Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center Comentarios

TOTAL

4,8

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,8
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,6
  • Limpieza4,9
  • Comidas4,9

Puntuación basada en
31 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Wonderful place to stay

5 en agosto 27, 2013

This bed and breakfast is very charming. The food was wonderful and the innkeepers were very helpful. I would be happy to stay here again any time.


Magnificent Early 1900's B&B

4,8 en julio 30, 2013

This B&B is located in a beautiful old brick "Queen Anne" Home. It's not a mansion but it is a very roomy house with lovely public areas to enjoy with others. There were fresh snacks and refreshments always available in the Sun Room. Our Room (Jewel in the Heart) was nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. We had a roomy, private bathroom with chandeliers and a walk-in shower. The Innkeepers, Helen and Bruce, were very hospitable and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend Shining Dawn to others.


Shining Dawn

4,8 en octubre 19, 2011

I was in Hanover for business. The B and B is quite charming, with many original architectural details in place. The hosts were quite helpful and amenable. I would stay there again.


Beautiful Hanover Bed and Breakfast

5 en mayo 05, 2011

This home was beautiful and very well maintained. Bruce was a wonderful host and breakfast was a work of art. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.


A real treat!

5 en febrero 14, 2011

My husband and another couple visited the Shining Dawn Inn this weekend. The house is beautiful with wonderful, old world details. The facilities are charming with a few modern touches. By far, the best part of our stay was the amazing breakfast. We were served poached pears and pancakes one morning and an amazing eggs the next. Our friend has a gluten allergy which was very kindly accommodated. During the evening, we played games in the Sunroom. I would highly recommend the Shining Dawn Inn. Andy & Meg


Thoughtful service

5 en noviembre 28, 2010

I get up early. Bruce, the proprietor, brought me coffee from the kitchen an hour before the scheduled time.


A Gem

5 en noviembre 13, 2010

Planning a trip to nearby Gettysburg and not wanting to stay in busy Gettysburg we found the perfect B&B. Everything was over the top!


A Gem in Hanover

5 en octubre 21, 2010

I love this place. I feel like I found a "gem". A beautiful room and facilities with terrific breakfasts and warm hospitality. We celebrated our 1st anniversary here and we will always fondly remember our stay at this Bed and Breakfast.


A Haven In Hanover

3,8 en octubre 14, 2010

We stayed here for two nights. It is a very charming home, and all our needs were taken care of. Breakfast was delicious, and the atmosphere quiet and peaceful. Helen and Bruce do a spectacular job with the place. They made us feel at home and they provided us with helpful resources that enriched our historical tour in the area. Our bed/mattress was creaky, though, but overall, we enjoyed our experience!

Respuesta del propietario

We're happy that overall you enjoyed your stay with us in Hanover. We "strive for five" and are always looking for ways to improve our guests experiences. The bed that you slept in is an antique and the frame will creak if you're doing a lot of moving, but the mattress and box spring are new, comfortable and supportive Sealy Posturepedic products. Although we try to keep our furnishing as close to period as possible, we want our guests to be happy and have plans to replace the antique frame with something newer and more quiet. We can't make everyone happy with everything but that doesn't stop us from trying! We strive to provide our guests an excellent value with competitive rates; tasty, filling breakfasts and snacks; what we believe are tastefully furnished and decorated guest rooms; excellent facilities with spacious, beautifully restored public areas on the first floor; as well as single night stay availability during most of the year for those who are traveling through, who are in town for a special occasion, or those who are just in need of a quick weekend getaway. Although you normally stay at budget lodging, we hope that you'll become regular guests at Bed and Breakfasts. Each one offers a unique and memorable experience with facilities that you just won't find at budget motels, or comparably priced hotels for that matter. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again!


PA Oasis

5 en julio 08, 2010

We arrived on the 4th of July and stayed one night. My wife and I were driving from Myrtle Beach to Rochester, NY after a much-needed vacation. I wanted to stay somewhere more than half-way home, so there wouldn't be much driving to do the next day. I'm glad I did that. Helen and Bruce are wonderful hosts. The Shining Dawn is spacious, comfortable, and relaxing. We booked the peacock room and we were not disappointed. The decor wasn't too much and it definately added to the great atmosphere. There are plenty of dining options within 3 miles of the house. The breakfast was amazing! If you are driving through or visiting, we highly recommend staying here. The prices are reasonable for the value you receive. The old saying, "good food ain't cheap and cheap food ain't good" applies to b&b's as well.


The Best of all the Rest!

5 en noviembre 09, 2009

This B&B is a find for anyone who appreciates beauty, cleanliness, service, and superb value for a dollar. The food is lovingly prepared and served by the owners, and absolutely delicious. My room -- The Tree of Life -- had the wonderful combination of old world charm, comfort and contemporary convenience. The history and beauty of the place is worth the trip alone, and don't forget the wonderful area attractions! The Utz chips are fresher here than anywhere! Highly recommended for the discerning traveler, or anyone who wishes peace, beauty, service and comfort. I will certainly be back.

Respuesta del propietario

We're glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Hanover area. It was certainly our pleasure to host you and we hope to see you again soon! Thank you.


So relaxing!

5 en septiembre 14, 2009

I surprised my husband with a one-night stay in the Jewel In The Heart room, and it was absolutely wonderful. Everything was so clean yet warm and inviting at the same time. The bathroom was huge, and the room looks out over the front street. Gorgeous stay, and the breakfast was out of this world! Helen and Bruce truly outdid themselves. I highly recommend this BNB to anyone looking for a relaxing stay. We wished we had been able to do two nights with all the things to do at the inn, and around Hanover. Lovely lovely time.

Respuesta del propietario

Dear Rebecca, you planned this get-away for yourself and your husband well in advance and had reserved your room two months before your arrival date. This surprise trip was obviously very important to you and we are extremely pleased to know that it turned out well. Thank you for sharing your experience with other B&B Travelers. You are a lovely couple and we wish you all the best.


Elegant Turn of Century Mansion

4,6 en septiembre 01, 2009

Beautifully restored, elegant, turn of century mansion. Peter 7 Helen were excellent hosts. Hanover is close to Gettysburg but quieter, more peaceful.

Respuesta del propietario

We're happy that you enjoyed your stay at Shining Dawn. Many of our guests tell us that we're close enough to easily explore Gettysburg, York and Lancaster while they relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of Hanover. Thank you staying with us and thank you for your review.


Suprises at Shining Dawn

5 en agosto 23, 2009

My husband, my ten-year-old son and I stayed at Shining Dawn Bed & Breakfast in “The Midsummer Night’s Dream Room”. It had a queen-size bed as well as a daybed. It also had a private bath with a claw-foot tub, but no shower. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by both Helen and Bruce. We were given a quick tour of the common areas of the house, told where to park, told when to arrive for breakfast, etc… And we were shown to our room which was upstairs on the second floor. We had to go up a wonderful staircase past a beautiful stained glass window! Our was clean and comfortable, and despite there being three of us, we did not feel cramped. We had our own air conditioner in the room. And there was a small television in the room. There was a mural painted on one of the walls. The outdoor, screened-in porch was relaxing in the evenings. The living room downstairs could be used by the guests. There was also a quiet meditation room. There were snacks and drinks in the sunroom downstairs for the guests. And there was a very nice yard, and another outside porch off of the first floor. The best surprise came at bedtime when the lights went out. The ceiling was painted with glow-in-the dark paint! So when the lights went out, the stars came out! How nice it looked! And the next best surprise was the breakfasts! They were delicious! During breakfast, Helen gave us a short history of the building, a Queen Anne brownstone built in 1902. In all, we had an enjoyable stay at Shining Dawn. It was clean, comfortable, and Helen and Bruce were very nice hosts. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. The only negative was that there was no shower in the room that we had, but we easily got around that. It was not an inconvenience at all. I would stay there again, and I would recommend Shining Dawn to anyone staying in the area.

Respuesta del propietario

Dear Beth Bill and Danny, What an absolute treat it was for us to host such a wonderful family of artists. In viewing your exquisite work in pencil and pastels online it is obvious that you have a very keen eye for detail. We are grateful that you took the time to share your observations and experiences with other Bed and Breakfast travelers. Thank you for the marvelous review, and for the graciousness you extended towards other families during your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your vacation experience with us at Shining Dawn. We certainly enjoyed hosting you.


A slice of heaven!

5 en agosto 04, 2009

The Shining Dawn is a real treasure! It's a majestic and gorgeous historic house with stained glass windows, a meditation room, a lovely garden and a scruptious breakfast served in a charming dining room. Clearly, the innkeepers, Helen and Bruce, gave a lot of thought to each and every detail and the result is extraordinary. Each room has its own theme and the house itself has a warm and peaceful atmosphere. I stayed in the Tree of Life room which has a gorgeous carved wooden head and footboard and opened onto a screened-in porch that overlooked the garden. I started my day out there with a book, a cup of tea and my journal. Just lovely! It's convenient to Gettysburgh and York, and just the perfect getaway whether you want to sightsee or just relax or do a little bit of both.

Respuesta del propietario

Dear Ilene, We want to thank you taking the time to post this marvelous review of your observations and experiences at Shining Dawn. We are very pleased that we could contribute to your relaxation and to your enjoyment of rare and precious getaway time. We thoroughly enjoyed having you as our guest! Thanks once again for choosing to stay with us.


Phenomenal Inn!

5 en julio 25, 2009

I travel to Hanover several times a year to visit family, and always stay at Shining Dawn. Helen and Bruce are extremely hospitable, and make every effort to care for their guests' needs. I always feel at home - the rooms are beautiful, the beds are comfortable, and the breakfast is delicious. The home itself is quite a treasure as well - historic, unique, and built with the highest quality. I can't say enough about this wonderful place - highly recommended!

Respuesta del propietario

Laurel, it always a pleasure to see you again and to host your visits to Hanover. We, of course, agree with you that this house is a grand old Lady with character and elegance throughout. As your hosts, we always strive to compliment the house's inherent beauty, craftsmanship and warmth with genuine hospitality from the heart and attention to detail. Thank you for your kind remarks and gracious review. We hope to see you again soon.


Warm & Welcoming B&B

5 en julio 20, 2009

The Shining Dawn B&B was the icing on the cake of our weekend visit to Gettysburg! The house is beautiful, inn- keepers, Helen & Bruce, couldn't have been nicer or more helpful and the breakfasts were delicious. A wonderful experience!

Respuesta del propietario

Hosting guests such as you are wonderful experiences for us also. We are delighted that you enjoyed your travel experience at Shining Dawn. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review.


A Shining Experience

4,8 en julio 20, 2009

As seasoned B&B travelers, we were very delighted and impressed with our two night stay! Bruce and Helen's home was built in 1902 with workmanship rarely seen; stained glass windows, huge spacious rooms, unbelievable woodwork,Moravian tiles, and "neat and clean as a pin." Our hosts hospitality was genuine and unending.The gourmet breakfasts were wonderful (loved your new first course breakfast parfet) and plentyful. Within walking disatance of a Saturday indoor Farmers Market and several local restaurants. We would highly recommend the Shining Dawnif your travels take you to the Gettysburg area (30 minutes away).

Respuesta del propietario

It is a very rewarding experience for us when we are able to please seasoned B&B Travelers who pay close attention to details and who know what to expect. We strive to exceed all of our guests' expectations at rates that are competitive in our market. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing such an exceptionally written "Shining Review" with other B&B Travelers.


quiet, elegant B&B

5 en julio 15, 2009

A quiet, elegant B&B with good food and wonderful, warm service. Definitely worth going back and we have been there twice!

Respuesta del propietario

Dear Joe and Dawn, It was a great pleasure to see you again and to host your visits to the Hanover area. Thank you for staying with us again and thank you for taking the time to post such a gracious review of your experiences at Shining Dawn.


Alluring Bed and Breakfast

5 en julio 13, 2009

Can not say enough great things about the Shining Dawn B&B. The house was beautiful in every aspect and the owns were very hospitable. Top 5 most memorable things about Shining Dawn: the German apple pancakes, the stained glass windows, the house's wood work, and of course Helen & Bruce, the inn keepers. The Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast is located in a cute historic town with many things to get into.


Absolutely Gorgeous

5 en mayo 11, 2009

This was our first stay at a B&B and to be honest we did not know what to expect. But the house is absolutely gorgeous and beautifully furnished. Our room, the Mid Summer Night's Dream Room, was very cozy and sweetly endearing. The mural is gorgeous. We very much enjoyed our stay and it was the best way to end our 4th anniversary. We hope to return soon.


amazing stay

4,8 en febrero 12, 2009

hosts, Helen and Bruce, were a charming couple who should be proud of their effort in restoration, meal presentation, food quality, local map provision, and above all, FRIENDLINESS! We will definitely recommend this to friends, family, and colleagues!


Our stay was wonderful.

4,2 en julio 30, 2008

The hosts were very friendly and accomodating It was immaculately clean. The food was good. Everything about our stay was wonderful. It was a little more expensive thanwe were used to. The hostess was very gracious and anxious to please. The house is beautiful.


Great Find!

5 en diciembre 23, 2007

This was our first bed and breakfast stay. It took a little convincing to get my husband to stay at a bed and breakfast. We were BOTH very pleased with this little gem. The house was beautiful and the innkeeper was really a pleasure to spend time with. We plan to return again for a weekend getaway. Thanks so much for a wonderful time.


Helen is the greatest!!!

4,4 en noviembre 28, 2007

Helen the Innkeeper is great. The energy of the whole house was amazing. There was nothing but positivity surrounding us. We only stayed 1 night but we definitely have plans to come back and stay in each of the rooms. Thank you so much Helen. You were definitely refreshing. (Thanks for the bowl song)


Hospitality!!

4,6 en noviembre 12, 2007

Great Location, renovations very nice! Food- great!


Relaxing Retreat

4,0 en noviembre 10, 2007

We stayed at the Shining Dawn for a short weekend get-away after doing a ghost tour in Gettysburg for Halloween. The house and grounds were beautiful! Beautifully decorated rooms. Helen and Bruce were very gracious and eager for us to enjoy our stay. They shared suggestions and brochures of things to do in the area. I wish we would have stayed longer to enjoy the house and the Hanover area. Helen's cooking was the absolute highlight. We would highly recommend.


Outstanding in every way!

5 en octubre 22, 2007

This B&B was outstanding! The owner was so hospitable-- a lovely person. Accommodations were immaculate and everything you could ever want. Highly recommended.


Outstanding

5 en octubre 21, 2007

This B&B was outstanding! The owner was so hospitable-- a lovely person. Accommodations were immacculate and everything you would ever want. Highly recommended.


Home Away from Home

5 en octubre 19, 2007

The innkeeper, Helen, was wonderful. Shining Dawnexceeded all my expectations of a bed and breakfast. I can't wait till my next visit.


Best B&B I've ever been to!!!

5 en julio 19, 2007

This B&B has outstanding character and beauty. The rooms are newly renovated and beautifully decorated. The service was outstanding and by the time we left my wife and I felt as if Helen (owner/innkeeper) was a good friend we had known for quite some time. The town is quiet and peaceful but there is plenty to get into just a few streets over. We stayed in the Rising Sun room, had a great time and would quite happy to stay there again. Oh! I almost forgot you are in for a treat at breakfast... Helen is a FABULOUS cook. Mmmmmm!


Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $125 - $169
  • Comentarios (31) 4,8
  • Habitaciones 6
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-7176302277
  • Sin cargo
    1-888BNBDAWN

Ver el sitio web del B&B »

Más info

Arriba