Modern B & B Comentarios

TOTAL

4,4

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,4
  • Servicios4,6
  • Estimación4,3
  • Limpieza4,3
  • Comidas4,6

Puntuación basada en
175 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Great Accomodations

4,2 en agosto 14, 2014

The next time I return to Houston, I will certainly stay at Modern B&B. They are so much more relaxing and suitable than a big chain hotel.


NIce place

4,0 en agosto 04, 2014

Really enjoyed this bed and breakfast. Rooms were very clean and nice. Staff and owner very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable.


Modern B&B

4,8 en agosto 03, 2014

The Modern B&B was great. Found it relatively easy to get to and was located in a great neutral area. There was a record store just down the street as well as plenty of places to eat or snag a tasty beverage. One of the highlights was the Menil Art Galleries that were only a few blocks from the bed and breakfast. That made for a great bike ride to these awesomely unique galleries and a nice relaxing lunch at the LowBrow. Lisa, Brandi and the other two women were very kind and helpful each day we were there. Complimentary snacks, drinks and little odds and ends (amenities) were at your reach at all hours. The breakfast was delicious and there was more than enough to go around. I enjoyed the non intrusive aspect of It too. They were never up in your business and always were available to help when needed. It was clean and well decorated and even had a record player in the guest kitchen side. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.


The Modern

2,8 en julio 24, 2014

The decor is refreshing and artful and the breakfast was tasty. Great location.


Will come again!

3,8 en julio 02, 2014

We enjoyed every part of our staycation and will definitely be coming back to relax and visit some of the best nearby pubs and eateries in Houston!


Nice location

2,8 en junio 30, 2014

They need to pay attention to room preparation. I found someone's underwear under the bed and there was a problem with the hot water in bathroom Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good.


Excellent stay!

4,6 en junio 18, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Modern this past weekend. Great location for anyone looking to have a good Downtown Houston experience.


Great Weekend in Houston

4,4 en junio 18, 2014

Great value in a great location. We enjoyed galleries, museums, Hermann Park and some fine restaurants, all close by. At the B&B, Brandi and Lisa provided great service and lots of help, making us feel at home. The food and conversation at breakfast were excellent! For all our stay included, the price was right and the value exceptional.


A great place

5 en junio 15, 2014

It is a great place. I am getting tired of being asked to write these reviews of it as I am a regular. But it is a great place. I usually stay in the economy rooms but this time was upgraded to one of the top-top rooms on the top floor, a suite with its own deck. I felt like just moving in permanently -- who needs more?


Neighborhood Delight

4,4 en mayo 31, 2014

Nice neighborhood to walk in and close to our son's place so this was perfect for us. It ended up we were in a house next door to the B&B all by ourselves so it was very quiet and we had the common areas (living room & well stocked kitchen) to relax and use as we wished. Breakfast by Roxanne each morning was a delight with fresh fruits, homemade granola and smoothies, eggs to order, expresso and coffee, etc! The other guests were interesting and conversational. Host Lisa was gracious and upbeat. The king sized bed was very comfortable and we just had to adjust while sleeping to air conditioning which meant it was either too cool (when on) or too hot (when off). All in all...a great place to stay.


Lovely place

4,8 en mayo 25, 2014

This was a great place to stay. The breakfasts were yummy, and the location couldn't be better. It really is close to the heart of all that is super cool about Houston. I loved it! And Lisa, the owner, is just awesome and cool and smart and fun.


Passing through

4,0 en mayo 18, 2014

Our first stay was on a business trip, our Dog travels with us and we do not like hotel/motel accommodations. This stay was for pleasure, dining and shopping in Houston. You can't stay in a friendlier or nicer B&B than Modern. The art alone is enough, combine the art with warm service and comfortable accommodations and Modern is a winner!


Great place!

4,8 en abril 02, 2014

Greatly enjoyed my recent weekend stay at the Modern B&B. Unfortunately I was sick part of the time but Lisa was terrific, sympathetic without being soupy and chatting to keep my mind off of my plight. She gave me one of her electrolite tabs that she uses when running and that was helpful. Great walkable location too.


The BEST PLACE to stay in Houston, TX !!!

5 en marzo 26, 2014

1st of all, you can't beat their location, in the middle of Montrose. As far as I know, it's the only place to stay in Montrose. It's within walking distance of everything that matters. Houston's elite dining, shopping, clubs and museums are all a short stroll away. Culture, Culture and more Culture !! Did I mention how cool the included breakfast and guest happy hour are ?? Also, the ladies that run the place are AMAZING !!! Can't wait to go back....R.Holt


WILL NEVER STAY ANYWHERE ELSE

5 en marzo 15, 2014

I travel to Houston for work about every other week and thanks to my business partner Cole discovered Lisa & the GREATNESS of The Modern. Besides having fantastic rooms, perfect breakfast prepared by Roxanne (included in your stay) and an ownwer that really takes care of her guests... it feels like home when I can't be home.


Perfect Houston Getaway

4,2 en febrero 03, 2014

I was completely in the dark as to what to expect from Houston and had no idea where would be the best place to stay. Modern BnB was perfect! The accommodation was comfortable, clean and great value for money. Breakfast each morning was plentiful and delicious. Staff were helpful and friendly. Location was smack bang in the centre of a great part of town. I'd recommend this BnB to anyone visiting Houston!


Great place to stay!

5 en enero 31, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay in Houston, a relaxing departure from the big hotels. It is close to Rice University and there are a number of restaurants within walking distance. The owner is very gracious and the hospitality outstanding. Highly recommend.


Houston!

4,4 en enero 22, 2014

Delightful, quirky, contemporary, friendly, and welcoming place to land in Houston. Everyone was so sweet and made you feel very at home. The peanut butter granola was to die for!


Great place to stay with friends

3,8 en enero 18, 2014

This is a really interesting complex of buildings, with wonderful public areas, balconies, and rooms. It's within walking distance of several decent restaurants, which is really nice after a long day in the car. The proprietor left snacks and a bottle of wine out for us, and we enjoyed sipping wine and conversing in the wonderful shared living/dining room/kitchen area during the evening. If the occasion arises, I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.


Beautiful place, charming neighborhood, lovely people

4,2 en enero 07, 2014

The view from our room was amazing, the food was delicious, and the neighborhood was fantastic. Will book again on our next trip to Houston,


My favourite B&B in Houston

5 en diciembre 11, 2013

Great place, rooms, and location and outstanding breakfast."The" place to stay when in Houston for work or pleasure.


a great Thanksgiving vacation

4,8 en diciembre 02, 2013

We stayed in the luxurious Treehouse room. Everything except the weather was perfect. Rather cold for Houston, but the room was cozy and the breakfasts were outstanding. Lisa is very helpful and friendly. A really great place to stay in the Museum district/Montrose in Houston. We will be back.


In Houston over Thanksgiving

3,8 en diciembre 02, 2013

It was unusually cold during my stay but Lisa provided me with a very good space heater that made my room warm in a few minutes. Walking up the stairs at night to use the bathroom was harder than I thought it would be, but I'm older. I loved the modern environment and interesting architecture. My daughter had recommended that I stay there, and I will stay there again. The breakfasts were tasty, generous and fun. The only slightly negative thing I have to say is about my room: the wall behind the bed, near the closet, needs dusting. Otherwise all was well.


Business Traveler in Houston

3,2 en noviembre 25, 2013

This B&B is in a great location and in a modern, fun building. The cook is excellent, truly one of the best breakfasts I have had in a B&B. The downside is that the rooms are stark and not well furnished. The modern theme is too extreme to allow comfort in the bedrooms. I would have appreciated a rug and a comfortable chair in my room.


A great relaxing weekend

5 en noviembre 13, 2013

My husband and I go to Houston a few times a year and knew about this place as the building is very impressive and modern. The last time came down we decided to go ahead and stay at the Modern B&B. We were very pleased with our stay, The place is just as impressive when you go inside, clean, very friendly owners and chef, and very accommodating. We will be staying here again! Thanks Modern B&B!


Hidden gem!

4,8 en octubre 27, 2013

I was so pleasantly surprised with the service and accommodations that I'm taking the time to submit this review when I normally do not. Lisa and staff were so very accommodating as my plans were changed twice as the reservation approached. Had a problem with a cab so they drove me to the Convention Center. Although I didn't have breakfast, there was plenty of food and quite a variety. Coffee was great and conversation with an interesting group of guests, if interested, respectful of privacy if you're just ready for bed. Thank you Lisa!


Tellement sympa et confortable

5 en octubre 20, 2013

Philippe et Nicky


The place to stay to central Houston

4,8 en octubre 11, 2013

If you need to stay near downtown or the medical center, look no further than the Modern B&B. Rooms are great, the location provides easy (even walking) access to restaurants and the morning breakfast can't be beat.


October Stay at Modern B&B

5 en octubre 07, 2013

Lovely rooms, great service, wonderful breakfast with eggs made to order. Yummy granola, excellent communal spaces complete with art and a record player.


Excellent Alternative to Downtown Hotels

4,6 en septiembre 30, 2013

The team really went out of their way to make guests feel welcome. This is an immaculate but lived-in environment. The owner is a charming lady with an interesting life story and a love of contemporary art and furnishings that really make this place special. The chef's breakfast was also a wonderful surprise. It's the kind of modern place I'd love to live in, and so it felt much like a home away from home.


Evening in Houston

5 en septiembre 13, 2013

Perfect place to stay if you're into downtown museums and eats. Really upscale modern place.


August 2013 stay

3,8 en septiembre 02, 2013

Stayed several nights at the Modern for family gathering. Convenient location. Very comfortable, with casual atmosphere.


Business in Houston

4,2 en agosto 05, 2013

Nice B&B, very convenient location. All the staff were very helpful.


Best match for family and team stay.

3,2 en julio 10, 2013

Met my expectations. Owner is very loyal and helpful, and the same time does not indulgence in your privacy stay. Best solution for team stay and families.


A must stay

4,4 en mayo 30, 2013

My husband and I were very pleased with our stay. We are already planning to go back. Also Lisa and Roxanne were wonderful! It's a must stay at if you are in the Houston area.


Wedding weekend stay

4,4 en mayo 15, 2013

We spend our wedding weekend at Modern B&B. Lisa was wonderful and so accommodating to us! We loved the breakfast and the very 'homey' feel to the place.


Comfortable and reliable in Houston

3,8 en mayo 07, 2013

I've stayed at the Modern B&B three times in the last year. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean, breakfast is good (and plentiful). Eclectic neighborhood, fascinating guests, easy access to fun running/walking routes. Lisa has always been able to accommodate my schedule for check in and check out, and I look forward to going back when I next have business in that part of Houston.


Exotic B&B

3,6 en mayo 05, 2013

Very friendly atmosphere, very good breakfast. Rooms are very nice, each different and each with its unique point: one with the bath in which you can step in from the bed, other in the attic, with a jacuzzi and a huge skylight and so on. Everything great what can be improved though is the cleanliness. Overall a great B&B.


Outstanding and refreshing

4,0 en abril 26, 2013

With a plan to stay for a reasonably extended period, I was convinced almost immediately that it was the right thing to do. Lisa has somehow created a focal point for a wide range of people who can come together in an informal setting. Used to dreary high-end hotels, this was perfect - I could fix food, order in, eat out (great restaurants in walking distance) and even shop as necessary, all in the neighborhood, and the B&B had just the right atmosphere. I would say that the cleanliness and orderliness could do with a bit more emphasis, but overlooking these you have a first class place to stay.


Perfect.

5 en abril 18, 2013

We spent three days at Modern B&B and found everything to be perfect. We felt very welcome and taken care of. For our purposes the location within Houston was ideal. We will certainly stay here again; I can't give a better endorsement than that. Chris, Shreveport, LA.


Exceptional location and intimacy with other guests

4,4 en marzo 30, 2013

Fabulous breakfast every morning, exceptional guests, we really enjoyed our stay. The Modern B&B is close to all things art. Staff is very helpfull and the rooms are spacious and charming.


Oasis!

5 en marzo 27, 2013

I was in Houston for a conference and knew I didn't want to stay near the busy-ness of the downtown area. Modern B&B is located in a quiet residential area, very close to the Menil and awesome places to eat within walking distance. Also the bus line that goes straight downtown / to the convention center is less than a 10 minute walk from the B&B, so you can really get the relaxation you need with the ability of getting where you need to go pretty easily with public transit. The stay itself was amazing - I met a lot of interesting people at breakfast and was treated like family (wacky fun family!). There were plenty of opportunities to be social at the B&B but felt I had complete privacy when I wanted it. Food was awesome, place was awesome, people are awesome.


Overpriced and filthy room. Stay away

1,8 en marzo 27, 2013

This place seems all about location. The manager is a bit too hands off and the room was dirty and inadequately furnished for the price. Stayed in there nicest room which unfortunately features: dirty and stained bathroom tile, unfinished and under construction porches, filthy carpet, and a broken chair with stains all over it. We felt like we had stayed at a friends house - one who had a extra, unfinished room. Truly overpriced. Stay away.


A Houston Treasure

5 en marzo 18, 2013

The Modern B & B is an oasis tucked away in a quiet neighborhood that is very near many wonderful shops and restaurants. My room was wonderfully airy and had an elegant and roomy bath and shower, complete with a gigantic granite double sink vanity and tiled shower and jacuzzi. My Treehouse room even had a walk-in closet, a spectacular view and a balcony. The breakfasts are really special, with gorgeous custom omelettes, pastries, smoothies and great coffee. Lisa the owner was wonderfully helpful and welcoming. I also loved the art collection and the architecture of the building. I can't wait to return.


A unique experience; not your typical b&b!

3,8 en marzo 18, 2013

Great place to catch the modern version of this historic neighborhood while researching it's history. Interesting fellow travelers and great food in a unique setting.


Stay beginning February 26 2013 for six nights

5 en marzo 16, 2013

For breakfast, the fresh fruit as well as the terrific coffee stand out. The room itself was bright and spacious; and the bathroom was not crowded. The architecture of the building is inviting; and the location is only a short drive from downtown and many attractions west/southwest of downtown. The owner is very friendly, as were the fellow guests!


Modern B&B

4,2 en febrero 27, 2013

Clean and quiet. Superb breakfast.


Weekend Getaway

5 en enero 16, 2013

My husband and I booked Modern B&B for a wedding we attended over the weekend in Houston. The experience was lovely. Upon arrival Ms. Lisa upgraded our room to the Tree house room because someone had booked it but couldn't use it. Well thank you someone because we really enjoyed the room. It was on the 4th floor of the beautiful modern designed B & B, it had a HUGE bathroom, HUGE closet, cozy bed, and gorgeous views of the Houston skyline. We woke up to the delicious smell of Ms. Roxanne’s cooking in the kitchen. She had homemade French toast, made to order omelets or eggs, a wonderful baked item, and a healthy smoothie all waiting for us when we joined the table for breakfast. We mingled with the B&B guest and owner who gave us some great tips on what to do for the day. The Modern B & B made Houston feel cozier than ever before. We will definitely be returning to visit on our next trip out there.


Hidden Gem

5 en diciembre 10, 2012

Could not find a hotel room in the city, so looked for alternative place to stay. What a find! Lisa and team do an outstanding job of providing a unique experience in the city of Houston. I encourage you to check this out


Modern B&B is great

4,4 en noviembre 21, 2012

My stay at Modern B&B was wonderful. I came to town because I have art in an exhibition that was opening at a local museum. While everything at the Modern was very nice, the best feature is the company. The breakfast table was full of life and interesting conversations. I even met another artist who was in town installing her work at another museum. We had each admired the others work for years but had never met. And the granola, quiche, omelets etc were all excellent.


Nice and Convenient Place to Stay in Houston's Montrose District

4,8 en noviembre 17, 2012

The Modern B & B is a nice place to stay, and as conveniently located as any place to stay in Houston if you want to be in the heart of the city. The residential, tree lined Montrose District is between downtown, and the Museum and Rice University Districts. This is the most comfortable District to stay in to get to many sections of the city of Houston, which is not easily travelled without a car. Housed at the Modern B & B I walked to many places I wanted to go and took a few cabs, but nothing a tourist would want to do is really close by. Most things a tourist wants to do are a few miles away from the Modern B & B and any hotel where you might stay in Houston. Unless you don't mind walking long distances, you will need to use some sort of public or private transportation while staying at the Modern B & B to get around. The staff was very charming and the service was good, except for a problem with the WiFi connection in my room. I resolved this problem by going downstairs from by room to the public area where the WiFi signal was stronger. The property is a great value for the money spent.


Interesting B & B

4,2 en octubre 18, 2012

We had the Treetops accomodation. It was bright and airiiy,and very comfortable.. The other guests and Lisa were quite interesting. We had guests from Spain, Germany and around the U.S. Their interests and professions varied from training horses, to the arts and theatre, to spectacular light shows, and flying drone photo helicopters. The breakfasts wer always excellent, everyone was bright and cheery. The B& B was only blocks from Houston's Museum District, and close to restaurants. We would certainly stay there again.


Stay at the Modern Bed & Breakfast in Houston

4,6 en octubre 11, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Modern Bed & Breakfast, the hosts were great, visiting with the others guests at breakfast was enjoyable, the breakfasts were lovely, I will certainly stay again when in Houston!


Great host! Great stay!!

4,8 en octubre 01, 2012

Lisa (the owner) was a wonderful host! The buildings are very cool, and the breakfast (included) was phenomenal. She has a cook there to take specific orders and will do her best to accommodate food preferences (including vegans). It has a nice community atmosphere, and you can meet other interesting individuals who are staying at the hotel. It is also close to the Menil Collection (modern art) and in a part of town that has more character than generic downtown Houston. Best of all, it is quite affordable, too! I would definitely stay here again, and appreciate Lisa's friendly, helpful personality.


a great place to stay in the Montrose area

5 en septiembre 25, 2012

Relaxing atmosphere; clean, modern room; great breakfast; centrally located.


Great place to stay now more fun

5 en septiembre 15, 2012

Modern B & B has always had spacious, quiet rooms with a hip ambience. This visit, included an impromptu dinner put put on by the host with delicious food from the breakfast chef. All the guests were welcome and it was a lively night. Definitely above and beyond the typical B & B experience.


Great Location and an Exceptional Experience

4,8 en agosto 20, 2012

Originally designed as highly contemporary condominiums, the Modern B&B set the mood for our exploring the nearby museum district with its minimalist style and surprising and unique luxuries (soaring ceilings, enormous closets, spiral loft staircases and a walk-in shower to die for). Lisa, the owner, and Roxanne, the talented breakfast chef were both engaging and accommodating. The staff and the erudite guests this establishment attracts provided a stimulating breakfast forum that made us want to linger over a third cup of coffee. I highly recommend.


Modern B&B stay

4,4 en agosto 14, 2012

We stayed for two nights. The rooms were nice, and the service was great. The rooms and bathroom were very clean and the breakfast was better than one would expect. The real draws for the Modern B&B are the proprietor "Lisa", the "end of day" gathering over wine and beer (and dinner if you can make it out with the group), and the fact that you never know what nations will be represented at breakfast. Lisa's B&B has quite an international clientele, so you may be eating with folks from the Netherlands one morning and Italians the next. That's how it worked out for us, and it made the stay more enjoyable.


The French in Houston

4,2 en agosto 09, 2012

A really amazing welcome, the host was a great source of information and always ready to accommodate any requests. The only weaker point was the cleanliness. Acceptable but could be improved a little! Magnificent, healthy breakfast which the breakfast to which chef tries to introduce variations and new dishes on a regular basis. Well Done!!!


Unusual; OK+

3,2 en julio 20, 2012

Very comfortable bed. Rooms are a bit funky, not in any bad sense, just unusual. Service is good and prompt. Breakfast is great: kudos to the chef. This isn't the place for you if your standard is St. Regis luxury, but a good/fun place to stay. And it's convenient to center city attractions.


our favorite getaway

5 en julio 13, 2012

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at the Modern B&B. Very unique place. Modern decor yet good welcoming vibes. Great location: quiet neighborhood, yet just blocks away from numerous wonderful dining... And don't miss the breakfast! homemade, wholesome, delicious.


Not a Corporate Hotel Experience

4,6 en julio 04, 2012

The Modern is the most interesting lodging experience you can have in Houston. Where else can you find a turntable with an amazing collection of vintage jazz and rock albums, modern rooms (no two are the same) and a wonderful homemade breakfast around a communal table with fellow travelers from around the world? Certainly not in a bleak corporate high-rise hotel. The leafy green neighborhood is as interesting as the architecture, and the museum district is within walking distance.


Repeat visitors

3,4 en julio 02, 2012

We love the location and the home-like atmosphere. We will continue to make this our hotel of choice while visiting Houston.


modern review may 2012

4,0 en junio 07, 2012

love staying here. so close to all the great restaurants and night spots


Hidden gem in Houston

5 en junio 05, 2012

Fantastic stay, friendly people, amazing breakfast and a great location! Will be back!


Nice stay

3,6 en junio 04, 2012

The staff of the B&B were very welcoming. I felt quite at home while staying here. There were a few different common areas available. The wifi worked great. There was a lot of variety to eat for breakfast and it was also nice that were smoked almonds and wine available to welcome guests back to the B&B in the afternoon/evening.


Great B&B, especially for the cost. A great VALUE, right on the water.

4,8 en mayo 30, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. You actually feel like you own the place while you're there. The owners don't stay in the same building as you, so you are free to wander around and enjoy the beautiful home. I never felt like I was being chapparoned, like at some places. My wife and I soent one evening, on their two story dock, drinking wine and fishing until late in the night. We will definitely come back!

Respuesta del propietario

Sadly this is not the Modern Bb in Housotn. Wish I know which Bb the review was really for as it sounds great. Lisa We are not on the water.


My Houston Home Away From Home

5 en mayo 29, 2012

This place is fabulous. What more than modern architecture, a lively and responsive host, comfortable beds and an amazing breakfast can you ask for? I almost hate to give it such a good review so that it won't get too popular...


Can't wait to stay again!!

5 en mayo 19, 2012

We recently stayed here while in Houston for a friend's wedding. The location is great, service was impeccable and the room was exactly as described. It was fun getting to know everyone over breakfast. Can't wait till our next trip so we can stay here again.


What an Experience! I Loved the Modern B&B!

5 en mayo 02, 2012

Staying at the Modern B&B was such a delight! From the awesome Sky Light Suite with its private decks to Roxanne’s morning smoothies and spinach and cheese omelets….well, I was in B&B heaven! The Modern B&B is in the Mid-Town section of Houston just four miles from downtown (where I was attending my conference). Along Westheimer, there are a full array of nice restaurants, shops and very uptrend establishments. I felt completely comfortable jogging in the neighborhood each morning and delighted in having a small glass of wine and smoked almonds when I returned to the Modern after a day’s conferencing. Roxanne leaves wine and glasses on the dining room table for us all to enjoy in the evening. Owner, Lisa, has collected some very interesting art in her travels and guests can meander throughout the halls of the Modern enjoying the collection. Speaking of collection, Lisa has approximately 300 vinyls and a turntable for all of you audiophiles out there -- a lot of 70’s and 80’s albums. (The cover’s are themselves artwork.) If you are a person who is interested in new experiences, you’ll love the Modern. Deborah Miller Menlo Park, California


Great experience at the Modern B&B

4,2 en abril 19, 2012

Really nice people helpful with some health issues! Great food and atmosphere!


Comforts of Home in Houston

4,8 en abril 08, 2012

What a terrific place! It felt like we were guests in a close friend's house - a friend with impeccable taste & a deft hand in the kitchen! Rooms are great, at a great price, and the omelette with 5 types of peppers & multiple types of onions was likely the greatest omelette I've ever tasted. Well done & the Modern is now my choice for lodging whenever we're in Houston!


Tim Hadda Isaac & Jacob

5 en abril 03, 2012

A clean, decent, straightforward introduction to Texas and the United States - thanks Lisa and Roxanne


Very nice!

4,4 en marzo 25, 2012

I actually didn't dine, but got a complimentary glass of wine and some snacks. Very nice!


This is my preferred stay in Houston

4,2 en marzo 09, 2012

Love the location, have driven and parked or taken taxis, Walk to restaurants, wine and cheese in the evening, great beds, and great breakfast. I need nothing else. Thanks Modern B and B


Lovely Weekend

4,0 en marzo 04, 2012

We recently spent a long weekend in Houston and could not have been more pleased with the accommodations we booked through Lisa at Modern B & B. Since we needed several rooms, we booked one of the apartments on the website. Lisa upgraded us to her friend's private residence, a gorgeous and pristine townhouse just a block from the B & B. We were able to walk over for a delicious breakfast at the main property each morning. Though we did not stay in the B&B itself, the lobby and breakfast area were nicely appointed. The neighborhood is great, walking distance to an excellent grocery and several restaurants. The location is ideal, very central, and not far from the downtown, the Museum district, the Galleria, and Rice University. You will need a car to get around, though, as Houston is a sprawling city. All in all, the Modern B&B was perfect for us, and we will be sure to stay there again when we next visit Houston!


Best B&B ever

5 en febrero 05, 2012

For my last two travelling visits to US the best place I have ever stayed. The atmosphere, location to Menil and Rothko chapel ... and last but not least the delicacy of the breakfasts. In Houston area ... I will always stay here.


Modern B and B 2012 stay

3,2 en enero 31, 2012

The room was nice and quiet with private BR and patio to smoke. The carpet in the town house needs to be replaced and the ceiling fan needs a good cleaning. The owner was extremely pleasant, helpful and breakfast was excellent. Would stay again..

Respuesta del propietario

Agreed that the carpet needs to be replaced, we've decided to use flor. Thanks for the info on the fan, it'll be cleaned today. --Lisa


Interesting guests

3,6 en enero 24, 2012

Enjoyed our two night stay. The room and common space were nice. The immediate neighborhood was a little dodgey but the B&B seemed secure and the general location was perfect for our needs. Other guests were SO interesting, artists, dancers, designers - it was a pleasant surprise.


Not a pleasant B&B experience

1,8 en enero 17, 2012

Not a pleasant B&B experience. Immediately upon check-in, we did not feel comfortable here. Gina said we could store bicycles in the garage/office. She neglected to let the owner, Lisa, know about this as we found out the next morning. Gina was unwilling to actually show us to our room 'it's at the top of the stairs, the key should be in the door'. The bed was comfortable enough, however the bathroom was in need of a good clean. Dust and grime on the walls, a towel that had something brown and sticky on it, just not clean enough. Customer service was poor and we were made to feel like an inconvenience for just being there. For $200 per night, I expect that if I have a bicycle in Houston, TX, that I'll be able to keep it on the property. I expect a clean bathroom. Based on prior reviews, I really expected good things from this place and I was incredibly disappointed.


Pleasant surprise

4,8 en enero 05, 2012

I happened across Modern B&B the day before my arrival because I was looking for a relatively cheap place to stay in the Montrose area for the New Year's weekend. One thing that gave me a good first impression right away was that Lisa called me a few hours before I was scheduled to arrive to bring it to my attention that there would be a NYE party in the common area of the B&B and, since my room would be near the party, it might not be a good stay for me. Since I was going to be out while most of the party was going on, I said it was fine...she even offered to bump me up to a bigger room, farther away from the party. I appreciated her reaching out because most hotels in that price range wouldn't have warned me and just taken the money. When I arrived, Lisa was very nice and personable. She even recommended some good bars to go to, as I was going out that night. The building itself was really nice and well-kept. The room looked great and the bed was comfortable. The rooms come with a flat-screen TV and Wi-Fi...both were of good quality. Another high note was the breakfast. There's casserole, eggs (cooked however you want them), fruit, cereal, pastries, smoothies, yogurt, etc. So much to choose from and it's all good. The cook is excellent. The only thing I didn't like was, by nature of it being a B&B, the privacy wasn't what you'd get at a hotel...so bringing a buddy back to the room isn't an option if that's something you'd want to do. Also, the parking could be a bit better, as there's not lot. But overall, I had a great 2 days in Houston, and the hotel was a large part of that. I'll definitely be looking into Modern B&B again next time I visit Houston.


Great way to spend a night away from home

4,8 en diciembre 21, 2011

The Modern B&B was great, Lisa gave us an upgrade to a larger room what was a welcome change. Great location. Finally breakfast in the morning was fantastic, my omelet was perfect. Look forward to another stay.


perfecto!!

4,0 en noviembre 29, 2011

can't say anything bad about this place, the owner and the chef. lovely place, people and great food! will definitely keep this place in mind for my next houston visit.


A stay in The Treehouse

4,4 en noviembre 06, 2011

We so enjoyed our stay at the Modern B & B. It is quite a striking building with its high ceilings and interesting views. Our room, The Treehouse, gave lovely views over the treetops of Houston in 2 directions. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spacious. Breakfast by Chef Roxanne was delicious and varied, a great time for interesting conversations with other guests. Lisa is a great and natural hostess.


Fantastic food and great atmosphere!

4,0 en noviembre 03, 2011

The breakfast, snacks, and beverages throughout the day were all delicious. Very attentive and friendly staff. My only complaint is that it was a little noisy. I was in the Cayman room and could hear the kitchen, living room and front door noise. Luckily I had ear plugs. Otherwise, it was all quite lovely and I'd stay there again.


Great staff, great food, but too expensive

3,4 en octubre 13, 2011

My fiancee and I really liked our experience here, but overall the quality of the stay did not meet our expectations for the price we paid. The breakfasts were excellent. The wine and conversation was great. They gave essentially free reign to the kitchen, including the beer (which we didn't take advantage of, unfortunately). The staff and service was good. However, the rooms were not "hotel quality." The technology is out of date. Our room did not have a flat-screen TV. I think that's pretty standard anymore. When we arrived, the room we were originally going to stay in had a laundry room in it that was being used to wash sheets. They were very nice about telling us that they would get the stuff out of the dryer as soon as possible, but we wanted some alone time, and thus switched to a room that didn't have laundry in it (incidentally, the new room had someone else's clothes in it, and we had to wait for her to get her clothes out before we could take the room). And it's not like we showed up early. We checked in at around 4pm. So, I'd say my ratings are pretty generous despite all that. I would have felt good paying $130-150/night, but not the $216/night that we ended up paying (which, to be fair to the owner, includes a whopping 17% Houston hotel tax!!).


great bed and breakfast!

4,0 en octubre 13, 2011

This is a nice property. Lisa was wonderful and more than accommodating. While we would have liked a little more privacy, we had fun chatting with other guests over wine in the evenings. Our favorite part by far however, was breakfast. We expected to be offered something along the lines of a muffin but instead were met with not only home-made berry coffee cake but also quiche, made-to-order omelets, bacon!, fresh smoothies.... it was wonderful!


Perfect Honeymoon Weekend

4,6 en septiembre 28, 2011

I will never stay at a hotel again! Prime location, EPIC breakfast, amazing bed! We stayed in the Treehouse room and it was very romantic. Theres tons of good food and museums near by. The menil is blocks away. Breakfast time feels so homey. Everyone feels like family. We met a handful of interesting couples from around the country and the world this weekend while we were there. Lisa and Gina were always on call to answer any of our questions about where the nearest grocery store was etc.. Really loved Roxanne the morning chef! Very sweet and a gourmet cook! We will probably swing by in the future for her breakfast. I asked for 2 of her recipes the first morning and the second morning when we came down for breakfast she had both recipes printed out for me. The ONLY thing I did not enjoy about the property was the cat. Surprisingly, I am allergic to cats but not once did I sneeze of have any symptoms of allergies. The cat was constantly trying to attack my feet while I was eating breakfast so that was annoying. And it would leap and claw into my lap while I was at the table too. Although having a cat at the B&B gave it more of a home feel, I didnt like the cat personally.


modern b&b in Houston

4,0 en septiembre 12, 2011

this is a very nice place to stay in Houston. The only complaint we have was the front door remained open late at night. I would feel more comfortable using a key to get in and out of the B&B. Friendly staff and very clean....


THE BEST!

5 en agosto 24, 2011

We stayed while undergoing IVF at Houston IVF. Lisa is wonderful and her place is beyond incredible. We were so comfortable and well taken care of. And we now have our 2nd miracle son. :) We will definately be staying at Modern B & B again!


Houston Holiday

5 en agosto 18, 2011

The Modern B & B was everything that its website lead me to expect -- and MORE! The artful, intellectually rich setting challenged me to do what I did so much more of in my younger years: Enjoy and appreciate the good things in life....and deal more rationally and creatively with the negatives that are always lurking in the balance. Each of my four breakfasts was outstanding! Being able to invite friends in to join us for breakfast and in the evening (for cocktails) was an unexpected treat for everyone! I would love to report that the proprietress really did make us feel as though we were at our home away from home, alas, mine was never so wonderful as the Modern is! She treated me and my family to a delightful 4-day visit there in Houston. I am already checking my calendar to see when I may return.


Home sweet home

5 en agosto 18, 2011

A perfect place to stay if you plan to be museum hopping. Very close to the action and the modern style keeps you in the "zone" during your stay. Breakfast was perfect with a wide selection for all tastes. The view from our room was unobstructed and the room amenities were delightful. The spa tub was a perfect end to a long day of travel and the walk in shower, with body spray nozzles, was an invigorating wake-me-up.


Review

4,4 en agosto 16, 2011

We stayed for two nights and we liked it very much. The location is good, we liked the breakfast, and the bed was very comfortable. Also, we liked the informal atmosphere.


Loved out stay, would recommend

3,6 en agosto 12, 2011

We stayed there for a weekend just to get away and really enjoyed our stay. No one was there when we arrived (late on a friday night) but there was a number for us to call and we were instructed exactly what to do. It was neat to feel like we had that big place to ourselves. We saw only 2 other guests the whole weekend. It was quiet and cozy. Really great room and comfy bed. Loved our stay and would go back again.


Classy and Comfortable

4,4 en julio 22, 2011

The Modern B&B is located in a beautiful neighborhood and is but a short walk to nearby cafes (like cafe Brasil) and art museums/collections; i.e., The Menil Collection, Rothko Chapel and the Cy Twombly Gallery. The building's architecture is lives up to the B&B's name, the interior is classy but comfortable, and I was welcomed in the early evening with wine set out on the dining room table and wholesome muffins, fruit, and other sundry food set out upon the buffet. My room was clean, quiet and relaxing and the morning breakfast was fabulous. What more can one say? Would highly recommend.


Excellent

4,4 en julio 15, 2011

I had a great time at the Modern B&B. Breakfast was fresh and tasty every morning with a surprisingly good range. Wine and nibbles were available every evening. Room cleaned daily. Really large rooms and comfortable surrounds. Lisa was entertaining and informative. I normally have not stayed in B&B's, but have changed my mind now. Great location which is close to bars and restaurants. Highly recommended. I will be back.


Amazing night out with the girls!

4,0 en julio 14, 2011

It was a wonderful experience and I really appreciated that Lisa was able to work with us on such a short notice. The staff and guests are wonderful! The view we had of downtown was breath taking. Quick access to lots of restaurants and clubs!


Modern B&B Houston

4,0 en julio 03, 2011

I love this place. I have stayed 6-7 times and experienced most of the rooms. Love the custom made breakfast by the chef. Always meet interesting people from all over the world. This is the best part of Houston. Close to downtown with lots of great restaurants and shopping nearby.


Awesome B&B

5 en junio 29, 2011

The food was great and the service was awesome will stay here again and highly recommend this B&B


Love this place!

4,4 en junio 01, 2011

This is the second time we've stayed here and it's just fantastic. It's close to everything we like in Houston and the price is unbeatable!


Great even when things go awry

3,6 en mayo 18, 2011

There was a misunderstanding that led to our room not being available when we arrived. Lisa went out of her way to accomodate me and my partner and getting to stay a night in the Cityview room was just fantastic. Highly recommended.


nice but odd stay

1,8 en mayo 10, 2011

I added an additional night, when I checked in I was told I had to move after 2 nights. When questioned about his i got a have baked answer about plumbing and tennis balls in toilets..TMI. I inquired further and got a room for the 3 remaining nights so I did not have to move in the middle of my stay. i was given a very sad room for the price. But hey, I was told by the innkeeper, when the city was sold out of hotels I had little choice. When I arrive back after a very long day i found my room not to have been cleaned. When I stated my dismay and asked why my room not been cleaned I got the answer of "she must have been busy cleaning a rug". There was no sorry, no let me make it up to you, "it happens sometimes" I was told. Food was fantastic, but does not make up for crappy accommodations and even worse bad service from a not so hospitable inn-keeper. There were 2 occasion where conversations were had about staff wages and raises to me and in front of me with other staff. Very weird, just odd. I Wont stay there again nor would I recommend this place. Weird, just weird.


Hip, Cool, and Chic - all wrapped into one!

4,8 en mayo 09, 2011

The Modern B&B was everything I hoped for upon arriving to Houston. The owner Lisa was there to great me as soon as I pulled up (eventhough my flight did not arrive until midnight). I was shown to my room which was just right for my stay. The building itself is very cool...if you like modern design and decor this is the B&B for you. I only wish I could have seen some of the other rooms (all the other rooms were booked during my stay)! The breakfast is amazing at Modern B&B...I was offered various choices each morning and there is plenty of fresh fruit, coffee (or espresso), and smoothies waiting for you as soon as you rise. Each evening Lisa had a few bottles of wine standing by to help everyone relax after a day in Houston...A great touch and great way to sit around and meet some of the other patrons. The variety of guests was exceptional! Lisa also has many recommendations for places to eat and visit during your stay. From the taco truck around the corner to the best mexican food in the city Lisa knows what is going on in and around Houston... If you want to experience something hip, cool, anc chic while visting Houston give Modern B&B a try...I'm so glad I did!


Awesome, and a great value!!

5 en abril 24, 2011

We had such a great stay at The Modern! Lisa was an awesome host, we will definately stay here again!


John's review

4,6 en abril 15, 2011

My friend and I came to Houston for vacation and to visit friends. I lived in Houston for many years and return there often. The Mondern B & B offered an apartment for lease which was a delightful alternative to a hotel room. Seperate bedrooms allowed for peaceful nights sleeping in a Houston neighborhood that I was quite familiar and comfortable with.


The place to stay in Houston

4,6 en marzo 30, 2011

Perfect if you have a rental car! Close to all the highways and quick routes into the city. Can't beat the price for the quality and food value.


Great place and location

5 en marzo 16, 2011

The room was big, clean and really, really, nice. Location and staff great. Home made breakfast. I will definitely go back there when I go back to Austin.


An absolute gem

4,4 en marzo 14, 2011

My wife and I had an amazing time in Houston, and the Modern B&B made it even better. Top notch staff, friendly and helpful. After check in, my wife and I went to dinner and came back to a wonderful bottle of wine out on the table. The next morning, breakfast was more than a feast with an option from the chef to cook us our personal omelet. Would definitely recommend this to a friend and stay again.


Better than at home

4,2 en marzo 09, 2011

This B&B attracts very interesting guests. Therefore not only the breakfast, but also the conversation is terrific.


WOW - I think I found the Coolest BnB in Houston!

5 en febrero 22, 2011

Not only is the building hip and the location is perfectly central, but the hostess is very fun-loving, accommodating, and perfectly interested in your comfort. The enthusiasm of the hostess sets the mood making Modern BnB a friendly place to hang out after work. And to top it all off, the breakfast was the best breakfast I've ever had at a BnB. I had eggs to order the way I like them, coffee with milk, toast, and a small smoothie every morning. There was also cereals, freshly made bread and muffins, quiche, yogurt, teas, fruits and more. They were also meat eater and vegetarian-friendly. Staying at this locale set my morning in a very positive light before I rushed off to work. Thanks Modern BnB! :-)


Nice place.

4,4 en febrero 16, 2011

Looks/is as advertised; photographs are accurate (it really is that good). Very pleasant, very nicely hosted, excellent food, quiet and convenient location. (I would prefer not too many people find out about this, so that it does not become one of those places that is so popular it is booked solid a year ahead!)


A Wonderful Time at the Modern B&B

5 en febrero 02, 2011

The apartment was great. Very vintage and nice. Great kitchen area, very comfortable beds.


Anniversary at the Modern

3,8 en febrero 02, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the treehouse room. It was incredible, especially the bathroom. The space was fabulous and the view was great, we will definitely make plans to come back. Breakfast in the morning seemed a bit week. Pancakes trickled out of the kitchen, letting half the people seated have one before sending the plate back for more. It would have been nice to have some eggs or bacon with the pancakes too.


Modern B & B

4,0 en enero 22, 2011

Very nice stay in Houston. Lovely neighborhood, great location, excellent breakfast, nice room. The only downside was that the mattress was not comfortable - needs replacement.

Respuesta del propietario

Please let us know which room you stayed in so we can resolve the problem.


bed frame

3,2 en noviembre 23, 2010

I stayed in a room below another and was up all night due to hearing a very noisy bed frame from above. The couple staying had a lot of sex which is quite lovely but the bed frame made a lot of noise. I wonder if this could be looked at and fixed.


Suggestions for City View

3,2 en noviembre 11, 2010

Service had trouble finding my reservation (same thing happened to next couple coming in) The Room is great with a good view of downtown Houston. However, it is cold in the shower. perhaps a curtain or glass door to enclose the warmth would help us enjoy the large space in the shower better


The best B&B experience ever

4,8 en octubre 30, 2010

Lisa made me feel at home, even when so far from home and at the beginning of a long tiring journey. After one day it already felt like belonging there. The perfect place to stay, both on holidays or on a business trip. Wouldn't know what else to say in order to recommend it, but it definitely is worth the money (and the trip!)


A Winner!

4,0 en octubre 21, 2010

Very nice! Would definitely return. Lisa and team are exceptionally accomodating and helpful.


Beautiful Accomodations, Great Locations, Unique Experience

5 en julio 28, 2009

Lisa made us feel incredibly welcome. She was warm, open and friendly. The B&B itself is beautiful without being pretentious, and is in the best neighborhood in Houston -- where we will now be living! Thanks Lisa!


Nice place

4,0 en julio 13, 2009

people were nice and place was nice. Good location from downtown and the stadium.


excellent!

4,0 en junio 18, 2009

Accommodations were clean, spacious, and inviting. Standard spa room was perfect for a weekend getaway. Food and service were fantastic!


Modern Inn

5 en junio 18, 2009

the room, the service, the food, all excellent. The owner and chef were knowledgeable about the area. Friendly staff. We will certainly return!


A great retreat in a busy city!

4,4 en junio 08, 2009

My family and I loved our stay at the Modern B&B. The hostess, Lisa, was amazing, and we felt to welcomed and comfortable. Definitely coming back!


A great home base in Houston

4,8 en junio 08, 2009

I just spent a lovely Saturday with the Modern B&B as my home base in Houston. The architecture is certainly striking; I was drawn to linger with a book in one of the light-filled living rooms. Innkeeper Lisa Thompson welcomed me with a cool drink, and quickly got me oriented to the many resources in the inn's very hip neighborhood. Fresh-baked cookies kept appearing, too. Everything about the facility is clean and inviting. Breakfast was wonderful. Many good restaurants are only a few blocks away; and the heart of Houston's Museum district is only a bit more than a mile away, an easy walk if you are up to the Houston heat. The Menil Collection and Rothko Chapel are especially close, and were for me the highlights of my visit. I stayed in the least expensive room, and found it very comfortable and well-designed. Definitely a great place to visit, and one you'll want to return to.


Excellent B&B for Art lovers

5 en mayo 19, 2009

This B&B is excellent, great rooms, clean, well equiped and best of all if you are visiting Houston to see the De Menil Collection, Rothko's Chapel etc, its very near by and a lovely walk. The host is very friendly and so is her team. They have a welcoming casual style but are sensitive to the guests' personal space as well. The breaksfasts are superb. This is the best B&B I have stayed at and value for money too.


absolute gem!

5 en mayo 08, 2009

Nestled in a quiet unassuming area of Houston that is close to great dining and shopping. The staff was so warm and friendly that you feel like you are staying with family. Love it!!!


Fabulous getaway!

5 en mayo 08, 2009

The bed and breakfast is an eclectic mix of contemporary mini malest style and southern warmth and hospitality. Our host, Lisa Thompson, is friendly and engaging. THe food was exceotional. 5 star experience.


Awesome!

5 en mayo 03, 2009

You have to experience it to believe it. The accomodations are totally "awesome." Outstanding food, fun, conversaton, and generous hospitality are understatements.


Best little B&B in Houston

5 en abril 16, 2009

We were looking for something new and fresh and found it all at the Modern B&B. Its the coolest thing since iced tea! Just think architect dream house meets contemporary museum!


Quiet but exciting and convenient

5 en febrero 27, 2009

Quiet, but very fun. Exceedingly accommodating B&B with the best breakfast...Great flavor and excellent preparation!


I just love this place!

4,2 en febrero 16, 2009

I travel all the time for business and almost exclusively stay at B&B's. I have realized that everytime I drive into a city and am heading to a new B&B that I hope it will be like the Modern B&B in Houston. If you feel young at heart, hip, unconventional, artistic, intellectual & progressive - this is the place for you. Houston is a fun city, but honestly when I get there, the Modern is my destination. Lisa is awesome! Gina is super sweet and Chris is such a great sport. Chris is the breakfast chef and I am the vegan... he makes a fantastic tofu & spinach scramble!! On top of all this there is a great yoga studio within walking distance. I will warn anyone, there is an air of confusion and quirkiness when you get there for your first visit. I really think this is because most of the regular guests act and think it is their own house. They are usually lounging around petting a cat, sitting on a sofa in the living room, drinking a glass of wine at the beautiful granite bar or hanging out on the balcony. The first time you walk in, all the other guests look at you and say "Hey"... and then you (new guest) generally say "Are you Lisa?" It rocks! This is not your grandmother's house and if there is an antique anywhere, it has been cleverly disguised or perhaps overlooked. This last statement is purely selfish - but if any other B&B owners are reading this review... go stay at the Modern B&B. This is what many young, professional travelers are trying to find.


Modern B&B

5 en enero 14, 2009

so totally unexpected. Our stay could not have been better! Fantastic!


An architect 's destination...

4,2 en diciembre 18, 2008

Beautiful B&B with lots of charm. Friendly and hospitable staff or a sweet and kind owner. An amazing chef, and the social kitty cat!


Great break from boring hotels

4,8 en diciembre 18, 2008

A great place to stay with interesting details. A good break from the typical hotel or B&B. Highly recommended!


great stay!

5 en diciembre 09, 2008

the Modern B&B is perfectly located in Montrose. The accommodations were clean, nice, and spacious. The other guests and staff were great to talk to and very interesting. They anticipated all our needs.


Montrose Salon

5 en diciembre 09, 2008

Modern B&B provides it all- great conversation, interesting people, wonderful food, and lovely accommodations. The owner, Lisa, will be your new friend.


Welcome respite from stress

5 en diciembre 04, 2008

After moving to Houston from out of state, I stayed at Modern B & B for a week while trying to get organized. Lisa and her staff were fabulous! From the great room I was given to the instant ease I felt in the common areas of the home, to the caviar egg dish for breakfast or something else so fancy I can't remember its name, I was completely pampered!


Reserve the Treehouse Room!

5 en diciembre 01, 2008

It was my first time at the Modern B&B. The service was great, as was the company. Highly recommend!


FANTASTIC

5 en diciembre 01, 2008

Welcoming, friendly, fun, great food, and wonderful accommodations!


Houston-Nov.

3,8 en noviembre 20, 2008

Very hospitable, excellent food!


Impressed

4,2 en octubre 23, 2008

I was impressed by the friendliness of the owner and by the clean rooms and great atmosphere!


Please Don't tell how good it is

5 en octubre 15, 2008

If everyone knew how great this place is, i wouldn't be able to get a room because they would be sold out always.


Fun and friendly

4,0 en octubre 10, 2008

I felt "at home" instantly. Very comfortable bed and a great breakfast. Highly recommended.


A Great Stay!

4,6 en octubre 10, 2008

Lisa & her staff are amazing! My room was cozy, clean & quiet. Enjoyed talking with the other guests at breakfast and in the evenings over a glass of wine. Felt right at home (but didn't have to clean!)


A great stay!

4,2 en agosto 26, 2008

Modern B&B was a terrific place to stay for our short trip to Houston! The location is excellent, within walking distance at the Menil collection and our room and breakfast were great!


"Above and Beyond"

4,8 en julio 18, 2008

When I arrived with a reservation for the cheapest room in the house, Lisa (the proprietor) offered me an upgrade to one of the nicest rooms in the place! Very friendly, comfortable.


An Oasis in a Busy City

5 en julio 03, 2008

Traffic, Hustle & Bustle, Whew! Hot Sticky weather to boot - the calm & tranquil oasis at the Modern B&B! Great Stay


Wonderful place.

5 en junio 25, 2008

Modern B&B will reset your expectations of a bed and breakfast. It's stylish and fashionable, but still very comfortable and friendly. And this is definitely a b&b you can consider for business travel, with Wifi and nice common areas to work in. Lisa is a wonderful host, providing great conversation and excellent recommendations for dining, etc. And she has a great staff supporting her. Saundra cooks up a delicious breakfast. Modern B&B is also in one of the best, if not the best, neighborhoods in Houston, with lots of museums, boutiques, good food. You'll feel like a native, not a tourist.


Most interesting conversation I have experienced in my life.

4,2 en junio 20, 2008

The host are wonderful and the guests were very special. A fantastic night of conversation, laughter and good wine.


WOW!

5 en junio 12, 2008

Amazing place to stay. Lisa is a great host AND a great person. 5 STARS!!!!


Secret Gem!

4,0 en junio 11, 2008

This is a great place if your want somewhere that is unique and in the center of things. It is close to museums and restaurants. A very wonderful, non-traditional B&B. We would go back.


Fisrt time stay but will always return

4,2 en junio 10, 2008

The owner and host is an an amazing young lady, her attention to details and helpfulness are outstanding. Breakfasts were great and the evening gatherings onsite or at a local restaurant are truly memorable. The food, fun and fellowship only occur in special places such as Modern B&B.


Lovely & Fun

4,6 en junio 10, 2008

Thoroughly enjoyed my short stay. Great room. Breakfast made to order. Great conversation with other guests.


Wonderfully Unique!

3,4 en junio 09, 2008

From the surroundings to the hostess, Lisa, this place was a treat. Great bed and yummy sheets.


Outstanding stay in Houston

5 en mayo 09, 2008

I stayed here with a group of four to attend a conference for a 12 day period in February. Lisa and her team were just fantastic in every sense of the word. There was nothing more that she could have done to make us feel more welcome. From the advice to eat out, the outstanding breakfasts, the glass of wine awaiting our arrival each night, to the atmosphere and conversation with Lisa and other guests each night around the loungeroom. Oh and the rooms of course were also great. If you are staying in Houston this is the place to stay. Thanks Lisa. Regards Jeff.


Modern B and B a must stay in Houston

5 en abril 30, 2008

Lisa has gone out of her way to make my stays (3 now) as comfortable as possible. With her open free-style living area arrangement and awesome breakfasts, the value is substantial.


First rate experience.

5 en marzo 30, 2008

I stayed at Modern for a business seminar this weekend, and the B&B made it feel more like a vacation. I stayed in the top suite pictured in the photos, which had an enormous walk-in closet, two balconies, and a bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, state-of-the-art German shower head, and two sinks. Throughout the inn, the architecture is stunning and has a very homey feel without being fussy. It is also located in a beautiful residential neighborhood just a few minutes' walk from the Menil museum, a grocery store, and St. Thomas University. What makes the Modern special, though, is the innkeeper, Lisa, who makes amazing gourmet breakfasts every morning and makes sure that every guest's needs are met. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and look forward to my next trip to Houston.


Excellent experience!

5 en febrero 18, 2008

We had the best time! The staff is so kind & the food is delicious! The place was spic & span. It was easy to find & in a great location. And the beds were incredibly comfortable! I would definitely stay here again!

Respuesta del propietario

Thansk for the nice review. I absolutely love runninghte Modern B & B and it is great to know that you all enjoyed it. You made my day!!!


Wow!!!!!!!

4,4 en febrero 17, 2008

From the moment that I spoke with Lisa to inquire about the inn, she was very courteous and accomodating. Our initial draw was the jacuzzi and slate shower of the top shelf room, but the total ambience of the inn was wonderful. Lisa was very helpful in providing maps and any information on places that we inquired about. This place is an absolute must for a romantic getaway. I loved it so much that I told my husband the next stay would be my treat. felicia & alvin


ideal place to stay if you read Dwell magazine

4,6 en diciembre 16, 2007

The innkeeper really goes out of her way to make you feel welcome & the B&B has a clean and minimal design sensibility. It is the ideal place to stay in Houston if you read Dwell-type magazines. I always stay at the Modern B&B when I am in town and suggest it to my friends and colleagues. This past stay I arranged for 4 guests to also stay at the Modern B&B with me and it was a good choice. The location of the B&B is good if you want to experience the Montrose neighborhood which includes Whole Foods, The Menil Museum, Yoga Ananda & local flavor of the W.Alabama Ice House.


The only choice for your Houston visit!

5 en diciembre 07, 2007

Lisa, the owner, is completely wonderful! The architecture of the house itself is impressive, yet cozy. The breakfast spread makes you race to the kitchen in the morning...and the beautiful, modern bedrooms ease you to sleep at night. Its the best place to stay while in Houston!


Both the proprietor and accomodations are delightful.

5 en noviembre 12, 2007

Lisa, the owner, is delightful, welcoming, interesting and generous in taking care of her guests. The architecture is spacious, comfortable and a pleasure to live in. We found it a real treat to stay here while visiting Houston.


Hip Spot in the Montrose area

5 en octubre 06, 2007

Lisa and Rodney are very knowledgeable about the area. They are very friendly and outgoing, and when I stayed there, they had a birthday party to which all the B&B guests were invited! Way to go, Rodney and Lisa!


Out of this World

5 en septiembre 25, 2007

Friendliest hosts, engaging & entertaining, excellent location, best night sleep i've had in a long time, quiet, candle-light bath, delicious and seemingly endless amounts of tasty treats, privacy, secluded, wonderful balconies with intriguing views. spacious, reasonable, worth every penny. can't wait to visit again.


The Spa Experience

5 en septiembre 17, 2007

My husband and I stayed this past weekend and it was a great experience. From the moment you walked in, you felt welcomed. We stayed in the Spa room and the jacuzi's location was romantic and a great feature.The bed and linens were heaven. And the flat screen was awesome. We loved the home made, wholesome breakfast. I also booked a massage and it was to die for. I only wished we could have stayed longer. Thanks for a great time!!!!!!!!!!!


This B&B was the highlight of my trip to Houston!

4,6 en septiembre 16, 2007

This was the best B&B experience I have had so far! I stayed in one of the Mod rooms. It was simple and very comfortable, but there was some noise in the mornings as breakfast was being prepared. The restroom is just up eight stairs right by the room, basically across the hall. No problem at all! Breakfast was absolutely delightful. Being vegan, I am usually lucky if there is some toast & fresh fruit set aside for me. But at the Modern B&B, every morning there was a vegan smoothie, fresh fruit, vegan granola and soy milk! One morning Clair made vegan banana bread and the next morning Lisa made a vegan oatmeal/cranberry/walnut bake, wow! Rodney & Lisa were wonderfully witty hosts. I looked forward to chatting with them in the mornings and afternoons. The architecture was refreshing and interesting as were the other guests! I can't wait to stay here again.


I LOVED this place!

5 en agosto 09, 2007

My boyfriend and I came here for our birthdays and had the most wonderful, relaxing time! We stayed in the treehouse room and we LOVED it! The service was wonderful, the breakfasts were fantastic, and our weekend was unforgettable! We will definitely come back for more modern b&b!


Another excellent stay

4,8 en mayo 29, 2007

We needed a last minute location for two people, for four days to work in downtown. Once again, Lisa really accommodated us with a location large enough that we had a three laptop wireless network, and a laser printer!


Lisa and Modern B&B changed my mind about Houston

5 en abril 06, 2007

I travel for busines quite frequently and had always avoided Houston like the plague mostly because of awful hotel experiences. This time I was forced to spend 3 days (April 3-5 2007) and found Modern B&B on the Internet. From the moment I met Lisa and entered her home, I knew this experience would be different. The home itself is magnificent, Lisa is warm and lovely (Rodney was away on business) and the food delicious and plentiful. Even though I was just a guest (traveling alone) Lisa invited me to a potluck dinner she was hosting that night and I got to dine with a bunch of interesting and friendly people, some of whom were friends and some of whom were guests that had become friends. I hope I now will fall into that latter category myself! I can't wait to come back to Houston and enjoy Lisa and her home again. Caryl Kahn, Long Island, New York


Great Hospitality

5 en marzo 26, 2007

The Modern Bed and Breakfast is wonderful showcase for clean, modern design. But, more than that - the owners are extremely helpful and friendly. They will go out of their way to help you out - be it finding a nice restaurant, calling you a cab, or just giving you good advice about Houston. There is always lots of friendly conversation around the breakfast table. This B&B really does make you feel right at home!


Spring Trip Stop

5 en marzo 12, 2007

We are two students who decided to spend a night in Houston en route to S. Padre Island, Texas. Everything was better then we could have wished for. Everyone was very nice, and didn't treat us any different even though we are a bit younger. Our room was absolutely wonderful and we couldn't have asked for a better stay. Lisa is also a great cook and our breakfast was delicious. If you are looking for a nice place to stay in Houston, definitely look at the Modern because we will undoubtedly return if we're ever back in the area. Being avid travelors, we can honestly say this is one of the best experiences we've had.


The Place for an Event

5 en marzo 08, 2007

Lisa and Rodney have the hippest locale to host a fun event. My son and his wife had their wedding reception at the Modern B&B last year and it was a blast! Lisa and Rodney made sure that everthing was in excellent working order and we were all comfortable making ourselves right at home. Their skill at hosting an event is exemplery. My wife and I highly recommend their accomodations for your next swanky shindig!


The best place to stay 'Inside The Loop'

5 en marzo 07, 2007

I’ve stayed at the Modern B&B three times in the last year. Even the smallest room I’ve had was comfortable and stylish. In addition to the free wireless and flat screen tv, my room looked out over a cool inner-Houston neighborhood, rather than the usual generic view you get at a chain motel. The B&B is also an easy walk from several excellent restaurants and bars. The first time I stayed at the Modern B&B my decision was based on the fact their room rate was $25 cheaper than any of the motels in the area. I came back twice more because of the casual and welcoming nature of the two hosts and their convenient and enjoyable rooms. The fantastic breakfast and coffee was also a bonus—free range eggs homemade waffles!


double booking nightmare.

2,2 en febrero 20, 2007

My boyfriend and I were meeting up in Houston at Modern BB to celebrate Valentine’s Day and attend a wedding. Although we both have a youthful appearance, we are both professionals with extensive degrees and many years of working experience. Assuming that we were students, Lisa, made several snide remarks during breakfast alluding to the stereotype she had assigned us. We let the snide comments go and left to attend the wedding. As we drove up to the wedding, I received a phone call from Lisa, wanting to know why we had not checked out of our room. I told her that our reservation was for two nights. She told me I was wrong, so I apologized. Upon finding the document 15 minutes later, I returned her call to inform her that we had indeed reserved the room for two nights. She promised that she would figure it out, but little did I know that prior to even checking to see if she had made a booking mistake, she had already ordered the maid to pack up our belongings. I spent the rest of the entire evening on the phone with Lisa, unable to enjoy my friend’s wedding or the company of my boyfriend. Although Lisa did extend a feeble attempt at an apology, she blamed the incident on me, telling me that she had only charged my credit card for one night and that it was my fault for not catching it. Lisa informed me that she was giving the room to her other guests, citing her reasons that they were older than us. We were left for the evening without our luggage. We had no clothes or toiletries and we stayed in a cheap motel. We had one car between the two of us, which my boyfriend had to use for an early morning appointment. I pulled some strings and was able to get someone to drive me 45 minutes to go pick up my car and our jumbled luggage. After spending the entire evening and the wedding sorting out the Modern BB’s mistake, the real clincher was the unapologetic attitude I received when I arrived to collect my belongings. I will never stay here again.

Respuesta del propietario

We thought the guest had booked for one night and charged for one night upon check in. $117. room rate plus tax. At that time the guest did not indicate she had a 2 night booking. We discovered the overbook when she did not check out on Saturday. We called her and offered to book her in a nicer hotel and deliver her bags there. We offered the Icon, Lancaster, Derek, Magnolia. She indicated she was in Baytown so I offered to book her a room there. She refused to allow me to reaccomodate her and booked her own room. I credited her for the first night. She was very angry and no matter what apology I gave she was not willing to accept it. We are sincerely sorry this happened and make ever effort for such thing not to happen. I am sorry for the mistake


Fantastic Stay!

5 en febrero 02, 2007

Had an absolutely fantastic stay. The place itself is beautiful, unique rooms, very quiet and relaxed. Hosts Lisa and Rodney were just wonderful. Their personal interest in their guests and all their suggestions on where to go and what to do sent me places I never would have found myself. Highly recommend.


Modern B & B

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $100 - $295
  • Comentarios (175) 4,4
  • Habitaciones 12
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Tel. móvil
    1-8322796367
  • Sin cargo
    1-8004624014

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba