The Columns Bed and Breakfast Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,9

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,9
  • Servicios5,0
  • Estimación4,9
  • Limpieza4,9
  • Comidas4,9

Puntuación basada en
79 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Simply Delightful!

5 en noviembre 25, 2014

We’d like to add our voices to the chorus of praise singers who have been lucky enough to stay at The Columns B&B. We were encouraged to book a room there by the glowing reviews we read, and found to our delight that all the 5-star ratings were richly deserved. This property is truly a gem, and its owner even more precious. With his wonderful talents in interior design and decorating, and wide-ranging interests and experience, Michael has created a lovely environment to showcase both his beautiful antiques and gracious hospitality. This was far more than just another night’s stay at a wonderful B&B for us. We’ve been treated to a delightful experience we will long remember, and the glow of pleasant thoughts of returning there someday soon.


Simply The Very Best

5 en octubre 27, 2014

We stayed at The Columns at the beginning of a 3 week holiday and it set the bar very high, it was just a shame that we only had one night there as we absolutely loved everything about our short stay. Michael is the perfect host and we felt like we had known him for years by the time the time we left and we didn't want to leave, his delightful B&B is as good as it gets. It is beautifully furnished, spacious, very comfortable throughout and we really cannot praise it enough. The breakfast was wonderful and was presented with such care, a real treat and we cannot fault anything about our stay and will do our best travel in that neck of the woods again just so we can visit The Columns and Michael again. Thank you Michael for making our stay so memorable, we were sad to leave.


Outstanding

5 en septiembre 02, 2014

The Columns B&B Inn is the finest B&B we have stayed at, and we have been to many fine ones around the country. Innkeeper Michael is truly a gracious host. The Inn is filled with gorgeous antiques and beautifully appointed throughout. Every detail of the Inn was impeccable. The breakfast was superb.


Best Bed and Breakfast stay, ever!

5 en abril 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Azalea Suite. We are frequent B&B guests throughout the country and this inn surpassed anywhere we have ever stayed. Michael, the owner and host, has all the gifts and graces to create the perfect stay. His design and decorating talent crafted the most beautiful inn imaginable, his cooking skills delighted us with culinary delights each morning, and his gift of hospitality made us, and all of the guests around his table, comfortable and entertained. His attention to detail is unsurpassed. From the bottle of wine on arrival, to the power strip provided for electronics that appeared after the first night because he realized we needed it, everything was anticipated and provided for. We truly hope to come this way again.


Deserves 6 Stars

5 en octubre 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Columns B & B Inn on 10/10/13 while on our way from Savannah to Charlottesville, VA. I saw the 5 star reviews and the picture of the inn and I booked it. I expected it to be very good but it was off the charts and thus deserves a 6 star rating. Why so high? It was not only a magnificent property but the owner, Michael, was simply wonderful. He is an interior designer and the decor reflects a very creative use of antiques, color and design. All the rooms were tasteful, yet fun, and well equipped. Did I say he was a joy to talk to? For me he was the best part. He has a wide range of interest and a very open way about him. I came away feeling I made a friend and look forward to my next stop there. I'd like to add that the breakfast was 6 stars too. The fresh fruit was arranged like a sculpture and the eggs benedict was delicious.


This is the Inn your Looking for

5 en septiembre 17, 2013

I have always held romantic expectations for B&Bs, until now, nothing had come close. This is what "The Columns Bed and Breakfast Inn" and InnKeeper Michael delivered: A Beautifully appointed Inn with Antique furnishings, Decorated tastefully; Every detail of the Property and the Inn was impeccable. The Comfort of the Guests was the foremost consideration of the Innkeeper. Quiet, Restful, Super Comfortable Beds and selection of Pillows. Coffee in the morning available right at our door and Balcony/Porch to enjoy it on. Spectacular and Delicious Breakfast with a Signature Coffee blend, served in the Gorgeous Dining Room. The Inn is Beautiful, yet so comfortable, you feel welcome and at home. I've finally been pampered. Thank you, Michael. Can't wait to return. LOVE.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast!

5 en septiembre 13, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful overnight stay at this charming inn. We were on our way home to Virginia from Florida and this inn is exactly half way! We arrived in the early evening and were greeted by Michael on the front porch. He showed us to our room and brought us a beautiful bottle of wine. He gave us a great tip on where to have dinner. We decided to order our meal and have it in our gorgeous room with the bottle of wine. What a relaxing treat that was! We had a great night sleep in the very comfortable bed and woke to a delicious gourmet breakfast. Breakfast was served in the formal dining room. We had a delicious yogurt parfait with blueberries to start, next was eggs benedict with fresh berries and kiwi and the most delicious coffee and orange juice! Michael is quite the chef! We had a great time and we loved the conversation that we had over breakfast! We can't wait to go back. In fact we have already made plans for a return trip in a few months, this time for two nights! Michael is a gracious host and we feel that we have made a new friend! Thank you again Michael, your home is beautiful!


Wonderful stay!

5 en agosto 29, 2013

We couldn't have been more pleased with The Columns or the innkeeper, Michael. The home is beautiful and we greatly enjoyed hearing about its history and restoration. Michael takes pride in providing a five-star experience and he is obviously knowledgeable of and attuned to the details that make such a stay - complementary wine upon arrival; beautiful, clean, orderly bedroom and bathroom; delicious breakfast... it was a great experience!


Wonderful

5 en agosto 24, 2013

One memorable night. We couln't have asked for a more pleasant stay. We will be coming back soon.


Amazing bed and breakfast

5 en mayo 30, 2013

The Columns B&B is truly a find. Innkeeper Michael is gracious and witty. The public rooms and guest rooms are filled with gorgeous antiques. Michael truly believes in guests wanting to make this their home while traveling. The breakfast is superb. And for walkers, the surrounding streets are filled with Dillon's finest homes and provide a wonderful walk. We definitely will make The Columns an annual stay!


Tops in every way!

5 en mayo 14, 2013

What a wonderful treat! This fabulous home has been meticulously, expertly, and lovingly restored.... Loved relaxing on the upstairs porch with a morning cup of coffee, before a divine breakfast. Quiet and comfortable.


A Gem

5 en mayo 06, 2013

Absolutely the best B & B you will find. The elegant service, the gourmet breakfast, the beautiful environment and of course, Michael. He is the most interesting and congenial host, while seeing that every detail is perfect. 'Bravo'


We truly enjoyed our stay

5 en diciembre 27, 2012

While traveling to meet with family for Christmas, yet wanting to celebrate the actual date of our 50th anniversary (it was the day prior to Christmas Eve), we made reservations at The Columns and could not have done better. It is a beautiful home decorated with gorgeous antiques. Michael is a great innkeeper and host and treated us like family. If you will be going anywhere near Dillon, SC, make it a point to spend the night at The Columns, better yet, several nights.


A great getaway

5 en noviembre 06, 2012

We stayed at The Columns in October 2012 and were exceedingly pleased with everything. We've stayed at B&B's all over the country and have never been more pleased with any stay. Michael goes out of his way to make you feel like The Columns is your home (although much cleaner, prettier, and more comfortable than my house!) Michael's taste for period design and desire for excellence shines through on every aspect of your stay from one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in to the excellence breakfast.


Flawless Experience

5 en octubre 26, 2012

I travel on business a couple times a year to Florence, SC and have had several bad experiences staying at the major chain hotels in that city so I was looking for an alternative and came across The Columns in Dillon, SC which is about 30 miles from Florence. I was traveling with two other co-workers and we all were so incredibly impressed with the hospitality, accommodations and meals that we can't wait to come back to stay with Michael again! We were all treated like royalty and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The three rooms we had were all unique and beautifully decorated with fine furniture and antiques. The fabrics and linens in the room were very high quality and every inch of the room was meticulously clean! When we returned to The Columns each night after work, Michael greeted us and offered us a glass of complimentary wine. He would ask each night what time we wanted coffee delivered to the second floor in the morning and what time we wanted breakfast. When we walked into the formal dining room each morning the table was perfectly set and a dish of fresh yogurt, fruit and granola was ready for us to eat. That was followed by an entree which varied each morning - omelets the first morning; French toast on day two and the most amazing eggs Benedict on day three. The breakfast was simply elegant each morning. Michael was an incredible host- he was interesting, entertaining and went above and beyond to make us comfortable. I HIGHLY recommend The Columns to any traveler. I have stayed in some very elite hotels, but the accommodations and service at The Columns was some of the finest I have ever experienced.


Absolutely amazing!

5 en octubre 26, 2012

Our stay was amazing! The hospitality was wonderful. The house is beautiful, warm and welcoming. We were treated like queens. The food was unbelievable! I will stay no where else when visiting Dillion.


Amazing find... a truly wonderful experience.

5 en septiembre 29, 2012

This beautiful bed and breakfast has it all.. lovely in everyway, interesting history, beautifully decorated, exceptional service, with extreme detail toward customer service, hopspitality, comfort, and cleanliness. This innkeeper has thought of everything to make your stay a memorable one.. a absolute wonderful experience.. look forward to our next stay.


Relaxing Stay in Elegant Surroundings

4,8 en agosto 27, 2012

My husband & I stopped at The Columns on our way traveling from Florida to Virginia. What a wonderful respite! We only regretted not having more time to stay and be pampered. The room was lovely and spacious with a large comfortable bed. We enjoyed a bottle of wine on arrival on the porch overlooking the lovely front yard. Our host was congenial and a wonderful cook! Breakfast was a delight...almost too much to eat! We will definitely be back again when our travels bring us this way again. Kudos for an inn well run!


MOST charming stop off I-95!

5 en agosto 25, 2012

I happened upon this B&B on the Internet and HOPED that it would be CLOSE to the pictures online. I rented 2 suites for my family back in July as a stopping off int in our road trip. When we arrived we were all shocked at how nice and how absolutely charming this place was.... The proprietor, Michael, absolutely adds to the charm and you can tell that he loves what he does and is good at it. The breakfast was a wonderful presentation as well.. I would highly recommend The Columns as a romantic weekend or as a well worth stopping point.... it was SO NICE to experience this as I stay in many of the chain hotels for work. It would be worth your while... all around!


Wonderful Stay at The Columns

5 en agosto 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Columns B&B to get away for the weekend before school started up again. The experience we had was well worth it. The room we stayed in was huge and had terrific scenery outside the window. We had full range of the upstairs balcony where we enjoyed a nice evening wine. The owner, Michael, was a terrific host. He is full of knowledge about the house and surrounding areas. We took a walk down to a nearby park Michael suggested and it was a safe and enjoyable walk. The breakfast was excellent and you can tell Michael takes a joy in cooking for you. He even had our leftover fruit waiting for us after the church service. My wife and I will definitely be staying at The Columns B&B again in the future.


GREAT EXPERIENCE!

4,6 en julio 28, 2012

We stayed at The Columns Bed and Breakfast for one night for a wedding in town, and it was our very first time staying in a bed and breakfast! I must say that we really enjoyed the experience and the owner was very friendly. The house was clean and the breakfast was very good!!! :)


Bethea Reunion Comfort

4,8 en julio 09, 2012

Outstanding service and well appointed rooms. Nothing but comfort for my family. congrats to Michael for a great experience.


Southern Charm

5 en julio 03, 2012

Well worth the short drive from I-95 to stay at this beautiful, comfortable B&B. We were warmly welcomed and made comfortable in The Dogwood Room. I'd love to visit again and stay when the trees are in bloom. Even without the blossoms it was wonderful. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Enjoy your morning coffee on the upstairs porch. Michael pays close attention to detail from decor to the food taste and presentation. We felt very welcomed and will return when driving back and forth along I-95.


Perfect Southern Comfort

4,8 en junio 03, 2012

You can drive from Baltimore to Hilton Head without stopping, but why would you when The Columns stands ready for rest and renewal? When we arrived we were greeted by Innkeeper Michael Real with a glass of wine and warm tour of this amazingly beautiful Southern Inn. Our evening was quiet and restful with the distant sound of a train rolling through Dillon. Every thoughtful treatment was found in fine linens, antiques and spotlessly clean chambers. We were asked about our breakfast preferences, even what we liked in our coffee. After a comfortable nights sleep we were treated to a gourmet breakfast that should have been photographed. Fresh fruit, eggs Benedict and fresh squeezed juice made for a welcome way to begin the last leg of our trip. Michael even packed my wife a fruit salad for the road. Without a doubt, this is the finest B&B experience we have had in 30 years. When forced to travel on I95 in South Carolina treat yourself to a five minute detour to Dillon and allow Michael to spoil you with style and comfort. Michael, we'll be back. Maybe even on the way home.


Our first B&B experience, it was outstanding!

5 en mayo 24, 2012

We spent a night on our way to Florida. The inn is beautiful. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Our bathroom was bright and sparkling. They asked about food allergies and made us a delicious breakfast. We will be back next year.


A Beautiful Inn in a Very Convenient Location

4,4 en mayo 09, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at The Columns which is beautiful inside and out and very conveniently located. Michael was a gracious and informative host who is rightly proud of his inn. Our room was attractive and the bed very comfortable. The only minor inconvenience was the lack of a separate air conditioning control in our particular room. The breakfast table was very attractively set and the food perfectly presented and delicious. We won't hesitate to recommend The Columns to our friends, and have already done so.


Peaceful getaway

5 en abril 25, 2012

Thank you to Michael for making our getaway so wonderful. And sharing with me some decorating secrets. The Beauty and comfort of the Inn reflects care and attention to detail equals Michael's warm hospitality.


rest & recharge

5 en marzo 22, 2012

An extraordinary delight…whether business, getaway or vacation one finds a relaxing atmosphere to recharge and relax from the hustle-and-bustle. Period furnishings and décor make each room comfortable, distinct and inviting…plus there’s an excellent library of choice titles. Hot coffee, be it fresh, the usual or stronger than strong, The Columns is most heartily recommended…


Wonderful experience!!

5 en marzo 04, 2012

We stopped in Dillon on our way back north and had a wonderful time! Everything was really perfect - beautiful, perfectly kept up and decr\orated home, absolutely delicious full breakfast, extensive amenities in our room, and a wonderful host!! We would highly recommend this B&B and hope to return on our next trip south!


An incredible find!!!!!!

5 en marzo 04, 2012

What a special place. Michael and Mark where the perfect hosts and the accommodations were spectacular and very comfortable, lots of very nice antiques but not overly frilly. Breakfast, Eggs Benedict, was the best I ever had. Michael is an incredible individual with lots of interesting conversation.


Wonderful stay on our way south to Key West.

5 en marzo 03, 2012

The Columns Bed and Breakfast Inn sets the gold standard for all other B&Bs. Michael is the consummate host. We were warmly welcomed; our room was tastefully comfortable; and the breakfast was splendid and delicious. This was our first visit to The Columns and Michael and Mark made us feel like old cherished friends. We will definitely return.


The Columns is over the top in all respects!

5 en febrero 13, 2012

We found The Columns online, but would definitely recommend it to anyone. Host Michael Real was very warm and welcoming, a great host. His love of history and delight in over-the-top decoration is infectious. Books everywhere invite a cozy evening's read, and in the morning, breakfast with lots of fresh fruit was delicious.


Gracious Southern Hospitality

4,0 en enero 19, 2012

What a great experience, beautifuly decorated and hosted. Could not believe I was in Dillion SC. If you in the area, don't miss lovely B & B Linda and Charlie O


Fantastic Again

4,0 en diciembre 25, 2011

Our second stay at The Columns was predictably wonderful. There are not enough superlatives to do justice to Michael Relal's hospitality, fine furnishings, great breakfast and friendship. Don't miss it,


A Diamond in Dillon

5 en noviembre 08, 2011

We booked The Columns so we could attend a wedding in Dillon. The big surprise was we were pampered and attended to by Michael Real, the innkeeper at The Columns, with joy and passion. Michael loves what he does and he does it with panache. The exterior of this early 20th century home is well maintained and makes a magnificent presence in the town of Dillon. The interior is filled with treasures that Michael has collected over the years--all look absolutely perfect in this gorgeous home. Breakfast was healthy and beautifully prepared. We just may make Dillon a stop on our way south from now on.


Beautiful Place

5 en noviembre 03, 2011

Drove by & stopped -- Michael took us in & put us in a beautiful room. Clean, well-kept & relaxing atmosphere.


Extraordinary!

5 en octubre 24, 2011

My wife and I spent the night at The Columns yesterday, and words cannot adequately describe the very high level of our satisfaction. The hospitality, the accommodations and the breakfast were extraordinary.


Most elegant stop off 95 South or North

4,6 en octubre 02, 2011

Wow! Feels like coming home. Comfy bed, great hospitality. Makes for a totally different experience than a chain hotel. Oh so relaxing! Bravo, what a find!


Wonderful experience!

5 en septiembre 18, 2011

This is truly an exceptional place to stay with an incredible host, Michael. My husband had wanted the stay to be very special and asked Michael if he would help. He arranged to have a dozen beautiful roses, champagne and even a sweet card waiting in our beautiful room when we arrived, much to my surprise! We felt very pampered throughout our stay at this beautiful old home. Our Dogwood suite was lovely and the bed most comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and a true delight. We felt very pampered throughout our stay and thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of a delightful host. We will certainly be returning to this fabulous place!


J. Turner

4,6 en septiembre 06, 2011

Michael Real was exceptionally knowledgeable and personable and made us feel both like family and extremely important quests. The Columns is absolutley beautiful and extraordinarily appointed. The breakfast was simply amazing with a combination of very fresh and varied fruits and the best quiche I have ever tasted. You can not go wrong is you should decide to stay here. We will definitely find a reason to return.


A must to visit

5 en agosto 29, 2011

Our host, Michael Real, is a unique innkeeper. His experience as an interior designer in Washington, DC, and elsewhere, have resulted in creating an outstanding B & B. The extensive collection of period furnishings are complemented by the lastest amenities. His friendliness and attention to detail, and conversational talent provided us with a most enjoyable visit. We look forward to our next road trip, which will definitely include a stop in Dillon, SC. even if it means travelling off the beaten track.


Awesome B&B

5 en agosto 22, 2011

I stayed here for a night to attend a funeral and wow, what a eye catcher and great B&B. This is a remarkable bed and breakfast. Michael was a great host and ensured I was taken care of. The room (Dogwood) was great. Comfortable bed and great bath room. I definitely would come back again. I intend to with my Fiance!


A beautiful getaway!

5 en agosto 17, 2011

I stayed at this lovely inn for my high school reunion and I will be returning. I felt very pampered in this elegant, comfortable setting. Breakfast was divine and the hospitality delightful.


The Columns B&B

5 en agosto 08, 2011

The columns was an unexpected highlight of our vacation down south. The home is impeccable decorated. large, comfortable rooms and a gracious innkeeper, Michael all made our stay a perfect experience.


Affordable Southern Elegance

5 en agosto 07, 2011

Beautiful historic home that has given us treasured memories. The Columns B&B is elegant yet comfortable, totally peaceful, relaxing, and refreshing. Impeccable cleanliness and decor. Innkeeper Michael met us at the door saying "this is your home for the next two days." Michael is also a gourmet chef and the breakfasts were outstanding, appealing to the eye, plentiful, and delicious. A wealth of good reading material, stimulating conversation, and breezy porches. We spent two nights here for our wedding anniversary and have no doubt we will return.


A place like no other

5 en agosto 06, 2011

This review has been too long in the making and I hope Michael and Mark can forgive me. We have stayed at The Columns B&B on three different occasions and have only wonderful reviews. The owners do everything to make you feel comfortable and welcome, and when you arrive, you truly feel as if you are coming home. From the welcoming seating on the full wrap around porch, to the sitting rooms (and the Napoleon room) to the books and hidden TV in the upstairs sitting/reading area, (to my favorite oasis, the upstairs balcony) you are surrounded by warmth and comfort. The owners do their best to take care of you, no matter where you are from or where you are going. The Columns is a true Treasure of the finest Victorian showplace, and even though it is filled with museum quality furniture and art, it is still a warm and welcoming home. Because it is a working Bed and Breakfast, there are certain things that make The Columns outstanding. The bedrooms are not just rooms, but lovingly prepared suites personally decorated with gracious themes, down to the smallest accent pieces. The beds themselves are welcoming clouds enveloping you for a wonderful and restful sleep. The other part of the B&B experience is the Breakfast. There are many B&B's that have good rooms and good breakfasts. That is not the case here. From the starter of Cinnamon flavored coffee (or if you prefer, tea) to the wonderfully prepared dishes (with dietary considerations taken into account) Breakfast is a meal to be savored including (if you are lucky enough) conversation with the wonderful owners, Michael and Mark. The Columns is not a "stopover" place, but a restful and peaceful destination. Our stays at The Columns have been the best part of our trips and we look forward to returning "home" in the future. Thank you, Michael and Mark.


Glorious Dillon B&B

5 en julio 29, 2011

Gorgeous home! Beautiful antiques. Breakfast was so delicious and elegant. Coffee was served outside our room before breakfast. Loads of great magazines. Our host was a delight! We shared a love of Napoleons (I &III) and had quite lively discussions! Definitely recommend the Columns for a wonderful stay.


The best "stay" you'll ever have.

5 en julio 25, 2011

Of all the B&Bs we've stayed in, Michael Real's The Columns B&B Inn in Dillon, SC is the absolute best! Best in architecture, decoration, hospitality, comfort, food, attention to detail and on and on. Michael is one of those wonderful people who truly has the GIFT of hospitality. Never have I been made to feel so welcome and comfortable as we were here. Absolutely every effort was made to insure we were pampered and well-cared-for, and throughout it all, we were amazed at Michael's charm and wonderful sense of humor. I am happy to recommend The Columns to anyone and everyone traveling up or down I-95. If you don't have a trip planned to take you in that direction, then I suggest you plan one to Dillon itself and let Michael guide you with his thorough knowledge of the town and area. I guarantee it will be one of the most pleasurable stays you will ever have. John and Ann


Want a vacation from your vacation?

5 en junio 20, 2011

Dillon, SC may not be your endpoint vacation destination, but perhaps it should be! We extended our vacation by an extra night because we enjoyed The Columns too much to leave after just one night. What characteristics that distinguish The Columns from other lovely Southern Greek Revival B&Bs? The hosts make you a welcome guest in their home from the moment you cross the threshold. They create a relaxing homelike atmosphere in what is essentially a very formal, painstakingly restored Greek Revival mansion--no mean trick. The fine interior design and furnishings are worth a trip in themselves. Sipping cool wine on the porch was the perfect antidote to a longish hot drive. Taking a late leisurely bath after choosing from a selection of bath salts was a special indulgence. And breakfast, served at a reasonable time (!), was superb. Talk about indulgence! Also, for the caffeine addicted among us, there's coffee waiting in the lounge just outside your room. I could go on, but you get the picture. Give yourself a treat. Visit The Columns and during your stay take at least a few minutes to chat with the lovely innkeepers who run it.


A Destination You Must Not Miss

4,8 en junio 13, 2011

The Columns B&B Inn in Dillon SC is a destination that you should not miss. Michael Real is a warm and charming host; I felt like I was visiting a close friend. The Inn is as beautiful as the pictures portray; a wonderful inviting wrap-around porch, well maintained gardens and plants, exceptional furnishings and decor, and my favorite - the upper sitting deck. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Michael serves wine in the afternoon/evening, breakfast beverages at your door and a full breakfast in the dining room. I am already looking forward to my next trip back.


World class accommodations in Dillon, SC

5 en junio 07, 2011

The Columns B&B Inn is a jewel of the South. The experience was wonderful. No detail was missed.


First B & B experience

4,8 en mayo 28, 2011

This was our first B & B stay so we didn't quite know what to expect. Upon arrival we were greeted and right away felt as if we had known each other for some time. Every detail was exquisite and immaculate. The Dogwood room was beautifully decorated along with the bathroom. Michael suggested a recital at the corner of the street at the Methodist Church which we attended that evening. What a beautiful young lady with a powerful voice. We thoroughly enjoyed our night there and the breakfast was unbelievable. Don't know how we ate it all but we did. If we go back to the Carolinas we will definately be making another stop here. Thanks for a wonderful getaway. Cheryl


Unexpected elegance

4,6 en mayo 21, 2011

This is a wonderful alternative to the motels that crowd the exits from I-95. Just a mile or two beyond the cheek-by-jowl Holiday Inns and Best Westerns, this is a gorgeous building, lovingly presided over by Michael, an unfailingly gracious host and a fount of information on the area.


Feels Like Coming Home

5 en mayo 06, 2011

I want to thank you for a truly wonderful stay at The Columns this past March. Coming back to Dillon for my aunt's funeral was a time of mixed emotions to be sure. You offered our family a lovely place to lay our heads for a few days and your gracious manner made us feel we were indeed coming home. The Columns is steeped in welcoming charm. It is evident how much you care about the 'old ways' of the South. Your knowledge of the community and its people, your attention to detail in the restoration of the home, gave us the feeling we had stepped back in time. We have not had such a nostalgic experience in many years. Thank you for that priceless gift. Our family sends you warmest regards and best wishes for every success.


Best accommodation along US95

5 en mayo 01, 2011

Traveling from GA to MD, we wanted something nicer than the standard chains; we found a wonderful alternative at The Columns. We were greeted by Michael who showed us around and brought us wine on the balcony. Rooms are lovingly decorated and immaculately kept. We received morning coffee brought to our room and had a wonderful breakfast the next day. Parking was easy, rates were very reasonably, and it was only minutes back to US95. It was a great choice.


Southern Hospitality at it's finest

5 en abril 23, 2011

This beautiful inn looks exactly as pictured, both exterior and interiors. The place was spotless and the innkeeper could not have been kinder or more engaging. It is clear that he wants his guests to feel special when at his establishment as he strives to anticipate and meet their every need. We can't say enough good things about our stay and will definitely visit again when traveling south.


The Columns

5 en abril 18, 2011

You can rest assured The Columns will live up to or exceed any reviews you read on this site or others. Michael Real knows what he is doing. The Inn is beautiful inside and out, service exquisite, and the breakfast outstanding. This may be the best B&B we have ever visitied. Our visit was somewhat serendipitous as we were just looking for a way to break up a trip between NC and Fla. My only regret on our recent stay is that we could not stay longer.


The highlight of a 3 week trip to Florida

5 en marzo 18, 2011

My husband has never wanted to stay in a B&B, but at this one, we had a wonderful time--and my husband even bought dinner for the owners!! I'd return yesterday!


Michael, Michael, Michael

4,8 en enero 22, 2011

Michael greeted us warmly, told us how to find the meal of our preference, and upon our return treated us to the great history of this home and his career in the B & B industry. Retiring to our chamber was perfect to every degree: accommodations which afforded excellent sleep, grooming, chatting, and browsing (interesting sewing cabinet upon which our room's TV sat and publications found in the upstairs hallway). Breakfast service was delightful- most accommodating to our schedule, excellent quality and diversity of food. The creme de la creme was how conversational Michael was while serving our breakfast courses and thereafter before we departed. It was not easy to say good-bye. We were happy to take many promotional items to urge our family, to which we were pushing on for Christmas celebration, to visit our rare find. And how special it was upon our return to California to find a Christmas card from Michael! I know of all the B & Bs we've stayed at, this is the first proprietor who has extended himself to this degree. (Oh yeah, ladies, there were 2 bath products I was happy to take home with me!! Maybe all Southern ladies expect make-up removing product nightly, but it was a treat for me. And the Thai soap with rice and jasmine was an international touch I relished. Of course, there are other tributes to ladies in the finishing decor touches. Go to The Columns to find them and tickle your fancy.)


The Ritz Carlton of Bed and Breakfasts!

5 en enero 21, 2011

In a word...impeccable. The service and the accommodations are beyond anything I've seen in a bed and breakfast. If you are looking for perfection, you can find it at the Columns. Michael is the consummate host and pampers his guests like they are honored friends. The house is decorated beautifully but the real treat is the rooms. The little details are everywhere from the exquisite linens (ironed sheets!) to the super comfortable bed to the elegantly appointed bathroom. I soaked for what seemed like hours in the huge claw foot tub using all the bath salts and gels that they provided. I wished I could have taken more baths so I could have tried them all! Whether it's for a couple or a group, the Columns offers the finest in bed and breakfast that you could wish for. I was there with my husband and we felt like we had complete privacy but in the morning when all the guests came down for breakfast, it felt like we were a group of old friends on vacation together. Michael serves a delicious and elegant breakfast and it was clear at breakfast that it wasn't just us that felt like we were in the home of our dear friends. Everybody else did as well.


"Returning Customers"

5 en enero 19, 2011

We stayed at the Columns B&B last year on our trip home to NH. We loved it so much that we came back again this year. If you travel the I-95 corridor up or down the East Coast, you will not find a better place to stay than this B&B. Michael Real, the Innkeeper is a terrific host and his home is gorgeous and comfortable. My wife and I have stayed in many B&B's throughout this country and in Europe. I have never felt so at home than at the Columns B&B. This is one of the best places that we have ever stayed at. We will be back again in the near future!


This is not your ordinary B&B

5 en octubre 17, 2010

No B&B we know of has the splendor and attention to the guest this one has. It has been rebuilt with great attention to detail, decorated professionally, and furnished for comfort. Innkeeper, Michael Real has a lot of experience at doing what he does best - serving and pleasing his guests. His breakfasts - food and service - are something to experience. The Laws


The finest B&B we have ever stayed in!

4,4 en agosto 24, 2010

Our stay at The Columns, Dillon, South Carolina was a truly unforgettable and phenomenal experience. From the moment we entered this fine establishment through to the time we left, our hosts treated us like royalty. The interior of this palatial residence was atmospheric and a vision to behold. Each room was decorated with taste, passion, imagination and flair. Our en suite bedroom was the epitome of comfort and luxury. The bathroom that was decorated in a clean and impressive manner that took one back to the times of yesteryear! Upon waking our guests provided us with a delicious breakfast that looked in itself like a work of art. They also kindly provided us with printed directions to the airport as we were unfamiliar with road systems in the USA. In summary, these guys are professionals! The sheer individuality and character of this house make it must for anyone to stay! My family and I are in no doubt that we will return to ‘The Columns’ sometime in the near future. Trevor (UK)


Don't Miss This Gem

5 en agosto 10, 2010

My husband and I have been to many B&Bs over the past 15 years. The Columns(perfectly named) happens to be one of our favorite. The home is gorgeous and comfortable. The innkeeper is very friendly and accomidating -to the max. I felt like I knew him forever! His breakfast was wonderfully presented, exceptionally delicious and looked too good to eat, but we managed. I wish we could have stayed longer! If you are in the area, treat yourself to unique southern hospitality at The Columns.


A Diamond in the Rough

4,0 en julio 11, 2010

I have been traveling I95 from Jacksonville to DC for 13 years and just found a slice of heaven 2 miles off of 195 in Dillion SC. Michael is a fabulous host and his cinnamon,raisin,apple,french toast is a sugar addicts dream. It was my parents & 13 year old niece's first time to a B&B and The Columns was perfection, a great way to wrap up my neice's summer break in Jax, FL. Thank You Michael, See you next trip!


"Serenity at The Columns"

5 en junio 06, 2010

I discovered The Columns on the internet and called to make reservations. I spoke with Michael who was very pleasant and after talking with him for about 30 minutes on the area and directions he answered every question I had. Our stay with Michael and Mark can only be described as peaceful and amazing. Michael and Mark went above and beyond what we have ever experienced at a bed and breakfast. When we asked where would be a good place to eat they had just the place. The breakfast each morning was a five star quality meal and attention to detail was second to none. The room we stayed in was huge and had the most amazing furnishings with a very at home feeling. My husband and I are looking forward to visiting with them again in the fall. If you are traveling north or south on interstate 95 pass by all the hotels and make your stay at The Columns……


What a Find!

5 en mayo 17, 2010

One can travel the entire east coast I-95 corridor and not find a finer place to stay. My wife and I came across The Columns unexpectantly early one evening after wanting to avoid a dissappointing overnight experience on the interstate. Besides columns, this beautifully restored Greek Revival antebellum has it all -- wrap-around porch, beautifully furnished downstairs rooms and upstairs guest suites, king size beds, fine linens, wainscoting, oriental carpets, fireplaces, ceiling fans, and bristol clean bathrooms. Just as memorable was the elegantly served breakfast and the attention provided us by the warm-hearted innkeeper, Michael. We enjoyed learning about this three-year restoration project. Considering the total experience we had, other well-known B&Bs that costed us three times as much did not compare in terms of surroundings and service provided. This was truly a place to savor and relax, and not a place to be in a hurry to leave.


Best Break on Your Way South!!

5 en mayo 15, 2010

WE arrived late after a long drive. Michael waited for us, helped us to our room which was truly beautiful. I took a long bath in luxury bath products and tucked into the a king size bed with my husband on a fabulousl bed with the finest linens. This is so so wonderful compared to grabbing a room in the mediocre hotels that line the highway. Do yourself a favor, stay here and not only have a wonderful sleep but a fantastic gourmet breakfast. Thank you Michael!


WOW!!!!

5 en abril 06, 2010

What a pleasure and fond memory. Michael is a wonderful host and obviously has a passion for the restoration of history. If you are traveling on I95, stop here and enjoy this bit of paradise, you will not be disappointed. The room (the dogwood) was beautiful and huge. Michael provided complimentary wine and the best breakfast I have ever enjoyed in a B&B. I hope to return.


You can reserve the entire B&B

5 en diciembre 31, 2009

The Columns B&B on E. Main ST in Dillon, SC, was the right choice for my daughter’s wedding and breakfast reception. Having the warmth needed for a winter event of this importance, being both eloquent and stately to hold a solemn ceremony and dynamically flexible to meet individual needs: from rearranging furnishings to best serve the guests to morning coffee for my wife exactly to her specifications, allowed us great freedom to relax and enjoy the reason for our visit. My thanks to Mr. Michael Real (Innkeeper) for his diligence; even though our wedding party was small in comparison to traditional weddings his care for our guests and the esthetically pleasant ambiance of “The Columns” made it a large, living, lasting memory for us all. Our stay was one of abundance and luxury. If you desire to experience last century’s true southern hospitality without traditions except for ones in your power to evoke, plan a stay and make reservations at this opulent bed and breakfast. pgt


Excellent place to stay!

5 en diciembre 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Columns B&B Inn on the first night of our three day trip from Naples, FL to Bedford, NH. We arrived at about 5:30 PM after travelling for almost eleven hours but were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the place really is. Michael and Mark have done a wonderful job of renovating the beautiful 1903 mansion. The rooms are huge, the food is outstanding and the hospitality is second to none. The Inn is located just a couple of miles off I-95 which is ideal for somemone needing easy access to the highway. Would highly recommend this place to all our friends who travel to and from Florida to places North.


Awesome elegance

5 en octubre 29, 2009

Half way between Delaware and Florida we found the Columns Bed and Breakfast in Dillon SC. What a fantastic find! We were fortunate enough to call ahead and reserve the Azelea suite for the night. Talk about unsurpassed luxury. We had the most comfortable King size bed with soft and luxorious linens and pillows, a sitting area which we used for reading, and a wonderful brightly lit and tiled bathroom. We felt as comfortable there as we did in our own home, something lacking in most of the motels along I-95. The antiques were stunning and as for cleanliness, this place is off the chart! After one of the most relaxing nights sleep, we were treated to a goumet breakfast in a spectacular dining room, by the Innkeepers Michael and Mark. These two couldn't do enough to make us comfortable and make our morning meal a delight. Considering some of the less memorable "Full Continental Breakfasts" offered at the motels on I-95, this breakfast was a fantastic way to start off the day without the crowded small eating areas and sometimes less than friendly motel staff. We will make the Columns a regular stop whenever possible. I recommend anyone traveling between NY NJ PA or Delaware to Florida consider staying there at least one time but be warned, it may become habit forming!


What a wonderful B+B!

5 en octubre 29, 2009

Beautiful, quiet place to stay and unwind. Be sure to enjoy a glass of wine on the 2nd floor balcony. The Dogwood Suite was very comfortable and quite spacious. Gourmet breakfast served on china in dining room. Innkeeper, Michael, is a wonderful host. We would highly recommend staying here!


Elegant

5 en octubre 17, 2009

Elegant place, great host, leave your present day troubles behind and head back to 1903 (with modern conviences like AC and heat). Looking forward to another visit.


Could not ask for more

5 en octubre 11, 2009

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Columns B&B and it was one of the most pleasant experiences that I have had in a long time. Upon arrival we were greeted in a very courteous manor and were shown to our breathtaking room. We stayed in the Azalea suite which is more beautiful than words can describe. The simple but classically chic decor made me feel at home- immediately. The innkeeper was spectacular. He was more than kind and not to mention the mouthwatering breakfast he prepared for us all! I will definitely stay again and most likely I will plan vacations just so I can visit the Columns again! I can't wait to go back!


All other B&B's have a thing or two to learn from The Columns

5 en octubre 11, 2009

I have never felt so at home and taken care of while on the road. I found The Columns by doing a quick search of B&B's close to 95 and on our way down the coast. The pictures on the website made it look like a historic dreamworld, but of course, the pictures ALWAYS make it look better than it really is..... WRONG, the service, the bedroom, the bathroom, the decor, EVERYTHING exceeded our expectations of what a bed and breakfast should be. When we woke up, the beautiful dining room table was done up for ourselves and the two other guests. After a few minutes of talking, Michael (Nicest Innkeeper I have ever met, we sat down and talked to him about anything and everything over wine the night before) brought out THE best eggs benedict to ever grace the likes of my tastebuds, surrounded by a barrage of sliced, in-season, south carolinian fruit. I cannot say enough about how nice Michael was, how nice the house was, or how great the experience was. All I can say is that we absolutely will be coming back to stay and catch up with our new friend Michael again. Best B&B ever.


one of the best b&b's around

5 en octubre 09, 2009

We stopped here on the way to Florida (coming from NYC). With so many options and places to stay, it was tough to choose. Found it on the internet and decided to give it a shot. Thrilled we picked The Columns. The place was beautiful, spotless and welcoming. You can tell a lot of time and effort was put in to restore the building to this level and detail. Grand rooms filled with all types of cool artifacts and pieces (check out all the different fireplaces). They also have 2 pianos (a big bonus since my girlfriend plays, and yes they let us go to town on both of them). The 2 gentlemen that took care of us were super friendly and made us feel at home. Tried the eggs benny and fruit for breakfast, yummy. If only all b&b's were like this. If we didn't have a schedule we needed to stick to, we would have stayed another night. Definitely recommend this b&b. Flawless and enjoyable from start to finish. Thank you gentlemen!


The Columns Inn - Dillon, S.C.

5 en septiembre 06, 2009

This elegant home offers luxurious guest rooms, each with lovely bathrooms and antique furnishings. The gracious host serves an absolutely gourmet breakfast in a beautiful dining room - the house is remodeled, redecorated, and furnished with extraordinary antiques from all over the world. Staying in this inn is a wonderful experience - it is the quintessential bed and breakfast home when you are away from home.


Top Notch B&B, the best you will find!

5 en septiembre 01, 2009

The Columns is an amazing B&B run by Michael and Mark. The B&B is impeccably decorated with antiques and unusual pieces specially selected for this unique Inn. Bedrooms were very large and roomy with huge windows, and the entire Inn was spotless! Wrap around porches and rocking chairs really give this home the southern charm. Michael and Mark are passionate about ensuring your stay is an experience to remember, and mine was. One night here, and I felt like I was on vacation for a week. Breakfast was incredible, large portions on fine china. Make sure you try the eggs benedict and fruit plate. Location was ideal, and the home was so charming and pleasant to stay in. I didn't want to leave! This B&B is close to I-95 and is an ideal resting point for travelers. You will love it! Every room is a treat and a great value.


The Columns Bed and Breakfast Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $129 - $194
  • Comentarios (79) 4,9
  • Habitaciones 5

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-8437743456

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba