Lavender and Lace Comentarios

TOTAL

4,7

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,7
  • Servicios4,7
  • Estimación4,8
  • Limpieza4,8
  • Comidas4,4

Puntuación basada en
74 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

The House on Tradd St

5 en septiembre 25, 2013

My daughter, son, and I stayed in the Front Garden Room to celebrate my 65th birthday. Best kept secret - this location is surreal....graveyards in back of homes, the ocean at either end of the street, pedicab (aka rikshaw) vs car, mansions to tour around the corner, quiet, peaceful, serene. We had an EPIC time! Ronnie Osko, Wheaton, IL


Historic B&B

5 en abril 19, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights in the Front Garden Room. The apartment - like room was roomy and very comfortable..the bed was amazing! It was nice to have our own entrance. Judy brought in good breakfasts every day with assortments of fruit, muffins, hot egg dishes and wonderful cookies, brownies, juice and milk. She provided complimentary bikes and we enjoyed 2 days of touring Charleston by bike. The house is in a great location and within biking or walking distance to most shops and restaurants. It was a great place to stay and discover all the charms of Charleston! Thanks Judy for all your wisdom and recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing! Bill and Donna, Sioux City, Iowa


This is the REAL DEAL!!! My wife and I spent a wonderful vacation in October, 2012. The B and B is located in a great QUIET area. It's close to many sites and it's wonderful to walk around to see the beautiful homes in the neighborhood. You can walk to many museums, shops, etc. We did a walking

4,8 en octubre 26, 2012

tour offered by the Preservation Society. Do it! We stayed in the Carriage House and we would do it again in a heartbeat. We were skeptical of all of the good reviews when we read them, but it is a great place to stay.


Feel at Home at Lavender and Lace

5 en julio 02, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary in Charleston, and I'm glad we chose Lavender and Lace as our B&B. Unfortunately, we didn't get the full experience of our first B&B with Judy, as she was out of town for good reason. Fortunately, she gave us a discount and had a wealth of information already available on the coffee table—including menus and maps. She also gave us some nice tips over the phone. Judy was very pleasant to deal with, and I'm sure she would only add to the already great experience Charleston and Lavender and Lace provide. We stayed in the Front Garden Room and enjoyed every minute of it. Judy equipped this room (and I'm sure all of the others) with everything you need. There was a kitchen, a laundry room, living room with TV, wireless internet access, a tool kit, and a ceiling fan in the bedroom. All of this for a lower rate than most B&B's that just give you a bedroom and bathroom! We also enjoyed the private entry. My wife and I like to socialize and meet new people, but sometimes you just want to be—especially on our anniversary. The private entry allows you to get to your room without running through a gauntlet of people that want to stop you and have a conversation. What we enjoyed the most, though, was the bikes Judy so graciously provides. We rode our bikes along The Battery and through the city. She also mapped out what areas are biker friendly and which aren't. She was 100 percent correct on the areas you want to avoid on the bike. Take her advice! We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay in Charleston, and Judy and her lovely Lavender and Lace had a lot to do with that. If you want to be comfortable, have everything you need, privacy, a great location and a great nightly rate, look no further than Judy's Lavender and Lace! Thanks, Judy! We will be back!


An Awesome Place to Stay!

5 en junio 07, 2012

My boyfriend and I made our first trip down to Charleston this past weekend. I had scoured the internet trying to find a place for us to stay that had everything: affordability (I'm in between college and medical school and am on a budget), cleanliness, location, and the ability to offer an authentic Charleston experience (aka not the Best Western). I was about to give up on getting all of these things when I found the Lavender and Lace Bed and Breakfast. It was absolutely everything I wanted and more! Judy is the embodiment of southern hospitality and was so helpful both before and during our visit. The rooms are very clean, the food is well-stocked and delicious, and the location is unbeatable. I recommend using the bikes she provides to see the neighborhood--it's a great way to relax and get a feel for life in historic Charleston. If you're planning a trip to Charleston, this is definitely the place to stay!


Stop searching any further!

5 en mayo 27, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending 2 nights in the carriage house at the Lavender and Lace bed and breakfast. Often times pictures make places look their best but the pictures you'll see of this bed and breakfast, though beautiful, do not truly do the place the justice it deserves. My expectations were high but the experience far exceeded. The room was so clean you'd think you were the only person to ever stay there and having worked in the hotel business, that's the goal. The shower...ahhh! so nice and relaxing, great water pressure. Lots of nice ammenites too.Her baked goods and breakfast dishes were awesome. Great coffee, amazing hospitality. I could go on and on but if you're searching for that special, charming, clean, friendly, cozy b&b I would suggest to stop searching and make the reservation! I don't know what else I could have wanted in a b&b.


FABULOUS!!

5 en mayo 22, 2012

This was our first visit to Charleston and the first time staying in a B&B. We LOVED Lavender and Lace and when we return to visit Charleston, we will definitely stay there again. We stayed in the Carriage House for a week and it was like having our own little apartment in a Victorian house, but with all the modern conveniences such as a washer and dryer and dishwasher. The house was located on a quiet residential street right in the best section of Historic Charleston, conveniently located within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, the Battery, and many historical sites. Judy was wonderful. She greeted us upon our arrival and gave us a map to help orient us to the area and she gave us several recommendations for restaurants and sites to visit. We ate at many of the restaurants she suggested and we were very happy with her suggestions. Everyday Judy brought us homemade food for breakfast such as quiche, several varieties of breads, bagels, cookies, brownies, fresh fruit, juice, and milk. The kitchen always was well stocked with other items such as cereal and coffee. A microwave and dishwasher made reheating and cleaning a breeze. The accommodations were very nice and every day it was cleaned and the bed was made. Everything we could possibly need was provided, including shampoo, a hairdryer,, umbrellas, TV and wireless internet. Lavender and Lace far surpassed our expectations and we will recommend it to all our friends who visit Charleston.


Great place to stay in Charleston, SC

5 en abril 07, 2012

We had both the front and back garden rooms and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at the Lavender and Lace B&B. We loved Judy's sweet treats and breakfasts, but also enjoyed the privacy of having our own kitchen area and eating space. We used the bikes to see the historic district and that was a big hit with us. Judy was also very helpful suggesting things to do and places to eat. Our stay was delightful.


First Visit to Charleston

4,8 en marzo 21, 2012

My husband & I met friends from Virginia in Charleston for a long weekend in early March. It is our first visit (second for our friends), when our friends who stayed elsewhere saw Judy's accommodations, they said next time they come back they'll stay here! Judy is a wonderful host, full of GREAT information. She really listens to her guests' individual interest & caters her suggestions to that. Thanks for the great advice for lunch: Fast & French! The place was perfectly located for safety, quiet & privacy, while being close enough to spend the entire weekend walking the city. We'll definitely be back!


1st Anniversary Trip

5 en marzo 07, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary in Charleston, SC and stayed at Lavender and Lace B&B. You couldn't ask for a better location as it is located south of Broad St. and has easy access to the historical residential areas. Riding the bikes through this area was a lot of fun! It is also conveniently close to everything north of Broad St. Just to give you an idea of how convenient it was...when we parked our car we didn't start it again until we left. We stayed in the Carriage House and loved it. It had everything we needed. Pastries and breakfast food was great. We enjoyed having homemade goodies to come back to after being out during the day. Probably, one of the best part about Lavender and Lace is the great service and hospitality of its owner, Judy. It was wonderful to meet her and enjoy her lovingly B&B. She gave us great insight and info about the area: good restaurants, sites to see, things to avoid, etc... Can't recommend this place highly enough!


We highly recommend

4,6 en diciembre 09, 2011

We stayed in the back garden room and thoroughly loved it. This B&B is within walking distance of everything downtown yet is located in a very quiet part of town with a very residential feel. We rarely heard traffic at night and the occasional clop clop of a horse going down the street added to the sense of history. We also never heard the other guests in the house. The room was more than accommodating for my wife and I. We liked the well stocked kitchenette that allowed us to have breakfast at our leisure. The baked goods (brownies, coffee cake and scones) that Judy stocked it with were tasty. We also greatly appreciated the time Judy took to make recommendations for sights to see, places to eat and communities to look at for our potential move to the area.


You will LOVE Lavender & Lace B&B!!

5 en octubre 26, 2011

I can’t say enough wonderful things about our weekend at Lavender and Lace Bed & Breakfast. Judy Brown, the owner, is so sweet and makes you feel at home as soon as you arrive. We stayed in the Back Bedroom, and it was much more spacious than I imagined. I felt like we were in more of a studio apartment than a bedroom. Every time we turned around Judy was dropping off more goodies for us… fresh fruit bowl, cookies, banana bread, muffins, brownies and even some delicious quiche! The refrigerator was stocked full each day with the necessities. The B&B is located on a quiet street just blocks from the heart of Charleston… I would recommend Lavender and Lace to everyone. You will leave with a smile on your face!


Excellent!

5 en octubre 11, 2011

Stayed in the Carriage House, was delighted in every way. It was comfortable, and all of my needs were anticipated (e.g. coffee, internet service, iron & ironing board, paper towels). Really enjoyed being able to stay in the historic district, the location is great, enjoyed a bike ride through the neighborhood using the provided bicycle. Much better than staying at a hotel. (I did not eat at L&L but there was no "N/A" choice)


Birthday Bliss

5 en septiembre 19, 2011

My wife just treated me to a stay at Judy Brown's Lavender and Lace. It was a nice surprise. We slept very well, as the area is quiet. Our first night we walked around the area and were astounded by the magnificent architecture and history of Charleston. The next day we walked and also rode the bikes (well maintained). We sampled some of the recommendations for places to eat and were very pleased. Great place to go and have a leisurely time. The house is well maintained also with very nice gardens. Surrounding area peaceful and very close to the water. What a great birthday gift. James


Like having your own apartment

4,4 en mayo 24, 2011

Judy met us upon arrival and spent quite a bit of time going over various points of interest and 'insider tips' on which restaurants to frequent or not. She provided us with a map on which she made her notes, and she has put together a 'book' full of tourist information for the room. The location of the B&B is great; in a residential area so it's quiet, safe and convenient. We were able to walk to the historic downtown places we wanted to see, but there were also bikes for our use. Judy placed fresh baked goods in our kitchen each day as well as wonderful fresh fruit. Best of all, as a tea drinker, there was a kettle and several types of tea. We stayed in the front garden room and it was extremely quiet and really much like an apartment with a kitchen, dining, living area in addition to a large bedroom. There was even a washer and dryer, which was a great perk while being on vacation. I imagine most of her clients are repeat business or word of mouth referrals because this is the type of wonderful experience you tell your best friends about. I simply can't think of a negative thing to say about our experience.


beautiful treat!

4,8 en mayo 24, 2011

I stayed at Lavender and Lace last week with my boyfriend. We stayed there for a total of 5 nights. We usually go to bed and breakfasts and fancy a relaxing time. What a treat this was! We booked the carriage house and had a entire "house" to ourselves! The bottom of the carriage house is sooo cute, with a lovely living room and a comfortable sofa, a big tv, a kitchen that has all the ammenities. Then the stairs lead to the bedroom with THE most comfortable bed! I slept better than I sleep in my own bed! The bathroom is big with tons of towels and things such as cotton, plasters...all these little details that make it like home! Then we have a veranda which leads to "the secret garden" overlooking the peaceful morning/afternoons/evenings of South Carolina...where you get a taste of nature, the birds chirping and you can sip coffee and best of all, eat the home treats of our host! Judy, who surprises us every day with peanut butter cookies, chocolate brownies (my favorite), banana bread, fritata (i think my boyfriend's favorite as well as the cookies) and much more). Overall, definite one of my favorite places and by far exceeded my expectations!! xx


Just Perfect!

5 en abril 13, 2011

Judy greeted us when we arrived in stormy, cool weather in March and made us feel welcome right away. The Back Garden Room felt just like home and is so large you are able to walk around, unlike a hotel room. The bed was very comfortable, and both my husband and I slept soundly and peacefully, not an easy feat when we travel. The little kitchenette provided us with everything we needed, and the breakfast food of fruits, yoghurt, cereal, and baked goodies started us off for the day. We ate a lovely dinner at S.N.O.B. (Slightly North of Broad). My husband’s smoked oyster soup and filet were out of this world; my smoked salmon and quail were normal. For lunch at Poogan’s Porch, my shrimp and grits were outstanding, while my husband’s burger, she-crab soup, and fried green tomatoes were average. Nothing was bad at either one. Since we were there for only two nights, Judy’s guidance was gratefully appreciated. We visited the Nathaniel Russell House and Aiken-Rhett House, both well worth the visit. The Exchange was very interesting, too. Sponsored by The Historical Society of Charleston, The Church Street Tour was unique – we toured a number of private homes and churches. On our way out of town, we visited Middleton Place Plantation and enjoyed our walk around the grounds and gardens, blooming with azaleas and camellias. Although the rainy, cold weather could have made for a bad trip, it did nothing but make us appreciate all Charleston has to offer, and we can’t wait to go back to do some of things we missed and stay at Lavender and Lace again.


Marvelous place to stay!

5 en abril 09, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at this lovely B & B. The rooms were especially comfortable, very clean, and attractive. Judy is a delightful hostess who anticipates a guest's every need. We'll be planning our next Charleston vacation around availability at Lavender and Lace!


Charming!!

4,8 en octubre 25, 2010

Just spent four days at Lavender and Lace and it was so charming....Judy was so friendly, had baked goodies for us every day.....had bikes to ride and chairs to take to the beach. It was a perfect location. LOVED everything!! Great place to stay.


Lovely B&B

4,6 en agosto 15, 2010

My husband & I stayed several nights in the Carriage House. Each room was lovely & inviting--just the thing after a long day of driving. The location was great also--close to a variety of historic buildings and restaurants. If we ever get back to Charleston, Lavender & Lace will be our accommodation of choice.


Classic Charleston

5 en mayo 30, 2010

We stayed at Judy Brown's wonderful Lavender and Lace B&B, located in the classic "South of Broad" area, in mid-May and it was most memorable. Each morning, our refrigerator was stocked full of awesome fruits and fresh baked breads. She spent an hour with us describing the in's and out's of the city, its best restaurants, markets, and historical sites. It was definitely the best value to be had. We will be staying there again soon. Thanks again Judy, see you soon...


Great Honeymoon

4,4 en mayo 27, 2010

Judy was a pleasure to work with and really made our stay enjoyable. The Bed and Breakfast was in a great location as far as walking distance to local attractions. Rooms were well kept and the fridge stocked with basic breakfast items. We stayed in the Carriage Room which has it's own private entrance, which I must admit wasn't what I had envisioned. The parking appeared to be in the same location as the other rooms, but it's not what I would call a deal breaking event. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and are glad we picked this bed and breakfast for our honeymoon.


Bed and Breakfast is the way to Stay!

5 en mayo 27, 2010

Lavender and Lace is a beautiful place to stay. It is very private and quiet. The houses and area are so interesting to travel around. We went around alittle with the car and and then went back out later with the bicycles. Judy has a very lovely place that is so clean and her baked goods are great to come home to in the middle of the day or evening. She has lots of info...don't stop at the visitor center and have to pay to park! We recommend the tour with Danny Crooks. He is not advertised in all the books. He is cheaper and his groups are no bigger than 10. We saw other groups with too many people. We had a private tour with three other people, It was 2 hours and very informative. His # 843-345-7669. Thanks Judy for the wonderful stay! Sue and Ed Lawrenceville,GA


We'll be back!

4,8 en mayo 20, 2010

We loved our stay at Lavender and Lace! Judy came and chatted about what to do and showed us where everything was. We loved the room, the breakfast, the parking, and most of all, being able to walk to so many neat places from our temporary "home."


Like home, but better.

5 en marzo 12, 2010

We stayed in the carriage house. This ideal location, "South of Broad" was great for morning walks to and along the battery. Each day we took a different route to see the stately homes. The free parking was a plus and is rare in the heart of historic Charleston. Judy was friendly and knowledgable. She gave us all of the good-to-know information about restaurants, activities, etc and then let us explore. We really felt at home here. What made it even better is that each day we arrived home to snack and breakfast for the following day. The food was simple and delicious.


A True Gem

5 en diciembre 13, 2009

My daughter and I stayed at Lavender & Lace this weekend for our annual Girls' Getaway and had a wonderful time. Our room was immaculate and well stocked with everything we needed. Judy was most helpful. We loved her method of serving breakfast --- stocking our small kitchen with numerous breakfast items from fruit to bagels to cereal to home baked goodies, ready for us to eat at our own pace in the privacy of our room. I highly recommend this B & B ---- great value for the money in an excellent location.


True Southern Hospitality

5 en noviembre 07, 2009

What a wonderful experience! My husband and I stayed at Lavender and Lace a couple of weeks ago and we just can’t say enough positive things about our stay. Judy sat down with us when we arrived, armed with a map of the city and all kinds of great tips on how to make the most of our three days in Charleston. All of her recommendations were great, from where to eat, what plantations to visit, what beaches to see, which historic homes not to miss and what sights to see. We will definitely recommend this B&B and hope to return again next year.


Great stay in an Historic home

4,4 en octubre 29, 2009

Liked the location for easy walking to restaurants and sites. Very clean and neat place to stay. You get all the privacy you want or if you choose to interact with the owner that's fine too. Will definetely be back on my next trip.


charming hidden pearl

5 en septiembre 28, 2009

My husband and I brought our parents to Charleston for three days and rented both the Carriage House and the Back Garden room. What a charming B&B! The location was perfect, right in the middle of the historic private homes and gardens. It was so nice to be able to park the car and forget about it. We walked everywhere. There is so much to see! Both rooms were beyond our expectations and just lovely. After a busy day, it was so nice to come back to the rooms, (though the Carriage House was so roomy that we felt like we could just move in and live there), and just relax. Judy has thought of everything to make a guest feel at home. Even though she was not there, she was very helpful and we feel because of all the information she sent us and left in the room, we were able to made the most of our time. We hope to meet her on our next trip down and we WILL be back, as there is so much to more we want to see and Lavender and Lace will be the first place we look for a room!


Our 1st B&B experience - but not our last

4,8 en agosto 13, 2009

We have been married 31 years and have traveled extensively over the years but have never stayed in a B&B until now. The front garden room of Lavender & Lace far exceeded our expectations and coming in at the end of a busy day of sightseeing felt like we were coming home. Unfortunately, we did not get to meet Judy or taste any of her breakfast treats that others have enjoyed, but she left detailed information on where to dine and what to do and see in this charming city of Charleston. This was our first trip here, but definitley not our last and hopefully next time we pass through, we will get to meet Judy - as we would definitely stay here again and highly recommend Lavander & Lace.


Very Enjoyable Honeymoon

5 en junio 14, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful stay in the Back Garden Room. Judy was an excellent hostess. The breakfast pastries she left for us and the restaurant recommendations were excellent and the accommodations were very comfortable. We would definitely recommend this B&B and will hopefully be visiting again soon.


Satisfied

4,0 en mayo 29, 2009

A friend and I stayed in the Carriage House rooms. We were told that there was a double bed upstairs and a very comfortable pull out sofa. While I loved the bedroom, the sofa pull out was not comfortable at all...even for a pull out. And we were not told that the only bathroom was open (no doors) from the upstairs bedroom. I had the joy of hearing my very dear friend climbing the stairs in the middle of the night to take care of business (which I could also hear). On the other hand, the place would be great for a couple, the inn keeper was very nice and the location was great.


Southern Hospitality at its best

5 en mayo 11, 2009

My sister and I just got back from our first visit to Charleston last week and couldn't have had a better experience with the help of Judy Brown! We stayed in the front garden room, charming, comfortable, convenient, clean, spacious and affordable! You can't ask for anything better in one of the nicest and most beautiful neighborhoods of the historic district. Not only did Judy provide a wealth of information and tips for visitor, she also made us feel at home with fresh baked goods everyday (love the banana bread). Our favorite part of the stay was riding the cruiser bikes that Judy let us borrow all around town! A trip to Charleston won't be complete without a stay in L&L!


Heavenly

4,6 en mayo 06, 2009

We stayed in the Carriage House. My favorite part is the balcony; it's like your own private aerie & well worth schlepping breakfast up the stairs to eat among the tops of palm trees. Judy is a wonderful host - very friendly & informative - like having a friend in the city. We have stayed in a number of B & Bs & this one was our favorite.


A Wonderful Family Weekend

4,6 en mayo 04, 2009

There were a total of 8 of us and we stayed in the Front Garden Room and the Carriage House. We were pleasantly surprised. Judy's hospitality and caring for her guest was a wonderful experience. There was fresh baked goodies daily. It seemed as if Judy had thought of everything. I would highly recommend this B&B.


Wonderful in Charleston

4,4 en abril 30, 2009

My wife and I recently visisted Charleston and stayed at this beautiful inn. Our host, Judy, was a really great source for things to see and places to eat. She had so much enthusiam and was just a plaesure to speak. The Inn itesel is very specail We had the luxury of havein the carriage house to ourselves and we loved it. Judy supplied us with fresh baked goods each day for breakfast, fresh OJ, milk coffee, , tea, yogurt and spreads and jellys for our bagels and muffins. The house couldn't have been cleaner . We even had use of bikes for our touring pleasure. It was a short walk to the center of town and so we did not even move our car for 2 days. Off the street parking was a plus. We would reccomend this to anyone who is looking for a great value and a wonderful setting.


Southern Hospitality at it's finest

5 en abril 29, 2009

This was our first trip to Charleston and we stayed in Judy's Carriage House. Judy may not have been born in the South, but her gift of hospitality qualifies her for the "club". Her recommendations for food and places to visit were wonderful. We truly enjoyed all of her home baked goodies. What a great way to start the day, sitting out on our second floor deck and enjoying a great breakfast. And to top it all off the location of Lavender and Lace couldn't have been better. We look forward to a return trip!!


It's like living in an apartment for two days

3,0 en marzo 28, 2009

How you feel about Lavender & Lace will largely depend on your expectations. If you choose a B&B for attentive hospitality and to feel like you're part of a home, you may be disappointed. If you're just looking for a well-appointed, nicely-located crash pad with the amenities of home, you'll be satisfied. We booked the "carriage house," ($170) which is actually a maid's quarters behind the main home. The two-story building includes a small kitchen and living room downstairs and a bedroom with a bathroom upstairs. We saw the innkeeper at check-in, when she gave us a brief overview of the apartment and the city. She seemed rushed, but she did give us a thorough overview of local attractions and several useful restaurant suggestions. But after the initial introduction, we saw her only fleetingly. The innkeeper outfits the kitchen with breakfast essentials (cereal, milk, coffee, English muffins, fruit, and juice) as well as some home baked goods (brownies and pumpkin bread when we were there.) This system has some advantages: we took breakfast when we wanted it, and we were free to snack on the brownies during the evening. The pre-prepared method felt a little cold. I missed the warm breakfast and the interaction with the B&B host. (My partner was not bothered.) The location is pretty wonderful - away from traffic and well within the historic district. We could easily walk to shops, restaurants. Rooms also come with a parking spot, which is a major plus. The innkeeper also provides bikes for guest use. The basics are also well covered. The room includes wifi, telephone, and cable television. There are some books, but no board games. (Sniff.) The neighborhood is quiet, and we didn't have much problem going to sleep in the comfortable bed. Other things you should know: the innkeeper doesn't accept credit cards - cash and check only. Additionally, she is extremely reluctant to accept BedandBreakfast.com gift cards, even though her website indicates she does.

Respuesta del propietario

I was very surprised and a bit puzzled by this review, because it is so out of place when compared to all of the lovely reviews and compliments from other guests. Both of these young men seemed to enjoy their stay and were always on the go. While reading this review, it seemed that these guests enjoyed the room, location, quite bedroom, comfortable bed, bikes, parking, restaurant and attraction recommendations, etc. I really enjoy talking about our beautiful city and giving my guests ideas about what to see and do and spend as much time with each guest as he or she would like. Some people really just want to get out, see the city and discover it on their own. These young men seemed to me like they had heard enough and just wanted to be on their way. My website states that each room has a kitchen that I stock with a very nice continental breakfast, so that guests can eat their breakfast at their convenience. My guests have told me they love the convenience and flexibility that this provides. I never thought about providing board games for my guests, but as I am always looking for ways to improve my B&B, it is an idea. I work very hard to keep my room prices down, so I do not accept credit cards. Lavender and Lace is located South of Broad Street in one of the nicest areas of Charleston and my room rates are some of the lowest in this area. My goal is to try and make sure every guest has the best time possible.


Charming!!!!

5 en febrero 15, 2009

This will be our second stay at Lavender and Lace. Charleston is one of our favorite cities to visit and we are so glad that we found this charming B&B. Judy knows her Charleston and has given us great dinning suggestions and helps make each trip special. As far as the advertised continental breakfast, Judy goes way beyond what one would expect with her home made goodies!


Outstanding

4,8 en enero 19, 2009

Absolutely charming B&B. Excellent location, free parking (a big plus!), comfortable and lovely accomodations. We would absolutely stay again, and recommend it to our friends. Everything we could wish for and more besides.


Lavender and Lace Review

3,6 en enero 08, 2009

We enjoyed staying here and were very pleased with the accomadations. Unfortunately, Judy was out of town during our stay- we would have liked to meet her. She was very nice when we spoke on the phone when we made the reservations. Charleston is a great city- lots to see and do. We would definitely stay here again.


Charming B & B in historic Charleston

3,6 en enero 05, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Back Garden Room for three nights just after Christmas. We cannot attest to the breakfasts as Judy was out of town (missed the brownies!), but the room was very clean and comfortable, with all the necessary amenities and the short walk to the trolley stop was most enjoyable. The little kitchenette was perfect, and there is a grocery store just a couple of blocks away, so we were still able to have our breakfasts before setting out for the day. Judy had left lots of helpful information for us which we greatly appreciated. I would definitely recommend this place!


Delightful surprise!

4,4 en noviembre 26, 2008

We absolutely fell in love with the accommodations at Lavender and Lace. Located in a lovely, tree lined residential neighborhood, it is in close proximity to restaurants and the downtown area. It made our vacation very special!


Lovely B and B; great location

4,4 en noviembre 20, 2008

My daughter and I loved our way too short stay at Lavendar and Lace. Judy had brownies waiting; the breakfast supplies were perfect and she was very helpful orienting us to the area. I would love to go back for a longer stay.


Front Garden Room

4,0 en noviembre 05, 2008

Very comfortable, lots of room, pretty. Very convenient to everything. Judy welcomed us and helped us to find our way around. Beautiful location. A little hard to find if you arrive after dark. A lighted street number would be a big help. We will go back again.


Back Garden Room

4,0 en octubre 23, 2008

The room was larger than expected and was not only very clean but has a very convenient mini kitchen. Judy was very helpful in her recommendations making sure we had a great time in Charleston.


Great location

4,2 en octubre 19, 2008

We stayed in the front garden. What the space lacked in charm, it more than made up for in the location and the amount of space. Large L.R., full kitchen, laundry. And, on one of the nicer streets in Charleston, less than a 10 minute walk to shopping, and the Battery. Judy was out of town so there was no breakfast or service, but she discounted the rate, and there is no lack of places to eat, or make your own.


Lavendar and Lace B & B

4,8 en septiembre 30, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Lavendar and Lace the past weekend for my wife's birthday. We had a wonderful time. Lavendar and Lace was more than advertised. We stayed in the Carriage House. It had recommendations for everything from dining to sightseeing. Our Innkeeper's local knowledge was great. Only minutes (walking) away from the shops on Kings Street. Judy's recommendations for dining were spot on too. We had a wonderful time and will definitely go back again.


Great Location

3,8 en septiembre 24, 2008

My mother and I loved the place! I would definitely recommend someone staying there. We stayed in the Carriage House, which was perfect. We had are own balcony to sit and drink wine :)


Wonderful B+B in the Heart of the Historic Area

4,8 en septiembre 21, 2008

A wonderful B+B right in the heart of historic Charleston that lives up to it's romantic name: our suite, the Back Garden Room, was decorated in violets and purples and had a four poster bed so high, we needed to use the steps provided. We parked our car and left it there for the rest of our stay, because everything is within walking distance. And bicycles are provided! The suite has a tiny kitchen with a fridge, coffee maker, and a toaster, so my husband and I saved money by eating snacks and lunch right at home. The room has everything you could possibly want, from tea bags and sugar to bandaids, Q-tips, and a full-sized bar of soap. We walked around the neighborhood at night to see all the other beautiful Victorian homes all lit up. Judy wasn't there during our stay, but she has a long list of which restaurants are good, and which ones to avoid. We loved the B+B so much, we're already planning a return with friends!


We had a great time.

4,0 en septiembre 06, 2008

We found Lavender and Lace to be a wonderful bed and breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We can not attest to the food as our host was out of town during our stay, but she did offset that with a discount on the room cost. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. We loved having our own kitchen so we could fix our own breakfast and tea in the mornings. The only thing one should be forewarned about is that the steps to the upstairs, where the bedroom and bathroom are, are very steep. We are young so it wasn't a problem for us, but if you have trouble climbing steps then you may not like it here. Other than that it is a great place in a nice quiet neighborhood and we had a great time. We highly recommend it and we will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Charleston.


A Quiet, Quaint Place

4,6 en septiembre 06, 2008

My mother, husband, and I recently stayed in the Carriage House of Lavender and Lace. It was like having our own apartment in historic downtown Charleston. Although we didn't get to sample the breakfast (because the innkeeper was out of town), she did give us a discount to compensate. Plus, the carriage house has its own fully-stocked kitchen, so we were able to cook breakfast ourselves. Furthermore, Judy had put together a binder with suggested things to do, places to see, and dining options (complete with menus and brochures) that was very helpful. I would highly recommend this B and B!!!!!


Perfect weekend away

4,4 en julio 10, 2008

L&L is a wonderful little B&B right in the heart of Charleston's historic "South of Broad" area. We came into town a little early and went by the place to see if the room was ready. Despite being over an hour early, the room as ready. We were in the Back Garden Room which was by far one of the largest B&B rooms I've ever stayed in. My wife and I were amazed how much care Judy put into making guest feel welcomed. The was a binder bulging with menus, maps, and recommendations, a small kitchenette complete with plates, flatware, microwave, fridge, coffee, assortment of teas and best of all wine glasses and a corkscrew! The bathroom was well lit and quite large. There were ample towels, a full bar of soap and really nice hand lotion. The parking area is well labeled so no one is stuck without a spot. The only issue would be leaving. There's not enough room to turn the car around, so you need to back out of the driveway and on to the street. Since it's a quiet street, it's not too hard, just something to watch out for. I think out favorite thing about the place was the free bikes. They are in great shape and come complete with a lock, helmet and basket. Biking is the perfect way to see the city. Both King and East Bay Sts. are a short 10-15 minute walk away, but the bike cuts that down to just 5 or so. Overall, we had a wonderful time and look forward to returning soon. We were amazed how great everything was considering the Innkeeper was out of town. Thanks Judy!


Wonderful Weekend

4,0 en julio 09, 2008

My husband and I wanted a little getaway and Lavendar and Lace in Charleston was just what we were looking for! I felt like I was in a beautiful doll house. Judy was out of town - so there was no "breakfast" but she discounted our rate. The rooms were charming, clean and very comfortable. I also loved how we were within walking distance to the historic district - we never took the car except to go home. The street the house is on was magnificent. I would definitely recommend Lavender and Lace! Renee


Wonderful Trip

5 en junio 03, 2008

Lavender and Lace was a wonderful place for us to stay in Charleston. The pictures do not do the rooms justice, as our room was just lovely with a view of the garden. Daily there were home baked goodies to eat, and we had a wonderful time riding the bikes. Thank you so much!


Wonderful B & B in Charleston

4,8 en mayo 17, 2008

The carriage house was great for a short or extended stay in Charleston. It's location was perfect for walking to dinners, tours, and most attractions. You can park you car and forget about it! My husband and I loved the privacy of having a mini apt. to walk "home" to with a nice 2nd story deck where we enjoyed morning coffee, evening cocktails, and my husband enjoyed his cigars :) It really made our stay in Charleston a true pleasure. Judy is very knowledgable about where to eat, places to see, etc. It was nice to have fresh fruit and pastries each morning placed in the kitchen for us. We highly recommend Lavender and Lace to anyone visiting Charleston.


great Place

4,6 en mayo 17, 2008

My wife and I have stayed at this B & B on more than one occassion and all we both can say about it is "GREAT"


Excellent Place to Stay

5 en mayo 17, 2008

Charleston is the most wonderful city to visit and there is nothing like staying in a B &B and Lavender and Lace is exactly where you want to be. I love the fact that the rooms are not in the main living area but each one separate. They are equipped with everything one could possibly need including all sorts of info regarding what to see, where to eat and what to do. I like the fact that they each have their own little kitchenette so you can eat when you want. Judy Brown is extremely knowledgeable about the city and ready to help whenever you need. You can walk all over the city or ride one of the bikes available. All in all, it is a wonderful place to stay and would recommend it highly.


Judy Knows Charleston

4,2 en mayo 09, 2008

For a Yankee, Judy has sure learned Charleston. She directed us to Jestine's for an inexpensive dinner (very good), Carolina's for a more pricey special dinner (divine), the combo ticket from the Charleston Preservation Society tours of the Reynolds and Aimes homes plus a departure day stop at Middleton Plantation. In between all this, a fun and inexpensive lunch at Fast and French made me want to returnez plus vitte! Our stay in the carriage house was wonderful and her attention to detail is evident. The location is unbeatable and the bikes were well used. There might be more grand B&Bs in Charleston, but I cannot imagine there are others more comfortable and better run. Judy of Rochester, NY is now a leading Southern Hostess.


"a Time to Unwind"

4,8 en mayo 05, 2008

We stayed in the Carriage House which consists of a bedroom, bathroom, and porch upstairs, with a livingroom, kitchen, and breakfast nook downstairs. Each afternoon homemade goodies appeared for the following morning. Cereal, jams, butter, cream cheese, juice, and fresh fruit were in the refrigerator. The accomodations were spotless. Judy, our innkeeper, was available to recommend places to visit, tours, and restaurants. This was especially helpful. We loved the fact that this inn was in the historic district reflecting the true ambiance of Charleston. Our hats off to Judy.


Absolutely amazing!

5 en abril 25, 2008

I stayed here for three days in the Back Garden Room. It is so obvious that Judy really cares for her property and her customers. The bed was extremely comfortable, the kitchen was efficient, the bathroom was clean and had niceties like bandaids. I would definitely recommend staying here.


Great B&B, unbeatable location

4,8 en abril 13, 2008

My 10 year old daughter and I took a long weekend getaway and stayed at Lavender & Lace. Judy was out of town, so we can't comment on the provided dining (we missed out on the pastry, darn it!) but her recommendations for local dining, annotated maps, and handwritten notes were waiting for us in the room, and were dead-on. When we arrived, a dehumidifier had leaked, so we contacted her by phone and worked with her to resolve the problem. She was very concerned and attentive, profusely apologetic, and gracious from afar. I wish we could have met in person, but I know we will meet NEXT TIME, because we will definitely return as a family. Highly recommended!


Southern Hospitality at its Finest

4,8 en abril 05, 2008

My husband and I knew we were in for a treat visiting Charleston, SC. But we did not realize it would start with our delightful accommodations and the innkeeper. We began to realize the excellent choice we made as we drove up to Lavender and Lace, tastefully nestled within a beautiful Victorian home on one of the most historic residential streets, within easy walking distance to the center of town. Given the fact Charleston is easily covered on foot, this location was excellent. Moreover, it allowed us to pretend we actually lived there. Our accommodations themselves were charming. The thought and planning the innkeeper had given to making her guests feel welcome soon became apparent: toiletries and other items a traveler just might have forgotten at home were at our fingertips, along with delicious home baked treats. Then there was the innkeeper herself. We stay at bed and breakfasts wherever we travel. Rarely have we met a more pleasant and knowledgable hostess. Her desire to make us feel welcome reached the perfect balance of providing us tips (for restaurants and sites) without overwhelming us. We ultimately felt we were in a private home, as guests of a long-time friend...one we wish to see again, just as we wish to return to Charleston. She and her establishment were the embodiment of Southern hospitality, and we were the lucky recipients.


Outstanding,outstanding,& outstanding

5 en febrero 29, 2008

A friend & I loved "Lavender & Lace", we had a great time even in the rain. Judy was there to meet us when we arrived & was very helpful with all her information (maps) & tips on what to see & where eat. The room was large, clean, nicely decorated, kitchen & bath had all you would need & more, and her baked good were wonderful. All our family & friends now know about this great B&B with the innkeeper named Judy.


Hidden Gem on Tradd Street

5 en enero 21, 2008

Host was very helpful and spent a lot of time helping us plan our time in Charleston. Great location and VERY clean. Advertized with a continental breakfast, but it was much than the usual muffin and cereal. We stayed in the front garden room and just loved all of the room. We were surrounded by beautiful old homes and just walked and walked.


Judy knows Charleston!

4,8 en enero 06, 2008

I recently traveled to Charleston and stayed quite a few days at Lavender & Lace. Judy made the visit more meaningful and interesting because of her vast knowledge of the area. In addition, she made sure I was happy with the room (yes!) and breakfast treats (yum--fruit, freshly made breads & muffins!). Judy went out of her way to make the trip memorable--and it was.


Perfect location

4,0 en septiembre 10, 2007

There's not much else to say but you couldn't ask for a better location, right in the heart of downtown, located walking distance from everything. Judy was out the weekend we visited, so the "service" and "dining" we can't comment on. Stayed in the charming Back Room, just the perfect size, and quite quiet. I loved the kitchenette and plentiful resources to help us navigate through the city. The only thing negative to mention was that the shower curtain and many of the vents were covered with mildew, which, I am certain if Judy were in town, would have been taken care of immediately. We really enjoyed our stay at Lavender and Lace and have already recommended it to friends.


Beautiful stay in Charleston

4,6 en julio 05, 2007

Lavender and Lace is a lovely B&B in the historic district of Charleston. It is located within easy walking distance of the main bay-front district, historical sites, and great dining. Judy is an enthusiastic and helpful hostess, and her tips were a great assest in maximizing our Charleston visit. We would recommend Lavender and Lace without hesitation. Enjoy!


Best Hostess in Town

5 en junio 29, 2007

Judy could not have been more welcoming or helpful. All of her recommendations proved to be exemplary and well worth the time. The homespun amenities and breakfast were a nice touch. Location is great, especially if you don't mind a short walk. I would recommend Lavendar and Lace with the highest rating!!!


Charming B&B

5 en junio 17, 2007

Lovely B&B!! South of Broad...loved the bicycles, making an easy jaunt downtown. Room was delightful and clean. Afternoon snacks fun to come back to at the end of the day. Judy was a great at giving tour advice. Will definitely come back again.


best b and b ever

5 en junio 15, 2007

clean, well appointed rooms. Wonderful location, great hospitality and really enjoyed the bicylces


Great hospitality!

4,6 en mayo 23, 2007

We really enjoyed out stay at Lavender and Lace. Judy was there to greet us and give advice on restaurants, tours and shopping. Our room was very clean and her breakfast foods and snacks were great. The bikes were wonderful! I will stay again!


A Charleston delight!

5 en mayo 15, 2007

Lavender and Lace was the perfect spot for my husband and I to stay during our brief trip to Charleston to celebrate our anniversary. The rooms were clean and charming and the hospitatlity of Judy (the innkeeper) was outstanding! Fresh home-baked goods and breakfast foods were left in our kitchen each day, which was perfect so that we could snack and eat at our leisure. Also, you couldn't ask to be in a better location - quiet and off the beaten path but within close walking distance to nearly everything. We very much enjoyed using the complimentary inn bicycles to tour around in. I would highly recommend staying at Lavender and Lace for your visit to Charleston!


Lavender and Lace

4,4 en febrero 25, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Lavender and Lace. It was very reasonably priced and in a great part of town. The room was comfy and Judy's hospitality was wonderful. The breakfast and goodies were delicious. We enjoyed seeing the older homes in the area and also had lunch Sat. at G & M after Judy's recommendation, which was wonderful.


Lavender and Lace

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $99 - $195
  • Comentarios (74) 4,7
  • Habitaciones 2

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-8437238968
  • Tel. móvil
    1-8437547261

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba