McKenzie Orchards Bed and Breakfast Comentarios

TOTAL

4,8

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,8
  • Servicios4,8
  • Estimación4,8
  • Limpieza4,9
  • Comidas4,8

Puntuación basada en
32 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

We have been many times, and we will go back ...

4,8 en junio 23, 2014

We originally discovered McKenzie Orchards while searching for a dog-friendly BnB near Eugene while our son was attending UO. Although this is a few miles out from campus, the setting is lovely and the property is wonderful. We enjoyed our stays there so much that we booked the entire property (more than a year in advance) for our son's UO graduation this June. We had family members driving in and flying in from all over the country for the event. Karen and Tom went way above and beyond the call of duty to host all of us for a memorable weekend, including catered meals for as many as 22 (more than just our overnight guests). Although our son has now graduated and left the area, we will find an excuse to head up that way again, to a place we now think of as one of many homes away from home.


The Girl's Reunion

5 en julio 22, 2013

Karen and Tom were our host and hostess on the final night of our high school girlfriend reunion. It took some convincing to let us rent the guest cottage for one night, but they finally agreed. My four closest friends and I were exhausted from our travels through Oregon upon arrival at McKenzie Orchards B&B. We were also awe struck at the beauty of Oregon, but our final night in the guest cottage was the topper. We were able to sit out on the second floor veranda overlooking the McKenzie River and backdrop of mountains to the west while we enjoyed our last night close friendship while laughing and joking. All I can say is thank you Karen and Tom for helping me to give my friends one of the best memories we have made together. God Bless and God Speed.


Look no further for a place in Eugene

5 en abril 30, 2013

What a find! The location of this B&B is absolutely beautiful, and the accommodations are upscale, comfortable and very reasonable. We are pissy travelers, and are too often disappointed with properties that are overpriced or otherwise are not as advertised. Not so with MacKenzie Orchards! If you are prone to dog-cations like we are, this B&B could not be more perfect with a couple of rooms that have easy access to the outdoors, and a huge field/meadow where the dogs can romp, play and run. We plan to visit Eugene more often now that we’ve found MacKenzie.


Wonderful Hospitality

5 en enero 23, 2013

The McKenzie Orchards B&B is a delightful, relaxing get-away. I really loved soaking in the jacquzzi. We spent 3 days at the B&B, and supprised our hosts with an impromptu family party on Friday night. The Reid's were gracious and made everyone feel welcome and at home. If we are ever anywhere nearby, we will defineitly book another stay.


Outstanding

5 en octubre 02, 2012

More pluses to this place than the brochure states! Owners have thought this place out and attention to detail makes the stay great.


Oregon Wine and Football Weekend

5 en septiembre 29, 2012

We had an extraordinary weekend at the McKenzie Orchards B&B. Our room was beautiful, spacious and had all the comforts of home, plus a wonderful patio and view of the property. We were treated to a leisurely, sumptuous breakfast each morning, prepared with many homegrown fruits and vegetables. The hosts were very attentive to all of our needs. We will be returning next spring and plan to stay at the B&B again. Our highest recommendation to anyone looking for a quiet and pampered get-away.


Lots of Space

5 en julio 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at McKenzie Orchards in July 2012 touring wineries. Our room, on the first floor, was roomy enough for additional people. The bathroom was large also. It was peaceful and comfortable. The next morning we were treated to a fritata made by Tom that was delicious. They also recommended a great Italian restaurant for dinner.


Fairytale Spring Getaway with Impeccable Hospitality

5 en mayo 16, 2012

We stayed at the McKenzie Orchards B&B while we were in Eugene for a bike ride fundraiser for a local non-profit organization. A very bike friendly place, and happened to be right on our bike route. We loved the calming, open, airy ambiance of the very modern house and grounds and clean, simple but extremely comfortable and aesthetic appeal of the large, beautiful rooms. The food was fun, delicious and filling, we were lucky enough to have breakfast and dinner on Saturday which was a special treat, as Karen and Tom are excellent culinary artists and made us a fresh, mouthwatering dinner that was the perfect way to celebrate spring and end a long day playing in the sun! If we return to Eugene for a weekend getaway we hope we can get a room at this lovely B&B again!


Best Accommodations in the Eugene Area

5 en diciembre 07, 2011

This is the second time that my wife and I have stayed at the McKenzie Orchards Bed and Breakfast and the results were the same both times- Outstanding. Our first trip was for a long weekend while the owners were in Europe and the Inn Keeper was fantastic in her hospitality as well as cooking some unbelievable gourmet breakfasts. Our second trip was this last weekend and the owners, Karen and Tom had returned from Europe. They were as wonderful as Sherry the Innkeeper. The rooms are huge and have a sitting area as well as a spacious bathroom. The inn living room is large, warm and picturesque. The B and B is right off of the McKenzie River and the view of the river from the living room makes for a wonderful sight in the mornings and evenings. I would highly recommend the McKenzie Orchard B and B. My only concern being that a lot of people will be wanting to stay there as I cherish my quiet time. Thanks Karen and Tom, it is our pleasure to stay at your wonderful home.


My Needed Haven

5 en noviembre 27, 2011

This bed and breakfast was perfect. The stting, the room, the food and the wonderful gracious owners. This was a sanctuary to me. I will stay again.


Perfect Night - Can't Wait to Return

5 en noviembre 10, 2011

We had the most amazing night at Mckenzie Orchards Bed and Breakfast. Karen and Tom prepared a lovely dinner with tons of veggies from their garden and grilled steak. We had driven from San Francisco and had planned to arrive around 6 for dinner - we didn't make it until after 8 pm. Tom and Karen welcomed us without hesitation. Our room was contempary, spacious, peaceful and romantic. We had a lovely breeze and the music of crickets. The artwork throughout the house was unexpected. Gallery - like. We also enjoyed the family room on the main floor and the cozy fireplace. Outside, for those that enjoy wandering, we took a relaxing stroll to the river and enjoyed the sun and the views. Tom also encouraged us to take a peak at their huge garden and an interesting tree. It was delightful to take an adventure on the grounds. Our only disappointment, we didn't have time to stay another night. We look forward to returning with friends for a cooking party! They deserve to be treated to the same relaxed, peaceful and quiet night, served with a little gourmet food and wonderful hosts.


A very refreshing Time!

5 en octubre 02, 2011

Tom and Karen Reid understand the concept of hospitality extremely well. They know what guests need and when. They provide a very private and peaceful setting for any length of stay. The Reids serve a very ample and delicious breakfast as well as a tasty evening appetizer in their home's beautiful setting over looking a meadow leading to the Mckenzie River. The details in allthe attractive rooms are well taken care of and one cannot help but come away very refreshed from McKenzie Orchards Bed and Breakfast. p.s. We expected to stay only one night, but on our return travel through Springfield we couldn't think of a better place to spend the last three days of our vacation. It was a wonderful and unexpected blessing.


AWESOME!!

5 en agosto 09, 2011

We had the opportunity to visit the beautiful state of Oregon in July. After traveling down the coast, we crossed over to visit the Eugene/Springfield area. In our research we came across the McKenzie Orchards B & B in Springfield and made reservations for a one night stay. This was our very first experience with a bed and breakfast….it was AWESOME! Tom and Karen gave us such a warm welcome and our accommodations were fabulous. This is such a quite, peaceful environment and the inn is just gorgeous. A fireplace in each room, beautiful hardwood floors with the luxury of area rugs. Thought was given to every convenience imaginable. Throughout the inn you will find beautiful paintings from local artists…truly a treat. After getting settled, we were served complimentary wine and delicious appetizers out on the deck over looking the McKenzie River. Before leaving the next morning, we enjoyed a delightful, healthy breakfast (yummy breakfast casserole). Tom and Karen offer their guests such warm hospitality as well as privacy. This was such a wonderful, rejuvenating experience for us after several days on the road. We look forward to a return visit and yes, we will enjoy a longer stay.


Spoil Yourself, You Deserve It! :)

5 en julio 11, 2011

If you are looking for a quiet and peaceful place to rejuvinate and be surrounded by the beautiful countryside, than this is the place to go. The rooms are all exquisitely decorated and the food, well the food is unforgettable in taste and presentation. A lot of love and care has gone into making this place special and Karen and Tom are very proud of what they have to offer folks in hospitality. I was traveling with a small well behaved sheltie and truely appreciated having such a wonderful place welcome us. We already have our next reservations booked.


Wonderful experience!

5 en julio 03, 2011

Tom and Karen are warm and delightful hosts! The property is beautiful and the B and B is very clean and welcoming. It felt very private even though they were full. The food was very good, lots of thoughtful touches. I look forward to staying there again!


mixed feelings about this place

2,8 en junio 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed just one night here as we needed to fly out of the Eugene airport the next morning after traveling to southern Oregon over Memorial Day weekend. The inn is spotless, new, spacious, easy parking, and a good location. I rated the room below average, not because it was tacky or anything, but rather it was VERY noisy from the party going on upstairs right above us the night we were there. We felt like we were just in a spare room in someone's home rather than a professionally run B&B. There was no TV in our room but rather there is a TV for everyone's use in a common lounge/kitchen area down the hall. Everything is also on a timer in the room--we had to get up numerous times to turn the gas fireplace back on since the longest the timer would allow was 30 minutes. When there is no TV and the only thing to do really is to read a book by the fireplace, jumping up every half an hour to keep the fireplace going was an annoyance. Plus the noise from upstairs made for not so pleasant an evening. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep once the party unstairs quited down about 10:30 PM. Breakfast in the morning was rather ordinary in comparison to other B&B's we have stayed in, but plentiful. Our only complaint at breakfast is that the owners argued with each other throughout about a reservation they were taking over the phone. The bickering between the owners should have been behind closed doors rather than well within earshot of thier guests. Nice place, but needs the finishing professional touches to be the fine bed and breakfast inn found at other properties on this website.

Respuesta del propietario

We are sorry that this guest did not experience the hospitality we intended and regret that they did not discuss their issues with us while they were here. We would have explained: 1) As can be seen from other reviews of our inn, we strive for a peaceful environment. This is the main reason we did not install TV in the individual rooms: it is very hard to limit private space noise, but we can ask card-playing guests in the great room to "turn the volume down", as we did in this case. The vast majority of our guests are grateful there is not a TV in every room; instead they enjoy the large plasma panel in the shared lounge. 2) The guest-room fireplaces do put out quite a bit of heat, but are secondary to central heating and are not intended to be on continually. The silent, electronic fireplace timer is a compromise of safety and convenience: giving the guest direct control (unlike a thermostat) yet minimizing the time it would run unattended. 3)We call our breakfast style "traditional". We take great care to offer a variety of excellent but not too heavy breakfasts, emphasizing quality ingredients, homebaked goods, several choices of fruit, with meat optional. Many guests have told us they appreciate this healthy and tasty approach to B&B fare. Another guest staying the same night said in her review, "the food is unforgettable in taste and presentation."


Great place, great food!

5 en marzo 27, 2011

We enjoyed a quiet evening watching and helping Karen cook a wonderful dinner which we shared with them. Breakfast next morning, made by Tom, was also excellent. We want to take some friends down next time and share the experience.


The quietest, most spacious and resonably priced place to stay in the Eugene area....

5 en noviembre 26, 2010

As fellow innkeepers we know what we don't want when we travel. We don't want noise, we don't want 'doily pink lacy museum' style and we don't want a queen bed. So we searched the area and stumbled across this place. Well Tom is a people person, who gets irony (we are Brits...) and also can cook a breakfast full of taste and flavour (including home grown tomatoes) with not a hint of French toast in sight. DEEP JOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The home is modern and new, has an elevator (!) and no creaking floor boards, and if you want quaint nostalgia don't come here. The Sahalie bedroom was HUGE with a great bed, and the bathroom had a Ban-Ultra airbath...very impressed. He had designed the house with Karen his wife, and had included small touches like a 12volt lighting system that works at night and when there is a power cut...very clever uses hardly any power but is really useful. The fireplace was lit in the common, the view of the river reminded us of mid France and a trip around the wineries (King estate for lunch/dinner a MUST!) can all be easily organised from the inn. One night we had complimentary wine and the next a tasty choice of deserts..... A real find......and in our professional opinion better than anything else in the area and it was also very reasonably priced.


A perfect stay !!!

5 en septiembre 27, 2010

We stopped for one night on our way home from northern Oregon. Karen and Tom have done a superb job of creating a beautiful and romantic Inn. If you want to get away from it all and enjoy the quiet beauty of the McKenzie river, yet still be close to Eugene and the quaint antique shops of Springfield, this B&B is not far off Hwy 5. EVERY detail has been carefully thought out, and our hosts made us feel like welcomed houseguests. Don't miss out on dinner at the Inn. Tom makes homemade bread and serves local wines and Karen is a gourmet chef and uses her garden produce when in season. Even though we were the only guests eating "inn" that night, they prepared and served us a four course meal that surpassed any of our expectations. We didn't want to leave and would highly recommend the McKenzie Orchards as a true destination experience. If you like the B & B experience in a modern Inn, with hosts that truly care about their guests then don't miss this pampering place. We would go back in a minute and would give it the highest recommendation possible. Thank you both for creating an environment of peace and rejuvenating luxury. G & K from California


Don't Miss This Idyllic Haven!!!

4,6 en agosto 31, 2010

Lodging at the McKenzie Orchards B&B is a not-to-be-missed opportunity! The accommodations and hospitality are stellar in all respects. The location is gorgeous, serene countryside with the beautiful McKenzie River flowing by to the south of the B&B. Yet it’s a relatively short drive to town – either Eugene or Springfield. Tom and Karen Reid have put extraordinary time, thought , energy and love into creating this lodging haven and architectural masterpiece. No details have been overlooked. Three hardwood floor rooms are on the 1st floor, 1 carpeted room is on the main floor, and one carpeted room is on the third floor. The common areas for guests to “hang out” are outstanding (both inside and outside). The ambience of the B&B is open, spacious, light-filled, uplifting. Paintings from local artists grace the walls on every floor. The food is divine and the wine choices are plentiful and delightful. The hosts, Tom and Karen, are excellent at making their guests feel comfortable while at the same time allowing for all the privacy you need. It has to be the Eugene area’s best value and most pristinely cared for location. I can’t wait to visit this B&B again!


One of my more memorable family vacation

5 en agosto 23, 2010

McKenzie Orchards B&B was the first stop out of the 4 we had during our family roadtrip to the beautiful Pacific Northwest. Our stay at McKenzie exceeded my expectations from beginning to end with all aspects of our stay. Those who know me well...know that I do my research and very particular with sleeping accommodations. So much so that warm memories continue to linger in my mind now that I am back to reality. First of all, Karen and Tom were so wonderful from the very start by making it even possible for us to be guest at their B&B. They accommodated our family within only a few days of notice. They had a full house just before our arrival and welcomed another full house when we arrived. But you would have never known as I felt like we had the estate all to ourselves even with so many other guests on/off site doing many things throughout the day. The space really afforded everyone privacy and peaceful escape. The entire estate and our room was very generous with size, comfort, light, cleanliness and views. The bed guaranteed us a restful and most comfortable experience. Breakfast and afternoon snacks were plentiful, thoughtful and delicious! McKenzie was conveniently located to every place we needed to visit while we were in Oregon. We very much look forward to returning and spending more time in Springfield at McKenzie Orchards. I could go on and on with praise but words are inadequate to sum up our experience. One would have to just go to know what I speak of. Thank you Karen and Tom for a most wonderful and comfortable time. We truly envy the beauty and peace that you wake to everyday!


Best B&B we've ever visited

5 en agosto 22, 2010

Newly built in 2009 from the ground up as a B&B. Five unique guest rooms in this three-floor modern country farmhouse, on the McKenzie River. The guest rooms are very large and very comfortable, most with views and decks. Local artwork enhances the walls throughout. Large dining/living room with views of the meadow and river, library, and even an auxiliary guest kitchen/den. On the night of our arrival, we were offered a bistro dinner, including a salmon appetizer, salad, entree and dessert. Instead of the customary anonymous carafe of wine, we were offered a choice of wines from a two page wine list. All food and beverage focus on local vendors. A full American breakfast is offered, changing every day. Waffles one day, bacon and eggs another, breakfast burritos another. The food is excellent: Karen also offers a cooking school. River access is easy. The B&B even has inflatable kayaks for your use. Tom will come pick you up downriver. Karen and Tom are wonderful hosts, and we're looking forward to our next visit. We are frequent visitors to Eugene, and have decided this is the place to stay. Don't be fooled by the Springfield mailing address. This is in the countryside, not in Springfield, and is close to Eugene.


Great stay at McKenzie Orchards Bed & Breakfast

5 en junio 20, 2010

I really like McKenzie Orchards Bed & Breakfast because it is right on the McKenzie River for fly fishing, and the accommodations are new and clean. As a man travelling on my own I have to say that I don't like stuffy old B&B's full of pillows and knick-knacks. The McKenzie Orchards B&B house is brand new and very well designed with lots of natural light, stone and wood. Karen and Tom the innkeepers are excellent cooks. The best part of my stay was the fly fishing. A guide (Aaron Helfrich of Helfrich Outfitter) picked me up at the B&B and drove me to the launch point up-river. We floated down the McKenzie River in a drift boat and I caught dozens of trout and steelhead. At the end of the day he dropped me on the river-bank right in front of the B&B! It doesn't get much better than that. I will definitely be going back.


A wonderful place to stay and play

5 en mayo 26, 2010

Tom and Karen made us feel very comfortable and welcome during our stay. The meals they prepared were fantastic! The Inn layout and features have been very well thought out. The local wines were fabulous. I would highly recommend this Inn. We will definitely stay there again.


A relaxing, comfortable stay

5 en mayo 17, 2010

Great, relaxing place to stay. The beds were some of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Food was great. The Innkeepers were friendly but respected our privacy. We had a great stay.


Great Stay in Eugene

4,0 en noviembre 23, 2009

My husband and I spent a weekend in Eugene recently to do some wine tasting. We discovered the McKenzie Orchards B&B and were so glad we did! The innkeepers, Karen and Tom, were gracious and friendly, the room was very nice and the bed was really comfortable! The grounds were secluded and right on the river - very nice. Not only do they do breakfast but also will offer a dinner option (extra $$ - not included in your room). We decided to accept the offer for the dinner and it was fabulous! Another couple staying at the inn was also there and it was great food, great conversation and a fun time. I highly recommend this inn!!


Relaxing By the Riverside

5 en septiembre 18, 2009

My husband & I were weary travelers from a long day in the car when we arrived at McKenzie Orchards. We called ahead, and even tho' it was already evening - Karen prepared us a light dinner that was delicious. The house is lovely and both Tom & Karen made us feel very welcome and comfortable. We would love to come again and bring friends for one of Karen's classes. We have stayed at many B&B's - this has got to be one of the best.


Fantastic Get-away!

4,6 en septiembre 13, 2009

Karen & Tom have clearly thought out the best layout, the best food and the most amazing decor that allows the view to be part of the living space. Kudos to the Reids. This was a great weekend away thanks to their hospitality and flexibility. I only wish it could have lasted longer. Nicolle, Lebanon, OR


A Sanctuary

5 en septiembre 11, 2009

We arrived tired, stressed and achy. Luckily, we had booked the Sahalie Room. This room is on the 3rd floor; it overlooks a 80 yr old black walnut tree. The room includes a huge bathroom with a wonderful jacuzzi. Karen even provides the bubble bath! The B & B is gorgeous with high vaulted, angled celings; light streaming in from the many windows. It is very clean and relaxing. Daily healthy breakfasts and evening appetizers with wine are served. Tom and Karen are wonderful hosts. I took a cooking class from Karen. A spacious retreat. We would highly recommend.


Riverside B&B

4,0 en septiembre 03, 2009

This B&B is set on the beautiful McKenzie river with lots of lawn for the dogs to run and play on. The buildings are all new, lovely and lavishly roomy. The Innkeepers are helpful, courteous and friendly while leaving plenty of space to get away. The breakfasts were exactly what we asked for and decidedly tasty and healthy. All in all, we couldn't have asked for a better experience especially since we had a somewhat sickly dog with us.


Ultimate relaxation!

5 en julio 30, 2009

We arrived tired, and then we dined on Karen's delicious food, we rested and we rejuvinated in a most divine way at the McKenzie Orchards B&B. I felt taken care of and attended to, but also given time to just take in the beauty of our surroundings. A float down the river was just beautiful. Tom and Karen are supreme hosts, and the house is spectacular. We can't wait to come back!


The best of the best

5 en julio 20, 2009

I recently had the pleasure of staying five nights at the brand-new McKenzie Orchards Bed & Breakfast, and had a wonderful experience there. The place itself is beautiful, both inside and out, and this is a testimonial to the Reids for their skill in first finding an exquisite site and then building a B&B that matches the aesthetic of the natural setting. Tom and Karen Reid are wonderful hosts, which made for much good conversation and good cheer. Karen’s cooking is great. I told her that I didn’t know how I was going to go back to my own cooking after five days there! I’m recommending the B&B to my friends and am looking forward to a return visit soon.


McKenzie Orchards Bed and Breakfast

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $119 - $225
  • Comentarios (32) 4,8
  • Habitaciones 5

Contacta o Reserva

  • Tel. móvil
    5415158153

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba