Palmer's Pinckney Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,0

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,0
  • Servicios4,2
  • Estimación4,0
  • Limpieza4,1
  • Comidas3,5

Puntuación basada en
176 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Great Service

4,4 en julio 19, 2014

We had a great time! The staff was fabulous. They were very friendly and helpful. You can park and not need the car until it's time to leave. The Inn is close to Charleston's downtown, market and harbor, all easy walks.


Can't wait to go back

4,8 en junio 12, 2014

Went down for my wife's birthday and felt like we "discovered" a hidden gem! Innkeepers were so nice and accommodating and we loved the room. Feel like you are staying with friends in a nice home in the heart of Charleston. We have been going to the area for nearly 30 years and so glad to find a home away from home!! Try it!


Amazing experience

5 en junio 05, 2014

My girlfriend and I arrived at the Inn on Sunday for a 1 night stay and we were both equally in shock at how amazing the room and property was. The location of the property was perfect as it was close to down town bars and restaurants but on a nice quiet side road where peace and tranquillity could be found. The cleanliness of the room was outstanding with all amenities provided. The service of the staff was above and beyond. I unfortunately didn't get to experience the dining at the Inn but the facilities and options available only gave me the impression that it would be outstanding as well.


unique,quaint,loved the innkeepers

3,8 en mayo 30, 2014

the innkeepers were most helpful and friendly....Charleston is overpriced and overvalued,but this place was a good value with nice enough rooms....we did have to fix our own breakfast which food they provided nicely....we are glad we stayed here and would return....


Outstanding service

4,2 en mayo 12, 2014

I was blown away by how welcome Palmer's Pinckney Inn made my husband and I feel during our stay. All of our interaction with the staff was extremely positive. We loved the kitchen set-up. They didn't have full meals, but they had more than enough breakfast options, plus snacks and WINE for the taking. Besides- they're literally a 5-10 minute walk from some of our favorite restaurants. The coffee station outside of the door was a great idea. We definitely took advantage of the porch table/chairs and watched the carriage tours roll on by. The room was fine- the blinds were broken, but doubled with the curtain, it wasn't a big deal. We stayed in the Bombay room-- the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom clean. I do think they should go back to the white comforter in the pictures though :) You may be able to find 'classier' places, but for the price and location Palmer's Pinckney Inn can't be beat.


Our first BnB experience

2,8 en mayo 02, 2014

This was our first stay in a bed and breakfast so we were not sure what to expect. My husband and I like to be alone when we get away, we don't realy care if there is someone waiting on us. We were given the courtesy of being left alone by the staff but they always said hi and asked if we needed anything when we did see them. Only thing that we didn't like was that the mornings were always noisy because the Inn is right in the middle of the tourist area and next to the carriage barns.


Excellent Place to Stay, Excellent Location

4,6 en mayo 01, 2014

This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast, so we were not quite sure what to expect. We were blown away by Palmer's Pickney Inn and the staff! This inn is in a great location, making it a short walk to anywhere you'd like to go in the Historic District. All of the staff were super friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was clean and well decorated. We would not think twice about staying here or about recomending Palmer's Pickney Inn to our friends!


Great Location

3,8 en abril 21, 2014

Great location that's within walking distance to everything in historic district. Rooms were very comfortable but there isn't any real indoor common area to sit and chat, etc. if it's raining but there are wonderful rocking chairs on the upstairs balcony. We enjoyed our stay.


Great Location, Friendly Staff

5 en abril 19, 2014

Excellent location. Close to many attractions. Within walking distance to almost everything. Friendly staff. Dawn was helpful with suggestions and directions. Room was comfortable with a king size bed snd a nice private bath with a whirlpool tub. Very light breakfast at this Inn, but for $5 we were able to go to the 'Mother' Inn - The Palmer House for a big spread. I would definitely recommend Palmer's Pinckney Inn to anyone.


great location

3,4 en abril 03, 2014

My host was very gracious, offering wine for the evening as well as a continental style breakfast for the next day, however, due to a change in plans, I did not take advantage of either. My first floor room had windows right on the sidewalk, which was initially a little disconcerting, but it was not a problem once I got used to people walking and talking right outside my room. The room was furnished nicely and had a wonderful gas fireplace in it. The area was close to the water, restaurants, parks and everything you could want. The one thing that was interesting was that I kept smelling a stable type of smell and I couldn't figure out what it was....the next morning I got up before dawn to take my dog for a walk and discovered the inn was about 2 doors down from a stable where they keep the horses/mules for carriage rides! Would I stay here again....yes, when I can stay for more than 1 night!


A great place to stay when visiting old town Charleston

4,6 en marzo 23, 2014

We booked last minute and were lucky to find Palmer's Pinckney Inn. Service before we arrived and on arrival was very friendly and efficient. It is so close to so much - the sights, food, market, somewhere to get a beer or a coffee. Breakfast was great in casual setting with staff and other guests. We had a great time made all the better by our stay


Palmer's Pinckney Inn - 3 nights in Charleston!

3,4 en marzo 04, 2014

The location of this Inn is convenient to many of the fine restaurants in Charleston as well as the public Market Place. As with most buildings in the old part of the city, this Inn has it's quirks that add to its charm. The innkeeper, Dawn, recommended a number of great things to do and restaurants to try. If you are a fan of rustic old dwellings you will love this inn - if not, try a more conventional hotel.


Palmer's Pinckney Inn was my first B&B experience.

4,4 en marzo 04, 2014

I always avoided B&B"s because as a child on the rare occasions when my family went on vacation we had to stay in "tourist homes", bathroom at the end of the hall shared by all, etc. But I wanted a convenient location where I could walk to a lot of destinations and convenient to restaurants. I also needed pet friendly. The Pinckney Inn fit the bill perfectly. And Dawn and Teri were more than helpful in making suggestions and reservations. Happily my first B&B experience was a positive one. I would stay here again.


loved it

5 en febrero 21, 2014

Thank you for your hospitality. We loved it and would recommend your place to other.


We Will Return

3,8 en enero 06, 2014

My fiance and I spent two lovely nights at Palmer's Pinckney Inn. The room was cozy and charming and the staff was very helpful with restaurant suggestions, things to do and directions.


Great location, great place

3,8 en enero 04, 2014

We had a great time staying at the Pinckney Inn. The Inn is within walking distance to everything you would want to go to in Charleston. The place was clean and charming. We stayed in the Cottage Room with our small dog. The bed was clean and comfy. The room was kind of small, but we expected that, staying in an old home. Would definitely recommend.


Great value and location in Charleston

4,2 en enero 03, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at Palmers Pinckney with our dog. I had never stayed in a room where pets were allowed before so I was a little concerned. The room and bathroom were very clean with no animal odors of any kind. Terry even offered to babysit the dog for us for a little while. The location is hard to beat. It is so close to King St for shopping and dining, the Market, Waterfront park and even Harris Teeter should you need anything. There is access to the kitchen for cereal, pastries, quiche fruit, coffee and juice in the mornings along with cookies and wine in the afternoon. It gives you a very homey feeling. Also, it is a really nice perk to be able to go to the sister property (.89 miles away) for a full breakfast for just $5 and for afternoon wine and cheese at no charge. It is right on the Battery with incredible harbor views. I would highly recommend this property to those on a moderate budget or with a dog. It is a great value and a pleasant stay.


Dawn was a wonderful hostess.

4,2 en diciembre 30, 2013

Over Christmas, Dawn was helpful pointing out churches and helping us make Christmas dinner reservations.


Good location, property was ok.

2,8 en diciembre 15, 2013

Good location, room was quiet, really never saw anyone working there. Very self service. Pricey for accommodations.


Relaxing, great hospitality!

4,8 en diciembre 10, 2013

Great place to spend a quiet weekend. Very close to all the sights but also tucked away on a quiet street. The innkeepers Dawn and Terry were great! Very accommodating.


Charleston work trip

4,8 en noviembre 22, 2013

The room was so nice, clean and cozy. Teri and Dawn were wonderful - they were accomodating and ready to help whenever we needed them. We felt very much at home. Free internet access was great because I was here for work and I was able to do work on my computer.


A great B&B downtown!

4,8 en noviembre 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Bombay room, and we absolutely loved it! The staff couldn't have been friendlier. They were extremely accommodating and welcoming. The Bombay room was well furnished, clean, and extremely comfortable. It was a great value, and it is located directly downtown within walking distance to everything. If you are considering staying here, you will not be disappointed!


A great stay in Charleston

4,4 en noviembre 12, 2013

I stayed at this Inn in November 2013, when in town for a conference. It's within walking distance from the center of Charleston,yet situated in a quiet street. The receptionists were very nice and helpful. When I arrived, Terri explained everything to me about the inn, and even gave me tips on sightseeing and cabs. I stayed in the equestrian room, which was very clean and large. The breakfast options were very good, and in the evenings they even put out wine for the guests! I enjoyed my stay here, and will definitely stay again when I'm in town. Thank you, Palmer's Pinkney Inn!


Inviting and warm, excellent location

4,0 en noviembre 10, 2013

I spent 4 nights here and by the time I left I felt like a local! Dawn and Terri were both so welcoming and gave great suggestions for things to do and places to eat. The inn itself feels like a home that you can truly relax in; the bed in my room was really comfortable and there was a cozy gas fireplace that was especially nice when the nights got cooler. They offer a continental style breakfast and you're welcome to help yourself to various types of bread and spreads that they keep in the fridge any time. I walked over to the Palmer home for the $5 full breakfast one day which was really enjoyable. The location is in the middle of everything and I was able to walk all over historic Charleston. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to others.


Loved our weekend getaway in the Palmer Pinckney Inn

4,4 en noviembre 07, 2013

My Husband and I decided to go to Charleston for a long weekend getaway. We almost didn't go after looking how expensive it was to stay in the historic district. I stumbled across The Palmer Pinckney Inn online and thought it looked really cute and affordable compared to the other Inns and hotels. The pictures represent the Inn very well. The Inn keeper, Dawn, is very informative and nice. The will make reservations for you at restaurants and local tours. The rooms were clean and had very comfortable beds. The only negative about our room (The Bombay Room) was the windows are on the street. We didn't think this would be a big deal since the side road was very quiet during the day. At night there seemed like 50 trucks came by and stopped. It was very loud some nights. I am a rather light sleeper so that might have been the problem. Breakfast was served in the kitchen every morning. Muffins, quiche, coffee, tea, orange juice, etc. One day we walk about a mile to The Palmer House. It was a very pretty, very enjoyable walk in the morning. The breakfast at The Palmer House was amazing and only $5! Lots of great southern breakfast foods! I would most definitely recommend stay at this inn. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay!


Charleston Get Away

4,2 en noviembre 05, 2013

Charming little place. Loved the location. Was easy to walk anyplace you wanted in historical downtown and over to the Battery. We were very pleased with the room we had and Dawn was very helpful and sweet. Would stay there again.


Service Makes All the Difference

4,2 en septiembre 23, 2013

I needed something quickly and the manager was incredibly accommodating. She was a firecracker and very knowledgeable about so many things. She was thoughtful and incredibly detailed and I love not being left wondering and wandering. This place is being spruced up right now and I had a very comfortable stay. There is a good restaurant directly across the street and I was [thoughfully] given a menu at Pinckney so I could get an idea in advance of what I wanted. One thing to note is that this is located in the heart of things, so it can be noisy at odd hours. It wasn't a problem as I had plenty of pillows to toss over my head if I needed them. I liked that it was so near shops and restaurants and I also liked that it's pet-friendly. I have an excellent little dog and she was treated very well. This is an easy-going, tidy place and I found it a good value. I would and will return, should I have the opportunity.


Wonderful experience!

5 en septiembre 13, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time staying at the Pinckney Inn this past August. Our room was beautifully decorated and the location cannot be beat. Dawn was an especially kind and welcoming hostess! We hope to stay again soon!


Location with a home feel

4,2 en agosto 28, 2013

Great location and the room was terrific from the AC being perfect temp to the quality of the soap. Free fast wifi! Staff was very friendly as well. This was my first time to stay here and the price was awesome for downtown. I'm going to come back for sure


Our holiday at the Pinckney

4,0 en agosto 27, 2013

The Inn is located in the historic district and we could walk to everything. Shopping and great dinning.Only used the car once in 4 days.


This is a inn not a bed and breakfast

2,6 en agosto 14, 2013

Too small to be a bed and breakfast. At the other B&B's that we stayed at the proprietor stayed on property and there was a very scrumptious home made breakfast. If it was called a inn I wouldn't have any complaints. The kitchen was well stocked and the bed was ever so luxurious. We loved Audrey, she was very helpful. We arrived really late and had no problem with getting in our room. Although we smelled horse and thought it was just from the carriages that go by during the day and woke up to find the stables were right next door. I'm sorry to say I didn't have time to soak in the jacuzzi tub. Our vacation turned out to be totally different than we thought. I had been there the month before and stayed in Goosecreek and did everything in Charleston so decided this time I would stay in Charleston and have my son come there but ended up being in Goosecreek and Walterboro SC most of the time. All and all for the price it was not what I expected. It just needs to be labeled differently.


Great room and great location!!

4,0 en agosto 13, 2013

We felt like we got a great value for the price of the room! The location of the inn is perfect! Within walking distance to literally everything we wanted to see. The room itself was decorated lovely and extremely clean. The only down side was the breakfast was a do-it-yourself continental (we were given the option of eating breakfast for an additional $5 at their sister property 12-blocks away) but we made do with the breakfast and definitely got our money's worth. It was a lovely inn and we'll stay there again because it was so conveniently located! Plus there was free parking!


Great Location

2,6 en agosto 01, 2013

This B&B is in an excellent location. Our room had a very comfortable bed. The a/c was working hard but not cooling very quickly so thankfully we had a ceiling fan and also a small table top fan too. Two things that were not up to par was the availability of ice and the shampoo/lotion. Apparently the ice maker was broken and there were only two ice trays which no one filled and emptied. A simple solution would be buy more ice trays, have the employee(s) fill and empty throughout the day and place a sign on the freezer asking guests to fill a tray if they empty one or buy bagged ice at Harris Teeter. The shampoo/lotion bottles in our room were not full so it appeared another guest had used them or they were being reused by refilling the bottles and not thrown away after each guest. If you're looking for an upscale B&B this one is not for you.


Can't beat the price and location

4,6 en julio 28, 2013

This was our second stay at the Pinckney Inn. It is priced very well for the location being right by Market Street. The house is charming, and the inn keeper is always so nice. We will probably be back in the Fall or Winter when we can use the fireplace in the room.


Extremely disappointing

1,0 en julio 21, 2013

We were extremely disappointed by the this inn. Upon arriving, we were told " this is a casual inn. If you want toast, you can make it or if you want cereal we have a selection of boxes in the kitchen." This was not our idea of what a bed and breakfast should offer even on a continental breakfast. The worst part was our room. We were taken to the Bombay Room and the staff member told us this was their nicest room. The best thing about the room was good water pressure in the shower. There were major cracks in every wall, the AC vent in the ceiling was very loose, and looking up from the bed one can see huge brown water stained. The bedding was clean but the floor felt gritty and there was dirt all over the rugs. Our feet were dark brown from walking around barefoot. When we left our room to go to dinner, the foyer door knob came off in my husbands hand. Screws were missing and you could see it was just set back in. There was no staff there to assist. Our room was not inexpensive so was a poor value.


We will return! Great place

5 en julio 10, 2013

Loved our visit


Palmer Pinckney, nice people great location.

4,2 en julio 05, 2013

Great location near city market and many restaurants and night spots. People who run the inn are extremely nice, very homey and casual.


Great location reasonably priced

4,2 en junio 12, 2013

This was a perfect place to access all of down town on foot. Clean and comfortable without fancy - or pricey - extras. A great base for enjoying Charleston.


Worth a second trip.

4,0 en junio 02, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable and the location of the Inn is wonderful.


Charleston May 2013

3,8 en mayo 18, 2013

Great stay! Perfect location. Second time we stayed here and will be back!


Weekend Getaway

4,2 en mayo 15, 2013

Had a wonderful time! Perfect location for enjoying downtown shopping, food and night life! Loved the rocking chairs on the porch. So relaxing to sit and watch the horse and carriages ride by. Hopefully we will be able to come again soon!


Spring visit

3,2 en abril 29, 2013

There was a hole in the wall under the bathroom sink, the lighting in the bathroom was poor and there was a stain on the bed spread.


Mother daughter spring break get away

4,2 en abril 13, 2013

My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay at the Palmer Pinckney. The day we arrived was a cool rainy day and we were chilled, our clothes were damp, and we were tired. When Eleanor, the inn keeper, showed us to our room she had anticipated how we might feel, had our fireplace lit, and the room was inviting and cozy, just what we needed. From then on everything was wonderful. Our experience in Charleston was made better by the great location of the Inn and our Inn Keepers help and knowledge of the area. We stayed in the Bombay room and I look forward to going back someday, hopefully with my Hubbie.


Nice stay at great location

3,6 en abril 10, 2013

Great location within easy walking distance of historic area. It does need some general maintenance. The staff was helpful and the kitchen area was well stocked. We also took advantage of going to wine and cheese at the sister property. We would consider staying here again.


Charleston weekend

3,4 en marzo 21, 2013

Great old house located in the market section. Very short walk to market, dining, pubs, shopping etc. No need to drive once you get there. If you drive make it a small car. Room was ok for a B&B. The price and location make up for the Inn. We will go back to this B&B.


Quaint and comfortable

3,4 en marzo 19, 2013

This inn is small, creaky, and old. There was no breakfast at all and the driveway was very narrow. (Don't bring a large car or SUV.) My husband was concerned when he saw it. That being said, the room was wonderful and clean and the location was great. The bed was really comfortable and we appreciated the free wifi and gas fireplace. We loved laying in bed and hearing the clip clop of hooves from the nearby carriage stables. The hostesses were cheerful and helpful. I would stay there again.


Super

5 en marzo 07, 2013

Wonderful! We have been there before and will be there again .


Very Pet Friendly

3,4 en marzo 04, 2013

We visited Charleston on one of the coldest weekends. However, Palmer's Pinckney Inn was centrally located, in walking distance to shopping, great food and parks. Our pet dog, Marley, was well received. The only negative was my husband wasn't too thrilled with an upstairs room.


Great Location

5 en enero 24, 2013

The room was great. The staff were very personable. The location was central to many restaurants and historical sites.


2 adults, 1 pup

3,4 en enero 02, 2013

We booked this inn last minute over the christmas break. It was a real treat to stay in a cute place in the old town that's easily within walking distance of all the tourist stops. I would definitely stay here again. There wasn't a breakfast (there was coffee) or any soap in the shower, but the fire place was a dream come true! Also, there's excellent coffee and breakfast treats to be had at Whisk a 5-minute walk away.


What a place to stay

4,8 en diciembre 07, 2012

We shall stay here again. Service was Great! Thank you!


Pinckney Inn

4,4 en noviembre 26, 2012

It was a fun place to stay! Some friends from California were staying there at the same time, and they were impressed with the Southern hospitality.


Relaxing Getaway

4,6 en noviembre 09, 2012

We certainly enjoyed our stay at Palmer's. We like the home feeling of the house vs a large hotel. We were pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was considering you are a 1 minute walk from the market and carriage rides. We also really appreciate the 24 hour kitchen access for snacks and beverages. Cindy makes you feel quite at home. The pet policy made it just that much more pleasant to bring the furry family.


Perfect location and great bed and breakfast

5 en noviembre 08, 2012

Stayed at this B&B in late Oct. Cindy, the hostess was terrific. The room was quaint,large,and very clean. The kitchen was do it your self and quite adequate. Will definitely return


Equestrian Room

4,2 en noviembre 08, 2012

This was a great B and B and the location was terrific. We had easy access to shops, dining, bars, grocery store. At the end of the block is a fun dive bar called 'Big John's Tavern' where we danced late into the evening. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The Equestrian room was clean and comfortable. General pantry items/snacks and coffee were available 24/7. There was no dining option other than walking quite a distance to their sister facility the Palmer's Inn. We did this one day and had an great $5 breakfast buffet (but don't miss 'long walk').


A slight letdown

2,8 en octubre 29, 2012

Great location and room was good but lack of a breakfast meant we had to walk to the Palmer House.


The perfect "Charleston Experience"

4,0 en octubre 24, 2012

This Charleston home was clearly converted many years ago to an Inn. It is a classic Charleston single home complete with all of the charms that a single home represents. The ceilings are tall, the 1868 wood floors are beautiful and the porch rocking chairs are a perfect touch. The Innkeepers, Cindy and Connie, were tremendously accommodating. The kitchen was set up to feel just like home. They stock the refrigerator and pantry with drinks and goodies each day for the guests. Where else can you run by your "hotel" and grab a Coke before you stroll the market? The location was fantastic. While we were in Charleston, walking everywhere, we discussed whether or not we would rather have stayed in a different part of town. All four of us concurred that this location was so centrally located that it could not be beat. As a guest of the Palmer Pinckney Inn, you get the privilege of going to the "parent property" The Palmer Home for a terrific home cooked, full breakfast, every day. They also host a happy hour every afternoon! Who does that?? This home sits at 5 East Bay Street. If you've seen the classic pictures of the homes on the Battery, this is "The Pink Palace" that appears on the left of the row. It is so beautiful. We got to take a tour of this beautiful home turned Bed and Breakfast and hear all about it's rich history. This opportunity would never have been available if we hadn't stayed at the Palmer Pinckney Inn. Come to the Palmer Pinckney Inn if you are looking for a relaxed care free weekend in a home that feels like your very own. We will most certainly be back.


Unexpected gem

3,8 en agosto 04, 2012

We hesitated to stay in a place so close to the market and the carriage tours dispatch. We were nervous about noise and odor. But the unbelievable convenience more than made up for it. Everything in the Old Town was in close walking distance. Restaurants, shopping, everything. The Cottage Room was cozy and comfortable. Breakfast was basically do it yourself unless we walked to the sister property. But we were aware of that when we booked. The kitchen was well stocked and the staff friendly and attentive. The rooms were clean, water hot, and beds very comfortable. We are very likely to stay here again.


I couldn't have been happier

4,6 en julio 13, 2012

I am a huge fan of Charleston and have visited there many times but this is the first time I opted to stay in a house rather than a hotel. I fell in love all over again! The furniture was outstanding. The location was perfect. Cindy and Jax were fabulous. Having access to the pink palace was definitely a plus. I'm not much of a breakfast person but the view made the coffee that much sweeter. I hope to be able to stay there again and I would definitely recommend it to anyone! It was a little warm in our room but considering a heat index of 105-110º, it was understandable. Welcome to Charleston in July...and I'd go back tomorrow if I could!


Awesome experience

4,4 en junio 22, 2012

Love being so close to good restaurants and shopping


enjoyable stay

4,4 en mayo 30, 2012

The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful, personable, and sweet. I loved the kitchen! Being able to grab a soda or snack any time was fabulous! I most definately appreciated the fresh friut and healthy snacks!!! My husband loved the super delicious doughnuts that were so yummy and cute! Also, our dog loved being able to come on vacation with us b/c you guys are pet-friendly. Cindy even gave him some dog treats! We would most definately enjoy satying at your inn again! Thank you all so much for a wonderful stay! -The Castros (Dennis, Erin, and Sammy the dog! ¿)


Loved, Loved, LOVED our stay at the Pinckney Inn

4,6 en mayo 05, 2012

A very quaint bed and breakfast within walking distance of The Market, and a great Irish Pub, just to name a couple. The innkeeper, Cindy, was an absolute delight. If you want a hotel type setting, this is not the place for you. It's 150+ years old; it creaks, but that's is part of the charm of the Pinckney Inn. This was our first trip to Charleston, but it won't be our last and we look forward to staying in the Pinckney Inn again and again.


Southern Charm

3,6 en abril 25, 2012

Although I usually stay in a hotel, my friend and I wanted to experience history first-hand and chose to stay in a charming home built in the 1800's. Palmer's Pickney Inn was a good value in the heart of the Charleston historic district. It was within walking distance to tours, shopping and dining. Cindy and Connie, the property managers, were very friendly and had good recommendations for places to dine and things to see around this beautiful city. They made us feel right at home. Snacks and breakfast foods are available in the kithen and included in the room charge, although you will need to cook for yourself. (Suggestion: at least one morning, walk to Palmer House, a sister property, where for $5 you can enjoy a hot prepared breakfast while sitting on the piazza overlooking the harbor.) Parking is a bit of a challenge in a tightly spaced lot behind the inn. If you have a large car/suv you may want to park in the lot across the street for about $12 a day. I would stay here again.


Lovely

4,2 en abril 18, 2012

Wonderful staff, nice rooms. Parking is a little tight, though.


Palmer's Pinckney Inn (3/30/12-4/1/12)

4,2 en abril 04, 2012

Our stay at Palmer's was lovely! We had the "Equestrian Room," which was outfitted beautifully. We were getting into town late and the staff graciously left us a welcome packet with keys since we were way past check in time. The location is perfect and the staff very friendly -- all things considered, it's a great value.


Nice little place

4,2 en marzo 21, 2012

It's a little worn, but still looks very nice. Honestly, my favorite part was the bed: verrrrry comfortable mattress and sheets. A little off the beaten path, but still close to dining and shopping areas. Wifi is pretty good, too (if you actually care about speed). If I need to stay somewhere in Charleston again, I'll definitely consider this place.


Fabulous stay!

4,6 en marzo 10, 2012

Fabulous stay in beautiful Charleston, SC!!!!! We loved the room at Palmer's Pinckney Inn, and especially enjoyed the fireplace in our room as the night's were a little bit cooler than we expected in Charleston. Fireplace was easy to use and added a special ambiance to the room. BEST of all, eating breakfast at the gorgeous Pink Palace on the Battery!!!! Breakfast was delicious, and the view we enjoyed during breakfast was splendid! Thanks for a wonderful stay in one of our most favorite cities!


enjoyable and comfotable

3,0 en marzo 01, 2012

great location for sightseeing, happy we could have our dog( a big factor for staying there), bed comfortable, room relaxing...we felt right at home. The use of the kitchen and food provided was also a plus. very nice restaurant across street, cru cafe has wonderful meals. we would stay there again.


A Great Charlotte Welcome

3,8 en febrero 13, 2012

The house is old, but well maintained. The Old is mostly charming - floors that slope considerably, for instance. The innkeeper was helpful, kind, charming, and entertaining. Breakfast was a do-it-yourself arrangement - you actually go into the kitchen and find whatever you want/need for breakfast: cold cereal, juice, hot drinks, etc. The hostess's hospitality made the Cap'n Crunch and mediocre coffee not a problem in the least.


Wonderful September Visit

3,8 en febrero 08, 2012

My husband and I purchased a Groupon for Palmer's Inn and used it during the last weekend in September 2011. The Inn is absolutely adorable! Our room, the Equestrian, was spacious and clean. The bed, a king, was comfortable and roomy. The bathroom was just fine and very clean. We always found the Inn's kitchen clean and well stocked! The staff was also very nice and helpful in providing dining recommendations. Cru Cafe is located just across the street and a good place to go for lunch or dinner. I also enjoyed getting up early in the morning to go on a run down to the Battery and coming back to Palmer's to enjoy a cup of coffee on the lovely porch. I perfect location, within walking distance to most shops, restaurants and even a grocery store (Harris Teeter)! We also enjoyed walking the Palmer's sister inn, The Pink House, for wine and cheese in the late afternoon. Although included in our package, we never did make it there in time for the complimentary breakfast. I highly recommend this Inn, particularly if you can get it for a good deal like we did with the Groupon offer.


great stay as always

5 en enero 26, 2012

Our favorite place to stay, so much better than the pricey hotel rooms in Charleston.


great room for the money

4,2 en enero 09, 2012

THe room was exceptionally nice with the fireplace going. You do hear the garbage trucks early in the morning, but nothing that will keep you from falling back to sleep. Cindy the innkeeper is extremely nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. It was a great experience.


Wonderfull B&B

4,4 en enero 05, 2012

We were very pleased with the room and the location. The check in was so easy. The room was very clean.


review

3,8 en diciembre 30, 2011

The only suggestion I have is to provide free parking across the street becauase the parking situation is very difficult.


Review Palmer's Pinckney Inn

3,6 en diciembre 09, 2011

The service provided by our hostess was absolutely outstanding. We appreciate her efforts.


Good place to stay in Charleston

3,4 en noviembre 16, 2011

Charming and comfortable accomodations in a very convenient location. The staff was helpful in suggesting activities and making dinner reservations.


Just Ok

3,2 en noviembre 12, 2011

Stayed in the smallest room. Rate was high for this size room. Clean. Hard to get ready in the morning with such a small bathroom and tiny mirror that was placed too high on wall for me to see.


weekend in charlestion

2,8 en noviembre 07, 2011

Good location for carriage rides, market, shopping, restaurants and just walking around the historic district.


Good deal

4,0 en octubre 29, 2011

We had a nice stay in a very chilled out place. Perfect location for exploring in the day and having a good time at the nearby restaurants and bars at night. The staff couldn't have been better, it seemed to be the best deal going, and we'd return.


Great last minute find - convenient area of town!

4,0 en octubre 26, 2011

Needed a place last minute and found this B&B thanks to our Fodor's guide to Charleston. They had a room available thanks to our stay being midweek. We were pleasantly surprised with the location, very easy to park the car there and walk around or take a bike taxi. Also, an added bonus, they have a sister property on E Battery (where all the mansions are) and our stay included wine & cheese from 4-6pm there! Would love to come back, stay here again, and explore the city more!


A pleasant stay

3,0 en octubre 25, 2011

We recently stayed at Palmer's Pinckney Inn for three nights. We chose this inn because they allowed dogs, for a fee. As with most inns in Charleston, SC the inn was expensive. The room fronted the main street and was somewhat noisy, especially in the morning when the horse drawn carriages went into operation. We expected a bit more in the way of ammenities for what we paid for our room. Breakfast was included for a fee and only if you wanted to walk 15 blocks to get it. We were provided with pastries and coffee, but after the first morning the pastries were stale. The people working in the inn were very accomodating about our dog, cleaning our room early so we could leave our dog there and we appreciated that. All in all, our three day stay there was pleasant.


Great Anniversary!

4,0 en octubre 24, 2011

Palmer Pinckney is unpretentious, an excellent location, and delightful. Parking was well handled, staff friendly, PORCH is lovely to have a glass of wine on in evening.


Perfect for our needs

3,6 en octubre 24, 2011

The room was very nice. The location was perfect. Very centrally located and we could walk to all the places that we wanted. The breakfast options wasn't as good as some of the other B&B's we've stayed in but it wasn't bad.


Great value/location!

3,4 en octubre 20, 2011

We looked at some of the larger/grander (and far more expensive) B&Bs in Charleston, but Palmer's Pinckney Inn fit the bill! Great location, just steps from the Old Market and a block from King Street. Nice big rooms and excellent service.


Home away from home

3,8 en octubre 16, 2011

This is more of a do it yourself B & B, which is what my husband and I prefer. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The staff and the home both make you feel completely at home. The value is awesome for the location!!


Fall 2011

4,8 en octubre 06, 2011

Palmer's Pinckney Inn rocks. It was a great value; the hostess, Mardie, was available yet gave us lots of privacy. Her knowledge of the area was great and her suggestions were meaningful. The location can't be beat, and I want to go back with a friend and experience it again as soon as possible.


Palmer Inn

3,0 en septiembre 03, 2011

We spent my 60th birthday at the Inn. Everything was in walking distance. The kitchen was open at all times for us. We enjoyed our stay very much.


Beauty is in the eye of the beholder

1,2 en agosto 22, 2011

-Next to horse stables which were smelly -No one came to clean our room the entire weekend we were there -We had to replenish our own towels and toilet paper -There was a dried up, used wash cloth hanging from thow shower rod -A blown out light bulb in the bathroom, that was never fixed, b/c we could never find anyone working to ask about it -Sodas were out of date and stale -The only PROS were: comfortable bed and high quality linens and location -As you walk around Charleston it is obvious that there were better choices -We never made it to the 'sister-Inn' because it was too far away -We did the Living Social deal and I still felt like I got ripped off


Location was great, room was adequate but that was about it

1,6 en agosto 20, 2011

The location of this B&B is great. We were able to park our car when we got there and didn't move it until we left. We stayed in the Bombay room which was adequate for us. There were definitely some small things in the room that could have been touched up like the wall paint and the grouting in the bathroom but that is to be expected in a house this old. The dumpsters are emptied every day around 7 am. We used the sound machine but there is no way that it could drown out that noise. The "breakfast" part of this B&B is limited. The only food that was available each morning were some dried out pastries, yogurt, cereal bars and cereal. The cereal was not even the individual boxes of cereal but the regular sized so you don't have a clue how long they have been opened and who had their hands in it. The refrigerator didn't look like it had been cleaned out in some time. The only thing I would brave was the canned soda which was only Pepsi, Pepsi Max and Diet Pepsi. I was very surprised at how messy these areas were. Previous reviews have raved about the innkeeper, Cindy, but I never saw her there. Chris was there during our stay. We were not happy with his service. The day we arrived in Charleston he called my cell wanting to know when we would get there. He seemed to be anxious for us to arrive. Once we got there around 3pm, he quickly showed me the room and left for the day. We didn't even have time to unpack and make sure we had everything that we needed. When we asked for restaurant recommendations, he gave us a couple of places to look into but didn't provide any real information on the places. He always seemed to be in a hurry to get rid of us. All in all, we were not pleased with this B&B and will not return or recommend it to anyone. For the money, I believe there are plenty of other nice B&Bs in the area that have better service and will actually provide better breakfast options.


Location excellent for touring Charleston.

3,4 en agosto 19, 2011

Palmer's Pinckney Inn is located right in historic Charleston and makes touring Charlston my foot easy. Staff was helpful in getting us information on tours and dining. We had to travel by foot (a 15 min. walk) or you could drive to the Palmer House located along the Harbor near the Battery for a cooked breakfast. Breakfast included many cooked items, plus yogurt, fresh fruit, etc. Hot coffee & tea available. You could have a continental breakfast at the inn, but had to make your own coffee. Palmer's Pinckney Inn provided us a nice place to stay while enjoying Charleston.


Great Location, Great Price, Great Stay

4,6 en agosto 04, 2011

My husband and I loved our stay at Palmer's Pinckney Inn. We chose it primarily based on the price, the location, and the fact we could bring our Shih Tzu (we never leave her behind!) and we made the right choice. A few of the pros... 1) Parked our car when we arrived and didn't get in it again until we left. 2) Snacks and drinks available at all times. 3) Service - our room was cleaned every day while we were out and about. We always came back to a clean room and a made bed. 4) VERY comfortable bed. 5) Cable and wireless provided. 6) Room has a very private entrance from the outside. Cons - these mainly have to do with the room that we stayed in (The Equestrian Room)... 1) It is true that the garbage trucks are quite loud in the morning - we remedied this by using the sound machine provided in the room and we also brought our own fan. These things helped, but yes, we could still hear the trucks. 2) The front room is bright. This was completely fixed by closing the curtains at night. They kept the room quite dark well into the morning. We did take advantage of the Palmer Inn for breakfast, although we never made it to the wine and cheese. The short walk helped us work up an appetite and the food was delicious. It was a lovely home and had a beautiful view. Overall, this was a great B&B. It was exactly what we were looking for - we were able to walk to everything and had a clean, comfortable room. Note for dog owners - there's not much grass around for your dog to use as a restroom. Fortunately, my dog could care less if she pees on gravel or grass, but it might be a problem for other dogs.


Palmer's Pinckney Inn needs some Tender Loving Care!

4,0 en julio 30, 2011

Disappointed, to put it mildly, with our stay at the Palmer's Pincknew Inn. The rooms were not as advertised. We were told to make ourselves at home to anything in the kitchen, which consisted of unappealing boxes of cereal, and stale danish. We stayed in the "Cottage Room" it was not clean, dirty rugs on the floor, filthy plantation blinds and so hot we slept without cover. Peeling and chipping paint inside and out, poor exterior lighting, general run-down look. Chris was the new manager of the B&B so I have to say that he has a huge job and he was not to blame.I am sorry to say that I would not recommend this Inn to anyone, especially with so many outstanding choices in town.


Great location and a great value

3,2 en julio 25, 2011

Very charming B&B with a great location near Market Street. Next door to the carriage horse barn so if you don't mind horsey smell (which I don't) you'll be okay. Stayed in the Parisian room which was very charming. Only problem is that I had NO light in the small bathroom, at all. I arrived at 9:30pm so that was difficult. Also never saw anyone in the office when I tried 3 times the next day to ask questions and get my bill. But - I would still stay there again. BTW - bed was EXTREMELY comfortable!


Pickney Inn

4,2 en julio 24, 2011

The inn was very well kept and clean. The inn keeper made us feel as though it was our own house. The room was small but we always spend the whole day and night out. A big bedroom would be wasteful for us....sleepind and ....!!!! is all we need a bedroom for. We will certainly return!!!! Worth the money and memories.


1 night Saturday night stay

4,2 en julio 20, 2011

Only used this hotel 1 night, and my plans were pretty extensive, therefor I did not fully enjoy all this place had to offer, however, I am definitely considering going back with some more time on my hands. Staff was exceptionally helpful, and made me feel right at home. Thanks!


Convenient, but disappointing

4,0 en julio 20, 2011

We didn't know we were staying in a dog-friendly B&B, so we were a bit surprised when we were greeted by barking dogs in adjacent rooms. Rooms were charming, but tired. Service and continental breakfast were minimal at best. We read in the adveritzing that the sister inn, The Palmer Home, had a pool and a real"Southern" breakfast we could avail ourselves to, but later found out that "big sister" was a 10-15 minute walk south . . . actually a fantastic alternative to the one we were in!


Bad example of a Bed and Breakfast

2,0 en julio 14, 2011

We were very disappointed with our stay at the Palmer's Pincknew Inn. The rooms were as advertised, but the breakfast was non-existant. The person there told us to help ourselves to anything we want in the kitchen, which consisted of old boxes of cereal, a couple of muffins and some sodas. I understand that it was a contential style breakfast, but the selection was not refreshed on our second day. There were 4 adults and we were lucky we got a cup of coffee on the second day which we had to go look for becasue there wasn't any in the area near our room. There was also no maid service at all. Our dirty coffee cups and plates were never cleaned up and we had to go get our own towels. Very disappointed and would not recommend to anyone.


Early week getaway

4,4 en julio 12, 2011

Perfect location, right next to Market st. Would definitely stay here again.


Cindy was GREAT and the room was perfect

4,0 en julio 07, 2011

I will stay here again! I loved the place. Cindy was an excellent Inn Keeper. I felt at home. I brought my dog with me and she was in the lap of luxury. I can't wait to get back to the Pinkney Inn again soon.


Our Favorite Place to Stay

5 en junio 13, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed here. It is simply a wonderful, enjoyable, relaxed and beautiful place. So convenient to the downtown area as well. We enjoy staying at bed and breakfasts and wish they all were like Palmer's Pinckney Inn. This is one place that we have strongly recommended to our friends and family. The rooms are clean and cozy with a warm charm. The kitchen is a great place to grab a drink and enjoy a morning meal or baked cookie. It is more of a "serve yourself" atmosphere which really makes it feel more like home than a hotel. Five Stars!!!!! We love Charleston and can think of no other place we like to stay more than right here at Palmer's.


A lovely stay at Palmer's Pickney Inn - Charleston,SC

4,0 en junio 12, 2011

We had a lovely stay in the Bombay Room. It was attractively decorated & very comfortable. The clip clop of the horses from the nearby stable was pleasant to hear. There was no problem with the close proximity of the stable. Location was wonderful with an excellent restaurant just across the street. Cindy was so friendly & did all she could to make our stay pleasant. The kitchen had lots of goodies & was open at all times. Would definitley stay here again.


Perfectly Pleasant Pinckney

3,8 en junio 06, 2011

What a hidden gem! We stayed here for the first weekend of the Spoleto Festival and easily walked to every venue all over town. The Charleston Rice Room was lovely, and kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay. Cindy was a delight to work with, breakfast selections made getting up and out on the town quick and easy, and the location near the bay provided cool breezes at the end of each day. We actually enjoyed watching from our balcony the neighborhood carriage businesses begin and end their days, impressed with the care they showed their horses. We hope to stay here again next year for the festival! Cindy Marshall


Charmed in Charleston

4,0 en junio 02, 2011

The innkeeper and her assistant answered our many questions before our arrival and helped us to prepare and feel welcome. After the adventure of entering the very narrow driveway, which they had warned us about, we enjoyed settling into the Equestrian Room. We had everything we needed for our several nights in town. The breakfast options were much more than we expected and even though we were invited to have a full meal at the sister Palmer House as part of the package, we were satisfied to eat fresh fruit, yogurt and pastries at the Pinckney Inn. It was nice to have a refrigerator with ample space to store the leftovers we had from several of our meals out, which we then enjoyed as snacks or smaller meals later. Cindy made up our beds daily and freshened the room which was nice to come home too after a busy day about town. The location of the inn allowed us to walk or bike (we brought our own, but learned that bikes can be easily rented if you prefer) to so many restaurants, sights, shopping and museums/tours. It was nice to feel so connected to the city. We had read about the early morning noises that came from the nearby stables in preparation for the daily carriage tours, but we are early risers and were ready to get started on our day, so didn't mind. If you like to sleep in, you may want to request a back room. Overall, we had an excellent time in the city and enjoyed the inn as our home base.


Wonderfully Charming, Tucked-Away B&B

4,4 en junio 01, 2011

The Palmer's Pinckney Inn is a quintessential B&B located in the heart of historic Charleston a street away from the historic market. Cindy, the hostess, is a charming, delightful lady who greets all guests at the door - she alone makes me want to return. My Bombay room was comfortable, elegant and a wonderful treat after a long day of travel (they even have small sound machines in the room...what a great touch!). Breakfast is a do-it-yourself affair, though for the price, it's beyond a bargain. When you stay, be sure to tell pedi cabs it's 19 Pinckney Street, as most assume it's a larger hotel down the street.


Our stay at Palmers Pinkney

3,6 en mayo 23, 2011

What a great place to stay at to enjoy Charleston. A really atmospheric house with lots of old features. We had a lovely room with a nice veranda to enjoy our breakfast. Lots of very good restaurants nearby. Very pleasant and helpful staff.


Great hidden gem

4,2 en mayo 22, 2011

This was our first time to stay at a B & B and it was great. The room was clean and checked daily, the staff was very informative of what Charleston offered, and the location was perfectly situated in the downtown historic area. We walked everywhere and rented a car for the 1 day we visited the plantations. Our stay was great, I would stay there again!


Great location in French Quarter and dog friendly

3,4 en mayo 20, 2011

We were very happy with our stay. Convenient for walking to restaurants and sites in historic area. Very dog friendly. Because the location is next door to a carriage company there is noise first thing in the morning.


Loved it, Loved It, Loved It!

5 en mayo 19, 2011

Everything was great, staff (Meredith) was more than accommodating. I only have one suggestion. A nice set of His and Hers robes would have been great...it was a chilly morning on the patio from the Bombay Room.


Great Experience!

4,0 en mayo 17, 2011

My family recently stayed at the Palmers Pinckney Inn 5/9-5/12. Everybody enjoyed their stay, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was great. They were available for questions and assisted us in booking tours etc... I would definately stay again! (fyi-the restaurant right across the street Cru Cafe is excellent as well....make reservations!!)


Fantastic Stay 5/11/11 - 5/15/11

4,0 en mayo 17, 2011

We had a wonderful visit to Charleston and stay at the Palmer Pickney Inn. The InnKeepers are very friendly and responsive. Our dogs enjoyed their stay as well. Great location and value!


Beautiful & handy

3,8 en mayo 11, 2011

We only stayed for two nights but we had a wonderful time. We didn't bother going to the sister propery but enjoyed our self-serve pastries & coffee on the porch rockers surrounded by flowers instead. Bed comfortable, room beautiful, shower huge (considering how old the building is, particularly). Staff very welcoming & friendly but great at being unobtrusive if you are enjoying a quiet moment. Perfectly situated with free parking that is a gift in that area as you will likely want to walk almost everywhere you go. Only caveat, & this is simply due to the age of the building & not a defect - if you have a mobility issue or are going to be carrying large, heavy pieces of luggage, seriously consider asking for a ground floor room. The stairs are far sturdier than they look but they are narrow so keep that in mind. Fab time, thank you so much! Hi Meredith!


Worth a visit if you don't like to sleep in

3,8 en mayo 05, 2011

The location is excellent, although next to the stables, very few odors waft in because they keep the horses and stables very clean. Part of that is a daily trash pickup, which happens at 7 AM. Every day. Your room is mere inches from the garbage bins, so they will wake you up. And then they start feeding the horses, opening the business, deliveries for other businesses start showing up, so unless you are a very deep sleeper, you're up with the chickens. That's really the only bad thing about this place. It's close to the market, a block from Meeting Street, the rooms although not huge are very clean and the staff is excellent. The "&B" portion wasn't much, stale pastries and not great coffee, but there is a fridge that you can use to store your own food and you can easily walk somewhere and get breakfast. Parking is there but limited, and under a tree (my car was covered in sap and bird poop) but relatively safe. King size bed surprised me; usually you just get a queen. So, worth saving $100 a night to get up at 7:00? You decide. I get up early anyway, so it wasn't a big deal. Also, this place is far enough from the bars and restaurants that you don't have to worry about a lot of street noise when you're trying to sleep.


Mixed Feelings

2,6 en mayo 02, 2011

The room we stayed in was very nice however other amenities were lacking.The bed was very comfortable! The location was close to everything but the Inn is right between two barns and you can smell the horses and other not so good smells when you are walking by the Inn. There is not a full breakfast there and you have to walk to the main Palmer Inn about 1 mile away to eat which costs an extra $5.00 per person. The walk was nice and the breakfast was good with a beautiful dining area to sit in and enjoy the view of the water. I think the price is too steep for what you get.


Very much like being at home

4,8 en abril 29, 2011

VERY caring innkeeper Cindy makes one feel a part of the family.Rooms georgous and location perfect for leaving car and walking.


Delightful place to stay in the heart of Charleston

4,0 en abril 27, 2011

My wife and I spend a delightful week at the Pinckney Inn - it is a delightfully quaint inn, with spacious and comfortable rooms, attended to by a delightful innkeeper, Cindy. By her accent, she isn't a native-born Southern Belle, but she certainly earns honorary status by virtue of her demeanor. The inn is located close to the Market area, and within easy walking distance of many of the Charleston attractions. We had a wonderful time, and will gladly stay here again if given the chance.


Great Stay!

4,4 en abril 26, 2011

The Inn was a great place to stay in Charleston. It was a very good value for what we were given. The rooms were spacious, clean, and nicely furnished. The open kitchen was a great and free place to get breakfast food and snacks and drinks. The host was incredibly gracious, friendly, and helpful. We got a super location, good rooms, and a pleasant experience for almost half of the cost of other Inn options in Charleston. A great stay overall!


Great value in the heart of it all!

4,4 en abril 26, 2011

I could not be more pleased with our choice to stay at Palmer's Pinckney Inn. The price was one of the best I found in such a good location in Charleston that was also dog friendly. The room was lovely and comfortable. The breakfast was continental style but have plenty of selection. We were in such an amazing location! Cindy also gave us great restaurant and site recommendations. I really appreciated having a truly dog friendly place to stay with our little furry family member. I would highly recommend this place to people traveling to charleston with their dogs, but also to anyone else wanting a good value in a good location in the center of the downtown area.


Really enjoyed our stay

4,2 en abril 22, 2011

The rooms are truly unique and the location was very convenient. Thoroughly enjoyed our time at the pink house.


This was OK - in a pinch

3,4 en abril 21, 2011

We stayed at the Inn for three nights. The innkeeper was great and very helpful and friendly. The Inn is located close to all the sights of historic Charleston, but in between two carriage rental places. (Can you say horse stables with smells?) There was also a rooster. There was very little sound insulation and we heard footsteps and the dog barking in the next room every night. All the doors hinges creaked and it was not the age - they just needed a little oil. Our shower head broke and we could not take a shower one morning. The maintenance man was not able to get there with another one until late that afternoon to make the repair. The breakfast was more like visiting a relative - everything just sitting out for you to make yourself in a small cramped area with really no place to sit and eat. We trekked down to the other Palmer house for their 'wine and cheese'. It was one kind of cheese and one kind of cracker and one kind of red and one kind of white wine. We were there the night they were hosting a wedding and felt like we were intruding and in their way. We had stayed at another inn down the street for the same nightly rental - and it was a much nicer place to stay with a courtyard, fabulous selection at breakfast and nice wine and cheese and large (more soundproof) rooms.


Nice but noisy

3,4 en abril 19, 2011

Overall it was OK, but the noise factor in the early morning from the neighborhood rooster and the carriage stable next door made sleeping past 5:00 AM impossible, even with ear plugs. There is also a restaurant across the street which is noisy into the late evening. The location is great -easy walking to all of the city. Having access to the kitchen 24-7 was nice.


In the heart of it

4,2 en abril 07, 2011

This charming Charleston single house property is located on a busy side street in the heart of historic Charleston. It is unpretentious and friendly (and right across the street from one of the best places to eat in the city--Cru Cafe). We enjoyed the casual and relaxed environment and were pleasantly surprised that our room on the first floor was reasonably quiet in spite of the fact that this house is located between two carriage companies...it was not an issue. It's a quick walk to the Charleston Market and East Bay. The walk to their other property for full breakfast was very enjoyable (alont East Bay St. and the riverfront). We would definitely stay here again...it is economical and fits our travel style. The kitchen was accessible at all hours and we were able to have coffee early!!


x

3,4 en abril 06, 2011

First time staying at the Palmer's Pinckney Inn. Location was great which was important to me. It is a little old, but has charm. Loved the fact that the fridge was stocked and you could "make yourself at home". Staff was friendly and helpful. Would I stay here again?...yes I would.


Nice but too much NOISE

2,4 en marzo 31, 2011

This was a nice place, very convenient to downtown, HOWEVER, do not expect it to be a quiet place to sleep late. The garbage trucks arrive by 7am, even on Sat., the stables are right next door with employees arriving early and talking loud. Even though it's called a Bed and BREAKFAST, they only provide a continental breakfast unless you want to walk 0.8 mile to their sister B&B and then you have to pay $5/person and the breakfast is nothing special. I just expected more for Charleston.


Palmer's Pinckney Inn

3,6 en marzo 28, 2011

Excellent location with appropriate amenities. The website was not kidding about narrow lane but I drove a Dodge van in and was able to maneuver so just be cautious if you are not a confident driver. Meredith was very hospitable and offered solutions for touring, dining and parking. This B&B is partnered with a sister location where you can have $5 pp breakfast and free evening wine and cheese. Oh yes although website does not indicate they do have secure, free wireless. PS Charleston was amazing and will be back next year. MJ from Ottawa, Canada


Rooms are nice, people friendly, but breakfast is far from B&B standard

3,0 en marzo 23, 2011

Nice location, pleasant rooms. Good service with access to the parking lot. But the breakfast is : "here is the kitchen, help yourself". The food was just poor, and searching for stuffs in someone else's fridge is really not a pleasant experience.


Cozy fireplace

3,0 en marzo 18, 2011

The room was great with a fireplace that was lit upon arrival, and stayed on our entire stay. The staff was super friendly. There was abundant food available; ready to eat and to fix, but the kitchen was small, overstuffed, messy and not very clean.


Charming experience in a charming city!!

4,8 en marzo 15, 2011

The room was exceptional in every respect and the price only served to make it truly memorable. We have enjoyed the Inn on two previous occasions and will definitely be back!! Cindy (the Innkeeper) has been most gracious, friendly and helpful.


Great Value for Cost & Location

3,6 en marzo 15, 2011

This is a great spot to stay in order to be able to walk to everything in Charleston. The rooms and baths were nicely done, but ask for a room that is not on the street where you hear the trash trucks in the early morning. It was nice to have access to the refrigerator any time of day. The space for eating breakfast is very tiny.


What a wonderful place!

5 en marzo 12, 2011

We just spent two nights at Palmer's Pinckney Inn, and I must say that it was outstanding! We stayed in the Parisian room, which was really great. We come to Charleston about twice a year, and have stayed at many overpriced hotels with rooms that were about half the size and lacked the charm that we found at this inn. Not only was the building itself beautiful, but the staff were very helpful and kind. Snacks and goodies were always left in the kitchen for us, and the wine and cheese at the Palmer house on the water was nothing short of incredible. The inn was very close to some horse stables, but I honestly barely noticed the smell. We will DEFINITELY be returning to the Palmer Pinckney Inn!


No TLC at Palmer's Pinckney Inn

1,8 en marzo 05, 2011

This B&B is in SERIOUS need of maintenance. Peeling and chipping paint inside and out, poor exterior lighting, general run-down look. Having stayed in more than 10 Charleston B&B's this is in the worst repair by far. The host(ess) was great at check-in, but I was on my own after that. All the Inns in downtown Chas. are old, so that is no excuse for its' condition, and charging the same as other, well-maintained, attention-to-detail Inns is misleading and rather unethical. I would not recommend this Inn to anyone, especially with so many outstanding choices in town.


Beautiful & convenient to downtown

4,0 en marzo 05, 2011

We were in Charleston for one night to see 311 at the Music Hall. This was our first time staying at the Pinckney Inn, and we weren't disappointed! Very comfortable room. The two employees I met (Meredith and Cindy) were extremely friendly and welcoming. We did notice that the bathroom needed a bit more cleaning when we arrived, but beyond that, everything was cozy and just what we needed.


Gluten Free Diet

4,2 en marzo 03, 2011

Thank you for providing gluten free snacks for my special dietary needs. We loved the room and fireplace. The place was very quaint and we really enjoyed our stay.


Dog Show accommodations.

3,6 en febrero 13, 2011

A beautiful way to attend the Charleston Kennel Club Dog Show. Thank goodness we found the Palmer's Pinckney Inn. Charming Inn and loves dogs! I felt right at home.


Fun spot

3,4 en febrero 06, 2011

This is a small inn tucked in a working part of the city. It was a great value and we enjoyed staying there. The people who run it are friendly, helpful and kind.


Good value

3,2 en enero 28, 2011

Within walking distance to great shopping and across the street from Cru Cafe (amazing food!). Parking is hard to find in Charleston however we had tow trucks show up at 3 or 4 am to tow cars from the parking lot across from our room. So it can be noisy. Ask for rooms not on directly facing Pickney.


Cozy and Great Location with a Reasonable Price!

4,2 en enero 25, 2011

The Inn is just a block from the Market and other attractions. Our room was clean and comfortable. We loved how we were welcomed like it was our own home and could use the kitchen for whatever we wanted. The on-site parking was free, but a little tight- well worth the location. The breakfast 12 blocks away at the Palmer House was great and cheap ($5/ea) and the wine and cheese was a good bonus. We will stay here again!


Another great stay at PINCKNEY B and B!

5 en enero 21, 2011

This is our 3rd visit to Pinckney's B&B! We are locals and keep coming back because of the great place and convenience to EVERYTHING. ...and of course to say hi to the wonderful innkeeper Cindy! We stayed in our FAVORITE room this time with a wonderful fireplace to keep warm....We will be back soon!


Charming B&B

4,0 en enero 19, 2011

My new husband and I recently enjoyed a brief honeymoon stay at Palmer's Pinckney Inn. The weather in early January was dreadfully cold and the innkeeper provided extra heaters and made sure we were warm and comfortable. The location is close to restaurants and shopping- couldn't have been more convenient.


Great Place To Stay

4,4 en enero 16, 2011

Just as expected, the room was exceptionally clean, the owner is exceptionally nice. There is off street parking, which is awesome, the neighborhood is great, and the roosters from the carriage house woke us up in the morning, which was perfect. This is the best location to stay in, and even the dogs were welcome!! A quick three block walk to Poogan's Porch, a local icon where your pets can dine with you on the lovely front balcony. We will definitely stay there again the next time we travel to Charleston.


Wonderful Winter Getaway

5 en enero 13, 2011

We had a wonderful time. This place is right around the corner from fabulous dining, market street, and lots of great entertainment and views. You won't regret your stay! Excellent service. Quiet rooms.


Traveling through

3,4 en enero 13, 2011

Good location - Close to restraunts, pubs and commercial district. Quaint facility and good value.


Authentic Charleston

4,8 en diciembre 25, 2010

We are frequent visitors to Charleston, usually staying with friends. On this trip we had to book rooms, and needed a dog-friendly hostelry. My family really adored everything about the Palmer's Pinckney Inn - it is beautifully appointed with antiques, but not preciously so. It is the real Charleston, a wonderfully central location (we walked across the street and had an excellent meal at Cru), charming, intimately-scaled and just right. Highly recommend.


Location, Location, Location

4,0 en diciembre 09, 2010

Very good/excellent walking location relative to the center of town. It is even two blocks from an excellent supermarket (Harris Teeter)! It is pet friendly but you may want to opt for the first floor if stairs are problemmatic for you or your dog. We had the first floor front room which was fine, and the better located of the two rooms on the first level. The room tended to be somewhat dark-more user friendly blinds would help Fireplace (lit for our arrival) was a plus. Bathroom somewhat dated but adequate. The individuals staffing the reception desk were friendly, personable and very helpful. The kitchen accomodations were informal, plentiful and diverse. The price (given the cost of Charleston) was quite reasonable. The only real drawback was the offstreet parking-even a medium sized car presents a challenge. We would stay again!


Eric's review

3,6 en diciembre 05, 2010

Room was clean and comfortable. Fireplace did not work. Proximity to stables left room smelling of horses


Excellent!

5 en noviembre 30, 2010

I was very pleased with Cindy's friendliness and service. The location is excellent, and the free parking is definitely a bonus. I will be staying here again!


A wonderful stay in a classic Charleston home

4,6 en noviembre 28, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Palmer's Pickney Inn, Bombay Room. Cindy welcomed us upon our arrival, and showed us around the Inn. She also took the time to bake me special gluten-free cookies ... how thoughtful. The room was warm and cozy. We loved the charm of the older building, as well as the opportunity to enjoy another Inn (The Palmer) for wine and cheese. What a treat! As walkers, the Inn was our paradise ... centrally located to all our destinations (Fort Sumter, Carriage Ride, House Tours, Walking Tours, Jeanine's Restaurant, and 4 o'clock wine and cheese at the Palmer Inn). We parked our car in the driveway, and then didn't think about it again until it was time to leave. Fantastic!


Fun in the Holy City

3,6 en noviembre 26, 2010

We stayed in 2 different rooms with 4 people. We absolutely loved the location and walked everywhere. Being so close tot he water and to the market makes this an ideal location. Cindy was so personable and pointed us to the Crue Cafe on our first night, where we had one of our best meals ever. The location was not smelly at all, but the front room heard more morning traffic noise than the back. I expected this being in the heart of a busy city. The beds were so comfortable. Food was as advertised, but this worked for us, as we ate large meals out for lunch and dinner. We had a great time.


B&B in horse country

3,0 en noviembre 22, 2010

Rooms were okay...not great. The personnel managing the property were very nice and helpful. Food was minimal but that was communicated. Coffee should be better...should always be a primary deliverable. The biggest issue for me was the noise. The property is right between two horse stables used for carriage rides and they start quite early in the morning (roosters crowing included at no extra charge). It might be possible that installing some storm windows might cut down on the noise.


Palmer's Pinckney Inn

4,6 en noviembre 22, 2010

We had a delightful time. Our room was comfortable and cozy with an old world charm. Just across the street is the Cru Cafe. One of the hidden gems in Charleston.


Wonderful stay at Palmer's Pinckney Inn

4,0 en noviembre 18, 2010

We had such a great experience at the Inn stayed there last year for our anniversay and went back again this year. Cindy and all the staff were great! The rooms are beautiful very clean and comfy would recommend it to everyone and the location couldn't get any better!!!!


good night

3,6 en noviembre 15, 2010

This is a small b&b in a good location. It is not high end but great for $100. Watch for price reductions as our web price was $94 plus tax as I booked last minute for a thurs. Cindy was very nice and helped with anything we needed.


convenient location

3,6 en octubre 30, 2010

We booked Palmer's Pinckney Inn because we went to Charleston with a couple who had a dog and we needed pet friendly accommodations. At first glance we were very disappointed as the place seemed old and run down and there wasn't really any comfortable place to sit and talk. But our rooms were actually very cute and clean with extremely comfortable beds, and it was a very easy walk to everything of interest. Having free parking was a big advantage. The weather was unseasonably hot and so we did get some horse odor from the stable next door while on the porch, but not at all inside. The biggest plus for us was being able to take advantage of the Palmer House for a delicious southern breakfast buffet and cocktails in the afternoon. The Palmer House is a historic mansion on the water directly facing Fort Sumter that is owned by the proprietor of Pinckney's Palmer Inn. She and her staff were most accommodating and friendly and made our time there special. The breakfast at Pinckney's was just baked goods and cereal and while the selection was sparse, it was available all day while it lasted. You just went into the small kitchen and took what you wanted. Both Cindy and Katherine were very sweet and went out of their way to help us. Because of the lack of pet friendly accommodations in Charleston, we booked early to assure availability and paid the advertised price. We were a little dismayed to find out that those who booked at the last moment paid half of what we did, a real bargain at that price, but the staff tried to make up for that in other ways. Would I stay there again? If I needed pet friendly accommodations, yes. Otherwise, I think I'd find something a little more elegant.


early morning noise

2,8 en octubre 25, 2010

too much morning noise (trash and recycling pickup) no room controls for air/heat controls. very small tv. lady in charge very helpful


great stay!

4,0 en octubre 22, 2010

we really loved the inn..it was simple and perfect. great location, we parked the car and walked everywhere. it was a little noisy for us country folks, since we stayed in the Equestarian room right on the street. we will definitely stay again and this time pick an upstairs room. the kitchen accomadated our needs, and the staff was friendly and helpful.


Amazing

4,0 en octubre 22, 2010

Cindy made us feel at home! We had an amazing time in Charleston!!!


Absolutely loved our stay here!

5 en septiembre 29, 2010

My husband and I have been to Charleston a number of times and we found the setup at Palmer's to be the best by far. The location is so ideal that we parked our car and left it parked the entire weekend. The inn is very charming and comfortable. We really appreciated the comfortable bed in the Bombay room with windows all around and private bath. We visited the sister inn along the bay both nights of our stay and talked to the owner about the history of the home (it's very interesting, just ask!). We also really enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the wooden rockers and watching people come and go. We can't wait to go back.


A 15 minute walk to breakfast?

2,2 en septiembre 11, 2010

We were quite surprised to discover there was a room available less than 12 hours from our decision to go to Charleston. Although the rate was reasonable compared to the big hotel chains, we were a little disappointed with the arrangements. Apparently the B&B we stayed at has a sister B&B several blocks away, right on the ocean. You had to go over there for breakfast and the cost was $7.50 per person. Not a lot of money, but I was under the impression that when you stayed at a B&B the breakfast was included. The description stated that a continental breakfast was included at our place, however, when we went to turn the key in that morning, there was no one to be found. The kitchen looked as if someone had made coffee, but it was also a MESS. There were things strewn everywhere, floor, counters etc. I don't think I would have felt comfortable eating there anyway. Also, although the room was suitable, the pictures make it look much nicer and they advertise a "Jacuzzi tub" but it was simply a regular sized bathtub with some jets. Once you book the room, they send you a note that if you intend to park in the lot, you need to adjust your side mirrors because it is narrow. We had a VERY small car and barely made it down the driveway, and actually scraped the bottom of the car on a bump. They also state you have the option of parking across the street for $12 a night. It just seemed to me the description and pictures are a bit misleading. One note, the sister B&B looked absolutely lovely. I'd stay there next time!


True Charleston Experience

4,0 en febrero 18, 2010

First time we had ever stayed at a Bed and Breakfast in Charleston. The Palmer Pinckney Inn was everything I could have hoped for. The room was very nice and cozy - the beds were SO comfortable. The innkeeper was just as helpful and kind as she could be. We loved having access to everything. The location couldn't have been any better. Charleston is one of our favorite cities and we have finally found a place to stay that we can return to on our future visits. Thank you Palmer Staff for making our trip a wonderful one!


Perfect Place for short family visit

3,4 en enero 20, 2010

Palmer's Pinckney Inn is located in a most convenient area of Charleston. We never had to use our vehicle once there. I would recommend it for short stays. Very good value in the "Holy City".


Our new favorite B&B!

4,0 en marzo 03, 2009

Cindy made us feel welcome immediately. The atmosphere was so relaxed and inviting!


will return

4,6 en febrero 04, 2009

Comfy room, tasty snacks, attentive staff, close to everything.


was ok place

3,8 en febrero 04, 2009

was a nice room, but wanted a jacuzzi room that was online and gave into for it, then realized we didn't get it already was gone but not offline yet. so had to take another room.


Really nice, homey, comfortable

3,2 en enero 09, 2009

This was such a nice little B&B with a very nice innkeeper. She made it very special. Great location!


Wonderful stay

4,0 en diciembre 19, 2008

The room was comfortable (even though the heater went out), and the bed was divine -- one of "the" most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Cindi the innkeeper was helpful, informative and so friendly. The inn was so close to walking where we wanted to go, and only a block and a half from a fabulous seafood eatery. We'll have great memories of this place.


Very friendly staff

4,8 en octubre 31, 2008

Cindy makes an effort for guests to feel at home as possible. The location is great and the cottage room is a wonderful value. Very comfortable bed.


Palmer's Pinckney Inn

5 en agosto 12, 2008

What a great find in the middle of a great city!


Heart of the City

4,8 en agosto 08, 2008

We had the nicest stay. This inn is convenient to everything in Charleston! Thank you!


Excellent

5 en julio 25, 2008

This Inn is a wonderful stay. The Beds are very comfortable & the rooms are beautifully decorated. Cindy is most pleasant and helpful - we would stay again.


Palmer's Pickney Inn

4,8 en julio 21, 2008

Very nice place, very nice people, very nice city.


Palmer's Pickney Inn

3,4 en julio 09, 2008

Great location, nice staff.


Excellent

5 en julio 07, 2008

Hospitality Plus! Easy walking distance to shopping, dining, fun. Room was delightful, inkeeping with the low country theme.


Great Find

4,0 en junio 19, 2008

Spacious rooms with lots of character. Cindy the innkeeper was very helpful. Within walking distance of everything. Would definitely stay here again.


wonderful

4,2 en junio 09, 2008

this is a wonderful place to stay.


History Relived

4,4 en mayo 28, 2008

The atmosphere, furniture and friends make this a wonderful place to stay.


Wonderful Getaway

5 en abril 17, 2008

We occasionally need a short getaway and this is the perfect place. The Inn is very quaint and conveniently located in the Charleston Historic District close to the market and fine dining. Our stays have always been very pleasant and relaxing. Cindy is a great host and contributes immensely to a fantastic stay by offering tips on recreation and dining. She is very easy to talk with and makes us feel 'at home'.


Great Place Great Loation

5 en abril 12, 2008

we saw this cute inn when we we dinning at the restuarant Cru Cafe across the street. we went in and looked at the rooms. They were beautiful! We booked our stay and had a wonderful time.Cindy was wonderful and baked fresh goodies for us at breakfast and cookies during the day! The only thing is the driveway is very narrow so go slow.


Palmer's Pinckney Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $110 - $225
  • Comentarios (176) 4,0
  • Habitaciones 5

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-8437221733
  • Fax 1-8437221734

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba