Back Forty of Fredericksburg Comentarios

TOTAL

4,4

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,3
  • Servicios4,5
  • Estimación4,3
  • Limpieza4,5
  • Comidas4,4

Puntuación basada en
13 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

we had a great stay!! despiteTripadvisor scaring us

3,4 en septiembre 09, 2014

My boyfriend and I planned a last minute trip to Fredericksburg for Labor Day weekend, so most of the B&Bs were already booked. We booked the Back40 after reading good reviews on the Airbnb website, but we got really nervous after we checked Tripadvisor's many negative reviews for this place. We pretty much were expecting to hate this place, but our stay went really well! We stayed in the Sunday Haus cabin, and it was very clean and comfy when we arrived. Our only complaints were that the wifi didn't work at all (we like to watch a movie before we fall asleep), the king bed was two twins pushed together (like the reviews said), and the breakfast was just store bought pastry (but we personally didn't mind that at all)...other than that we had a great stay!! It was so close to Main St.. so that was really helpful! We're already thinking of planning a trip to go back to the Back 40 with our friends in the winter.. Neither my boyfriend nor I had ever been to a B&B before, so maybe that's why we were okay with a store bought pastry for breakfast...and I can imagine that the place would be better if the water wasn't dried up, but regardless we had a great stay..we used the large green grass behind the cabins to play croquet (that we bought at Walmart). It was a great, peaceful, romantic getaway spot, and we loved our trip!


Back Forty - June 2013

4,0 en septiembre 09, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Back Forty in June of 2013. The accommodations were charming and the hosts were gracious. The property has a lot to explore (Horses, Goats, Ducks, Water, Dogs, etc) and is very conveniently located. The home-cooked breakfast was amazing on both days and we woke to pleasant sunlight. I enjoyed the slower paced lifestyle and Hill Country charm. We would most certainly stay again. This is NOT a large corporate-run hotel chain so one should not expect a Holiday Inn - but that is why we stayed here!


Will most definately be back.

5 en agosto 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Back Forty several times now, and have loved each and every stay. It is such a charming place. The food is fantastic and the beds are very comfortable. It is just far enough out of town to give you all the peace and quiet you want, but close enough to enjoy all that Fredericksburg has to offer. A lovely place to stay. We will definately be back again!


Worse experience ever

1,4 en junio 10, 2013

This is quite honestly, THE worse experience I have ever had with lodging. I give it 1 star only because it DOES have a bed and bathroom. I actually left this property before my intended check-out because it was so bad and so was the service. To summarize- A property that describes "overlooking a small lake" that overlooks a field. Now I don't fault her for the drought, but for not updating the website or TELLING ME about the changes, that's just poor business. A property that doesn't even have signage, making it difficult to locate. A property that promises a pool and Jacuzzi but in reality had broken furniture and was filthy dirty. It looks NOTHING like it does on the website. She told me it was going to be repaired that it broke the previous week but why not tell me that BEFORE I made the reservation? Again- dishonest business practice. A "King" bed that was really 2 twins put together that seems at least 10+ years old with shoddy linens and pillows and a worn out "foam square" placed on top she calls a "memory foam". No respect for privacy (no curtains on the windows, if present they were sheer and worn, when I asked her to fix this for my stay, she hung a sheet over the door). A bathroom with old, worn towels and a faucet that doesn't work. A kitchen with 2 forks and 2 plates (I was going to stay for 10 days!) Old food and coffee A tiny old TV that only got 1 good channel, the rest had poor reception. No local guides or suggestions on Fredericksburg, which is standard in every other B&B. In fact one magazine was from 2009. For this kind of $$ I have stayed at places 10x nicer. I would rate this about equal to a Motel 6. There is no update to the property, usually no answer when you call, and when I attempted to speak to the owner she hung up on me TWICE!

Respuesta del propietario

We at the Back Forty of Fredericksburg feel badly about this guest's experience. I offered to let her stay for free the next time she worked in the area, as she explained that her job was cut short. When she checked in I explained that the pool was out of order, but that it would be cleaned the next day and repaired soon thereafter, which we did do. She also mentioned that she would not be swimming, just sitting next to the pool. In fact, we even went out and purchased a chaise lounge for her to sit in next to the pool, as she was not happy with the Adirondack chairs. In regard to food, when she made the reservation, I said that if I was going to do 'no breakfast' I would discount $55 per day, if she were going to stay 11 days. She liked that, so no food should have been expected. The small bottle of milk was marked 'sell by' the day she checked in, and I should have taken it out of the fridge. We had just recently replaced all the linens and towels in all three cottages, so we were very surprised to hear of quality complaints. We have wonderful guests, and have been here more than 20 years, with lots of repeat customers, many have become friends. We are very sorry for this guest's experience, and we also try to be very receptive and accommodating to guest's feedback.


Engagement Getaway

4,8 en mayo 02, 2013

My fiancee and I recently stayed here and loved every minute of it. Patricia (the owner) was wonderful and helped make this weekend even more special than it already was. The property is gorgeous, very peaceful and quiet. My favorite part of the trip would be when we came back from town in the evenings just in time to watch the whitetail graze in the pasture almost like clockwork both nights. The breakfast was incredible...omelette with bacon, toast, muffins, fresh fruit the first morning and powdered crepes with sausage and fresh strawberries the second. All in all Patricia runs an excellent bed & breakfast and we have already made plans to come back to remember our engagement.


We plan to keep coming for many years.

5 en abril 23, 2013

We've been here twice now... once to celebrate MY 40th Birthday, and just recently to celebrate MY WIFE'S 40th birthday. The grounds are beautiful, the sound of quiet is all around you, and the food Mrs. Collins prepares is five star quality. I highly recommend it.


A little piece of Heaven on Earth

5 en febrero 27, 2013

Looking for a great Texas get-a-way . . this is the place. We have come to Back Forty for 20 years and look for any opportunity to sneak way for a few days. . any season, it is wonderful and Oh So Private!!! We have sent family from El Paso, Michigan and Florida . . and they too always talk about how wonderful it was. Convenient to the city, but out of the City bustle. The owners are caring but don't stick to you like glue. You have your complete privacy and the property is lovely to absorb during the day and evening hours. We are always grateful Bill and Pat are willing to share their little piece of heaven on earth. J. S. Irving, Texas


Heaven on Earth

4,8 en enero 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We felt like we were far away from the hustle and bustle of daily life, but we were only a short drive from charming downtown Fredericksburg. Our massages were nothing short of heavenly, and the food was absolutely scrumptious. We highly recommend Back Forty B & B without hesitation!


A Time for Reflection

3,8 en agosto 16, 2012

The Back Forty was a wonderful retreat from everyday life. It is a rustic country BandB where you see few people. At night the sky is so dark that you can see the Milky Way float across the sky and a shooting star, if you take the time to look. You can pet the horses in the morning and partake of a wonderful full breakfast. Our room was clean and very confortable and quiet. To those nay sayers and your reviews, I say this. You twenty or thirty something's, you who have never been disconnected from your IPhones or Facebook, you have no appreciation for the solitude of the real world. As a matter of fact, it scares you to death. So I say to you, go spend your time at a big resort with lost of bars and music and noise with other insensitive and ineffectual young people. That is where you belong and leave this lovely tranquil place to those of us who can appreicate its beauty........CSG


Lovely retreat

5 en septiembre 23, 2011

Charming, quiet, peaceful, timeless, and floral! I needed a retreat away from the world for two days, and the Garden Room was perfect, an hour from Austin. I read two books, dined, napped, rested. The owner is thoughtful, attentive, yet she kept out of my way, which was good. A great place to recharge...annually! "Same time next year."


Anniversary getaway

5 en junio 10, 2011

We enjoyed the privacy of the Back Forty property and its close proximity to town. Our guest house was unique and lovely and Patricia left delicious strudel to enjoy for breakfast. She didn't complain when we locked ourselves out in bathrobes either! My husband enjoyed a fly fishing lesson onsite while I had a wonderful massage, the innkeepers dining suggestions for The Nest and Hilltop Cafe were also highlights of the weekend. We look forward to another visit.


A welcome retreat that we return to year after year

5 en septiembre 13, 2010

We've been staying in the French cottage at the Back Forty every year for the past six years. Pat and Bill are wonderful hosts! The cottage is historic, cozy, and full of charm which is why we request it each time. It's hard to list all of the things we love about this place. It's so nice to wake up and walk a few feet to the pond for terrific fishing (the flyfishing lessons are great -- this year caught a 14lb, 28" catfish on the fly), and the property offers pastoral views, and lots of quiet places for picnics or walks. I always know I'm on vacation when I'm lying there in the little log spa cabin, having an amazing massage, and look out the window to see a long horn pass by to take a sip from the nearby stream -- so quiet and beautiful, yet only a two minute drive Fredericksburg. With Pat and Bill you'll receive a warm welcome, they'll spoil you with amazing cooking, and can tell you anything you want to know about Fredericksburg. Writing all this, I can't wait till our next vacation! Ernie & Elysia, Ontario, Canada


Great place to get away!

5 en enero 28, 2010

We stayed here about 2 years ago and had a great time. It was very nice and quiet. Great place to get away and enjoy some quiet time. Also did some fishing in the huge lake on the property.


Back Forty of Fredericksburg

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $150 - $399
  • Comentarios (13) 4,4
  • Habitaciones 5

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-8309929034

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba