Channel Bass Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,8

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,6
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,8
  • Limpieza4,8
  • Comidas5,0

Puntuación basada en
33 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Celebrating my birthday.

5 en septiembre 17, 2014

My 2 daughters, my daughter-in-law and I spent a night there recently, celebrating my soon-to-be 90th birthday. Barbara and David made us feel so much at home - even had a special birthday "tea" on Sunday just for us! Everything was lovely, and we enjoyed it immensely. Thanks so much, Barbara and David. Everything was "outstanding"! Peg Hales, Salisbury MD


Simply Lovely

5 en julio 23, 2014

The Channel Bass Inn truly is a home away from home. Barbara and David could not be kinder, more considerate hosts. They welcome you like family and make every effort to make your stay unforgettable. And the food! The presentation alone will make your mouth water but one bite and you will never want to leave the Channel Bass Inn. Can't wait to visit again! Mark and Meghan, Hamilton VA


A Rare Find

5 en mayo 13, 2014

My daughter and I recently spent a long weekend at the Channel Bass Inn, and found a home away from home. This was our first stay in a B&B, Barbara and David have set a high bar for any future innkeepers! We are definitely B&B converts. The Channel Bass Inn is a lovely old home, with interesting nooks and beautiful furnishings. We enjoyed our weekend in the Ambleside Suite, with a nice sitting room with TV & fold out couch and a very pretty bedroom overlooking the gardens. As we were the only guests on one of the mornings, we toured all the other rooms and found each one prettier than the last - we would be hard pressed to choose a favorite! Barbara serves the most delicious breakfasts, I can't imagine anyone going away hungry. We fell asleep each night anticipating the offerings of the following morning! Fresh fruit salad, or compote with granola and yogurt, nut breads, an egg dish. Scrumptious. The breakfast tea was very good, as expected (as Barbara is originally from England), but we were pleasantly surprised by the delicious coffee. Barbara puts a lot of effort and love into her breakfasts and it shows. The interaction with our hosts, as well as the other guests, put us right at ease and we had the most wonderful conversations each morning, lasting well past the breakfast hour. I'm sure Barbara and her staff wanted to shoo us away so they could clean up, but they indulged us, allowing us to linger over coffee/tea. Afternoon tea is a must, if you visit on a day it is offered. The most delicious scones we've ever eaten, along with tea sandwiches and a choice of trifle, apple cake, butterscotch pecan pie, etc. We didn't need a full dinner that evening, we were so stuffed! When it came time to say goodbye, we felt we were leaving old friends and truly did not want to go. We hope to return to the Channel Bass Inn soon, and often. It is a gem in the beautiful setting of Chincoteague Island.


The best yet!

5 en mayo 07, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 15-year anniversary this past weekend. We love to stay at B&B's, and The Channel Bass Inn was our favorite by far. The house is beautiful, the inn keepers were so sweet, welcoming, and accommodating. And the afternoon tea was my favorite part of the whole weekend, absolutely delicious as well as the breakfast each day. We will definitely be back to visit!!


Don't miss the tea!

5 en octubre 08, 2013

You don't want to miss the wonderful tea served at the Channel Bass Inn during your stay in Chincoteague. It was one of the highlights of our vacation. The tea was flavorful and served hot throughout the event. Barbara's selection of sweet and savory treats was exceptional. David warned us that we needed to come hungry and that we would go away full but that was an understatement! we had delicious sandwiches, a whole basket of scones, butterscoth pecan pie, and Barbara's world famous "stuffed monkey." While my friend and I didn't get to share tea and life stories with other guests, we did share stories with hostess, Barbara W, which was equally enjoyable. So don't miss this special treat when you're in Chincoteague.


3rd Visit -- Still as wonderful as ever!

5 en agosto 14, 2012

My husband and I visit for our anniversary each year, and we loved it just as much as ever. The inn is charming, the innkeepers welcoming, and the afternoon tea absolutely delicious!


May 2012 vacation

4,8 en junio 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Channel Bass Inn very much. Barbara was very helpfull in suggesting area resturants and even was able to arrange for a boat tour at the last minute. Breakfasts were excellent.


Channel Bass Inn

5 en febrero 01, 2012

Very nice tea & breakfast, great rooms & service. Nice people.


Excellent Inn

5 en octubre 27, 2011

The Channel Bass Inn is by far the best B&B at which I have stayed. I have been to many lodgings and in Europe and the USA and this inn provided me with the most friendly, relaxed stay that I have experienced. The Innkeepers, Barbara and David, are exceptional hosts. Barbara and David make every effort to make ones stay a pleasant and enjoyable experience. My room was clean and the upkeep of the inn was excellent The breakfast and tea are wonderful and filling. Each day’s breakfast was different, with residents’ culinary preferences and restrictions taken into consideration. The inn also has a lovely garden where residents can relax and enjoy the flowers and greenery. One should not miss enjoying a nice cup of tea in the garden.


The Ideal B&B

5 en julio 23, 2011

This is the perfect place to stay, and a lovely, peaceful escape from the city. The inn is elegant and charming. The rooms are clean, quiet, and cozy. The beds are very comfortable, with soft sheets and pillows. Everything in the town is a short stroll away (and they provide bikes for guests heading to Assateague). Barbara and David are the best hosts. They are not only kind and gracious, but take care to add little comforting touches that make the inn feel more like a home away from home. The breakfasts are exceptionally good with delicious dishes, homemade breads, and good conversation. The teas have incredible desserts and scones (better than the best ones I have had in the UK). The Channel Bass Inn is a beautiful jewel of a bed and breakfast. I can't wait for my next visit.


A Chincoteague experience

4,4 en julio 18, 2011

Our first impression was how beautiful the house is. Second, how warm, friendly and helpful the innkeepers are. Third, the room was private and luxurious. Finally, the breakfast was a delightful experience. Staying at The Channel Bass made the visit to Chincoteague the complete package. Brenda and Bill


An Amazing Experience!

5 en abril 25, 2011

David and Barbara were such great host/hostess. The inn was so nice and quaint, and offered us the perfect getaway location for the weekend. Breakfast was wonderful, far better than I had expected from any sort of inn. I regret not doing afternoon tea, which I will the next time I get a chance to go back to Chincoteague Island. The garden was beautiful, and David and Barbara offered us the best hospitality and made our stay very comfortable. We brought our puppy along, and had no problems.


Fabulous stay at Channel Bass

5 en octubre 07, 2010

We loved our stay at Channel bass! Our hosts, Barbara & David, truly enjoy their guests & the inn. They go the extra mile to be sure the stay is pleasant & relaxing. Very, very quiet place. Barbara's breakfasts (and scones) are the best! We rated this #1 of all the B&Bs we've stayed at.


Simply Wonderful!

5 en octubre 07, 2010

I was recently staying with friends in Salisbury, MD and they suggested that we visit Chincoteague Island as a change of pace and relax a bit in their favorite B&B, the Channel Bass Inn. I must admit, I am a bit of a B&B novice; never having stayed in one before! As such I did a little research on the net, to get a feel for the experience. I was relieved to see the Channel Bass Inn was highly reviewed, by their guests. Well to say the least, after having stayed one night; I concur with the reviews. David & Barbara were very gratious inkeepers and did everything possible to see that my stay was a memorable one. The one thing that I was unprepared for was the other guests. What a wonderful eclectic group of travelers! This made for some very stimulating conversation and I met the most wonderful elderly woman with a very dry sense of humor. I just hope I'm as much on-the-ball, as she was, when I approcah her age. Any way back to the Inn. I was in #4, a very nice suite, complete with a spacious sitting room with desk and attached bedroom and bathroom. I found all comfortable, but the bed was super. It stormed the night we stayed and I slept like a stone. I normally don't sleep well on the road, especially the first night. But I slept and I slept well. Cudos on the bed, linens and other appointments. The attention to detail was apparent. As I was travelling on business, I needed to get out early and back to Salisbury; before breakfast was served. But Barb would not have that, she cut me a generous slice of some wonderful cranberry-walnut-orange bread , "for the road". What a gal! Anyway; would I stay there again? Yes. Would I try and stay longer? You bet. I still can't get over the conversations with the other guest. That was an unintended winner! Thanks again David and Barbara, you're doing things right! Dave from Houston Texas


THE BEST PLACE!

5 en octubre 05, 2010

Went here for a weekend away from Philly and could not have picked a more delightful place. Barbara and David are so welcoming, genuine and make you feel very looked after! The house is lovely, and Barbara's cooking is amazing! Also great value considering all of the food Barbara provides with elaborate breakfasts and a steal for the afternoon tea (quite a feast) if you're a guest. We have no doubt that we will be back and greatly look forward to it. We will also be sending David & Barbara a Christmas card... (and baby announcement)! So, no need to look further - book here now for a wonderful time!


Our favorite retreat!

5 en mayo 12, 2010

My husband and I have stayed with Barbara and David at the Channel Bass Inn 3 times in just over a year because once we visited the first time, we just couldn't wait to come back. We love the personal touches of the Inn and now consider it our home away from home with Barbara and David as part of our extended family. Barbara cooks the most delicious meals and afternoon teas and it is wonderful to enjoy a leisurely breakfast or a cup of tea with the Innkeepers. The guest rooms are very charming and cozy and always impeccably clean. There is nothing better than melting into bed at the Inn after a long day of biking the island (the Channel bass has great island cruisers for guest use!) or a seafood dinner at Bill's or Etta's. Without the Channel Bass, our visits to Chincoteague wouldn't be the same. We plan to return to the Channel Bass every year when we need a peaceful respite from our hectic lives.


Best B&B on the Eastern Shore

5 en abril 21, 2010

My husband and I have been returning to this B&B in Chincoteague for the past 8 years and will continue to do so for many more to come! This a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are all stunning and spacious. The breakfast alone is worth the stay! Barbara's world famous eggs, morning breads and awesome afternoon tea are outstanding! The hospitality that David and Barbara provide is priceless. I highly recommend staying at The Channel Bass Inn, you will wish you could stay forever!!!


Not To Be Missed!

5 en diciembre 18, 2009

A lovely, warm & welcoming inn-with beautiful, quietly elegant rooms and exquisitely prepared food. Not to be missed.


A wonderful weekend and welcome

4,2 en octubre 06, 2009

Barbara & David were the perfect hosts for us. Barbara's breakfasts & teas were wonderful -- veritable gourmet meals, each one different and better than the last. Barbara is effervescent, David is dry, they compliment each other perfectly, both have a great sense of humor. Loved our 6th trip here as always.


An elegant stay

5 en noviembre 10, 2008

After two weeks of traveling, we settled into the Channel Bass Inn on the softest pillows and mattress ever, going to sleep with the splashings of the fountain in the English garden in the back yard Barbara's food was truly outstanding - the tea, scones and desserts in the afternoons and the delicious English breakfasts in the mornings. It's like non other. We can hardly wait to go back there. Len and Bev - Kansas City, MO


"Afternoon Tea Delight"

4,8 en julio 31, 2008

David and Barbara always make us feel warm and welcome year after year. The tea is delicious and decadent. We look forward to it each year.


Tea at the Channel Bass Inn

4,8 en julio 31, 2008

The best meal we had all week! Delicious, homemade, friendly and leisurely meal.


Children and Dog Friendly -- What a treat!!

3,8 en julio 26, 2008

My sister travels from Ohio with my nephew each summer to celebrate her birthday and we have stayed in B&B's with this year an almost seven year old, and my 14.5 year old four-legged child, Patches!! The Inn was full of kids and dogs but you would never know it from the quietness of the rooms, the respectful nature of all the guests, and the great host and hostess in David and Barbara. The breakfasts were superb, the conversation wonderful, and as always with B & B's we met the most delightful people. And just fifteen minutes from the Chincoteague state park, and right downtown Chincoteague with lots of adorable shops and the park at the Channel. It was a very enjoyable three days at the shore... the best yet! And the recommendation for dinner at Etta's was fantastic. And the sunset cruise not to be missed.


Channel Bass Inn

4,6 en julio 16, 2008

The Innkeepers, Barbara & David, were so friendly they felt like family! Barbara was also the cook & the best food was made every day for breakfast & tea time! They treated all the guests as if they were family! We will return!! Best Inn yet!


Absolutely Fabulous!

4,8 en julio 13, 2008

Barbara and David were incredible innkeepers. We have never had such a wonderful and filling breakfast at at B&B before. Every detail about breakfast was perfect. The rooms were delightful as well as comfortable. Barbara and David are also very generous-with beach umbrellas, chairs, and towels to lend to those with daytime excursions. Our vacation was made easy and fabulous thanks to them! We will definitely return.


More than just a B&B

4,2 en julio 08, 2008

What a wonderful experience for my first stay at a B&B. The hosts could not have been nicer and the food was outstanding. The beautiful gardens were an extra bonus and I hope all B&Bs can take a lesson or two from this place.


"Pure Charm"

4,8 en julio 07, 2008

We were traveling so our stay was just overnight. It was a perfect visit. Breakfast was divine and the gardens are magnificent.


Our Best B&B Stay Ever!

5 en junio 14, 2008

Barbara and David were amazing to say the least and the house is great! Barbara will do anything necessary to make your stay as comfortable as can be. We even received a free room upgrade on arrival. And David is just as outgoing and anxious to make you feel warm and welcome as Barbara is, so they both just make you feel like they've always been your family. We have never had the time to stay more than one night in a B&B so we really have to be impressed pretty quickly and efficiently and Barbara and David do just this. By the way, the breakfasts are the best of any B&B yet for us and the back garden with duck pond is very charming and relaxing. Channel Bass Inn is highly recommended!


best inn in Virginia

4,4 en junio 04, 2008

barbara and david wiedenheft run the most wonderful and relazing b&b on the eastern shore! we went for out 1st wedding anniversary and enjoyed our stay to the utmost. the food is delicious and the hospitality is impecable!


English Charm, American Values

4,8 en mayo 30, 2008

Barbara & David are the perfect marriage of charm and value. j THe inn is an absolute delight!


Best Breakfast of Any B&B!

4,6 en mayo 28, 2008

The peaceful setting, large and delicious breakfasts and option to have tea, combine to make a wonderful weekend getaway. We've stayed at many B&Bs and the food here is better than any we've had.


Perfect Getaway

4,8 en mayo 28, 2008

If you're considering a trip here, you are in for a treat! The inn's gracious hosts, Barbara and David, will welcome you each morning with a delicious, generous, multi-course breakfast the likes of which is very unusual for a bed and breakfast in both quality and quantity. Typical fare includes fresh fruit salads with yogurt toppings, assorted scrumptious homemade breads, and a hot egg dish (such as Barbara's "world famous eggs"). Weather permitting; breakfast is served in a 3-season room off a beautifully maintained garden where plants, butterflies, cats and ducks coexist in harmony. Afternoon tea is offered most days, and is an impressive affair with tea sandwiches, homemade cakes and tarts, and the most amazing freshly baked scones, still warm from the oven. One of the things that we love about the area is that there is as much or as little to do as one pleases. The Inn has bicycles available for the more energetic guests, as the area is relatively flat and great for biking. They also have sand chairs for those bound for the expansive beach on the adjoining Assateague Island. The nature refuge on Assateague can be explored by foot, car, or bicycle, depending upon one's inclination, and kayaks can be rented in town for one's water explorations. If you enjoy shopping, The Channel Bass Inn is within close walking distance to the eclectic mix of merchants on Main Street, as well as several wonderful restaurants. The back garden of the Inn beckons for your morning mediation, to slip into with a glass of wine in the evening, or to enjoy a good book before twilight falls. The rooms are all charming, comfortable and immaculate, but each one is appointed differently. Some have small refrigerators, and the room we normally stay in is a suite with a separate sitting area. This review would not be complete without a warning: be forewarned, this place can be addictive! We've just returned from our yet another visit – our 16th over the past 13 years!


Lovely place, friendly hosts

4,6 en febrero 06, 2007

If you have trouble with stairs this place isn't for you. But we enjoyed every minute of our three days there and rode bikes (provided) all over the island. The hosts and their daughter were warm, friendly, and helpful. Afternoon tea was a special treat and breakfast was great. They have several rooms at different prices that should meet anyone's budget. The room was very clean and the bedding was beautiful. There's also a lovely garden. We look forward to a return visit.


Channel Bass Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $120 - $235
  • Comentarios (33) 4,8
  • Habitaciones 7

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-7573366148
  • Fax 1-7573366599
  • Sin cargo
    1-8002490818

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba