Mary-Penn Bed and Breakfast Comentarios

TOTAL

4,9

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,9
  • Servicios5,0
  • Estimación4,9
  • Limpieza5,0
  • Comidas4,9

Puntuación basada en
71 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Great weekend

5 en agosto 13, 2014

We had a great stay.We were treated like family the minute we walked into the door.Its the personality of Bea and her family that takes this B&B to the top of my list.All the rooms were perfect and there is a room for every different need. The grounds are amazing and the breakfast was to die for.Thank You Bea,David,&Aubre We will come again, George Hoffman


We love it!

5 en agosto 10, 2014

We have been to many B&Bs ,all over the east coast...this is by far the best,in every aspect! We consider the owners part of our extended family as of this stay :) Bea is a phenomenal hostess,and her family is just as awesome! Was discussing return plans upon leaving ! I highly recommend this location! So serene and peaceful.And yummy too.


Amazing B & B and amazing folks!

5 en junio 03, 2014

We were in the area for a wedding at The Links at Gettysburg. We were looking for a quiet, out-of-the-way place to stay. We found it! About a mile off the main road up a dirt road sat this beautiful, old, fully restored home. Bea greeted us as we pulled up like we were old friends there for a visit. It was the first time we met! She gave us a tour of the house and explained all the history behind it. The place is immaculate and was like going back in time. The next morning I took my cup of coffee outside and sat by the creek. A perfect setting! Bea made us breakfast and Dave joined us for what felt like a family gathering. My wife and I can't say enough good things about this B & B or our hosts! Thank you so much and we'll be seeing you again. Bob & Kim Graffin. New Freedom, PA.


AMAZING AND BEAUTIFUL!

5 en mayo 27, 2014

This home is beautiful beyond words and loaded with so much history! The inn is clean and the decoration is amazing! If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind this is the place to come. Bea and Dave are amazing innkeepers. You feel like your at home from the moment you walk through the door. Thank you Bea & Dave!!!!


The most welcoming B&B we have stayed in

5 en abril 02, 2014

Before arriving I spoke with Bea on the phone 3 or 4 times and already felt as though I knew her. We just loved Bea and David. They are genuinely warm, friendly, and a delight to be around. Friends of ours gifted us a night in this historic home. We are so thankful that they did. The home was immaculate and the restoration of this 270 year old home includes modern amenities while maintaining historical integrity. We were welcomed with freshly baked brownies and sugar cookies. Wine, cheese, and crackers were available to us in addition to other snacks and beverages. We enjoyed walking the grounds and spending time in the family room. The breakfasts were a treat, and we enjoyed meeting other guests as well as chatting with Bea and her husband David. It rained most of the weekend, but it did not dampen the visit. We came home rested and refreshed. We are grateful to have met David and Bea whom we now consider friends. Tim and Ora - Lewisburg, PA


Beautiful Place, Beautiful People!

5 en diciembre 08, 2013

We thought out visit to Gettysburg was going to be a disaster, due to the Government shutdown, but Mrs. Bee made it a visit that we'll remember for always. We've been to Gettysburg many times, but this was our first stay at a B&B. There were four of us who went, including me, my wife and two children. My children are without grandmothers, and Mrs. Bee made them feel right at home and she was more than happy to take on that grandmotherly like role with my children. It's been three months since our visit and they're still talking about and it and can't wait to go back next year. The house is spotless and full of history. If you want your trip to the Gettysburg area to be a memorable one, be sure to pick up the phone and call. You won't get any silly automated services here, you'll get 100% down home goodness!


Family history trip

5 en noviembre 13, 2013

My daughter found the Mary-Penn two years ago when she spent Thanksgiving in Gettysburg. When it turned out this inn was located very close to where my immigrant ancestor had a farm, she and I booked a night there to do some family history research. This is a gorgeous, immaculately kept abode. The rooms are large and comfortable and every amenity is provided. The innkeeper lives off-site, so we had wonderful privacy in the quiet of the countryside, by the rippling Rock Creek. The innkeeper provided a homecooked breakfast the next morning and was well-versed in the history of the area, as her husband's family has lived there for several generations. We hope to organize some sort of family reunion and stay here again. Highly recommended.


Prepare to not want to go home

5 en noviembre 06, 2013

You must experience the Mary Penn in your lifetime. It is one of the rare places that can still truly take you back in time- from the actual place to the kindness you find in a family. As you can see from the pictures the house and land are immaculately kept. The gravel mile-long driveway makes it feel wrong to be in a car, it should be horse and carriage. Bea has a glow to her that makes you feel really good, like you're supposed to be there. The history is mind blowing, as are her gingerbread cookies and homemade bread/breakfasts. There is just something about this place...don't miss it.


What a lovely weekend!

5 en septiembre 29, 2013

What a fabulous place in Gettysburg but, away from all the hustle and bustle of downtown. We spent the weekend in the John McKinley room (downstairs). My husband and I were so glad to have a room downstairs so we didn't have to haul our suitcase up any stairs. We were on a 2 week business trip! It was so fun to stay here and meet Bea and David and their family! We came as strangers and left as part of the family!! The house has so much history and a wonderful story behind the preservation of it!! Bea is a wonderful hostess- anything we wanted, she was more than willing to get for us! Breakfast each morning was really extraordinary at whatever time suited us. We really didn't want to leave the B&B to do the touristy things in Gettysburg (even though we did). It was so beautiful and serene here on the property. I was so glad to have found this B&B on this website at the last minute!! Keep up all the wonderful work, Bea!!! Thanks for a lovely weekend!


SIMPLY AMAZING!

5 en septiembre 17, 2013

I could not possibly describe our stay at the Mary-Penn BnB in one word and I know that my review will not do this charming, historic, and beautiful place justice, nor the outstanding hospitality that we received during our stay, but I will do my best to give it the glory that it deserves! This place is simply unbelievable! I could not possibly have imagined anything more wonderful - it exceeded all of my expectations! The ambiance, beauty, peace and tranquility of this place is truly out of this world! After turning off the main road and driving along the one mile lane between acres and acres of fields, we came upon the most charming, yet stately house. We entered the house and were greeted by the sweetest lady you will ever meet! Bea is absolutely wonderful! She made us feel right at home and the hospitality that she provided was like none other. The history behind this house in and of itself is reason enough to stay here. Not to mention that you are staying in two states! I could go on and on about all the details of this house and all the small touches that Bea was so thoughtful to include, but instead of reading about my experience I encourage you to experience this amazing place for yourself! With that said, if you are searching for a BnB to stay at near Gettysburg, look no further!! You will not be disappointed with your stay at the Mary-Penn. It is truly a one of a kind experience that you will never forget! If you are second guessing staying here – STOP right now and book a stay here because you will regret missing the opportunity to experience this beautiful place and meeting such wonderful people like Bea and David! It was truly a blessing to meet them and to have stayed at such an amazing place. Thank you Bea and David for making our stay unforgettable and truly special!


Awesome!

5 en julio 11, 2013

When our little GPS told us to turn onto this little country dirt road through 900 acres of serene and scenic land we were completely silent. It was like going back in time, in that little drive from the main road to the house. We arrived to the house that humbly sits on a little hill with a creek slowly trickling down the edge of the property of the home. It was later in the day and the sun made the land glow in yellow and gold hues that made the grass so green it was like a slice of heaven. We finally got into the house after walking the property for a few minutes and were so charmed by the coziness and country casual style of the home. It was truly like a time warp. The owners Bea and Dave (who are the sweetest couple you'll ever ever meet!) have a mission to restore this home completely to its original 1700s glory. Our room was comfy and as we unpacked for an already pleasant stay, we looked at each other like two greedy kids who got away with murder and giggled. How did we luck out and get this room at this jewel of a place?! How did nobody know of this place! Sure. They have bottles of wine for you to choose from each night for whichever your in the mood for and cheese and crackers and always a warm baked sweet snack....chips and pretzels...and a keurig with assorted teas and coffees. The fridge is full of water and soda that are complimentary. Okay...just need to harp on that. Because any other place in town counts your beverages and charges you by the honor system..on top of double charging for a hot weekend in Gettysburg. Its no wonder the b&b association of Gettysburg is trying to get the Mary Penn to join their club and have to abide by their cookie cutter rules for service....none of them can possibly compete with them. Needless to say we loved our stay and we WILL be going back, and I hope sooner then later because I already miss being there!


A Gem!

5 en julio 02, 2013

Rich in history, meticulously restored and maintained, with a unique location, Mary-Penn Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful experience enhanced by host Bea and David. One visit will invite another. A real value!


Historic charm

5 en junio 24, 2013

A steal of a deal hotel experience only twenty minutes from Gettysburg is one thing, but to have it be a restored 1740 home by a picturesque creek, with friendly innkeepers, snacks, and a gourmet breakfast, made it all the more fabulous. The rural tranquility of the location (innkeepers live off site), the tribute to former residents of the home, and the unique quirk of its location on the Mason-Dixon line (half the rooms are in Pennsylvania, half in Maryland) made this a winning destination. Hope to return again someday!


WOW!

5 en mayo 29, 2013

My wife and I were travelling to Gettysburg for Memorial Weekend and couldn't find a hotel anywhere. All of the ones we found were nasty and ridiculously overpriced. We finally found this one online and we were thankful that we did. This was our first bed and breakfast. This bed and breakfast was cheaper and way nicer than what we would have gotten in Gettysburg proper. The house itself was an amazing 18th century house that was situated on the Mason Dixon line (literally...it goes through the front door). The house sat on extremely quite farm land that was semi-enclosed by trees, situated next to a very nice creek. PICTURESQUE! The inn keeper, Bea, and her husband, David, were very friendly and hospitable. They far exceeded my expectations for a bed and breakfast. It felt like we were at a close relatives house rather than a place of business. And to top it all off, the breakfast was amazing. Bea is truly gifted in that area. She varies what she makes on a daily basis, so you won't be disappointed. When we left for the battlefield, she sent us with homemade cookies and canned sodas as well. If you are looking for a B&B in this area, don't think twice about this one. This is not only the BEST VALUE, but also the BEST!


The Bestest

5 en mayo 03, 2013

Mary-Penn is the standard by which all B&B's should be rated. This is due in no small measure to Bea and David, our hosts, who have restored and decorated this home with such attention to detail. They have also honored the history of the home with displays of deeds and letters and a memorial to slaves who were kept there. The setting is rural and peaceful, surrounded by a creek, and fields. Our breakfast was scrumptious and enhanced by the company of our hosts. Their grandchildren also attend to the needs of the guests and they were a delight to get to know. We will definitely recommend Mary-Penn to all of our friends.


Truly A 5-Star Paradise

5 en abril 15, 2013

The Mary-Penn B&B truly should rank in the top 1% of the bed and breakfast industry. The setting is incredible with all the history, serenity, and country charm. We have had 6 planning retreat meetings for the Middle Atlantic Planetarium Society here and so much is accomplished because of the tranquil surroundings and the impeccable hospitality provided by Bea and David Waybright. My wife and I stayed her last fall during the Colorfest Festival in Thurmont. In my opinion, no other place comes close to the quality of the Mary-Penn.


Excellent!

5 en abril 02, 2013

What a fantastic stay! My mom was visiting me at school in Carlisle and we went for a weekend trip to Gettysburg. We're pretty seasoned B&B-goers, but I have to say that this was one of our best experiences yet! The Waybrights are SO kind and Bea was so fun to chat with. The wine and cheese (and fresh cookies!) that greeted us were delicious and the house is just amazing. Bea has done such a good job with the decorating--she really maintained the integrity of the 1700's style. It's a beautiful, quiet location (much sunnier than Carlisle, I have to say!) and they can recommend excellent food in the area for lunch and dinner. The prices are incredibly reasonable.


A True Getaway!

5 en marzo 27, 2013

Some friends and I went to Gettysburg for a conference and were lucky to be staying at the Mary-Penn. Bea and David have done a fantastic job on renovating this historic property. The beds were so comfortable, the breakfast was great and she made special food for our vegan friend. It is out in the country away from the noise of cars and other distractions. We did enjoy the fireworks in the distance from a wedding at a golf course. There is such an interesting history and you feel like you step back in time with her beautiful antique furnishings. There is a large family room with a large TV that we never turned on. I plan on going back!!


Awesome Weekend Getaway!

5 en marzo 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to the Mary-Penn for a weekend getaway to relax from the stress of our busy lives. We were the only ones staying at the B&B that weekend, and Bea and David treated us like royalty. Bea is an amazing cook, and the breakfasts were wonderful! The hospitality we experienced was unmatched, and we cannot wait to go again. I also recommended the Mary-Penn to my best friend who is getting married in October, and I hope she goes so I have another excuse to visit! I would not trade my experience for anything. ~Ashley, Frederick, MD


Like nothing that I have ever experienced!!!

5 en febrero 20, 2013

This was our first bed & breakfast together (my personal first) and I could not even imagine one being any better than this! Bea and her husband David are the most gracious of hosts as they make you feel like part of their family. From the relaxing and warm gathering room, to the charming bedrooms, the Mary-Penn is a place to unwind and retreat from the typical city life. Situated at the end of their one-mile driveway, off of an extremely quite road, is their beautifully remodeled and historic-colonial home. As soon as we stepped foot into the Mary-Penn, we were welcomed as if we were blood relatives. My wife and I were showered with snacks that included wine, cheese, homemade cookies, homemade cupcakes, and coffee/tea/hot chocolate by way of their convenient Keurig machine! After an amazing night of sleep, my wife and I were welcomed with breakfast consisting of Eggs Benedict, bacon, Belgium waffles, fresh fruit, and homemade muffins. In addition, Bea and David recommended great sites to visit in Gettysburg as well as the surrounding areas. If you wish not to leave the Mary-Penn, you will be drawn in by the wonderful environment that surrounds you. Whether you enjoy the creek off of their backyard or the extremely spacious T.V. room that provides a panoramic view of the greatly landscaped outdoors, you will be nothing short of satisfied. Personally, I feel indebted to them for such a great time that they provided us. They were perhaps the most genuine people that we have ever meet. There is NO WAY that ANY b&b can EVER live up to Mary-Penn’s above and beyond hospitality. They have elevated my expectations of a bed & breakfast beyond comprehension!!! With all of the love that they deserve, Jeffrey & Jhoti Flegler West Lawn, PA


Third Time - STILL a charm!!

5 en enero 22, 2013

This was our third Winter stay at The Mary-Penn Bed and Breakfast and it was like "comin' home." Bea and Dave are wonderful hosts and treated us, again. like family. Bea was there to welcome us, get caught up on each other's families, and then left us on our own with wine, cheese, fruit, crackers and a Keurig. We had the entire house to ourselves, just like in the past, and enjoyed a lengthy breakfast and coversation with Dave and Bea in the mornings. Winters provide the most beautiful sunsets and sunrises of the entire year and I loved getting up early and walking the Mason-Dixon line as the sun was coming up. Breakfasts were simple and DELICIOUS! We love the William Penn Room for it's roominess and orientation on the PA side of the house where you could, if you wanted to stay in bed, watch the beautiful sunrise from your pillow. As per my previous review I would, again, advise that the upstairs 3 bedrooms all share a common bath where you can use the commode in MD and shower in PA. We've never stayed there with other guests so I would assume that shower and bathroom time may take some cooperative effort if the BandB is full. The downstairs bedroom (in which the Mason Dixon lines passes through the bed) has a separate bathroom/shower just off of the large family room. I will also warn other car lovers that this BandB does sit at the end of a mile-long country lane that can be kind of muddy and sloppy in bad weather. It is well-maintained but, hey, it IS a country lane! Leave the Vette at home but bring your sedan/SUV/Pick-up truck without hesitation! Believe me, the stay here MORE than makes up for any of the above "inconveniences." We will continue to return to The Mary-Penn on a yearly basis and are, already, looking forward to our next stay. THANK YOU Bea and Dave!!! Peg and Steve Allerding


Wonderful

5 en diciembre 31, 2012

The Waybrights are fabulously hospitable. Bea's breakfasts are marvellous, and different every day. It was wonderful for a couple of Australians to experience such warm American hospitality. The farmhouse has been beautifully restored. Not only is it very comfortable, it is historically fascinating. The walks to the Mason-Dixon mileposts on the property were great. A fantastic stay.


Smiled all weekend

5 en diciembre 15, 2012

This is a perfect place for a relaxing weekend with old friends. Charming and historic home with acreage to wander. Gettysburg history nearby to share. Personable hosts and wonderful breakfasts. Our gang of 8 was very glad we stayed. R&R


Part of the Family

5 en noviembre 06, 2012

Bea, David & their granddaughters welcomed us into their home and treated us so well that we feel like a part of the family. Breakfast was delicious, wine & cheese was delightful, our room was clean & beautifully decorated- Mary Penn is a great place to stay!


The BEST place EVER!!

5 en noviembre 02, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. Its so remarkably beautiful. There is a lot of important history I learned about. The service is magnificent. The staff is wonderful. Bea is great lady to meet and get to know.


Peaceful and Perfect!

5 en octubre 09, 2012

Just delightful Bea & David! Thanks so much for the wonderful time away from home! Enjoyed the farm, enjoyed the fellowship and our daughter enjoyed sleeping in a different state than her Mom and Dad. Everything was peaceful and perfect! We will be back soon ~ so enjoyed being so close to Gettysburg and to Brian's favorite shopping arena. Barb, Brian & P.


Bea made us feel like royalty. We didn't want to leave.

5 en julio 26, 2012

This was our second visit to the Mary-Penn and we loved every minute. We had our college luncheon and stayed overnight. Bea is just the sweetest person you would ever want to meet. It is just wonderful staying in this historic house and having beautiful surroundings in the house and also the landscape. This time we shared the evening with a wonderful family from Minnesota. Bea and David treat everyone like family and they have really touched our hearts in just two visits. The Millers from Northumberland


Delightful!

4,8 en julio 19, 2012

When we were invited to a wedding at The Gettysburg Links, we looked for BnBs nearby. The Mary-Penn was practically within walking distance, so we reserved two nights, planning to take the National Battlefield tour before going to the wedding. The Mary-Penn is such a delightful place! A mile down a secluded lane, nestled on a rise above the creek and straddling the PA-MD state line, the historic farmhouse is beautiful, comfortable, and peaceful. We saw a family of raccoons fishing in the creek, a large heron wading in the shallows, and lots of deer and bunnies. Bea and David are such friendly and gracious hosts. Each evening we were greeted with wine and cheese and freshly baked cookies. Each morning Bea served a sumptuous country breakfast. David showed us the house and grounds, including the marker Mason and Dixon had erected in 1767. We are so fortunate to have found this gem of a place, and we will return just to relax in the country. Alan & Jean, West Chester, PA


Unique Historic GEM

5 en junio 18, 2012

Our two night stay at the idyllic Mary-Penn B&B exceeded all expectations. The lovingly restored secluded home with comfortable period décor was a welcome retreat after busy days of sightseeing. Surrounded by acres of farmland the peaceful location gave us glimpses of rabbits, deer, colorful gardens, and the lazy creek. Our hosts, David and Bea, were gracious and attentive to our every need. We enjoyed their company at our delicious family style breakfasts. Bea’s homemade breads and the evening wine, cheese, and fruit offerings were appreciated. Shortcut directions they provided into Gettysburg made for expedient coming and going. Thanks, David and Bea, for sharing yourselves and this special historic location with us. J&G, New Hampshire


Simply WONDERFUL!

5 en mayo 28, 2012

Our family spent two nights at the Mary-Penn and could not have had a more wonderful experience. Our experience was was outstanding. The breakfast was like no other B&B we have ever experiences. It was a full breakfast family style and we met some wonderful folks and chatted informally. It was such fun. The room was lovely and historic. Every room has its name and the reason for its name. The history of the Inn was something that captured the interest of my children.The authenticity of the home was an experience my children loved - sharing a part of history. One child stood in Maryland, while the other stood in Pennsylvania and they were holding hands. They thought that was delightful. The grounds provided the children with much to explore while hubby and I sat and relaxed. Along with the wonderful environment and food,we fell in love with the Innkeepers. They could not do enough for us. We treasure our time with them at the Mary-Penn. EXPERIENCE it for yourself. Oh, one last thing, it is serene and calm, but within easy access to all of Gettysburg's sights. Thanks you, Dave and Bea. God Bless You!


Fabulous historic weekend experience

5 en mayo 07, 2012

We so enjoyed our recent weekend stay in the Mary B. room and loved the historic farmhouse and surrounding grounds, as well as, the most gracious hospitality and delicious breakfasts, wine and cheese and terrific homemade snacks available to us during our stay. Getting to speak with Bea and David and their family about the special history of the farmhouse and the vision and hard work to bring it to fruition was amazing! Touring historic Gettysburg battlegrounds, as well as, the Eisenhower Farm made the weekend so enjoyable, that we want to come back again real soon. We highly recommend this cozy b&b filled with lovely Longaberger baskets and pottery. We believe the Mary-Penn &B would make a wonderful gift for your next family vacation/reunion or special event. Thanks Bea, David, Amy and Aubrey! Looking forward to seeing you soon!


Wonderful Stay at Mary Penn

5 en mayo 07, 2012

We received a gift certificate to the Mary-Penn. Living on a dairy farm and having two small children, my husband and I don't often find time to get away. What a great gift we received. My husband and I had an wonderful time at Mary Penn. It is a beautiful place with wonderful folks! Bea, David and all of their family members are so kind and treat you like their own family! We truly enjoyed our night with no kids or cows and apprecieate the friendships we gained. We hope to be able to visit again!


I could not have asked for more!

5 en abril 16, 2012

My ten-year-old daughter and I visited spur-of-the-moment and Bea and David could not have been more accommodating. We were welcomed like we were returning home to long-lost relatives. Bea goes above and beyond what is normally expected for a bed and breakfast, leaving nothing out. My daughter is a huge fan of kiwi, and there was plenty at breakfast. Bea even went out and got me a bottle of wine! The house was so charming, with not a dust bunny in sight! Bathrobes in the closets, flashlights by the front door, warm cookies upon our arrival. The bed was extremely comfortable, the grounds immaculate, the company wonderful. When we left, it felt like we were leaving relatives behind, but no worries, we will be back to visit! The neatest detail was that we slept in PA, but brushed our teeth in MD. My daughter got quite a kick out of jumping back and forth over the state line, as the house is situated ON the Mason-Dixon line. So, discover where your allegiances lie and choose your room! My alligiance lies with Mary-Penn, in any room! Thank you so much Bea and David. You helped my daughter and I make a memory!


Historic Treasure!!!

5 en abril 14, 2012

What a treausre! The owners have created a beautiful bed and breakfast! The house has been meticulously restored and maintained! The grounds are lovely and provide a great respite. The owners are very personable. We enjoyed a wonderful farm breakfast with Bea, Dave, and the other guests! If you are looking for a nice, quiet bed and breakfast get-away in the country, but one that is still near Gettysburg, this is the place!!!!!


Delightful setting

4,6 en marzo 08, 2012

Our stay at the Mary Penn B&B was delightful! The food was abundant and delicious. The freshly made brownies waiting for us after a day of touring Gettsyburg was a special treat for my daughter. Bea and David were caring, outgoing hosts who were committed to making our stay special. The tour of their 1743 house made history come even more alive.


great getaway

5 en diciembre 04, 2011

Such a nice time with a quiet setting, wonderful hosts, and yummy food. We've stayed here twice and have not been disappointed. Thanks Bea and Dave!


Lovely B&B in Gettysburg

5 en noviembre 14, 2011

This was my first time ever staying at a bed and breakfast and it by far exceeded all my expectations. Bea was an amazing host, I felt like I was part of her family within minutes of stepping inside her bed and breakfast. The history of the house is amazing, it is so fascinating to step back in time and understand how American history unfolded within the house. Each room in the house is very nicely decorated and made me feel right at home. Bea cook's a delicious breakfast, and my favorite part of the whole stay is the warm conversations I had throughout my time there!


Our Gettysburg get away

5 en octubre 21, 2011

We just loved the Mary-Penn. We would definitely come back. The house was beautiful with a very interesting history. Our hosts were wonderful. They made us feel very much at home and welcome. The night time snacks were just right and the morning breakfast was fantastic!! Two other couple stayed the night too. It was fun to talk to them but we still felt like we had our privacy and space. It was a little way out of Gettysburg but well worth the stay. The property was just beautiful. We even saw deer which is always a treat. Loved it!!


Sweet as Blueberry French Toast!

4,0 en octubre 13, 2011

What an enchanting place this B & B is! The property is beautiful-cozy furnishings & linens; the rich history envelopes you and beckons you back to the late 1700's; and the host/hostess David & Bea, they're as colorful, fresh, and sweet as the delicious Blueberry French Toast served at their wonderful brunch. I can't wait to return again! JoAnn from the Colorado Rockies


Beautiful Historic Inn

4,6 en octubre 06, 2011

Although this property is somewhat secluded (outside the Gettysburg town proper) it is a beautiful historic inn well worth the effort to find it. Innkeepers Bea and David Waybright are enthusiastic and extremely gracious hosts, going well out of their way to make us feel welcome, giving us directions to our destinations and helping us get settled. Rooms are spotlessly clean, appointed with exquisite quilts and quality bed and bath linens, making for a very comfortable stay. Although there are two shared bathrooms in this late 18th Century farmhouse that sits on the Mason-Dixon line, the guests are courteous (in our experience) and sharing the bathrooms was no problem. Breakfast was abundant and exceptionally well-prepared -- no one leaves their table wanting for anything else!


The Best Bed and Breakfast Ever

5 en septiembre 09, 2011

From the moment we drove down the road and saw the house, my daughter in law and I fell in love with the Mary-Penn. However, my husband and son who do not like staying at B&B's from past experiences, said nothing until they walked in the door and were greeted by Bea. Upon meeting Bea, you cannot help but feel welcome and that this is going to be unlike any other B&B. One look at my husband and son's faces and I knew this was going to be a great weekend. The warmth and beauty of the house is apparent as soon as you walk through the front door. Bea gave us a tour from room to room as the floors creaked and cracked adding to the charm of the house. After hearing the history of the place you can't help but feel you are back in time and sharing a special part of that history. Finding out that Bea's husband David and their families are the ones who restored the house, gives one an appreciation of what this place means to them. The fact that they share it with others, just reflects what generous, proud folks they are. Having breakfast here is not like at home because here, you are provided with some delicious dish fresh out of the oven, along with the bacon or sausage and eggs and fresh fruit. And the best part aside from the food, is having David join you at the table to talk and exchange stories. This was truly a special time to relax and eat, and get to know one another, and eat some more. Effortlessly so it seemed, Bea and her grand daughter made everything and anything you wanted available. We all could have just stayed at the house for the whole weekend and never left. But alas, there was sightseeing to do so we had to drag the men away from the house with the promise we would come back and just spend the time at the Mary-Penn. We may even rent the whole house so other family members can join us. Jon, Stacy, Jeff, Janice Sept. 2, 2011


Great little bed & breakfast

4,6 en septiembre 06, 2011

This is a charming little bed & breakfast in the middle of the country side, right next to a creek. The rooms were clean and overall we had no complaints, except that our bedroom on the first floor did not have a window. Bee and David were extremely nice and hospitable. When we arrived, Bee was there to give us a tour and explain all of the history. I would recommend this place, however I would suggest one of the upstairs bedrooms if you prefer to have a window.


Hidden Paradise!!!

5 en septiembre 05, 2011

The house was built in 1743, a civil war historical building, and rests on the Mason-Dixon line with a portion of the house in Maryland and the other portion in Pennsylvania. We were absolutely fascinated at the idea of sleeping in Maryland and using the 'facilities' in Pennsylvania-I would bet there is no other place where you can experience this. The house is beautifully restored in the civil war era and our gratitude is owed to Mary Waybright for her love of the home and the dedication of her family to its restoration. Please visit their website for the full history of the home - http://mary-pennbb.com/history.html We truly enjoyed Bea's wonderful breakfasts and the company of herself, husband and grandson- Tyree...what a truly wonderful family. We highly recommend visiting their B&B for a quite and relaxing visit. It is the only B&B that we have felt truly welcomed as Bea and David do not stay in the home. You truly are free to access all areas of the home- it is sort of like buying a new home, the excitement but without the mortgage! We plan to become regulars and bring our children next visit. By far the best B&B experience ever!


Hidden Paradise!

5 en agosto 16, 2011

The house was built in 1743, a civil war historical building, and rests on the Mason-Dixon line with a portion of the house in Maryland and the other portion in Pennsylvania. We were absolutely fascinated at the idea of sleeping in Maryland and using the 'facilities' in Pennsylvania-I would bet there is no other place where you can experience this. The house is beautifully restored in the civil war era and our gratitude is owed to Mary Waybright for her love of the home and the dedication of her family to its restoration. Please visit their website for the full history of the home - http://mary-pennbb.com/history.html We truly enjoyed Bea's wonderful breakfasts and the company of herself, husband and grandson- Tyree...what a truly wonderful family. We highly recommend visiting their B&B for a quite and relaxing visit. It is the only B&B that we have felt truly welcomed as Bea and David do not stay in the home. You truly are free to access all areas of the home- it is sort of like buying a new home, the excitement but without the mortgage! We plan to become regulars and bring our children next visit. By far the best B&B experience ever! ~Weekend Guests from 8/12 - 8/14/2011


What a Treat!

5 en agosto 06, 2011

My husband and I plus a good friend spent a night at the Mary-Penn B & B and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was like visiting a friend's home. The house, built in the 1700s, has been completely renovated and retains its colonial feeling, but with all the amenities of the 21st century (even wi-fi!). Bea and Dave are wonderful hosts. Bea could not do enough for us and made sure we were completely comfortable and happy with everything. She also provided us with a wonderful breakfast around the dining room table with other guests. It was so much fun to get to know these other people and to laugh and share stories of our life experiences. The house is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of modern life and the surrounding scenery with its green fields, flowing stream, and manicured yard and gardens make it a perfect get away place. We would highly recommend this B & B to other people coming to the Gettysburg area.


A taste of home!

5 en agosto 01, 2011

Our stay at the Mary-Penn was nothing short of amazing. Bea and David are the most amazing individuals a person could meet. Bea is an absolute sweetheart who goes above and beyond to meet any needs you have. My fiance has muscular dystrophy, and Bea made sure he felt as comfortable as possible during our stay. The bed was extremely comfortable, breakfast was absolutely delicious, and the history behind the house and grounds is very fascinating. I love how they restored the house and made it what it is today. Driving down the road between the soybean and corn fields and seeing the house come into view, the sound of the creek and the birds chirping immediately relaxed us, and set the tone for what was the best weekend ever. We will definitely be returning, and we are wanting to hold our small wedding there soon! Thanks Bea and David!


Awesome place

5 en julio 13, 2011

Wonderful setting, we loved hearing about the history of the house and area. Very peaceful, and the breakfasts each morning were awesome. it was great to be pampered!


Both sides of the Mason-Dixon Line

4,8 en mayo 31, 2011

Literally we were located in the bedroom that straddles the Mason-Dixon line. Our whole experience was lovely. The room was quite pretty, the surrounding landscape was picturesque and the atmosphere was quiet and relaxing for being so close to the center of historic Gettysburg. As far as the company and conversations go this was also exceptional. Our hosts and family were pleasant and helpful. And last but not least we wouldn't want to forget to mention the outstanding breakfasts provided by our host Bea. Thanks Bea and Dave. Janice and Michael S. from N.J.


A quiet, enjoyable getaway

5 en mayo 17, 2011

We found the inn, tucked 'way back off the beaten path, to be a delightful step back into history. The rooms are beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The shared bathroom might be a setback in some situations, but since we had the whole house to ourselves, it certainly wasn't a problem for us. Bea and David are most gracious hosts, and the wine and snacks in the evening are a lovely touch, also. If we return to Gettysburg we will book a room at this inn again. In spite of challenging weather, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Reconnecting with the historic home

5 en noviembre 10, 2010

Our stay at the Mary-Penn B & B was outstanding in all ways. We loved meeting Bea and seeing David again. Bea has such an outstanding personality which makes her the perfect, warm and welcoming innkeeper. One feels as if he/she has known her all of her life!!! Every detail is meticulously presented throughout the historic house. So much thought and planning went into establishing this home in honor of Mary Waybright who saved it from demolition. The serene and peaceful setting adds to its charm and character. We cannot wait to return for our next visit!!!


Like Coming Home

5 en octubre 28, 2010

From the moment we pulled up the long drive to Mary-Penn B&B we were in awe of the beauty of our surroundings. The gardens around the house were so lovely and a true indication of the welcome we received. Bea, our delightful hostess was there to meet us with such a welcome we immediately felt like we knew her. As we walked in the front door we were greeted by the aroma of Blueberry Bars that just came out of the oven. Our tour of this very historic home was a step back in time and the touches were just perfect. The rooms were spotless yet welcoming and cozy. After our tour of Gettsyberg we "came home" to wine and an assortment of cheeses and fruit. After a very comfortable nights rest we explored the breathtaking grounds. Bea made us a delicious breakfast served in the beautiful and very historic dining room. She even made us homemade waffles, fruit salad, eggs and sausage. We cannot wait to go back. Where else can you sleep with your head in Maryland and your feet in Pennsylvania? AMAZING. Thank you Bea!!!


History lovers dream

5 en octubre 23, 2010

Bea and David went above and beyond the call of duty to help us feel welcome, tour their beautiful homestead so rich in history and be so generous and gracious with food and hospitality.


Doesn't get much better than this!

5 en octubre 13, 2010

This was my second visit to the Mary-Penn. Back in January (2010), I reserved the Mary-Penn as a place for a Strategic Planning Committee meeting for the Middle Atlantic Planetarium Society. We liked it so much that we booked again this past September (2010) for another Strategic Planning session. Bea and David are fantastic hosts and Bea's meals are to die for. The facility has everything we need to have our meeting and to have some time to unwind and relax. This time, 3 of our committee members brought telescopes, as the location is ideal for viewing. This place comes highly recommended!!!!! Five stars do not do it justice. On a scale of 1 to 5, the Mary-Penn, Bea and David rate a 10. Steve Mitch, President-Middle Atlantic Planetarium Society.


We loved this place!

5 en agosto 16, 2010

My husband and I love bed and breakfasts and have stayed in quite a number of lovely ones. This was an outstanding one. The historic home was beautifully decorated with antiques and the setting was gorgeous. No roads or triffic in sight, quiet and peaceful and the creek and big trees on the property are serene. The best part was Bea and David. We did actually feel as if we were staying with family and hated to leave when we departed. Everything was glorious, the food, the setting and the hospitality!. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast and its only a few minutes from Gettysburg!! Wether your going for a quiet retreat or a historic tour, this is the place to stay.


best vacation ever

5 en agosto 09, 2010

my sister and i were lucky enough to get reservations here over the july 4th weekend. the setting and the rooms were truly remarkable, peaceful and beautiful. the care the owners showed us, their guests, truly made us feel as if we were their family. the history of this beautifully restored building has been carefully researched by Bea and it shows how much she treasures it. have not stopped talking about our stay since coming home. i will return for no other reason than to see Bea and David and their beloved Mary-Penn.


wonderful experience

4,6 en agosto 08, 2010

my sister,my daughter, my wife,and I were impressed with the restoration of the farmhouse that was built before the Mason-Dixon line was surveyed.It was tastefully furnished with appropriate furniture, very clean and comfortable. My wife and I slept in Pennsylvania and my daughter and sister in Maryland. In the same house. The breakfast was sumptuous and delicious and the hosts,Bea and Dave,were very gracious. The location on Marsh creek is beautiful ;ideal for picture taking.A most enjoyable and memorable experience. Ken & Evie Henrietta, Ny


One of the best

5 en julio 15, 2010

We stayed here in July 2010. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome. The house and grounds are beautiful. Very quiet and peaceful out in the countryside. The food and hospitality were second to none. We left feeling like part of the family and not just guests. i hope I will be able to go back some time in the future. Frances


Magical

4,0 en junio 11, 2010

A friend and I stayed at this bed and breakfast in late June. It was my second time staying in a bed and breakfast. What a wonderful experience. The house build in the 1700's was magical. It was nice being out in the beautiful country, but close to all the activities of Gettysburg...kindof a two for one experience. But, the best part was meeting Bea and David...they are simply the best! Kaye Lane Reno , Nevada


Gettysburg Gold!

5 en abril 26, 2010

The Mary-Penn B&B is as good of a B&B experience as you could ever hope for and Bea and David set a new standard for B&B hosts. While the shared bathroom may not appeal to the more stodgy guest EVERYTHING else about the house MORE than makes up for that and the WONDERFUL breakfast is worth the trip to Gettysburg all in itself! Gettysburg is, truely, a national treasure and the Mary-Penn House and Bea and David are, truely, Gettysburg treasures. WE WILL BE BACK! Steve and Peg Allerding


The perfect place!

5 en febrero 02, 2010

What I had in mind for a weekend retreat to hold a strategic planning committee meeting was a quiet, secluded and comfortable space with very few distractions. The Mary-Penn Bed and Breakfast was the perfect place. A great historical property with all the emenities. The hospitality provided by Bea and David was second to none. This one goes to the top of my list of favorite B&B's!


charming

5 en noviembre 25, 2009

We had a great stay! Fabulous setting, very historical. Bea and David were very gracious, we felt as if we were staying with family! We would definitely recommend it, and play on going again! Stan and Ann, Colorado


New Friends

5 en noviembre 06, 2009

We felt like we spent the weekend with a long time friend. The house was clean, the food was declicious, and the company was wonderful.


The Best first getaway ever!

5 en octubre 13, 2009

My husband and I visited the Mary Penn B&B for our first getaway in 9 years since our son. We were completely overwhelmed with it's peacefullness and quietness. We have never slept so well, nor have we ever been so relaxed and sad to come home. We will definately be spending more time at Mary Penn and plan to send our family to our new little hideaway.


Great Anniversary Getaway

5 en agosto 15, 2009

What a wonderful place to relax and get away from it all for our 35th anniversary. We enjoyed a peaceful picnic under the old Sycamore tree by the serene creek then took a stroll through the fields. Our room with the canopy bed was very cozy and comfortable and the delicious breakfast that Bea made must be the best in Gettysburg. Peaches and cream baked French toast with eggs, bacon and fresh fruit - delicious!. Bea and David made every effort to ensure that we were taken care of and we are most grateful for a memorable stay. The beautiful decor and history of this secluded home adds to the enjoyment. Everyone deserves to treat themselves to a stay at the Mary Penn. We also attended a wedding here in June and it was picture perfect.


wonderful experience

5 en agosto 04, 2009

If you are looking for peace and quiet the Mary- Penn is the place to go. The rooms are spacious and airy. The owners are amazing people who will see to your every need. We had a wonderful experience when we stayed there.


Amazing Place to Stay

5 en agosto 01, 2009

It is an absolute beautiful and relaxing B&B. It is a must come back again & again place to stay. You would not want to leave. Bea is a very wonderful person. So loving and caring. I just enjoyed talking with her. The view is just lovely. The sound of the creek roaring to the beatiful landscaping is just so enjoyable. Thanks again for the time we had to enjoy and talk about different things about the home and family.


The perfect B&B

4,8 en julio 15, 2009

This B&B is out on the country side of Gettysburg and it is absolutly perfect. The location, the grounds, the house, the people, everything is quaint and georgeous. You have the house to yourself at night and you awaken to a wonderfully prepared breakfast (ask for the Peaches and Cream french toast). the house gives you an old farm house feel without the annoyance of a old house because it is completely redone with all the modern amenities you want. The only complaint I have about the B&B is you have to leave when your stay is over. over all, no serious complaints and you will absolutely love your stay at Mary-Penn!


Best in Bed and Breakfast around Gettysburg

5 en julio 09, 2009

The house is wonderful it is like walking back in time. It is so peaceful, to sit out side and listen to the water, running in the brook, and hearing the birds. You get up in the morning and can see the deer walking across the yard. And when you wake up in the morning, you can look forward to one of the best breakfast in the area. Bea and David and they family, are some of the finest people you meet. They make you feel right at home. We only stay there for one night out of the week we were there, but if I had know about the Mary-Penn, we would have stayed there the while time we were in Gettysburg. Again think you Bea and David for making us feel at home, while we were there. I would suggest that everyone try the Mary-Penn you will love it.


Our stay in gettysburg

5 en julio 06, 2009

The three of us stayed at the Mary Penn band B for just one night in July, and I only wish we could have stayed for longer. Bea and david are the most warm and hospitable hosts imaginable. The location is peaceful and the accomadations were luxurious. An excellent breakfast set us off for a great day. I highly recommend this B and B to anyone on the area.


Fabulous!!

5 en junio 15, 2009

My cousin had his wedding at Mary-Penn and we stayed there for our accommidations. Bea, David and Aubrey are so nice and make you feel so welcome. The setting that the house is in, is absolutly beautiful and private. There is definitly a unique charm here that I have never felt anyplace else. It is true beautiful country. There is nothing like waking up to fresh air and the smell of bacon, then drinking coffee in the morning in by the lake, and it is a short drive to the center of Gettysburg, or even bike ride if you choose. I would highly recommend this place!!


The best B&B in Gettysburg

5 en mayo 26, 2009

From the moment I walked in the door you could feel the joy of the Mary-Penn. Be it sitting out back enjoying company or relaxing in the great room, you too will leave feeling like family.


Mary-Penn Bed and Breakfast

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    ? - ?
  • Comentarios (71) 4,9
  • Habitaciones 4

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-7173345055

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba