Battlefield Bed & Breakfast Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,7

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,6
  • Servicios4,8
  • Estimación4,5
  • Limpieza4,7
  • Comidas4,8

Puntuación basada en
83 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Perfect getaway

5 en julio 07, 2014

This was one of the best vacations in Gettysburg, PA my wife and I had. The best part is they are pet friendly. We were able to meet two dogs who enjoyed their stay as much as their parents did. Each morning at 8 AM there is a history presentation. For Ghost Hunting enthusiast the barn and the rooms will keep you busy. All in all a great vacation and we will be returning to the Battlefield Bed & Breakfast Inn.


Peaceful and Relaxing

5 en julio 02, 2014

I love having the barn animals nearby and the pation outside


My Recent Stay

3,0 en julio 01, 2014

I enjoyed the stay. The cottage was too close to the main road. Service and breakfast was great! Interactions with others over breakfast was enjoyable.


Lovely B&B

4,2 en junio 30, 2014

We enjoyed our room and the grounds. The flowers were beautiful! Our breakfast was outstanding too! But the coolest thing was the historian/story- teller in the morning. He was informative but did not make it boring. We loved him! Definitely keep this event at the inn. We also went on a candle light tour which ended in the barn at the B&B. Our guide's tour name was "Miss Betty". We recommend her too! Thank you to all staff!


Great long weekend!

4,8 en junio 29, 2014

My family stayed here for three nights, and didn't want to leave! Our 10 and 7 year old sons wanted to stay another week. Our 20 month old daughter also had a great time. The rooms were spacious and authentic. The breakfasts were outstanding! Loved the daily history lesson. Can't wait to return!


Cozy diamond in the rough!

4,8 en junio 23, 2014

Lovely rooms and house! The food was good quality and the staff were friendly. Definitely going back next year. All the cats are a fun unexpected addition to the experience.


Absolutely Amazing!

4,8 en junio 22, 2014

This is the most amazing place to stay in Gettysburg! You're close to town, but far enough away to really "get the feel" of Gettysburg. Not to mention it's located ON the battlefield...an extra bonus! The grounds are picture perfect, the house and barn are beautifully kept, and there are some animals you can interact with as well. Not one complaint, and I'm very critical!


Battlefield Bed & Breakfast

4,0 en junio 14, 2014

Very nice B&B. The 1 hour historic presentation prior to breakfast was excellent


dog friendly

4,2 en junio 09, 2014

This was the first time we stayed at a hotel with our dog and the Battlefield Bed and breakfast was the perfect place to stay. We stayed in the Tack Room which was in the barn, which worked well with a dog. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was very good. The morning history program really added to our visit to Gettysburg.


Wonderful stay!

5 en junio 08, 2014

We had a most wonderful stay and enjoyed every moment of it! it was beautiful, entertaining and educational. So enjoyed talking with the other guests and the owners. Cannot wait to come back and see the gorgeous room they are building on!


Charming and Elegant

3,6 en junio 06, 2014

Was very comfortable and homey. Did not get to spend much time because of exploring Gettysburg! The only downside was the tea event that was going on and we felt like we were intruding when going to and from our room. Other guests mentioned this as well. Other then that it was a great place to visit and we will probably do it again. Our first time at a bed and breakfast. Thanks for the memories!!


Wonderful, Historic Place To Stay In Gettysburg

5 en junio 02, 2014

Staying at the Battlefield B&B will truly enhance your visit to Gettysburg. The house was there during the battle, just outside the National Park, and it's surrounded by a beautiful large yard and fields with a big, picturesque barn and a menagerie of farm animals that add ambiance to your stay. Breakfasts are exceptional, beautifully prepared, presented and served, and each morning guests will enjoy presentations from local experts, including reenactors, on the battle's and area's history that set the experience of the National Park in meaningful context, particularly helpful for visitors who know little about either topic. The accommodations are comfortable, cozy and homey. This isn't your typical antiseptic hotel. Your room (There are ten from which to choose.) is furnished with period antiques, and you'll find interesting artifacts throughout the common rooms. Given the high quality of the service in all respects, the Battlefield B&B is a bargain. We've stayed twice, and we are planning to visit regularly, as much to enjoy the place as to experience the endless variety of Gettysburg itself.


Lovely stay

4,8 en junio 01, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Battlefield Bed & Breakfast Inn; the food was excellent, the inkeepers were pleasant, and the historian was wonderful. Thank you!


visit in May

4,4 en mayo 30, 2014

Per breakfast history programs were a real plus


Perfect Getaway

4,4 en mayo 25, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay with our 7 month old puppy. LOVED the character of the Tack Room. Amazing grounds...picture perfect! Close enough to Gettysburg but far enough away from the traffic and noise of being right downtown. The breakfasts are INCREDIBLE! We are so glad we chose this bed and breakfast.


Rustic

3,0 en mayo 19, 2014

An interesting location, ideal for weddings and a quiet getaway.


Wonderful

5 en mayo 16, 2014

We plan on staying again and shared our experience with family and friends.


Rating the Battlefield B&B Inn

3,8 en mayo 13, 2014

The Battlefield B&B Inn is located in the heart of Gettysburg, minutes away from the battle fields. The Inn does it's best at catering to one's needs, the rooms were comfortable and quaint, and the period talks quite interesting and informative. I would have liked to have had breakfast served during a time slot such as 7-10am. As it is, there is one sitting at 9am. This was late for us - one breakfast was excellent, the other so so. I'm not sure why they don't have a little buffet for early risers. Other than that, the grounds were very pretty and nice. For pet owners it is ideal.


We will definitely be back!

4,8 en mayo 12, 2014

This stay was so much more than we expected. The history talks in the morning are excellent, and well worth getting up for! The staff can not do enough for you...so rare today to find people so willing to go out of their way for you. Highly recommend this as a wonderful place to stay when visiting Gettysburg. We WILL be back!


Quaint B & B

5 en mayo 05, 2014

The staff is helpful, friendly and accommodating. The morning history lessons are informative and a welcome change from ordinary B & B's. The breakfast is scrumptious and hearty. This is my second time staying at this B & B and my third visit to Gettysburg. I will stay here again for my next visit.


a magnificent B&B

5 en abril 26, 2014

We initially picked this bed and breakfast because of its dog friendliness. We were amazed to find it offered so much more. A history talk every morning, delicious home style breakfast, 30 acres of land to roam, located directly on the Gettysburg battlefield and incredibly friendly staff. I can't say enough about the greatness of our stay here. Highly recommended for anyone traveling with pets or anyone at all!


Late Arrival

4,8 en abril 12, 2014

We arrived much later than we planned, nearly 9 pm, but the inn keeper was waiting for us and gave us a full run through of the room and services. Only complaint was that the room colder than we like and we couldn't figure out how to adjust the thermostat or if it even worked at all, there was an electric fireplace but it did not appear to work either. The hot water in the shower was iffy. The breakfast food and service was wonderful and the best part was the 8 am talk about civil war medical care. We only planned to spend one night but would come back again to enjoy the property more fully.


Highlight of Our Spring Historical Vcation!

4,8 en abril 07, 2014

My wife and I and our ten year old grandson stayed in the Battlefield B&B Inn while visiting Gettysburg. Our grandson is an avid history buff and quite knowledgeable in spite of his age. He absolutely loved the historical significance of the Inn. He spent an hour or more searching for battlefield relics in the fields on the farm. Our room, Reilly's North Carolina Infantry suite, was a perfect fit! Beautifully decorated and comfortably furnished we slept well after a Gettysburg tour in the rain! In the morning the Civil War history talk from a reenactor was excellent and very informative. He answered questions from all including our inquisitive ten year old. The final highlight was the opportunity to fire the actual Civil War era musket. A delicious and delightfully presented breakfast was served by period costumed servers following the morning program. What a beautiful activity filled stay we had. We will be returning! Our grandson has already asked his Dad to take him back to Gettysburg and stay at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn. Pat, Al and AJ Eichenberg, Michigan


Absolutely The Best!!!

5 en noviembre 30, 2013

My husband and I fell in love with the Battlefield B&B and will not stay anywhere else when visiting Gettysburg ever again!!! It only took us 2 hrs once we arrived to decide we wanted to stay an additional night at the B&B...lucky for us our room was available for another evening!!! Breakfast was amazing and the staff was so amazing and helpful. My husband enjoyed his 60 minute massage that I had set up for him prior to us arriving! The room, and grounds were beautiful! They had ghost stories at night and history lessons in the morning which was a nice addition to our stay!! My husband and I enjoyed it so much that we decided that we will be making a yearly stay at the Battlefield B&B for our anniversary!!! What a great stay very clean and I would recommend it to anyone!!!


Quaint B&B

4,0 en septiembre 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Battlefield B&B in September 2013. We had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean and nice. The food was outstanding. We especially liked the history lessons each morning. We would go back again.


Labor Day Stay

4,6 en septiembre 06, 2013

This is a great place to stay! It is only 10 minutes from the downtown area with the shops and about the same amount of time to the museums, battlefields and monuments, and even the college. I loved how it wasn't overcrowded (in fact I was the only one there the one night)! The cats, horses, and mule were also good company. The staff was helpful and yet they give you plenty of space to come and go as you please. I would recommend this B&B to anyone!


Truly a lovely place

5 en agosto 22, 2013

Our stay at the Battlefield was so very nice! The Inn was beautiful, as was our room. Our Innkeepers could not have been nicer. The breakfast ( and cookies) were yummy. Breakfast was made even better by the information colorfully provided by Mike Diamond.


Would highly recommend

4,2 en agosto 22, 2013

This is not your normal bed and breakfast. So do not expect the usual. You are greeted by cats, a couple of horses and a donkey, and your host. Very laid back environment. This is one of the most homey and enchanting places I have been to. Very peaceful to walk the farm area. I am all for luxury when I stay away from home, but I wouldn't trade this place for anything. The facilities are authentic, clean enough, and quirky enough to be really interesting. We went for one night, and stayed for two. The morning speakers, who come at 8:00 AM to provide stories and insights on Gettysburg, are well worth the stay. Grab a cup of coffee and enjoy the lesson before breakfast. We were fortunate to enjoy some very nice guests during our stay and all were real history buffs, so you can have a great conversation before you head out. My only concern about giving this place a good review is that I will not be able to secure a future reservation! You will love it.


Weekend with the grandchildren

4,4 en agosto 21, 2013

Our second stay here and it was as wonderful as the first. My grandson (14) made sure to set his alarm to get up for the morning history. Both the grandchildren loved the breakfasts and I am not sure if they left any cookies for the other guests. We will be back again. We love ghost hunting in Gettysburg.


Above and Beyond

4,6 en agosto 05, 2013

We simply booked the room but then the staff called us to make sure we did not leave tours to chance. They booked the tours for us and we didn't miss out. Each morning the B&B brought in a Gettysburg historian for a presentation before breakfast lending more meaning to some of the areas we visited. Food was delicious, ambiance excellent. We'll be back since there is still so much more to see in Gettysburg and we will return to Battlefield B&B. They go above and beyond.


Enjoyed the History and the Location

5 en agosto 04, 2013

I stayed at Battlefield B&B just after the 150th Anniversary of the Battle this summer. The staff was pleasant and the food very nicely done. Evening snacks were a plus. I enjoyed the history from the themed rooms, to the artifacts in the inn, to the daily historian talk. This is why I went, and I was not disappointed. The easy access to the Battlefield was a tremendous bonus.


Living History at Battlefield B & B

4,8 en agosto 01, 2013

The history presenters were all certified Gettysburg guides. All were retired veterans, who had a real love of their chosen topic areas. The grounds are very peaceful, and the farm animals added a nice touch to the former working farm. Breakfast was delicious and the chef accommodated special dietary requests. The staff is friendly and makes you feel right at home.


The best bed and breakfast our family has stayed at!

5 en agosto 01, 2013

Our family stayed at the Battlefield B&B as a large group. The staff was very kind and welcoming. The rooms are all beautiful and the beds are great. The farm was a delight to the children. The breakfast was beyond delicious. The staff makes you feel so at home. If I could rate it at 100 stars it would not be enough.


Very family friendly!

5 en julio 31, 2013

We stayed in Reilly's North Carolina Artillery and it accommodated our family of 5 perfectly with the attached 2nd bedroom. We were greeted by Francesca and received a wonderful tour of the grounds and house. The chocolate cookies that greeted us that evening were a welcome and delicious treat! Breakfast was amazing as well. Old fashioned values and kindness made our stay wonderful! And the "soldier" who his presentation was just awesome. First time we ever shot a musket! Very fun. Would recommend this B&B to anyone traveling to Gettysburg!


Family Friendly Bed and Breakfast.

4,6 en julio 31, 2013

My wife and our three daughters stayed at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast for a single night last weekend. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and we had an excellent breakfast on Sunday morning before heading back out to the battlefield. The lecturer was informative and obviously new his subject well. We would recommend staying at this B&B if you are looking for an interesting, family-friendly, pet-friendly accomodation.


Enjoyable Stay in mid June 2013

4,6 en junio 14, 2013

The Inn is terrific! Staff is great and breakfast was a pleasure. We really enjoyed the pre-Breakfast talks by local guides. It was very helpful to be able to bring our two small dogs. The grounds are very nice, although we didn't enjoy the outdoors because of the rainy weather. The location is good - just 3 miles to town. Very quiet at night, which was preferable to dealing with crowds in downtown Gettysburg.


Great Place to have a Shabby Chic Wedding

4,6 en junio 13, 2013

We recently had our wedding at the B&B and rented out the facilities for the whole weekend. It was a great experience, ALL the staff was warm and helpful and I would easily recommend this to anyone. We stayed in the Tack Room and it was a great time. If you are scared of insects or don't like farm animals I would advise against staying in this room because it was a bit buggy and the farm animals were a bit noisy. I didn't mind because it added to the experience. The tack room's bathroom and tub were gorgeous and we were very happy with the wedding. They allowed us to use the inn for the rehearsal the night before and we had a fire the night after the wedding. If you are looking for a shabby chic barn wedding this is the location to do it at!


Beautiful Inn with much History!

4,8 en junio 06, 2013

My son and I enjoyed our two night stay in the 2nd US Dragoons room. The extra bed was very comfortable. The food was delicious! The pre-breakfast one hour Historian's presentation was great! The more one learns about what happened on July 1st, 2nd and 3rd 1863, the better the experience. We have read several books and have been interested in any Civil War programs on The History or Discover channels. Staying at an inn with "Field Hospital" history added meaning and understanding to our time in Gettysburg.


Three days in Heaven

5 en mayo 10, 2013

Of some 40 B & B's we have stayed in the past few years, this was number one. Circumstance played a part, but we were totally satisfied with every aspect of our visit, even the simple things like rain hitting on the roof. Many thanks to Jason, Sandra, and of course Florence who puts it all together. Bill and Pam of Pittsburgh, Pa.


Beautiful Inn with wonderful service

5 en mayo 09, 2013

A beautiful location with friendly and helpful staff. I spent one night but wanted to stay longer. Breakfast was amazing! Homemade snacks are left out during the day for the guests. They are helpful in directing you if you are looking for things to do. They also have events for the guests. I would stay here again and highly recommend if you are in the area.


Very nice and accommodating!

4,8 en abril 29, 2013

Everything was great the only thing that could have been better would be the bed. It felt like it had been there since the civil war. Not comfy at all.


Unique and wonderful!!

4,8 en abril 22, 2013

We stayed in the Tack Room in the barn.....wow..what a gorgeous room!!! Our dog loved the horse and farm animals outside our patio. The Civil War programs were very good and add so much to the visit. Staff is wonderful....a very peaceful and lovely setting....quiet and relaxing.


Wonderful place to stay!

4,8 en marzo 19, 2013

Our stay at the Battlefield B&B was awesome! We were told to make ourselves at home and we did. We loved the staff, they were professional but very friendly. It was like visiting with an old friend. Our room was very clean and beautiful. We were told we could go in any room that the door was open and we did explore the house. Everything was clean, and very pretty!!! The food was delicious and well presented. If you want off the main drag this B&B is for you! We are country people and this B&B was just on the outskirts of town, which we loved. We did feel right at home there and will be coming back to stay again sometime!


Stepping Back inTime

4,8 en enero 02, 2013

We enjoyed a very special weekend at the Battlefield Bed & Breakfast. The Inn is elegant and cozy and the staff is exceptionally accommodating. We enjoyed ghost stories by the fire along with cultural and historic morning programs. The dining, a culinary experience, is something you must experience for yourself. Ms. Tarbox and her staff go above the norm in providing guest with a unique experience.


Picture perfect history

5 en noviembre 12, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Battlefield B&B during our field trip on the civil war. The location was superb as was the food. The down-right, at-home feel was wonderful for winding down each evening. The civil war presentations were informative and fun. Our presenters don't know it, but they were shown in a high school civil war presentation that my 11 year and I presented. Thank you, Battlefield, for the perfect place. I'd like to come back just to stay there again. Whitne - Bountiful, UT


I wish I could give more than 5 stars.

5 en septiembre 26, 2012

I have stayed here on a few occasions and I plan on returning in about a month. There are not enough words in a thesaurus to describe the experience you have here, starting with the scenic drive up. The rooms are beautiful, the beds are surprisingly comfortable, and the bathrooms are fully stocked with toiletries. The breakfasts are every foodies fantasy. The aroma wafting from the kitchen will definitely rouse you from your slumber and to the dining room for 9am. Ms. Tarbox, and the staff , are wonderful people, who manage to make their presence known when you need them, yet, seem to blend in with the surroundings so you truly feel as if you are home, rather than in an establishment. -Vee Panzeri


Step Back In Time

4,4 en septiembre 25, 2012

This was my first trip to beautiful Gettysburg, PA and my travel companion's 15th trip. He is a Civil War history buff and battle re-enactor. We frequently stay at B & Bs and Battlefield B & B was just delightful!. This historic home, located on the edge of the battlefield itself, is well-kept, lovely period decor and furnishings yet having all the modern conveniences. The grounds and surrounding acreage is beautiful with maintained trails for walking and exploring. We especially enjoyed the hour long living history presentation prior to breakfast each morning! Breakfast was scrumptious, hearty and beautifully presented. My favorite was the raspberry crumble muffins! After exploring the sights one rainy afternoon we enjoyed the comfort of the parlor reading and relaxing. While we did not have children with us I very much appreciated how family friendly Battlefield Inn B & B seemed to be. There were shelves loaded with games for all ages, books, costumes of the Civil War period to put on and take photos, tv, and lots of outdoor areas to explore. We very much look forward to another stay here!


Bucket List

4,4 en septiembre 18, 2012

Our trip to Virginia and Pennsylvania included as many Civil War Battlefields as we could fit into one weeks time. Battlefield Bed & Breakfast truly added a great ambiance to this "bucket list" trip. Swan Cottage was divine and accommodated the three of us perfectly. The gourmet breakfasts were beautifully presented and some of the best I have ever eaten. However, the biggest surprise was the Civil War stories told daily by the very knowledgeable speakers. This included sharing ghost stories on Friday night as well as firing a vintage rifle musket for the first time. An extraordinary visit to a magical place, thanks, The Silva's


What an Experience

4,8 en septiembre 17, 2012

My Husband and I were quite pleased with our stay at The Battlefield Bed & Breakfast. We had never been to Gettysburg before, and had plans of staying at 3 different locations during our trip. We loved the Battlefield B&B so much that we extended our stay there! It was so nice and peaceful there, and the breakfasts were absolutely amazing! The staff were very nice, and the homeade cookies in the afternoon were also a nice touch. I would highly recommend the Battlefield B&B for anyone staying in Gettysburg!!


Wonderful accomodations in a beautiful setting

4,8 en septiembre 11, 2012

The staff and setting are simply wonderful. We have brought our dog with us and the inn is so accomodating to pets, treating them as members of the family. Breakfasts are outstanding! The lovely farm setting just adds to the appeal. You won't be disappointed. Just a short drive to the center of Gettysburg.


Beautiful spot in Gettysburg

5 en agosto 23, 2012

My husband & I are looking forward to our next trip to this amazing bed and breakfast. The innkeepers do a wonderful job at making you feel welcome. Our room was beautiful as were the grounds & we really enjoyed seeing all of the animals they look after. Great breakfast too!


History comes to life!

4,4 en agosto 19, 2012

Staying at the Battlefield B&B was a real treat. The location is wonderful, the food is delicious, the rooms are so comfy, but the best part is the unique history provided in first person before breakfast each day! I was slow to get down the first day, and that was a mistake! Don't miss it!


Great stay on the battlefield!

5 en julio 30, 2012

Had two wonderful days/evenings at Battlefield B&B! The room was charming and very comfortable. Morning Civil War lessons were a big plus. Breakfast was well presented and quite tasty. Lots of little things added up for an A+ rating in our book. Would definately stay again when visiting the area.


Battlefield Bed & Breakfast

5 en julio 21, 2012

we loved the wonderful breakfasts with freshly picked fruits and leaves on the plates. They were extremely accomodating for food allergies and needs. (I have food allergies, sodium restrictions and a vegetarian in my 4 person family group), the morning history talks were amazing & my 11 yr old son especially appreciated the muskat shooting


The perfect setting for the Gettysburg experience!

4,6 en julio 18, 2012

The location on the Emmitsburg Road perfect for access to everything to do with the battlefield. Everything is either 19th Century or made to look so and even with all the memorabilia it was incrediably clean and fresh. The breakfasts were not to be missed as the food and variety was excellent. Perhaps the greatest added value were the morning history presentations. Each of the lecturers brought thier passion for the history of Gettysburg to life and each engaged the guests. We also enjoyed the ghost stories on Friday night but slept through any paranormal activity that may have occurred. The minimum to take in Gettysburg is two full days.


Great place to stay while in Gettysburg

5 en julio 16, 2012

Beautiful Surroundings....Great Staff.....close to all attractions!!! Highly Recommend!!!!


A great place for history buffs

4,4 en junio 27, 2012

We visit Gettysburg often, and we always stay at Battlefield Bed & Breakfast. We love the historic ambiance-the rooms and charming and cozy, the breakfast is fantastic. Especially impressed with how members of the staff will sit down with you and discuss Civil War history. The morning "living history" presentation is unique. And if you're into the ghost thing, Friday night ghost stories are lots of fun. Don't get too nervous though-we've stayed there many times and haven't seen a ghost in our room yet...


Had an awesome time at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast.

5 en mayo 23, 2012

We got married at the Bed and Breakfast. Florence and the staff were very accommodating. They let us check-in early so we could get dressed at the inn. They supplied the cake and beverage. They even have a Reverand that marries people at the Inn so we didn't need to find one. The place is beautiful. They have land to take walks on. There is a pond so you can hear the bullfrogs at night. The place was clean and the staff was very friendly. Breakfast was wonderful. They always have hot tea, coffee and cookies for you to drink and eat during the day. The one day the cookies will still warm. We stayed in the original part of the farm house. We loved the hardwood floors. We loved that we felt at home. The inn is a wonderful and comfortable place to stay. Florence even sits and talks to the guests at night. The view from the living room is beautiful. I can't express how happy we were that we choose to get married at the inn and stay there for a couple of days. We will definately go back for our one year anniversary.


A piece of home in gettysburg

5 en abril 24, 2012

This was my first bed and breakfast experience!! And I have to say it was AMAZING!!! The service was great, the rooms were Clean and very cute, and as for the food it was Outstanding. I can't wait to stay there again I would recommend anyone To stay the night at battlefield bed and breakfast!


Beautiful 200 year old Civil War farmhouse in historical Gettysburg

4,4 en marzo 29, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Battlefield B&B in Gettysburg; a beautiful farm on the southern edge of the Battlefield itself. A little outside the hustle and bustle of downtown and the tourist activities, but we found it a plus -- it captures the real feeling of old Gettysburg. Yet you are only 5-10 minutes from anything you'd like to visit. The inn is lovely, and beautifully renovated. Filled with vintage charm and antiques, yet the suites are modern with private baths, wi fi, cable TV and air conditioning. Our suite was immaculate, with a very comfortable bed (and I am picky!). We were greeted (on an unseasonably hot March day) with a picture of cold lemonade and delicious homebaked cookies. Each morning features a lecture by a fascinating local scholar or history expert, followed by an AMAZING gourmet breakfast -- not the typical buffet. French toast with bananas foster -- asparagus quiche and slovenian sausage. YUM! Breakfasts are plenty filling enough we never wanted lunch, either. Best of all, Battlefield B&B not only accepts, but lovingly welcomes dogs. We often travel with our border collie, and have been turned away at most B&Bs, and nicer hotels, and stuck staying in mediocre motels. It was a real treat to stay in an AA+ facility, AND have our dog treated like a valued family member. We also enjoyed Friday night ghost stories, and a Saturday night visit from a paranormal investigation team -- the activities at the inn (free!) were so great, we bypassed similar "for pay" activities in downtown. Highly recommended for anyone visiting historic Gettysburg, but also a nice treat if you are passing through, and just want a relaxing, romantic vacation that makes you feel like you stepped back in time. I imagine this would be an incredible place to hold a wedding -- reunion -- or for a honeymoon couple (besides the inn, there is an adorable separate cottage).


Extremely satisfied customers

5 en marzo 10, 2012

Every aspect of our stay was wonderful. The food was delicous, the morning history talks were interesting and fun. The rooms were comfortable and elegant. Friday night ghost talks were entertaining and set the tone for our first evening in Gettysburg. The beautiful parlor with the fireplace was the romantic setting for our wedding proposal...we will be back soon. Definately where we will spend our honeymoon.


Our Short Getaway Battlefield B&B

4,0 en febrero 25, 2012

We hadn't been to Gettysburg since the new National Museum opened at decided to stay over at a B&B. The first thing we did was arrive on the wrong day - our reservations were adjusted without a problem. Battlefield B&B is nicely secluded off the road and the farm is beautiful, even in the winter. Our accommodations in Lancers 7th were perfect, and the areas downstairs were both comfortable and authentic. Food - great! Staff - Great! We had a relaxed, comfortable stay and hope to return in the Spring. Beverly & George Mehaffie


Battlefield Bed and Breakfast review

5 en enero 11, 2012

The Battlefield Bed & Breakfast was the first B&B I ever stayed at and that was 3 years ago. My family and I have been coming back every year since then. Florence and the staff make you feel very comfortable and welcome you like you are part of the family. The house and the property, well it's amazing! To actually stay in a true Civil War house and walk on the battlefield where so many lost their lives is an experience we will never forget. My daughter and I take a walk every morning, it's so quiet and we love to walk around the pond and take pictures of everything we can. The rooms are quiet, private, clean and beautifully furnished with Civil War era items and there is a story behind every door of the house. It's wonderful to hear the stories and history lessons that are given while being dressed in the clothing of the Civil War era. My son & daughter even got to fire a musket one morning before breakfast, it made their day. It truly makes you feel as if you are living in that time. The food is delicious and homemade fresh, my son can't wait for the french toast, he says it's the best he's had. The sights/tours of Gettysburg are only a 5 minute drive from the Battlefield Bed & Breakfast and extremely easy to get to. Once you stay here, you will understand why we come back every year! Thanks to you Florence and your staff for everything you do to make your place so special to all of us!


an awesome place

4,4 en noviembre 23, 2011

We were there for a paranormal investigation, in Gettysburg of all places. Steeped in history, there was a history talk every morning and a Friday night ghost story. The breakfast was purely amazing. We had some paranormal experiences, but who in Gettysburg doesn't? The Inn is a bit off the main road, on 30 acres of Civil War Battlefield, one of the only battlefields still in private ownership. Florence and her staff were delightful. There was always fresh coffee and cookies out. Lots of history in that place.


Have a great stay at The Battlefield Bed & Breakfast Inn

5 en febrero 02, 2011

This "haunted" Bed & Breakfast, located on the actual Gettysburg battlefield. Not to close to downtown and not to far away from Sachs bridge and other key areas of the Battlefield for those interested in ghost hunting. Ms Florence, took to the stage, wearing her Civil War era dress, spinning scary ghostly stories on Friday night. Her dramatic improvisations during the readings added a frightful twist to the spell-binding tales. The atmosphere of the inn was just perfect, from the personalized welcome for each guest by the innkeeper to the "storybook - looking" black lab named Mollie, that belonged to one of the other guests in this pet-friendly establishment. Even the grounds on this 30 acre piece of American history were outstanding. My friend and I walked the entire property or should I say, were led by the "purr guides" which were the cat pet staff who seemed to know the entire grounds as well as the human staff did. A serene and frozen pond, covered with a fresh dusting of snow lined one edge of the property. Known for its bright green lilly pads in the spring, some say you might see the faries and sprites that hang out at the pond if you have a quick eye. We especially enjoyed the warm ambiance of the inn's interior, with beautiful antique furniture and a slight smell of apple pie baking. Our room was Reilly's North Carolina Artillery Suite and it was perfect. The two rooms in the suite were more than accommodating for us and we loved the queen-sized bed and the double beds in the other room, should we have any of the inn's ghostly apparitions join us during the night. Breakfast was perfect and hand-made for each guest by the inn's Chef David. The meal was absolutely delicious and all of the guests sat at one big table, like a family, which is how the Inn Keeper, Ms Florence's hospitality makes you feel.


Battlefield B&B

5 en enero 25, 2010

Wonderful weekend - gracious, thoughful and caring hostess. Beautful surroundings. Only disappointment - we did not get to meet the resident ghosts.


Battlefield B&B

4,6 en enero 11, 2010

This place was hospitality w/o pretention. Every question was answered, every service was provided, and, best of all, it's dog-friendly. I just loved it here! If you come, I'm pretty sure you won't be disappointed.


Wonderful Surprise

5 en enero 11, 2010

Great, friendly atmosphere. Loads of things to look at. I needed a place that would accomodate my pets. I did an online search. Once we arrived at the Inn, the rooms and the animals in the barn were absolutely pleasing to us. But the thing that stands out is the friendly, hospitable innkeeper.


Best Ever B & B

5 en diciembre 10, 2009

We have stayed in many B & B's in our travels and most were a positive experience. Florence and her staff at the Battlefield B & B have made our visits to Gettysburg the best inn experience ever. We feel right at home and because we can bring our dog, Fawn, our vacations are complete. Can't wait to go back next year. Howard and Susan Chambers, Almond, NC


Outstanding experience and value

4,8 en diciembre 10, 2009

I have stayed here 5-6 times before, usually 3-4 days at a time. Obviously, I would not repeat so much if I did not like it. The location is great, right on the south end of the battlefield. Only 3 miles from town, yet so comfortable, quiet and peaceful. One of the best features is the morning history program. One hour each morning of a fascinating program about some aspect of the battle, the war, life in GB etc. It really adds to your trip, you will often find it really ads to the experience of Gettysburg. Then, a family style hot and hearty breakfast, and plenty of it. Even though a B and B, the owner does not live there, so it more of an Inn in a farmhouse. It is old, so if you need 2009 spit and polish forget it. I see some have criticized the hot water, or lack of. I once had an issue, but I think they have solved any problems, and the water was hot, and plentiful. I have seen upgrades though the years to the bathrooms. They now have satellite TV in each room, which I never used, and also Wi Fi, which, yes, I used. (dinner reservations, links to things to do, keep up with email). I commend them on adding WiFi, no more dial-up! Above all, Florence and her staff are a treat. Cheerful, helpful, they go out of your way to make you comfortable. I'll be back, it's almost like home!


Amazing Time at The Battlefield Bed & Breakfast

5 en diciembre 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed in Grahams Artillery. And we had an amazing time while there. We were there last December 27,28,29 2008. We heard some bootsteps in the room above (empty by the way). The room was cozy and inviting,the staff was welcoming and very nice, the food amazing. And my husband proposed to me that week. So yes it will always be my favorite place. :)!!!!!


Made our wedding day amazing!

4,6 en octubre 27, 2009

It is hard to describe our weekend wedding at the Battlefield B&B without sounding cliche. Florence and her staff went above and beyond our expectations and made our stay a perfect one. If you are looking for a place to have a memorable wedding, as well as to enjoy all the history that Gettysburg offers, this is it! We got more than we expected in terms of quality, service and friendliness. Thank you so much for everything!


I'm a return visitor!

4,0 en octubre 08, 2009

I travel a lot and don't usually call home, but I did so three times on my visit in August to tell my mother about the place. I knew she'd love the ghost story night and morning histories as much as I did. Now it's October and I'm taking her with me to experience the Battlfield B and B Inn.


Wonderful Place

5 en agosto 28, 2009

We have stayed in many B and Bs. The Battlefield Inn offers comfort and beauty. It is homelike. The breakfasts are superb. They offer a lesson on Civil War history each morning and they are very informative and entertaining as well. I loved every moment of our stay. They allowed our Scottish Terriers, who also had a great time exploring the beauty of the farm. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. There was no stuffiness but very gracious and warm. We will return and highly recommend The Battlefield Inn.


Great for Family and Pets!

5 en agosto 24, 2009

The room was large and clean. They were well prepared for the guests by providing drinks and snacks. They were very informative for the best places to visit. Breakfast was phenomenal! Best of all, pets are welcome which made this B&B a rare jewel.


An escape in history

4,2 en julio 28, 2009

Visiting gettysburg's Battlefield B&B is like taking a vacation in history. dating back to 1809 this Inn is charming & exudes personality. A must see for all coming to Gettysburg.


loved the history presentations!

4,8 en julio 27, 2009

We were here in July 2009 and loved this out of the way B & B. It is next to the South battlefield, but away from the noise of town and the main battlefield. (but not far) We stayed in Rush's Lancers, and were very impressed. My husband never wanted to go to a B & B, but has already booked another visit. The history presentations in the am and the ghost stories Friday night were very nice extras.


happy stay

4,6 en mayo 30, 2009

I had a mid-week getaway and enjoyed this inn tremendously. The 8 AM history lesson followed by a wonderfully presented breakfast topped off the lovely rooms and friendly staff. I'll be back to this one!


A Great Family Trip

5 en mayo 18, 2009

We were so pleased with our stay at this picturesque family friendly inn. Staying with 2 6 yr olds and their grandparents, we were able to meet all interest levels. The B&B was a perfect setting in spring, with specialized programs for all ages and interests. We felt very welcomed and the staff went out of their way to accomodate our dietary requests. The food was superb, and the presentation was beautiful. My children received experiences on the farm that they will remember for a lifetime, and we want to make this a regular holiday event.


Immersed in the time period

5 en agosto 30, 2008

This bed and breakfast took me instantly back to grandma's house. We had vertually free run of the house and property just as if it were our own. The decor, routine and morning stories made it feel as if you were immersed in the actual time of the Civil War and Gettysburg Battle. Hostess very gracious, breakfasts gourmet! Highly recommend for a laid back enjoyable vacation retreat.


Civil War Retreat

3,0 en junio 25, 2008

Rustic setting, Enjoyed informative talks each morning, great for Civil War bluffs! Food was good. Fireplace in room didn't work, hot water was when it wanted to work.But we were very comfortable. We were there for Thanksgiving 2007, dinner was wonderful, Staff was very nice.

Respuesta del propietario

In 2009, we switched to a tankless hot water heater. We are saving energy while improving service! The hot water is endless. All the fireplaces have been checked and are in good working order. You can relax by the fire or soak in the tub! Hope to see you soon!


Peace and Quiet!!

4,6 en junio 20, 2008

We were overwhelmed with the meals that were put before us. The staff went above and beyond to make everyone feel at home. The informative speakers that came to the breakfast table every morning was the best insided information anyone could ask for. Really enjoyed the Ghost stories and friendliness of the staff. Just minutes away from everything to do and see, Great location.


Great Place to Stay

5 en abril 06, 2007

My husband, grandson and I really enjoyed out stay here. The staff is excellent. Van did a great job with the ghost stories and morning presentation. Would highly recommend it. Also, outstanding breakfast.


Battlefield Bed & Breakfast Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $119 - $329
  • Comentarios (83) 4,7
  • Habitaciones 10
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-7173348804
  • Fax 1-7173347330
  • Sin cargo
    1-8887663897

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba