1896 House Comentarios

TOTAL

4,5

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,6
  • Servicios4,6
  • Estimación4,2
  • Limpieza4,7
  • Comidas4,4

Puntuación basada en
65 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

I can't wait to book my next stay here! Clean, relaxing and truly a getaway. I highly recommend booking in winter or fall because the scenary is beautiful. Also Jiminy Peak Ski resort is a really close ride!!!

5 en octubre 19, 2013

Kate Carey


Excellent Weekend Getaway!!

4,6 en enero 17, 2013

Big, clean, quiet rooms.....professional, caring sevice.....great food served with a smile! Throughly enjoyed our stay...will be back!!!


Our First Visit

4,4 en julio 29, 2012

We had a wonderful and relaxing visit. We had one of the suites and visited the pub. It is a great place from which to sample the many attractions of the Berkshires. We hope to return to the 1896 House in the near future and recommend it highly. Tom and Mary, Boston


Great.. down to the last detail!

4,4 en enero 03, 2012

The Barnside Suites offered a clean, relaxing, and romantic environment at such a great price! Hear the sounds of the nearby stream and enjoy the detailed care of the room - dimmer switches, flowers on the bed, nice toiletries with bath salts for the jacuzzi, etc. We had a great time staying here for NYE and hope to return in the Spring.


wonderful cosy relaxed place to stay

4,0 en octubre 25, 2011

This is a wonderful warm relaxed place to stay anytime of the year.


Romantic getaway beautiful setting

4,4 en octubre 14, 2011

Attended our Niece's wedding Columbus Day Weekend and if you need to spend time in the Berkshires this is the place to stay - it was beautiful and the room/suite was excellent.


1896 House

3,8 en septiembre 12, 2011

If you're staying in the pondside rooms (as we did) don't miss the extraordinary food at the Inn right across the street - delicious!


Notre passage été 2011

4,8 en septiembre 05, 2011

Motel et Hotel typique , excellent décor historique avec beaucoup de végétation , petit ruisseau avec des canards . Nourriture très bonne surtout quelle bonne idée d'avoir un déjeuner chaud offert avec le prix de la chambre.


Lovely setting and fantastic breakfast!

4,6 en julio 11, 2011

We first discovered the 1896 House in summer 2010 for our family trip to the Solid Sound Festival in North Adams and it did not disappoint. When Solid Sound 2011 was announced, we didn't hesitate to book 2 rooms for the 3-day event. The hot buffet breakfast is wonderful: it includes real food like eggs and bacon, not just pastry and the usual continental breakfast offerings at many hotels. The pool is very nice, too. We'll be back!


Stay at the 1896 House

3,4 en junio 04, 2011

We stayed at the1896 House for my daughter's recent college graduation. The rooms were comfortable, service and food were excellent. Enjoyed our stay.


Beautiful Winter Getaway - MOVED REVIEW TO 632599

4,6 en marzo 20, 2011

The Pondside Motel at the 1896 House is a beautiful and quaint place to stay if you are visiting the Berkshire area. The room was immaculate, the inn keepers are very friendly, and the scenery in the region is very nice. It is conveniently located 5 minutes away from the center of Williamstown. Highly recommended!


Calm, Ouiet, and Relaxing

4,8 en enero 30, 2011

The room was perfect, just what we needed to get away for a weekend. Sat by the fireplace, or in the jacuzzi and read a book. Nice breakfast served with a friendly smile and conversation. Great meals and drinks in the Pub with an old style atmosphere. To top it off, a nice drive into the mountains to see the ice covered trees and view the countryside for miles. Also, visited the quaint little community of Williamstown and several of its small shops and museums. Looking forward to returninng again next year, if not sooner. Paul & Kelly Whorrall


Outstanding

4,6 en enero 04, 2011

Thanks for a wonderful experience at your Inn. From the spotless room to the excellent breakfast - everything was perfect! And you gals are SO friendly! See you next anniversary :)


Generous in space, comfort and style

4,8 en enero 02, 2011

We spent the extra money and stayed in one of the six suites (as it was an anniversary trip). The suite was more than generous in space, comfort and style. The suite had sitting area, king-sized four poster bed, working fireplace at the foot of the bed (nice!) and two-person sized jacuzzi tub (plus separate shower). The suite featured antiques and lovely furnishings. We enjoyed a hot, personally prepared breakfast. Hosts were gracious and helpful. The pub next door (part of the same establishment) had a good, affordable fare in a nice, cozy setting. The Inn is right on the main road, the only downside in my mind. But that makes it quite convenient for skiing excursions and travel. Williamstown and Mt. Greylock are just 15 minutes each direction. A lovely place to stay.


Cant wait to for my next visit....Wonderful!

4,0 en diciembre 21, 2010

What a beautiful place.....Loved it, cozy and comfortable.


We love the 96 House!

4,6 en diciembre 18, 2010

Wonderful Inn, terrific people. We've made it home on our many visits to Williamstown.


Beautiful suite!

4,6 en noviembre 29, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the inn. Room was great with everything we needed. will definitely go back!


Perfect Stay

4,6 en noviembre 29, 2010

Beautiful suite with every amenity. Delightful candle light breakfast included.


Beauty in the Berkshires

4,8 en noviembre 29, 2010

The 1896 house has it all; a beautiful country setting, friendly staff, a great pub-style restaurantand luxury suites as fine as a five star hotel. Nearby to ski areas, Tanglewood music shed and mountain lakes, it is one of the nicest places we've ever stayed.


Perfect Romantic Getaway

5 en noviembre 29, 2010

What better way to reconnect with your loved one than this little piece of heaven. The fireplace, whirlpool tub and canopy bed made us never want to leave our room.


Romantic get away weekend

4,2 en octubre 12, 2010

Our room was a corner room, which was very nice--right next to the small brook and very quiet. The room was large and very, very clean. The decor of the room was not really my taste, but was done very well. Plenty of fluffy towels and nice ammenities. I had wished that the gas fireplace was alittle more realistic. If we had not walked around the side of the building, we would have never believed that there was an entire resturant attached to the suites...it was that quiet and peaceful! We did eat there one night and our meal was very good. We had wanted to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful evening, but the hostess told us that there were no tables available, but there seemed to be several...we wondered what was up with that. My husband got the fish and said it was outstanding. Our only comment would be this...if you are a guest of the Inn, it would be nice to be seated right away, instead of waiting in line with all the other guests of the Pub...we did wait almost an hour. I do understand that places are very busy on a Friday night, especially if the food is very good, as it was here. But that would be a nice perk of staying at the Inn. The only thing that only "met my expectations" was the value...we have stayed in equally nice places...a condo on the beach in Hawaii just last summer, and paid half the price. I'm not sure why this is....an ocean view with three bedrooms, livingroom, kitchen, 3 bathrooms and balcony with a pool for half the price of a luxury suite in the Berkshires? But please, don't get me wrong....this was a wonderful place to stay. We also enjoyed our breakfast Saturday and Sunday very much....the food was very good and very well presented and more than we were expecting. That was a pleasant surprise. All and all, I would recommend this Inn to friends and family. We had a very nice 21st anniversary weekend. As I said, this being our first time at a Bed and Breakfast, we were pleasantly surprised.


A Great Romantic Getaway!

5 en octubre 09, 2010

Stayed in the Turn of the Century Room over Columbus Day weekend. Everything about our experience was amazing & far exceeded our expectations! Our room was so beautiful, romantic, clean, and comfy. The details in the decor were just great and the bed was very comfy. The jacuzzi was so relaxing, and fireplace was such a nice romantic touch. Dinner & drinks at the pub was excellent. Our candlelight breakfast in the morning was delicious and our host, Delores, was so sweet and accommodating. The grounds are so beautiful as well. We had a very relaxing stay & will absolutely be adding this to our regular seasonal traditions!!


Review

3,8 en septiembre 25, 2010

I was really pleased with my suite. It was clean, beautiful and well maintained. The breakfast was delicious and we were made to feel very comfortable and welcomed. The property was beautiful as well, very relaxing. I would definitely return to 1896 and recommend it to everyone. Feline L.


Great place to stay!

3,8 en septiembre 19, 2010

Had a nice little overnight getaway at the 1896 House Country inn. Stayed in the luxury room 205. This is a room definitely set up for romance. I loved the tub and made great use of it. Bed was very comfortable, had everything that we needed. Ate at the restaurant attached to the inn. Had a very nice meal, was better than my expectations.


AWESOME stay

5 en septiembre 14, 2010

Stayed at the Barnside Suites. One of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. Beautiful decor, comfy bed, fireplace, slippers and robes, just fantastic all around. Also, porch with rocking chairs, chairs by creek, and flower boxes all around made for fantastic ambiance.


A great experience

5 en agosto 18, 2010

We would gladly return. The breakfast was great. The '6 pub was fantastic. Continue the great work.


Very comfortable!

4,6 en mayo 30, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay! The room was spacious, comfortable, and attractive. Breakfast was delicious, and the meal we had at the ‘6 House Pub was also very good. Our only complaint was that the air conditioning in the Pub was a little aggressive, but the wait staff was very helpful. We would certainly consider staying at this inn again in the future.


Great Retreat

3,6 en mayo 27, 2010

The luxury suite went beyond my expectations. It was a very relaxing time inside and out.


A romantic get away

5 en mayo 19, 2010

I was ecstatic to arrive at the 1896 House. I had driven past on several occasions and was very excited to actually be staying at the Inn. On arrival the greeting was very warm and hospitable. The suites were so delightful and charming..the perfect setting for a romantic get away. Everything was delightful and our stay was completed by a private made to order breakfast. You feel like royalty. I would recommend the 1896 House to anyone looking for a place with charm and elegance.


The best time in a long time!

4,2 en mayo 18, 2010

We found a great "get-a-way" place in Williamstown, MA. The luxury suite and grounds at 1896 House was very tranquil and perfect to help you relax. The bathroom was so spacious, clean and stocked with nice towels and terry cloth bath robe. I can't wait to visit this place again!


1896 House Country Inn

5 en febrero 22, 2010

Impeccable decor, service and atmosphere - rooms are perfectly appointed in a Victorian style - romance abounds. The personal breakfast suite was superb - will make a visit again real soon.


Outstanding B&B for skiing

4,8 en febrero 07, 2010

I was looking for a nice getaway for myself and my girlfriend and thought that skiing would be a good idea. I checked out a couple of different areas around upstate NY, Vermont and Massachusetts and came across the 1896 House. After looking at the pictures and descriptions, I thought that this would fit the bill. When my girlfriend and myself arrived it happened to be after hours, the innkeepers graciously left the key outside the lobby door for our convenience. One inside our suite (we stayed in the Empire Suite - Rm. 206), I realized that the pictures really did not do the room justice. The room was spectacular! Huge living room, four poster bed, dressing area and large bathroom with 2 person jacuzzi. The room was tastefully appointed with mid-19th century themed pieces, as well as a comfortable king sized bed and couches with gas fireplace. I truly felt completely immersed in the richness of the room and did not want to leave! The next morning, we were greeted by a friendly woman whom promptly made each one of us a belgian waffle breakfast in a quaint, candlelit room. After that, the both of us went skiing, but the big hit of the getaway was this Inn. Great job!


Perfect Getaway

4,4 en febrero 03, 2010

We had a wonderful time. The suite was exactly what we needed. Private, comfortable and clean.


Wonderfully romantic honeymoon getaway

5 en febrero 01, 2010

We stayed in one of the Barnside turn of the century suites for a week for our honeymoon and had a wonderful romantic time. It had a jacuzi, canopy bed, comfortable sofa and a nice warming gas fireplace. Every morning the wonderful breakfast was served by Dolores with at least 1 warm dish, different every day. The location just outside Williamstown is nice and quiet and you can hear the brook from your room. Nextdoor you can have a nice dinner at the '6 House pub and enjoy a very well made coctail if you like. The staff is very helpful and friendly and can give you great suggestions for exploring the area. In the room you have free wireless internet, nice to keep in touch with home, as there is very limited to no cellphone service available in the area. All in all an outstanding honeymoon location.


Very clean, nice stay but Special Suite Breakfast needs a boost.

3,6 en enero 26, 2010

3 properties, on the same estate, run by the same owners. The Inn is the high-end property. Suite I was in was overly decorated, but some enjoy that. Bed was comfy, pillows extraordinarily wonderful, down quilt cover was tired though clean. Toiletries first night had been refilled and shampoo was water. (Prank?) Second night was the expected shampoo - everything else was very nice. Shoe shine, lotion, soaps, bath salts for the jacuzzi - nice. Ample towels, robes, slippers. Amenities included fridge (needed defrosting), coffee/tea service with cups and saucers, CD's, assorted glassware and a cork screw/bottle opener, gas fireplace. Special breakfast service was disappointing. Fruit cup was fresh and enjoyable. First day cinnamon scone was very good. However, there is one entree choice. Omelet one day, microwave waffle the next. That's it. And don't expect to choose your waffle topping or put your own syrup on the waffle - preparer knows best! Hope you like syrup. Preparer is pleasant, but clearly struggles with limitations that don't allow room for choice. No, you may not request anything off the "menu" no egg over easy, scrambled eggs, maybe one of those make your own waffles from the buffet...not many options that picky eaters (children) will enjoy too. In future I'll skip the special breakfast and go to the buffet where one can make your own waffles, or enjoy eggs as well as enjoy the cereal selection, breads, and fruit. All in all it was a good stay.


Fabulous After-Christmas Weekend Getaway

4,6 en diciembre 27, 2009

I decided to surprise my wife with a romantic getaway on the day after Christmas and reserved a Barnside suite plus the "Lovenest" package - flowers (roses), champagne (and chocolates), and dinner at the Pub restaurant. When we entered the room, and she saw the decor and the flowers, she (and I) was overwhelmed. The room was beautiful, clean, and just plain wonderful. That evening, we walked around the corner to the 'Pub' where we were seated in a romantic window table overlooking the outside fire pit. Dinner was fantastic. Breakfast the next morning was very good. We had the whole place to ourselves and loved every minute of it. Would definitely go there again.


Hugs from the staff

3,8 en diciembre 09, 2009

Although it is decorated far more beautifully than home. The owners and staff of 1896 house welcome you in quiet, luxury, and comfort.


Awesome B&B

4,4 en octubre 28, 2009

Great, friendly, laid-back staff. Superior rooms with all the extras. Five stars!


A lovely respite

5 en octubre 27, 2009

We stayed one evening at the 1896 house and wished we coud have stayed longer. Beautiful furnishings, clan, and such attention to detail. We wanted for nothing. A perfect spot.


Beyond my wildest dreams

4,6 en septiembre 13, 2009

Although I had booked a room in the Pondside section of the 1896 House, I had an allegy problem which was exascerbated by the rainy summer which had hit the Berkshires. The next morning, the innkeeper promptly suggested another room but by dinner time when we returned the owner (who had been away) invited us to stay in their $199 luxury suite with its elegant decor, fireplace, corner jaccuzi, and porch overlooking treed grounds with bubbling brook. The next morning we savored a candlelight breakfast in a semi-private room. Now that's hospitality! All of this was at the same rate we had booked for an ordinary room which cost less than hailf the price. However, we can still reccommend the atmosphere, cleanliness, and service highly in the luxury and regular rooms. Finally, we had dinners in the Inn's cozy candlelit Pub 6 with its fine service and good food.


Excellent stay

5 en septiembre 11, 2009

Everything about this inn is top notch. We stayed in the Barnside Suites and our room -- Early American -- was fantastic. Extra large room, comfortable king bed, fantastic bathroom. It was a truly relaxing stay -- a getaway oasis in Williamstown. Beautiful!


Beyond our expectations

4,4 en septiembre 01, 2009

We stayed in one of the luxury suites. It was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. The service was excellent and the staff were very attentive. Loved the private breakfast and our meal in the Pub was delicious. We will definitely return and will recommend it to many.


A Wonderful place to stay

4,6 en agosto 26, 2009

We had no idea of what to expect. Our daughter and her family gave us 3 nights here. What a wonderful surprise when we arrived and saw our accommodations. The breakfasts were wonderful and sitting on the porch very relaxing. It is a little ways out from Williamstown but easy to get where ever you want to go. All areas were close enough to get to, enjoy and return to a welcoming suite.


Lovely New England at its Best

5 en agosto 09, 2009

We stayed in the Country Formal Barnside Suite for 4 days 3 nights in early August, 2009. The room is lovely, gracious and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the rocking chairs on the front porch and the comfy chairs across the little flower decked bridge down by the babbling rocky brook. Breakfast is elegant, served by the wonderful Dolores. Host Denise is charming. The Pub outside by the fire, or inside, has good food and a very friendly atmosphere. All in all, New England at its best. Planning our return soon. Liz from Boston


Excellent for the price!

4,4 en agosto 08, 2009

We've stayed at Victorian Suite, which was beyond our expectation. Big bedroom/siting area, a big bathroom, sitting area in the porch. Everything was clean! Only thing was that we found out that batteries in the DVD player remote were dead and left a note next morning, expecting to exchange them when the housekeeper comes. Yet, they were left as they were in the morning. So, we had to swap the batteries from TV remote to DVD remote everything we used them. But other than that, we had our own chef to make breakfast for us and enjoyed our stay overall.


Top Notch Place

4,0 en junio 16, 2009

Our stay was top notch all the way.. i've been to ALOT of hotels, motels, etc across the country and our stay at the 1896 House Country Inn was one of my favorites. Service was excellent, room was immaculate and very nicely decorated, food was really good and the bar was gorgeous. Innkeepers are very helpful and friendly. Would recommend to everyone and am anxious for another relaxing stay at this location!


best country inn

5 en junio 03, 2009

Beautiful setting, best accommodations, delicious food on site. This relaxing inn has all the comforts away from home to enjoy all year round.


A Delightful Stay

4,6 en abril 30, 2009

I spent one night at the 1896 House in one of their Barnside suites. Check in was easy, friendly, and efficient. The room was clean, spacious, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast the following morning was superb, and the chef gave personalized attention. Overall, I was more than pleased with my experience.


A stay in the Barnyard suites is pure romance.

4,6 en abril 24, 2009

My wife & I have stayed in a Barnyard suite twice & have not been disappointed at all. We felt pampered, relaxed, & full of romance. The candlelight breakfast is icing on the cake with great detail & sumptious delights. Will definitely return.


Great Birthday Get-Away

5 en marzo 30, 2009

My wife surprised me with an overnight stay at the 1896 House in Williamstown. We may now have the spot where we'll celebrate both of our birthdays in years to come, and maybe other events as we enjoy the area. Each of the staff we encountered were warm and hospitable. We stayed in one of their suites and it was impeccably decorated, spacious and clean. Jacuzzi tub, robes and slippers, canopy bed, fireplace...the room was a feast to look at. When we visited the pub, Becky, our waitress joined in singing "Happy Birthday" to me and was friendly and professional...and the meal was great...we understand the chef won't part with the recipe for the glazed carrots! We asked. The whole meal was very, very good. The next morning, at our breakfast prepared and served by Delores, we were treated as though she had been our private chef for years...she is instantly friendly and a talented cook. And, awaiting me on the breakfast table was a birthday card from Denise and Sue, and the staff at the 1896, and a gift of chocolates. Everything was first class. In the midst of this, I had misplaced my car keys, and Denise and Sue set about, with Delores, to make a search of the places where I might have lost them. When I did find them, (they had slipped into a bag where they didn't belong) the downside was that we had car keys to leave...we thought we could use the excuse to stay another day...or a week. Being in the hospitality business for over 30 years, I can tell you that I will be recommending the 1896 House in Williamstown to many, including family and friends that we'd like to take there. There is plenty to do in the area, too...I think a great spot for couples and families! We'll go back for sure.


Weekend in Heaven

4,2 en marzo 15, 2009

Accomodations were well coordinated. Denise and Sue made sure that all packages were just right! Amazing breakfasts by Dolores. Only bad thing about the whole weekend was the poor service at the pub restaurant. Otherwise, it was just what the doctor ordered- complete romance and relaxation!


Ideal Romantic Getaway in the country

4,8 en febrero 23, 2009

This was our second time back to the 1896 House as we snowboarded at Jiminy Peak and wanted a romantic night away (early Valentine's celebration). We loved the canopy bed, fireplace, whirlpool bath, and amazing comfort and romance at the 1896 House. It is so affordable, and the people and service are impeccable!


A romantic, relaxing weekend!

3,8 en febrero 17, 2009

The 1896 House was a wonderful, friendly inn that was the perfect setting for our romantic getaway. We loved the fact that our suite had a private entrance, and couldn't hear a single sound coming from the suites on either side of us. The staff is friendly, and very helpful when it comes to booking restaurants, day spa treatments, etc. The room was comfortable, well laid out, and was spotless. The surrounding area has a lot of things available, and was much more relaxing than we had anticipated. We're planning to go back in the fall!


just right

4,0 en diciembre 03, 2008

Not too hard, not too soft...not too cold, not too warm...just right! Just right says it all. From the size of the tub to the gas fire place. From the first hello, to the last goodbye, everyone was friendly and helpful. Wine-screw hair dryer, coffee, everything was just right!


Romantic Berkshire Getaway

4,0 en noviembre 03, 2008

We stayed in the Empire Suite which was beautifully appointed. The cherish amenity package was well worth the price. The candlelight breakfast was well put together by Dolores and always good.


Sophisticated and casual

4,0 en octubre 29, 2008

The room was large (actually 3 rooms), clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. We have a lovely time on our romantic getaway.


Summer Stay

5 en agosto 26, 2008

Normally, our treks to New England are only in the fall, but we decided to spend summer vacation seeing Tanglewood (home of Boston Symphony and Boston Pops). We found the 1896 grounds absolutely gorgeous with many different blooming shrubs. As on our other stays, we were treated like family.


Exceeded my expectations!

3,8 en agosto 19, 2008

The country setting and brook and flowers, birds singing and feeding, electric fireplace in room, jetted tub all made for a peaceful and relaxing retreat from the normal routine.


Weekend Getaway

4,0 en julio 29, 2008

My stay met and exceeded my expectations and the service was outstanding.


Weekend idyll

5 en julio 24, 2008

Excellent accomodations, charming atmosphere, very clean, great landscaping.


Weekend Getaway

4,6 en julio 21, 2008

Accommodations were Fantastic! The room decor is beautiful & the stream right next to our room was so relaxing.


1896 House Country Inn

3,8 en julio 21, 2008

Very enjoyable stay, friendly staff, clean & comfortable.


Wonderful Service and Beautiful Surroundings

4,2 en julio 07, 2008

We spent 3 nights in one of the Barnside Suites and couldn't have been happier with our stay!! From the warm hospitality and wonderful service to the delicious fare at '6 House Pub, it was a very pleasant weekend. The complimentary breakfast that is part of the Barnside suite reservation was amazing, and the service in the private breakfast room was impeccable. Sue and Denise, the owners, are pleasant and accommodating and all the staff are friendly. We can't wait to go back!!


Does It Get Better Than This?

4,6 en junio 11, 2008

We've stayed in all six suites & they're all absolutely BEAUTIFUL!! We love that WE get to decide when breakfast is served. After all what's a vacation if you can't sleep in & eat when you want to? The staff are all wonderful & genuinely concerned about making your visit fun but not to the point of getting into your personal business. We always look forward to our stay there.


We Keep Going Back!

5 en mayo 26, 2008

We started staying here in the mid-80s when it was just a roadside motel. We loved opening the windows at night and smelling fresh, crisp fall air and listening to the rustle of the leaves. We found ourselves returning every fall to the wonderful New England hospitality. In the past few years, they've added the suites which are well worth every penny. Between the neat antique pieces in the suites, the wide porch you can sit on and admire the foliage & listen to the brook or the pub with it's delicious dinner salads, we find ourselves craving for return trips! I have stayed at several B & Bs and you can't give the 1896 Suites enough stars! EXCELLENT!


1896 House

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $179 - $349
  • Comentarios (65) 4,5
  • Habitaciones 6
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-4134581896

Más info

Arriba