Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,8

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,8
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,7
  • Limpieza4,9
  • Comidas4,9

Puntuación basada en
93 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Excellent getaway

5 en junio 18, 2014

In May my wife and I went to Cameo Rose for our birthdays (66 & 70) and had a wonderful time. The room was beautiful and the view out the windows was good as was the grounds where we walked, especially the well kept up pine woods (thanks Gary). Any chef could not improve on Dawn’s breakfasts. They were beautiful and well explained as to each part and delicious. Dawn also takes into consideration individual needs (eg. diabetics) in preparing them. Dawn and Gary are wonderful hosts and obviously enjoy what they are doing (for over 23 years) and work together as a good team. We highly recommend Cameo Rose to anyone wanting to get away for a weekend or longer. We have already recommended it to friends and plan to go back for our 45th anniversary in August.


Winter Girl Friend Get-Away

5 en febrero 24, 2014

Cameo Rose was the perfect place for myself and my 3 girl friends to get away and be pampered. I loved that it was in the country, the views of snow covered hills, lots of trees and wild life walking about was fun to see. The place was immaculate inside and out. Dawn, I felt very special when I walked in and found you had taken care of all my special requests. Every detail in your home was carefully planned out. The 2 bedroom suite was much larger than expected, definitely plenty of room if you had 6. We all thought the beds were very comfortable and wanted to take them home. Words cannot even describe how much I enjoyed the breakfast. The presentation was elegant, the food tasted amazing and it was still healthy. We all walked away plenty full. You are charming and I enjoyed our conversations. You knew when to stop and chat and when to let us just sit back and enjoy the peace and quiet. All of us look forward to coming back again to experience the other seasons. I cannot wait to give my son and daughter-in-law a gift certificate to your inn as a Christmas gift this year. Thank you for making my weekend and my friends weekend something we will always remember. Thanks again Mary L.


Our first Bed & Breakfast experience

5 en febrero 03, 2014

My husband and I stayed for our anniversary. We really were not sure what to expect since we had never stay in a B&B before. Dawn went out of her way to make the trip special for us. She called and made reservations for us after recommending places to eat. And the next morning the four course breakfast was one of the best we had ever had. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back. We look forward to visiting with Dawn and Gary the next time we are in the area.


This is our favorite B&B of all time!

5 en agosto 13, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the Whirlpool Suite at the Cameo Rose. We have stayed there seven times over the past several years and have enjoyed several of the different rooms, but this is our favorite. It has a beautiful bedroom, sitting room, bathroom, and separate whirlpool room. Dawn and Gary are the perfect host; they make us feel like family. Dawn's breakfasts are to-die-for: always 4 courses and always finished with a dessert course just to feel really decadant. The grounds are beautiful with lots of flowers and walking paths. I find that my cares absolutely melt away when I am at the Cameo Rose. We have stayed at many B&Bs, but this is by far our favorite!


Top Of The Charts

5 en junio 01, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at B & B’s all over the country and we’ve got to rate the Cameo Rose right at the top. We like to recall certain things about places we’ve stayed and rate them according to such things as best breakfasts, cleanliness, inn keepers, interesting fellow guests, and such. Well, Dawn’s breakfasts are absolutely to die for. Couldn’t be better! After breakfast she and her hubby Gary joined us at the table, along with the other guests, for some great conversation. The spotlessly clean inn, quiet country setting, beautiful flower gardens, nearby wonderful restaurants and art galleries, altogether made this the best. It was a perfect place to celebrate my wife’s birthday. Don’t overlook this great destination!


Best Memory

5 en abril 20, 2013

As we review our four nights at the Cameo Rose, we are warmed by the memory of a pleasant getaway in a lovely setting. The Inn is evocative of a Victorian retreat and the surrounding woods and path provided a cozy walk in a winter wonderland. The warmth of our hosts was charming and breakfast was a new adventure every morning. We had never before had dessert after breakfast. We are enthusiastic in our recommendation to any who might be looking for a refuge in southern Wisconsin.


beautiful get-away

4,8 en abril 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this B&B. The breakfasts were over-the-top. The service was excellent. The whirlpool was comfy and the room relaxing. Although we came in April 2013 when it was a bit snowy yet, we hiked on the trails and loved it. We'd very much like to come in summer or fall when the gardens are in bloom.


My favorite place!

5 en octubre 17, 2012

My trip was a gift from my parents. I stayed for three nights, and I was delighted to be treated like a guest of friends. PEACEFUL HOME is the phrase that emcompasses my experience. The rooms (two) that I called my own were pretty, well-stocked and oodles of comfortable. The delicious breakfast (four-course Bon Apetit-cover yummy) and evening snack were wonderfully created by Dawn. Gary maintains several miles of wide, clear, circling trails that offer beautiful views in many directions - you can't get lost and you don't have to stop walking until you wish to. He is a wonderful steward, controlling invasive species and planting what belongs in that area of Wisconsin. WIldlife was plentiful and fun to walk with and watch.The location is convenient to a good list of places to visit and guests are provided with all information to do so, yet I felt as though I was in the middle of nowhere when on the grounds. Lastly, when all is done, the Bahrs provide numerous sitting areas for rest and contemplation or chatting near their large, serene koi pond. I even slept in the hammock one evening. I wish for you the visit that I experienced.


Cameo Rose (Nirvana)

5 en agosto 27, 2012

My wife and I have visited many B&B's in Wisconsin over the years, mainly Door County. We had to find a place for a night after a trip to Madison and chose Cameo Rose from their outstanding web site. We both needed to relax and the site looked like just what we needed. We were greeted by Dawn who was very friendly, providing a tour, suggestions for diner, places to visit, etc. The views on this property were outstanding upon arrival. The house was incredible, the room was simply beautiful. Many things in the home reminded me of my grandmothers home as a child. After a whirl pool bath, glass of wine, lemmonade to die for, my wife and hiked on trails through woods. It felt as though we were the only people left on Earth. Amazing silence, with beauty everywhere we walked. Growing up in the country, living my entire adult life in cities, this is what we needed. We both felt as though we hadn't been so at peace in many years. We had to leave early and had to skip Dawn's famous breakfast. We will absolutely return several times without a doubt as we have found utopia and need to look no further. We need an extended stay, I love fall, my wife loves spring. We've agreed to go back for each. Gary and Ramona Kenosha, WI


B & B Weekend Getaway

5 en agosto 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a weekend at the Cameo Rose because we were visiting small, artsy towns in the Belleville area. What a great choice we made! Our suite was spacious and quiet and we all the amenities we needed. Dawn made incredibly delicious and healthy 5 star breakfasts that were served in her elegantly decorated dining room decorated. She and Gary were very gracious hosts and they work very hard to maintain their beautiful surroundings. It was very peaceful and relaxing to watch the birds and the wild turkeys come to the window. If our travels bring us back to this area again, we will definitely stay at the Cameo Rose again. Sincerely, Robin & Barbara


Feels like home!

5 en junio 23, 2012

Love the feel of peacefulness when we walked up the front sidewalk We felt like we were coming home after we had been gone for a long time. Hospitality was felt immediately. Will definitely recommend.


Rose above our expectations!

4,2 en marzo 25, 2012

My husband and I were so so pleased with our first time stay at this lovely Victorian B&B! We were first impressed with the outstanding hospitality of our host, Dawn, who warmly greeted us on arrival. The home and rooms are comfortable and charmingly appointed. A birthday package ( well worth the purchase) of roses, candy, wine and treats were waiting in our room. We fell in love with the country setting; very serene, teaming with birds, and beautiful vistas. There are abundant places to enjoy the pond, flowers and natural elements outdoors, including several private sitting areas, a gazebo and several miles of well groomed hiking trails. Speaking of abundance, the breakfast is a four course delicious feast! We looked at photos and all seasons offer a visual treat, inside and out. We rank this B&B as one of the best we've stayed at for the Inn, the grounds, the surrounding towns/activities, and the gracious hosts! We can't wait to visit again!


Beyond Our Expectations

5 en marzo 14, 2012

I honestly can not say enough good things about Dawn and Gary and the stay we had over this past weekend. The energy and just overall atmosphere is so relaxing and made a very special occasion even more memorable. The food was so amazing...I even brought home a cookbook to try and make some things myself. We will for sure be returning for a visit when the season has changed to see all the beautiful colors and will be sharing and recommending this place to friends and family because we would love for them to have the same experience. Thank you Dawn and Gary. Sincerely, Amy and Ed Chicago, IL


Superb Sister Time

5 en marzo 10, 2012

I will long treasure the time my sister and I shared at Cameo Rose. From Dawn's gracious welcome on our arrival, coupled with the delicious hot cider blend awaiting us, to our reluctant departure, we luxurianted in at-home comfort while feeling very pampered. I loved the beauty of Cameo Rose, both inside with the artistic Victorian decor and outside in the surrounding grounds and woods. Walking the wide trails through the woods, we soaked up the peace of the idyllic WI country setting. We savored the creative breakfast offerings which were true culinary, as well as, visual delights. Dawn and Gary are masters at blending detailed attentiveness and graceful ease in the service and hospitality they provide at Cameo Rose. This is more than a business for them; their hearts are in it.


Great Valentine's Day Weekend

5 en marzo 09, 2012

Returning to the Cameo Rose always feels like a homecoming. Dawn and Gary not only remember you, but remember your favorite foods and have them on the menu! The land is outstandingly beautiful with gorgeous trails right on the property. Major bike trails are practically on your doorstep. The welcome and warmth you get at the Cameo Rose are real. We have spent the last three Valentine's Day weekends at Cameo Rose and we plan to continue this tradition.


Wonderful gift!

4,0 en enero 13, 2012

This stay was a Christmas gift from my daughter, and it's a gift I will always treasure. Dawn and Gary are wonderful hosts, the Inn was beautifully decorated and the food delicious. We are already planning a return trip, bringing freinds with us. Dawn is also so helpful with her knowledge of the countryside, so we visited several quaint villages and ate a lot of good local food. Bought some neat gifts, too. Can't wait to go back!


First B&B Stay - Outstanding!

5 en enero 07, 2012

We received a Wisconsin B&B Assn. gift certificate from our children as a 30th anniversary gift. After a long internet search, my wife was intrigued by the pictures, descriptions and reviews of Cameo Rose. As a salesman used to the standard convention hotel fare, I was skeptical and not sure what to expect. All doubts were erased the minute we arrived. Located on 120 quiet acres surrounded by farmland, you are greeted by wild turkeys scurrying about the grounds near the house. A ring of the doorbell and you are enthusiastically "welcomed home" by Dawn Bahr, the friendly innkeeper. It's immediately clear that your only task while there, besides relaxing and enjoying yourself, is to turn off the porch lights if you're the last one in at night. The rooms are clean, well furnished, decorated and comfortable, with a plate of Dawn's homemade baked treats waiting for you. When Dawn's husband Gary isn't busy grooming the walking trails and taking care of the grounds, he's in the kitchen helping Dawn prepare the gourmet breakfasts which include her unique signature French Toast, Eggs Benedict, freshly baked cinnamon rolls and pecan muffins, fresh fruit and dessert. Dawn queries and takes note of any special dietary requirements and goes out of her way to accommodate. The hearty fare will hold you well into the afternoon. The service extends to making recommendations for dinner and securing the reservations for you. Dawn and Gary are the consummate hosts and it's obvious that they love what they do. Given that this was our first B&B experience, the bar has been set extremely high. We plan on returning next summer to enjoy the grounds.


LOVED Cameo Rose !!!

5 en diciembre 16, 2011

Our group of three women stayed at Cameo Rose overnight for our own private Christmas celebration, and it was wonderful! Immaculately clean, beautifully decorated (including a Christmas tree in our room!), wonderful breakfast, and Dawn and Gary were so welcoming! Comfortable, restful, private and FUN!


Wonderful relaxing stay

5 en octubre 18, 2011

This was a great weekend. Changed my husband's negative opinion of B&B's. Dawn and Gary certainly made us feel like family. The breakfasts were amazing. Hopefully we will be going back in the spring or summer. Bet it's really beautiful to see at that time of the year! You certainly wouldn't regret a stay at Cameo Rose Victorian County Inn!


Weekend at Cameo Rose

4,8 en septiembre 28, 2011

This was our second visit to Cameo Rose (first time was in 2009). We stayed two nights versus one the previous stay. We timed our trip with Octoberfest in nearby New Glarus. In summary, Cameo Rose was better than ever. The friendliness of the owners Dawn and Gary just made us feel so at home. Dawn's breakfasts were absolutely fabulous. I cannot say enough about this place in all respects. Keith and Mavis Bohlman


Second Stay

4,6 en septiembre 28, 2011

We had been here two years ago and it remains outstanding. It looks and feels new even though it's now 20 years old. The breakfasts are very well done and delicious. We appreciate it's country location and closeness to the surrounding towns. P&C J


The Best of the best

5 en septiembre 14, 2011

My husband and I just returned from our 15th visit Cameo Rose. We have stayed in many bed and breakfast inns across the country and Cameo Rose has set the standard for us and gets our votes for The Best. Over the years it has just gotten better and better with updates and new additions inside, and the addition of the pond with waterfalls, along with a large screened-in gazebo where you can enjoy the beautiful landscaping and watch the birds and wild turkeys. Gary does a wonderful job maintaining the grounds and continually improving on them. The attention to detail, and the cleanliness are impeccable. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever had away from home and the spa robes that are placed in each room are luxurious. We've stayed in every room and each one is beautifully decorated, unique and immaculate. The breakfasts are incredible. Everything very flavorful and beautifully presented on china dishes. Dawn often uses locally made products in her gourmet meals, many made by her from things growing on their property. More than once Dawn has graciously shared recipes with me. We have found Dawn and Gary to be wonderful hosts: warm and friendly, always accommodating any request. There is much to do in the area and Dawn is a great tour guide and knowledgeable about events that are happening during each visit . We have been to many restaurants that she has recommended (and made reservations for us). We have never been disappointed and have fond memories of the fine dining we have experienced. Thank you Dawn and Gary for creating a wonderful home away from home. We always leave there feeling very relaxed and truly pampered. We feel very much at home there and look forward to our next visit. Thank you, Dawn, for the wonderful cake for Paul's birthday. He felt very special.


The Perfect Getaway

5 en julio 23, 2011

So many reasons for rating this inn as outstanding! First and foremost, Gary and Dawn were perfect hosts: friendly and helpful without being at all intrusive. Dawn went out of her way to listen to what I was interested in doing, and then to make phone calls to arrange things for me. Second, the food was excellent! At many inns the cooks seem to add exotic ingredients to rather ordinary food and hope for the best, but Dawn really knows what she's doing with breakfast and the eagerly awaited evening treats. Finally, my room was very private and comfortable and the grounds were spacious and lovingly tended, with endless opportunities for exploration. Although the Cameo Rose is billed as a romantic getaway for couples, it was the perfect destination for this single woman traveler as well, and I'm looking forward to visiting again soon.


Great B&B to visit Madison, Spring Glen, and Southern Wisconsin.

5 en julio 22, 2011

Among the elite of Ben & Breakfast establishments, you'll often see three benchmarks of excellence: excellent facility, excellent location, and excellent host(s). For a B&B to excel in all three is remarkable. Dawn and Gary Bahr's Cameo Rose, near Belleville, Wisconsin, does exactly this, with the addition of a gormet/artisan breakfast each morning. The attention to detail in this gorgeous home is breath-taking. We used Cameo Rose as our jump-off point to explore Madison, Spring Green (Taliesin), and many beautiful parks and small towns in Southern Wisconsin. It's just a few minutes drive to Madison, but it's just a few yards walk to beautiful farmland too. I wish we would have had more time to explore Gary's trails, or hang out in Dawn's gardens. You know you've been some place exceptional, when you leave with hugs from the innkeeper!


A hidden treasure

4,8 en julio 20, 2011

We thouroghly enjoyed our stay at the Cameo Rose. The breakfasts were wonderful. Dawn was very conscientious to meet everyone's dietary needs while preparing unique and tasty meals and treats. Setting was lovely with lots to do in the area.


Ralph

5 en julio 20, 2011

We have been to Cameo Rose 4 times and everytime we come, Dawn takes great care of us. Breakfast are outstanding, the quarters are clean and well kept. Gary keeps the grounds very well groomed. Besides wonderful breakfast Dawn greets you with a snack in the afternoon (brownies or cookies) and a soft drink. She also will give you ideas of what is happening in the surrounding area and will make reservations for you at a restaurant of your choosing. I highly recommend staying at Cameo Rose. We always stay in the downstairs room. Best bed I have ever slept on and the 2 person hot top is amazing. Overall a great relaxing experience.


Relaxing Respite!

4,8 en julio 18, 2011

The owners of Cameo Rose, Dawn and Gary, paid extreme attention to detail for their visitors' comfort as evidenced by the lovely gardens, manicured walking trails, uniquely prepared breakfasts, mid-afternoon treats, and the constant availability for advice on what to do or where to eat. Personal recommendations were very much appreciated and utilized. Definitely a B & B that we would repeat. (This past weekend was the fourth visit of one of the guests during our refreshingly relaxing visit!) Dawn also surprised us with a lovely bottle of wine to commemorate our 33rd anniversary. Rae and Don


Treat Yourself

5 en julio 13, 2011

These were two of the most relaxing days I've ever had. The beauty and comfort of the grounds and the inn were unlike anything my husband and I had ever experienced. Dawn and Gary are very helpful and gracious but never intrusive. There is a lot of privacy even when the inn is full. If you are celebrating your anniversary or a special day, treat yourself to the victorian cottage. We had the entire floor in the lower level. It included a beautiful king bed, large living room and separate room with a luxury double whirlpool. It was so state of the art it even cleaned itself! We were under the dining room and kitchen, so we could even enjoy our music at night without disturbing anyone. We ate at the Red School House and The Artisan's restaurant, both in Paoli, a few minutes drive away. I was surprised at how superb the food was. Each night we ate outside, one night overlooking the river, and watched as the fireflies to put on their show. Do yourself a favor, treat yourself to a wonderul one of a kind experience.


outstanding

5 en julio 11, 2011

Every thing was outstanding.The breakfast was superb. My husband is still looking for a breakfast like that at home I tell him he needs to go back to Cameo Rose


Beautiful, Relaxing, Highly Recommend

5 en julio 02, 2011

My husband and I spent one night in the Rose Arbor Room, only because they were booked for the rest of the weekend. We have traveled both in US and Canada and have stayed at many upper end hotels and found the Cameo Rose to be one of the most relaxing places we have ever visited. I believe it is the cleanest place we have ever seen. Everything was spotless. There was not a speck of dust, dirt, mold, or mildew anywhere. The few policies they have exist for reasons and we had no quarrel with any of them, rather, we booked for some of those very policies that are clearly posted on their website. We appreciated the quiet hours, the no children, no pets, and the strict no-smoking policy. The other simple requests that were made, such as locking the door when coming in at night and not burning candles, are basic courtesies most respectful people would extend without being asked. The grounds are beautiful, the views majestic, the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast was wonderful, the walking trails relaxing and the hosts were gracious and eager to help all guests. I would highly recommend this B&B as a hidden treasure to anyone seeking lovely, comfortable, safe, relaxing and quiet accommodations away from traffic and crowd noises. We will certainly be back and will book far enough in advance next time to stay more than one night! - Janet


Great Time!

5 en julio 02, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Cameo Rose. The breakfast was exquisite, Dawn and Gary were delightful, and the hot tub was VERY relaxing! I can't wait to go back and visit that area again.


Romantic and Relaxing

4,2 en junio 29, 2011

It was one night getaway for my husband's birthday and we really liked and enjoyed the atmosphere of the place. The hosts were very pleasant and welcoming. They advised on how and where we could spend our time in the daytime and also where we could dine. The restaurant they suggested and booked for us at about 1 mile away from their B&B was another hidden "pearl of the region" - the food was very good. Their breakfast was - as everyone praises it - very special and delicious! There is a garden with plenty of quiet corners to relax and listen to the birds or to the waterfall. We loved being in a countryside among farms and still have the comfort without any wants. We highly recommend it to anyone.


Stayed at Cameo Rose in June 2011

3,4 en junio 24, 2011

The food and hospitality were wonderful. The grounds of the house were quite stunning as well. The room we were in wasn't what we expected. Bathroom desperately needed to be updated and the bedroom itself was a bit over the top in terms of lace and floral motifes, although the bed itself was quite comfortable. I guess the issue was that we felt like we were staying at our Grandmother's place complete with quiet time and all which is precisely at 10:30 pm btw. We are polite guests and aren't loud by any means but we felt bad even wanting to take a shower at night for fear of waking others with the noise.

Respuesta del propietario

While it is our heartfelt intention to create a stay that exceeds our guests' expectations, we realize that we cannot be 'all things to all people'. What one guest loves, another may hate. We have tried to create a peaceful, relaxing and beautiful retreat for all to enjoy, which means having some guidelines that will ensure that all will know what to expect and we try to "be what we say" and keep our promises for the benefit of all guests. We have very clear photos and videos of our guest rooms and common areas that show you exactly how we decorate and all policies are clearly posted on our website as well. If a guest has a problem of any kind, we rely on them to bring it to our attention. I thoroughly clean these bathrooms on a daily basis and I am baffled as to what the updating needs to be. We installed brand new rain forest shower heads a couple years ago and our Kohler tubs and showers have no cracks, stains, or any noticeable issues. The decorating typically represents the innkeeper's individual tastes and we in no way assume it will be to everyone's liking, but we certainly strive to keep everything sparkling clean. After 20 years of innkeeping, there is a reason behind every single thing that we do and how we do it. Regarding our Quiet Time - this simply means being respectful of other guests after 10:30 PM. Have you ever stayed at a hotel where loud partying or noisy guests disrupted your sleep? If you are "not loud guests" then this is written precisely to preserve your peace and quiet. We insulated all of the inside walls of our home so that taking a shower or even using whirlpools would not disturb the sleep of others. Please call or e-mail us to explain exactly what the problem was so we can improve on this.


Quiet Counrty inn

5 en junio 19, 2011

We spent our 41st Anniversary at the Cameo Rose and had a wonderful time. It has a great country setting but is only minutes away from Restraurants and other tourist venues. Dawn and Gary were great hosts and the breakfast was fantastic ! The grounds were well landscaped and there were porch swings, garden swings and a pool with waterfalls. We will be visiting here again. Joyce and Ralph Linroth Dahinda, Illinois.


OK

4,0 en junio 11, 2011

Very nice innkeepers with an exceptional breakfast. The grounds are lovely. The house is a newer home made to appear Vivtorian. The decorating is very overdone with a lot of frilly adornements. Not authentic if that's what you're looking for. Otherwise a nice place.


Fantastic escape to the countryside!

4,8 en junio 05, 2011

We stayed in the Victorian Cottage Whirlpool Suite for one night during the week. The room was clean and cozy, and the whirlpool relaxing. We were fortunate to have a sunny day to explore one of the trails that Dawn and Gary maintain. We had dinner in New Glarus (~15 min drive) and lunch after checkout in Paoli (~5 min drive). The breakfast was fantastic (eggs benedict, fruit-yogurt cocktail, pastry, and raspberry sorbet)! We would recommend staying at least two nights to fully experience the layout.


Relaxed and pampered: the Cameo Rose

5 en mayo 22, 2011

We spent the weekend with Gary and Dawn at the Cameo Rose. They are wonderful charming people who made us feel welcomed and loved, like a long lost "king and queen". The rooms were great, comfortable, relaxing, and inviting. We watched birds out our window, including hummingbirds. Breakfast was wonderful as well. Dawn and Gary stive for excellance in what they do and it shows in all of the little things, like finding movie times for us. We plan on visiting many times in the future!!!!!!


Our stay at Cameo Rose

5 en mayo 16, 2011

We stayed at Cameo Rose in the beginning of February. I surprised my boyfriend Christoph to a lovely stay at the Cameo Rose. It was our first time ever staying at a Bed and Breakfast. It was worth every penny spent. Dawn Bahr the hostess with the mostess made sure no need went unmet. She had menus of all the best local restaurants, and personal relationships with the hostesses there, and so was able to secure us with a private room in the Quivey's Grove for dinner. It was marvelous!! The bed was so comfortable, we had the best nights sleep there. The breakfast the next morning was unforgettable. We had made to order omelets, their homemade blend of juices, homemade bread with local jam, and a ginger berry dessert. The birds greeted us outside the windows. We recommend this place for all to see! We will definitely be there again! Sincerely, Christoph and Jill


Hospitable and thoughtful host

4,8 en mayo 02, 2011

Cameo rose is a great getaway, just 15 minutes from downtown Madison. With 150 acres of land to roam about and fantastic hospitality from Dawn, you can sit back, relax and enjoy the weekend. Dawn makes homemade cider everyday and caringly leaves it for guests to drink at pleasure in the day. Delicious bedtime dessserts await in your room when you retun to the inn in the evening! And without question, dawn's breakfast is so satisfactory it lasts you till dinner!!!


Cameo Rose was the best B&B I have stayed at.

5 en abril 26, 2011

My boyfriend Adam and I arrived on a rainy night, but Dawn's personality was like a ray of sunshine. We stayed in the Victorian Whirlpool Suite and with its lovely decor, gas fireplace, DVD player, the largest whirlpool tub I've ever seen, plus homey touches like a spare quilt, well, with our picnic dinner and wine, we didn't mind being in for the evening. And, the next morning, our breakfast was declicious! Starting with hazelnut/cinnamon coffee, poached pears with whipped cream and chocolate shavings, freshly baked cinnamon rolls, eggs Benedict--eggs cooked per guest's request and also there was a choice of the standard slice of ham or tomato slices or steamed asperagus. Capped off with a scoop of rainbow sherbet complete with Easter sprinkles on top, we were not hungry for lunch, as the Inn's website promises. The sun did manage to peek out for a bit before we left and so we had a change to stroll the grounds. Birders will be delighted--chicadees, American gold finches, cardinals--and we heard, but didn't see, wild turkeys. We are for sure coming back to this wonderful B&B. I'd like to sit in one of the gazebos on a warm sunny day and enjoy the two waterfalls and what ever other flora and fauna I spy.


perfect attention to detail

4,8 en abril 23, 2011

From the very beginning of our stay until the end each detail was taken care of. From a tour of the inside and outside property, to excellent suggestions on what to do in the area, we felt tended to and very comfortable. The best part was on top of the amazing service, we ate the most delicious breakfast each morning. Home made and wonderful, I can't tell you how much I missed it after coming home. We would love to visit this property in every season. I go to Wisconsin several times a year and had no idea this little jewel was there.


Cameo Rose

4,2 en abril 10, 2011

We stayed in the Victorian Cottage Whirlpool Suite. It is a very large room with a huge separate whirlpool room in the basement with lots of privacy from the rest of the house. Dawn was a great host and the breakfast was awesome! Never eaten such a big breakfast in my life, easily the best breakfast I've ever eaten at a bed and breakfast. I wish we would have gone in winter because they have a huge lot for cross-country skiing.


Cameo Rose

5 en marzo 31, 2011

Dawn, or innkeeper, is a great source of information about what to do and where to eat in the area.


Anniversary stay

4,0 en marzo 24, 2011

We don't have any experience with other B&Bs but we certainly enjoyed a one-night stay at Cameo Rose, courtesy of a church that gave us a gift certificate. The innkeeper was very friendly and helpful, and made dinner reservations for us in Paoli. Really, everything worked properly, the bed was very comfortable, the whirlpool tub was big enough for two, and the electric fireplace in the room was a nice touch. The breakfast was fabulous and lived up to its reputation. The grounds--walking trails, gazebos, pond, garden--seemed like they would be very nice in a couple months (we visited in mid-March). The innkeepers truly love running the place, and it shows. The next day we enjoyed strolling around New Glarus and visiting the New Glarus Brewery. Not hugely exciting, but a very pleasant anniversary.


camero rose review

5 en marzo 10, 2011

Gary and Dawn were so nice and welcoming. The breakfast was amazing and the service was wonderful.


You'd love it!

5 en marzo 09, 2011

The hospitality & food were great!! Can't wait to go back this summer and take walks on the trails and see the beautiful landscape in full bloom!!


Beautiful and peaceful any season

5 en marzo 09, 2011

Fantastic breakfast and beautiful accomodations. We went for a romantic getaway, and will be back for the same in the future!


A Hidden Gem

5 en marzo 08, 2011

What a wonderful place! We were looking to get out of town for a night and didn't have to travel far to find this hidden gem in our own backyard. We felt the peace and quiet the minute we arrived. The indoor and outdoor environment was very neat and clean. Our room was spacious, private and quiet. The service was outstanding and the breakfast was special and our dietary requests were accommodated. Our stay was a breath of fresh air. You can tell that the owners take a lot of pride in their Inn. Such beautiful decor with many personal touches.


very welcoming

5 en marzo 03, 2011

Everything was wonderful. Very relaxing. Especially enjoyed the hospitality.


Fabulous, Romantic, Cozy & Delicious

5 en febrero 26, 2011

Dawn & Gary are excellent hosts of this beautiful and cozy B&B. Dawn creates a fabulous 4 course breakfast with all homemade goodies and you are truly treated like family in their home. The rooms are perfectly decorated and we had a nice fireplace and Jacuzzi for relaxing. Dawn makes a special sweet treat every afternoon that is just wonderful! They are a delightful couple and made my special Birthday weekend just perfect. Dawn & Gary know the area well and will give you all kinds of tips on great things to do. Their property is amazing, lots of beautiful trees, gardens and pond. It's immaculate, quiet, restful and the best B&B we ever stayed at and we have been all over the world!


Our greatest vacation ever!

5 en febrero 20, 2011

Cameo Rose is the best place to stay in Wisconsin. Dawn and Gary were fantastic hosts and very accommodating. It is obvious they love what they do. The room was everything we hoped for -- an absolute dream. From the cored apple to the best gingerbread I've ever had in my life, breakfast was amazing. The only regret is that we did not bring cross country skis to use on the beautiful trails. There is no question about whether we will visit again.


Would go back in a heartbeat!!!

4,8 en enero 31, 2011

Dawn's service really is phenomonal! The breakfast is worth the price of admission. Rooms appeared that my wife and I were the only ones who had ever stayed there! Best BnB, hands down.


Cameo Rose - Outstanding

4,6 en enero 10, 2011

Beautiful property, very clean rooms, and the best breakfast I've ever had at an inn. Service was also wonderful.


Can't Shut Up About The French Toast!

4,8 en enero 02, 2011

My husband and I received a night at the Cameo Rose as a present from my in-laws. We didn't have much idea as to what to expect, but it turned out to be spectacular! We arrived late in the evening and had phoned ahead to let Dawn know this in advance. She was completely understanding and accommodating! As it was Christmas, the entire house and all of the rooms were spectacularly decorated with all sorts of vintage holiday ornaments in addition to the vintage treasures that are a mainstay at the B&B. Our room was spectacularly clean, tidy and cozy. There were two luxurious bathrobes for us, delicious gourmet cookies and little candies at our bedside. There was a rain-can shower head in the bathroom that made for a luxurious shower as well as additional heat that you could turn on if you like to be extra toasty while showering or bathing! As if all of this wasn't enough, when my husband and I arose in the morning for the 8:30 breakfast (upon booking Cameo Rose asks for your food preferernces and this was important for us as my husband and I are both vegetarians). I kid you not when I say that Dawn prepared for us the BEST french toast that I have ever tasted! It wasn't just regular old french toast, it was raspberry and cream cheese stuffed french toast with a cranberry glaze sauce drizzled over it! All of the flavors were mild and not too sweet- it was simply delicious! To top it all off the entire meal was served on delicate china, something you are rarely able to experience anymore! During the meal Dawn and Gary were great hosts and engaged us in great conversation, while at the same time allowing my husband and I to enjoy some alone time. Lastly, the grounds of Cameo Rose are gorgeous! Even in the dead of winter this place is magical! The trees, the hills, the wild life, the birds at the feeders outside the window as we ate our breakfast- it was all really wonderful. We will definitely be back!  Thanks Dawn and Gary! The Evanses


Cameo Rose

4,2 en diciembre 30, 2010

Dawn and Gary are the perfect hosts. Breakfast was great as usual. We enjoyed our stay very much. Ruth & Tony


Treat yourself, and someone special, to the Cameo Rose

5 en diciembre 28, 2010

WE Love this place - the personal service and attention to the customer is what set them apart. Clean accommodations, cosy and quiet atmosphere, and a great breakfast feast are just the highlights. We also Love exploring the area as is has so much to offer. They have Madison nearby, as well as several quaint small towns with all the charm one could hope for. If you haven't stayed here yet - you are missing a real treat. Dawn and Gary are exceptional hosts!


One Night At The Cameo Rose

5 en diciembre 14, 2010

This was our first stay in a B&B and based on what we experienced at the Cameo Rose it most certainly will not be our last. Every detail from the bedroom, to the beautiful Christmas decorations throughout, to the fantastic stuffed french toast for breakfast was just what the doctor ordered. Thank you!


Wonderfull Weekend

5 en octubre 27, 2010

Great property. Dawn is a wondful hostest. Our stay was relaxing. Lots of interesting small towns in the area yet close to Madison and our event on Sunday.


Best B&B of all!

4,8 en octubre 18, 2010

We stayed two nights and the breakfasts were excellent. Love the surroundings (the pond is beautiful!) Gary and Dawn were very friendly & very hospitalble hosts. We felt right at home. Can't wait to go back! I am recommending the Cameo Rose to all my friends.


thank you email sent to hosts

4,8 en octubre 17, 2010

I have finally gotten time to sit and email you because as soon as we got back home, with work, kids and their many activities, I wish I could have stayed longer! (Even Todd, who had told me that week that even though we have stayed at other B&B's before, they "weren't really his "thing""....was glad we had stayed at yours.) You made our week and I'm so glad we spent a little extra for staying on our anniversary...it was worth every penny! I don't know if we had told you the next morning, but the night before we had champagne out in the gazebo by the water fall. We couldn't have planned it any better...it made it very special. It was sort of strange leaving, as when you meet "special" people who you can talk about your faith with, it's just an immediate connection, and we both really enjoyed the conversation we had with you that morning....I felt a bit sad as though we were leaving friends that we won't see again. THANK YOU! And lastly....usually websites, we have found, are usually a bit deceitful in representing hotels, etc....rooms are usually a lot smaller and not as pristine in real life. BUT your website which was impressive on it's own, did not compare to the shear beauty of being there personally! Thank you Thank you Thank you! God Loves You, And So Do We! Lori and Todd


A little bit of heavern

5 en septiembre 06, 2010

Every part of this experience was amazing! The dining experience topped any of the top restaurants I've ever eaten at. As B&B's go, this one heads the list - and we've stayed in a lot throughout the world. The hospitality - the quiet gazebo which tranports you away to another world - it was truly an experience that we can't wait to relive - even though I only live 30 minutes from there - it is WELL WORTH THE MONEY TO SPEND TIME AWAY FROM HOME IN THIS DELIGHTFUL HIDEAWAY!


Larger group? Not a problem...

4,8 en agosto 25, 2010

My wife and I organized a gathering of our three adult children and one spouse for a weekend in July. We had checked at several B&B locations, but few could accommodate a group of six without our reserving three rooms. Dawn Bahr has a suite in her lower level that fit us perfectly - spacious, well appointed, and quiet. And then there is Dawn herself. We've stayed in numerious B&Bs from the East Coast to Denver, and we've never met a more engaging, well informed host. Her added treats (decadant brownies and great cookies) and outstanding multi-course breakfasts are rare in the B&B industry. The Cameo Rose is not an inexpensive B&B, but the value for money prompts this recommendation. We'd love to try the Cameo Rose again in the winter! The Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn is defined by its name - very Victorian (read frilly) and out in the country(somewhat off the beaten path)...great for a get-away.


Inkeepers, Facilities, and Location are the best

5 en agosto 24, 2010

If you tire of the beauty of the decor and the grounds, and find the tranquility difficult to handle, the surrounding area is most senic and abounds with places to visit and things to do. Dawn's breakfasts are original and outstanding, and she and Gary go above and beyond to assure that your stay adds up to a pleasant and memorable experience. Bill and Ruth Studley


What an awesome stay

5 en agosto 16, 2010

The Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn is awesome! Dawn and Gary did everything and more to insure that our 27th anniversary was memorable. The food was phenomonal and the suggestions and reservations for dinner divine. We will recommend Cameo Rose to all of our friends and will definitely return! Mark and Liz Overby


Best in the Midwest

4,8 en agosto 14, 2010

This is our third visit to Cameo Rose and each time it gets better. They take exceptional care of their guests, the food is excellent and the grounds are exceptional. We seem to enjoy it more every time we go there.


Heaven in the Country

5 en agosto 12, 2010

We enjoyed two nights of exquisite food, a lovely room, gardens and very cordial hosts. They make you feel like royalty in their inn.


Wonderful and relaxing

5 en julio 28, 2010

Absolutely beautiful place-grounds and house. Great walking trails. Breakfast are amazing and the hosts Dawn and Gary are truely wonderful people. Highly recommend!


Lovely and Inviting B & B Near Madison

4,6 en julio 15, 2010

Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn is the perfect setting for an extended visit to the Madison, WI area. Everything about this B & B is beautiful! The grounds, gazebo, pond, rooms, and breakfast itself are a photographer's delight. Breakfast and afternoon snacks are delicious and expertly served. The four course breakfasts are extraordinary. Dawn and Gary are knowledgable, helpful, and hospitable hosts. They are friendly and engaging as they chat, answer questions, and recommend restaurants and outings in the area. Dawn is also happy to make dinner reservations for her guests. Both of them are delightful! The location of this Inn makes it a perfect base for exploring small towns, touring a winery or brewery, canoeing, biking, golfing, or enjoying all that Madison has to offer. It's also driving distance from many tourist attractions. Of course, this Inn is also the perfect place to relax and read, take walks, nap on a hammock, sit on a porch swing, or reconnect with a friend or loved one. The Cameo Rose is a B & B that is worth going back to again and again. Paul & Michelle; Sycamore, IL


Delicious and Plentiful Food

5 en junio 16, 2010

We were pamered and waited on! Service was fantastic! Owners super friendly. Beautifully decorated in detail. Immaculate! 100 times better than a hotel!


B&B Lives Up to Reputation

5 en abril 26, 2010

Dawn and Gary were so easy to like and to talk with. They truly lived up to their reputation for having an outstanding B&B. Would highly recommend for anyone wanting hospitality, service, scenic surroundings and great food.


Not to be missed

5 en octubre 08, 2009

Having visited B&Bs across the U.S., I would definitely place the Cameo Rose in my top 5 list. As many have mentioned, Dawn was incredibly knowledgeable about the area -- sending us to the perfect places for hiking, shopping, and restaurants. Her recommendations were perfect and made our trip so much more then we expected. Though we didn't have time to hike their 120 acres, what we did see of the gardens and landscaping was beautiful. Breakfasts at the Cameo Rose are gourmet, and returning to the inn after a long day to home-baked treats and warm cider makes you feel like you are staying with friends. If you are in the area, don't miss a chance to stay at the Cameo Rose!


A peaceful retreat

4,4 en agosto 24, 2009

Beautiful property, peaceful environment, great attention to detail, personal service, impeccably clean & well-maintained.


What a great hideaway!

4,6 en julio 26, 2009

I've gotten rather fond of staying in B&Bs - that comes from someone who travels for business all the time. CameoRose is definitely one of my favorites now. The breakfasts Dawn cooks up are not to be believed (there went the diet!) and she had her husband, Gary, are just the nicest folks you could meet. With downtown Madison just a short drive away, what a delight to have found myself in such a secluded spot!


Excellent Inn

5 en julio 24, 2009

We were with another couple and had 2 rooms reserved mid week. The place was very clean and exceptionally quiet. Breakfast was included, very well presented and prepared. The location was on 120 acres close to Madison, WI and well suited to our needs as a base of operation to tour the State Capital, Governor's Mansion and other venues. Dawn, the host was very helpful in giving us directions and road short cuts. The inn was very well appointed with comfortable beds and rooms. The grounds were well maintained with ample hiking trails. Worth returning.


B & B excellence

5 en junio 16, 2009

If you want to be treated like royalty, Cameo Rose is the place to go. We spent 3 nights there & were showered with wonderful hospitality, scrumptous food & lemonaide, beautiful grounds & scenery. The gazebo's & pond with waterfall were a treat to enjoy in the evening. A wide variety of wild birds to enjoy from the porch, gazebo or just going for a walk on a trail. Just can't think of a thing Dawn & Gary could have done to make it any better. Stan & Scarlet Coers


Fantastic place!

5 en mayo 19, 2009

The Cameo Rose was perfect! The place was so relaxing and welcoming- no detail was overlooked. The breakfast was amazing. We will definitely be back!


The Best B&B Anywhere

5 en abril 24, 2009

We have stayed at many B&B's in the U.S. and abroad, and the Cameo Rose is our favorite of all. Fantastic food, lovely rooms, charming and attentive hosts, gorgeous grounds and gardens, an easy drive to many excellent restaurants; I could go on and on. Especially wonderful is that it is always getting better. A recent addition, a pond with waterfalls, added another lovely place to sit and relax outside. We always have a perfect time when we go there.


stress free, bliss

5 en enero 14, 2009

A hideaway from all the stress of the real world peaceful quiet felt like we were spoiled by the fine food and luxurious surroundings very romantic Dawn and Gary the best


Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn

4,8 en agosto 19, 2008

Excellent service and food. Dawn was very helpful and went out of her was to make us comfortable.


A real Cameo!!

5 en agosto 13, 2008

The drive up to the property is right out of the movies! Every detail of this new home takes you comfortably and graciously back to Victorian times. Dawn welcomed us with ice tea and lemonade. Her handmade china dolls are exquisite and cheerfully brighten up the rooms. The surrounding area and ethnic villages were delightful as was the delicious breakfast. We were traveling for business and celebrating my 60th birthday. We started in Sparta at the Frankllin Victorian Inn ,which we love. and stayed at three other B and B's inbetween, including the acclaimed Aberdeen Inn in IN. From the tranquilty of past eras and personal pampering (including accomodating our special dietary needs) to the access of today's technology the Franklin and the Cameo Rose outshined all the rest!! They will definitely be our havens away from home as we travel in the future. Thank you for your caring and gracious hospitality. judie and jerry de wald


Gracious and accomodating innkeeper

4,8 en agosto 08, 2008

When our ladies bike trip kept shrinking in size because of injuries, Cameo Rose's innkeeper was extremely accomodating in rearranging rooms for us. And what a treat to be met at the door with homemade lemonade and brownies when returned from our ride! Breakfasts were outstanding and the setting lovely - a great vacation spot!


Lovely Country B&B

5 en agosto 05, 2008

My husband and I celebrated our December 27 anniversary at the Cameo Rose in January. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast and a brisk hike on snow covered trails through the woods. We really enjoyed our stay and would like to return during another season.


Best Breakfast(s)!!!!

5 en julio 27, 2008

The owners are very nice and interesting people. The four-course breakfast(s) are out of this world!!! The property and home is gorgeous. We walked the trails on the property and biked on the trails in the area. New Glarus is a fun town to visit and shop and dine. We were only a short distance from Madison and were able to find a movie theatre close by! I highly recommend this BnB!


Cameo Rose

4,8 en julio 25, 2008

Enjoyable stay. Beautiful home. Delicious breakfasts.


A true Gem

5 en julio 18, 2008

Absolutely wonderful hosts, Dawn & Gary Bahr. Extremely attentive to details. Extraordinary cook! Lovely.


restful and stress free weekend

5 en junio 10, 2008

Dawn and Gary We stayed with you the weekend of Feb 22-24/08. What a wonderful time. The food was out of this world. The first time in ages we wern't stressed to the max. Dale & Diana


Outstanding

4,8 en mayo 01, 2008

Exceptional attention to detail. Owner really cares. Breakfast deserved its rating as one of best in country. Hiking and hilltop views were excellent. We saw deer, grouse and other critters on impeccably maintained grounds.


Take time to dream

5 en abril 21, 2008

Having trouble turning off the rush of worries and stress? Mentally exhausted? If you have the strength to lift one finger, use it to dial the phone to Cameo Rose! Each season is filled with unique, memorable beauty and perfection. Fill your senses with joy and tranquility. Dawn and Gary are the most sincere and gracious hosts we have ever met.


R&R with roses

4,6 en abril 16, 2008

Absolutely wonderful. Beautifully decorated in rose splendor. We put a premium on Rest & relaxation and get it at cameo rose. Just love it!


R&R with roses

4,0 en marzo 03, 2008

Absolutely wonderful. Beautifully decorated in rose splendor. We put a premium on rest and relaxation and get it at Cameo Rose. Dawn and Gary have a tremendous property.


The Unforgetable B&B

5 en febrero 28, 2008

My wife and I can’t say enough about the wonderful experience that the Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn (Belleville, WI) provides its visitors. Just a 15 minute drive south of Madison, the 120 acre country setting on rolling hills and the design of the beautiful home, coupled with the well thought out décor makes for a serene getaway that’s hard to beat. And wait until your palate partakes of the four course breakfast that Dawn prepares! You come away from that wanting to plan a future trip back another season from now. With so many nearby places of interest to satisfy the explorer in all of us, this is one Bed & Breakfast you DON’T want to miss. In all our B&B experiences, this stands alone at the top. Definitely a superb value for the price of this experience!


Anniversary Trip

5 en julio 17, 2007

My husband and I were celebrating our 30th anniversary and couldn't have picked a more beautiful/romantic spot to spend it. Dawn was exremely kind and recommended a fabulous restaurant for dinner and went out of her way to make the reservations and requested a table by the window for a view of the lake and sunset. She greeted us with fresh squeezed lemonade and delicious homebaked cookies. The room was beautiful and we were very pleased with the king sized bed since that is what we have at home and a number of inns only have queens. The breakfast was truly amazing and Gary and Dawn are such delightful people and couldn't have been more hospitable. Enjoyed this experience immensely and would definitely go back and highly recommend this B&B to everyone. They should be very proud of their Inn because it is truly spectacular and you can see that they take great pride in their house and grounds. Also it was so quiet and peaceful so much better than a sometimes noisy hotel.


our favorite get-away spot

5 en mayo 01, 2007

We have visited this wonderful inn several times. The peaceful country location, quiet walking trails, great shops, restaurants and sightseeing in the area make this a favorite spot. Dawn's scrumptious breakfasts consistently delight us. Rooms are luxurious, quiet and maintained in perfect condition.


Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $159 - $269
  • Comentarios (93) 4,8
  • Habitaciones 5

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-6084246340
  • Sin cargo
    1-8664246340

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba