Old Massanutten Lodge B & B Comentarios

TOTAL

4,3

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,3
  • Servicios4,5
  • Estimación4,2
  • Limpieza4,4
  • Comidas4,2

Puntuación basada en
60 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

It's like spending time with old friends

4,4 en mayo 21, 2014

We found the Old Massanutten Lodge on line 3 years ago and have returned to the lodge several over that period of time. We had a child attending college in the area and needed a place to stay for parents weekend, convocations, and graduation. Even though the lodge is a little off the beaten path access to rt.33 and rt.81 are convenient. Though our child has been graduated, we will continue to stay at the Old Massanutten Lodge whenever we visit the Shenandoah Valley.


Wonderful B&B near Harrisonburg

5 en febrero 19, 2014

Our experience at the Old Massanutten Lodge was wonderful. We stayed in the Golden Butterfly room which was super cozy and relaxing. On top of that, Margie and Guy were excellent hosts. Each morning they served a full breakfast for the guest. Everything was made from scratch, it was delicious! This place is a perfect getaway whether it is for something special or just to escape from the everyday 9-5. We will definitely be coming back!


nice and clean

3,4 en febrero 12, 2014

we stayed in the butterfly room which was nice and clean, the jacuzzi was clean and they had provided bath products that you could use in it. The electric stove was nice. One thing that was different was that instead of the individual soaps/shampoos there was a bottle of hand soap, a mostly empty box of lotion (method box???) and then a refillable hand soap dispenser in the shower. I never did figure out what was in that. I had packed my own soap and shampoo and was glad I did. At the butterfly room you hear loudly every time the people above you go up the metal staircase AND when they use their jacuzzi or any other water. Since the cherub room accepts children there was a 2 year old at breakfast. I wish that somehow there could have been a separate breakfast option for those with children and those without offered. Even if just separate tables. We had taken 24 hours off from our children and didn't really love eating breakfast with a toddler. Breakfast was OK. It seemed like something was missing but I'm not sure what it was...


anniversary stay

5 en enero 01, 2014

We stayed for our anniversary and were treated to an incredible experience. The room was exceptional, the food was one of a kind, and the owners were the most genuinely kind people we've met.


Simply Wonderful

5 en noviembre 11, 2013

Exceptional bed and breakfast in every way. Lovely, super clean (and I'm a bit OCD, it was CLEAN), superb service by caring people. Gorgeous setting, extremely romantic. Breakfast was delicious and so were the freshly baked goodies. We'll be back!!! I suggest the Ruby Hummer room, it's wonderful.


A Great Getaway!

4,6 en octubre 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night to celebrate our anniversary. The room was very clean and neat. The Inn is secluded, yet very close to Harrisonburg. Margie was great host and made us a delicious breakfast. Highly recommended!!!


Lovely Weekend

4,8 en octubre 13, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend and thank our hosts for being so attentive. Our breakfasts were delicious.


Lovely, peaceful, wonderful!

4,4 en octubre 09, 2013

The room was lovely. Plenty of space, clean, comfortable and quiet. The property and setting are beautiful. The owners and service were excellent as was the breakfasts!


Anniversary Weekend

4,6 en septiembre 16, 2013

The stay at Old Massanutten Lodge was very relaxing, peaceful, and tranquil. The room that was prepared for us was cozy and quaint and met all of our needs. The meals that Margie prepared were delicious and enjoyable. Enjoyable to the point of us trying a few of them when we returned home. The location of the lodge in proximity to Harrisonburg for extra dining pleasures was ideal and convenient. We thoroughly enjoyed the wine tasting and the meal at the Cross Keys winery. We would love to revisit the area during the changing of the fall season to enjoy the beauty of the mountain and the environment.


Lovely lodge in peaceful location

4,0 en junio 13, 2013

The only thing that could have been better was a bed that didn't creak with every movement.


Highly recommended

4,0 en abril 02, 2013

Margie and Guy run a great operation - they are genuinely welcoming and friendly!


march 2013

5 en marzo 22, 2013

We had a great visit.. wonderful breakfast


A pleasant surprise

4,0 en marzo 03, 2013

The suites were large and well furnished, the hospitality was warm and inviting and the food was delicious and plentiful


Old Massanutten Lodge Stay

5 en enero 19, 2013

We really liked this place. The owners are members of the Menonite Church so we learned a lot about that and also living in the countryside. Beautiful place. Large living room with fireplace. Breadfast was tasty.


Wonderful Getaway

5 en noviembre 28, 2012

We had such a great time. We enjoyed our two-night stay immensely. We would certainly stay there again!


Home Away from Home

4,4 en octubre 31, 2012

We arrived at the B&B after a day of travel and sight-seeing through Shenandoah Valley with our teenage daughter and 7 y.o. son. The kids fell in love with the place at first sight, as did we. Like an old country home that's been in your family forever. The Vlastis' were very welcoming, gracious, friendly and helpful, and they quickly realized that we hadn't been kidding when we earlier assured them our kids would be respectful and well-behaved. Everyone felt very much at home in this beautifully peaceful place, and got an excellent night's sleep followed by a delicious breakfast prepared to meet our dietary preferences. When it was time to leave, it felt as though we'd made new friends and would have loved to stay much longer were it not for hurricane Sandy that was waiting to meet us back home...


nice setting

2,8 en octubre 29, 2012

Rural, peaceful setting close to restaurants and shops in Harrisonburg. Should not miss the Farmer's Market in Harrisonburg. Pleasant stay with afternoon snacks. Nice, healthy breakfast, although did not have many of the "extra touches" I usually enjoy when I stay at B&B. (For example, plain syrup only with waffles). Innkeepers were pleasant and helpful when asked, but not overly hospitable. Noise was an issue with slamming doors heard from the bedroom. Nice jetted tub and gas fireplace in room. Small woodstove in massive stone fireplace a little disappointing in common room.


Cozy home away from home.

4,6 en octubre 10, 2012

This was our 3rd stay here during JMU Parent Weekend. Margie and Guy are very congenial and helpful. Breakfast is outstanding and the country atmosphere is a relief from the madness of town and campus.


Beyond perfect!!

5 en octubre 03, 2012

Oh my gosh!! I have never been so happy with my surroundings and the innkeeper just made the stay exquisite. The room was beautiful and homey. The grounds was well kept and gorgeous. The breakfast was something I never had before and was to die for. All and all it made for the perfect honeymoon getaway and we couldn't have been any happier. Thanks for everything Old Massanutten Lodge!!


Great place for my wife and I to stay

5 en octubre 01, 2012

Great place for my wife and I to stay it was on our way home from a short stay in North Carolina it was a very nice place to stay and breakfast was amazing.


Nice stay

3,4 en septiembre 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Old Massanutten Lodge B&B and would probably return because it was a good value. We had two rooms because we booked the Cherub Suite. Pluses: very clean, extra room for our child was handy, climate control was good. Minuses: dark, dark, dark - irritatingly dark. You kept wanting to turn on lights all over the house. Food was so-so and was served without asking us what we wanted. I felt like I had to keep my child quiet all the time. For advertising a suite good for children, they weren't prepared for children. No toys in the room, breakable items in the bedroom, no chair to sit in to read your child a book, 1 children's book in the room (from the 1960's). Was an OK stay.


A quiet retreat in the Shenandoah Valley

4,6 en septiembre 10, 2012

On a recent weekend trip to Virginia, we stayed a night in the Hummingbird Room at the Old Massanutten Lodge. The building itself is a short drive away from the main highway (close to local shopping and dining) and nestled into the foothills of the mountains; the whole place felt very quiet and cozy. The Hummingbird Room has its own jacuzzi, a lovely private balcony, and a separate entrance from the main Lodge's common area. We were immediately impressed by how much thought and delicate detail the owners had put into the decoration of our room, and how incredibly clean and well-maintained the room and its Jacuzzi were. The staff was very accommodating and attentive and fed us a little breakfast in the morning inspired by what they grew in their garden.


awesome!

5 en septiembre 06, 2012

to begin with, the property is so beautiful. Its like a 1930's lodge...think The Great Gatsby. The rooms are soooo cute, each of them is so cosy in the way they designed them. The breakfast each morning was absolutely gourmet...always a fresh baked something coupled with baked eggs with ham and cream, or stuffed french toast with crispy bacon on the side. But the most amazing part of the tri was meeting Margie and Guy, the couple who run the place. They are so great and sweet..just super genuine people and it makes sense that they would be incharge of such a great place! we will absolutely be back~~


Old Massanutten Lodge

5 en agosto 19, 2012

What a wonderful B&B! We enjoyed every minute. The food was fantastic, using some from her garden. The room we stayed in was private and clean. We could have chatted with our hosts all day, they were helpful and just plain old nice people.


Charming, Peaceful, Great Personal Service

3,0 en julio 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the "golden butterfly" room . The only downside was the musty smell in our room, probably b/c it is built onto what was once the porch area. But the decor was beautiful and had a lot of personal touches.


Lovely stay

4,0 en julio 18, 2012

Wonderful B&B. We enjoyed walking the grounds & picnicing by the garden. Very kind, hospitable owners & delicious breakfast.


Peaceful and Quiet bed and breakfast

4,8 en julio 14, 2012

We were looking for a peaceful and quiet retreat from our stressful lives, and that's what we got. The service was just outstanding. The breakfast was wonderfully delicious. Our room was gorgeous and clean. The inkeepers made us feel like family. Our stay was just exceptionally outstanding and we would like to visit again. Thank you Margie for your hospitality and delicious breakfasts.


Just OK

3,2 en julio 05, 2012

Disappointed that the innkeeper working that day was fairly new to the area and could not recommend local places to dine. Room was comfortable and clean. Nice gardens and large field with roaming deer and rabbits. Tucked away in a quiet community, yet convenient to Harrisonburg restaurants and Massanutten resort. After reading some of the reviews, I thought the breakfast would've been better.


Nice romantic trip

3,8 en mayo 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the massanutten lodge. The food was delicious, the atmosphere relaxing. we stayed in the Ruby Hummer, enjoyed the bed balcony and tub. Definetly want to come back in the winter to enjoy the fireplace. Thank you for a wonderful time!


A pleasant weekend retreat

3,8 en mayo 13, 2012

We were looking for a place where we could read books and unwind for the weekend and we were quite pleased with our experience at the Old Massanuten Lodge. It was very peaceful and secluded at the end of a country road, but also not far back out to Rte 33. The hospitality was a highlight; Margie and Guy were welcoming and made us feel right at home. The breakfasts were delicious!!!!


Very romantic

4,8 en febrero 20, 2012

I really wish my wife and could have styed longer! The owners were very charming! The property was gorgeous, set back in the woods. But at the same time more modern than some of the other B&B's. It was a great get away from the chaos of DC


heavenly peace

5 en febrero 15, 2012

Went to meet up with a friend who was staying at Massanutten.. About 15 minutes away but another world. Room was private, lovely bath and nice adjustable bed. Absolutely no noise as you are at the base of a mountain near some old caverns that are now closed. I grew up in this area and had not been back in many years but you can go home again...


Quiet and Relaxing

3,4 en diciembre 05, 2011

The Old Massanutten Lodge was a clean and pleasant B&B. No disturbances allowed us the time to reconnect with distractions. The room was not as big as I expected, however it was nice and turned out to be perfect. The food was great and ready when we were. In fact, we were late to our scheduled breakfast time, but it was not an issue for the staff. Great place to stay.


Excellent Service and Stay

5 en noviembre 09, 2011

My husband and I found Old Massanutten Lodge B&B online and reserved a night for our Anniversary weekend. We desparately needed time away and wanted a comfortable pampering stay. Margie and Guy were excellent hosts and we felt very special during our stay. We have been to one other bed and breakfast and felt somewhat uncomfortable with the atmosphere but not at Old Massanutten Lodge. We felt right at home. The room was very nice. We enjoyed the individual controlled beds and the fireplace. The breakfast was superb. We highly recommend and would love to go back. Michelle and Keith Harden


A charming and delightful place

4,0 en octubre 22, 2011

This is really a charming B&B: it has a glorious great room in which to relax, the rooms are clean and beautifully decorated, the proprietors are sweet and welcoming. The gourmet breakfast is very nice, too. It's both pretty and peaceful there ... we loved our stay.


Lovely Weekend Away

3,6 en octubre 16, 2011

Very relaxing. Quiet and enjoyable. Very kind and personable innkeepers. Felt like part of the family. Would stay here again.


Quiet Place with lovely scenery

3,8 en octubre 12, 2011

This is a very quiet property. A short distance from the heart of Harrisonburg, enjoyable for the view and wildlife, we saw the deer at twilight. Difficult to rate because my expectations were high from previous reviews. But a Very nice place when visiting the area, room for plenty of visitors as well. THEY probably don't know it is out there! I could imagine a lovely small wedding on the grounds.


A great B&B close to nature

4,0 en octubre 07, 2011

This B&B is in beautiful countryside, surrounded by woods and peace and quiet (apart from the birdsong, which was lovely to listen to in the mornings). The owner was so easy to talk to and really went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. There are plenty of good restaurants in nearby Harrisonburg, so eating out isn't a problem, but it was always nice to come back to the tranquility of Massanutten Lodge.


wonderful stay

5 en octubre 05, 2011

rooms are gorgeous. food was amazing. the proprietors and two of the nicest people I have ever met. highly recommend!


Charming and Relaxing

4,4 en septiembre 28, 2011

We had a delightful time. The B&B is close to Harrisonburg 10-15 minutes but that's far enough away to put you in a more rural relaxing setting. We stayed in the Ruby Hummer room which is rather large and cozy. The room has a private balcony and Jacuzzi tub as well as a small love seat for lounging on rainy days (which it was much of our trip). The room overlooks a clearing that if you wake up early enough you can see deer having their morning romp. Breakfast was delicious! We totally loved it here.


Loved our stay!!!

4,4 en septiembre 27, 2011

We stayed recently in the Golden Butterfly room. We loved it! Loved the jacuzzi tub, loved the room. Margie was great, so sweet and friendly. Breakfast consisted of fruit and sweet potato pancakes, with sausage. It was very b&b and went to Edinburg and stayed at the Hockman Manor and were gravely disappointed. We both wanted to come right back to the Lodge. We will def be back! Amenities consisted of plush towels and nice items in the bathroom (body wash, soap, etc. ) The house is beautiful! The only thing off was a slight musty smell.


Great Lodging

5 en septiembre 19, 2011

The wife and I traveled directly here after our wedding and were immediately warmly welcomed and given a superb room. Can't say enough good things about the food and the lodging. Recommended!


50th Anniversary Weekend

4,8 en septiembre 12, 2011

Margie & Guy Vlasits are terrific hosts. And the Old Massanutten Lodge is a very unique B&B in a superior way -- location, ambiance, surrounding gardens, quiet atmosphere. We celebrated our 50th anniversay in the area and were very pleased to use the Old Massanutten Lodge as our headquarters for the weekend. Chuck & Carole (Frederick County, Va)


Great Weekend

4,8 en agosto 21, 2011

I truly enjoyed my stay here. Margie was fantastic as well as the food. It is off to the side by itself but everything you need is within driving distance. I liked this location because it was quiet and peaceful.


Perfect Weekend Away

5 en julio 25, 2011

If you want a care free weekend with a significant other, this is the place to be! :)


overnight stay

3,2 en julio 22, 2011

Very nice place, lovely decor and great hosts. Called ahead to stop early prior to event and room was not ready. Hostess said she "Forgot" we were coming.


Refreshed!

4,6 en junio 10, 2011

We had a short, but memorable stay at this lovely B&B. The innkeepers have paid close attention to every detail. We appreciated all the little "extras" that made being in the room a delight. The food was excellent as well. We hope to return here in the fall.


Old Massanutten Lodge B&B

4,6 en mayo 31, 2011

What a fabulous B & B. We wanted somewhere special to celebrate out 37 wedding anniversary and we found the perfect place! The room was just what we needed, whirlpool and all. The hospitality, food and lodge was very nice. We loved it all! Gloria and Horace Anderson


Great Stay for a Great Price

4,6 en abril 22, 2011

The room was cozy and comfortable (we stayed in the Golden Butterfly suite). The only reason I give the bed and cleanliness lower than a perfect score is because we were, after all, in the country and had a couple of insect visitors. Margie's breakfasts were AMAZING: healthy, fresh, and made with a lot of local ingredients. We had a fabulous stay and look forward to being able to visit again.


Very Nice Bed and Breakfast with Great Hosts!!

4,6 en abril 20, 2011

This was the second time we stayed at the Old Massanutten Lodge and it was just as pleasant as the first. The hosts are very special people and the service is beyond what you receive at most places. The room was very clean and stocked with everything you could possibly need for your stay. The food was delicious and served in a warm, casual manner at the time we requested. The grounds around the lodge were beautiful with an assortment of flowers just coming into bloom. The lodge is at the end of a road, so there is no traffic noise. I would highly recommend the Old Massanutten Lodge to anyone wanting to have a nice stay away from home.


Quiet, cozy getaway in Shenandoah

4,2 en febrero 21, 2011

Old Massanutten Lodge is great. There are only 3 rooms, and the one we stayed in was great, we had a little floor all too ourselves. Margie was very sweet, cooked fantastic breakfast and brought our son toys and a high chair during breakfast, and even took him so we could finally eat in peace. The Inn is easy to find but still way out in the middle of nowhere. Very quiet, little around and you can really see the stars. It's close to Massanutten, Shenandoah Natl Park, GW Natl Forrest, West Virginia, harrisonburg, caverns and much more. Would definitely recommend it.


Quiet Weekend Getaway

3,4 en febrero 16, 2011

Old Massanutten Lodge is a great, quiet place to get away from it all for the weekend. Our stay in the Ruby Hummer was lovely. My favorite parts of the room were the gas fireplace located next to the bed and the large whirlpool bath. They even supplied us with candles and a lighter in our room to make it more romantic! There are lots of restaurants and shopping within 5-10 minutes, but when you're at the lodge you feel very secluded. The breakfast was good, but I wish she had given us options to choose from, instead of just giving us food and assuming it was what we wanted. Also, the scenery is nice, but the view from our room wasn't as great as I anticipated. Overall, it was a great place to stay for a weekend away with my Valentine!


Nice relaxing weekend in Keezletown

4,0 en diciembre 26, 2010

We came down to the Old Massanutten Lodge to get a little escape from DC. Our stay was very enjoyable. Margie was very accommodating with making sure the breakfast would be food we enjoy. The room was clean and very relaxing. This is a perfect place to go whether you are a couple or have a couple kids that need their own room. We are looking forward to out next trip back.


An Outstanding Experience!

5 en noviembre 20, 2010

My wife and I have been here three or four times over the past few years, and every year the hosts are as courteous, friendly, and accommodating as always. Beautiful property, very private, incredibly relaxing; I can't believe how spoiled we get! We love this place!


A totally charming experience

5 en noviembre 10, 2010

This place is great for a quick getaway from the city grind of DC and surrounding suburban areas. The lodge is beautiful, the rooms are elegant, warm and inviting. The proprietors are helpful, friendly, and FANTASTIC cooks. A great little secluded gem that's only 15 minutes from cute shops and tasty restaurants in Harrisonburg. We'll definitely be going back!


Review

3,4 en noviembre 08, 2010

We really enjoyed the location and proximity to other activities and to Harrisonburg. We loved the rural setting.


The Hyatt Doesn't Even Have an Air Mattress!

5 en agosto 06, 2008

Having acheived Gold Membership status w/ the Hyatt since 2000, my children & I have enjoyed- and expected- exceptional service. Finding myself w/o the children one w/e, I yearned for a retreat to a secluded bed & breakfast for some R & R. Searching online during the mountainous range of Va, I emailed dozens of innskeepers for any last minute cancellations and/or rates. A few hrs later, I followed up the emails w/ calls. Halfway through my list, I spoke to Margie, who immediately convinced me, w/ her welcoming enthusiam, that my search was over. Reservations were booked. I reviewed the directions & I immediately started to pack. Upon arrival, the grounds were breath taking and serene. Margie showed me to my room and the dining area, where a small refrigerator held a variety of sodas and bottled water. A splendid slice of cake also awaited. . just for me! The Butterfly Room was spectacularly decorated and smelled fresh. She explained the air mattress control and advised there were movies in the great room. I spent the afternoon, reading a book on the quiet front porch and taking pictures & sending them to friends - then answering calls and telling them where I had escaped! As Margie spoke about the nearby bike trail and the Massanutten Water Park, I was easily mentally planning my next trip - with the kids! She must have realized this b/c she informed me The Cherub Room was a two room suite, and my children were welcomed to come next time to enjoy the comforts of her inn and the nearby attractions. The night fell as I sat on the porch swing, wrapped in a little blanket, listening to the country wildlife and watching the stars blink on. Before I fell asleep on the cloud, I soaked in the jacuzzi. lighting the tea lights that surrounded the tub . . . The delicious breakfast made it even more difficult to leave!


Old Massanutten Lodge

3,4 en julio 24, 2008

Friendly Innkeeper. Great food. Beautiful property in rural VA. If you want peace & quiet, this is the place.


A Peaceful Place To Stay

3,4 en mayo 28, 2008

Warm service, homemade breakfast, very good. A great deal for the price.


Old Massanutten Lodge B & B

4,6 en mayo 22, 2008

An excellent B&B. Very comfortable and full of character. Very helpful and friendly hosts. Would definately recommend.


Old Massanutten Lodge B & B

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $140 - $170
  • Comentarios (60) 4,3
  • Habitaciones 3
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-5402698800
  • Fax 1-5402698100

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba