Edgewood Plantation Comentarios

TOTAL

4,8

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,8
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,7
  • Limpieza4,8
  • Comidas4,9

Puntuación basada en
24 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Charming and great hospitality!

5 en diciembre 14, 2014

Eloped at Edgewood this past weekend. Dot, Julian, and Candy had every detail worked out for us and were most gracious hosts. The house was decorated for Christmas and it was stunning! Not a thing we weren't thrilled about, and we will definitely return!


What a hearty welcome!

4,2 en abril 30, 2014

Never have felt so welcome than at Edgewood Plantation. We got the grand tour in the house and the garden. We had lots of laughs and it was a pity that we could not stay a little longer. Thanks Dottie and Julian; you are wonderful people!


Stepping back in time

5 en mayo 28, 2013

Recently spent some time there and it was a awesome experience!! I have never stayed in a place with more warmth and charm. I didn't want to leave!! The innkeepers Dot and Julianne treated us like family and the rooms were sooo cozy. Southern Hospitality is alive and well at Edgewood Plantation. Lynda


Old southern flare

5 en mayo 28, 2013

We recently stayed at Edgewood and enjoyed our stay very much. The house is beautiful inside with it's many antiques and decorative pieces. Edgewood also is right in the heart of all the plantations so you can visit the many surrounding plantations and really get a feel for the time period. Also Jeb Stuart visited the house and had a cup of coffee there. Wonderful breakfast beautiful gardens scrapes what's not to like? Also be sure to checkout the country store wonderful example of a old time store. Thanks Christopher


True Sothern Hospitality

5 en diciembre 20, 2012

If you want to experience southern hospitality at it's finest, this is the place for you. It takes you back to the Old South when men were Gentlemen and woman were Ladies. A wonderful all around B&B experience.


Wonderful and welcoming Bed & Breakfast

5 en octubre 13, 2012

We stayed here as our first night before our family reunion. After a long flight from California and drive from Washington DC, our first impression was wonderful and a great place to stay. After a dunk in the pool to cool off from the heat, we went to our room at 4:00, laid down and did not wake up until the next morning. The next day after a wonderful breakfast, Dot sat and told us the history of her home and the surrounding areas and where to go. It really made our touring of the surrounding areas even more interesting. What a wonderful night and day we spent there. We arrived on a Wednesday and lucked out as we had the place to ourselves and it was fabulous. She was preparing for a big wedding party for the upcoming weekend and showed us around her beautiful grounds. What a great place to have a wedding or just a romantic night. Ron and Karen (July 2012)


A wonderful experience

4,6 en octubre 01, 2012

My friend and I arrived very tired and were greeted with a warm welcome and a glass of wine. The hosts, Dot and Julian, were friendly and attentive but did not hover. The room was spacious and the bed firm. It was quiet at night and we slept like babies. Breakfast was served at the time we has requested and was delicious. This inn is in a beautiful location and you feel so relaxed there. We will be going back with our spouses and again just the two of us.


I recommend this inn wholeheartedly.

5 en septiembre 01, 2012

Wonderful inn in a wonderful, historic setting. Innkeepers, Dot and Julien, were welcoming and friendly. Service was wonderful. The rooms were decorated appropriately for the era. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone looking for lodging in the James River Plantation area.


A Trip Back in Time (with Modern-Day Conveniences)

5 en julio 15, 2012

Edgewood Plantation is a beautifully restored home that combines modern-day comforts with furnishings that make you feel as if you've stepped back in time. The grounds are beautiful, and the hospitality and service are unbeatable. The owners are what really set this B&B apart, with their enthusiasm and their great stories about the history of the home and the surrounding area. The B&B is worth a visit on its own, but if you want to explore, there are several impressive historic plantations just up the road that are well worth the trip!


One of the most memorable nights of my life!

5 en julio 11, 2012

My wife and I happened across the beautiful home when driving along Rout 5 visiting historical sites and the Shirley plantation. Not only did it have a great tour, but it had a B&B so we ended up staying. By the end of our stay we felt like we had a new mother and father in Dot and Julian. We wanted to take them home with us! We loved the pool, the gardens were gorgeous and the breakfast was top of the line B&B food! We want to go back for a week if we could. We just felt so happy visiting this place and all the historical plantations in the area!!! Amazing experience for us in so many ways.


wow

4,4 en septiembre 24, 2011

been there in august 2011. wonderfull place. almost a museum. Dot is such a amazing lady. Her house even impressed my husband. Everybody should give it a try. It's like a travel back in time.


Southern Hospitality at it’s finest

5 en septiembre 20, 2011

We truly enjoyed our recent stay at Edgewood Plantation. It was an outstanding experience. The grounds are lovely, the accommodations are quite comfortable and the pool very refreshing. The house is tastefully decorated with antiques. We stayed in “Prissy’s Quarters” also known as the Honeymoon Suite. It was more than we had imagined, separate from the main house making it very private. The suite has a kitchen area and full-size sunken bathroom with ball and claw-foot tub. No TV but that was ok because we weren’t there for the Super Bowl. Breakfast, served in the dining room with fine china and crystal, is absolutely scrumptious. Dot and Julian Boulware are a warm and charming couple who made us feel so welcome in their home. They are the ultimate hosts. Edgewood Plantation is a wonderful retreat removed from the world that we greatly recommend for a peaceful getaway.


Mother's Day Weekend Surprise

5 en mayo 09, 2011

I took my wife to edegewood as a Mother's Day weekend surprise. We found Dot the hostess to be a wonderful lady as we enjoyed chatting over a cup of tea together with her. The house & grounds are wonderful as we were given a tour of the plantation by Dot. Our room was a period step back into time with all of the pre-civil war area splender. Breakfast was a tasteful treat & Dot was such a helpful source of information for sight as to see in the surrounding area. My wife has already hinted at my bringing her back for her Birthday weekend & we are talking about holding our 'Renewal of Wedding Vows' ceremony here in the near future. Truly a memorable stay.


We can't wait to go back!

4,8 en marzo 30, 2011

B&B's aren't normally my "thing." I have a job dealing with people constantly, and when I go on vacation, the last thing I generally want is to sit at breakfast with a bunch of strangers "chattting" and "making new friends." Dot and Jillian, the owners of Edgewood, changed all that. I have never stayed in a more beautifully decorated room, or had innkeepers who were more gracious and kind. Dot is a charming woman who goes out of her way to make you comfortable and see to it that your stay is enjoyable. Be sure to have Dot tell you of the wonderful history of Edgewood and the surrounding area, and if you're into ghost stories, be sure and have Dot tell you all about Lizzie... it's a wonderfully charming story about Edgewood's friendly "ghost." The grounds are lovely, the hosts are spectacular, the breakfast was wonderful (and large!) and my wife and I cannot wait to go back and see Dot again!


What a great visit!

5 en marzo 25, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful visit at Edgewood Plantation B&B. A refreshing glass of wine awaited us with a lovely tour of the facilities. Dot is an enchanting lady that devotes herself to making your stay memorable. The home is absolutely gorgeous and it is more like spending a night in a museum than a hotel. We love being surrounded by history and artifacts from yesteryear. I have read several reviews complaining about clutter. It's all in the eye of the beholder - if you are looking for Holiday Inn and stark rooms decorated from Pier One or Rooms To Go then, this is not your place. You can easily spend a whole day in the house drinking in the history and decor. Yes, Dot has completely decorated the home and there is scarcely a bare spot but there is no issue in moving around and several wide open areas for visiting and reading. It's great! We could not have been more pleased with the facility. Be forewarned - it's a piece of history. The home is approximately 150 years old. The floors creak. Actually, I prefer to think of it as the floors speak to you - telling you the many stories and adventures they have seen. This home has much to tell - of loves and love lost, of new lives beginning and others slipping away, of war and tragedies and rebirth and if you be very quiet and listen hard - you can hear the whispers as the house tells you of what it has seen. The food was excellent and definitely a dining experience. We were the only guests that night and breakfast was scheduled according to our time schedule. Price wise - it's a little more than a Holiday Inn but you get so very much more. Definitely worth the extra few dollars and when you factor in the wine, coffee and tea whenever you desire and the gourmet breakfast - the museum quality artifacts, the beautiful home and grounds - the personal touch so lovingly bestowed - there is no comparison. It's a no brainer. We will drink from this cup again - many thanks for a memorable visit!


Absolutely wonderful!

5 en febrero 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Edgewood in February while visiting the James River Plantations. Dot and her family were extremely kind and gracious and their home is beautiful. We stayed in Lizzie's Room and couldn't have been more comfortable. Dot has a wonderful flair for decorating and not only did I enjoy looking at her wonderful collections, but also hearing the stories she shared about them. Breakfast was served in their elegant dining room and it was so good, and the atmosphere so relaxing we literally had to tear ourselves away! My only regret was that we couldn't have stayed longer . . . but it is my hope that we will be able to return again soon and get to stay longer. If you are planning a visit to the Charles City area, I would highly recommend staying at Edgewood, and if you just looking for a place to stay that is inviting, comfortable and friendly I would recommend at stay at Edgewood.


Sisters Get-a-way!

5 en octubre 23, 2010

Another adventure with my sister and it was so well worth it.What charming folks Dot, Julian and Candy are. They made us feel right at home and what a fantastic cook Candy is. Dot did wonders with the Bed & Breakfast and you really feel like you are back in the 1800's. Every room in the house was awesome and she did such a good job with the decor through out the house. My sister and I stayed in Victoria's room and loved every minute of it. Too bad we only stayed 1 night. The grounds were beautiful and well kept and me being a cat lover I enjoyed seeing the cats running around. Thank You Julian, Dot and Candy for the best time ever, I truly enjoyed all of you and your beautiful home. Hope to see you again soon. Cathi Judkins Newton Grove, NC October 2010


dream come true.

5 en enero 11, 2010

When I was a girl I use to ride past this old house (which was empty back then) and always was taken by it. I use to say I was going to stay there oneday. I finally made my dream come true and for our wedding anniversay I made reservations. When we arrived we were welcomed by Candy, Dot and Julian. I immediatey felt like we were visiting family. The welcome was warm and friendly. The house warm and cozy. The food was out of this world. My whole stay was WOW...There were other guest there and at breakfast we all sat together and talked which we shared stories. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone. It has warmth and charm. A place you felt like home. The whole house is very beautiful with much character and tastefully done. To hear this history of the area was done with great knowledge. Yes I will go back there. Donald and Sheri Taylor, Mechanicsville, Va.


Christmas at Edgewood

3,0 en diciembre 14, 2009

We planned our trip based on the Dickens Dinner that is offered at this inn. Upon arrival, we were informed the dinner had been canceled due to low interest. We were sent down the street a few miles to a wonderful tavern and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The inn is beautiful and Dot has put herself into every room. No ghost sighting while we were there, but we'll be back again for another try. Thank you Dot and Julian for a wonderful weekend away.


Southern Hospitality

5 en noviembre 16, 2009

I was there for 3 nights in October '09, and stayed in Lizzie's room. I had the best breakfast I have ever tasted, it was even served in courses! The owners were so personable, they even asked what sort of breakfast food I enjoyed. The area was so pretty and all the town's people were so polite. I plan on going back again in May for the Civil War days. Dot will tell you all sorts of things about the area, she knows it will!


A wonderful, charming place

5 en octubre 13, 2009

My husband loves B&Bs and we've stayed in many of them, but none can top our experience at Edgewood Plantation. We cannot say enough about what wonderful innkeepers Dot and Julian are. The breakfast was tasty and filling, the room was comfy and pillow-stuffed, and the whole atmosphere was just delightfully engaging. My husband spent one afternoon peacefully doing calligraphy and chatting with Dot in the parlor; Julian gave us a private tour round the old mill in the back of the property; we were close to several other plantations for easy visits during the day and finally, had we the time, there is a really well-kept (and flat! - just my style) bike path directly across the road from the property. The decor was lovely Victorian, plush and stuffed full of furniture and ornaments Dot has collected over the years, each with its own entertaining story. I sometimes feel a bit shy with what can occasionally seem the enforced intimacy of a bed and breakfast, but Dot and Julian really did make it seem as if you were visiting family (and family that you really enjoy); this feeling of bonhomie spread among all the guests and everyone there was clearly having a lovely time. We can't recommend it enough.


gracious hospitality

5 en agosto 03, 2009

Too bad the review categories didn't include rating the hospitality! visiting Edgewood is like visiting old friends! Dot and Julian are much more than innkeepers, and their connection to and knowledge of the area, their warmth, make this experience "over the top" in B & B stays. They are passionate about Edgewood and being innkeepers, and have a natural talent in bringing Southern Hospitality to all visitors. If privacy and an intimate weekend is what you want, they seem to "know" that too! Wonderful, wonderful place to stay! I can't wait for my next visit.


Highly Recommended!

4,8 en julio 19, 2009

We also spent our 10 year anniversary at Edgewood Plantation. What a memorable weekend. The Plantaion is beautiful and Dot and Julian are wonderful hosts. We stayed in Lizzie's room, so romantic and relaxing. The breakfast was delicious and the company was very enjoyable. We highly recommend this B&B for a relaxing weekend in Virginia.


Beautiful Property - Wonderful Stay

4,8 en junio 16, 2009

We celebrated our 10th anniversary with a stay at the Edgewood. Elegantly decorated throughout with antiques of every variety! Beautiful gardens to stroll. Breakfast is served in an elegant dining room complete with fine china and pewter dinnerware. Hosts Dot and Julian were very accomodating and tended to our every need. Highly recommend a stay here!


Edgewood Plantation

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $158 - $198
  • Comentarios (24) 4,8
  • Habitaciones 8
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-8048292962
  • Fax 1-8048292962

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba