Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor Comentarios

TOTAL

4,6

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,5
  • Servicios4,7
  • Estimación4,4
  • Limpieza4,7
  • Comidas4,7

Puntuación basada en
179 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Good Experience.

4,2 en febrero 18, 2014

My wife and I where celebrating our 20th Wedding Anniversary. Chris and Lisa helped make it a very special time. Thanks.


Historic B and B

5 en marzo 09, 2013

This is a beautiful 1859 B and B. We especially loved the stained glass around the doors and windows.Our bedroom had a fireplace which was quite romantic.The location was quiet and we were able to walk around the neighborhood without problems. Several good restaurants are close by.


Relaxing and Wonderful

4,4 en febrero 13, 2013

We just wanted to get away for the weekend and relax. This was the perfect weekend. Our innkeeper gave us such good recommendations for things to do and places to eat. She was also very personable.


A Treasure

5 en febrero 09, 2013

We only stayed one night in the William Woldert room which was very cozy and comfortable. We were served an excellent gourmet breakfast. The innkeeper was very friendly and helpful. We will return and spend more time exploring Tyler.


Surprise Birthday Getaway

4,6 en febrero 06, 2013

What a wonderful trip and fantastic stay. The rooms were comfortable and beautiful. Our hostess Shonda was fantastic and the food was delish! This was my first B&B stay and it exceeded expectations in all ways. Thank you so much for a lovely weekend!!!


Beautiful B & B

4,4 en enero 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The house is beautiful and the breakfast was awesome. Great location close to downtown. Would stay again when in Tyler!


Wonderful stay!

4,6 en diciembre 23, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. For two or three people, the Rockway Cottage is the one to reserve. It has a small kitchen and sitting area, so family members of mine who stayed in the main house walked over to the cottage to drink coffee and visit. Delightful breakfast the next morning all together in the main house. Highly recommend!!


Wonderful, comfortable, delicious

4,8 en diciembre 22, 2012

We always stay here when visiting family & are always thrilled.


Great Expectations Met!

5 en diciembre 11, 2012

Our stay at Woldert-Spence Manor made our quick getaway to Tyler a wonderful experience.


Weekend Getaway

5 en diciembre 10, 2012

Everything about our stay at the Woldert-Spence Manor was fantastic. The Inn Keeper Shonda, was wonderful. She was very knowledgeable, hospitable and an incredible cook. The room was spacious, comfortable and cozy, the pictures on the website do not come close to doing it justice. I can't wait for our next weekend getaway!


An absolute treat!

5 en diciembre 06, 2012

I have very high standards but this visit was flawless! The property is gorgeous, the rooms so tastefully decorated (not stody old antiques), and the inn keeper was amazing! I don't see how anyone could be disappointed. Chande McDermid


RELAXING B&B.

5 en noviembre 22, 2012

ENJOYED OUR STAY. WILL MAKE A RETURN VISIT.


Thanks for a wonderful stay

5 en noviembre 16, 2012

My wife and I would like to thank Shonda for her hospitality during our recent stay at the Woldert-Spence Manor B&B. She made us both feel right at home, instead of another "paying customer." We found the home to be very clean and well equipped for the 2-nights we stayed. The bedroom and bathroom were comfortable, along with our morning breakfast filling. Again, thanks Shonda. God Bless. Denis and Angie Corder


Very charming!

5 en noviembre 14, 2012

Our innkeeper, Shonda, was very gracious and accommodating. The inn itself is charming. We'll definitely visit again!


VICTORIAN CHARM WITH GREAT INNKEEPER

4,4 en noviembre 04, 2012

We loved the Victorian feel and the innkeeper, Shonda was a delight. Very knwledgeable about what to see and do in the area. We had the room with the private balcony. Enjoyed the privacy feel even though other couples were staying there would not have known it.


Fun in Tyler

4,2 en octubre 22, 2012

We had a great innkeeper. I do think the description that the bathroom was separate from the bedroom should have been more clear. Otherwise we enjoyed.


Best B&B ever!

5 en octubre 18, 2012

We spent the weekend at Woldert-Spence Manor to celebrate our 33rd. wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful time; the room was very comfortable. We had to leave early on Monday morning and Shonda prepared breakfast for us at 7:15 AM even though it is normally served at 9:15 AM. By the way, the breakfasts were great.


Wonderful stay

4,6 en octubre 18, 2012

This was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast, and we weren't sure what to expect. Our room was spacious and beautiful, and we used the gas fireplace even though it was warm outside. The bed was quite creaky and my husband wanted the room to be darker (there was a sleeping mask in the bedside table), but everything else was great. Breakfast was always delicious and cookies, water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and soda were always available. We really enjoyed meeting the other guests as we sat in the parlor or at breakfast. The neighborhood was a little bit interesting, but we felt safe, and it was very easy access to Broadway, where everything is located. We will definitely stay here again!


Repeat Visit Just As Great As Last Year!

5 en octubre 16, 2012

Our visit was short but very comfortable. Our breakfast had to be served early as we needed to leave early in the morning. Everything was perfect and we will definitely visit again next year.


October 2012

5 en octubre 12, 2012

Beautiful bed and breakfast. Excellent breakfast. The inn keeper went out of her way to make our stay very special.


Wonderful Getaway

4,4 en octubre 12, 2012

Everything was excellent. The room was beautiful as was the entire house. My wife and I loved the experience, our first at a Bed and Breakfast. We plan another exprience at Woldert-Spence Manor.


Fantastic place to Stay

5 en octubre 11, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay when in town for business or pleasure. I woke up relaxed and refreshed and enjoyed a fantastic breakfast before heading off to meetings all day. It was wonderful to come into the peace and quiet of the house and relax after a long day as well. Well worth the price paid!


Great Place for Short Stay

4,0 en octubre 02, 2012

Lovely property with an upbeat helpful on-site manager. Shonda also cooks a great breakfast, served on a formal table with china, linens and cloth napkins. Really unique in this day of throw-aways. Room was nicely appointed in period style (1890s -early 1900s) and bed was extremely comfortable. Unlike many hotels, there was actually a view of plants, trees and flowers surrounding the house. Birds chirped and fish swam in the small pond. I loved it. Fre parking in the back courtyard. Only drawback--same pricing as the commercial hotels down the road, but without some standard amenities, such as televisions in each room. Even a single television in the parlor would help keep you apprised of news and weather during travel. Otherwise, a lovely escape.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your feedback. Regarding the televisions -- the upstairs rooms and cottages all do contain televisions. The downstairs rooms are intended as 'getaway' rooms, where guests can unplug from the world (although TVs can be brought in by request). You make a good point regarding having a television in the parlor for quick information access, and we will add one. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Tyler!


A Tyler Rose

4,6 en septiembre 19, 2012

What an absolutely delightful spot! The house is warm and welcoming. My room, the Alma Mary & Robert Spence Room, was lovely! Shonda, the innkeeper, was fun and informative and a terrific ambassador for Tyler. We had the liveliest breakfast conversation with fellow guests. If I'm ever back in Tyler, I couldn't imagine staying anyplace else, and would recommend it to anyone headed that way.


Lovely B&B

4,6 en agosto 29, 2012

Shonna, the innkeeper, is incredible. She had lights on and fresh cookies awaiting us on arrival and check-in is as simple as picking up the keys. our cottage was so quaint and cozy surrounded by beautiful gardens. How could it get any better than this? Well, breakfast in the morning did - what an experience. The table in the main house was set with beautiful china and warm muffins and coffee waiting. Then out comes a delicious, gourmet plated breakfast! Combined with Shonna's hospitality this was hands down the best B&B experience we have had and we will stay there whenever we come to Tyler to visit our college kid!


Business Traveller - Stay June 2012

3,8 en agosto 13, 2012

I haven't been to the Manor for nearly 6 years, but the accommodations are still as nice as they were. However, the food and biscuits are not as good as they were. In addition, the breakfast was pretty heavy and salty. The staff are still as nice, however.


Great bed and breakfast in Tyler TX

5 en agosto 02, 2012

This beautiful bed and breakfast is located in a great area in Tyler Tx. It has beautiful, very clean rooms. The full breakfast in the morning was delicious and the inn keeper was friendly and courteous.


Carriage House--like your first apt.

4,6 en julio 11, 2012

My daughter and I stayed two nights in the carriage house and loved every minute of it. Cozy with a luxurious bed, great antiques, original wood floors, tile, baseboards and hardware. It was probably built for servants, so unassuming, and quaint. Hosts were kind and serving. Breakfast was awesome. Centrally located to downtown Tyler. I would definitely go there again. Main house is formal, artsy and beautiful.


pleasant surprise in Tyler

4,2 en julio 01, 2012

Wonderful old mansion. Great breakfast. Accommodating service.


Quit Night Great Location

5 en junio 27, 2012

The manor is located a few blocks from downtown Tyler and the fine dinning found on the Square. My room was comfortable and clean. Sunday morning breakfast was fresh and very tasty. I have already made reservations for my next stay in Tyler.


Bob and Nell

4,8 en junio 19, 2012

A terrific place. Very comfortable room, nice bathroom. Lovely breakfast. convenient location. We would definitely stay here again!


Anniversary Night

3,6 en junio 19, 2012

I like the freedom that this B&B gives you when checking in. Service was great and all my requests were promptly tended to. The neighborhood is an older one but also one of the main attractions since it is located so close to downtown.


We will return to the Woldert-Spence and Tyler

5 en mayo 31, 2012

We had two of the bests breakfasts ever. The creativity and presentation were expected to be good, but they were great!


Elizabeth Spence Room

4,6 en mayo 30, 2012

Very nice facilities - bed was most comfortable we've ever had in a B&B. Afternoon fresh baked cookies were a homey touch - and the free water/sodas were greatly appreciated.


One night in Tyler

3,6 en mayo 29, 2012

We had the Inn to ourselves following a busy weekend there. We had the luxury of a full tour at our leisure. It was an impressive place and had we had the option of choosing our room following the self directed tour, it would have been difficult. Too many excellent choices for an easy decision. All the rooms were truly charming, for sure!


Relaxing and peaceful!

5 en mayo 24, 2012

Great hospitality! Rooms cozy and great historic location.


Relaxation and Hospitality

5 en mayo 09, 2012

My family had to be in Tyler for my grandmother's funeral. I booked a room for me and my husband, my parents and my sister and her family (including a 2 year old). Shonda was very kind and helpful in the booking process: I called in advance and asked some questions because my sister and I both have a specific food allergy. She noticed that my reservation had notes about the allergy once I booked it, but my sister hadn't booked yet - so she quickly called to follow up to ensure she had everyone covered. Shonda was very kind to serve my sister and I specific breakfasts that accomodated our cullinary needs. And her breakfasts were great! As for the overall stay, being there for a funeral was a dark situation - but Shonda's kindness and hospitality made what could have been a horrible weekend into one that was actually pleasant for my family. I'll stay there when I head back during the summer!


great!!!

4,8 en mayo 04, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed this getaway. No complaints, we had a wonderful time to recharge....


Treasure in Tyler, Texas

3,6 en abril 29, 2012

Because of an invitation to a wedding, this Northern girl had a treat in Tyler, Texas. This very authentic Victorian treasure was just the place to rest and listen to the birds singing out on the balcony that came with my room. The B & B was quiet, immaculate and warm. I particularly enjoyed the ecclectic breakfast time conversation. I'd stay at the Woldert-Spence Manor again in a heartbeat.


Good stay; needs tweaks

3,4 en abril 23, 2012

Found the innkeeper Shonda personable and well informed about Tyler attractions and places to eat. Only two things I could see that need improvement. 1. I drink about four cups of coffee a day. They need to get a Keurig coffee maker so guests can have coffee when they want it. The only time coffee was available was at breakfast. 2. Every other B&B we've visited have had ironed sheets and pillow cases. We were disappointed that ours were obviously straight out of the dryer and wrinkled.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast!!

5 en abril 19, 2012

Our stay was wonderful! Shonda was a wonderful hostess. Our room was clean and cozy and the grounds were wonderfully kept up. Would definetly recommend it to anyone who's looking to for peace and quiet. Will be going back as soon as we can. :)


charming b&b

5 en abril 07, 2012

very helpful manager, excellent breakfast, wonderful facilities.


Great B&B

5 en marzo 15, 2012

Wonderful B&B. Shonda is a great hostess. Breakfast was delicious!!


Mockingbird Cottage

3,2 en febrero 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Mockingbird Cottage for a weekend. It is great for those that want more privacy and room than in the main house. Breakfast was excellent, but it was only served at 9 am, so if you want an early start, you would probably have to forgo breakfast. Since we had the cottage, it was nice to have a full working kitchen if we didn't want to eat out for lunch or dinner. I would have prefered to have my own table for breakfast rather than sitting a one big table with everyone else, but if you're more social, than it shouldn't be an issue. Overall it was a pleasant experience.


Queen Shonda

4,2 en febrero 22, 2012

Shonda Lowe , Innkeeper , made the overnight stay a memorable one. She is the "hostess with the mostest" !! Knowledgeable, warm , outgoing and pleasant.


What a Pleasure

4,8 en febrero 08, 2012

My first trip to Tyler and this location made it a great memory. The house was very relaxing and nice to stay in. Slept great and really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning and enjoyable conversation. This falls into my "Try something new" area and we were glad we did.


Tyler 01/2012

4,4 en enero 18, 2012

All I expected and more. Innkeeper friendly and knowledgeable. Great Breakfast.


Memorable Stay

4,0 en enero 09, 2012

Shonda helped us make a great memory at Christmas. She attended to the smallest of details. It is fun to stay at a B & B with such a nice Innkeeper.


Unexpected trip

4,6 en diciembre 13, 2011

We made an unexpected quick trip to the Tyler area and decided to stay at the Woldert Spence B&B. It was an excellent decision. The stay was relaxing and enjoyable. The breakfast was delicious and timely, and the socializing with the innkeeper was enjoyable and informative with local information on area events and sights. Will be doing it again.


Wonderful rooms and delicious breakfasts!!

5 en diciembre 04, 2011

We loved our beatiful cottage room stocked with everything we needed and the fabulous breakfasts and wonderful hostess made our stay very special!


Great and convenient place to stay!

4,0 en noviembre 29, 2011

We enjoyed our three night stay at the Woldert-Spence. Very convenient location for our purposes and friendly and accommodating innkeeper.


Wonderful historic B&B!

4,4 en noviembre 25, 2011

Our stay at the Woldert-Spence Manor was truly delightful--beautiful historic home in a quiet section of the city. Breakfast was delicious and the hostess was friendly and accommodating. The only negative was that there were no DVD players with the small-screened TVs on which to watch a movie. Would definitely return and also would highly recommend this B&B to others.


Lovely, Romantic, and Wonderful

5 en noviembre 22, 2011

My husband and I completely LOVED our stay here. Everything was clean and pretty. The Woldert and Shonda Lowe met ALL our expectations. The breakfast was AMAZING the next morning (the BEST quiche I have ever ever had!!). Shonda has a wealth of knowledge about Tyler. She is also so sweet and friendly. We asked her all kinds of questions and she was so helpful. The next time I'm in Tyler, I am definitely staying at the Woldert!


Enjoyed the stay!

4,2 en noviembre 13, 2011

Visited on a Sat. for a one night stay. Located in a quiet neighborhood near downtown Tyler. Appreciated the peaceful surroundings. Stayed in the Elizabeth Spence room - spacious with a comfortable bed. Small shower stall, too confining. Breakfast was delicious. Shonda and her assistant were personable and spent much of the morning visiting with the guests. She had suggested a few things to do in Tyler and recommended stopping by Edom on our way back to Dallas. Truly a one stop light town... but worth the stop. Hope to make another visit to the Manor.


Must stay place in Tyler!

5 en noviembre 13, 2011

I met a great group of people while staying there, we are stating in touch and even exchanging gifts at Christmas. The food was wonderful! Hands down the best food on my stay in Tyler. I will be staying there again the next time I am down in Tyler. Thanks for a wonderful stay!


Beautiful room

4,4 en noviembre 10, 2011

Exquisitely furnished room with fireplace and clawfoot tub. Delightful stay. Dining fine, but limited to (good) basics due to malfunctioning oven.


Excellent place to stay

5 en noviembre 08, 2011

My wife and I stayed Friday night and everything was just wonderful. We especially enjoyed visiting with Shonda and her Assistant. They both are outstanding Hosts. Charles R. Smith


Great Getaway

4,2 en noviembre 06, 2011

My sister and I recently stayed at the Woldert-Spence Manor and we had a fabulous time. Shonda Lowe, the innkeeper, is a treasure. She was very personable and made many recommendations for places to eat and visit. I think she should get an award from the Chamber of Commerce for her promotion of Tyler businesses. Her attention to detail was notable and we had a lot of fun. We would not hesitate to stay here again. It is obvious she loves this building and cares for all its visitors. We feel like we have new friends in Tyler TX.


B&B was great. Room was NOT!

4,0 en octubre 30, 2011

The Woldert- Spence is a beautiful B&B, but I was extremely disappointed in our room. It was obviously converted attic storage. It features a private balcony, which is great if you like facing the street and a very busy YMCA. The ceilings were 7 ft making the room feel very small. The shower was so small that if you dropped the soap, you had to step out of the shower to bend over and retreive it. There was a tiny old television balanced on a TV tray. The bed dipped on one side so much that if you got too close to the side you would slide off. Now enough about the room. The rest of the house was beautiful, well appointed and spacious. The hostess was very gracious and a wonderful cook. She was always ready with answers to all of our travel questions. All in all, I would stay hear again, but NOT in the Robert Spence Jr room.


Victorian Charm

4,2 en octubre 24, 2011

The breakfast at this B&B was outstanding! On day one we had a fresh fruit cup followed by fresh mushroom popover and fantastic bacon. Day two was broiled grapefruit with a brown sugar glaze, grilled sausage and baked pecan french toast with fresh made raspberrry syrup. Amazing! The fresh baked chocolate chip cookies upon arrival were a nice tough too! The hosts had included a little history of the house and prior owners, the rooms were beautifully decorated. Extremely reasonably priced for what was included!


Service was the Key

4,4 en octubre 11, 2011

I have a Gluten allergy and the Innkeeper, Shonda Lowe went out of her way to make sure I had a gluten free breakfast designed just for me. I traveled to Tyler for a specific one time event, but wished I lived closer to the W-S Manor so I could utlize it more often. Beds were extremely comfortable and Ms. Lowe was such a delightful hostess, I felt like I was a welcomed guest in her home - thoroughly enjoyed my stay!


A Special B & B Experience

5 en octubre 09, 2011

The room was cozy, even with a private balcony, which we used each day. Woldert-Spence Manor was extremely welcoming and comfortable. An incredible breakfast was served each morning at the time we requested. We will definitely stay again next year!


Beautiful house and great hospitality

4,0 en octubre 06, 2011

The management went out of their way to accommodate our request.


Fun time in Tyler

4,0 en octubre 05, 2011

The staff was exceptional. Very friendly and very informative.The location is just right for easy access to the highlights of Tyler. The breakfast was ample but not unique. Our overall experience was excellent and would most likely rebook in the future.


Good enough for one night

2,8 en septiembre 23, 2011

We arrived at 9:30 PM and found no host to greet us. We had received a call to describe how we would get in if we arrived late but I did not consider that late. I don't remember the check-up time in the confirmation email we had received and 9:30 may have been after that. But, that is the reason for my Service rating. The room was attractive but I did not find it well-decorated or coordinated or unusual. That is part of the reason for my Rooms rating. Bed was average in comfort at best. We awoke tired on that night but not on other nights of our trip so I attributed the fatigue to the mattress. The old fashion claw-foot tub had a hot water faucet that was quite noisy unless you turned the hot water on fully and that was not really wanted for the shower. That is the other part of my Rooms rating. Sirens in the night caused the dog next door to howl and, of course, that had to happen in the wee hours of the morning. It did not affect my Room rating because neighbors with dogs are everywhere but, as stated, we did not awake refreshed. Breakfast was ordinary - eggs, bacon, toast, juice and coffee. We had always been served something special in the other 5 B&B's we have used and that is the reason for my Dining rating. We tried the Woldert-Spence Manor because the other B&B we've used in Tyler, the Rosevine Inn, was full. We will go back there when we can because the Woldert-Spence Manor was not the value I wanted. Also, there was a guest book showing $80 was our room's price. Be we paid half again as much. My Value rating is based on the experience I described in relation to the price we paid.


Wonderful stay

4,8 en septiembre 19, 2011

The room was nice, and the service was excellent. The food was amazing. Thanks Shonda!


Best Tyler Option!

3,2 en septiembre 18, 2011

I am from Tyler and was so happy to discover this wonderful option for my return visits. The location and atmosphere convey more Tyler charm than one could ever hope to get in a motel/hotel.


Peaceful and Historic

5 en septiembre 13, 2011

The Woldest-Spence Manor was so peaceful to be outside on the porch (or spa) and listen to the birds. We sat byt he fire and read old books written by the first owner of the house while listening to the ocean sounds in the room! Breakfast was fabulous as well! We will stay here again!


WOLDERT/SPENCE

3,6 en agosto 31, 2011

The inn provided tastefully decorated rooms in a quiet environment. Access to the downtown area was a key for our visit. The meal was outstanding.


Pleased

4,0 en agosto 23, 2011

We enjoyed it... The breakfast was great!! We also loved the old world charm. It was close enough to dinning and entertainment but far enough away for peace and quite. The inn keeper gave plenty of information for all the local attraction.


I wanna live here!

5 en agosto 17, 2011

The house is charming - and immaculate. Very impressive. Best feature: Breakfast! Unlike many B&B's, something new every morning, and always delicious. Broiled grapefruit with brown sugar, fresh fruit salad with homemade sauce, the best ham & cheese quiche ever, scrambled eggs with cream cheese and chives...couldn't wait to get to the dining room every morning. And I'm not even a breakfast person. Innkeeper Shonda is doing all the right things. Am intending to bring my parents to Tyler for a few days and planned to book a traditional hotel figuring they would be more comfortable since they have never stayed in a B&B. Forget that - will definitely bring them to Woldert-Spence. Can't wait for my Mom to see this beautiful house. We'll never get Dad out of the dining room! Thanks for a wonderful experience Shonda.


Great service, great value

4,6 en agosto 03, 2011

I stayed at the Woldert-Spence Manor because it was only slightly more expensive than a chain hotel. It turned out to be a great buy and a great experience.


Beautiful Woldert-Spence Manor B

3,2 en julio 30, 2011

We enjoyed our overnight stay at the Woldert-Spence Manor. Since the evening was pleasant we enjoyed sitting out on the balcony of our room. We are pleased to recommend this beautiful B&B.


Wolder-Spence Manor

4,6 en julio 23, 2011

Wonderful historic home with beautiful original stained glass windows, and a fabulous front porch on which to sit and relax. Breakfast was great, the guests were great conversationalists, the staff was wonderful. We would definitely return here.


last minute holiday weekend

4,2 en julio 07, 2011

Got the last room for 4th of july weekend. Great house, good neighborhood, easy to find and get around, very clean and quiet. Small shower in our room, and room ceiling could be hazardous to anyone over 6'. Breakfast very good, nice selection, ample...but eggs and potatoes overdone. Could have been caused by our second seating. Fantastic biscuits and coffee cake though. Have already booked our group of 10 for October...its that good!


An Outstanding B+B!

5 en junio 25, 2011

We stayed in the Alma Mary & Robert Spence room, the largest room on the property. It was very spacious and had beautifully coordinated furnishings with abundant drawer space in the excellent-condition furniture, and a walk-in closet. The private, screened-in porch was wonderful for sitting in the evening. Great attention was given to every detail of comfort, and all kinds of extra supplies were available in a closet by the entrance (we would simply suggest the addition of a pair of sissors, since we had need of one). Anyone sensitive to light while sleeping needs to know that this room with the large stained glass window does not get particularly dark at night, and gets light early in the morning. For me, the sleep mask provided in the bedside table completely solved this problem. The owners have spent many hours researching public records of the property and have written an interesting history, which made for interesting reading as we sat on the porch, as did a book of poetry written by one of the original owners of the house, an author. We also enjoyed the hot tub in the back yard (though the temperature of the tub is not very warm). Breakfast was amazing, with many home-made items. The Woldert-Spence is within 15 minute walking distance of the downtown "square" which contains some interesting historical markers and some good restaurants (we ate at Ricks - excellent food, reservations suggested).


The perfect balance of Victorian elegance and warm southern hospitality.

4,8 en junio 20, 2011

Unfortunately I was only in Tyler, TX for one night, but in that time I found the Woldert-Spense Manor to be one of the most accomodating and genuinely inviting places I had ever stayed at. Not only did Chris do everything in his power to make my stay comfortable (most notably a free upgrade to a larger room that was not in use during my stay and a wonderful fresh-cooked breakfast prepared at the time I needed it), but it was clear from the outset that he was as excited about the house as his guests were. Each rom contains a folder with detailed historical information on the property, as researched by the hosts themselves, which is actually well worth reading, and I think Chris andI could have spent hours talking about the house, the Woldert family and the area's history had time allowed. The bedroom (I stayed in the William Woldert room on the ground floor, one of the two 'master' bedrooms) was absolutely beautiful, with a large mahogany bed, decor very much of the Victorian period and all the creature comforts I would ever want. The only possible criticism would be that had I not had the run of the downstairs (and therefore was able to control the hallway lighting level myself), it may have been distracting to have bright illumination coming in through the small window above the door. But this was no problem at all in my situation. Breakfast the next morning -- on Willow Pattern china and hallmarked silverware -- was cooked fresh to order by the host, and I wish I'd been able to do it more justice. The ingredients were high quality (bacon, eggs, potatoes, fresh-baked biscuits and home-made preserves), as always striking the right note between Victorian elegance and warm southern hospitality. I do not hesitate to heartily recommend this B&B to anyone staying in or around Tyler, TX. Thank you to Chris and Lisa for a wonderful experience! Gavin (Syracuse, NY)


First B&B Experience

5 en junio 12, 2011

Had a wondserful stay and first time experience. Looking forward to future stays as well as visiting other B&Bs.


Woldert-Spence Review

3,4 en junio 02, 2011

The room was great. Breakfast is to kill for. And the front balcony was a pleasant place to sip wine on later in the evenings.


Great B&B

4,4 en junio 02, 2011

Lisa & Chris, the Innkeepers are wonderful people. The breakfast is awesome! The back yard is very inviting with a winding walkway, and benches, chairs and table and a fountain with Koi. We spent time reading and relaxing there, listening to the birds and watching a squirrel.


Wonderful Place, Highly Recommended.

5 en mayo 30, 2011

This place was the best. We didn't want to leave. My mother and I stayed here as a birthday weekend for me. We stayed in the Alma Mary and Robert Spence Room. It was a very beautiful room. The breakfast was great. We ate the biggest biscuits ever with some great homemade cinnamon butter. The innkeepers were very nice and friendly also. They also provided some dinner choices they were great also.


Business trip one night stay

5 en mayo 25, 2011

Very accomodating, friendly and clean. Would recommend to anyone.


Great Getaway

4,4 en mayo 25, 2011

We came in on a Friday evening during a rain storm. The cottage was clean and had a great ambiance about it. The breakfast was great. The owners were so helpful and friendly. Their pleasant personalities gave us a down home feel. They were so helpful in making our anniversary a great and memorable experience. They coordinated bringing in roses, chocolates and champaigne after we left for dinner. My wife was very surprised when we returned after dinner to see the romantic surprise. The only recommendations we would have would be to have more details about local attractions in each cottage for ease of referrals. Also maps as to how to get to certain restaurants or attractions in the rooms would be helpful. We would definitely stay again. It was a great getaway and value for the price.


Our first B&B experience

5 en mayo 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary. We stayed in one of the carriage houses. It was absolutely breath taking. They have taken great care in the little details. Everything we needed was easily accessible. The garden is beautiful. We wanted privacy and we got it! We met the owners the next morning for a delicious, filling and homemade breakfast. They are very pleasant and accommodating. It was a short stay, but one we will always remember.


a lovely accident

4,4 en mayo 18, 2011

I was late in finding a room in Tyler for a weekend conference. It was graduation weekend and 3 hotels were booked! I would not have thought to consider a bed and breakfast. IT WAS A WONDERFUL COZY, WELCOMING PLACE TO REST!


Exceeded all expectations!!

5 en mayo 17, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful experience stay at the Woldert-Spence Manor. The architecture and interior decorating had an antique feel, but without being dirty, dusty or dingy. The room was very warm and we felt right at home. The service was excellent and the owners Lisa and chris did an awesome job. Location was great, 5 -7 minutes from the main strip of hotels, well worth it for the experience we had. Breakfast was delicious and amazing, from the black peppered bacon to the scones, homemade biscuits and gravy and scrambled eggs! Overall amazing experience and will be staying there anytime we're in Tyler again!


Best Romantic Getaway Ever!

5 en mayo 12, 2011

The Room was perfect and the location was wonderful. I truly enjoyed how quite it was. I recommend this location to anyone wanting a short getaway with that special someone! The Innkeepers were very knowledgeable and friendly! Breakfast was great!!


Nice, friendly service.

5 en mayo 11, 2011

We were looking for a B&B that was close to the Susan G. Komen Fun Run in Tyler. Rooms were nice and very quiet. Really like the garden around the house too.


nice place

4,4 en mayo 11, 2011

Stayed in Mockingbird Cottage! Very nice! Quiet, clean, really enjoyed our stay. Good breakfast, Chris and Lisa were both gracious hosts. Will stay again!


Just what we were looking for!

4,4 en abril 29, 2011

We needed an affordable overnight escape with easy access to things to do in Tyler. This was perfect. We stayed in the room with the private screened in porch which was so nice in the spring. We were surprised to discover a hot tub out back and a little fish pond. Yummy cookies were waiting for us on arrival. We very much enjoyed the well written history of the house and rocking on the front porch. And my husband was thrilled to be served a hearty man-satisfying breakfast even though it was a weekday. Our stay was calm, quiet and peaceful; the innkeepers down-to-earth, friendly and available while not being intrusive or overly talkative. Next time we want to stay overnight in Tyler we will be booking a room at the Woldert-Spencer B&B!


Woldert Spence Manor

4,0 en abril 27, 2011

Second time to stay and just as relaxing as the first time. Would recommend to anyone staying in the Tyler, TX area. Close to downtown shops, azalea trail and rose garden.


A great stay at Woldert-Spence Manor

3,6 en abril 23, 2011

The B&B is nice place to stay. The owners are delightful and breakfast was delicious. It is in a great area for the Tyler Azalea Trail and close to downtown. Would highly recommend.


Azalea Trail Weekend

4,2 en abril 12, 2011

Our stay was very pleasant. It could have been better by the owners cleaning up the backyard and the furniture so it would be more pleasant sitting out. The meals were excellent, couldn't have been better. Close to good dining and was a great stay.


Dallas resident

5 en abril 09, 2011

I made reservations from the internet and was pleased to see a B & B in Tyler, TX that was available during the week and which suited my requirements; not all did. The Woldert-Spence Manor was perfect in every way. The breakfast was wonderful, the king-sized bed was comfortable, the room clean and quaint, and Chris and Tina were wonderful hosts. I certainly made a good choice and would go again! D. H. in Dallas


We'll stay here again!

4,8 en marzo 26, 2011

Woldert-spence is spotlessly clean and cozy. It's wonderfully romantic. Chris and Lisa are warm and gracious hosts and it's almost worth driving three hours to Tyler for Lisa's freshly homemade buckle and "real" breakfast food.


The Best Experience Ever

5 en marzo 25, 2011

Warm and Hospitable welcome. Outstanding Accommodation for us. Food and Service was awesome. Would recommend this to everyone who is staying in Tyler over staying at a hotel. We came here for our anniversary and now plan to go stay there for any overnight trips we have in Tyler, TX.


Excellent!

5 en marzo 08, 2011

It was a wonderful little get away. The house was so beautiful. The furniture wonderful. An amazing home with a peaceful ambiance. I stayed in one of cottages. Breakfast was hearty and tasty. Will go back.


Best find in Tyler, Texas

5 en febrero 27, 2011

It was a spur of the moment Valentine's weekend trip. It was very comfortable, pleasant, and overall very enjoyable experience. We have told all our friends and plan to go back, again.


Wonderful Woldert-Spence Accommodations

4,8 en febrero 23, 2011

My wife and I decided to have an extended Valentines' weekend, and as the bed and breakfast fans that we are, we looked for a nearby B&B. Upon finding the Woldert-Spence Manor and looking at the wonderful rooms, I was sure that we would not be able to book anything within four days' time. Luckily, we were able to reserve one of the Carriage House Rooms, The Rockway Carriage Room was very luxurious and had a warm and comfortable feel about it. We were very impressed by the accommodations, the roomy and cozy living area as well as the fully supplied,stocked kitchen and dining area and the lovely bedroom and bathroom. We stayed at the Manor for two days and each days country breakfast was delicious and satisfying. The Innkeepers, Chris and Lisa were both very friendly, warm and accommodating. With so many things to do within Tyler, we will certainly return to the Woldert-Spence Manor.


Beautiful home/lovely hosts

4,4 en febrero 22, 2011

My husband and I love traveling, and the entire bnb experience. This home is absolutely fabulous. The stained glass is breathtaking! Chris and Lisa were so welcoming and very knowledgeable about the house and its history. Breakfast was tasty and very filling, Lisa was kind enough to send the scrumptious coffee cake with us as we were too full to eat it then. This is a must place to stay if you are in the area!!!


Nice place

4,0 en febrero 18, 2011

The hosts were wonderful, and breakfast was delicious. I was a little disappointed in the small size of our shower (we were in one of the upstairs rooms). Also, when we arrived the house smelled VERY strongly of vanilla from fragrance plug-ins. I was already having a bit of a headache when we arrived and the strong smell just sent me over-the-edge. However, the following day the smell had dissipated quite a bit, so it may have just been a fluke. Anyway, over all the experience was very pleasant and we would definitely stay there again, but we'd probably opt for a downstairs room or the largest upstairs room instead.


Havard

4,0 en febrero 07, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay. Food was great. Bed was soft. Beautiful place.


Bed and breakfast review

5 en febrero 07, 2011

Very clean and a wonderful staff and facility. Loads of charm and history!


Wonderful and Welcoming

5 en enero 23, 2011

Chris and Lisa have perfected the B&B experience! Their B&B is a wonderful escape for any occasion. From the cleanliness of the entire home to the delicious breakfast, Woldert-Spence Manor does not disappoint. We felt as if we were being welcomed home with the freshly baked cookies and a personal note upon arrival. Thank you for another relaxing and enjoyable stay in Tyler. See you next time! Wayne & Barbara


New Years Stay

4,6 en enero 05, 2011

House is beautiful! Innkeepers are very friendly. Second time to stay and it's always a wonderful experience.


Wonderful stay as we have come to expect

4,2 en enero 04, 2011

This is probably our third stay at the Woldert-Spence Manor over the last couple of years. My wife and I have always been very pleased with the quality stay this B&B provides. The innkeepers are very hospitable and serve a wonderful breakfast with generous portions. The whole place is very very clean(even by my clean standards) and the location of the B&B is conveniently located close to Tyler's downtown area with shopping and dining very close. The rooms are all nicely decorated and each offers a different setting with varying price ranges to choose from. Our favorite room is the Alma Mary & Robert Spence room downstairs. Look foward to returning soon.


Nice, but . . .

3,4 en enero 01, 2011

I had researched many b&bs before choosing to stay here. After reading lots of review, I decided to choose this one, for a weekend getaway. After looking forward to staying at the Manor, I was a little disappointed. The bedroom had only sheer curtains and let in a lot of light from the outside. There was a small sign on the dresser that said there were ear plugs in a drawer, but nothing about eye masks, until I found them the morning after. I had read reviews from other prior guests about how the owners were not intrusive. At breakfast the next morning, it seemed like Chris was intrusive over breakfast. He stood at the end of the room and seemed to hover over everyone. It was a little uncomfortable. The food was okay although the blueberry scones I'd read so much about were not on the menu, unfortunately. If I stayed here again, I would probably choose a different room and look for the eye masks BEFORE going to bed.


Over night get away

5 en diciembre 05, 2010

We had a great night here. Food was great, owners very hospitable, just a great place to stay for a get a way. Beautiful home away from home.


Woldert-Spenser Manor

5 en noviembre 07, 2010

We did not eat breakfast at the B&B, but the baked goods were outstanding.


Beautiful home and wonderful hospitality

4,0 en noviembre 03, 2010

Spent two nights while visiting nearby Canton (1st Monday). Great hospitality and enjoyed sitting around the breakfast table with other guests. Very convenient location and only a 30 min. drive from Canton.


You Won't Need To Look For Another B and B Elsewhere

5 en noviembre 01, 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Tyler! Chris and Lisa are very friendly and accommodating. Lots of privacy is what you'll get if that's what you're going for, otherwise they'll stay and answer any and all questions you might have about things to do, history on the house, etc. Breakfast was FANTASTIC! The homemade blueberry scones and thick-cut bacon were wonderful, too! Definitely recommend this B and B!!!


Tyler Experience during Rose Festival

4,6 en noviembre 01, 2010

The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. It felt like going back in time. We stayed in a carriage house that was first home to a young couple in the 40s and had sweet photos of them around...romantic. Perfect setting for quality family time.


Wonderful time at Woldert!

4,6 en octubre 20, 2010

Our hosts were friendly and wonderful. The room was large and comfortable and the breakfast was amazing! I would stay there again in a heartbeat.


Our visit

4,8 en octubre 14, 2010

We had a wonderful two nights there. My mother(81) and mother-in-law(79) enjoyed the old house. It reminded them of their grandparents houses.


Wonderful!

5 en octubre 14, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay, the inn keepers made us feel right at home. Beautiful place, would definitely stay again


Great place to stay in Tyler!

4,0 en octubre 04, 2010

My wife and I took a 1 night vacation in Tyler and really enjoyed the Woldert-Spence Manor. It was very close to downtown and several restaurants. Our hosts were great and very un-intrusive. The home is beautiful and our room was extremely nice.


Weekend Stay

4,8 en septiembre 22, 2010

Wonderful place to stay and relax in; very helpful informing you on Tyler and surrounding area!


Good place to sray

4,2 en septiembre 09, 2010

Lisa and Chris are great hosts! The house is nice and quiet and close to everything, it is our third stay there and the breakfast is to die for, took care of all our needs and we had a relaxing stay.


Relaxing and Comfortable

5 en agosto 21, 2010

I visited Tyler on business (2 day project) and asked my wife to join me that she might see some of Tyler's sites. She scooted around Tyler, I worked and we relaxed in the Carrige House at day's end. Lisa and Chris we attentive hosts and wow!-ed us with a lovely breakfast and conversation. This is what we expect from a B&B and we will be back!! John and Cindy , Houston 08.2010


Cool place to chill on a hot summer day

4,2 en junio 27, 2010

We had just gotten to Tyler when we recived a welcoming phone call from Jeff (owner) to let us know our room was ready when we were - great first impression! Our stay in Tyler was proceeded by a very hot mountain bike ride at Tyler State Park. Upon arriving at the Woldert-Spece Manor we were met by the friendly co-owner, Jeff. Our room was cool and Jeff had showed us where to find the cool water and drinks. We were happy to see a suggested dining list - kept us from going to same old chain restaurants and polite reminders on how to make everyone's stay at the Manor enjoyable. After cooling down a bit we headed for Tyler's Art Walk where we met Lisa - the other co-owner of the W-S Manor (who was a key volunteer at the Art Walk). After a good night's sleep in very comfortable room we were greated with breakfast - prepared on time, at the time we had asked for (early). Through breakfast Jeff was happy to swap stories with us and to give us some history about the great house - making a personal connection that every stay at a B&B should include. Lisa in the mean time had prepared and they both served a generous traditional breakfast including a breakfast desert - recipes are on the B&B's website! Thanks for making out short respite feel like a full blown vacation!


Wonderful Stay

5 en junio 11, 2010

My sister and I went to Tyler for business/pleasure. Breakfast was fantastic. Friendly, clean atmosphere. Did not disappoint. Will go back.


A+ in everyway

5 en marzo 28, 2010

We spent another evening at the Woldert-Spence. Perfect in every way! Chris and Lisa are the best. Breakfast is delicious and the B & B is spotless! We will be back again, again, and again. The Fletchers


Woldert-Spence

5 en marzo 25, 2010

Woldert-Spence is a quiet place and Lisa and Chris are excellent hosts. Clean rooms, great breakfast. Friendly people.


A surpise winter weekend in March

4,2 en marzo 21, 2010

My husband and I came to Tyler for our first wedding anniversary. While the weather was dismal for the Azalea Festival (rain and even snow!), the Woldert-Spence was wonderful! We stayed in the Rockway Carriage House and it was very enjoyable. Soft music playing in the background and delicious chocolate chip cookies waiting for us. The gas fireplace came in very handy and was easy to use. The bathroom and kitchen were very clean - there was a little dust on the ceiling fan but it wasn't terrible. Lisa is an outstanding cook and the breakfast was great!! Chris is a great host with lots of stories about the area. You can tell they really love what they do. If we come back to Tyler we will definitely stay with the Garrett's again.


Super Comfortable B&B

4,8 en febrero 26, 2010

From my 1st call I liked the "feel". Owner easy to reach and gave good information. Love the house, very comfortable and hot tub and YMCA across the street. We will come back and enjoy again. Thanks, Lisa! Completely enjoyed Alma Mary and Robert Spence's Room.


Why would you want to stay in a Hotel in Tyler, Tx?

4,0 en diciembre 27, 2009

The rooms are spacious, clean, and charming. You'll find yourself in a very quite neighborhood with large mature trees and streets laid in brick. The breakfast spread is better than you'll find anywhere. We've stayed twice and this year we were able to use the fireplace in our room. For those of you whom can't escape work, WIFI is provided and it's secure. Hot tub, coy pond, off-street parking, and this grand old home, make this a great get away from the usual. As soon as you walk in, you'll catch a wiff of the mornings breakfast and it will make you feel relaxed and at home. Try this historic home for a night. If you don't like it you can always stay your second night in a chain Hotel where you are just a number....


Memorable Getaway

4,4 en noviembre 24, 2009

My wife and I spent last weekend (our anniversary) at the Woldert-Spense Manor in Tyler. The place is very nice. Our room was clean and comfortable. Chris and Lisa are the best innkeepers you could ask for. They think of everything. They are very attentive. The breakfast was outstanding. Highly recommend and would come back again.


Home away from Home !

5 en noviembre 09, 2009

The Elizabeth Spence room was perfect; delightfully decorated. Our Hostess & Host were an amazing young couple who knew all of our names before breakfast the next morning. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the Hostess and offered wonderful Chocolate chip cookies. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed visiting with our Host couple and playing with the "puppies" !


Great weekend getaway

5 en noviembre 04, 2009

Chris and lisa were wonderful hosts who were very accommodating to our needs. Lisa is a fantastic cook who served a wonderful breakfast. The rooms were very well kept and very beautiful.


Very Nice and Comfortable

5 en octubre 24, 2009

We stayed one night for our anniversary. We were made to feel so comfortable and special. The food was amazing and all the details were thought of by our host and hostess. They even left an anniversary gift for us in our room. We look forward to our next visit. Thank you so much for the great memories.


We will be back

5 en octubre 12, 2009

This was our first stay at a B&B. We walked in to the loveliest place and were greeted with the most amazing chocolate chip cookies we have ever had. We were totally amazed by the décor both downstairs and upstairs. Each room had a unique quality. Every detail was like being taken care of by your favorite grandma. Being a neat nick, I was very impressed by the cleanliness of the entire place. The room was peaceful and the aroma of breakfast first thing in the morning was awesome. The breakfast was so delicious we talked about it all the way home. You must try the blueberry bread with whip cream and the cinnamon honey butter. The rooms had a sound spa that played relaxing music. We loved that so much we came back to Dallas and bought one for our home. One could not ask for more southern hospitality than Chris & Lisa. We will be back for another get away. Loved it !


Enchanting

4,8 en septiembre 25, 2009

I only stayed here one night on a business trip but it was a great choice versus any hotel or motel I could have ended up at. The owners were very kind and catering. The area where the B&B was located was just as beautiful as the house itself. The neighborhood was quiet and there were many other beautiful old houses and the streets are brick layered. The B&B was enchanting, it had several tranquil sitting areas in the gardens and a coy pond and wishing well, and tons of greenery. The house was cozy and had that very historical feel and look to it. Very well decorated and all the rooms that I saw were all unique and very inviting. I slept great and in the morning couldnt believe how great this place was. Great service, great location, great rooms, great value, an all together unforgettable experience.


Wow!

4,6 en septiembre 24, 2009

This was my first time to stay at a B & B and it was wonderful! The owners were so gracious and the food was excellent. The grounds were also very pretty. I plan to return in the Spring when the azelas are blooming.


Wonderful & warm

5 en agosto 27, 2009

We loved this B&B! The rooms were cozy and comfortable, and the food was home-cooked deliciousness! We would go back in a heartbeat!


Wonderful experience

5 en agosto 17, 2009

This was a last minute, spur of the moment weekend get-a way celebrating my husband's birthday. I reserved the room online really late the night before our visit. The response time for our confirmation was amazing. Everything was taken care of online and we received a very nice welcome e-mail and a phone call while we were in transit. This was our first time to stay in a Bed and Breakfast and I must say it will be hard for others to measure up. The Inn was beautifully furnished with quality antique furniture, gorgeous hardwood floors and awesome stained glass windows. Our bed was a sleigh-type bed with a very comfortable pillow top mattress, spotless sheets and lovely comforter ensemble. The bath linens were pristine, fluffy white, and very soft, not like the scimpy,scratchy almost threadbare towels you get in most chain hotels. Our room and bath were both spotlessly clean and very inviting. There was a large ceiling fan that made this hot-natured gal very happy. The room temperature was very comfortable in spite of our very hot East Texas weather. Wonderful home-made cookies, soft drinks and bottled water were made available to the guests. Chris and Lisa were both there to greet us and the others that were also arriving and we were made to feel welcome. The next morning we enjoyed a wonderful country breakfast with the most heavenly blueberry scones. Chris and Lisa were wonderful hosts, interested in the guests, yet also discreet; my husband really enjoyed learning of the history of the Manor from Chris. Overall we felt like guests in someone's home. We will definitely be going back as soon as we can and we highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.


Wonderful time

4,8 en agosto 02, 2009

We just spent two nights at this wonderful place and my husband and I so enjoyed it. The room was nice, but the breakfast was amazing! We literally ate only twice a day both days we were there, because the breakfast was so amazing. The owners are probably two of the nicest people you will ever meet. You should make reservation next time you are in Tyler.


amazing!

4,6 en julio 16, 2009

Beautiful home, splendid hospitality, outstanding breakfast!


relaxing

5 en julio 16, 2009

B&B was awesome, very clean, and well kept. Chris and Lisa were great hosts. Full breakfast at the time I had requested. Will return


July 2009 Woldert-Spence Manor Review

4,8 en julio 12, 2009

My spouse and I stayed at the Woldert-Spence Manor on a Friday night. It is on a brick street with some other residences, some older and some newer, and a YMCA is located across the street. Commercial buildings are located nearby as well. It's in a nice area, but not what I would consider an historic district. It is a few blocks - an easy walk -from the downtown area where there's not much shopping but good restaurants, even a Pilates studio. It's also just a few minutes' drive from the Rose Garden. We stayed in the Alma Mary and Robert Spence room - large, very nicely appointed and we especially liked having our own screened-in porch. We were warned about the next-door-neighbors' dogs, but a sound machine and even ear plugs are thoughtfully provided if the barking proved to be a problem. However, we were not at all disturbed by any neighborhood noise. The bed was very comfortable but I found the pillows to be a bit firm for me. Chris and Lisa are extremely congenial and accomodating. They made sure we had everything we needed, and the breakfast was outstanding. We had a wonderful stay and would recommend this B&B.


Delightful!

4,0 en julio 08, 2009

This is a lovely B&B situated in an historic neighborhood. Chris and Lisa are very helpful and attentive hosts. We are looking forward to returning!


Liked it so much we are returning in July

5 en junio 15, 2009

We were on a house hunting trip to the Tyler area and stayed the Woldert-Spence. Lovely rooms, great breakfast, and outstanding inn keepers. We liked it so much, we have booked two rooms for our return trip in July. There are other choices but nothing in the area could possibly be better. When in the Tyler, TX area, book the Woldert-Spence. you won't be disappointed.


Exactly what you want in a B&B

4,8 en mayo 27, 2009

Chris and Lisa make the Woldert-Spence the bed and breakfast experience what everyone imagines a B&B should be. Without them, the house is just a nice Victorian house made modern and comfortable. With them, it's a friendly experience with great breakfast meals, and it sets the bar high for any inn you will visit afterward. And, this is coming from a couple that hopes to own a B&B of their own soon...


First B&B experience

5 en mayo 10, 2009

We were in Tyler for one night to visit a friend and chose to stay at the Woldert-Spence. The house is beautiful, almost like staying in a museum, yet very comfortable, clean, and home-like. I also like the location near downtown Tyler. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and Lisa & Chris are fantastic hosts! I would reccomend staying here if you are ever in Tyler and want to try something different than staying at a motel.


Beautifully Restored

4,0 en abril 20, 2009

Woldert-Spence Manor is a beautifully restored home. We stayed in the Alma Mary & Robert Spence room on the first floor - very spacious, the room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best we've had in a B&B.


Great breakfast!

4,4 en abril 15, 2009

The manor welcomed you in like your Grandma's house at the holidays. The smell of bacon and eggs draws you downstairs for a very special breakfast!


Bodacious B&B

5 en abril 10, 2009

Friendly hosts, excellent accommodations, fabulous food. Beautiful garden.


Absolutely perfect!

5 en abril 10, 2009

Lisa and Chris are wonderful hosts. We felt like family- great food. Very friendly and knowledgeable. Clean, bright, very homey. Felt like we spent the weekend in my miniature dollhouse I'm building. Perfect!!


Great place!

5 en abril 09, 2009

We stayed in the carriage house and loved it. The food was wonderful; the innkeepers were very friendly and helpful. It's only a short driving distance to most area attractions. We would definitely recommend it to friends and family.


Gorgeous B&B

5 en marzo 27, 2009

Absolutely wonderful experience. Beautiful accommodations, wonderful food, gracious hosts. We look forward to our next stay here!


Best Spring Break!

4,8 en marzo 20, 2009

This was my second time staying at a B&B and first for my boyfriends. We came to stay in Tyler for a few days for Spring Break, and absolutely loved it! We were greeted right away with smiles and cookies, loooads of information was given to us for touriesty stuff. We had a wonderful and relaxing time and had a great experience. Thanks!


wonderful Woldert

4,6 en marzo 19, 2009

Wonderful old house, friendly hosts, beautifully restored to Victorian period, (but modern baths!).


great stay

5 en marzo 19, 2009

great stay


A Relaxing, Beautiful Place of History

3,8 en marzo 13, 2009

The Woldert-Spence Manor was exactly what my husband and I needed for an overnight business trip in Tyler, TX. We were dealing with some heavy decisions and this relaxing, beautiful place of history brought us some quiet moments and much-needed down time. Chris and Lisa were great...Very welcoming and warm...very accommodating with a late check out for me as my husband went to his appointment the next morning. We will be back to this wonderful and warm home whenever we come back to the Tyler area. We would highly recommend staying there...You will love the history in the home and the food and hospitality went beyond our expectations.


Charming B&B

4,8 en marzo 03, 2009

Wonderful hosts, great attention to detail, outstanding breakfast- Don't miss staying there!


"Awesome Place"

5 en febrero 18, 2009

We spent Valentine's weekend 2008 at the Woldert-Spence Manor and it totally exceeded out expectations. The house and our room was beautiful and was furnished in period furniture. The innkeepers were warm and informative and paid attention even to the smallest details. I wish there were words to describe the wonderful breakfast that we had in the beautifully appointed dining room. Several family recipes were used and they were all outstanding. I have stayed in 20 - 30 bed and breakfast's in my lifetime and this one ranks amongst the best! I will definately be going back!


Highly recommend

5 en febrero 17, 2009

Lovely house, nicely appointed and very clean. Hosts were gracious, especially when we had car trouble and could not make it back before check out time. They even saved us a wonderful breakfast!! I cannot understand why anyone would go to a hotel in Tyler when this option is available!


Lovely getaway

5 en diciembre 16, 2008

We spent our anniversary weekend in the carriage house, which completely exceeded our expectations. The first thing I noticed was how clean and neat it was. After that, the set-up was very comfortable. It was quiet, secluded, roomy, charming. Very nice for a home-away-from-home. The breakfast was delicious and more than filling. Lisa knows what she's doing. I've told all my friends they should stay just for the food. The hospitality and location will certainly bring us back.


fine experience

5 en diciembre 03, 2008

The food as exceptional and the service left nothing to be desired. A beautiful, quaint little place!


What a wonderful experience!

5 en noviembre 21, 2008

This was an amazing experience! Most friendly service! Can't wait to return!


Absolutely Amazing

5 en noviembre 15, 2008

We had a wonderful time. They really made your stay the best possible. The house is beautiful & they innkeepers are down-to-earth & friendly.


Very comfortable B&B

3,6 en octubre 31, 2008

comfortable bed- great breakfast-friendly owners- nice and private


Wonderful Stay

5 en octubre 15, 2008

This was our first time to stay at a B&B but it won't be our last. We absolutely loved. The owners were great and is surpassed what we expected.


Woldert-Spence

5 en octubre 15, 2008

Wonderful bed & breakfast - the owners were very hospitable and the Rockway Carriage house was perfect and private - I would definitely stay again.


Perfect Weekend Getaway!

5 en octubre 15, 2008

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful night at the Woldert-Spence Manor. The breakfast was amazing and original! Our room was beautifully decorated as well! We really enjoyed our stay and will return!


Hospitable

4,4 en octubre 14, 2008

Very beautiful surroundings. Hosts were very friendly & accommodating. Loved the town!


Best B&B

5 en septiembre 20, 2008

Best place to stay away from home. Beautiful historic structure. Thank you Lisa and Chris for your hospitality and thoughtfulness. The food was great and delicious. Would love to visit again. I & E Chan & Chen


Fantastic Hosts - Loud Puppies

4,6 en septiembre 05, 2008

Chris and Lisa couldn't be nicer. They will bend over backwards to make your stay pleasant. Lisa is an incredible cook! Our only issue was with next door neighbor's barking puppies that prevented a good night's rest. You may want to ask about that before booking.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your comment about the puppies. They are a new addition to the neighborhood and we're just figuring out how they affect our guests. On the one hand, the puppies have settled down quite a bit since the first week they arrived (which I'm guessing might be when you stayed) and they don't tend to bark at night anymore. However, they are still puppies and bark some when they play, and will of course eventually be dogs, so we want to do everything we can to minimize the noise---that's part of having a B&B in a real neighborhood! In any case, of our 7 rooms, the puppies really are only noticable in 3 rooms on that side of the house. Firstly, we have put noise machines in all of the rooms---we received an earlier comment that some background noise might help mask squeaking floors and other guests, for those that are very noise-sensitive. But we also want to eliminate the noise in the house, not just mask it. So secondly, we are working on improving the sound-proofing in the affected rooms. Being an historic home, the windows aren't exactly designed for noise reduction--we're working to bring them up to snuff. Polling our guests, some notice the puppies, some don't. But we want to make sure everyone enjoys their stay, so please continue to provide feedback on how we're doing.


Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor

5 en agosto 28, 2008

Excellent!


Relaxing, historical getaway

5 en agosto 08, 2008

My stay at the Wolder-Spence Manor was a relaxing experience. I enjoyed the hospitality, the historical rooms, antiques, stain-glass windows, the spa, and the wonderful breakfast each morning.


Wow! Wow! Wow!

4,8 en julio 26, 2008

We stayed here to celebrate our 11th Anniversary. The house has been beautifully restored and boasts a rich East Texas history. The hosts, Chris and Lisa, do an excellent job making you feel right at home. The breakfasts are mouth-watering and you WON'T leave hungry! Thanks Lisa! The fresh cookies and stocked mini fridge really top it off. The BEST place to stay in Tyler, hands down!


The best of many B&Bs were visited!

5 en julio 24, 2008

Beautifully restored B&B with all the comforts to pamper guests. Owners Chris & Lisa Garrett are wonderful and thoughtful hosts. Lisa's breakfast is the best. Highly recommended.


Wonderful "Small Town" Getaway

5 en julio 23, 2008

This old historic home was in a quiet neighborhood. The details in the home were wonderful and beautiful. Very comfortable room and the breakfast was yummy although we ate too much. Can't wait to stay there again. Our son is in college in Tyler and this will be the perfect place for us when we go visit.


Quaint, historic, clean & fun!

4,4 en julio 23, 2008

We stayed in the Carriage Rockway House - w/ our 2 children - ages 10 & 11. Excellent stay! Charming, warm, etc. Outstanding breakfast!


Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor

4,8 en julio 21, 2008

Gracious new owners. Lovely accommodations. Big breakfast. Convenient location.


1859 Woldert-Spence Manor

4,8 en julio 17, 2008

Great location, food, hosts & house. Very clean & pleasant.


Very nice stay - close to the convention center

4,2 en julio 10, 2008

Very nice stay and very close to the convention center. I upgraded to the large downstairs room after I got there. The place is wonderful! The new owners are very hospitable and the breakfast was yummy - fruit, orange juice, coffee, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, bacon, and scones! I will definitely be back!


A Most Enjoyable visit to Tyler Texas

5 en julio 07, 2008

If you are thinking about staying in the Tyler area I'd highly recommend the Historic Woldert-Spencer Manor. Chris and Lisa are two of the best hosts you will find at any B&B and the property is quite charming and conveniently located. The historic house has a very interesting history which provides for a most enjoyable stay and lively conversation with other guests. I must admit the all-you-can eat breakfast is out of this world which gets the day off to a great start. Lisa is such a fantastic cook making specialty desserts each day from hand picked blueberries (which were in season during our stay). The backyard garden offers a nice retreat for either sitting in the hot tub or just enjoying the shade of huge oak and magnolia trees next to the Japanese poi fish pond. Our room had all the comforts of home but was in keeping with the feel of a grand historic Tyler home of the past. You won’t be disappointed!


Texas Hospitality

5 en noviembre 15, 2007

We have just spent a few day at the The Texas 1859 Woldert-Spence Inn. The house is beautiful--spotlessly clean --the rooms gorgeous -with lovely attention to detail--and importantly when you're travelling, the bed was comfy---breakfasts freshly cooked each morning by The Heaons --with a different delight each day. I think Richard might be the chef. Each other Innkeeper, gave the credit. The house is located in an historic part of Tyler so if you have the time you can stroll around the pretty streets and see all the old (mostly lovingly restored) houses. Richard & Patricia are the sort of hospitalty Texas is famous for--and then some --- When we had an unexpected emergency, and turned home a day early. The didn't even charge us for the extra night. However, there website policy said they could. The didn't even mention it. The Heatons looked after us as if we were family. We also have family in Dallas, they didn't even know about this B&B. ...We were surprise. They do now!! Check out there excellent website.


33rd anniversary get-a-way

4,2 en julio 02, 2007

nostalgically beautiful visit back in time...1940's-50's victorian decor in the rockway carriage house suite. unexpected touches such as homemade cookies % a well stocked refridgerator were nice. will return!


Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $99 - $159
  • Comentarios (179) 4,6
  • Habitaciones 7
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-9035339057
Arriba