The Mayhurst Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,8

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,7
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,6
  • Limpieza4,8
  • Comidas4,8

Puntuación basada en
127 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Great B&B in a great location

4,8 en septiembre 16, 2014

A truly charming house steeped in history and located close to historical sites and wonderful wineries. Room was beautiful (Madison Suite). The owners, Pat and Jack, could not have been nicer. Breakfast was excellent, the best eggs benedict ever and more than enough food to tide us over through a day of historical plantation and winery visits. Evening wine and cheese consisted of local wines and excellent premium cheeses and great company. Can't wait for a return visit!


Wonderful Overnight stay

5 en julio 15, 2014

I would highly reccomend the Mayhurst Inn to anyone! in fact, I already have told several of my close friends, who will be planning stays in the near future. THe food was incredible


Enjoyable stay!

5 en julio 12, 2014

We just spent 2 wonderful nights at the Mayhurst and we are already planning a return visit in the fall. Hospitality and accommodations were exceptional. Breakfast was delicious. Perfect get-away!


Restful and Romantic Stay

4,8 en julio 23, 2013

Truly exceptional bed and breakfast. The owners/hosts are gracious and thoughtful and know the area quite well. If you are looking for a quiet romantic gateway during the week, this is it. They have a option for a elegant, gourmet home cooked meal with wine pairing for each course, very good.


Fourth Time at the Mayhurst!

5 en julio 01, 2013

I discovered this B&B in 2005 and it was a great find. My wife and I have stayed at the Mayhurst 4 times now and each time is a better experience. Pat & Jack are great owners and terrific hosts. We've stayed in a different room each time and which are all very comfortable and unique. Lots to do in the area in regards to history, antiques, and wineries as well as great local restaurants. However, one can not miss the superb breakfast in the morning and the wine & cheese get together every afternoon at 5:30. Mary Pat & Wayne, Hendersonville, N.C.


Wonderful B&B!

5 en noviembre 05, 2012

Stayed at Mayhurst for the first time this past Fri. 11/2/2012 and Sat. 11/3/2012, in order to see the Montpelier Races near Orange, VA. From start to finish, Owners Jack and Pat North made our stay an absolute pleasure. Very smooth process, very professional, warm and caring people. Genuine. We stayed in the Madison room, and slept like rocks both nights in the very quiet home. Breakfast both days was very, very good. Pat and Jack make it look easy, and what they do so well cannot be easy without a lot of attention to detail and a lot of thought about how to make guests have a relaxing visit. We just got home to Northern Virginia yesterday (about 80 miles from Orange) and have already made reservations at The Mayhurst Inn for next year's racing. Don't miss the two miles or so of mowed grass walkways through the property. There is a lot of beautiful scenery in the area. We've stayed in 'nice' B&Bs before in New England, Maryland, and Virginia, and cannot remember a place or hosts we liked better.


Peaceful, country get away

4,8 en octubre 16, 2012

We loved the school house accommodation which was pet friendly and located about 100 yards from the main house. Enjoyed the evening wine, cheese and conversation in the main house. Hosts, Pat and Jack, were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and bountiful. Visiting Mayhurst Inn was beautiful. Felt like stepping back in time.


Great as always!

4,0 en octubre 01, 2012

We have made over 10 visits to the Maryhurst Inn for many events such as UVA graduation ceremony to celebrating birthday/anniversary times. It is consistently a quality experience with so many things to do or just doing nothing and relaxing. Pat and Jack North are wonderful hosts. We highly recommend a visit to the Maryhurst!


Great stay!

4,8 en septiembre 30, 2012

Our stay at Mayhurst was GREAT! The service and food were fantastic. Pat and Jack exceeded our expectations. The location away from the road made it very quiet. The period pieces throughout the Inn were tastefully selected and placed. The only minor complaint was the room in front of the toilet was a little snug. Overall, a strong recommend.


WONDERFUL TIME

5 en agosto 03, 2012

A great stay with great hosts. Jack and Pat were so helpful putting together a weekend to remember for our anniversary. Great recommendations for special dinner and things to do in the area during day and night. Peaceful surroundings and at night you could imagine what it was like to be there in the 19th Century--nothing but the sound of the cicadas. Conversation with our hosts ranged from civil war history, historical construction, to what's new in the area. Had a wonderful time.


Our Home Away From Home

5 en julio 16, 2012

We first discovered the Mayhurst several years ago while looking for a beautiful place for our wedding. Well, we were so taken with the place and, especially, with the warmth and knowledge of Pat and Jack that we had our wedding there a few months after our first visit. Since then, we try to come back every chance we can (not often enough for us) and recently brought our baby to the Mayhurst for his first (but definitely not his last) visit. Both the grounds and the house are beautifully maintained, the food is great, the location offers lots to do (or just a chance to relax) but what really makes the Mayhurst our very favorite B&B are Pat and Jack, who treat us (and, as far as I can tell, all of their guests) like family. We're already planning our next visit.


Wish we didn't have to leave!

5 en julio 02, 2012

Jack helped me plan the perfect trip for my boyfriend's 50th Birthday. He wanted a Civil War vacation and they delivered just that and more. Every detail was taken care of from the dinner's, breakfast, candles on the cake, tours, wine and cheese reception, strawberries and more wine. Everything was perfect and even better than I imagined. I couldn't have pulled this off with out the both of them. Pat made the best chocolate cake, I just could not get enough of it. We will be back!


Great Getaway

5 en junio 12, 2012

Jack and Pat are wonderful hosts. They know all the little places that make your stay special. Makes every guest feel like they're staying with old friends. Highly recommended.


Highly Recommend this B & B, top notch..

3,8 en mayo 11, 2012

WOW ! What an awesome experience, Jack and Pat have such a beautiful property, spectacular Gardens, well maintained and what a vision for the city dwellers. Our stay was superb have not felt so at peace and relaxed in a very long time, and we needed it. The house it an awesome part of our local History and the owners have really made it their passion to keep it looking top notch, Breathtaking. One of the very best B&B's I have had the pleasure of experiencing, and I have been to many.. Thanks much for such wonderful memories and weekend filled with Peace and Love.


Engagement Celebration Getaway 2012

4,8 en abril 29, 2012

My fiance and I had the pleasure of staying at the Mayhurst Inn in late April 2012. We had just gotten engaged the prior weekend and our two nights away were for us to celebrate and relax as we prepare for the busy year ahead planning our wedding. Pat and Jack were fabulous hosts!! They made our stay completely relaxing and enjoyable, and were happy to help with anything we needed. They were even willing to accommodate us in watching game 7 of the Caps vs Flyers to advance to the SemiFinals! The rooms are all elegantly decorated and unique. The food was absolutely fantastic between the freshly prepared breakfasts, pastries, and picnic lunch; We are looking forward to returning!


Perfect weekend!

5 en abril 23, 2012

Every detail was perfect creating a wonderful weekend


Wonderful Inn – Compassionate Innkeepers – Delicious Food

5 en febrero 21, 2012

The Mayhurst innkeepers, Jack and Pat, were knowledgeable, accommodating, and compassionate. They took time out of their day to make us feel at home with not only the delicious breakfast each day (perfect cinnamon rolls, followed by baked grapefruit and wonderful omelets made to order – or delicious muffins, fruit parfaits, and Eggs Benedict – to name my two favorite days) but also by hosting a wine and cheese social each evening. They showed they genuinely cared about us and wanted to make our stay as comfortable and memorable as possible even though we were in town for a difficult event. Jack and Pat helped us find ways to incorporate history, right at the Inn, Robert E. Lee and Stonewall Jackson have history here (maybe even in the room we were in). They suggested visits we took to wineries from Horton to Barboursville and to Burnley which were all unique in their own way. They even sent us to some fine local restaurants that were scrumptious. Each evening, we returned, to relax in front of the warm glow of the fire in our room and we woke each morning to the wonderful aroma of coffee brewing and the smell of breakfast pastries baking. Who would not want to return? We are sure to return to the Mayhurst Inn to stay with Jack and Pat on our future trips to Orange VA. Thank you Jack and Pat!


A step back in time to Southern Charm

4,6 en enero 09, 2012

A wonderful experience and delightful get away. The breakfasts were superb, and evening wine selections outstanding, pared with lovely cheese and crackers, and conversation. Our hosts, Jack and Pat were extremely well verse in the area history and activities and most helpful in all aspects of making us feel welcome and comfortable.


Accommodating of Food Restrictions

4,6 en noviembre 20, 2011

The house was beautiful, the proprietors friendly, interesting, and accommodating. Breakfasts were amazing and accompanied by soft classical music that started off each day so peacefully. Best of all, they are well-versed in accommodating food allergies (mine are corn, soy, and gluten). Would absolutely stay there again.


Wonderful Weekend Retreat

5 en noviembre 05, 2011

Can not say enought about how much we enjoyed our stay. Would highly recommend . Kathy and Ronald


Absolutely Wonderful

4,0 en octubre 24, 2011

We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Mayhurst. This was our second weekend there. Pat and Jack do a great job as hosts, from the food to the warm welcome. We can't wait to return next year!!! Jim and Kathy


Return Guests tto the Maryhurst Inn

4,6 en octubre 03, 2011

This was our 9th visit to the Maryhurst Inn. It is a special place that my husband and I go to once a year for rest and relaxation. We love the history of the place, the owners are gracious and down to earth and there is much to do in the regional area. We have shared this special place with friends and family. We hope to keep up with our tradition of a yearly visit to the Mayhurst Inn!


First Timers

4,6 en septiembre 20, 2011

This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast Inn. We had a great trip and very much enjoyed our stay. Jack and Pat were warm, very knowledgeable, and interesting. Their breakfast each morning was delicious and fresh. They joined their guests each evening for wine and cheese and made everyone feel welcomed. They gave us many recommendations on things to see and do as well as discount tickets to James Madison's house and wine tastings at various wineries. We will surely recommend Mayhurst Inn to our friends and family. Jack and Pat's hospitality was top notch!!


Our GREAT weekend at Mayhurst Inn

5 en septiembre 20, 2011

Out stay at the Mayhurst Inn was a great experience from the beautiful room, the totally delicious breakfasts that were amazing, the fun wine and cheese every afternoon and all of the exceptionally considerate effort from the owners to make several reservations for us at local events and dinners. We highly recommend a stay at te Mayhurst Inn.


Wonderful stay at Mayhurst Inn

5 en septiembre 18, 2011

Jack & Pat, Were great hosts and extremely helpful in planning our side trips and even with directions. The breakfasts were outstanding. The garden room was perfect for someone who needs to be on the ground level. Wine and chesse nightly. Jack is a historian on the civil war era and very informative.


A glorious place to stay!

5 en septiembre 18, 2011

My friend and I stayed in a 2 room suite on the 3rd floor. This is a most gracious large home. We enjoyed the grounds and the many rooms of the house. I loved that it is so old that General Lee had been inside the house and also set up a tent outside to command his troops. Such history! The innkeepers were very accomodating. The breakfast to die for.


A wonderful time

4,8 en septiembre 07, 2011

My wife and I just had a two-night getaway at the Mayhurst Inn, and absolutely loved it. We've traveled the world and stayed in many B&B's - but this one tops them all: a gloriously restored mid-19th century property situated on beautiful grounds, rich in history, wonderful food, close to presidential homes Monticello and Montpelier as well as numerous wineries and other attractions, an extensive list of optional activities for all tastes, excellent restaurants nearby...and most of all, the gracious "nothing is too hard" hospitality we received from Jack and Pat!! A perfect 10 out of 10 - we couldn't have asked for anything more!!


The Best n Virginia

4,6 en agosto 18, 2011

The rooms were lovely and comfortable. The breakfast was amazing! Jack and Pat were very gracious hosts. The grounds were beautiful. We enjoyed our time there so much we did not want to leave! Trish and Bill


Great B&B!!

4,6 en agosto 10, 2011

We recently stayed in the Garden Room at the Mayhurst Inn. First of all, Jack and Pat are excellent at what they do. They are very helpful with suggestions on things to do, places to eat, etc. Pat served us two amazing breakfasts. We very much enjoyed our stay. Be aware that if you are in the Garden Room, that you are on the lower level and right off of the breakfast room.


Glorious Virginia b&b

4,2 en julio 26, 2011

Gorgeous Virginia b&b. Hosts are extremely nice and are extremely well-informed about the Civil War in the area. It is a wonderful place to use as a base for seeing many historical homes and sites. The nightly wine and cheese event is a wonderful way to mingle with other guests. The breakfast was absolutely the best! Heartily recommend the whole experience.


A MUST SEE/VISIT!!!

5 en junio 27, 2011

I took my wife up to Mayhurst Inn for our 4th anniversary, and what an amazing trip we had. When we drove up the road, we were captivated by the beauty of the Inn and the location! Since this was a complete surprise to my wife, I worked with Jack and Pat on all the details. I don't think I can remember the last time I had such amazing customer service. Jack and Pat took care of every last detail, from our excursions during the day to our dinner reservations at night. Every recommendation they made was perfect! As for the Inn, what an amazing place with incredible history! When we returned, we told just all our friends and family to put this on their list of places to go. By the way, the breakfast there was amazing!


Lovely and relaxed

4,8 en junio 13, 2011

The Mayhurst is a wonderful inn with beautifully appointed and very comfortable guest rooms. The innkeepers, Pat & Jack, are terrific -- friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful with local activities and restaurant recommendations. There are many beautiful spots to relax both inside and out and lots of space for quiet and privacy.


Perfect Wedding Weekend!

5 en junio 08, 2011

Mayhurst is so beautiful and Jack and Pat were great! They made sure our guests were always comfortable and happy, the grounds were immaculate! I couldn't have picked a better place or better hosts! All our guests appreciated the history of this location. Pat suggested poses I should take with the photographer and I can't wait to see how they turn out:) She even helped the gentlemen with their buttoners! They ran around behind the scenes and made sure everything ran smoothly. The cake lady had an accident with our cake and Pat ran interference and did everything she could to help (we ended up with half a cake but it was still very pretty and tasted great!). The venders Pat suggested were top notch, we were very impressed with Randy (Elmwood at Sparks catering) and Ran and Linda (Blue Mountain Weddings photography). Our wedding was beautiful and perfect (even with half a cake) and we couldn’t have done it without Mayhurst


The Mayhurst is a destination in-of itself

5 en mayo 31, 2011

We visited The Mayhurst Inn on 26-May-2011 for one night while on our way to Monticello and “The Historic Triangle”. Innkeepers, Jack and Pat, were very gracious hosts. When we arrived, they invited us to join them and other guests for wine and cheese in the parlor. They also assisted us in finding a local restaurant, complete with menus on hand, so we could choose a restaurant that fit our mood and budget. Unknown to me at the time, Jack even helped my sweetheart plan his marriage proposal by suggesting locations on the property that offered the most romantic settings. My fiance “popped the question” by the pond, under a very large tree. What a wonderful surprise! The setting and mood was fit for a fairy tale. My fiance and I stayed in “The Italian Suite / Honeymoon Suite”. The room was immaculate, large, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The two person hot-tub was such a nice way to relax after our exciting afternoon. The private balcony allowed us to enjoy some quality time together while taking in the sweet smell of all the flowers in bloom and stargazing. In the morning, Jack and Pat served a delicious breakfast of omelets made to order with a side of bacon and a baked grapefruit half. There was a nice selection of juices, teas, and their own Mayhurst Blend coffee (so good that we bought 1 LB of their beans to bring home). The entire Inn and property are impressively manicured. Mayhurst looks to be in a constant state of “magazine photo ready” and yet is extremely comfortable and welcoming. Jack and Pat North make The Mayhurst a place to which we want to return again and again. With Montpelier nearby and many other historic sites within a short drive, The Mayhurst Inn has become our place of choice to stay while traveling in Virginia. With its rich and impressive history, The Mayhurst is a destination in-of itself.


Heaven for Civil War Buffs

5 en mayo 15, 2011

This property is steeped in history, particularly Civil War, and you will not be able to get enough of learning about it. The accomodations and the food are terrific, and the innkeepers, Pat and Jack, anticipate your needs before you know you have them. Wonderful place.


Stepping back in time at the Mayhurst!

5 en abril 24, 2011

Jack and Pat were wonderful hosts. The wine and cheese get togethers were so much fun we always made the time to attend. If you love civil war history or your looking for a romantic get away, this is the place to be.


Cozy little cottage

4,6 en abril 20, 2011

We stayed in the school house a cozy little spot away from the main inn. It has a full kitchen and a fireplace for those chilly evenings. Pat and Jack are wonderful and helpful innkeepers and we felt right at home and we really enjoyed the wine and cheese gatherings in the early evening. Due to the rain and our short stay we could not walk around the large grounds, but gardens are lovely. A very nice place to stay in a historic area of Virginia.


Another Great Visit!

4,0 en abril 15, 2011

Thank you Jack and Pat for another great stay at the Mayhurst. Your hospitality always makes it seem like "home". We enjoy every aspect of each stay. Until next time, thank you! B & R Dixon, Tulsa


A Central VA Experience

5 en marzo 26, 2011

Jack & Pat were great. They were very knowlegable about the area and the history of the Inn, including great advice on what to visit. They have discount tickets to all kinds of things. The best parts were just chatting with Jack & Pat and the other guests at the nightly wine & cheese social. And of course the breakfasts were delicious. We would recommend this inn to anyone who wants to visit the Charlottesville and Orange Co areas.


Lovely, relaxing, romantic retreat!

5 en marzo 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two days to celebrate his birthday. The house is beautiful, the breakfasts are amazing, the innkeepers are friendly and welcoming, the rooms are incredibly comfortable and the area is charming. We loved this visit, and would highly recommend the Mayhurst! Try the Italian Suite!


Fabulous!

5 en marzo 03, 2011

My husband and I just came back from the Mayhurst Inn and can not wait to go back. Pat and Jack are just fabulous hosts! The Inn itself is beautiful and the food was delicious. We stayed in the Italian Suite-such luxury! We were able to see all the rooms and they each are beautiful! The Inn is located in a central area and there are many things to do and places to visit. We went to Montpelier and several wineries. We didn't have enough time to do all we wanted to so will just plan another trip.


Best anniversary weekend ever!

4,4 en febrero 14, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 10th anniversary weekend at the Mayhurst Inn. We are both in our young 30s and found that the B&B and surroundings were just perfect for small town entertainment and a romantic weekend getaway!


What a wonderful inn!

5 en febrero 13, 2011

We loved the Mayhurst! Jack and Pat, the innkeepers really made our stay special and educated us on the history of the Mayhurst..very informative. Jack even made reservations for us at a local restaurant. We walked the grounds in the snow - how marvelous! Definitely would recommend to anyone looking for a great historic bed and breakfast (and the Italian Suite)!


Our Stay at Mayhurst

5 en febrero 13, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Mayhurst Inn! The hosts were very knowledgeable about the area and very helpful in planning our activities while visiting. The breakfast was fantastic!


Abslutely Wonderful In Every Way .. !!

5 en febrero 10, 2011

We chose Mayhurst Inn for our annual family retreat and can't wait to go back again. Pat & Jack were just great .. made us feel so welcome and like family from the moment we arrived. The accomodations & food were wonderful and the special "love and attention" shown to our 99 year old mom was very touching and much appreciated. Highly recommend this delightful Inn and awesome hosts .. !!


Virginia hospitality at its best!

4,8 en enero 24, 2011

We spent a cold January weekend at the Mayhurst - what a wonderful B&B - lovely accomodations, fabulous breakfast, warm and very hospitable hosts in Jack and Pat. From the freshly made cookies on our arrival, to the wine and cheese each night, and great tea selection, we simply could not have asked for a more enjoyable stay. We look forward to our next visit. Shirley and Syd Bernstein


Just what we needed!

4,4 en diciembre 05, 2010

The Inn Keepers gave us a warm welcome and then left us alone, just as we wanted. Wine and cheese was great, where we learned much about the history of the place. Dinner recommendations were acurate, and breakfast was outstanding. A very charming family runs this B&B!


Another outstanding stay at Mayhurst

5 en noviembre 03, 2010

The hospitality, afternoon wine & cheese and the delicious breakfasts by Pat bring us back again and again. The rooms are always impeccably clean and Jack and Pat North make you feel like guests in their private home. This was our fifth stay and we will return to our favorite bed and breakfast every time we have the opportunity.


Mayhurst Inn - Orange, Virginia

5 en noviembre 01, 2010

An outstanding and charming Bed and Breakfast owned by Jack and Pat North. They went outof their way to make our stay special. This was our first trip Mayhurst and Ornage - we are already planningour return trip.


Fall weekend

4,6 en octubre 28, 2010

The house is beautiful and Pat and Jack are wonderful hosts. The wine and cheese in the evening is especially enjoyable and we fwere surprised that we found some very good VA wines since we are California wine drinkers. We stayed in Southern Comfort and while the room was large and the bed was very comfortable we did not like that the bathtub/shower and sink were actually in the bedroom. It made dressing in the morning inconvenient as both of us were up when one of us was showering and then one had to be finished at the sink before the other could get ready. A separate bath would be our preference so that the one who was not getting ready could continue to sleep. The breakfasts were delicious as well. We will definitely return.


B&B Plus Wine Country Tour

4,4 en octubre 07, 2010

Had a great time and enjoyed our stay. The inn was beautiful and the inn keepers were fantastic! Definitely plan on coming back for another visit!


Fabulous Stay

4,8 en agosto 16, 2010

We had a wonderful 2-night stay at Mayhurst. Our room, Southern comfort, was beautiful, the breakfasts were creative and excellent. The grounds and the Inn were charming and well-cared for. In addition, our host and hostess were friendly and helpful. They created a warm atmosphere that promoted conversation among the guests. We highly recommend a stay at Mayhurst. Susan and Elliott- Maryland


Best B & B !

5 en julio 25, 2010

Wonderful historical home but still comfortable and romantic near many fabulous wineries and Historical sites and numerous outdoor activities. Our hosts could not be more attentive and the food was divine! Many thanks to Pat and Jack! Carol and Mike


Wonderful Anniversery

5 en julio 23, 2010

We spent two Nights at Mayhurst and it was a place to remember.I cannot enough about the Kindness of Jack & Pat..I would Recommend this Charming house to everyone..The Breakfast was filling enough we didn't eat again till afternoon...Thanks Jack & Pat!


Another fantastic stay with excellent host!

4,8 en julio 21, 2010

This would be our third time staying at the Mayhurst, and this year we took another couple with us as we were getting married in Virginia this year! Our host was fantastic, and made sure we were perfectly comfortable. We did most of our planning via emails and phone calls, and our host helped make sure everything was perfect! Even though we had a little car trouble the day of the marriage, we were made sure our car made it to the garage and that we were able to get a rental untill ours was fixed. The Mayhurst is a perfect setting for a romantic getaway, and we will no doubt be back there again.


A True Gem!

4,4 en julio 09, 2010

Having stayed at the Mayhurst twice now over the past couple of years, I am thoroughly impressed by the wonderful experience Jack and Pat provide. The building and grounds are a great slice of U.S history, the nearby wineries are a treat, and the Norths really treat you like family. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever. I will likely return for a 3rd stay sometime in the near future with my wife.


Beautiful Italianate B&B

4,0 en julio 05, 2010

Wonderful, relaxing time at this historical B&B with very friendly owners. Very hospitable with wine and cheese in the evening before going out to dinner and a lovely hearty breakfast in the morning. Beautiful VA countryside in the surrounding area. Just remember NOT to use your GPS to find it. For some reason, GPS hasn't updated to the actual entrance road. The road GPS lists is not in service and should not be taken.


A magical place for the history lover

5 en julio 01, 2010

The beauty of Mayhurst and the warm hospitality of Jack and Pat North allow those of us who love the Civil War era to step back in time and truly live it. I was thrilled to be where A.P. Hill, Stonewall Jackson and Robert E. Lee slept, talked and planned. The breakfasts are delicious and beautifuly presented on Pat's antique china and glassware, and the late afternoon wine and cheese gatherings are a wonderful way to connect with fellow 1860's time travelers. June, Redmond, Washington


wonderful stay at the Mayhurst Inn

4,6 en junio 29, 2010

The Mayhurst Inn is a delightful place to spend the weekend or longer!! The decor and history of the house makes you feel like you've stepped back into a different era. The breakfasts were as fine as in any gourmet restaurant. The service was excellent and we never wanted for anything. We so enjoyed the gracious and knowledgeable innkeepers, and relaxing with them and other guests at the 5:30PM wine and cheese time was a perfect way to end the day and start the evening. My husband and I highly recommend the Mayhurst Inn.


A truly wonderful place to call "home"

4,2 en junio 29, 2010

The Mayhurst Inn is a wonderful escape from the buzz and bustle of the world. The home is gorgeous, the grounds invite leisure, the innkeepers are hospitable and friendly, and the food is out of this world. Jack and Pat know everything about the area and are happy to arrange tours, visits, and dinner reservations for their guests, then tell you exactly and precisely the best way to get there. There are several Presidential estates and wineries nearby for you to spend your days, but the Inn itself is so inviting you may be tempted to relax there for your entire visit. The Mayhurst Inn also offers a wine and cheese social every evening, where guests can mingle and taste local wines. A truly great place to stay.


Our favorite stop on the trip to visit family

5 en junio 25, 2010

We have stayed at this wonderfull B&B several times over the years and it always seems like we have arrived to visit family as Jack and Pat are always so welcoming. The wine and cheese gathering is so nice as you meet folks from everywhere. The last visit we chatted with a couple from the UK. The area is so full of history and we do plan to stay two nights sometime to visit Monticello in Charlottesville and Montpelier nearby.


Mayhurst for the Weekend

5 en junio 20, 2010

Terrific Inn. Beautiful rooms, lovely grounds and vedry knowledgable innkeepers. I am a Civil War history buff, so Mayhurst is particularly good for me with its attachment to local CW events. Jack and Pat North were most welcoming. We had the wine country package -their selection of wineries was first rate and the picnic lunch which we ate at one of the wineries was delightful. We look forward to going back. Maggie and Gay Mount


Great way to relax! The breakfast is wonderful!

4,4 en junio 13, 2010

Jack & Pat are wonderful hosts and very accomodating. My wife & I look forward to the very fulfilling breakfast each weekend morning. Wine & Cheese and some good conversation before you head out to your dinner plans each evening is quite enjoyable. Plenty to do between 3 presidential homes, wineries, antiques, etc. We've been there 3 times over the last several years (including this past weekend) and we look forward to our next return trip in the near future.


Two nights is not enough. You'll find you need to return!

4,6 en junio 10, 2010

A wonderful B&B. Beautiful accomodations and grounds. Variety of "packages" available. We chose to tour the local wineries, and also allowed ourselves time to visit a few antique shops and art galleries; to have a picnic and canoe on the Mayhurst pond; to enjoy the privacy of our room... the jacuzzi with candles, and coffee on the balcony in the morning sun; to take advantage of phenomenal massages; and to enjoy the company of other guests and our hosts during pre-dinner wine and cheese gatherings and over breakfasts. A relaxing romantic getaway.


Best vacation

4,8 en junio 08, 2010

My husband and I recently made a small wedding ceremony and reception at the Mayhurst. Everything was incredible. The location was ideal-not far from the city of Charlottesville, close to vineyards, restaurants, historic places, beautiful views, hiking/biking/running trails, horseback riding, skydiving, etc. We are already planning our second trip!


Wish we could stay forever!

5 en junio 06, 2010

We chose this charming inn half an hour from downtown Charlottesville by default when all hotels nearby were already booked for UVA graduation. What a wonderful surprise! Pat and Jack North could not be more helpful or gracious innkeepers. Nestled back off a highway in the country, this B&B offered serenity and awesome vistas of nature, including deer, groundhogs, and the prettiest roses that made me jealous of the pitiful ones we grow in Florida. As far as the breakfast part goes, Sunday breakfast started with a baked cinnamon apple stuffed with fresh whipped cream, followed by eggs benedict and home fries. Not your typical B&B fare, but after all, it was Sunday. I didn't expect nearly as much Monday, but what a surprise to find fresh berries in cream followed by the lightest blueberry pancakes and sumptuous sausage. And the bed part? Well, you know how---no matter what a wonderful time you might have on a vacation---you always look forward to your own bed and shower? Not the case here! I had to get the names of the mattress and pillows from Pat, because I haven't slept this well since I can't remember when! The shower---great water pressure, soft water, roomy---just delightful! Early evening meant time for wine and cheese and chatting with other very delighted guests. Even though our son has graduated and will be moving away from the area, we will most definitely make this a destination for a truly relaxing vacation when we have time to enjoy the local wineries, etc., and I believe it is only ninety minutes from D.C.! The house itself is historical and elegant yet cozy with modern conveniences. GO! You will love it!


The South Shall Rise Again!

4,4 en abril 19, 2010

One of our 1st B&B experiences, and we were both delighted with our surroundings, hosts and the other travelers we met. The unique history of the ante-bellum home and the period furniture and furnishings were added pluses. Highly recommend!


Return Trip Definetely

5 en abril 18, 2010

The Mayhurst Inn is an incredible experience. The innkeepers wonderful, the rooms beautiful and romantic, the grounds and porches soothing and the dining is delicious. We are already going to book for our return trip next year. We highly recommend Mayhurst Inn


A sunny weekend away

4,4 en febrero 22, 2010

Driving up to the Mayhurst was the first treat of a delightful weekend. The picture does not due justice to the beautiful house and grounds. This is a lovely old house with bright rooms, all of them, beautiful furnishings, lovely bathtubs, multiple spaces for sitting and reading, enjoying the library, walking the grounds, seeing the garden and lake. Jack and Pat were gracious and attentive hosts. Jack made dinner reservations for us, recommended wineries, had discounted tickets to local historical sites. Pat, the antiques collector, had great advice on antique store, was knowledgeable about them, and was pleasant to talk to. The breakfasts were great. I felt we had food we might have had for breakfast had we been staying with Dolley Madison at Montpellier. It was truly lovely. The only suggestion I have is to make sure to get mileage with you for getting to the restaurants in the evening. The map is great, and Jack will give you directions everywhere, but with no scaling on it, it's easy to think you've gone too far to dinner when you are really still just almost there. Absolutely worthwhile and made a very special weekend

Respuesta del propietario

Great suggestion! We have added the exact mileage from Mayhurst to each Restaurant, Historic Site, Antique Shop, Winery, Museum, Horseback Riding establishment and Presidential Mansion on our easy to use map. We hope that this will increase the value of our guests experience at Mayhurst - and the value of your next stay at Mayhurst. If you send us your name and e-mail address we will also provide you with a gift certificate for 50% off on the second day of your next stay as our way of saying thanks for an excellent suggestion.


Valentine Special

5 en febrero 20, 2010

Gorgeous house full of history. Amazing staircase from top to bottom. Still covered in snow so we'll have to go back in the warm weather to enjoy the beautiful grounds. Jack and Pat really make you feel at home and the happy hour is grand. Will definitely be back!


Almost Perfect

4,0 en febrero 16, 2010

Mayhurst is a wonderfull B & B. We found the hosts to be both informative and hospitable. Our stay was shortly after a brutal snow so we were unable to appreciate the grounds. The Inn was very historic and we found it quite interesting. The only downside of our visit was that the fireplace was not working in our suite. We paid for the most expensive room, hoping to have an early romantic Valentine weekend, so it was kind of a downer not having the fireplace with the jacuzzi.

Respuesta del propietario

We deeply aplogize that your stay at Mayhurst was not satisfactory. We noted when you checked in that the gas fireplace in your room was difficult to start. We called the company that services our Gas Applicance but they could send a technician until Tuesday due to the Holiday weekend. On Tuesday the Tecnician arrived and determined that the electronic starter was faulty and replaced the starter. It now works fine. We appreciate your bringing this to our attention as we strive to ensure that every guest experience at Mayhurst is perfect in every way. If you will provide us with your name and e-mail address we will also be happy to provide you with a Mayhurst Gift Certificate for a second night free in any available room - including the room you were in. Jack and Pat Mayhurst Inn


I ran away for the weekend !!!

5 en enero 25, 2010

I needed to get away for a weekend alone. Mayhurst Inn was the right ticket!! Jack and Pat exceeded all my expectations. I got to sleep late, enjoy a spectacular breakfast and visit a few wineries. Best of all was the "swimming pool" for relaxing at night with my wine !! I will definitely be back and next time bring my husband !!! Thanks again for allowing me to recharge my batteries Joan -- Portsmouth, VA


Great Bed and Breakfast in Virginia Wine Country

4,6 en enero 22, 2010

My wife, Cathy, and I stayed at the Mayhurst Inn in January 2010 (mayhurstinn.com) for our 20th anniversary and really enjoyed it. The Inn is a beautiful Civil War era plantation that has been restored by the Inn's gracious hosts, Pat and Jack. Our bedroom had plenty of room with its own private bath and fireplace. The Inn is located within a few miles of several excellent Virginia wineries as well as antique shops and a variety of restaurants for any interest/budget. Our hosts offered a great breakfast and other amenities like a wine and cheese gathering for residents that made the whole stay feel very relaxed and inviting in such a beautiful B&B. We were within 20 minutes of Charlottesville and the University of Virginia. We highly recommend the Mayhurst Inn and hope to visit it again in the future. Sincerely, Chad & Cathy (Fairfax, VA)


Gracious Friendly Hosts

4,8 en enero 04, 2010

We stayed at the Mayhurst on New Years Eve. The hosts were very friendly and offered to make dinner reswervations for us. We really enjoyed the wine and cheese time before dinner in the Library. Will be returning in the fall.


Exactly what we needed

5 en diciembre 31, 2009

Beautiful house with gorgeous detail. Extremely gracious hosts - Very accommodating. Great recommendations on things to do, see, & places to dine. We will suggest the Mayhurst to all of our friends. A MUST for B&B lovers


We love the Mayhurst Inn

5 en noviembre 22, 2009

We just spend the weekend at the Mayhurst Inn and had a lovely time. The Inn is beautiful and rich in history. Jack and Pat will take very good care of you. They provide wine and cheese every evening and a delicious breakfast. They will also share with you about the intriguing history of the area and the Inn. We chose the Mayhurst Inn because it was close to Monticello and wineries. We ate dinner at Elmwood, just a mile away, and had a great experience there as well. We highly recommend Mayhurst. You will not be disappointed!


A step back in time but with today's ammenities.

5 en noviembre 21, 2009

The Mayhurst is an excellent B & B with gracious hosts, excellent food, and a warm atmosphere.


Charming B & B in a beautiful setting

4,8 en noviembre 20, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mayhurst Inn and were made to feel right at home the minute we arrived. Jack & Pat are the consummate hosts, and providing helpful information about the surrounding area, arranging dinner reservations, and cooking a sumptuous breakfast. We wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy the property and can't wait to go back!


Exceptional Hospitality

4,4 en noviembre 02, 2009

Jack and Pat were absolutely the most gracious hosts ever. You felt like you were at home the moment you walked into the hall.


Charming Bed & Breakfast

4,8 en octubre 17, 2009

We were given a gift certificate to the Mayhurst Inn. What a great find! It has such a wonderful ambiance and is in the most beautiful setting imaginable. The details of the house and grounds are warm and lovely. Beautiful walking paths through woods and meadows. I wanted to live there. It is in a great location. Many historical sites to explore and interesting towns nearby with restaurants. I cannot recommend it more highly.


The Mayhurst Inn is a beautiful mansion offering impeccable service, wonderful food, and a lovely, restful vacation.

4,8 en octubre 05, 2009

This was our second visit to the Mayhurst Inn, and we can't wait to return. The mansion is as beautiful as the advertisement suggests, clean and elegant, with lots of antiques and delightful little surprises. The innkeepers are the perfect hosts, focusing on service and also providing interesting and witty conversation. The rooms are beautifully furnished. Ours offered a large (double) whirlpool tub in front of the fireplace -- fabulous! The extensive grounds are the best of the Virginia countryside.


Southern Hospitality Lives On!

5 en octubre 02, 2009

Our stay at The Mayhurst Inn was by far our most positive B&B experience yet! The hospitality that is offered by Pat & Jack is unsurpassed. Walking through the doors of this beautiful B&B is almost like stepping back in time. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. We highly recommend this B&B and will absolutely stay there again on our next trip to Virginia. Thank you for making our getaway even more special!


Relaxing evening filled with history

4,6 en octubre 01, 2009

The home was very well maintained and had a unique history. The inns keeper's were attentive to our needs and diet restrictions. They also had a great background into the history of the house. The home was completed just prior to the Civil War and was used by military commanders throughout the campaigns that criss-crossed the county side.


Peaceful Setting

5 en septiembre 28, 2009

Lovely grounds with paths to walk, birds singing and a peaceful pond. The plantation is beautiful with amazing architecture. Hospitality, cleanliness and comfort definitely worth the trip.


wonderful experience

5 en septiembre 23, 2009

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast with outstanding features. One of my favorites is the wine and cheese social at 5 PM. It gives you the opportunity to meet the other guests besides just at breakfast, share stories of your day and get dinner recommendations. The hosts are so friendly and knowledgeable, and even willing to make reservations for you. Breakfasts were phenomenal! I highly recommend this facility!


A wonderful inn.

4,0 en septiembre 22, 2009

My husband and I spent the weekend of Sept. 18 and 19 at the Mayhurst Inn. I wish we could have stayed longer. It is a beautiful inn with a wonderful host and hostess. Jack and Pat are very friendly and easy to talk with. They are there to serve you. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicilious and very filling. It was so nice to share wine and cheese each evening. The first night was in the library and the second night on the large back porch. The grounds are lovely and so peaceful. There is a pond with a bench where you can sit and relax and forget all of the problems of the world. I would highly recommed this inn to anyone. There is lots of history, good restaurants close by, wineries and if you want, just peace and quiet. A top notch inn in Virginia!


Fantastic Visit

4,4 en agosto 24, 2009

We had a great stay at the Mayhurst Inn. Pat and Jack told us ahead of time we would need dinner reservations for the night we were staying and then booked reservations for us after offering several suggestions. Before we went to dinner we enjoyed a very nice wine/cheese/crackers relaxation time in their parlor - complete with Pat's stories about the house and the surrounding area. Breakfast the next morning was superb. We stayed in the Schoolhouse - a separate building that used to be a one room schoolhouse. It was fantastic. I highly recommend this B&B.


Wedding Reception

5 en agosto 20, 2009

The Mayhurst Inn is a magical destination for any special event. I recently had my wedding reception at the Mayhurst, and it couldn't have gone better. The owners, Jack and Pat North, are friendly, informative, and always willing to help to go above and beyond our expectations. The Civil War era mansion and grounds are extremely well-kept. All rooms could be considered suites, and many portrait their original build out, but with comfortable modern upgrades. Simply put, I cannot think of a more perfect place to share a special event with friends and family.


A Perfect Weekend Getaway

4,8 en agosto 19, 2009

The Mayhurst Inn is gorgeous, convenient (within 10-15 minutes of James Madison's Montpelier, 6+ vineyards, and 10+ reputable restaurants), and an excellent value! Jack and Pat North are gracious hosts who are attentive to your every need, not too mention outstanding breakfast cooks. My husband and I celebrated our 5th anniversary at the Mayhurst in the Southern Charm room with jacuzzi tub. We were very pleased with the romantic vineyard package (strawberries/champagne, wine/cheese in the evenings, chocolates, stocked picnic basket, free wine tastings at local vineyards, $50 toward gourmet restaurant, two delicious homecooked breakfasts, discount to Montpelier). We got everything listed for the same price as other inns charge just for a two-night's stay with breakfast.


Fantastic!

4,8 en agosto 17, 2009

Gorgeous home with first-class hospitality and incredible breakfast. Would definitely recommend! -- Chris and Marcy H.


The best B&B I have ever stayed in!

5 en agosto 13, 2009

The Mayhurst is not only historic and gorgeous, the Innkeepers are so attentive and the service so spectacular, you feel like the only ones there! We were fortunate enough to have had our wedding at the Mayhurst and stayed there on our wedding night. Everything went better than I had dreamed, I can't wait to come back for our first anniversary!!


Weekend Getaway

5 en agosto 10, 2009

I can't think of enough good things to say about Pat and Jack North or the Mayhurst Inn. The Inn is beautiful, the grounds are beautiful and the hosts are delightful. It has absolutely moved to #1 on our most favorite B&B's. We stayed in the Schoolhouse with our two rescue mutts and loved the walks around the beautiful grounds. Our hosts were gracious, knowledgable about Virginia history and fun and interesting to talk with. The food was excellent and the service outstanding. We hope to be back soon.


Fabulous

5 en agosto 03, 2009

Mayhurst Inn is tops on our list! Not only a gorgeous plantation home, but the walk around the home and property is beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed our time visiting with Jack and Pat North and hearing the history of the home and getting to know them some. They are most welcoming and we felt right "at home". Loved the wine and cheese as we visited! There wasn't a nook or cranny that wasn't interesting to see and hear about. Breakfast was fabulous! All our needs and wants were well cared for. Thank you, Pat & Jack!!


Dream Wedding

5 en julio 28, 2009

We only had six months to plan our wedding, but once we saw The Mayhurst Inn we knew we wanted it there. The impressive architecture, the sense of history, and the beautiful gardens combined to provide a setting that helped make our dream come true. Our family all stayed at the B&B, and they loved the rooms, the decor, the comfort, the food -- everyone had only praise for each aspect of their stay. Jack and Pat were helpful in the planning stages, and on the day of the wedding their assistance and flexibility were invaluable. We plan to go back in the future and many of our family and friends want to return also.


Southern Glory

4,6 en julio 16, 2009

Gorgeous plantation mansion with lots of history. Excellent hosts who were friendly and helpful. Beautiful, peaceful location with lovely gardens and trails.


Unforgettably Romantic

5 en julio 11, 2009

The kind hospitality of our hosts set the stage for many wonderful memories of our stay at the Mayhurst Inn. Framed by expansive gardens, the inn is an antebellum architectural masterpiece that is artistically furnished with every modern convenience. In keeping with the luxurious atmosphere, beautifully presented morning breakfasts and evening wine and cheese are presented in gracious style. The Italian Suite was imaginatively decorated and lavishly appointed for our romantic getaway with a private balcony off the separate sitting room, expansive granite whirlpool tub, marble gas fireplace, generously sized shower, and a comfortable faux marble bed fitted with matching fine linens. The irresistible beauty of the inn and the surrounding Virginia countryside created the perfect romantic setting for an unforgettable anniversary celebration!


Outstanding Experience!!!

5 en junio 26, 2009

We recently spent two nights in the "Southern Charm" room at the Mayhurst. I highly recommend this B&B.....it is a true step back in time while offering all the modern conveniences of a first class hotel. Our room was beautifully appointed and quite spacious. Jack and Pat, the owners, could not have been more friendly, helpful or made us feel more special. The breakfasts prepared by Pat were truly exceptional and the presentation was quite elegant. Be prepared to gain a few extra pounds!! I highly recommend The Mayhurst and look forward to our next opportunity to return!!


Sister Trip

5 en mayo 18, 2009

We recently stayed at the Mayhurst Inn on our annual Four Sisters B&B trip. When we left the Inn, we were all in agreement that the Mayhurst Inn had moved to #1 in our books! Jack and Pat could not have been more gracious or more accommadating. Both Jack and Pat are very knowledgable about the surrounding areas and the Civil War. We particularly enjoyed the wine and cheese reception each night. Wines from local Virginia wineries were served as well as a variety of cheeses that complimented the different wines. Great hosts and an extremely relaxed and enjoyable stay!! We'd go back in a heartbeat.


What an Inn!

5 en abril 27, 2009

Two weeks ago, while attending my 20th reunion at Woodberry Forest School, we stayed at the Mayhurst Inn for the first time. What a gem of a place! Built in 1859, the inn is very well maintained and true to its original design. So much history. Our room (The Garden Room) was large and had a second door that allowed us to walk directly outside to the beautifully manicured grounds. We enjoyed sitting on the back porch of the inn as the day came to a close, chatting with the wonderful innkeepers, Jack & Pat North, and the other guests. The breakfast on Saturday was incredible. We plan to return to the Mayhurst the next time we visit Woodberry.


Didn't want to leave

5 en abril 25, 2009

My husband and I enjoyed celebrating our wedding anniversary at the Mayhurst Inn. The history of the house is fascinating and the decor is wonderful. We especially enjoyed chatting with Pat and Jack over wine and cheese in the late afternoon after a day of site seeing. We hope to return sometime soon.


Home Away From Home

5 en abril 21, 2009

Our family has been staying at Mayhurst since the fall of 2001 when our oldest son enrolled at a school nearby. After nearly 100 nights at Mayhurst, it is truly a home away from home for us. Jack and Pat have become friends and their hospitality and willingness to go over and above for special requests is unparallelled. Mayhurst is always a relaxing place to visit with interesting people in the evening over wonderful Virginia wines and cheese, and to use as a base for exploration of the history of the area. Jack also knows the best restaurants in the area and can make a reservation for you for whatever type of meal you are looking fro from casual to gourmet. Special events are also a treat at Mayhurst - we have celebrated two graduations and most recently had a birthday party at Mayhurst.


Italian Suite

4,6 en abril 13, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a get away and found this B&B. Wonderful historic place with a 2 great inn keepers! The breakfasts were outstanding and more than you could eat. The wine and snacks and historic insights before dinner were a great added extra! One of the nicest places we have been! Italian suite - great room! Lots of things to visit close. Nice place to relax.


A wonderful Inn with wonderful hosts

4,4 en abril 08, 2009

We could not have asked for more! The Mayhurst Inn is a beautiful place with a great history and two wonderful hosts. We would recommend it to anyone with absolutely no reservation.


Gracious southern hospitality

5 en abril 04, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Mayhurst Inn for the second time in March '09. We were again amazed at the beauty of this home and the graciousness of the innkeepers, Jack and Pat North. The rooms are gorgeously decorated in period fashion, each one reflecting southern history, and the attention to detail in the amenities is impressive--right down to the bathrobes, comfortable bedding and wine glasses in the rooms. Their breakfasts are delicious and we enjoy meeting the other guests during the wine and cheese hour in the afternoons. Jack is always quick to assist with dinner reservations or discount admission tickets to the area attractions. The grounds and hiking trails are also wonderful for a brisk walk or run. We look forward to staying at the Mayhurst Inn again and would highly recommend it to all! For anyone traveling with pets, their schoolhouse on the grounds is pet friendly and very, very private. We had our two labradors with us on the first trip to the Mayhurst and they had their own grassy field to run and play in. The other guests in the main house didn't even know that we had our dogs with us!


Our stay at the Mayhurst Inn!

5 en marzo 24, 2009

If you enjoy history, country settings, and exploration, then the Mayhurst Inn is for you. The Mayhurst Inn is with in an hour, or less, of at least five Civil War Battlefield locations, three Presidential Mansions, numerous wineries, and several excellent restaurants. My wife and I were able to explore several Civil War battlefields with a guide and all three Presidential mansions thanks to the arrangements provided by the Mayhurst Inn. Our room was fantastic and the grounds offer plenty of fresh air enjoyment. Breakfast at the Mayhurst Inn was absolutely unbelievable and delicious. The wine and cheese evening socials provided and excellent opportunity to recount and share your days activities with Pat and Jack and the other guests of the Mayhurst Inn. The pre-Civil War mansion offers a wonderful and excellent setting and you really have a feeling of elegance and grace while staying at the Mayhurst Inn. Our stay at the Mayhurst Inn was absolutely wonderful and fantastic. Greg De Rosier


History, Comfort and Romance

5 en marzo 18, 2009

We spent a couple of nights with Pat and Jack to celebrate our anniversary. What a wonderful choice! The house is steeped in Virginia history, with just enough changes to provide modern comforts. Our room was used by several general officers during the Civil War, but they didn't have the gas fireplace or insuite bath. To ensure everyone is welcome, the hosts have wine and cheese with the guests nightly in the library. They also provide great tips on dining and sights. The breakfast is truely wonderful and different each day. Although it was a little cold in Feb, the grounds were beautiful and provide a great opporunity for quiet reflection. We will return and highly recommend the Mayhurst.


The Best Place to Stay in VA

4,8 en marzo 18, 2009

Looking for a quiet romantic getaway, the Mayhurst is the place to stay. Excellent service, exquisite breakfast, wine in the evenings, quiet walks through the grounds. This is something you have to experience to understand how wonderful it is. I recommend the Mayhurst to everyone and anyone!


LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT

5 en marzo 03, 2009

The Mayhurst Inn has it all. Jack and Pat (innkeepers) are wonderful. They know so much about the surronding attractions and restuarants. We stayed in the Italian Suite. WOW! Who know there was so much luxury surronded by southern charm. The Inn is amazing. The grounds expansive. The Mayhurst has spoiled us. I can not imagine going anywhere else that has as much charm and quaintness. Mayhurst is the place to go if you want a great experience.


OUTSTANDING!!

4,0 en marzo 01, 2009

This B & B experience was more than we had bargained for. Jack and Pat are fantasic! It's kinda like going home for the holidays. They are very hospitable and accommodating. The food was wonderful, the rooms were nice and clean, even the towels smell like flowers! We will definately be visiting again!


Romantic Weekend

5 en febrero 22, 2009

My husband surprised me with a Valentine's weekend full of romance and charm at the beautiful Mayhurst Inn. You will not be disappointed with this elegant and stately home steeped in Virginia history!


The B&B that we picked for our wedding

5 en enero 28, 2009

We first visited The Mayhurst a few months ago when we were looking for a site for our wedding. After a long and difficult search, it only took a brief conversation with Jack North and a tour of the Mayhurst to convince us both that we had found our site. A few days ago we went back to the Mayhurst for one day so that we could meet some wedding vendors. We were even more impressed the second time. Jack and Pat were incredibly gracious hosts and gave us invaluable advice about our wedding planning. the room that we stayed in (The Southern Charm Room) and everything from the fireplace to the whirlpool tub to the music (cd's) and chocolates that were waiting for us made it the perfect place to relax after an exhausting day. Breakfast the next morning was outstanding (and the coffee is the best that I've had in a long time) and completely unhurried. I can't recommend the Mayhurst highly enough, whether it's for a weekend getaway or for the your big day.


"Going back in time..."

4,4 en enero 06, 2009

This B&B has a remarkable history and to know that we stayed in the same guest room (Southern Comfort) as Stonewall Jackson made it even more worthwhile! We were able to explore the house that was open to patrons and see the amazing Italian architecture that is so rare to see in this Country - let alone back in the 1800's. I'm so glad we opted to stay in a B&B "in the country" vs. in the downtown area - we took a nice walk along the walking trails that morning after our "late" 10am breakfast (thank you!)...what a great way to end our stay.


Historic, beautiful, friendly

5 en diciembre 09, 2008

We stayed in the Generals' Room and enjoyed it very much. We chose it from the photos online, and because Lee, Jackson, and Hill had all slept there. The antique furniture and beautiful views were complimented by a modern bathroom and gas fireplace (which we started every time we were in the room!) Pat and Jack were very friendly and the evening wine and cheese was yummy and social with several couples even on a weeknight in the fall. They enjoy good food and have great dining advice. There are many good restaurants within 20 minutes. Of course there are many restaurants right up the road in Orange as well. Jack is also a history buff for those interested. Breakfast was great and they were accommodating to vegetarians. We hiked the entire property in the morning - down to the lake and up the mountain - and saw two deer.


A step back in time...

5 en diciembre 01, 2008

The name of the room was "Southern Charm" but is also a description of a two day fall visit in the foot hills of central Virginia. The hospitality and serenity were unsurpassed. It was a very welcoming respite from the daily busy routine!


Step into history

5 en noviembre 10, 2008

highly recommend- great rooms, food, and hospitality. They go the extra mile.


Historical Excellence

4,8 en noviembre 03, 2008

We took our daughter back East for an American History tour. Our stay in the Mayhurst Inn added immeasureably to our experience. You can feel the history at the Mayhurst Inn. Not only were Jack and Pat wonderful hosts but their knowledge of historical events at all levels: local, State of Virginia and American significantly added to our experience. The breakfast was fantastic. The gardens and grounds were delightful. Our beds were extremely comfortable. Couldn't have been more pleased.


Top Notch

4,0 en octubre 21, 2008

The Mayhurst is a beautiful historic gem of a B&B, and its owners couldn't be nicer or funnier as hosts. The rooms were clean, the breakfasts were tasty and original, and the authenticity of the place is unbelievable.


Mayhurst Inn, October, '08

4,4 en octubre 20, 2008

We visited for two nights and found the inn to be very nice. The innkeepers were great - very friendly, very funny and very informative. The breakfasts were out-standing. We highly recommend - plus there are wineries nearby!


A Home Away from home

5 en octubre 13, 2008

A majestic home with all the amenities of a 4 star rating. The entire atmosphere is welcoming - come in and join us for a relaxing stay. Breakfast was excellent. The early P.M wine & cheese tasting gives one a chance to socialize in an extremely pleasant atmosphere. Pat & Jack are wonderful hosts and ever so flexible with time and meeting the needs of their guests.


Wonderful stay

4,2 en octubre 02, 2008

My wife and I spent a weekend at Mayhurst in part to celebrate her birthday. We had a wonderful stay. The North's are wonderful hosts, very accomodating and, in themselves, enjoyable company. The breakfasts were outstanding and our room was lovely. There is much to do nearby and the Norths will graciously guide you to it. I heartily recommend a visit.


A Home Away From Home

5 en septiembre 23, 2008

A majestic home with all the amenities of a 5 star rating. The entire atmosphere is welcoming - come in and join us for a relaxing stay. Breakfast was excellent. The early


Anniversary at Mayhurst

5 en agosto 29, 2008

We spent our anniversary at Mayhurst and our only regret was not having several more days to spend there. The room was comfortable and lovely. The breakfasts were fabulous. The North's are the perfect inn keepers; helpful and friendly yet giving you all the privacy you could want. We booked a package for the weekend and were very happy.


Loved it 9 years ago; Loved it last weekend!

5 en agosto 25, 2008

My husband and I got married at the Mayhurst Inn 9 years ago and it was beyond expectation. We returned after 9 years to find that things were even better. Jack and Pat are gracious & warm hosts, the food was outstanding and the activites kept us hopping-literally! Hot air balloon ride, horseback riding, fine dining, antique/thrift store shopping. Just a great time. See for yourself!


Getting 20 yrs back

5 en julio 30, 2008

Just wanted again to say how wonderful our weekend was. We talk about the breakfast and the room all the time to anyone who will listen. It is an extraordinary location and the attention which you put into taking care of our every need was remarkable. Never in all my 21 years in military service have I seen more attention to detail. Not only was your place perfect but every recommendation you gave us on things we wanted seemed to fit like a glove. Jack and Pat you really won our hearts. Anytime I feel like getting away and truly escaping the world I always think on The Mayhurst Inn. So truly peaceful! I know you will have many happy years of success.


Great Weekend

4,4 en julio 20, 2008

Beautiful inn, wonderful hosts, comfortable rooms, very welcoming and relaxing. The veranda is a great place to sit and chat. The wine tasting is fun and a great social time. We felt like we were family guests and not clients. This is our second of hopefully many visits. We highly recommend it!


Best B&B! Exactly how it should be.

5 en abril 13, 2008

Owners Jack and Pat were very accommodating. Beautiful home and they knew their history. There's lot to do in the area and great restaurants nearby. We stayed in a room with a jacuzzi and a fireplace. The beds were so comfortable, the rooms were clean. Best of all-- the breakfast. We had hot home-made meals, such as croissant french toast and fried apples, eggs benedict with perfect hollandaise sauce, fresh berries, yogurt, coffee cake and the list goes on. I will definitely visit here again.


It's like stepping back in time!

5 en mayo 11, 2007

we stayed in the Southern Charm Room, and it was fabulous! Everything was perfect! The room had a whirlpool tub for two with a fire place right accross.And our breakfast was so gormet'. It was two years ago that we stayed there, but the memmories will last forever! Thank you!


The Mayhurst Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $179 - $249
  • Comentarios (127) 4,8
  • Habitaciones 8
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-5406725597
  • Sin cargo
    1-8886725597

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba