Recent Reviews in Essex, Connecticut

Return of the Brits to Essex at The Griswold Inn (Essex, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on February 24, 2016

My Partner and I stayed at the "Gris" in November 2015. We thoroughly enjoyed both the stunning town and the historic Inn. I was intrigued by the fact that the history of the town was recorded in an almost self deprecating manner. Praising the British raid for its well organised and planned raid. A very refreshing attitude. The Inn provided an extremely welcoming atmosphere and I must congratulate all the staff who went out of their way to ensure we had a very pleasant stay. Thank you Essex.

View more reviews for this inn


This is not an INN... it's an overpriced hotel. at Copper Beech Inn (Ivoryton, Connecticut)

1.4 reviewed on October 19, 2015

Strap in for a brutally honest review... This hotel (I cannot call it an inn), was disappointing on many levels. There was no innkeeper to greet us. I checked in at the front desk like a typical hotel. The girl at the front desk looked to be 16 years old. Cordial, but not friendly. Definitely not what I expected from an inn. We drove around to the "carriage house" which is not that in the least. It is in fact closer to a retreat center bunk house with hotel rooms. Decor is very dated. Needs new paint everywhere. Ceiling is cheap sprayed "popcorn" just like a cheap hotel. It also had a bizarre valance above the bed. The wall to wall carpeting was dirty and stained and in need serious cleaning or replacement. The furniture in room (two chairs and a couch) are dated and too small to sit comfortably in for any length of time. The bathroom hasn't been updated in years. The stone tile flooring was literally cracked right through and had missing pieces. The bathroom floor was heated, but was too hot to stand on with bare feet. The shower was combined with the oval jacuzzi tub making it awkward. The old wooden deck was listed as a "private East facing deck" but there was no privacy. It faced parking and trees, there was no sunrise or any benefit to it being "east facing." The deck seating was two wrought iron chairs which were dirty and uninviting. Part of our plan was to relax on the deck and read books in the afternoon... that was a total bust. The door to exterior did not shut properly, and I was barely able to lock it. The door itself is rotting away all along the bottom. Additional pieces of the door came off during our stay. It was abundantly clear that this place cares more about the public restaurant than the rooms and those staying in them. We would have been better off in a $90 hotel room... Unfortunately we spent three times too much. I would have complained to the innkeeper... but there isn't one. I would never recommend this place to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to end our vacation. at Riverwind Inn (Deep River, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2015

We traveled from Acadia and found this lovely inn. It is beautiful and so inviting. Everything was wonderful. The innkeepers were so nice. The breakfast was great. We are already planning this lovely inn as our next destination.

View more reviews for this inn


a quiet night with dinner and entertainment at Copper Beech Inn (Ivoryton, Connecticut)

4.6 reviewed on August 13, 2015

Great dinner, accomodations, and entertainment.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing place, immaculate, avoid Mondays! at Copper Beech Inn (Ivoryton, Connecticut)

3.8 reviewed on April 20, 2015

My husband and I would stay here again, but not on a Monday when everything in and out of the Inn closes. It's hard to justify at this price point shutting down everything to make Monday visitors feel second rate. Otherwise, a great experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Copper Beach Inn - Ivoryton, CT at Copper Beech Inn (Ivoryton, Connecticut)

4.2 reviewed on September 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Copper Beech Inn and it was the perfect setting. It was our first time to the New England area and the Innkeeper Pete Pajor gave us alot of tips on special places not mentioned on our itinerary. I like to also mention Sara who was extremely knowledgeable and helpful along with Ronnie help make our stay very pleasant. We had breakfast at the inn every morning which was cooked by Hemburto (Eddie) and everything was first class. We would definietly consider staying there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and delightful at Copper Beech Inn (Ivoryton, Connecticut)

4.4 reviewed on September 18, 2014

On our way home from Newport had an overnight stay in this charming and lovely B and B. Our room in the carriage house was private, large and beautifully appointed. Food and service five stars.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice B&B at Copper Beech Inn (Ivoryton, Connecticut)

2.8 reviewed on April 22, 2014

They were nice but a little rude.

View more reviews for this inn


Copper Beech Inn at Copper Beech Inn (Ivoryton, Connecticut)

4.2 reviewed on April 18, 2014

Very New Englandish

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and Quaint at Copper Beech Inn (Ivoryton, Connecticut)

3.8 reviewed on February 08, 2014

Very friendly and attentive staff. Room was comfortable and welcoming. Food was delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


One of the best B&B experiences we've had at The Nehemiah Brainerd House B&B (Haddam, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on December 24, 2013

We stay at many B&Bs and/ or small inns when possible, and we've had the gamut of experiences. It was so great to stay with Maryan and Jeff at the Nehemiah Brainerd House because from the beginning, we felt welcomed and the owners made me feel like we were real guests, which, oddly enough, is a rare experience in the B&B field. The house itself is amazing and has been lovingly restored with beautiful antiques, yet feels as if you are stepping back in time. Our room was charming and the bed was lusciously soft- best mattress I've ever slept on! We slept deeply, which was a treat. Maryan made us reservations after suggesting many places to eat, and both she and Jeff made sure we had directions. Breakfast was wonderful and it gave us a chance to visit with our hosts, who were great conversationalists. Normally I would seek out another location for my next vacation, as I like to see a variety of places, but we want to come back here to experience this great inn and see it in a different season. I'm eager to see the grounds in spring as the house is set on a great piece of property overlooking the Connecticut River. They are in the middle of an addition, so there will be an even more tempting choice of rooms soon! We can't wait to visit her again.

View more reviews for this inn


Cups not in bathroom at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on November 01, 2013

only thing I noticed was that there were no cups in the bathroom. James Hubbard

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful weekend getaway at Copper Beech Inn (Ivoryton, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Copper Beech Inn for our anniversary and we loved it! We stayed in room 218 which had a gorgeous four-post bed and a great big hydro-tub. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and the meal was delicious. Breakfast, which is included, was not your average continental breakfast, but a choice of eight gourmet options. The grounds are kept beautifully and the staff was very friendly. If I had to find a negative, the only thing I would say is the wifi did not work so well outside of the main house. Overall, a wonderful place to stay!

View more reviews for this inn


pretty place at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

4.0 reviewed on October 19, 2013

Innkeeper very nice. Beautiful inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautifully decorated Connecticut B&B at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

4.0 reviewed on August 30, 2013

Really stunning property, decorated in antiques, relaxing color pallettes, lovely porches for relaxing outdoors before walking 2 minutes to dinner and Goodspeed Opera House for the evening. Breakfast was disappointing, compared to most B&B's, even those of lesser quality. There were limited options, and they had to be selected the night before along with a specific time. Bathroom was lovely, with romantic lighting, but you couldn't see to put on makeup!

View more reviews for this inn


Home Away From Home at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on August 26, 2013

The Garden Room was perfection. The bedroom and sittig room were lovely, spacious and very comfortable. The porch was an added bonus. Sitting outside and reading in the quiet of the country was a pleasure.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful B&B in Charming Setting at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on August 25, 2013

The staff is friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The semi private balcony was a lovely place to read and enjoy a warm August day and evening. The room was peaceful and comfortable. Convenient for the Goodspeed Theater. All in all an excellent stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Welcoming yet not intrusive at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on August 15, 2013

This immaculately restored home provided a beautiful escape from our week-long drive across the country. Mia, the owner, greeted us upon arrival, gave us a tour of the home, discussed the surrounding area, and then retreated to her own space. The next time we saw Mia or any other guests (there are five rooms) was the following morning at breakfast. The respect for the guests' privacy, beautiful home and rooms, and walking distance to restaurants made this a wonderful experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Boardman House & Goodspeed at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2013

This is the second year we have stayed at the Boardman House when we attended a performance at the Goodspeed Opera House. Mia is a gracious hostess who does whatever she can to make her guests comfortable. The inn itself is lovely - beautifully restored. Staying at the Boardman House feels like staying with a friend who has an elegant home.

View more reviews for this inn


Refined Elegance at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2013

It was far more than I could reasonably expect when choosing among the various b & b's. There was a quiet yet commanding elegance approaching the stark white exterior. Actually, why confuse the eye with layers of color and take away from the architecture. The interior is a whispered 'wow' experience. Not a dollar nor detail was spared in this amazing renovation of authenticity and taste. Contrary to the exterior, color abounds in the interior, from muted to deep, from walls to fabrics. And the quality of the antiques! The breakfast was well-prepared offering an interesting selection. And of course, Mia, the owner, was simply lovely and welcoming!

View more reviews for this inn


Very much worth it at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

4.6 reviewed on August 08, 2013

The location, the beautifully refurbished old building, the garden suite, Mia's cooking and her incredible welcoming warmth made our two night stay out of this world and hard to leave! We'd go back in a heartbeat and loved returning 'home' at the end of each day to our little patio, walking to the river and restaurants nearby, and all of the incredible New England countryside surrounding the location. That and Mia is a great host, ask her about the story of the B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


East Haddam comfort and relaxation. at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on July 25, 2013

Loved it and a wonderful place to stay for Goodspeed Opera House. Gracious and nice change of pace to a quiet, country, garden setting. Comfort and relaxation with a nice view of the CT River. Fabulous Second Empire style architecture wonderfully maintained. Patricia Kobetts

View more reviews for this inn


Wow! at The Nehemiah Brainerd House B&B (Haddam, Connecticut)

4.6 reviewed on July 21, 2013

My wife and I have rarely stayed in B&B's. I also rarely send in reviews about my experiences traveling. This home has changed the reason we will now go and explore more B&B's and write reviews. For those who make a habit of visiting and staying primarily in B&B's you must make a stop in Haddam. The innkeepers were very gracious and the home is restored with love and an eye on details.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful B & B at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on July 15, 2013

What a delightful B & B. Our room was so attractive and comfortable. Nicely served tasty breakfast. Getting tickets to Goodspeed Opera House just a block away.added to the charm of celebrating our 50th anniversary at such a elegant lovely place.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice B&B, great location at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

4.6 reviewed on July 14, 2013

We had the large room on first floor, nice shower and bathroom, walked to restaurant next to opera house, breakfast was good

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend at boardman house at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2013

What an extraordinary experience. Rooms are gorgeous, service very special, and breakfast a treat. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Summer 2013 at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

4.0 reviewed on July 08, 2013

Our first time staying in a B & B---and we made the right choice! It was a wonderful experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Setting at Copper Beech Inn (Ivoryton, Connecticut)

4.2 reviewed on July 02, 2013

Lovely setting, spacious room, nice bathroom and delicious food! Some deficits - no coffee machine, noisy heater, not well appointed

View more reviews for this inn


Loved this B & B ! at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on May 05, 2013

Loved this B & B ! Beautiful décor. Lovingly restored with great attention to detail and comfort. Rooms are spacious. Bathrooms new thoughtfully appointed with needed storage space. Spotlessly clean. Innkeeper 'Mia' .... is a love, friendly and charming. Walking distance to the historic Goodspeed Opera House on the Connecticut River. Don't miss whatever production is playing. Broadway quality. Beautiful area of the country and the State of Connecticut. Highly recommend !!!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Inn in CT at Boardman House B&B (East Haddam, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on April 04, 2013

Relaxing, beautiful, great location

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}