Jackson House Comentarios

TOTAL

4,6

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,5
  • Servicios4,8
  • Estimación4,5
  • Limpieza4,6
  • Comidas4,7

Puntuación basada en
116 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Delightful Experience

4,6 en octubre 07, 2013

My wife and I biked the Heritage Trail using the Jackson House as our base camp. It was a good value and fun experience to stay there. The owner is very knowledgeable about the area and willing to share her recommendations concerning restauarants and activities. We will stay there again and have recommended the place to two other set of satisfied customers.


The Jackson House

4,8 en septiembre 25, 2013

We loved our stay at The Jackson House! Pam is helpful and kind, and the location right next to the rail trail can't be beat!


Great Stay at a Great B&B!

5 en julio 07, 2013

My husband and I came to stay at Jackson House for a wedding we were photographing in the area. It was perfect! We stayed in the Rail Trail Suite and it was comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathroom is awesome. It was also nice to have a private entrance. The only downside is you can hear every step the people in the Cottage Suite above take (and we happened to have people that stayed up quite late and rose quite early above us unfortunately). We ride bikes so it was awesome to be able to walk right out of our door and take a ride. Pam & Bob were terrific hosts; full of useful information about the area, very kind and hospitable. Food was terrific! We've even discussed coming back for a short getaway just to ride bikes and relax. I would definitely recommend staying here if in the area.


Jackson B&B

5 en junio 02, 2013

Our stay at the Jackson House was wonderful. We stayed in the cottage which was great since we had to small dogs. the food was wonderful and the hosts were so friendly. They made you feel like family. There are many stores close by and many things to see. Jackson House is my pick if I am ever in the area again. Barb & Tim


Jackson B&B

5 en mayo 21, 2013

The cottage was great. The pets were happy. We loved the hot tub. I would reccomend this place. The hosts were so friendly! Tim And Barb


As Close To Perfect As Can Get

4,4 en abril 20, 2013

I should first explain my ratings. Service and dinning are off the chart. I have a higher rating but they don't have more stars. Trust me, both are above and beyond outstanding. As far as cleanliness goes it did meet expectations. I must warn you that I pay little attention to details of cleaning. Just dust, sweep, and empty the trash and I'm good. The room was fantastic. The decor and layout are great. The newly remodeled Rail Trail Room is lovely. Just my style. As for value I have to say it is better than I could have hoped for. It was my first B&B and now it's also my second. My wife liked it too.


Great Get away

4,6 en febrero 27, 2013

It was a nice, quiet stay. I needed a get away from taking care of my Mom...My beau loved the trail and the cookies!!!..Local restaurants were OK...We will be back so beau can bike the trail...Hotel service was GREAT...


Going There Again!

4,6 en febrero 24, 2013

We recently had our first bed and breakfast experience at Jackson House and we will certainly go back. The innkeeper Pam was very welcoming and our room (The Daisy Room)was cheery and clean with an extremely comfortable bed. We were able to view some of the other rooms and look forward to trying out a more luxurious one next time. The antiques through out the house added to its charm. The food at breakfast as well as the cookies at checkin was outstanding.


Romantic Getaway

5 en febrero 20, 2013

We enjoyed our overnight stay at the B&B very much. We had a Valentine's Dinner at Seven Valleys Winery and Vineyard. Our stay at the B&B was the icing on the cake for our romantic evening away.


Lovely

4,8 en enero 10, 2013

I stayed here from Sunday evening through Wednesday morning in late July, 2012 so I could be within 30 minutes of Timonium to sit for the MD bar exam, but also be somewhere quiet and not surrounded by others taking the exam. I stayed in the cottage and this place was exactly what I needed - it was serene, the breakfast was delicious (and very hospitable!), and I felt at home. I took advantage of the path right next to the b&b to take study breaks that Monday, and to decompress after the Tuesday exam. The enclosed porch was wonderful. I ate well at nearby restaurants - taking the road along the cornfields was a highlight. I highly recommend Jackson House B&B and I look forward to taking my fiance there for a weekend. Thank you for the wonderful lodging and hospitality that helped me pass the bar!


Excellent B&B

5 en diciembre 26, 2012

The Jackson House was an excellent getaway. My wife and I stayed in the cottage room which was quite excellent. Breakfast was amazing and Pam was very hospitable. I would definitely stay there again.


Great B&B in a great location at a great price

4,6 en diciembre 24, 2012

This historic, cozy inn is adjacent to the Heritage Rail Trail and easy to get to. The Eggs Benedict was superbly prepared by the owner and capped off a very pleasant stay. A highly recommended experience.


Wonderful stay in PA!

5 en noviembre 26, 2012

The room was cozy and quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable. The service was great and every day the breakfast was tasty!! We really enjoyed the pleasant company of the other guests during breakfast and had some very fun and educational discussions. I'd highly recommend this B & B to others. We'll definitely be going back!


Great place to get away

4,6 en octubre 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Jackson House. We did not realize it was popular for the bike trails nearby as we chose this place simply to get away from it all. The innkeepers were very nice and informative and left fresh homemade cookies on the table for all staying there. The rooms were clean and exactly as the pictures indicated. Breakfast was good and healthy. This was the first Bed and Breakfast we had ever been to and found it a bit different from a hotel, but very enjoyable. The hot tub was surprisingly not used by the others at the time of our say and was also quite enjoyable and clean. My only complaint is that the bathroom in the Daisy Room didn't have the greatest blinds and it was very easy to see into from the outside. We would love to return to the Jackson House, maybe we will try the cottage room next time as it is a bit more secluded than the rest of the rooms.


This place is great!

5 en octubre 26, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Cottage...very private and romantic. The breakfasts were amazing, the hot tub was great after riding our bikes on the rail trail, and the innkeeper was very helpful with things to do in the area...went to two wineries (loved Allegro) and some antique shops. We'll be back soon for sure.


would recommend to friends and family

5 en octubre 24, 2012

I stayed at the Jackson House with my husband, and was very pleased, nice place very clean, and very relaxing. I will definately come back. The innkeeper was very helpful with dinner suggestions and what other outtings we could get into. Don't forget your bike the trail is very relaxing, peaceful especially with the leaves changing. Don't take my word for see for your self.


Wonderful B&B, but lacks in cleanliness!

3,8 en octubre 20, 2012

I have stayed at Jackson House several times. I have always loved it for it's cozy and welcoming atmosphere. The breakfast is excellent, and the breakfast room is beautiful, rustic and cozy. The only draw-back is how very dusty the room has been. The last time the bed even smelled bad!! (Rail Trail Room)

Respuesta del propietario

At the Jackson House we strive for perfection in service AND cleanliness. We thank you for pointing out the problem and assure you we are addressing it in a big way, replacing bedding and instituting new quality-control room check practices. We are glad you find us welcoming, love the dining room and breakfasts and enjoyed your stay otherwise.


Worth the ride

4,6 en octubre 14, 2012

We enjoyed the historical ambiance, the proximity to the rail trail and the hot tub was welcome pleasure after a long ride. The inn keeper was accommodating and gracious.


Fun and romantic stay in Railroad PA

4,2 en octubre 03, 2012

Very cool place...lovely hospitality from the owner! The biking path right outside the door is an excellent way to spend a day or just go for a walk or jog. Would recommend the B&B to friends!


An excellent B&B visit

5 en septiembre 12, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our five night stay at the Jackson House. It was a perfect location for us to explore York and Lancaster Counties and visit sites in northern Maryland, too. We love historical sites and the building itself is a gem. We rented the Stonewall Jackson room which has great exposed stone walls, as does the dining room. Highly recommended!


Lovely hideaway in Railroad, PA

5 en julio 17, 2012

When asked to meet friends for dinner in Shrewsbury, we decided not to make the drive home to Baltimore but rather to find a place to stay nearby. We stumbled upon the Jackson House online and couldn't have been happier. We capped off our evening in their lovely hot tub and the next morning, hot coffee and a homemade breakfast were awaiting our trek downstairs. It was all just perfect.


Comfortable!

5 en abril 25, 2012

Very comfortable environment; good breakfast and Pam and entire staff very attentive. Would definitely stay here again.


Our stay at The Cottage room

5 en abril 17, 2012

We had such a lovely one night stay in The Cottage room. It was a room that stood separate from the main house and afforded a lot of privacy with its own entrance. It was decorated nicely with an ecclectic mix of vintage pieces. My favorite features were the temperature-controlled gas fireplace and the private screened-in balcony complete with a swing. There was also a large hot tub right outside our room which we took advantage of. Service was great. She showed my husband all the things he needed to know about getting to the room and how to operate the fireplace, hot tub, etc. There was also a list of recommended places to eat in the surrounding area. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. Farm fresh eggs straight from her own chickens made for delicious scrambled eggs. The surrounding area has several fun places to see. We especially enjoyed the Markets and sampled some of the Amish food, as well as checked out the handmade furniture from next door. There are a few antique shops within minutes from the B&B and different wineries within driving distance. This is definitely a place we would return to again in the future for a nice relaxing weekend.


Amazing.

5 en febrero 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Jackson House over a weekend for our honeymoon. We had booked the cottage, and as soon as I walked in, I was in love. It was very quaint, everything was just amazing. We will be definitely going back. The hot tub was amazing. I was sad that I didn't get to have breakfast with everyone since we were running to Baltimore, and had other plans, but next year we definitely will! :)


Great Bed and Breakfast in RailRoad PA

5 en febrero 15, 2012

The Jackson House was amazing, the accomodations, the food, the hosts, We loved it and would recomend it to any and everyone!


Mid-week Get away

4,6 en enero 21, 2012

We had stayed here before, but upgraded to the cottage which has a hot tub. It was lovely. The one spotlight that illuminates the control panel was out, which made for some interesting settings, but worked out fine. Breakfast was eggs benedict, fruit, juice, and coffee accompanied by stories of bicycling adventures here and there. We had to tear ourselves away at 10:30 to take care of business, but a wonderful stay nonetheless. Steve and Valerie


A gem!

5 en enero 19, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Jackson House! and definitely will return. Our hostess made us feel very much at home, prepared a marvelous breakfast for us each day, and was genuinely warm and welcoming. The house is beautiful, and we will be sure to make it the "home base" on our next trip to the Railroad/Shrewsbury area seeking family history.


Great stay!

4,4 en noviembre 20, 2011

Simple location with a relaxing atmosphere. Staff is very approachable and friendly. Absolutely recommended for a nice, quiet getaway.


blown away

4,4 en noviembre 04, 2011

fell in love with it from the first view of the pictures online... even better in person!


The Jackson House

5 en noviembre 03, 2011

Excellent, classy, period place. Great ambiance & terraced gardens. A definite return!


I love the Jackson House!

5 en noviembre 02, 2011

I stayed at the Jackson House recently with my mother and my aunt for a fun girls only weekend. We had a great time and everything was wonderful! Pam was so helpful, kind, and flexible. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms are beautiful. The beds are super warm and comfortable and every room in the house is unique and lovely. They had a hot tub which was a nice bonus. Everything was perfect and we had a great time. Thank you Pam and Bob! I will definitely be booking here again in the future.


Our stay at the Jackson House

3,8 en octubre 07, 2011

Our 5 day stay was a very pleasant experience. Pam is a friendly and gracious host and was very accommodating on our last day. Since our flight didn't leave until 6 pm she allowed us to "hang around" for an extra couple of hours and enjoy the nice patio area and trail until it was time to leave. That was very much appreciated. You may miss some of the big hotel conveniences, but for a truly relaxing time, this is it!


The Jackson House always exceeds my expectations!

5 en septiembre 18, 2011

I have been coming to the Jackson House for over 10 years and it has only gotten better over that time. The owner Pam is warm, friendly and engaging. We have become good friends over the years and I look forward to each trip with fond anticipation. The accomodations speak for themselves and are top notch and everything that you would expect from a first class Bed and Breakfast.


john and trish

4,6 en agosto 28, 2011

awesome we've been there 3 yrs in a row to celebrate our anniv. we'll probably return next year. it is so relaxing,rustic, beautiful, quaint, and hosts are the best!!!!!


Welcome at the Jackson House

4,2 en agosto 20, 2011

We couldn't have felt more welcome. It was like visiting family. We really enjoyed the Rail Trail. Would definitely recommend to friends.


Great stay!

5 en agosto 18, 2011

We so enjoyed our stay last weekend at Jackson House. The room was great with lots of special touches including robes. We enjoyed the many terraces in the gardens, the hot tub overlooking the Heritage Trail, and the front porch. The Heritage Trail was next to the B&B and we had several great bike rides as well as hikes. We also visited 3 wineries. Pam was a huge help with suggestion for wineries as well as restaurants. We will visit again.


A little slice of heaven.

4,4 en agosto 09, 2011

After a 22-mile bike ride on the rail trail it was truly wonderful to rest at the quaint and cozy Jackson House. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. Our room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. In the morning a fantastic breakfast was served in the beautiful and rustic dining room. Look forward to my next visit!


Well worth it.

4,0 en agosto 07, 2011

The inn was charming & convenient to the rail trail. The food was superb and our innkeeper was incredible.


July 11' stay at the Jackson House

4,6 en julio 31, 2011

My husband & I had a wonderful time at the Jackson House in Railroad, PA. The innkeeper, Pam was very welcoming & accommodated my gluten-free diet with very delicious breakfasts. Pam allowed us to stay well past our check-out time since our flight wasn't to leave until the evening. As an added bonus the house is on the Heritage Rail trail which is great for biking & walking. We wouldn't hesitate to visit the Jackson House again on a future visit. Nancy & Mark Annen Watertown, MN


Rhodes' Visit

4,2 en julio 19, 2011

Our Saturday stay was unique for we had the house to ourselves... the rooms are unique and well maintained. Pam made us a great breakfast and joined us for the meal; she is very personable. We enjoyed our stay. George & Fran


Bike Trail and BnB

4,2 en julio 13, 2011

Our hosts were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We were able to change to a different room due to a physical problem and again our hosts were very gracious. Pam is an excellent cook and the breakfasts were not only nourishing but varied and they just looked and smelled good. There were bike racks to lock up our bikes and we were given excellent information about the area and what to see and where to get a great evening meal.


Great Getaway Wine/Gettysburg Weekend!

5 en julio 12, 2011

We wanted a place close to Naylor's Winery since we came to see a band playing there, which was great!....stayed two nights so we could also get over to Gettysburg to check out the new Visitors Center...fantastic! The room was beautiful and comfortable, breakfast was delicious, and next time we'll bring our bikes to ride on the rail trail!


Relaxing stay

4,4 en julio 03, 2011

Jackson House in Railroad Pennsylvania is a lovely B&B right on the Rail Trail. Pam is an exceptional innkeeper who is familiar with the local area. We had a great stay!


Wonderfully convenient to the bike trail!

4,0 en junio 30, 2011

We love staying here and biking on the trail. Pam is most accommodating and serves a super breakfast. Will definitely stay here again.


Our first experience

4,0 en junio 20, 2011

We arrived and were met by Bob. He was friendly and informed us we could help ourselves to refreshments in the refrigerator. We were given our key and taken to our room. It was cool, the weather was very humid, and charming. He told us when breakfast would be served and gave us ideas for dinner, although the resturant we planned to patron appeared to be closed, we visited the Four Brothers. It was appetizing and filling. The next morning we met Pam. She was very infomative and interesting to talk to. Breakfast was delicious. We were very happy with our visit.


A Great Stay at the Jackson House

4,2 en junio 17, 2011

We were very surprised and delighted to find a nice b&b which accepted our dog. Our room was good size with a sitting room attached. There was a private back door leading down to the garden which was very convenient with the dog. Pam Nicholson greeted us happily before the listed check-in time, providing information about local restaurants, etc. Breakfast was cooked by Pam and was delicious, especially the morning we had eggs benedict. We will return again as we have relatives in the area. This is also a great place for bikers of the Heritage Trail to rest up for the night. The trail runs right beside the Jackson House.


Had great father/son stay after biking the nCR trail

3,8 en junio 10, 2011

My son and I biked the whole NCR Trail from MD into PA, and stayed overnight at the Jackson Room (king bed, shower, TV, chairs). We used the hot tub to relax afterwards, and also used the seating area in the back patio which was very nice. The front porch was noisy due to traffic, but we did not hear the noise in our room. The room was very affordable and the B&B is convnenient to places to eat in town. The hospitality was great and the breakfast was not fancy, but was delicious. We helped ourselves to the cookies and drinks provided and we would definitely go back.


Our mini biking vacation and stay at Jackson House

5 en mayo 25, 2011

Everything was superb,our room,breakfast and service for the breakfast. We especially enjoyed the hot tub Saturday night after riding the trail that same day as it was very relaxing. Every detail for an enjoyable stay was taken care of and we enjoyed the Stonewall Jackson bedroom. I am a civil war buff and my wife enjoys old homes and we found it great to be spending a night in a hotel that was built in 1858.


Birthday Getaway

4,0 en mayo 18, 2011

We stayed in the Rail Trail Room, very nice and comfortable. Front porch led right to the Rails to Trails, great trail to ride did 40 miles on our stay. Comfortable bed, great bathroom with nice shower. Breakfast was very good. We enjoyed our stay, nice get away and great bike riding. We would visit again.


Jackson House Inn

3,2 en mayo 11, 2011

The innkeepers were very nice, and even provided us with information on the nearby bike trail and help with our bikes when we had a flat. My favorite things about the inn were the second-story porch and the back patio area which was nicely landscaped and included a hot tub.


B&B Historic Charm

5 en mayo 10, 2011

The Jackson House has a lot of historic charm. It's in a very scenic location with beautiful gardens behind it. A very relaxing atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone.


Idyllic

5 en mayo 03, 2011

This was the perfect ending to a vigorous afternoon on the NCR bike trail. The rooms are historic yet so comfortable, the hot tub in just the right setting, the breakfast robust yet healthy and the inn keeper, a warm and wonderful conversationalist. What more can you ask for?


simply fantastic!

5 en mayo 02, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Jackson House. It is a beautiful historic home and it's nice that it's not in a typical "touristy" area. The dining room and upstairs parlor are beautifully appointed and comfortable. We stayed in the Jackson Room. Huge, comfy bed, everything clean and beautiful. We slept really well (it's so much quieter than Baltimore!). I loved that there were still-warm cookies waiting when we arrived! We are vegetarian and the hosts graciously accommodated our needs, while providing a more "standard" breakfast for other guests. I want to go back and stay in the Cottage next time!


Great Wine Weekend Getaway!!

5 en abril 21, 2011

We stayed at the Jackson House because it is located among the wineries that are on the Uncork York Wine Trail. Breakfasts were fantastic, we loved the hot tub out back, and the wineries were really fun! Our room had a big comfy king bed and the innkeepers were warm and welcoming....we'll be back for sure!


Expensive for what you get.

1,8 en abril 16, 2011

This is a quaint old house on a somewhat busy street in a very small town. My room was tiny, with very rudimentary, primitive bathing facilities. For what I received, it was way overpriced. I never met the staff. They taped my key to the front door and that was the extent of the hospitality. I was not able to try the breakfast, as it wasn't served until 9 AM and I needed to be on the road well before this somewhat inconvenient time. Next time I'm in town I'll stay in the chain hotel by the highway.

Respuesta del propietario

Our goal is to provide a great B&B experience for all of our guests; we're glad you liked the cookies! The $119 room that this guest booked is our smallest...all of the others are much larger...and we're sorry that he found $119 to be pricey. Our web site clearly states that breakfast is at 9AM; it also states that we will do it at a different time, if requested, and certainly would have for this guest if he had requested it. We do have Wi-Fi and the password and instructions are on the laminated card in all the rooms. The Washington Room has a 36" X 36" stand-alone shower, a standard toilet, and standard vanity sink, as you would find in many homes-- it is not huge and fancy (this is our most basic room) but hundreds of other guests have found it to be perfectly acceptable. Yes, we do leave keys, along with directions to the room, dinner suggestions, and other relevant info., for guests sometimes if they are coming at an odd time or if they don't provide us with an estimated time of arrival, which was the case for this guest.


wonderfull weekend

5 en marzo 25, 2011

We had a wonderful stay and would go back in the future. The owners were very pleasant and made us feel very comfortable. The breakfast's were delicious.


Bob & Brenda's Bed and Breakfast Review

5 en marzo 03, 2011

Second time at Jackson House and it was as good as the first time. We will be back again!!!!


Great small town bed and breakfast!

4,4 en febrero 19, 2011

We went to a wine dinner at Naylor Winery and then decided to stay at this B&B. This was our first experience with a B&B and we absolutely loved it! We felt at home and it was like mom cooked us a homemade breakfast in the morning. Slept great and enjoyed our stay! Owners couldn't have been more hospitable!


Getaway

4,0 en diciembre 24, 2010

I was very pleased with the quality of the Jackson House. The owner/operator was so kind and helpful. She really made us feel welcome during our stay. I would definitely recommend the Jackson House to anyone looking for a B&B in the York area.


Great Place

3,6 en diciembre 22, 2010

We loved our stay! The hot tub was great in the wintry weather. We were the only ones staying, and they upgraded us to a bigger room. Thank you! It was a wonderful way to spend my husband's birthday!


An excellent evening

4,0 en diciembre 20, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the Jackson House. Ms. Nicholson was a great hostess and an excellent cook:) Pam thank you for everything and hope to see you again soon. We would highly reccomend the Jackson House.


Bikers retreat!

3,6 en noviembre 17, 2010

We loved staying here and the rail trail is right next door - a great convenience. The breakfasts were excellent, and service was great. The hostess was very friendly and we enjoyed talking with her. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who loves to bike, walk or just relax!


Wonderful Weekend at The Jackson House

4,2 en noviembre 14, 2010

Exactly like the website. Everything was beautiful. Owners and Employees were all nice and very helpful. We definitely would recommend!


Stay at Jackson Bed and Breakfast

4,4 en noviembre 14, 2010

Very nice location and accommodations. Really enjoyed our time


A Great Get Away

4,6 en noviembre 09, 2010

We arrived to find our key taped to the door. Our room was lovely. The Cottage has its own entrance, porch, and sits right next to the hot tub. We walked the rail trail, hit three wineries, and enjoyed the shopping in the Amish Market. The food was wonderful, fresh fruit, and so much on the table you can go for seconds.


Lovely biking weekend

4,2 en octubre 11, 2010

The Jackson House was a fun place to stay to explore the Heritage Trail and the NCR Trail. A lovely room, breakfast and hot tub complimented two days of relaxed riding. We will be back!


Location, location, location

3,0 en septiembre 07, 2010

Perfect spot right on the rail trail. Room was clean, comfortable with a nice deck. Breakfast was fine. Great place to spend the night if you're out for a weekend of biking on the trail. Not a huge choice of restaurants in the area.


Great place

4,6 en septiembre 07, 2010

This is a great place to stay... the owners are very friendly, and the location is great if you want to walk straight out of your room and onto the rail trail.


Great Experience

5 en mayo 22, 2010

Have stayed at Jackson House several times and each time seems to get better. Breakfasts are gourmet and always well prepared. Rooms are comfy and well decorated. So much to do in area. We always take our bikes, but there is a ton of stuff for non bikers, especially during the summer: Big Bands at Naylors, factory tours and York is a delightful town. Try The Jackson House. It is truly special.


Excellent Stay

4,0 en octubre 12, 2009

My husband and I visited the inn and had a wonderful time!! We loved riding our bikes on the trail and sitting out on the porch and watching the people go by. The room was beautiful and the bed was comfy!! The inkeepers were very nice and welcoming. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to visit the inn again!!


stepping back in time

5 en junio 19, 2009

We stayed at the Jackson House and stepped back in time. Colonial furnishings, very simple and elegant. Delicious baked oatmeal and egg dish for breakfast. Rail trail is beside the inn, so we rode bikes. Delightful!


Best Stay Ever

5 en junio 04, 2009

Needed a little getaway and found the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at. The Jackson House Innkeepers were great and the house was fantastic. I would have to rate this B&B with the best breakfast we have had yet on vacation. Plus it is located right on the Rail Trail; the trail was great for biking.


Jackson House and Biking

4,2 en junio 04, 2009

We came up from Maryland to ride on the Heritage bike trail. The innkeepers were helpful, hospitable, and non-intrusive. The house is a historic building with a great balcony and beautiful back garden and parlor to hang out in. We'll definitely go back.


A great night in Railroad

4,0 en abril 26, 2009

My wife and I have stayed in probably 25 B&Bs and the Jackson House is in the top 5 for sure. Bob and Pam are very warm, enthusiastic hosts, maybe because they have only been running the B&B for two years and haven't gotten tired of it. We stayed in the Bordello room which was very comfortable and large, and removed from the other guests. They also have a great parlor or common room. And they have a multi-tiered garden in the back with many fountains. The JH is right on the Heritage Rail Trail which makes it very convenient. The breakfast was top notch too, a pear and bree egg thing and baked oatmeal, a PA Dutch treat. A great stay without spending a bundle.


wonderful weekend!

5 en diciembre 02, 2008

the jackson house was my first bed and breakfast experience. my girlfriend and i spent 2 nights in the the bordello room and couldn't have asked for anything better for thanksgiving weekend. the room was very spacious and nice, the bed was extremely comfortable, and bob and pam did a fantastic job at making us comfortable. we had the pleasure of attending a pot luck and sing on saturday night in the parlour had had the oppurtunity to meet some wonderful people and drink some delicious local wine. the breakfast was delicious and pam was the perfect host. it will be difficult to match this experience at any other bed and breakfast and i would go back in a heartbeat!


Very nice cottage

4,0 en noviembre 24, 2008

My fiance and I stayed in the cottage behind the main house. We were very pleased. It was quite cozy and beautifully decorated. The hot tub was great. Pam was very personable and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. We would like to stay again in the upcoming year.


A Wedding Present

5 en octubre 30, 2008

We received a two-night stay at the Jackson House as a wedding present. We are both sixty-three years old; we have been married six months. We love to ride rails-to-trails on our tandem bike, a "bicycle built for two," and one of our friends put the Jacson House and the Heritage Rail Trail together for us. What a wonderful surprise! The breakfasts were excellent, conversation was lively, and The Jackson Room was beautiful. The king bed was most appropriate and comfortable for newly weds, if you know what I mean! We rode the trail north the first day for 24.5 miles and south the second day for sixteen miles. The trail surface provided a smooth ride, and trail markings provided excellent historic information. The innkeepers were most congenial, accommodations were superior, and the trail beautiful. What more could we want for a romantic getaway? What more could anyone want? Outstanding! The Jackson House is high on our "recommended" list.


Enjoyed

4,6 en octubre 15, 2008

Neat old railroad hotel beautifully restored. The owners are easy, caring, helpful. The breakfasts were all perfect - tasty, healthy, and imaginative - good for bikers like us.


Weekend getaway

5 en julio 18, 2008

We stayed in the "Bordello Room", what a nice room, very comfortable bed and got a great nights sleep. The breakfast was outstanding. Our hosts, Pam & Bob, were great. We can't wait to go back for another relaxing weekend get away. Highly recommend this B & B.


Relaxing Getaway

5 en julio 10, 2008

Jackson House was the perfect destination after riding our bikes on the trail. The Stonewall Jackson room was cozy. Breakfast was delicious and Pam, our innkeeper was very helpful with advice on places to eat. The terraced garden was beautiful by I enjoyed the shaded second floor porch... it was the perfect place to read and watch the world go by. We will visit again.


Relaxation

4,4 en junio 12, 2008

Very Relaxing: The backyard was beautifully landscaped w/ a great hottub. Pam and Bob were wonderful keepers and were very helpful with dinner and activity suggestions. Rooms were somewhat old and could use some repair or upgrading, but very cozy. Very convenient to stores, restaurants and the trail.


Very pleasant stay!

4,2 en junio 01, 2008

We had a very pleasant stay! The room was comfortable. We liked the house decor and style, the back yard is beautiful. We enjoyed an evening and morning walk on the bike trail. The innkeepers were very nice! The bathroom was a liitle small for my tall husband but that can be expected at renovated B&B's.


Wonderful Romantic Getaway

4,6 en mayo 27, 2008

My husband and I just got back from a 3 night stay at the Jackson House. We have nothing but wonderful things to say about the Inn and it's owners Pam and Bob. This place is absolutely wonderful and we would recommend it to everyone. The breakfast was great, service was wonderful, the Cottage we stayed in was fantastic. This is the perfect place for a getaway, especially for bike riders or people who want to visit the surrounding areas. We have already decided we will be visiting again next year.


Jackson House

5 en mayo 23, 2008

Outstanding


Jackson House B&B

5 en mayo 13, 2008

This property is outstanding.


A Great Play To Stay In PA

5 en abril 30, 2008

What a wonderful location for a B & B. It was right next to the bike trail and we were tired from our bicycle ride. The house was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Our hosts were both charming and accommodating. The fireplace was lit in the dining room when we arrived for breakfast and the meal was delicious. You can't miss by staying at The Jackson House.


Jackson House

4,6 en abril 24, 2008

Our first stay at a B&B


The Best Bed and Breakfast

5 en abril 15, 2008

I've been a customer at the bed and breakfast for a while. The service and atmosphere is excellent. Everytime I visit the innkeeprs are excellent. They strive to make every guest welcome and satisfied, and meet all expectations. The Jackson House is the BEST BED AND BREAKFAST.


Charming!

4,0 en marzo 13, 2008

Pam, the Innkeeeper was very welcoming. When I arrived she said that the chocolate chip cookies would be ready in a bit. I was in my room when I smelled them baking. I had to go down and grab a couple for my walk on the traill right outside of the Jackson House. My room was very pretty & cozy. To relax my business meeting in the morning in York, I used the hot tub that is the backyard...absolutely a must! In the morning, I had a tasty breakfat and great conversation with Pam. I will definitely send friends, family & business partners there for a stay:) While you there try Lamotte's for one of the best crabcakes around but don't expect ambience because it is a corner bar in New freedom. Lisa Hanna, Barrington, NJ


We're Going Once Per Season!!!

5 en febrero 19, 2008

My wife and I went over Thanksgiving weekend as part of our Tenth Anniversary and stayed in the cottage out back. Between the lovely cottage, the great hospitality, the wonderful breakfast, convenient location and, most importantly, the hot tub in the snow, we were enamored. When we left, we booked again for Valentine's Day Weekend and relived the previous visit. Guess what? Now that we did Fall and Winter, we're going back in the Spring (and Summer). Pam and Bob are welcoming hosts and gave great advice on good local places to eat, as well as insight into local antiquing and factory tours.


Valentine's Day weekend get-away

4,8 en febrero 17, 2008

We really enjoyed staying at the Jackson House B&B!! The innkeepers were very hospitable and friendly. The Jackson suite was gorgeous and comfortable. Because we had a wonderful weekend, we hope to stay at Jackson House again next year.


Wonderful Family Get-Together

4,8 en enero 27, 2008

Our family, originally from Baltimore but now scattered up and down the east coast, spent a wonderful long weekend at the Jackson House where we were fed delicious breakfasts and had lots of room to spread out. Gracious owners!


Jackson House

4,6 en octubre 30, 2007

Perfect place to relax after a long bike ride. Beautiful, convenient, and all-around friendly.


Jackson House.

3,8 en octubre 10, 2007

Very personal hostess, charming area, unique rooms. Hostess guided our historic visit to the area. Breakfast superb.


Excellent.

5 en octubre 08, 2007

This was our first experience and it was wonderful. Very clean and extremely courteous service.


Get a real Breakfast at Jacksons!

4,8 en septiembre 24, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Jackson House as an Anniversary/ Birthday get-away and to ride our bikes. We arrived and were shown all around the Inn and felt welcome and at home and comfortable with all the amenities. We were up and preparing to ride hoping for a hearty breakfast. Wow! Eggs, sausage, waffles, fresh juice and cold water bottles for our bikes. The Heritage Trail (passes right by the inn) is beautiful, clean and very well maintained. After a ride to York (for lunch)and back, a cold beer and a soak in the hot tub (very clean)awaited our return to ease any pains. We can not wait to visit again.


Great Anniversary get a way

4,4 en agosto 19, 2007

We antique shopped our way to York and checked in with Bob and Pam around 5pm. Bob suggested several places to eat and we went for the crab cakes, they where great, thanks Bob. The bike trail was perfect and breakfast to die for, thanks Pam. All our friends will hear how enjoyable our stay was. Best of luck to you both, thanks again.


Jackson House stay

4,6 en julio 23, 2007

We had a great time. The Jackson House is located less than an hour from Gettysburg, York, Lancaster, in PA and Baltimore, MD. We visited all these areas.... George make a great breakfast....


GREAT STAY

4,8 en julio 11, 2007

The new owners Pam and Bob have lots of business experience, and they know how to treat guests. They loaned us their personal bike when we had a flat tire, and are fun to chat with during down time. The bed and pillows were so soft and puffy-fluffy that it was hard to leave. The towels were also soft and a pleasure to use. LOVED those bed pillows. Their two dogs were well behaved. The food was great and our stay met all expectations.


Antques & PA Wines

5 en mayo 07, 2007

My Debbie and I enjoyed a beautiful getaway weekend in the Cottage Suite. George is so friendly he made us feel like we were in a five star B&B.... we were. The Jackson house is a great base of operations to enjoy a dozen or so great PA wineries, as well as the antique capitol of South Central PA in New Oxford. We're telling all of our friends and we'll return soon.


Romantic Cottage Getaway

5 en abril 12, 2007

My husband planned a surprise getaway to Jackson House, and we stayed in the adjoining cottage. The room was very pretty, the gas fireplace warm and romantic and the private outdoor jacuzzi under the starry skies delightful. We also enjoyed walking the back gardens and biking the nearby trail. Our host was friendly and accomodating, and the food was delicious and plentiful. I'm looking forward to our next stay!


Outstand First Experience

5 en abril 09, 2007

My wife Kim and I wish to extend the warmest thanks to George and Jean for an outstanding weekend. We had the opportunity to stay in the Cottage and the setting was warm and inviting. Thanks again and we hope to see you again.


Loved It!

5 en marzo 27, 2007

My husband and I went to the Jackson House for a second honeymoon - We were blessed to be able to stay in the Cottage, which was just perfect! George treated us exceptionally well and the generous breakfasts were delicious! We don't even want to try another B&B! We'll stay there again and again!


Lovely Weekend

4,2 en marzo 26, 2007

Stayed for 2 nights with another couple. First time for both couples. George, the Innkeeper, is very friendly and accomodating. The breakfasts are superb. The rooms are very nice size and beautifully appointed.


A Wonderful Surprise

5 en marzo 16, 2007

My stay at The Jackson House was 99.9% perfect. It was immaculate, and equipped with every need incl.lovely toiletries.The decor is warm and elegant and not tacky or frou-frou. I did not see one wooden duck wearing a bonnet!The room colors were soothing yet sophisticated and vibrant. The bed in the Washington room had perfect pillows ( I have a bad neck, and forgot my Temperpedic Pillow so I was nervous),soft cotton pure white sheets and a GREAT mattress. They have TV's in the rooms which some other B&B's are too snooty to include.This elegance and the absence of snooty/tacky is the interesting part of the Jackson House. The breakfast was gourmet and the coffee was wonderful. I am a caffiene addict so I know. When you are greeted by George, the innkeeper, you will be cared for as if by the best NYC concierge. And I promise, you will never meet another innkeeper likeGeorge. George is the embodiment of "never judge a book by it's cover" in the best of all ways! He attends to every detail for the comfort of his guests. The only reason I rated my stay 99.9% was actually my fault. The strong scent of the candles bothered me and when I told him, on my way out of town, he said"Why did't you tell me, I would have blown them out!" And I know for sure he would have done just that.The next time I reserve a room I will call ahead about the candles.Most assuredly my stay will rate 100%.


A must for folks who need a wonderful getaway

5 en marzo 05, 2007

We had a wonderful weekend and George certainly went over and above what was expected. The inn is lovely, food was to die for the decor was beautiful. We stayed at the cottage which we throughly enjoyed. The whole weekend was great and thanks to the inn and its fablous innkeepers. I have recommended to friends and even given out the web address for those to check it out.


First time B&B for my girlfriend

5 en febrero 28, 2007

My girlfriend and I went to the Jackson House B&B, which was new for her at staying at a B&B. My girlfriend just loved the nice setting and the niceness of the B&B. The fresh cookies and the candles burning leave you with the old fashion home cooked meal aroma. The nice glow of the fire in the wood stove sets the stage for a romantic getaway from home. Being from Harrisburg, Pa, the Jackson House B&B was just far enough away from home but not too far. We loved the room we stayed in and plan on coming back to the B&B in the near future. This stay at the Jackson House was on our 1 year anniversary of dating each other. What a great place to stay.


Great Get-Away

5 en febrero 26, 2007

My husband and I really enjoyed this B&B. We stayed in the Cottage which offered more privacy than the traditional B&B room as it's separate from the house. The room was quaint, comfortable and included a gas fire place! The hot tub is just outside the cottage -- which is a great bonus! George was a great host and made a mean breakfast. :) We would definitely visit again.


1St Time at a B&B

5 en febrero 26, 2007

My wife and I never stayed at a b&b before, but needed a little getaway from our children. We picked the Jackson House, they had a nice web site. We were greeted at the door by our names, he knew who we were, this made us feel totally at ease. Plus you felt right at home as soon as you walked in. The house was very nice and clean. There were several other couples there also, and at breakfast it was really nice talking with everyone. Oh breakfast was very good. I had to ask George for the recipe. We had a wonderfull experience and will stay at bed and breakfasts regularly now. Plus we already booked to return to the Jackson House


Great Time

5 en febrero 25, 2007

This is a great place to stay. The owner is so nice and he cooks a great breakfast.


Work related travel

4,8 en febrero 07, 2007

My company was doing work in Shrewbury, Pa and we needed a place to stay. After doing a search on the internet we found this B&B. It looked really nice on the web so we booked it for a whole week. Well the internet pictures do not due this place justice, it was totally beautiful. Also the breakfasts were great, its a big change from staying in hotels all the time when working away from home. Compliments to the owner,George, for doing a great job while we were there. This will change our minds on staying at hotels in the future, B&B's are the way to go!


Best B & B Stay

5 en enero 31, 2007

We have stayed in several B & B's but this one was the best so far. From the welcome and great conversations with George and the other guests to the great breakfasts. Our room, the Willie G, couldn't have been nicer. The bed was very comfortable. We swapped Harley stories with George and we also swapped recipes. We now plan on making a trip there again with our Harley friends.


Home Away from Home

5 en enero 16, 2007

I received a weekend at the Jackson House as a Christmas present from my honey. I’m going to have to say it was one of the best Christmas presents ever! The Jackson house was warm and welcoming. George seemed like part of the family. The rooms were beautiful! The food was beyond FANTASTIC! I’m still trying to Persuade George to let me move in permanently… he just laughs though.


Relaxing Time Away

5 en enero 13, 2007

Since this was my first time at a B&B, I thought I share my experience. From the outside the Jackson house looked very welcomeing, but as soon as we stepped inside we felt totally at home and comfortable. George gave us a tour of the whole house and it was beautifully restored.We stayed in the Willie G suite and it was just soooo nice, the private entrance was nice to get to the hot tub without going thru the house. We toured the winery's while we were there and PA has some very nice wines, George was so helpfull with all the info. we needed to go off to hit the winery's. You must check them out! This is one stay that we will always remember, you should make sure you visit this B&B. Make sure to ask george to make the French toast for breakfast!


A Unique and Wonderful Stay at Jackson House B&B

5 en diciembre 26, 2006

Our stay at The Jackson House B&B was wonderful. The innkeepers have thought of every need and desire of their guests and met them exceedingly! The whole feel of The Jackson House B&B was homey, confortable and relaxed. The innkeepers were available but allowed you time to yourselves. George made the most fantastic breakfast that my husband is still raving about - Baked Pecan French Toast was the main dish, and the side of scramble farm fresh free range eggs were second to none. You could taste the difference to regular store bought eggs. We highly recommend The Jackson House B&B to any and all. Centrally located, a few miles off I-83, right next to the Rail Trail and close to quaint antique stores and shops, and a few really really good restaurants! Directly across the street is a crab house restaurant with their fresh catch (crab pots sits outside as evidence of that!) The only drawback to this B&B is there are steep interior stairs - so if you are unable to walk up or down stairs - wait a few months til they have their little private cottage renovation complete and you will be set. You will only have a few steps up to the outside hot tub! A unqiue and wonderful stay!


Holiday Weekend Away

5 en diciembre 23, 2006

While sitting in this great suite at the Jackson House Bed and Breakfast, I thought I let everyone know how nice a place this is. When we pulled up to the B&B last night, we were amazed at how pretty the B&B was decorated for Christmas. When we walk in the whole house was nicely decorated. The innkeepers have been great and go out of there way for us. I can see now why they were voted 3rd best. We will be back, we have family in the area and this is the best B&B in the york area.


Jackson House

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $139 - $169
  • Comentarios (116) 4,6
  • Habitaciones 6
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-7172272022
  • Sin cargo
    1-8777824672

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba