The One Bed and Breakfast Comentarios

TOTAL

4,8

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,8
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,8
  • Limpieza4,9
  • Comidas4,5

Puntuación basada en
86 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Great Get Away

4,2 en junio 23, 2014

Wonderful place with so much charm and character! We loved using the parlor and the balcony. Really good location in downtown Richmond. Everything was so great!!


A great place!

4,4 en junio 12, 2014

Polly and Sean are wonderful and really put themselves out to give us an extra night..We will definitely go back ..


Outstanding...

5 en mayo 20, 2014

Simply outstanding.


Great Experience

4,8 en mayo 09, 2014

We were One and you can be One also. The One B&B was so special that it made for One great place for us and our good friends to meet and have a home away from home for a few days during our visit to Richmond. The one thing we look for in a B&B is; does it make us feel at home. We would have to rate The One number one in this feeling. Polly Brooks greeted us with a welcome that is only expressed by people who love people and love what they are doing. We were so taken with the place that we spent a lot of time just visiting in the “friends’ room”. The One is the best experience we have had at any B&B we have stayed in over the past 25 years. Bud and Suzanne Edwards Solomons, Maryland


Top Shelf

5 en mayo 08, 2014

The One is # 1! It is flat out terrific. My wife and I and dear friends stayed there early May, 2014. First time in Richmond. What a find. It is interesting, charming, fun, and very practical. The rooms, like many B&BS are great. The location is excellent, a couple of blocks to Carytown and many neat restaurants, Maymont (worth visiting), The Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, Monument street etc. But its driving force, Polly, and what she has done with the The One makes it stand out. Polly and her husband created this place in their good sized Historic Site home. It just has a few guest rooms so there is a real sense of intimacy. There is a great sitting room stocked with complimentary snacks, beverages, juice etc. And a unique and healthy continental breakfast. Throw in a couch, sitting table, music, art and neat and numerous knick knacks and we gabbed about why anyone would choose to stay at a motel or hotel if they knew about The One. But there is more: Parking, a neat porch off our rooms with comfortable chairs and a settee, and an innkeeper who goes way beyond what we typically think of as customer service. Polly, in addition to being a top notch tour guide, flitted by from time to time to make sure things were going well. She sparkles with life and energy and is a joy to be around. Her colleague, Amanda, is a small treasure. I could go on but you might think we were on The One payroll. Actually, I seldom write reviews. But I have a great appreciation for places and people who make things special and provide excellent service and a bang for your buck. That describes The One.


BEST EVER ¿

5 en abril 15, 2014

BEST BEST BEST EVER Bed and Breakfast my husband and I have stayed at. Polly and Sean are wonderful people and it was such a pleasure meeting them both. The Cellar was MAGNIFICENT and the decorationns were amazing. Would recommend to ANYONE wanting a great laided back experience with the best hospitality I have ever experienced. We have stayed at many Bed And Breakfasts and this is my favorite. Thank you both for such a wonderful stay and experience :)


Excelent night stay

5 en marzo 26, 2014

This was a GREAT TIME!! Very nice my Wife and I loved staying here, Will do it again text time we have reason to stay over night in Richmond. Thank you so much Sean and Polly. Rick and Kelly


Loved the Place

5 en marzo 07, 2014

We needed this lovely relaxing stay after our day's worth of driving. We loved the place and felt at home. The bed was great and had a great night's sleep. Amanda was so sweet and accommodating, we again felt right at home.


Perfect Respite

5 en febrero 19, 2014

I needed a warm, cozy place to stay for two nights during the Valentine's holiday (I am a florist and live 40 minutes from my shop & it was snowing). I stayed at the One B&B and was totally please with my experience. It was clean, cozy, warm, and quiet. I felt at home and it is nice to have your own space not within the owner's home. Very private and well kept. No complaints! Would definitely stay there again!!!


Absolutely wonderful weekend

5 en enero 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I wanted to visit our old home of Richmond, and decided to stay at the One so that we could experience the Fan like we used to when we lived there. The One was absolutely perfect for what we wanted out of our B&B. The location was perfect, centered between Carytown and the bars on Main St and the continental breakfast was simple, satisfying, and convenient. As we wanted to spend most of our time outside enjoying Richmond, the unobtrusiveness allowed us to explore on our own schedule while having a home base to come back to. We would recommend the One to anybody looking for a home away from home in the Fan.


Great place

5 en enero 14, 2014

My fiance and I drove down from ny to drop my little brother at school and we're so happy we stayed at The One. Once at the B and B, we didn't have to get back in the car. We walked everywhere we needed to go - all around Cary town and the fan district. The room was clean and well decorated and the bed was very comfortable. We had our morning coffee on a small, sun drenched balcony that was right off our room. Fantastic experience. We will return.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We are thrilled that you were happy with the accommodations and look forward to your next visit to Richmond!!


Best place in Richmond!!!

5 en enero 06, 2014

The One was absolutely perfect - the attention to detail and service provided is the best in Richmond. They helped make our wedding night the best it could be!


No Brainer

5 en enero 03, 2014

I surprised my wife for her birthday and booked a room at The One so we could be close to restaurants and shopping (We only live 25 minutes away). What a great choice! The attention to detail in the rooms, the bathroom and the Parlor were outstanding! We met Polly who made us feel right at home. We walked to several locations in Carytown without any issues.I highly recommend for others to stay here.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our B&B! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return for another "staycation" with us in the Fan soon!! :)


Convenient, comfortable and wonderful hosts

4,6 en diciembre 29, 2013

Sean and Polly make staying at the One B&B more like visiting with family than staying in an inn. Not only are the bedrooms comfortable with everything you might need provided, but the parlor makes for a comfortable sitting area that allows you to feel at home. The parlor is also well stocked with drinks and snacks 24/7, letting you help yourself as you want. We would recommend the One B&B for anyone who wants to stay in the Fan area--easy walking distance to the stores and restaurants of Carytown as well as the free museums in the area. A great value.

Respuesta del propietario

There is no greater compliment than to hear our guests say they felt like family during their stay with us!! We are thrilled you felt at home here and look forward to an opportunity to host you again in the future should your travels bring you back to Richmond! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we wish you all the best in the New Year!


Perfect in town getaway for my wedding weekend!

5 en diciembre 09, 2013

I stayed here the weekend of the Richmond Marathon, also my wedding, and we were able to rent the entire B&B for me and family from out of town. I live in Richmond and this was the most perfect place for me to get away from the hosting we were doing at our home for Friday night and to chill out pre-wedding. Polly and Sean were such amazing hosts and truly went above and beyond to make sure our stay was cozy and fun. The location is absolutely perfect being so close to all the fun-ness of Carytown and was great for us - also walkable to our Saturday salon appointments (walk-ability was "key" marathon day!). The B&B is charming, comfortable, relaxing and I honestly want to stay there again even though I live just a few miles away! I checked out other B&B options and this was the best fit for my group, no doubt!


Very happy

4,8 en diciembre 08, 2013

I rented this room for my brother to visit us during Thanksgiving. Everything worked out great and I was very satisfied. The room was lovely and I think they had a great time. They had breakfast each morning before heading over and enjoyed the wine and snacks at night. May have to be an annual tradition!


Special place, everything provided.

5 en noviembre 12, 2013

Wonderful, well thought out. Great location.


A grate place and friendly

5 en noviembre 01, 2013

My wife and I only stayed one night but it was grate, we love Richmond and now have a grate place to stay as well. The room was plenty large furnishing were nice the bed was grate. The setting room was full of cool art, the snacks and breakfast were very nice and plenty of them a real treat. The back porch of the room was a grate place for the evening glass of wine to. Polly it was a pleasure see you again soon.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us! We are so happy that you were pleased with the accommodations and look forward to hosting your next visit to Richmond!!


Adorable gem in a fabulous location.

4,6 en octubre 28, 2013

I met one of my best friends from home in Richmond for a night and we stayed at the One. We were both very impressed by the super cute, contemporary decor, the parlor where you can sit, have a glass of wine or beer (on the house!), listen to music and relax. There are two rooms, as of now, and both are well-decorated and very comfortable. We walked (just minutes up the street) to brunch spots, dinner spots, drinks spots and ice cream spots. We even went on a run on Sunday and the neighborhood was very cute, safe, and pretty. Polly and Sean gave great recommendations for food and drinks and we happily followed them all. It was very nice to have such a great home base when neither of us were either very familiar with Richmond.


Fabulous Find in the Fan!

5 en septiembre 30, 2013

Now that I've stayed in the Slumber Suite I won't be sleeping in Richmond hotels anymore! The bed was so comfortable, and the room and bathroom were spotless. I was impressed with the attention to detail...room darkening shades, robes, earplugs, flashlight, etc. I loved having my morning coffee on the porch! Even though the innkeepers were out of town during my stay they immediately answered my call, making sure I knew how to reach them and that I was aware of who was on-site in their absence. The One B&B is a fabulous find!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us! We are sorry that we missed you this time, but look forward to an opportunity to meet you in the future! Our housekeeper / innsitter, Amanda is the BEST and she makes sure the rooms are spotless and that our guests needs are attended to when we are away. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Richmond!!


The "One" has all the comforts of home and more!

5 en septiembre 27, 2013

This was my second stay at "The One". This time I had the good fortune to stay in "the Cellar at the One". What a charming space. It had a comfortable and spacious living area, kitchen and bedroom area. The decor is fabulous. The bedding and linens are second to none. A very cozy sleep. I truly enjoy my stays at this bed and breakfast when I am travelling in the Richmond area. The attention to detail is amazing. I highly recommend this place to everyone. If you are a hotel goer and have never tried a B&B, this place will get you hooked on B&B's! Sean and Polly are wonderful and see to it that your stay is a truly wonderful experience.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! Of course we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to an opportunity to host your next visit to Richmond!! All the best!!


Wonderful!

5 en septiembre 19, 2013

Everything about our stay was full of wonder. All our ratings fell in the Outsanding categorys. We were visiting our son who lives nearby the One on Stuart. We especially enjoyed using the parlor for time to relax and enjoy conversations with the breakfast, snacks and drinks. There's lots of things to do in Richmond; we found our way to them with help for restaurants and sights to see. Thanks for going the extra mile trying to find "Il Volo" on TV! We would love to stay again at such a wonderul place. See you on our next visit in Richmond.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We knew right away who this review was from by the Il Volo reference! :) So sorry we were not able to find it for you, but thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite missing your show! We look forward to your next visit to Richmond!! All the best!


The place to stay when visiting Richmond!

5 en septiembre 18, 2013

My husband and I live in Richmond, but wanted to stay somewhere nice, in the Fan area for our Anniversary. The One B&B was an awesome choice! Not only are the rooms beautifully decorated, they had so many amenities - like snacks, robes and even a little wine for us to enjoy! The location is superb as we could walk to Carytown and lots of local Fan restaurants from the B&B. We are late sleepers, so the later checkout time (of noon) and also the fact that they leave breakfast in the parlor for us to enjoy at our own time, worked out perfectly for us! I'd highly recommend The One Bed and Breakfast! Not only are the accommodations outstanding, the Innkeepers (Polly & Sean) are amazing people! We are already looking forward to our next stay!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you SO much for taking the time to write a review! We always love hearing from our guests and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us!! We hope to have an opportunity to host you again on your next "staycation" in The Fan!! :)


This is the "one" B&B to stay at

4,4 en agosto 21, 2013

For price, location, service, and amenities, this is the "one" B&B you don't want to pass by. Room and bath right next to room were spacious, gorgeous, and immaculate. Continental breakfast served in parlor on same floor was more than adequate, with numerous choices. We especially appreciated the fact that breakfast was not a sit-down affair with other guests. You serve yourself and then get on with your day at your convenience, not the innkeepers'. Snacks and beverages are available all day, too. The innkeepers can't do enough for their guests, yet you get plenty of privacy. Off-street parking and an ideal location in the Museum District, mere minutes from the major museums and all the shopping and restaurants on Cary Street, make this B&B a simply outstanding value.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our property! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again should your travels bring you back to Richmond! Thank you for making the time to provide feedback. It is greatly appreciated!!


Excellence in Richmond!

5 en agosto 15, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay in Richmond! The location, room, service, and food were wonderful. I had to leave very early in the morning and Polly accomodated me perfectly with breakfast. I loved the shampoo, conditioner and body wash dispensers in the shower. I had everything I needed. I felt like I was at my parents home, where my Mom takes good care of me!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review!! This review really touched us, since we all know how pampered we feel when we are at our parent's home. Thank you so much for the lovely review! We look forward to hosting your next visit to Richmond!


Relaxation just like the doctor ordered

4,8 en agosto 13, 2013

Polly was so helpful in getting me and my daughter acclamated to the lay of the land and provided snacks and drinks at our fingertips which exceeded our expectations. What a relaxing atmosphere and the location to shops and mom and pop eateries was perfect.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback! One of the greatest joys of being innkeepers is hearing from happy guests, so we greatly appreciate your review! So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit!!


Close to VMFA, Careytown, and the Flying Squirrels

5 en julio 23, 2013

Great B & B located close to Careytown (2 min walk), the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (5 min walk), and a five minute drive to The Diamond - home to the Richmond Flying Squirrels AA baseball club. Off-street parking was brightly lit and separate side entrance enabled us to come and go as we pleased. Great room with king bed that was very comfy. Balcony. Large private bathroom. Cool and hip lounge loaded with complimentary snacks and drinks (including beer and wine!). Continental breakfast that was plentiful and delicious. Something for everybody. Ham & Eggs. Cereal. Muffins. Toast. Jams & cream cheese. Cinnamon buns. You name it. Highly-recommended B&B. Ed & Linda from Canada.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! There is nothing better than hearing from satisfied guests and we really appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback! Looking forward to your next visit to Richmond!! All the best!


Great Location

4,6 en julio 08, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Richmond and found the inn to be very convenient in terms of location and walked to many local attractions. The off-street parking was great, as was the separate guest entrance. We enjoyed the balcony off our bedroom and the parlor stocked with snacks and drinks was a welcome treat! The morning breakfast was delightful and plentiful. Overall we had a great experience and would not hesitate to recommend "The One" to friends and family.


Great Location!

4,0 en junio 24, 2013

Great location near Carytown. A little noisy at night, though.


Bounty at thisB&B

4,4 en junio 11, 2013

It was a wonderful experience. They only offer two guest rooms...this make it super cozy! Ammenities abounded. Snacks were plentiful and endless. Continental Breakfast was plenty and a nice selection. Closeness to our beloved Carrytown was just 2 blocks. Walking distance of 3 quaint cafes as well. The only thing to note if you are planning your visit...there is a flight of interior stairs to access your guest quarters and common area..


One is the one

4,8 en mayo 03, 2013

If you are looking for an efficient, charming, well located, highly organized B and B essential to the museum district, Monument Ave., and other historic sights, The One Bed and Breakfast is a worthy first choice. The gracious historic home has off street parking and a top notch location. It is within easy walking distance to the fan district, good restaurants and the multiple historic sights located in Richmond. Our hostess Polly was attentive to our personal needs which included medical help at the local walk medical aid unit just 4 minutes away. Thank you Polly for being such a good hostess and friend. The travelers from Delaware


Great Stay!

5 en marzo 20, 2013

Excellent place to stay! Nice rooms, comfortable, and Sean and Polly are great!


"The One" - Our Place of Choice in Richmond!

5 en febrero 10, 2013

The title of our review speaks for itself. As always, The One was great and our innkeepers, Polly and Sean, the best!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for your sweet review!! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit to Richmond!


relaxing in a city setting

4,8 en enero 25, 2013

I went to this B&B without much research!! I was very pleased with the details. The room was just what I needed...downtime from life. Easy access to parks and the Fan spots. Great area for foodies. Polly knows where to send you! I liked the 24 hour treats.. Lots of attention given to the little things! ENJOY!


Traveling trhough on Business Trip

5 en enero 24, 2013

A business partner and I were traveling through Richmond on a trip to North Carolina. Since I already had a wonderful experience straying at The One for a personal trip, it was an easy suggestion to see if they had availability on the night we would be traveling through Richmond. As always, Sean & Polly treat you like familiy with their outstanding hospitality. Although our stay was brief, we both got some well need rest and great start to our day as we continued on our trip. It is clear that whether you are staying one night or five, the experience at The One doesn;t change....it's simply great.


Great Get-Away at One B&B

5 en enero 23, 2013

A gem in the heart of Richmond, VA. Polly and Sean were great hosts with a true sense for Southern Hospitality. My wife and I felt like family. Proximity to the VA Fine Arts Museum, Monument Blvd, and Carey St can't be beat. Super value...super time. We'll be there again!


I had a wonderful stay

5 en enero 22, 2013

I needed a place to stay for three nights in the Richmond area and checked various hotel reviews which were unremarkable except for this Bed and Breakfast. I had a wonderful stay! Very relaxed, charming B and B, and a nice change from a hotel. Polly and Sean were attentive to my needs, and understood me as a guest and I felt very relaxed there. Snacks all day and a nice continental breakfast. Plenty of refreshments. Clean as can be. Soft bed with lot's of pillows and little charming touches around the place if you look carefully. Polly and Sean enjoy running the B and B which showed. I had a lovely stay and would recommend this to anyone looking for a very hospitable, ultra clean, safe and nice place to stay. Again, a wonderful stay!


A wonderful way to complete our Holidays!

5 en enero 05, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at this outstanding B&B on the 26 and 27 of December, 2012. Oh what fun we had. We have traveled extensively through North America and have spent a lot of time in B&B's across the countries. Our recommendation would be for anyone who has an opportunity to spend time in or around Richmond, VA to stay at "The One Bed and Breakfast". There are so many reasons to choose "The One" they are really hard to remember. There are so many places within walking distance, you might want to leave your car in their parking area at the back of this beautifully restored, and decorated, historic home. (off street and free) One of our regrets is we didn't allocate enough time to spend in Richmond. One full day is simply not enough. If you love beautiful museums you can easily walk to the "Virginia Museum of Fine Art". Admission is free and we would recommend making reservations at one of their beautiful fine dining restaurants in the museum. You could plan to spend the entire day and enjoy it. We were fortunate to be able to take a guided tour of of the historic state capitol. Check out the schedule for this free tour of one of the most historic capitol buildings in the USA. Give Sean and Polly a chance to help you plan your time in Richmond. They'll guide you to the right places and will probably have a brochure for your use. "The One" is absolutely unsurpassed in their rooms, service, value, cleanliness, and dining. Of course I rated them at the top in every category. The only reason I do this is because they deserve it. If you can get a booking for "The One", "just do it". You won't be sorry!


Very welcoming, and with high standards

4,2 en diciembre 11, 2012

A great find; I was looking for something more interesting that the city centre hotel in which I usually stay and 'The One' was a true find. Very friendly, good facilities, and splendid location. Thanks Polly and Seant


Great time in Richmond 11/14/12

4,4 en noviembre 17, 2012

What a great stress break to have stayed in such a lovely home. It was like visiting a close family member to have experienced such a comfortable, safe and carefree environment. We loved the wonderful blend of feeling like you were in the heart of all the enjoyable sites of the city while being in a very intimate space. We are looking forward to returning soon. Thanks again to our hosts.


Excellent Stay!

5 en septiembre 11, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised by this B&B. The room was great and we really liked the outside entrance. Snacks and drinks were provided as part of the package. The Virginia Museum of Fine Art and many nice restaurants are within walking distance. We'll be back!


Great Weekend Getaway!

5 en septiembre 07, 2012

We had a lot of fun at this charming, well decorated B&B! It was neat, clean and the lounge had variety of snacks and breakfast food to satisfy all! Location, location! Historical Richmond! Short walk to Carytown for great shops and restaurants. Sean and Polly are great hosts! We definitely look forward to another stay!


Super Bed and Breakfast

5 en septiembre 03, 2012

What wonderful hosts, what wonderful accomodations and what wonderful experience.... shall never forget it and plan to return in the future... Thanks.. Robert


Easy and Fun

4,4 en agosto 21, 2012

This is a very fun and clean B&B in the heart of historic and eclectic Carytown in Richmond. It is easy walking distance to about 100 shops and restaurants and provided for a lovely home base for our exploration of Richmond. The lounge was constantly stocked with goodies and snacks (including some nice wine and beer). The breakfast was continental but fresh and full, and my wife commented on how nice it was to be able to not feel rushed to get down to breakfast and there was not the pressure to make conversion with other guest unless we wanted too. Overall it was a great price for the location and time of year and very comfortable. We will definitely be back.


One of Richmond's best kept secrets!!

4,8 en julio 12, 2012

I am a Richmond native yet I had no idea about The One. Sean & Polly have done a wonderful job with the decor; it's modern and very comfortable. I couldn't imagine a better experience.


Great weekend

4,4 en julio 12, 2012

Great location, a short walk from Carytown and the VA Museum of Fine Arts. Beautifully decorated house, pleasant and obliging hostess. The continental breakfast was just fine - plenty to eat, and it didn't tie us down to a schedule. Even though it's on 2 main streets, we didn't find it to be too noisy. The room was stuffy - probably had something to do with the hottest days of the summer, but it was hard to get to sleep. Maybe supplemental AC is needed?

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our B&B! Feedback from our guests is one of the things we love most about being Innkeepers! We are actually exploring the options of installing a unit specifically for the B&B space. It is really comfortable 99% of the time, but on those really sweltering days it is a challenge to keep the entire house cool. More to come on the outcome, but wanted you to know that your suggestion is already under review! :) Hope you'll come see us again!!


Fabulous Fun At The One!

5 en junio 05, 2012

My husband and I just spent a lovely weekend at The One Bed and Breakfast. The location is fantastic with stores and great restaurants within walking distance. The One offers a quaint coziness in the heart of Richmond. It is exquisitely decorated, and Sean and Polly, along with their beagles Marv and E, are pleasant and accommodating. We look forward to another stay in the near future.


Great stay...will visit again

4,6 en mayo 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights in May 2012 and enjoyed it immensely. Great location, just a couple of short blocks from Cary Street and lots of shops and restaurants. Our hostess was wonderful, and all the "treats" in the parlor were appreciated. We plan to visit again.


2 nights in Richmond, VA

4,4 en mayo 08, 2012

We had a lovely time in Richmond mostly because of the incredible helpfulness of our innkeepers, Polly and Sean. They made sure that we knew of all the special things to do, see and eat. The inn is in a great location with easy access to shopping, museums, restaurants, and sights, such as Monument Blvd.


The One Bed and Breakfast

4,6 en mayo 08, 2012

Wonderful place. Central location. Hosts very helpful.


Southern hospitality at its best

4,8 en abril 27, 2012

My husband and I actually live in Richmond and stayed at this B&B for a night "away" from home. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in, and the porch outside our room was fun (lots of city people watching!). The location for this B&B is ideal, and it happened to be restaurant week during our stay, so we could walk to dozens of the top restaurants in town. I was concerned about the potential for noise as this beautiful home is located on the corner of two major streets in Richmond, but the street traffic sounds weren't bad. The owner said he'd installed storm windows to drown the noise. My husband didn't totally agree with me on this point, but we both got a great night's sleep (and we were on the side of the house nearest the street). The owners were extremely kind and accommodating, allowing us to lounge until noon since there weren't any guests checking in. Breakfast was continental, and snacks were abundant. My husband was slightly disappointed that the breakfast was not a hot, cooked meal, but the beer and wine in the parlor were a surprise that more than made up for that upon arrival. I thought breakfast was just right, and I appreciated the details of fresh cream for the coffee among other things. All in all, we had a perfect stay and would recommend this place to anybody who comes to town.


Home Again

5 en abril 25, 2012

A native to Richmond (born, schooled etc) it is always nice to come home for a visit. It is made better by staying in comfortable accommodations. One couldn't have been better. Location, room, amenities, all the best. Already making plans for my return next month.


First trip to Richmond

5 en abril 17, 2012

'The One' exceeded our expectations. We chose it because of the close proximity to our son's apartment (just relocated to Richmond) in 'The Fan' district.... we will return because of Sean and Polly and their outstanding hospitality. The house is an absolute gem and is within walking distance of many fine restaurants and museums. We look forward to our return visit in the fall and beyond.


Amazing Stay!!

5 en marzo 19, 2012

I am delayed in writing this review, but my husband and I stayed at The One Bed and Breakfast after our wedding in May of 2011, before flying out of Richmond for our Hawaiian honeymoon the next day. We had such a great night at this B&B, we did not want to leave! We stayed in the Dream Suite and it was so comfortable and luxurious! Sean and Polly were so hospitable and friendly. They gave us great recommendations on places to eat and see. Carytown is such a fun area of Richmond and The One is in a great location for walking around and enjoying the artsy atmosphere! The parlor was fully stocked with snacks and drinks, which was nice if you got hungry. They serve a continental breakfast which was great for us! We enjoyed coffee on the balcony and then were able to grab food and go to catch our flight! The bathrooms are not connected directly to the rooms, but we were the only ones staying that night, so it was not a problem for us! We definitely are planning to visit again for an anniversary or getaway weekend and can't wait to go back!!


If this place was only a national chain!

4,8 en marzo 13, 2012

The accommodations were fantastic. I have never had a night's sleep like that in all my travels. The bed and warm surroundings really made for a wonderful night's sleep. The wooden floors, brick interiors, and decorations throughout the building are like no other place I have ever stayed. Sean and Polly are extremely friendly and make you feel like the friends that you haven't seen since high school. The only thing that would make this B&B better, is if they offered airline miles or hotel points! A must stay when visiting Richmond!


Excellent Stay in Richmond!

4,2 en marzo 13, 2012

We stayed in the Slumber Suite and could not have asked for a better experience. This location is perfect for walking around richmond. The room, parlor area, hosts, bathrooms and overall stay where something we would come back for many times. I highly recommend for a great get away!


Comfortable / Clean / Great Location

5 en marzo 09, 2012

Very pleased with the accomodations and Sean & Polly could not be nicer hosts. Great value and beautiful home in great location.


Charming and Convenient

4,0 en marzo 08, 2012

We found the host and hostess to be very charming and accommodating during our brief stay at The One Bed and Breakfast. The bed was so comfy I wanted to stay there all day! We also enjoyed being so conveniently located that we could walk to the museums and Carytown. We hope to return in the near future! Barbara and Stan Bradley


Perfection in Richmond

4,6 en marzo 06, 2012

We could not have asked for a better place to stay while visiting Richmond. My boyfriend lived in Richmond for a couple of years and we were returning to the area to celebrate his birthday. Our number on priority was location, and The One was beyond perfect. It's within walking distance of Richmond's greatest museums as well as the popular Carytown neighborhood where we spent much of our visit. When we arrived, Sean and Polly weren't at home, but we were provided with an access code to get in to the guest rooms. We were absolutely floored when we walked in. The One only has two guest rooms, which makes it the perfect place for privacy. Our room, The Dream Suite, is located at the top of the stairs and is beautifully decorated in shades of deep red. My only very minor gripe is that the bathrooms are no located "en suite." Instead, they are directly outside the rooms. So while each bedroom does have its own bathroom, you do need to leave your room to get to it. Not a huge deal since there are only two guest rooms...but you can't traipse to the bathroom naked at 2am, either! The parlor is located across the hall from the guest rooms and is not only a comfortable lounge spot, but is also stocked full of snacks and beverages. This is also where continental breakfast is served in the morning. The spread is pretty standard- muffins, bagels, cereal, etc. It didn't particularly suit my fancy (way too carb-heavy), but it's the type of breakfast my boyfriend loves. Sean and Polly were fantastic hosts; very attentive and friendly. Honestly, they were the best B&B owners I have ever interacted with. You can tell that they truly love what they do. We can't wait to go back to Richmond to spend another night at The One. Thanks to Polly and Sean for a great stay!


Anniversary Weekend

4,8 en marzo 05, 2012

My wife and I had a great anniversary weekend in Richmond enhanced by our stay at The One Bed & Breakfast. This was our second stay in this charming historic home located near the museum district of Richmond. Polly was extremely helpful in planning our weekend by coordinating a variety of fun activities including a trip to the local spa, tickets for a show at the museum, and dinner reservations at a outstanding restaurant. We enjoyed the entire weekend and will be back soon.


The One is 'The One'

5 en marzo 05, 2012

We stayed at The One on March 2nd and 3rd and were most pleased at what we found at this delightful B & B! Polly and Sean greeted us and from that point on we felt as if we knew them always. The room was comfortable, the breakfast was just enough and there is plenty to do in Richmond to keep you entertained. We highly recommend staying at The One! D and J


Great Weekend Away

4,0 en febrero 13, 2012

We used to live in the Museum District, and were coming back to the area to celebrate a friend's promotion. It was a great opportunity to stay in the old neighborhood. We loved The One - very comfortable, very convenient, and very "Richmond" (my favorite part). Can't wait to come back!


Destination Birthday

5 en enero 15, 2012

My Mother and I did a girl's weekend getaway at The One Bed and Breakfast last summer and loved it! As my Birthday approached this year, I wanted to go back to The One Bed and Breakfast with my Husband so that he could see how wonderful this place was. As always we absolutely enjoyed everything! The attention to detail is beyond reproach! Thank you! Katrina Drummond


"We can't wait to go back"

5 en diciembre 06, 2011

What a wonderful find!! We live in Richmond, and were just looking to get away for a night. We loved the "The One". The decor is so relaxing and beautiful! Our room was romantic and luxurious. The parlor was so nice to relax in. The location is fantastic, we spend the day exploring Carytown and the evening in downtown Richmond. Polly was so kind and she had a wonderful breakfast waiting for us when we woke the next morning. It was the perfect getaway. We cannot wait to return very soon. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone look for a relaxing stay! It was perfect! Thank you Polly and Sean!


Very comfotable stay and excellent value!

5 en diciembre 05, 2011

We stayed in the Slumber Suite on the weekend of 12/3/11 and were blown away with the amenities offered, well appointed room and comfortable bed. The room came complete with a balcony and seating to enjoy my morning coffee. The large fully tiled bath was nicely done and the tub/shower complete with exposed brick and jetted shower panel. The innkeepers were pleasant and happy to make us feel welcome in their home, yet gave us plenty of space & privacy. Much attention was given to the little details to make sure everything one could need was available. They even had a nice variety of snacks & beverages in the common area, all compliments of the house. If you are looking for a centrally loctated and beautiful historic place to stay in Richmond for business or pleasure, The One is a must!


Like finding a pearl in an oyster

4,4 en noviembre 23, 2011

We were so pleasantly surprised with the decor and comfort of this great B&B find. Our room was exquisitely appointed and the bed invitingly comfortable. The parlor was very friendly and comfortable to relax in, read a book or magazine and enjoy a drink and snack. Our continental breakfast was perfect! Everything was so wonderful and a great place for us to enjoy a 'big' birthday. Perhaps the only comment was the small size of the bathroom: no room to put toiletries. In the real estate business, this is referred to as 'quaint'.


Great Location & Beautiful Room in a Modern B&B

4,6 en noviembre 13, 2011

This was a fantastic B&B! Probably the best I've stayed at. It is in a historic home but is decorated in a more modern way so it doesn't have that old dusty feeling that some B&Bs have. They were very thoughtful and have lots of small touches in the home. Breakfast is just continental to hold you over which I really liked because then we got to try the awesome breakfast and brunch at all the cute restaurants. The location of this B&B was perfect. We didn't use our car all day. We walked to the art museum and then walked around carytown with lots of great shops and restaurants. The owners were very nice and gave us good recommendations for how to spend our time and they even invited us over to a party they were having. We bought a bottle of wine one night and sat out on the porch connected to our room and drank wine and ate cheese. The common room has a great couch to lounge on with yummy free snacks, wine, and popcorn. If you are a light sleeper, you might want to stay in the red room because the blue room is closer to the street which can be a little rowdy on a Friday night.


The One

5 en octubre 10, 2011

We've been visiting Richmond for over four years and decided to try something different. It couldn't have been a better choice. It was like staying at home (or event better), but Polly took care of everything! The service, amenities and proximity makes this a must stay!


Like visiting old friends!

4,4 en octubre 04, 2011

We were positively delighted with our accommodations and the location was perfect, but very best of all were our hosts - Sean and Polly! They have a sign posted which says "May all who enter as guests leave as friends." That is exactly how they treated us, and we will not consider staying anywhere else, should our travels return us to Richmond. J & N - San Diego


Great little secret...

4,4 en septiembre 28, 2011

We were in town for a wedding. The bride set us up in the guest house, and we could not have been more pleased. Location is perfect to explore a very historic, eclectic, and interesting part of the city. We were able to walk everywhere we needed to be. The inn borders a part of the city where the missus made childhood memories at her grandparent's house...many landmarks remain. The innkeepers were very gracious and friendly, and treated us to a tour of the main house - phenomenal. The inn also provides a peek into the lifestyle of the those built these grand houses around 1910 or so. Highly recommend to anyone.


Great Location and Amenities!

5 en septiembre 27, 2011

Sean and Polly are excellent hosts with a very convenient location in the Fan, close to the VMFA, legendary Fan District hangouts, Carytown, and only a 5 minute drive to Southside, Riverside Drive, and Forest Hills neighborhoods across the Nickel Bridge. Nice amenities include the Parlor room with 24/7 refreshments; each Guest Room has it's own private full bathroom, and there is free off-street parking in the back!


"The One Bed and Breakfeast"

5 en septiembre 26, 2011

Just a great Bed and Breakfeast ! Five star everything and Polly and Sean can't do more to make you feel like home...Would highly recommend and we will certainly go Back !


Gem on Boulevard

5 en agosto 09, 2011

We had a great weekend staying at The One. Polly and Sean made us feel at home and the two suites with a common parlor afforded us and our guests plenty of space for weekend slumber or relaxing with coffee. The One's location was ideal for a night out in Carytown and was only a short walk to several restaurants and bars. We'd definitely recommend it for a Richmond getaway.


LOVE POLLY AND SEAN

5 en julio 25, 2011

The place was absolutely awesome, corner property on "The Boulevard", a very choice neighborhood, w/in walking distance to VMFA (museum), eclectic shopping in Carytown and a huge variety of restaurants and cuisines, nearby. If stately brownstones fit your tastes, this ones for you. The decor and detail Polly and Sean gave to the space is greatly appreciated, not to mention their helpfulness, kindness, and knowledge of area. The Presentation of everything was SPOT on. Thanx again Sean and Polly for making my first visit to Richmond a memborable ONE.


An absolute delight.

5 en julio 10, 2011

We felt like we were staying in a catalog! Beautifully decorated, tasteful to the nines, every detail was there -- every detail! Snacks, local magazines, maps and brochures abounded. I would have liked to have met the pups and/or Sean, but Polly was charming and I'm sure they are too. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Richmond.


Fabulous place to stay in Richmond!

4,8 en julio 09, 2011

If you would like a charming, immaculate, and well-located place, I can highly recommend The One. My room was beautifully appointed, with a balcony directly outside with wicker furniture. Innkeepers, Sean and Polly went out of their way to ensure that I had everything I needed, going out of their way to research which restaurants would be open over the holiday weekend. They provide a sitting room with snacks, cool drinks and a coffee/tea machine for when you simply want to relax. I was pleasantly surprised during breakfast: in addition to the cereals, yogurt, muffins and bread, they brought out a huge bowl of fresh fruit. My next trip to Richmond will definitely include a stay at The One.


A true gem at the heart of everything in Richmond!

4,8 en junio 20, 2011

We are from the Midwest and stayed in the Dream Suite at The One over a long weekend as we looked for a new apartment in Richmond. The One was a great home base for everything we did in Richmond. Sean and Polly were very helpful in pointing out interesting restaurants, bars, museums, and shops in the area (many of which are within walking distance). They also were incredible about helping us navigate the different neighborhoods in Richmond and even sending us some housing resources in advance of our stay to make apartment hunting easier. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the parlor was great for taking one's time in the morning with a cup of coffee and a pastry, or popping some popcorn to enjoy in the evening. I loved the attention to detail in the decorations throughout the B&B, such as the mural of Richmond landmarks in the front entrance, and the colorful ornaments in the parlor. Sean and Polly were great about being attentive without being intrusive. This definitely will be the place I will recommend to friends and family who will visit us in Richmond in the near future!


The ONE B&B for me!!!

4,0 en junio 10, 2011

Sean and Polly were great hosts and very friendly. The ONE was very clean, fabulous and trendy. My husband and I love everything about it. I felt right at home immediately. Great location and was the best B&B I have ever stayed at. The "ONE" was "ONE" best choice I had made!!!


It is the ONE!

5 en mayo 24, 2011

Polly and Sean are very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and great hosts! Most everything you could want or need are within walking distance of The One. I even got to spend some time with my buddies Marv and E on the front porch watching the world go by! It is my place to stay in Richmond and I'll be back, thanks guys!


Best B&B in Richmond

5 en mayo 13, 2011

The One is a fabulous place to stay! It is clean, comfortable, luxurious, and a great value. The owners, Polly and Sean are so nice and helpful. The One will be my "one" every time I am visiting Richmond!


Very nice

3,8 en mayo 12, 2011

With a nice separate entrance, the accommodations are private; as if one is renting a room in a well furnished apartment by the night. I liked it.


Fantastic Place!

5 en mayo 10, 2011

Loved everything about it. It's an experience my wife and I would like to repeat! Must try it!


"One" Warm and Friendly Visit

5 en mayo 06, 2011

Thank you for the warmth and helpfulness. Our stay was most enjoyable!! The home is absolutely lovely and your friendly hospitality was amazing. We look forward to you being the number "One" B&B in the South!!


Loved it!

5 en abril 28, 2011

My husband and I decided to try staying at The One Bed and Breakfast recently and found it to be a wonderful experience. The location is perfect as you are in walking distance to many restraunts, shopping, museums, and local clubs. The room was very clean and they wen't out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Sean and Polly are great hosts and can give you a lot of suggestions of things to do and places to go in Richmond. I'm sure on our next trip to Richmond we will be staying here again. Thanks Polly and Sean!


"One" great experience!

4,6 en abril 27, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic weekend at "The One" B & B. We have been to the Richmond area on several occasions and decided to stay at a local B&B this time. Sean and Polly were very friendly and gracious hosts. They explained to us that their B&B was brand new and we were just the second guests to stay. This historic home has great decor and a southern charm. It is located close to the museum district as well a trendy area called Carytown, which offers many great restaurants and shops, all within walking distance. We stayed in the Dream Suite, which had a very comfortable bed, and access to a small balcony that was great for relaxing in the late afternoons. Breakfast was served ala carte in a parlor-type setting just across from the suites. We had many options to choose from including fresh fruit, pastries, and a wide variety of coffee and teas. "The One" may be new, but we were very impressed with the accommodations and hospitality. We will return soon!


A great Time

4,4 en abril 27, 2011

I think we were one of the first guests - but Sean and Polly really did their homework before opening the B&B. Great location, really nice rooms, and so close to so much to do in Richmond. We'd recommend it - and we'll be back.


The One Bed and Breakfast

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $139 - $199
  • Comentarios (86) 4,8
  • Habitaciones 4
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-8043591211

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba