better word would be GOURMET. When you relax and enjoy such delightful surroundings and warm and welcoming owners it's delightful and even somewhat expected. When you sit down to breakfast and are treated and pampered like royalty well, lets just say they had me hooked. The morning breakfast has been memorized by my tastebuds and sense of smell. Really if I was a greedy person I wouldn't tell anyone about my discovery, I have travelled on luxury vacations to many locations, I can say this rates with the best and is going into my book of favorite places to bring all my special friends and family for a memorable stay. Worldtravel Jo


Relaxing & Charming

5 on April 15, 2011

We really enjoyed our one night at the Hoyt House B&B Inn, and wish we didn't have to move to the hotel when my husband's conference started. The Ritz is nice and luxurioius, but doesn't make you feel as welcome as Mryta and Deborah do at their Inn. It is so relaxing, and we met some wonderful people even in such a short time. We will be going back as soon as we can get away again!


Will definitely visit Hoyt House again!

5 on April 11, 2011

We stayed last week at Hoyt House B&B on Amelia Island, and a more delightful stay could not be had. The house and rooms were beautiful, comfortable, and scrupulously clean, and Deborah and Myrta made us feel right at home from the minute we walked in. The breakfasts were sublime -- far exceeding the usual fare of muffins and fruit we have received at other B&B's. The service provided by Deborah, Myrta, and the Hoyt House staff was impeccable. Just one example of the exemplary service was when the air conditioning had a glitch (likely related to strong overnight storms), and it was handled quickly, courteously and professionally, and fixed within a couple hours of our noticing anything was wrong. We were offered the alternative of changing rooms if the problem couldn't be fixed quickly, but that proved unnecessary. Still, the immediate attention to the a/c was greatly appreciated. The location is perfect, as you are walking distance to all the shops and restaurants of downtown Fernandina Beach, and a short drive or bike ride from the beach on the ocean side of the island. (It's walkable, too, if you don't mind carrying your stuff, but the drive is a straight shot to the beach parking lot.) Fort Clinch State Park is nearby, too, and well worth a visit. The cocktail hour at Hoyt House was relaxing and enjoyable, and we loved getting to know some of the other guests and chatting with Deborah and Myrta. They also have extensive knowledge of the local restaurants, and can recommend the best places to go, and the tourist traps to avoid! Hoyt House is truly a gem. I'm not sure a better B&B experience can be found, and we can't wait to return next year!


Beautiful Home

4.0 on March 22, 2011

It was a beautiful home and great location (walking distance to down town shops and restaurants). The only bad thing was it was off a mian street and it was very noisy (lots of trucks). The food was okay, but the service was great.


Southern Charm

4.2 on December 10, 2010

What a wonderful find in a small and charming North Florida town. The Hoyt House was authentically decorated, the service was excellent and the food exceptional!


A Wonderful Experience

4.8 on November 26, 2010

My husband & I spent two nights, for my birthday, with Myrta & Deborah and had a wonderful time. We felt as if we were staying with friends! They were wonderful hostesses and have made their house beautiful & inviting. Breakfast was wonderful and along with the cookies and wine and cheese in the evening we were never hungry. The town is lovely and the Inn is located within walking distance to all the restaurants and shops. We hope to be able to visit there again soon.


Outstanding from begining to end.

5 on August 01, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a week-end get away to the Hoyt House. Myrta and Debra were the perfect hostesses. They go above and beyond to make their guests feel comfortable. The breakfasts were great and varied every morning.The house was beautiful and our room was very comfortable. We will be back!


Hoyt House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $195 - $369
  • Reviews (133) 4.8
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9042774300
  • Fax 1-9042774305
  • Toll free 1-8004322085

Visit Website »

View details

Top