Barclay Cottage B&B Comentarios

TOTAL

4,8

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,8
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,8
  • Limpieza4,9
  • Comidas4,8

Puntuación basada en
95 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Comfortable and Relaxing

5 en abril 29, 2014

Rich and Sharon are some of the nicest people I have ever met. They are so warm and welcoming. They are easy to talk with and have good suggestions about things to do in the area. Our visit was a long weekend to just rest and relax and their home made it easy to do so. We enjoyed bike rides every morning after a lovely breakfast prepared by Rich. We relaxed on the porches and read. We strolled through the neighborhood and up to the beach. We enjoyed beautiful warm weather that was so welcome after a snowy cold winter! The area offers many things to do and enjoy, but by far the best thing about this trip, our first to this area, was most definitely having the pleasure of meeting the owners who made us feel like friends. We look forward to spending time with them again! Terry and Ray Miller


Thank you Rich and Sharon!

5 en abril 17, 2014

Our stay at Barclay Cottage B&B was fantastic. The cottage is conveniently located 3 blocks from the boardwalk but tucked away on a quiet street. It is extremely cozy, clean, and our room was spacious. Rich and Sharon were the perfect hosts. They go out of their way to make sure all of their guests are having the best possible stay. They had lots of recommendations for restaurants and nearby activities. Rich bakes fresh cookies every afternoon and his breakfasts are delightful. We will definitely be back!


My happy place

4,8 en agosto 15, 2013

I felt like I was staying with family. Steve and Marie-Louise went out of their way to make me feel welcome and comfortable. I hated leaving. Alice's room was charming and cozy and exactly what I needed on my mini-vacation pamper me trip. I can't wait to go back.


Great stay, cozy room, and very friendly people

5 en enero 08, 2013

Stayed in the Lighthouse room, which includes a private full bath. CD player in room, and plenty of relaxing CDs to choose from. Also, books, snacks, and variety of drinks availabl - including a very pleasant Sherry. The room was very clean as well. Withing very close proximity to the beach. The main event though was breakfast, and it was absolutely delicious! The LaFond's truly follow through with excellent sevice.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for recognizing our excellent service. That is one thing that B&Bs can do so much better than hotels since the ones providing you service are often the owners. Breakfast is a lot of fun for us and our guests. It is a chance to discover what everyone did the day and night before, compare dining notes, and plan for the new day. It also gives Marie-Louise and me an opportunity to provide more service by suggesting things to see and do, by making reservations for activities and dining, helping with travel directions, etc.


Charm at the Beach

5 en noviembre 15, 2012

I ate and slept in a totally charming building, but was at the beach listening to the waves in less than five minutes. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay because it included excellent food and interesting decor that told many stories about the history of the area.


Beach vacation 8/5/12-8/10/12

5 en agosto 11, 2012

We wanted a beach vacation without the hassle of a flight so we chose to drive down from Balto. Alice's room was nicely furnished & very clean.More than enough room in the bathroom. Large windows let in the morning sunshine.The huge covered porch was right off of our room through a hallway door. We enjoyed cocktails every evening there. It was a nice option to sit in the rockers during summer thunderstorms.Coffee was available every morning at 6 am. Breakfasts started with a fruit & homemade in season bread or muffin followed by eggs, waffles, sausage, bacon, grits, potatoes, & every other imaginable breakfast food.One morning we were kidding around at the table & said we'd like ice cream for breakfast. Well, sure enough, Mary-Louise added coffee ice cream to our plates the next day! The table is large enough to fit all of the couples around & intimate enough for great conversation. One day we lingered for 1 1/2 hrs because the conversation was so good. We never felt the need to eat lunch. The cottage attracts guests from all over & Steve will change the flags out front to represent the couple's country of origin.They loaned us absolutely everything we needed for the beach. Beach towels, sand chairs, umbrella, waters, sodas, ice, small bags of snacks & a cart to wheel it all down to the beach. Saved us lots of $$$ on rentals. Very cute patio area to sit a spell or just wash off your feet from the sand. Towels are deposited in a bucket & washed for the next day. They also provided large rain umbrellas for strolling to dinner during a shower. Fresh cookies & calcium (chocolate) were waiting for us in the entrance way every day. Great way to relax & not get in the car. We did however, drive the 10 miles to a day beach called Sandbridge Beach. Not as populated as VA Beach & reminded us of the Outer Banks. Lovely day. We will definitely be back!


Magical

5 en julio 27, 2012

This was our first stay at a B&B. Barclay Cottage was magical! We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary there (we met in Virginia Beach 41 years ago). The INN keepers were fabulous! so friendly and helpful. The cottage was very clean and the breakfast was the best part of the day. Everyone was so friendly , you couldn't help but decompress. Never mind the beach just staying at the cottage was worth the trip, everything else was a bonus. It was so pleasant to absorb the history of the cottage, it reminded me of the old movie "The Enchanted Cottage" .


Why would anyone stay anywhere else in VA Beach?

5 en julio 26, 2012

We have been to Barclay Cottage at least 5 or 6 times over the last few years and plan to keep coming back again and again. Whenever we are in the mood for a relaxing and romantic weekend, my husband and I book here. We love arriving and being greeted with a hearty "Welcome Home!" because this really does feel like coming home (except with seriously delicious breakfasts and someone to see to every single detail). We love Steve and Marie-Louise and they always make us feel so welcome - if they haven't already anticipated our every need (which is rare) they gladly go the extra mile to provide just about anything we require. The special touches they provide make every trip a memorable experience and make it so that we can't wait to come back!


Impeccable

5 en julio 21, 2012

I just returned from a three night stay at Barclay Cottage and I'm writing this review to capture what I've been telling friends and colleagues all week: If you are in the VA Beach, Chesapeake or Norfolk area, you MUST experience this gem. The accommodations and service are impeccable -- no detail is left out. Having stayed in many B&B's and fine inns, I'm able to say that the quality of care, cleanliness, and amenities (not to mention fabulous gourmet breakfast) are more typical of inns charging twice the price. Host Marie Louise and Steve LaFond truly love to host and serve, and no one feels like a stranger in their home. You won't be disappointed!


Wonderful stay at the Barclay

5 en julio 06, 2012

The Barclay cottage was a fabulous experience! Steve and Marie-Louise were both very sweet and helpful during our stay. Stunning breakfast every morning to wake up to. Everything that you could possibly need, they had it. Anything from beach umbrellas, beach chairs and towels. Not to mention snacks as well.. from twizzlers, cheez-its and bottled water for the beach. Very helpful! The bed and breakfast was spotless from ceiling to floor. Very comfortable beds! All of the decor in the place was really cute with fascinating history. Every afternoon there were freshly baked chocolates chip cookies. YUM! Everything about this place was outstanding! Did not want to leave, hope to visit again soon!


Highest Accolades for Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast

5 en mayo 15, 2012

When possible, we like to stay in Bed & Breakfasts. Our experience at Barclay Cottage ranks at the top of our list. The innkeepers, Marie-Louise and Steve, are the consummate hosts, always offering wonderful advice when we were looking for just the right restaurant or activity. The building, rooms, and grounds are charming. We stayed in the Light House Room decorated tastefully with (can you guess) a lighthouse motif. Comfortable bed and great air jet bath tub. The breakfasts were over the top - great food, wonderful atmosphere, and charming conversation (and we didn't have to eat lunch). We stayed for five nights (May 7th to May 11th) and had a wonderful time. Anytime we are going to stay in Virginia Beach, we will book a room here. Highly recommended!


You Will Want to Return

5 en abril 29, 2012

My wife and I just returned home from another visit to Barclay Cottage in Virginia Beach over the April 27, 2012 weekend. As usual, our stay at our “home away from home” was nothing short of perfect. Our hosts, Steve and Marie-Louise greeted us with open arms and walking through the doors of the Cottage was like returning to see an old friend. Every nook and cranny of the 100+ year old inn is full of charm and comfort from another era with original woodwork, antiques, a homey great room and each meticulously detailed and comfortable guest room. Steve and Marie-Louise have combined casual ambience, friendship and service like we have not experienced at other B & B’s. The highlight for me is breakfast served at 9:00AM. A little before 9:00AM guests begin to gather in the great room with comfortable stuffed chairs and sofa and here is where the magic begins. This morning we had breakfast with a guest we met during a previous visit and it was wonderful to catch up with each other while meeting new “friends” at the breakfast table. Steve and Marie-Louise always join the guests after serving one of Marie-Louise’s delightful-and to die for-breakfasts that always amaze me and the other guests. Our hosts have a down to earth way about themselves that fosters interesting and friendly conversation among the guests about each other and about a variety of topics. My wife and I have never enjoyed a finer breakfast experience than that provided by Steve and Marie-Louise at Barclay Cottage. Virginia Beach has a lot to offer throughout the year with many fine restaurants and attractions. Steve and Marie-Louise know the area well and can offer as much or as little help as you wish. They are always accommodating and truly enjoy helping guests get the most out of their visit. We are already planning our next visit and I urge you to book your stay at this gem if you plan on visiting Virginia Beach. Just be prepared to want to return.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for the great review! Come down and enjoy the beach this summer. Still plenty of openings in August and September (after the crowds leave and the water is still warm!)


Weekend with the girls!

5 en marzo 25, 2012

Fabulous time as 5 of us were here in the area for a conference. It was my first time at a B&B! Felt like I was in my home in PA! Gracious host and hostess, clean rooms with all the extras, and fabulous breakfast. Love it!


What A Weekend!!!!!!

4,0 en febrero 05, 2012

WE just spent the Best weekend ever at Barclay Cottage.It was not only beautiful and cozy but the innkeepers Steve and Marie -Louise are wonderful people.They take such good care of you.This was our 20th anniverasry celebration and first bed and breakfast experiance .We cant say enough from the delicious food , mmmm good cookies, a bed that feels like a cloud you will think you have a little piece of heaven,we wont even get started on the frech toast :) love it love it thank you again Steve and Marie louise Shawn and Amy

Respuesta del propietario

Don't wait another 20 years to go to a B&B! Although we are all different, you're sure to enjoy staying in a B&B more than anywhere else. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to your return visit. Take another break to grab some more alone time, and fall asleep on a cloud again!


Superb bed and breakfast!

5 en diciembre 18, 2011

This is a great bed and breakfast, convenient to the beach, downtown and the aquarium. We are repeat customers and the service and breakfast are consistently excellent. Steve and Marie-Louise use locally produced foods. Marie-Louise accommodated our dietary needs, which were complicated. The inn was quiet in a primarily residential area. The room was comfortable and clean. Steve and Marie-Louise are friendly, warm and helpful. We look forward to returning in February. We highly recommend Barclay Cottage to anyone visiting Virginia Beach. Art and Mary from Lawrenceville, New Jersey

Respuesta del propietario

We look forward to seeing you both again in February. Thank you for the kind review. Have a safe trip. Steve & Marie-Louise


Memorable Experience

5 en noviembre 03, 2011

I've been meaning to write a response since I stayed so this is long overdue. We stayed here in June of 2010 for our wedding retreat. My wife and I wanted something unique for the weekend leading up to our wedding so rather than staying at a chain hotel we thought this would be something new. Wow were we amazed. From the rooming to the food, the atmosphere to the service it was everything we could have imagined. You both made our day so special. For our 1 year anniversary our parents bought us a gift certificate to the Barclay Cottage and we are planning a winter retreat from the stress of our daily grind. We both can't wait! Thanks and see you soon!!

Respuesta del propietario

We are looking forward to helping you celebrate your Anniversary. We'll be happy to put together a memorable stay with restaurant reservations, perhaps some extras in your room (Champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, flowers, etc.) a couple's massage, Winter Seafari?? Call us to set it all up!


Two Teachers and a Report Card

5 en junio 14, 2011

Staying at Barclay Cottage was such a wonderful experience that we two retired teachers just had to give Steve and Marie Louise a "report card" -- all A ++. From the beautiful antiques to the comfortable rooms - top of the line !!! The breakfasts were excellent, and the conversation was genuine ! We loved our visit and will return !!! Bill & Dianne from Johnstown, PA

Respuesta del propietario

Ok, Mr. Bill and Ms. Diamme, it's almost the end of the next quarter - time for another report card at Miss Barclay's School. You'd better come down and make sure our grades are not slipping!


A Pampered, relaxing, and beautiful B&B experience!

4,8 en mayo 15, 2011

Beautiful and quiet rooms. Loved the breakfasts-great food and conversation! Hosts were very knowledgable about everything Virginia Beach. Loved there big, beautiful porches-me and my sisters sat for hours drinking tea or eating cheeses and wine and conversing. What a wonderful, peaceful place to connect with those you love, and meet new wonderful people also staying there.

Respuesta del propietario

You and your sisters were so much fun to have as guests...come back soon. We'll chill a bottle of champagne for you!


Serenity and comfort at its best

5 en mayo 11, 2011

What a delightful stay in one of the best B&Bs in the country. Perfectly located just minutes from shopping, dining, beach, and cultural activities. The Innkeepers are so welcoming and thoguhtful, you feel as if you are "home". Gourment breakfasts in the morning, and fresh cookies in the afternoon. Lovely decor, very clean, a beautiful home away from home. I had the most enjoyable time - treated like royalty.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your kind words. We know when we've succeeded when our guests begin to refer to our B&B as "home" - as in "We had cold drinks on the porch when we came home from the beach..." We're happy to be your "Home away from Home" - it's our goal.


IT CAN'T GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS!!!

5 en abril 12, 2011

Barclay Cottage is a delightful place with the best hosts Marie Louise and Steve La Fond. They made us feel like family that they were happy to see and welcome. The rooms are all tastefully decorated with comfort in mind. The breakfasts are their specialty - delicious and creative. Special diet restrictions are gladly accommodated.

Respuesta del propietario

Love the title of your review! It's what I say to Marie-Louise when we talk about our lives since we became innkeepers here in Virginia Beach. Thank you


The only VA Beach place we'll ever stay

5 en marzo 22, 2011

My husband and I have visited BC several times over the last couple of years: once for an anniversary, once for a last minute beach weekend and recently for the Shamrock Marathon. This place truly feels like coming home! Just walking through the door, I can feel my stress just sliding off - Steve and Marie-Louise are so thoughtful and welcoming. No detail or need goes neglected. They have thought of it all before you can even think to ask!! The rooms and living area are comfy and cozy and the breakfast is beyond delicious!! One night (or weekend) will never be enough... every time we leave we start planning another excuse to come back to VA beach... just to stay at BC!

Respuesta del propietario

You are among our special 'friends of Barclay Cottage'. We anticipate your arrival and enjoy your visits very much. So looking forward to welcoming you home before too long.


An Island of Tranquility

5 en marzo 19, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a relaxing stay at the Barclay Inn. Steve and Marie-Louise went out of their way to make our stay the most enjoyable that we have ever had. Their attenion to detail and outstanding service coupled with a clean, comfortable, and convenient Inn made our stay outstanding. We'll be back!

Respuesta del propietario

Yes!!! DO come back! We enjoyed your visit, too.


a beautiful and relaxing stay

5 en enero 23, 2011

Arriving on Friday night (1/21/11), we were greeted with a warm "welcome home" and immediately we knew our stay would be an enjoyful one to remember. If you are looking for a cozy spot to get away and relax then Barclay Cottage is where you want to go. Thank you for everything. We definitely intend to return.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your review. We hope you will come back before you move to California because we really missed you when you left.


Thanksgiving at the beach

4,4 en diciembre 07, 2010

Our extended family--spread out in Chapel Hill and the D.C. area--converged on Virginia Beach for two nights (Thursday and Friday) at Thanksgiving. Steve and Marie-Louise had recommended the Founders Inn for Thanksgiving dinner, and it proved to be not only great but also a bargain, as these things go. They also recommended a nice seafood house--Rockafellers--for Friday night. We pretty much took over Barclay Cottage B&B the rest of the time--chatting and drinking wine on the veranda, playing Scrabble in the living room, taking walks on the boardwalk--all with the innkeepers' blessing. At one point, Marie-Louise even went for a walk around the block, pulling our 4-year-old grandson in a little red wagon. Barclay Cottage B&B is a beautiful Victorian home, and as such a real landmark in Virginia Beach. But maybe the thing that will bring us back was breakfast, which featured fresh fruit, French toast, and frittatas. Really wonderful. And don't miss the aquarium in town!

Respuesta del propietario

Our home was filled with love when you and your family were here for Thanksgiving. It was wonderful to hear the laughter and to enjoy your very well mannered grandson. I really enjoyed spending a little time with him. We appreciate that you came and thank you for taking the time to write this review.


Very comfortable feel. Food was great. Owners are delightful. I have recommended to friends and would go back.

4,4 en septiembre 18, 2010

Thanks Marie-Louise and Stephen for a wonderful experience at the Barclay Cottage Bed & Breakfast. Everything exceeded my expectations! I enjoyed your warm hospitality, great information and excellent breakfasts. It was really an awesome B&B stay. I savored the "homemade cookies" food group in the afternoons. I will continue to sing your praises to everyone who is headed to Virginia Beach. Danielle Augusta, GA

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for continuing to sing our praises! Such a sweet song! We appreciate it. It is music to our ears!


Beyond Our Wildest Expectations!

5 en abril 24, 2010

This B&B really went beyond any expectation. My boyfriend and I decided to go down to Virginian Beach for the Virginia is for Lovers 14K over Valentine’s Day and we stayed here. First, we were late arriving. Really late. The owner called us while we were driving down to make sure everything was okay. He knew we had to come through heavy traffic. It was a polite and unexpected thing. When we finally made it down the owner was great about suggesting places to grab a bite to eat. We had to get up early the next day to go to the race and told the owner we were going to miss breakfast. He was kind enough to put together some to-go breakfasts with muffins and bananas so we still had some energy for the race. The race was awesome, by the way, and I would recommend it to anybody. When we got back to the B&B they asked if we wanted a late breakfast, which I ate and it was delicious. The owner even kept an eye out for the race results and printed them out when they were made available. We almost placed in the race (came in fourth), and the owners gifted us with two champagne glasses for our racing efforts! It was very kind and made a lasting impression. Finally, when my boyfriend left a computer accessory in the room the owners called to let us know they had found it and then mailed it to us promptly. They treated us like family and took care of us. We plan on going back for the next Virginia Beach race, and maybe just for a vacation too!


Professional and personable

5 en noviembre 19, 2009

We have stayed in many B&Bs, and this is one of the best. We stayed here for a few days in early Fall while my husband was attending a conference. We were so impressed with the professionalism of the innkeepers. Steve and Marie-Louise had every detail of our stay arranged to perfection. They were also very friendly and personable, offering dining suggestions and making reservations for us, recommending activities that we might be interested in, and just having a wealth of information about the area available. They even accommodated my husband's conference schedule with an early breakfast on two days of our stay, which we really appreciated. We highly recommend this B&B, and we definitely will return.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for writing this kind review. It is our pleasure to help you enjoy our wonderful area. As you have found out, there is so much to do here. Breakfast being the other "B", please know that accommodating an early business schedule is never a problem.


Outstanding +

5 en noviembre 18, 2009

Four of us spent a week at Barclay Cottage & are happy to report that every expectation was met and exceeded. I researched dozens of inns before choosing Barclay Cottage because of it's excellent reviews. Well, now we know first hand what a lovely inn this is! The reviews are all true-exceptionaly clean and well cared for. The rooms are tastefully decorated & very comfortable with cozy throws and robes provided. The bathrooms are spotless with big fluffy towels and nice ammenities. Breakfast was an absolute delight every morning. My husband has a degree in Culinary Arts and my nephew is following fast in his footsteps. Needless to say, they aren't always the easiest to please when it comes to food. I'm happy to report only excellent reviews of the food were noted from our party and everyone we had the pleasure of dining with. Marie-Louise could host a cooking show with her delightful repertoire of dishes and warm hospitality. Steve LaFond is her perfect co-host because he is so gracious, always making sure we had everything we needed down to the smallest detail. Conversation with Steve is friendly, interesting & informative with splashes of humor. He really helped us maximize our time in an area that has so much to offer. We went non-stop from breakfast until the evening when we would return to the inn and "wind down" on the deck with a cup of hot tea an scrumptious fresh baked cookies. Steve and Marie-Louise made our stay at their beautiful inn a real vacation. They are a delightul couple and we are so grateful to them for their hospitality. God bless you Steve & Marie-Louise!! Bill, Von, Cheri & Nate

Respuesta del propietario

You all sure did do a lot when you were here, exploring our many historic sites, museums and parks. We were happy to help you find things to do that were a bit off the beaten path and that you all enjoyed our lovely area. Personally, I enjoyed serving you our favorite things for breakfast. Cooking show? Hmmmm...interesting thought! Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our inn.


Lighthouse Journey 2009

4,0 en octubre 18, 2009

In 2000, we decided to start on our "bucket list" which entailed seeing all the Lighthouses we could possibly see in the USA. Thus far we have covered all the Great Lakes, Texas, and the East Coast down to Virginia Beach. We have stayed at B&Bs along the way and found the Barclay Cottage to be one of the best. Absolutely wonderful. Everything from the rooms to the breakfast were as described in the website - even better. You could not find more pleasant or helpful hosts than the LaFonds. Although we usually do not return to an area if our Lighthouse mission was accomplished, all four of us agreed that we have to come back to the Barclay Cottage in Virginia Beach! Lori and Tom

Respuesta del propietario

We think that seeing all the lighthouses you can is a wonderful idea. You have certainly made some good progress in achieving your goal. We enjoyed hearing about your trips and are so glad that we have two beautiful and historic lighthouses right here in Virginia Beach, including one commissioned by George Washington. We hope you will come back for another visit, because there is just so much to do here in all seasons. Thank you for your review!


Simply the Best

5 en septiembre 29, 2009

My wife and I just completed a three-night stay at Barclay Cottage. We were in Virginia Beach for the Neptune Festival/Boardwalk Weekend held annually during the last weekend in September. This was our second visit to the "Cottage" and once again Steve and Marie-Louise made us feel right at home. Barclay Cottage is a wonder to behold. Dripping with history, there are hints of the past at every turn. The Cottage has photos, books, antiques and other memorabilia from days gone by in every room. You never know what little gem you will find sitting on a hall table or next to a chair. Steve and Marie-Louise have not over-looked the smallest detail. We stayed in the second-floor "Garden Room" which was cheerful and tastefully decorated, splashed with the warmth of our hosts, not to mention the king-sized bed that was simply dreamy. In the morning fresh coffee awaits early risers and at night homemade cookies with a complimentary night cap of choice welcomes you back "home" after a long day of enjoying the beach, restaurants and shops, all within a short walk. The boardwalk and beach are only a couple of blocks away! Breakfast at Barclay Cottage is nothing short of spectacular. Two and three course breakfasts are the norm. Beginning with fresh muffins or breads, followed by delightful fruit servings through the main course which might be a light and fluffy quiche or the over-the-top Butterscotch French Toast, Marie-Louise's recipes are irresistible! Along with lively and friendly conversation around the breakfast table with other guests and our hosts, there is no better way to start the day. Steve and Marie-Louise have created a down to earth B&B rich in history, where you can relax and be yourself and where your hosts are as warm as the afternoon sun. My wife and I have stayed at B&B's throughout the Mid-Atlantic and New England states and Barclay Cottage is simply the best B&B we've visited.

Respuesta del propietario

How kind of you to write such a nice review of our inn. Welcoming you back is the happiest part of being an inn owner. We cherish our family memorabilia and are so pleased that you enjoy our things. I have been trying lots of new recipes, so get ready. Next time, you'll have new breakfasts to sample!


Coming home

5 en septiembre 09, 2009

Having stayed at Bed and Breakfast homes in the past, I thought I knew what to expect at Barclay Cottage. I didn't. The moment I stepped out of the car I was greeted with "Welcome home!" by Steve and then Marie-Louise. From that point on, my stay was gracious, congenial, and caring. I've never seen such personalized service from people who truly care about their clientelle. The food was gourmet and any special dietary needs were met beautifully. Each room has a different theme. I was in the lighthouse bedroom. Lovely. The wrap around porch was lined with inviting rockers. The cottage was a 2 block walk to the beach. It was literally perfect. I left with regret and hope to return "home" soon.

Respuesta del propietario

I hope you'll come back home soon, too! It was wonderful to have you here and to be part of your success in running your first 1/2 marathon. We are very proud of you!


Best B&B

4,8 en septiembre 08, 2009

We have stayed at numerouse B&B's and there is only one that return to every year and that is Barclay Cottage!! If you want to feel at home without the chores and have the best breakfast you've ever had stay here. Steve and Marie-Louise make you feel like royalty. What an awesome find in a tourist town, I feel like we live there when we visit not like staying at a hotel. I just can't say enough good things about Barclay Cottage and the experience.

Respuesta del propietario

When you are here, we feel as if you live here, too! That's how it is...when you are here, you are home. Thanks for feeling that way. We are looking forward to the next time we will welcome you home!


An Unplanned Stay

5 en septiembre 02, 2009

Our visit to Barclay Cottage was not the trip we'd originally planned. I had checked out the area for a visit in October for our wedding anniversary, but when a dear friend died suddenly and the funeral was to be held in VA Beach, I was suddenly in need of a place to stay. Since Barclay Cottage was the only place I had any information about, I inquired there, never expecting to get in at the last minute. There was one room left, however, and we took it for 2 nights. Our hosts could not have been more helpful. They responded immediately to our inquiry, were flexible about our needs and a late arrival time, and gave us cell phone numbers to contact them as we drove down from Roanoke. When we got there, they had already gone on-line and figured out where the viewing and service were to take place and had printed out directions to both. They were both sensitive to our loss and efficient about checking us in quickly so we could leave immediately after we got there for the viewing Friday night. The next morning, they served us breakfast (which was wonderful!) earlier than the normal time so we would not have to rush to dress for or drive to the funeral. Needless to say, we did not spend the leisurely time there we had envisioned, but we could not have asked for a more comforting respite from the sad occassion which brought us there. Our days were taken up with commemortive gatherings with friends, but we were still able to enjoy sunrise walks on the beach and even a late night supper on the nearby fishing pier. On our last night, as we sat sipping complimetary sherry on the upstairs porch and remembering our friend, I recall thinking that this was the best place we could have possibly ended up. We hope to return under happier circumstances.

Respuesta del propietario

Yes, your planned trip here for October certainly took a sad turn. We are so very sorry that you lost your dear friend. We certainly empathize with you since we have experienced the loss of two good friends this year. With all you have on your mind, let me thank you especially for taking the time to write this review.


Jacques et Chantal

4,8 en agosto 06, 2009

Tout est au dessus de nos espérances,les déjeuners différent et excellent a tout les matins, une chambre et un lit douillet, comme nul part ailleur,d'une propreté impécable,nos hote et hotesse charmant, en un mot Home away from home,merci et longue vie a vous deux et a votre service

Respuesta del propietario

C'etait notre plaisir de vous acceuillir chez nous. Merci pour vos bons mots. Nous esperons que vous retournerez peut-etre l'ete prochain!


So Relaxing!

5 en julio 23, 2009

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Barclay Cottage. Neither of us had stayed at a bed and breakfast before; now we'll probably never stay in a chain hotel again! The inn was beautiful with many interesting antiques and books. Our room was wonderful. The bedding was great - the sheets felt like butter. The innkeepers are very sweet people. They've thought of all the little extras you might need (all the standard toiletries, a special towel for removing makeup, a cd player with a built in sound machine, etc.). We met several very interesting, friendly couples during our stay. The innkeepers and other guests gave us many daily suggestions for things to do in and around Virginia Beach. Another great aspect of Barclay is that they have almost all the beach equipment you might need available for you to borrow (so you don't have to remember to pack it or buy it on the beach). The food was fantastic, and they were able to accomodate my vegetarian diet as well as my husband's food allergy. Breakfast is served early (9 AM!), which was tough because we're not morning people. But the food and conversation is worth waking up for - and we went back to bed afterwards!

Respuesta del propietario

We are honored that you chose to stay with us for your honeymoon and that we could be part of the beginning of your long and happy marriage. Thank you for sharing your experience with others. Welcoming friendly people like you into our home is a joy for us and why we so enjoy being innkeepers!


Awesome!

5 en julio 11, 2009

Friendly place that honors one's solitude. Pristine linens and cleanliness of rooms. Food is fabulous and too many homey amenities to enumerate. Very friendly hosts.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your kind review of our inn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come back. Thanks for telling others about us!


The Place to Stay

5 en julio 11, 2009

I used to travel to Virginia Beach regularly for work there. The Barclay Cottage was my very favorite place to stay. Steve and Mary-Louise are great innkeepers for they always greet you like an old friend, help you get settled in, check to see that you have what you need and invite you to borrow a good book or watch a movie before retiring. The next morning you're greeted with hot coffee, juice and fruit that is quickly followed by a scrumptious breakfast that will easily take you through lunch. I no longer travel to Virginia Beach, but I frequently use Steve and Mary-Louise as examples of people who really understand the importance of providing their guests with great service. Once you stay with them you will come back.

Respuesta del propietario

Wow! Thanks for remembering us! Steve and I used to travel extensively in our former careers and we try to make our business travelers' experience a bit more homey than it would be in a chain hotel. Now you need to come back as a vacationer and play on the beach...or just do nothing...which is perfectly acceptable here!


All I kept saying was "Wow!"

5 en junio 21, 2009

After staying at a variety of BnBs across the US, we found the best one by far. When considering places to stay in Virginia Beach, forget the chain hotels, the old condos, the "interesting" beach rentals and just book your room at Barclay Cottage. Steve and Marie-Louise make you feel like one of their family as the attention to detail is unequaled. After your restful night's sleep, they'll serve you a delicious gourmet breakfast and join you for cup of coffee and friendly banter that'll make you forget whatever agenda you were on! These folks didn't miss a beat and I have never felt more at home in a place I had never been before. See you next time! Gary & Susan

Respuesta del propietario

I couldn't help treat you like family - you're a dead ringer for my cousin, Paul! We enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back, soon. Maybe I can arrange to have my cousin here at the same time and let you two fight it out as to who is the "evil twin!"


The Best, hands down.

5 en junio 16, 2009

We have visited the Barclay Cottage several times and have enjoyed each of our stays. Of course the house is incredible, the innkeepers are fantastic, the location is great, and the breakfasts are to die for, but the greatest thing about the Cottage is that each stay has consistently exceeded expectations. Every time we visit we are impressed with the attention to detail that Steve and Marie-Louise have dedicated to their business. Not only do they make a wonderful "home away from home", but they really seem to enjoy hearing about our lives as well as sharing stories about theirs. This is THE place to stay in Virginia Beach!

Respuesta del propietario

We love to see guests come back again and again. They become close friends and like family to us. It's nice to hear that even small changes are noticed and appreciated as we constantly try to improve our bed and breakfast.


Better than home

5 en mayo 29, 2009

I was recently a guest of Marie Louise and Steve LaFond at the Barclay Cottage in VA Beach. My third stay there felt like I was returning home. It's hard to say whether the impeccable accommodations and amenities (nothing is forgotten), the personal service (Marie Louise hemmed by pants) or the awesome breakfast make this my only choice in VA Beach. If you want personal service in a better-than-home warm atmosphere, you must try Barclay Cottage. Marie Louise's sense of humor is bonus that she shares freely!

Respuesta del propietario

Marie-Louise and I have both traveled extensively on business in our past lives. We know what a grind it can be! We try to provide the little touches that pamper our business guests and that we appreciated or wished were available at the places we stayed. Come home to Barclay Cottage again, and again!


Great B & B

4,0 en mayo 27, 2009

I would suggest a variety of breakfast items served,not just quiche.Otherwise very clean and quiet.Food great.Loved the cute decorated rooms.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for taking the time to review our bed and breakfast. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. If you were here longer than one night, you would have been able to sample the wide variety of breakfasts that we offer. Each one includes fresh fruit, home-baked muffins or breakfast bread, an entrée, breakfast meat (or meatless option) and a side dish or home-baked biscuit, pop-over, etc. Quiche is an example of one of our entrees - a special recipe Marie-Louise learned while living in France. Unless a repeat is requested, guests have a different breakfast menu each day of their stays. Come back and visit us a little longer, and explore more of our many delicious breakfasts.


A place to relax

5 en mayo 11, 2009

Get away to the beach and enjoy outstanding accomodations, exquisite breakfast, easy access to beaches, culture, and history.Warm and friendly innkeepers extend their hospitality to ensure your stay is one you will want to revisit.


What more could we ask for?

5 en mayo 09, 2009

My mother and I stayed at this lovely Inn several years ago during the 4th of July weekend. We were afforded all the ammenities that one would need. We were invited to view the fireworks display with the Inn Keepers and their family. We had a lovely time. Janice White Springboro, OH


Great Experience

5 en abril 26, 2009

This inn was absolutely fantastic!! It had all the amenities and was centrally located within walking distance to the beach and shops. We will definitely make this our "go to" destination when residing in the VA Beach locale.


Amazing

5 en abril 22, 2009

Be sure to stay at Barclay Cottage when visiting Virginia Beach...classical charm that is a delight to live in. At night you sink into a bed for a night's sleep to die for...wake up to a breakfast with fun conversation to start the day with a smile on your face. It's an amazing place to experience!!!!! Mike


A Wonderful Beach Getaway

5 en marzo 31, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at this hidden gem in Virginia Beach. The Cottage is located close to the Oceanfront and restaurants. The service was spectacular and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. The rooms were clean and exuded a quiet charm. The Inn Keepers saw to every detail and they quickly became close friends you could never forget! A must stay for vacationing in Virginia Beach! Kris and Kelly


GETAWAY GALORE

5 en marzo 29, 2009

This place is AWESOME. From the breakfast to the comfy beds, it doesn't get any better. If you plan to do a getaway this year, do it here.


What a treasure!

5 en marzo 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Barclay Cottage recently. The hosts were charming and attentive. We enjoyed our gourmet breakfast immensely and followed it by a walk on the oceanfront only two blocks away. We will definitely return! This is one high-class establishment.


Repeat guests look forward to next stay!

5 en marzo 02, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at Barclay Cottage several times, in various seasons, most recently in January 2009. The only reason for my delayed review is that I have trouble putting into words what seems to come so naturally to Steve & Marie-Louise and their wonderful 'home away from home.' The rooms are beautiful and clean with beds that wrap you in comfort; the fresh coffee available so early in the morning offers a tasty prelude to the absolutely delicious (and hearty!) breakfasts; and the amenities and special touches throughout the inn are endless. We've never been steered wrong for a dinner recommendation (Steve will make reservations without you even having to ask!) and we've never had a need or a want that wasn't already anticipated or rapidly provided by our hosts. And Marie-Louise's chocolate chip cookies are a huge hit with my husband in particular. Winter is as good a time as summer to visit Virginia Beach -- even if only to pamper yourself with a stay at Barclay Cottage!


Restful Repose during Busy Weekend

4,2 en enero 14, 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Barclay. We were in town for a conference that weekend and it was so nice to come back to the Inn to rest and unwind after a busy day. The food was delicious, the room was very cozy and our host was very welcoming and accomodating.


the place to stay in Virginia Beach

4,4 en enero 04, 2009

In August 2008 my girlfriend and I stayed one night in Lillian's Room at Barclay Cottage in Virginia Beach, and it was a great place. Steve and Marie-Louise are fantastic hosts, and they make you feel comfortable from the moment you arrive. There was even a batch of homemade chocolate chip cookies waiting for us. :) They allow you to use a wide variety of their beach equipment, which is great because the B&B is only a 5-minute walk to the beach. Lillian's Room has a school desk, and the bathtub has jet sprays (very nice). This is a very historic property that is pleasing to the senses, and it's the place to stay in Virginia Beach.


The perfect getaway!

4,0 en noviembre 16, 2008

What a beautiful retreat this is! This was my first B&B experience and it far exceeded my expectations. This lovely Inn is as comfortable as it is charming....I was there by myself for a runaway and rest type of getaway and found it was appreciated by single travelers and couples alike. Innkeepers Steve and Marie-Louise have anticipated every detail in making this a wonderful escape to a dreamy little spot just a short walk from the ocean. Guests can make use of bikes and beach chairs/towels, etc. There are snacks and a fridge stocked with water and soft drinks and you can purchase their favorite wines for very reasonable prices. The place is absolutely spotless, while comfortable and cozy. Coffee is available every morning at 6am and the most delicious breakfast I've ever eaten was served at 9am. (The butterscotch french toast is sinful!) I walked to the beach and boardwalk daily and spent time reading and enjoying the porches of the Inn. Your hosts are lovely, down to earth people who welcome you to their home with such enthusiasm for your stay to be just exactly as you'd like it to be. Dont hesitate on this one, it's just perfect!

Respuesta del propietario

Couldn't have said it any better myself! And I'm SO humble! Glad you enjoyed your stay. We try to make everyone comfortable and it's nice to hear when our efforts are successful. We have quite a few guests who come by themselves to relax - or in one case to write a doctoral thesis!


Great innkeepers, great location, great inn

5 en noviembre 14, 2008

I can't say enough about how wonderful Steve and Marie-Louise are. Sometimes when you go to an inn, it's the rooms that stand out, other times it's the breakfast, once in awhile it's the innkeepers. While you have all three making a great impression here (along with a fabulous location, just 2 blocks from the beach), it's the kindness of the innkeepers I'll never forget! I was in town on business and my computer had a virus. Steve tried to help me, and I also had the good fortune to be sharing the breakfast table with an IT pro. Both worked on my computer, but it was still limping along, and I needed a reliable one for the presentation I was doing. Immediately, Marie-Louise offered to loan me her computer! You wouldn't find the GM of the local Howard Johnsons Motor Lodge or Marriott offering up their computer, would you? This was such a wonderful act of kindness and trust in me. I was astounded at how kind it was. When you enter the inn, there's a little sign that says "welcome home". Barclay Cottage is like being in your own beautiful home. It's comfortable, casual and filled with lovely heirlooms. The only difference is that someone cooks breakfast for you here (that doesn't happen in my home!) and the breakfast is fabulous - fresh fruit, great coffee and a beautiful quiche. Barclay Cottage will always stand out in my mind as one of the kindest most memorable B&B experiences I've ever had.


A Wonderful Anniversary!

5 en noviembre 13, 2008

What a wonderful place to spend our anniversary! We drove down in a tropical storm and arrived to a wonderful warm, cozy home. Steve and Marie-Louise were wonderful and the breakfast outstanding. Our only regret is that we only booked one night. We will return!! Steve and Susan


Pleasant, relaxing stay

4,6 en octubre 31, 2008

The gracious hospitality of Steve and Marie-Louise in their well maintained and appointed home, along with the tasty meals and proximity to the beach and other points of interest, provided a delightfully mini-vacation.


relaxation at it's best

5 en octubre 27, 2008

Fantastic B&B. very nice and relaxing. would recommend it to anyone looking for a great getaway!


home away from hom

4,8 en octubre 24, 2008

from the moment you arrive, the owners welcome you with warmth and a desire to make your stay truly wonderful! fantastic food and accommodations. they think of every detail to help you enjoy your visit


"A Beautiful Place"

4,6 en octubre 22, 2008

What a wonderful place to stay in Virginia Beach.The owners Stephen and Marie-Louise LaFond are warm and friendly.The rooms are beautiful, we stayed in Alice's Room. A great breakfast, with many extras are included in your stay. Their dinner advise can't be beat. If you want a quite and relaxing place to stay, Barclay Cottage should be your choice. Nick & Joan


A special retreat!

4,8 en octubre 15, 2008

All the extras one could imagine - plus more. The breakfast was to die for - plus it was enough food for dinner.


Excellent Bed & Breakfast close to the Beach in historical house(1895)

5 en octubre 03, 2008

Most hearty welcome, very informative and internationally experienced - innkeepers exceptional service including free bikes, helmets, surfing equipment, towels, sun umbrella, beach chairs, cool and hot drinks.


Outstanding Property

4,4 en septiembre 28, 2008

Everything about Barclay cottage is top notch. Very clean, excellent breakfast, very comfortable, and great innkeepers. We felt very much at home as soon as we walked in and Steve and Marie Louise made sure that we had everything we needed.


Barclay Cottage est la place ou demeurer a Virginia Beach

4,8 en julio 19, 2008

Notre séjour a Barclay Cottage du 23 au 27 juin 08 fut le meilleur de tous les B&B jusqu'a date..Steve et Marie-louise étaient des hôtes formidable...Le déjeuner était copieux et délicieux servi sur une table des plus invitante... A plusieurs occasions j'ai demandé des directions ou choses a voir ou faire et Steve nous a toujours fait sentir qu'on ne le dérangeais pas.. Le Barclay est situé dans un environnement tranquille, abordable et loin des bruits de la circulation.. c'était comme a la maison.. si vous voulez apprécier un court ou long séjour de vacance alors n'hésitez pas de réserver au Barclay Cottage... Oh!!! j'oubliais.. qu'elle surprise de voir notre drapeau du Québec qui se balançait au vent près du drapeau Américain en avant du Barclay Cottage..( une pensée qui fut très appréciée ) Micheline et Normand de la ville de Québec, Canada


An amazing first getaway!

5 en julio 15, 2008

Everything about this bed and breakfast was perfect. It was two blocks away from the beach at a very central location. We were able to walk to everything. The breakfast was so delicious that you would dream about it the night before. There fresh homemade cookies available all the time. The innkeepers were very helpful, they had tons of recommendations. We cannot wait to return to Barclay Cottage.


Perfect! Absolutely perfect...

5 en junio 23, 2008

I returned home yesterday from Barclay and just looking at the pictures makes me sad that I'm not sitting there now. I cannot say enough about this bed & breakfast. Everything was perfect. My boyfriend took me there as a surprise and actually ended up proposing over the weekend. Steve and Marie-Louise helped to make the weekend so special for us. From an early morning picnic, to mimosas at breakfast, to a "Happy Engagement" sign, to a personalized call to a restaurant ensuring that we had the best seats, to a champagne toast on one of the amazing porches in the evening - they went above and beyond. I really could keep going with all the 'extras', but for the sake of length, will move on:) The property itself is amazing. Located just two blocks from the beach, it feels just like home. There is relaxing music in the rooms, wide porches with rocking chairs, beach cruisers, and the stay even includes beach towels and chairs! The breakfast that we had each morning was phenomenal. I would stay at this bed & breakfast for the food alone! I couldn't keep the secret of the wonderful Barclay Cottage (not to mention Steve and Marie-Louise) to myself. Every single time that we are back in Virginia Beach, we will be staying at Barclay Cottage. I suggest you treat yourself and do the same!


Our first time and we loved it!

5 en junio 20, 2008

We have never been to a B&B and were a little leary but we really enjoyed it, even though we only stayed one night. Breakfast was the BOMB and the conversation was great! Then I asked the innkeepers for a recommendation on buying unique Mother's Day gifts on our way out of town. They told me of the Ragged Robin and we bought both gifts there! Also, we called before coming to find out the best place to eat dinner when we arrived and the first thing Steve did was ask what our personalities were like and we went from there. We ended up dining oceanfront at Mahi Mahi's and we loved that also. Then some late night TV and conversation with some other guests and off to bed. It was very different than any hotel experiences we have had.


Perfect

5 en mayo 28, 2008

Barclay Cottage is the best place to stay. The innkeepers left no stone un-turned to ensure we had a unforgettable experience.


Happy Anniversay

4,0 en mayo 16, 2008

This was our first stay at a B&B so I was a little nervous. It was our 22nd Anniversary so I wanted to surprise my husband. I called Barclay as I had questions and Marie-Louise was wonderful. She arranged everything for our romantic getaway including a couples massage, dinner, and wonderful surprises throughout the evening. The cottage was well kept, and beautiful. Breakfast was awesome but what really made our stay wonderful was Steve and Marie-louise. Although the cottage was full we had so much privacy. We will not be staying in hotels anymore. Bed and Breakfasts are the way to go.


This is the best inn! After staying here you will want to return many times.

5 en mayo 07, 2008

Barclay Cottage is an exceptionally wonderful place to stay. Steve and Marie Louise LaFond, the owners and innkeepers, are truly gracious hosts and see to it that their guests have all the comforts available for an amazing stay. Where does one start? Upon arrival Steve or Marie Louise welcome their guests and make one feel instantly at home. The inn, located only 2 blocks from the boardwalk and beach is beautiful, cozy and immaculately clean with wide inviting wrap around porches equipped with comfortable chairs. The tastefully decorated guestrooms with pillow top beds, lovely linens, scented candles and soothing music CDS are thoughtfully designed for total relaxation. The inn provides bicycles, beach chairs and towels to take to the beach. If one prefers to stay inside there is the warm living room with books to read and a TV (with cable subscription) VCR, DVD and a receiver available for movies to watch, plenty of books to read and games to play. In a dresser drawer in the hallway there are menus available from about any restaurant in the VA Beach area. No special touches are overlooked. The daily breakfasts, freshly prepared by Marie Louise, were outstanding and a pleasant ritual to share with the other guests while enjoying the innkeepers’ company and interesting conversations as they sat with us. Steve and Marie Louise’s kindness, generosity and helpfulness will make your stay at the Barclay Cottage an unforgettable experience. When we left we felt like we were saying goodbye to good friends. Barclay Cottage is definitely the place to stay and we hope to return many times. M & W S


Definitely recommend!

5 en abril 13, 2008

Beautiful B&B! Exceptionally comfortable, warm and friendly . . . we felt right at home! Stephen and Marie-Louise were extremely helpful supplying us with local information and accomodating our early-morning departure plans. Breakfast was delicious! All the little extras throughout our stay made it most enjoyable. Definitely deserves the highest B&B ratings!


Comfort, Warmth & Great Food

4,4 en marzo 14, 2008

The Whale Watching package at Barclay Cottage is a great value, whether you are lucky enough to see the whales or not. This very homey B&B reflects the warmth and welcoming demeanor of its proprietors. There is great attention to detail in the appointment of spotless individual rooms as well as in the comfort of the guests-- binoculars and bikes you can borrow, fresh cookies or brownies whenever you want them, a guest "closet" chock full of snacks and drinks, games, books, CD's. The innkeeper knows everything that is going on in the area and shares generously. Steve is also a great cook. Breakfast highlights included fresh fruit, homemade breads, eggs benedict one morning and crab omeletes the next. The cottage is a very short walk from the beach and just a mile or two from the wonderful aquarium that is include with this package. Barclay Cottage is on our "must return" list.


Warm Welcome to All Visitors

4,2 en febrero 19, 2008

We had a very nice first experience with a bed and breakfast establishment at Barclay Cottage. It was like staying at a friend's lovely home. The breakfasts were very tasty and most filling - we liked the mixed berries and cream and the omelets. The conversations were interesting and the company was friendly even though we didn't know each other. People shared entertaining stories of their travels and life experiences. The innkeepers were most helpful with suggested places to eat and visit. We would recommend Barclay Cottage to anyone interested in a quiet and friendly, but not dull place to stay at Virginia Beach. Definitely, we would return for future visits when we get the chance.


Barclay Cottage.

4,0 en diciembre 17, 2007

My stay at the Barclay Cottage exceeded all expectations I could have had for a bed and breakfast!

Respuesta del propietario

We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We think staying at B&Bs is a kinder, gentler way to travel! There are some great ones all over the country - just check bedandbreakfast.com when planning your trips.


traveling grandparents

5 en diciembre 10, 2007

Our visit was just great. We loved the clean rooms, peaceful and quiet atmosphere, cookies and a great breakfast. The hosts were cheerful, helpful and practical. We would stay again because of the convenience to the beach and our grandchildren.

Respuesta del propietario

Thnak you for your kind words...our grandchildren love Nanna's cookies, also :)


Wonderful Romantic Weekend.

4,8 en noviembre 20, 2007

Barclay is a perfect destination for a weekend getaway.

Respuesta del propietario

Romantic weekend getaways our specialty!


Romantic Interlude

5 en noviembre 14, 2007

Besides Stephen & Marie-Louise excellent talent as hosts, the chance to sit on the porch, walk to the Boardwalk and have all your desires come true was more than we have ever experienced in 10 years of Bed & Breakfast Inns. We never wanted to leave what became a home away from home.

Respuesta del propietario

We must have succeeded in setting the mood just right! You can always come home!


Just Like Mom & Dad!

5 en octubre 24, 2007

Very helpful and inviting innkeepers. Excellent, lovingly cooked breakfast. I was informed immediately after leaving that I had forgotten my bag! So helpful—Great experience!

Respuesta del propietario

Mom and Dad still love you!


Barclay Cottage

5 en octubre 23, 2007

Great room and people

Respuesta del propietario

Great guest!


Barclay Cottage.

4,6 en octubre 17, 2007

Gracious hosts. We had a fantastic stay at the barclay cottage, extremely gracious hosts with all the ammenities we needed (and then some) with beach bikes and let us use their fridge even after we had checked out. Nothing but good things to say.

Respuesta del propietario

Glad your first time B&B experience was enjoyable. Unlike hotels/motels, each B&B is different and has different features. A few tips....Research is more important when choosing a B&B than when selecting a chain hotel or motel. Some states, like Virginia, permit B&Bs to opt out of health code requirements PROVIDED the owners state that on all advertising. Unfortunately, the disclaimers never appear and enforcement is lax. Look for AAA or Mobil ratings which are granted only after rigorous annual inspections, and consider staying only in B&Bs that are members of their state associations. Most state associations have minimum health and safety standards for membership and inspect their members for compliance.


Barclay Cottage.

4,6 en octubre 17, 2007

Barclay cottage was wonderful. The breakfasts were sumptious. The inn keepers were very helpful and knowledgable about the area.

Respuesta del propietario

We try to stay abreast of local activities so that we can recommend them based upon our own experiences. Besides, we chose to live here because we love the area and enjoy all the things it has to offer.


An Oasis In Virginia Beach!

5 en octubre 16, 2007

My wife and I continue to be unabashed cheerleaders for Barclay Cottage and are regular visitors to this wonderful B&B in Virginia Beach. The B&B's location is ideal - just close enough to the boardwalk/beach to participate in the nearby activities and just far enough away to enjoy a quiet, residential neighborhood when you want to relax. When you first enter the cottage, there is a little message which says, "Welcome Home!" - and that about says it all. The innkeepers, Steve & Marie-Louise LaFond, obviously have a deep love for their work and a strong dedication to making sure that all of their guests are feeling relaxed and pampered! The breakfasts are delicious & plentiful; the rooms are delightfully decorated and very comfortable; the wraparound porches just beg you to sit in the rocking chairs with a good book; the atmosphere is warm and inviting; and the many amenties are well thought-out and detailed. We are always extremely reluctant to go when it comes time to leave. Who could ask for anything more?!

Respuesta del propietario

I couldn't have said it better myself! Thank-you!


OUSTANDING!

5 en octubre 15, 2007

Steve and Mary Louise were beyond accomodating. Great B&B especially breakfast. Will be back next year!

Respuesta del propietario

We love it when folks return year after year. It's almost like family visits!


Cottage by the Beach.

4,8 en octubre 10, 2007

Excellent facility, modern and colonial at the same time. 2 blocks from a beautiful beach. Very comfortable rooms with private bath and breakfast was wonderful. 2 very personable innkeepers; highly recommended.

Respuesta del propietario

We provide free high speed wireless internet connectivity everywhere on our property. If one forgets the laptop, our guest computer and business center can be used to check e-mail, print bording passes, etc.


Peaceful Ocean Retreat

5 en octubre 08, 2007

To our fellow Bed and Breakfast travelers, we highly recommend this one, especially to those who love the beach, wrap around porches with rocking chairs, friendly environments, and outstanding food!

Respuesta del propietario

Because they wrap around the house, even when it is chilly outside, those porches give opportunities to bask in the sun away from the wind. Also, although we are a smoke free inn, smoking is allowed outside on the patio and porches.


There's no place like home...

5 en septiembre 09, 2007

Barclay Cottage is the only place for us in Virginia Beach. Steve and Marie-Louise make you feel like you are coming home when you return from your day out. Barclay Cottage is extremely clean and the breakfast in amazing and the home-baked cookies are outstanding. We felt extremely comfortable and well taken care of there. We were so happy there, we will be returning for our vacation next year!!

Respuesta del propietario

We love it when folks return again and again. It really makes us feel as though we've done a good job! C'mon back next year, but remember you don't have to wait 'til August. There's a lot happening here all year round. How about a Whale Watch excursion in February?


A slice of Heaven in Virginia Beach

5 en agosto 06, 2007

There is only one place to stay in Virginia Beach - The Barclay Cottage! I have stayed in many B&B's and Barclay Cottage by far was the best overall feeling. Steve and Marie Louise, innkeepers, made my stay very relaxed and comfortable. The Inn is immaculate. Steve and Marie paid attention to every detail meeting every need any guest may have. They serve a wonderful three course breakfast every morning - something to really look forward to every day! Their mott is "relax, you're home now" and that truly is how I felt. No one is a stranger here, instead all are welcome very special guests. Don't miss this one!

Respuesta del propietario

How does that saying go?...."There are no strangers here - only friends you have not yet met." We like to think that applies to Barclay Cottage. We've truly met some wonderful friends in our 4 years of innkeeping.


The P E R F E C T escape

5 en julio 31, 2007

I surprised my husband with a few days away from our hectic schedule with a stay at Barclay Cottage. We didn't want to leave!! The LaFond's are the perfect hosts. We stayed in Lillian's Room which was truly gorgeous - the bed was so comfy! Mary-Louise is a brilliant cook, from the warm cookies that welcome you to the gourmet breakfasts each morning. They have thought of everything so all you have to do is RELAX. We don't even have to think twice about where we'll stay next time. Thanks Steve & Marie-Louise!

Respuesta del propietario

Glad to oblige! Sometimes we can actually see the stress leave our guests. Come again soon. We'll be sure to leave some cookies out!


"Ever sleep on a cloud...?"

5 en julio 04, 2007

"...well, tonight you're going to!" How great is that to be greeted that way by a fellow guest who passed by us during check in ? Barlclay lived up to its billing, and far surpassed it in all the ways that matter...cleaniness, hospitality, convenience, reasonable rates, while at the same time, in a picturesque setting that makes you feel right at home. No sterility here in atmosphere, only in cleanliness! The innkeepers are really hospitable folks who genuinely make you feel that your comfort is their first priority. We settled right in to this gracious atmosphere, and allowed oursleves to forget the reality of the other 51 weeks of the year! The breakfasts are beyond delicious...not sue how they manage home cooked gourmet, but they sure do! We had special diet needs and these were graciously accomodated...they went out of their way to have delectables four every palate! Gold Star Place! We will be back again!

Respuesta del propietario

It's appreciative folks like y'all that make us feel blessed that we are innkeepers. This wonderful home has been accommodating guests since 1917 and was an elementary school for 50 years. It seems to have a lot of good vibes that make our jobs even more joyful!


Fabulous B&B

4,6 en junio 15, 2007

Barclay Cottage is the epitome of what a B&B should be. Quaint, cozy, quiet, a "just like home" feel. It's 2 blocks from the beach but somehow one feels as if they're away from it all. Everything you need is at your disposal. Beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas even a "cart" one can load up with beach goodies & off you go. Steve & Marie-Louise will accommodate any request you may have. Ice for your water bottle, room in their fridge if the guest fridge is too full, even Aloe Vera for those of us with unexpected sunburns...LOL The wrap around porch on the second floor was one of my absolute favorite places to relax - the rocking chairs give it that quintessential feel. One can even watch fireworks from the porch while rocking away & enjoying a glass of wine – or two…LOL Now for the reason this B&B is the best - the exceptional breakfasts. I had the privilege to enjoy 3 of them & each day they were absolutely amazing. No buffet style breakfasts here. One feels special with the individualized service. My mouth is watering just thinking about them. And in the afternoons when you return from your daily outings, there are always fresh cookies to be enjoyed. This was an experience I will never forget - 5 stars all the way! -Elsa-

Respuesta del propietario

Elsa, thank you for your kind words. Come back soon!


A Thoroughly Enjoyable Stay

5 en mayo 13, 2007

Our stay at Barclay Cottage was our first venture into B&Bs in the U.S. We usually stay at hotels, but not any longer ! All of the positive comments of previous guests were exceeded. The leisurely breakfast around the common dining table is an excellent way to get to know your fellow guests. We encountered car trouble during our visit and Steve assisted with shuttle service to the garage. Marie-Louise and Steve are innkeeepers par excellance. They have set a high standard for their competition. Highly recommended for anyone considering a visit to the Virginia Beach area. Many thanks from Donna & Bill, Perth, Ontario, Canada

Respuesta del propietario

We were glad to help with the car situation. Same as we would do for any of our friends - like Bill and Donna!


Weekend to forever remember

4,8 en mayo 01, 2007

Steve and Marie-Louise were amazing hosts and were there to accommodate anything we needed. They helped us celebrate our sunrise engagement by presenting a mimosa toast to us and with all the guests of the inn. It was beautiful.

Respuesta del propietario

We were thrilled that you chose a stay at our B&B during which to become engaged. We hope you come back to visit often and share many more happy memories. Besides, we really love Mimosas!


Time Away

5 en abril 20, 2007

The Barclay Cottage is perfect in everyway. Marie-Louise and Steve make it that way. From the cleaniness to the friendliness and the fantastic food, we highly recommend it.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank-you! Come back and see us when the weather is a bit warmer! Spring is finally bustin' out all over - Marie-Louise's gardening efforts are really paying off!


Great B&B

5 en abril 07, 2007

Innkeepers went out of their way to be helpful and provide a wonderful stay. Provided great assistance to those staying for the Shammock Marathon. I would encourage runners to stay at this place. The common areas were comfortable and had a "homey" feel to them. Steve and Marie-Louise were welcoming and have a great sense of humor.

Respuesta del propietario

While Marie-Louise and I are not runners, we try to support our guests who are - whether marathoners or just folks out for a jog. Virginia Beach has 134 miles of biking and running trails. C'mon down!


Anniversary Getaway!

5 en abril 04, 2007

What a great way to spend a relaxing long weekend. Their home was cozy and inviting throughout. The rooms were the perfect size and who doesn't love waking up and having coffee on a huge gorgeous wrap around porch. The food is amazing and all home made. Marie-louise and Steve really go above and beyond in making you feel welcome in their home. We had a wonderful time and recommend the cottage to all.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is always nice to know that one's efforts are appreciated by guests. Be sure to come back and stay with us on your next getaway!


Great Experience

5 en marzo 28, 2007

Food was great. Rooms very clean and well kept. Housekeeping was excellent. Steve and Marie-Louise were very accommodating in suggesting activities and restaurants.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your review. We've passed your comments about our rooms being "very clean and well kept" on to Heather, our assistant, who was pleased to hear that her efforts were recognized by guests.


Going the distance

5 en marzo 27, 2007

It's hard to say what was better, the hospitality or the yummy dining. We were in town for the Shamrock Marathon. Steve and Marie-Louise provided special carb-loaded 6 a.m. breakfasts to the four guests who were running, gave us a ride to the starting line, then provided the customary full breakfasts for other guests, and then -- in an incredible above-and-beyond effort -- had a full-meal brunch waiting for us after the race. In between, Steve found time to go out on the course to cheer us on. Great inn, great people, great fun.

Respuesta del propietario

GO! BARCLAY COTTAGE RUNNERS!!


Barclay Cottage B&B

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $120 - $270
  • Comentarios (95) 4,8
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono (757) 422-1956

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba