Uphill House Bed & Breakfast Comentarios

TOTAL

4,8

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,7
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,7
  • Limpieza4,9
  • Comidas4,8

Puntuación basada en
57 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Good experience. definitely worth the stay

4,8 en marzo 22, 2014

Generally, this B&B was an excellent experience, full of little niceties and surprises the whole time we were there. We went to a friend's wedding, and came back to a room both cleaned up and a bed turned down! Definitely full of charm.


Birthday Getaway

5 en febrero 11, 2014

I chose to stay here with my boyfriend and surprise him for his birthday in February of 2014. I emailed Lynn about a possible stay and she was quick to respond. When we arrived both ladies were very nice and gave us a nice tour of the house. Once in the room there was a plate of goodies on the bed and a small box of extra goodies for my boyfriends birthday. Lynn gave us nice suggestion for a place for dinner, Pomme, and they had 3 vouchers for us to visit wineries. Lynn even had a little map of wineries for us to tour. We really enjoyed the cheese and fruit tray in the evening and my boyfriend loved the sherry. The breakfast was extremely good and very fulling. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms and it was just enough. There was no TV in our room but that gave us a chance to talk before bed. I really loved the night cookies on our bed when we returned from dinner. We would recommend this place in a heartbeat and would stay again, hopefully with warmer weather next time!!!


Great Find!

5 en diciembre 19, 2013

Outstanding in every way. What a Find. Joyce & Lynn were wonderful. New & comfortable B&B.


Uphill House Bed & Breakfast

4,8 en diciembre 18, 2013

All was wonderful- very comfortable accommodations, extremely clean. Wonderful English breakfast- night-time (afternoon) snack.


Lovely Inn

5 en noviembre 25, 2013

Lovely place and ladies. We felt like home! Great breakfast.


10th Anniversary Getaway

5 en noviembre 04, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying with Lynn and Joyce. The rooms are lovely, the food delicious and our hosts more than gracious. They helped us plan out our activities in the area and set up our lunch reservation at a local winery. The evening wine and cheese was a nice way to wind down and we were able to take advantage of the nice weather to sit on the back deck and watch the birds at the feeders.


25th Anniversary getaway

5 en septiembre 21, 2013

The food,service and hospitality that Joyce and Lynn provide at their B&B is absolutely fantastic!! We had a wonderful time. It felt like we were staying with relatives! The location was very close to all the places we wanted to visit. Hope to be back again soon. Thank you both so much for a very memorable weekend.


Excellent

5 en septiembre 09, 2013

Nice quiet location. Excellent hosts, delicious breakfast. Wonderful location, easy to get to the city. Would absolutely stay again!


Anniversary Trip

5 en septiembre 05, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay on our anniversary. Joyce and Lynn (the owners) had champagne and chocolates waiting for us. All the food was excellent. Cheese, crackers, and cookies in the afternoon and traditional English breakfast plus homemade breads and muffins. Joyce and Lynn were very warm and friendly and made us feel a part of their family. We will definitely go back.


Tucked away

5 en agosto 30, 2013

Unexpected relaxation at a brand new home - kept meticulously clean, great breakfast (full english). Wonderful wine and treats, lovely quiet setting - outstanding.


Wonderful Stay!

5 en agosto 29, 2013

Lynn and Joyce did everything possible to provide us with a lovely stay. Clean and comfortable accommodations. Even gave us a rubber ducky as a remembrance!


Super nice and helpful!

4,0 en agosto 27, 2013

The Innkeepers were super nice and helpful. The house was very clean. The room was big and nice with a nice clean bathroom Breakfast was plentiful. Only complaint was room was stuffy and hot and did not have its own control.

Respuesta del propietario

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and I do wish to apologise for your discomfort with the room temperature. We do have ceiling fans in each bedroom to help circulate but the thermostat for the upstairs level is in the hallway and always reads warmer than the actual rooms are. I try to regulate this and make everyone comfortable but some rooms will get cooler than others and some stay warmer. I do tell all of our guests to please let me know if the temperature is not right in their room and I will do my best to correct it. Again, I do apologise.


Virginia's Shangri la

5 en agosto 27, 2013

Just one : unbelievable! Many thanks to the owner Joyce and Lynn.


Peaceful and beautiful getaway

4,4 en agosto 26, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at this beautiful B&B. Lynn and Joyce are so friendly,we felt at home immediately upon entering the front door. The house and grounds are lovely. We felt completely rested after only 2 nights, the food was delicious.


AWESOME

4,6 en agosto 23, 2013

This was our first experience of a "real" B&B though we had stayed in several that were more like a hotel B&Bhybrids. What a wonderful experience, it was like being transformed into a european setting in the countryside. Absolutely everything was outstanding. Will most certainly return and recommend to others.


EXCELLENT B&B

5 en agosto 21, 2013

Lovely staff, pleasant and friendly. Lovely residence, clean, fresh - excellent food. Would definitely return.


Birds on the mountain top

4,6 en agosto 20, 2013

Uphill house is new but old fashioned in its pleasures and comforts. Bird watching and home baked pasties are delightful.


Great first B & B experience

4,6 en julio 08, 2013

Uphill House was a great first B & B. We were a bit nervous as to what a B & B would be like. Joyce and Lynn exceeded our expectations. Their hospitality was superb, while still respecting our privacy. Food was good, but the baked goods were AMAZING. The home and ground were meticulously kept. We would (and already have) recommended the Uphill House for a getaway.


Idyllic Haven in the Virginian Countryside

5 en junio 14, 2013

Luxurious accommodation with home comforts—welcoming, friendly hostesses, relaxing ambience. Would recommend and return.


Fantastic!

5 en junio 14, 2013

Our stay was superb. Lynn and Joyce were warm, friendly and professional hostesses. Outstanding English breakfasts- afternoon delicious cheese and wine selection. Throughout our day we were treated to homemade pastries. Rooms were comfortable and spotless.


Wonderful hospitably from heavenly hosts

5 en junio 13, 2013

This is a beautiful home from home (or at least the home I would love to have) with every comfort in gorgeous surroundings. Excellent service and more from Joyce and Lynn. Will definitely return. Just loved it!


We'll definitely be back!

5 en junio 01, 2013

We absolutely loved Uphill House B&B and the owners, Lynn & Joyce. The home is extremely well kept, & the setting is lovely. We wished that we had more time to spend at the home, but we were too busy with all of the fun things to do nearby... Monticello, Charlottesville & wineries galore. We are already looking forward to our next visit!


Great getaway

5 en mayo 20, 2013

We stayed overnight as part of a 50th birthday celebration for my husband. Lynn and Joyce could not have been nicer and more helpful. They made our stay very memorable with special little touches of hospitality. Seems Joyce is an exceptional baker, too!! The place is immaculate from top to bottom. It was enjoyable sitting on the back porch checking out all the different species of birds and we even saw a luna moth! Just be aware that they dont turn on the air conditioning until July 1, which makes a rare May 80 degree 90% humidity day/night a little tough to sleep :-) All in all it was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend this Inn.

Respuesta del propietario

Ooops..I do apologise for the "tongue in cheek" comment regarding dates that our English B & B turns air/heat on and off. For those that have traveled in England and Scotland..the comments and dates would have been understood!! Actually we have had air conditioning on during this hot weather but I probably do not keep it as low as most. I set the upstairs zone at 75 degrees and the downstairs at 77 degrees. We do have ceiling fans in all of our upstairs rooms to help air movement. Thank you very much for the lovely review and I do hope we see you again.


Lovely Home and Caretakers

5 en mayo 10, 2013

Lynn and Joyce have a lovely home and their service and friendliness was outstanding. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and pleasing to look at. The grounds were well kept and was home to a number of birds, butterflies, and chipmunks. The food was homemade and tasty, this coming from a fairly picky eater, and the two of them were more than happy to accomodate my gluten free needs. If you are down that way for a wedding or need a retreat, I wholly recommend Uphill.


Weekend getaway

5 en mayo 06, 2013

This was our first stay in a B&B and it could not have gone any better. Lynn and Joyce were so friendly and helpful. They guided us to a number of wineries in the local area, recommended restaurants for dinner and other local events. Their home was lovely and the full English breakfast was fantastic. We will definitely visit again.


A Pleasant Spring Getaway

4,8 en abril 07, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Uphill House in the Winscombe Room. The room was inviting, and the entire inn was spotless. Lynn even put chocolates on our pillow. She was very accommodating especially when it came to breakfast and our afternoon treats. If I'm ever back in the Charlottesville area, I will return to Uphill. :-)


Traditional Graciousness

5 en enero 10, 2013

Gracious hospitality in the finest of English traditions awaits in the beautiful and serene setting. Impeccable service, catering to your every request, amplifies this charming getaway location. Amazing restaurant/winery nearby.


Can't wait to go again!!!

5 en noviembre 25, 2012

Lynn and Joyce were amazing! I can't say enough good about our hostesses and their home. The ladies went over and above the call of duty. We had special food requirements that were not just tolerated but truly caterted to. It was so nice to see my mother enjoy all the goodies prepared just for her. Their home was spotless! Best sheets I have ever slept on! Robes were great! Beans on toast.....YUUUMMMMM!!!! Truly the best B&B I have experienced. Paul and Michelle Mwema


Great First B&B Experience

5 en septiembre 04, 2012

Uphill House was beautiful, welcoming & relaxing. Joyce & Lynn were very hospitable & treated us like we were family. Definitely will come back!


Amazing!

5 en septiembre 03, 2012

Service was amazing! The owners were kind, thoughtful, and helpful. We would love to return.


Home away from home

5 en agosto 27, 2012

Lynn and Joyce run an impeccably clean, beautifully appointed B&B. There are delicious treats all the time, including local wine and homemade peanut-butter balls. A perfect stay!


Perfect getaway for couples!

5 en agosto 13, 2012

There are many bed and breakfast inns in the Barboursville/Charlottesville area but Joyce and Lynn are the real treasure at this B&B tucked in the woods! The food was wonderful (and so much of it!) and the added touch of the wine and cheese set out in the afternoon really made us feel at home. We even went out to dinner our first night and came back with leftovers which Lynn and Joyce graciously held for us in their fridge :) Lynn and Joyce recommended wineries in the area during our stay and even on our way out of town arranged for us to have more complimentary tastings at Prince Michel and Early Mountain Vineyards. The Uphill House truly gave us an enjoyable experience that we will be sure to remember.


Outstanding Stay!

5 en agosto 02, 2012

Every detail met or exceeded expectations. We can't wait to make another trip!


First Time's a Charm

4,8 en julio 31, 2012

Absolutely wonderful! Joyce and Lynn are adorable. They were so gracious and accommodating. This was the first time my husband and I have stayed at a B & B. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and we loved it so much we will be going back again soon. We felt quite pampered. Homemade breads and pastries every day, wine and cheese with crackers for "happy hour" and plenty of fresh fruit. We were well fed. :-). I highly recommend Uphill House for a relaxing country stay.


Wonderful Stay

5 en julio 26, 2012

Joyce and Lynn are wonderful hosts with true British hospitality and make you feel totally comfortable in their lovely home. The decor is extremely tasteful and restful with a very large deck overlooking a very peaceful pleasant garden. The extra little touches, flowers in the bedroom as well as home baked goodies and cheese and wine on arrival all make for a wonderful stay. The home baked cooking from bread to cookies to chocolates to full English breakfast add that excellent touch. The birthday gift box of homemade candies were well received!


Excellent B & B

5 en julio 06, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 33rd Wedding Anniversary in June at the Uphill House. Joyce and Lynn were very gracious hosts and arranged a delightful wine tour for us. The house and grounds were beautiful, and we enjoyed sitting on the deck enjoying wine provided by our hosts. Breakfast was great. Joyce and Lynn seemed that they really enjoyed having you there as their guests. Certainly would recommend this B & B.


Best B & B we have found

5 en junio 19, 2012

Came for a wedding at Keswick June 8-10th, 2012. My wife and I felt this was the best B&B we have encountered. These ladies love having guests and we both appreciated their attentiion to detail to make our stay special. Lovely facility, great breakfast and relaxing on the deck with wine&cheese in the afternoons were really nice.. Our heartfelt thanks go to Joyce and Lynn. Hope we have the chance to visit again and we highly recommend this place for anyone wanting a relaxing stay in the country. thanks again!


Pleasant Experience

3,8 en mayo 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on my birthday while we toured the different wineries nearby. The Uphill House is very clean and the innkeeper is lovely. We felt comfortable and well taken care of. Even though I did not receive the "special gift" for my birthday that was advertised on their website, it was a good experience and we will probably be back if we are in the area.

Respuesta del propietario

Dear Guest, I enjoyed having you and your boyfriend stay as guests at Uphill House and am sorry you missed out on the "birthday surprise". Actually, I did not know it was your birthday until it was mentioned after you had been here. The little gift is a small box of homemade cookies (6 bite size in all) and I make them up fresh when I know beforehand. I do hope you both will stay again sometime and we can do a belated birthday!


A Wonderful B&B Experience!

5 en mayo 16, 2012

What a delightful experience to drive up the long driveway and experience a bit of heaven! Joyce and Lynn are the ultimate "innkeepers" ........not only did I love the accommodations but felt I had acquired two new friends. Joyce and Lynn truly know the spirit of "welcome" and it shows in their wonderful English B&B........treat yourself!!


first time at a b&b

5 en abril 28, 2012

I want to thank Lynn and Joyce for a great time. My mother sister and I enjoyed it soo much. We come from california and they treated us like family. The grounds are amazing. I will come and visit them again.beppie


Wonderful place to stay

5 en abril 26, 2012

Joyce and Lynn were very warm and caring people. They were very informative about the area and very helpful in making our stay a pleasant one. Would stay there again.


Welcoming and wonderful!

5 en abril 14, 2012

Our stay at Uphill House was a perfect way to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Joyce and Lynn were exceptional hostesses, providing the perfect mix of privacy and attentiveness. We were greeted with complimentary wine tasting coupons, and recommendations for dinner. After our wine tours, we relaxed with our own "wine and cheese" party on the lovely back deck. The peace and quiet of the hilltop setting with a beautifully landscaped lawn was a treat. We enjoyed an evening of quiet relaxation in front of the fire in the common area before retiring to our expansive suite where we found a lovely turn down service with "moon and star" cookies. The beds and bedding were exceptional and we were particularly pleased to find Uphill House offered king sized beds...a rare find. The full English breakfast was made to order and served in addition to home baked continental fare. We highly recommend Uphill House and look forward to returning.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for that lovely review. As I always say, when we have guests such as you two...we love what we do and you are why we do this. Being an Innkeeper of your own Bed & Breakfast or Inn enables one to meet and talk to so many different people, it is truly rewarding and fascinating. Remember, you are friends the first time you visit...after that..family!! I look forward to seeing you again and once more, Thank you!


Memories of London!

4,0 en marzo 11, 2012

Breakfast served as if you were in London. They asked us before our visit if we had any food allergies, then adapted the menu to fit our situation. So thoughtful!


Phenomenal experience in historic VA/wine country

4,8 en febrero 12, 2012

Joyce and Lynn were attentive and gracious hostesses from check-in to check-out. They accommodated special requests and food preferences for my vegetarian girlfriend. Joyce and Lynn were well connected in the local economy and provided us with references for wine tours at discounted prices. There was always a plentiful array of cookies and beverages at any hour of the day. Don't forget about the free happy hour from 4-6 that features delicious cheese and local wines. Joyce and Lynn embody class and top-knotch service -- this B&B is not to be missed!

Respuesta del propietario

Wow, thank you for the lovely review and it was really our pleasure to have you stay with us. The guests we meet make what we do so worthwhile and fun and it is a lifestyle, not just a "job". I do hope you will come our way again!!


A great find

4,6 en noviembre 17, 2011

Uphill House B&B is a great place to stay if you're visiting the Gordonsville, Orange or Charlottesville areas in VA. Both Joyce and Lynn were very friendly and accommodating hosts. Their homemade baked goodies were a lovely treat. And their English-style breakfast in the morning was a wonderful experience. The room we stayed in was immaculate, and the bed was very comfortable. It was a great room for the price we paid. We wouldn't think twice about staying there again in the future.


A Hidden Gem!

4,4 en octubre 17, 2011

Mother and Daughter team Joyce and Lynn have opened up a true gem in the heart of Virginia Wine Country! Our room was always spotless, the breakfasts are fantastic (and so much food!) while the afternoon snacks and wine options were perfect for a quick snack before dinner. We look forward to returning again this winter to sit in front of the fire with a book and a glass of wine!


Fantastic B&B

5 en agosto 08, 2011

Remarkable accommodations, food & hospitality. Secluded & gorgeous forest location, yet close to multiple wineries, Charlottesville, Monticello & Montpelier. The absolute best!


Casual & Comfortable

4,8 en julio 26, 2011

Free wine tasting every day! Sipped Virginia wines in a secluded wooded location! Great food. Wonderful hosts


Nice, quiet retreat

4,0 en julio 26, 2011

Very peaceful place, bedroom & bathroom better than I expected. Chocolate and nuts on the pillow were a nice touch.


Outstanding B&B

4,8 en julio 11, 2011

This was an outstanding B&B. Hospitality, cleanliness and food were superb. Joyce and Lynn made you feel like one of their family.


Great Weekend.

4,8 en junio 09, 2011

We had a fantastic stay with Joyce and Lynn. The Uphill House is well located and the building is brand new. The best part of Uphill House is the warm hospitality provided by Joyce and Lynn. I strongly recommend this B&B. James, Washington DC


Outstanding Hosts and B&B

4,6 en mayo 01, 2011

Mother and daughter team up to deliver a wonderful welcome and comfort in their new B&B. Our room was very large and comfortable with a nice bathroom and large closet. The lounge area was filled with comfortable sofas, a gas fireplace and large TV. Lynn and Joyce provide snacks throughout the day and you also get a complimentary wine tasting at nearby (2 miles) Barboursville Vineyard. They serve a terrific English breakfast and lots of home-baked goodies. The best part was their easy, friendly welcome and how can we make your stay wonderful attitude. We will be back just to spend a day or two at this wonderful B&B.


Will go back again! And again!

5 en abril 08, 2011

The Uphill House and its managers, Lynn and Joyce, were amazing. From the true British breakfasts and charm, to the southern hospitality, to the fantastic amenities in a gorgeous location, everything is top notch. Uphill gives you the feeling that you're out in the boonies, but there are fantastic wineries and general shopping within minutes (or even dancing and boozing in Charlottesville, in a pinch!). Lynn and Joyce are always on hand to help us or offer advice on places to have fun when we want to get out and about. Next time we're visiting, my wife and I plan to run up into the nearby Blue Ridge Mountains for some hiking, which our friends have said cannot be missed. It's a guarantee we'll be spending nights Uphill again!


New Hidden Treasure

4,2 en marzo 28, 2011

Expect the friendliest of welcomes, and to be made to feel as if you're staying with friends in a homely environment. Very comfortable and lovely extra touches are offered. Tucked away in the woods and away from noise, yet easily accessible to all the surroundings sights.


A great getaway!

4,6 en marzo 27, 2011

We stayed at Uphill House in late March, and it was a delightful weekend getaway from the city. Joyce and Lynn were incredibly gracious hosts, and the location was perfect for walking over to Barboursville Winery for an afternoon tasting (they even offered to come pick us up if we didn't feel like walking back!). The full English breakfast was delicious and a great way to kick off our morning. I would definitely stay here again and I'll recommend it to all our friends!


Weekend getaway!

5 en febrero 23, 2011

After trying unsuccessfully to get reservations at another Inn, it was suggested that we try the Uphill House. We're glad we did. Only open a short time, the rooms are beautiful and clean. We were greeted with wine, cheese and cookies on arrival by Joyce, a wonderful English women who we loved listening to and who makes an impressive full English breakfast in the morning. She'll also provide you with suggestions for several wonderful places for dinner, should you decide to explore the area. When arriving at the entrance, watch for the sign on the right. Our GPS showed that it was on the left and we missed the turn. Leave your shoes at the front door, and kick back and relax!


A Perfect Weekend

4,6 en febrero 08, 2011

The British hospitality more than exceeded our expectations. The warmth and welcome of our host and the wine and cheese "happy hour", cookies and tea was perfect! Great suggestions for dinner and especially answers to my qustions for appropriate dress for lunch at Palladino. Our hosts made us welcome and at home. It was the perfect place for a special birthday celebration. We felt like family and hope to come back.


Uphill House Bed & Breakfast

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $140 - $215
  • Comentarios (57) 4,8
  • Habitaciones 5
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-5408323260

Ver el sitio web del B&B »

Más info

Arriba