Recent Reviews in Ferndale, California

One night in Ferndale... at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4.4 reviewed on September 22, 2016

On a rather murky Tuesday afternoon in Northern California, the outlook brightened considerably upon our arrival at this delightful Victorian Inn. Greeted by the lovely housekeeper, whose name escapes me at this time, we were duly shown to our room; the Veneto. Only one word is really needed to describe this room...wow... Catching glimpses of the other rooms, ours was obviously not a one-off - the quality of decor and attention to both finish and detail is truly outstanding (museums and stately homes could do well to visit the Gingerbread Mansion for tips on how to 'do it' properly) The daily Cheese & Wine reception, prior to walking out into town for a pleasant dinner at a local restaurant, was a nice touch and the perfect opportunity to sample delicious Humboldt County wines. After our meal, retiring to our Venetian-inspired fantasy room ushered-in a sound and extremely comfortable nights’ sleep. Rising to a chilly morning, breakfast beckoned; sitting with our fellow guests over Frittata, Fruit & Toast – a fine way to prepare us for our next days’ driving tour in the States. All in all, we could not fault any aspect of this establishment; full marks for presentation, style and of course, charm.

View more reviews for this inn


Labor Day Weekend at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 reviewed on September 19, 2016

The Gingerbread Mansion and staff provided a wonderful and enchanting getaway for my husband and I. The decor was beautifully done and the food was excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


On the coast at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 reviewed on August 31, 2016

This was a great find. We came over the mountains for a respite from the heat of Redding. The service was impeccable and the evening tea in the garden with wine and snacks really started the stay off well. Rooms were gorgeous and the staff was fantastic. Breakfast (included) was terrific! We had a delightful stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely setting! at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4.2 reviewed on August 27, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful mansion. Everyone was very friendly & helpful. Only wish we had more time to spend there!

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Getaway at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 24, 2016

We had been to Ferndale several times and had decided to make plans to stay in the gingerbread mansion for our 35 wedding anniversary.It was great!

View more reviews for this inn


AWESOME BED AND BREAKFAST at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2016

This was my Grandchildren's first experience in a bed and breakfast. I do believe it will be a memorable experience. Cathy was great and spooked them with her ghost story. Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 22, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay. We arrived late and they were attentive to getting us settled in despite the late hour. Room was very comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty!

View more reviews for this inn


Off the beaten path at The Redwood Suites (Ferndale, California)

3.0 reviewed on August 20, 2016

Room was as expected although I was concerned to find the empty coffee pot still turned on, this could have been serious. Breakfast in the morning was a nice touch and I certainly appreciated the coffee to go to take on my way.

View more reviews for this inn


Very thoughtfull at Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 reviewed on August 16, 2016

Our family book a room on August 12, 2016 in Victoria Inn. Lowell called us at 8:30 pm that evening when we were still 30 miles from the hotel. He kindly informed us that all shops in town close at 9:00 pm and we'd better find a place for dinner before we got to hotel if we had a plan to have dinner in the hotel or in the town. It was about 9:30 pm when we arrived and we were very happy to see a note for us on the front door of the hotel. As it was dark and we could not find a parking sign I called Lowell for parking guidance. Before I could hear his answer, he appeared at the entrance and guided us to parking and to our room.After a long day of driving from the north, Victoria Inn and Lowell gave us a very warm and thoughtful welcome. Thank you very much Lowell! Thank you very much Victoria Inn! Will definitely recommend to our friends and come back to stay in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic, beautiful, delicsious and fun. at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 11, 2016

Best B and B in northern California.

View more reviews for this inn


Extremely Nice Stay! at Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

4.6 reviewed on August 10, 2016

My husband and I stayed in the Ellis room at The Victorian Inn in Ferndale, and we loved it! I will admit that I have high standards and typically spend a lot on hotel rooms. These rooms were very affordable and it was probably the cleanest room I have ever stayed in and the bed was SO comfortable. We even bought a set of the sheets they use (they sell them at the front desk). We HIGHLY recommend this quaint Inn if you are visiting the Redwoods.

View more reviews for this inn


The Place to Stay at in Ferndale! at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4.6 reviewed on August 09, 2016

We stayed in one of the first floor bedrooms and thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations along with the social time with fellow travelers.

View more reviews for this inn


Just what we hoped for at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4.0 reviewed on August 05, 2016

We spent a good portion of the day seeing the sights from Mendocino to Fernwood so by the time we reached the inn, we were ready for a little pampering and that's just what we got. Although we arrived just after the tea and wine social hour, the hostess allowed us to put together a plate of treats and pour a glass. We were even encouraged to snoop around the grand house (what a layout! nicely appointed and the top floor room is a sight for the eyes!). Not being able to decide on the two local restaurants that were recommended, we brought a local pizza back to our room, to take advantage of the private patio we had. Hostess turned down our bed and left heart-shaped chocolates behind. Room was quiet and bed comfortable for sleeping. Nice amenities in the bathroom. Breakfast is in the lovely dining room at a choice of tables. Waitstaff is attentive; food above average. One of the baked goods was slightly burnt, but overall, food was plentiful and tasty. I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

View more reviews for this inn


Great get away at Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2016

Comforatable beds, great staff, charming bar in resturant with live music. Ordered a bottle of local wine with our reservation which was wonderful. Wish we could have stayed longer.

View more reviews for this inn


Pacific Northwest Trip at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4.0 reviewed on August 02, 2016

We loved our stay at Gingerbread Mansion and we would definitely return. Ferndale is a lovely, quaint little town and we enjoyed our time there. When we arrived, Vicky was very kind. Showed us around, made dinner reservations for us and then we enjoyed some afternoon snacks and wine..lovely welcoming. The only complaint that we had was that the morning kitchen staff seemed harried and rushed and we didn't care for the main dishes as much as we have in other b & b's and we have been to many. The first morning was a runny type egg in a cream sauce...and the second morning was an overdone quiche. All of the other foods were delicious, but the main dishes were very disappointing.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2016

From the outside, it looks like something from a fairy tale, and inside it doesn't disappoint either. This hotel is just charming, no other way to describe it. Checking in is a breeze, so easy in fact I can't remember doing anything. The staff are ultra friendly and helpful, and they had told us we could arrive early and get booked in at noon as we wanted to get changed for a wedding. On arrival, seeing how much we were impressed with the decor, they said if you see an open door, just go on in in and look around, which we did the rooms are just stunning (see our and their websites photos). The room was large and well appointed, with a clawfoot tub in the main area and a nice bathroom with walk-in-shower. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The breakfast was very good as well, not a lot of choice, but very good. Oh, yes, I almost forgot, there is a free afternoon tea as well. Highly recommended, we hope to stay there again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


A comfortable journey back in time at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 reviewed on July 26, 2016

Upon our arrival we were greeted and invited into the house and given a short tour. Our room, The Hideaway, was wonderful. The absolute best bed/mattress Ever ! Nice home cooked breakfast too.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Gingerbread you'll ever have at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4.8 reviewed on July 19, 2016

Fantastic mansion and lovely staff highly recommend staying in this lovely inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely Fabulous! at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 reviewed on July 06, 2016

My daughter and I stayed here for r & r. We couldn't have made a better choice. The surrounding town is as charming and beautiful as the Mansion.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Stay in town at Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

4.8 reviewed on July 05, 2016

I grew up in Ferndale, this was the second time we stayed at Victorian Inn and once again it was awesome. The Breakfast is the BEST made to order. I would totally recommend the Victorian Inn to any one who is headed to Ferndale for the Humboldt County Fair, special event or just a vacation location.

View more reviews for this inn


A Dream Come True at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2016

I had always dreamed of staying in The Gingerbread Mansion Inn, My dream came true on June 27! We stayed in the Lilac Room, a Beautifully decorated, Light and Purple room. The Bed was so comfortable, the Clawfoot Tub, soothing, the Stained glass window above the Tub, softly lit from the sunset, was gorgeous! The Food was so excellent, served with such a gentle smile, every moment in the Gingerbread Mansion Inn was Glorious, Thank you so much!

View more reviews for this inn


Girl trip at Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 reviewed on June 29, 2016

My friend and I took our annual vacation to the redwoods (breathtaking). We decided to stay in Ferndale and found the Victorian Inn very easily on a website which makes reservations. The reviews were excellant so we decided to stay there. Well, the reviews don't even begin to give an accurate description. Our stay was perfect, made all the more better by the staff and Inn. The room was beautiful and comfortable and the facilities wonderful. Our trip couldn't have been better!

View more reviews for this inn


Kiwis sabbatical at The Redwood Suites (Ferndale, California)

3.8 reviewed on June 28, 2016

The Redwood Suites are very nice and the dining Victoria Inn was outstanding in terms of food and decor

View more reviews for this inn


2 nights at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4.6 reviewed on June 22, 2016

Have stayed before and this continued to impress.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4.8 reviewed on June 15, 2016

We had a wonderful stay. Quite, lovely setting, great town.

View more reviews for this inn


Would stay here again in a heartbeat! at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2016

Worth every cent of the cost! We truly enjoyed every minute of our stay, and poking our heads into the rooms that were not occupied at the time to check out which room we would like to return to next time.

View more reviews for this inn


A Delightful Experience at Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

4.8 reviewed on June 05, 2016

We decided to spend our 5-night vacation in one place and chose the Victorian Inn in Ferndale from a selection of potential accommodations. We are glad we did. The experience was exceptionally good. The architecture and quality of the building and its guest rooms are remarkable. It was a treat to stay in a hotel that was built with such fine craftsmanship. The personalized service we received from the inn's staff and owner was no less impressive. We felt welcomed as family. It was nice stay in such fine and historic accommodations and be treated with individualized attention and care. I give the Victorian Inn in Ferndale "Two thumbs up!"

View more reviews for this inn


Best place ever! at Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 reviewed on May 31, 2016

Best place ever!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 reviewed on May 29, 2016

Great Victorian hotel in this quiet cool looking town. Very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms are just like walking into a dream. Decor is just phenomenal. Very pleasant temperatures, gorgeous views, and just a perfect place to get away from city noise.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience at Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2016

My 2 sisters and I had a mid-week getaway and had a wonderful experience. We stayed in the Viola McBride room. The beds were comfortable, the room beautiful. Food in the VI restaurant was delicious. Everyone was very helpful and cordial. If you enjoy having a Victorian experience, this is the place!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (4.59)
  2. Victorian Inn (4.52)
  3. The Redwood Suites (4.23)
Top
}