Bayberry House Comentarios

TOTAL

4,6

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,8
  • Servicios4,7
  • Estimación4,6
  • Limpieza4,8
  • Comidas4,1

Puntuación basada en
119 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

By far the best lodging in Steubenville area!

5 en diciembre 01, 2014

I stayed at the Bayberry B&B (Steubenville, Ohio) for one week in November. This is by far the best place to stay in the area. While the price is on par with the highest rated hotel in Steubenville, the room and amenities at Bayberry are significantly better. The Bayberry B&B is spotlessly clean. I've stayed in the best hotels in Steubenville area and was thrilled to find that the Bayberry did NOT have that weird hotel-room smell I encountered everywhere else. It was very quiet and restful. It was great to have access to the refrigerator, freezer and microwave and kitchen tools. The house itself is beautiful and I enjoyed browsing through the artwork and collector items throughout the house. I stayed in the room titled Hanna and Victor's. It was a wonderful room. The bed was comfortable and gas fireplace was a delight! As a female traveling alone, I'm always conscious of safety. I felt completely safe coming and going during dark hours. The owner and host, Scott, was excellent company during breakfast and very knowledgeable about the area. I will never stay anywhere else when I am in the Steubenville, Ohio area. I'm so happy to have found the Bayberry B&B!


My first Bed and Breakfast experience

4,8 en octubre 29, 2014

What a pleasant visit I had at the Bayberry House! Every detail was thought of for my comfort. The parlors were cozy and provided with cable TV and wi-fi. It was peaceful with a nice bed and a warm shower. Breakfast also fit into my schedule perfectly the next morning. I'll plan to stay here again. I'd recommend Bayberry House to anyone looking for a home away from home while visiting Steubenville.


Loved staying at the Bayberry House!

4,6 en octubre 21, 2014

I stayed at the Garret House of Bayberry Bed and Breakfast while my daughter visited Franciscan University. Scott, my host, was very accommodating and helpful. My room was small, but very comfortable, and the house made me feel like I was back in the early 1900's! A wonderful home with lots of comfy chairs and couches. There is good dining nearby - I ate at the Hunan Chinese restaurant and had a wonderful dinner, but there were lots of other choices, too. Breakfast was tasty (great waffles!) and I didn't feel smothered by excessive attention. I will definitely stay at Bayberry house again, if I travel to Steubenville.


Wonderful Experience

5 en octubre 17, 2014

The elegance and charm was a very delightful surprise and Scott was the perfect host with useful information about the local culture. Our king sized suite was complete and we lacked for nothing...every detail was attended to perfectly. For early risers, the coffee was always prepared in advance with beautifully appointed and delicious gourmet breakfasts. Upon our return to Steubenville in the future, The Bayberry House is the only accommodation that we would consider.


Best of my vacation!

5 en octubre 04, 2014

I planned a weeklong visit to the place where my family members were born. I was born in Steubenville. I also decided on B&B's all the way. This was my first stay, 2 nights. I had no idea what to expect. I opened the door and was incredibly surprised. I don't know if I expected musty, grandma type place but it was charming and comfortable. Just be prepared for the stairs. One bad knee another getting there, the stairs were tough with luggage. The prize was the room. Hanna and Victors room was delightful. Just enough space for one or two folks. Quiet, clean. This made me proud of my heritage! OK, breakfast was not sit and be waited on, but for someone expecting dry pastries and stale coffee, I was very happy. My second breakfast I got to spend time with Scott and pick his brain about the town. I was disappointed the downtown area was a bit blighted. His work is stunning, now if the city would be more compassionate with the downtown. If you follow one of the roads to the current Steubenville you'll be slapped in the face with plain vanilla strip malls...It's a shame to see places like these be the norm while wonderful places lil the Bayberry are in a forgotten area. A few shops, coffee, art, design, could truly bring life the the downtown. Steubenville city fathers need to tour cites that have successfully included their city centers in their growth. DEFINITELY stay there again!


Lovely Inn. Quiet, clean, comfortable, friendly.

3,4 en agosto 01, 2014

I enjoyed my stay. I felt very much at home. The room was spacious, quiet, clean and comfortable. Thank you. I would happily recommend this accommodation.


Just fantastic!

5 en julio 31, 2014

Scott was such a gracious host and our room was spotless, along with the shared bath. Such a perfect place to spend our weekend. Great food and great company.


Bayberry is a diamond in the rough.

5 en julio 14, 2014

Had a wonderful experience. Clean nice rooms in a beautifully renovated B&B. Would stay again and highly recommend.


Great Experience

5 en julio 10, 2014

This was our first time staying at a B&B. Scott was a fantastic host and we enjoyed talking with him about his efforts to revitalize Steubenville. I'm sure he will be successful. We marveled at the restorations to the two homes and Scott's workmanship. We'll be back.


Would stay here again!

4,2 en julio 01, 2014

I would definitely stay here again in this wonderful small ohio town. The owner is very accommodating as I needed an early check in time. Breakfast was nice but it was like a hotel where you server yourself. I understand it's an easier set up and breakfast was delicious but I expected a little more from a bed and breakfast. This was my first experience with b&b's so I will have to see what the 'norm' is. There is much to do in the town also! There was an outdoor concert while I was there and a little festival.


Beautiful!

5 en junio 18, 2014

Everything about this B & B was beautiful. The attention to detail was unlike any others I have experienced. Will stay there many more times when visiting the area.


Excellent and affordable B&B!

4,2 en junio 15, 2014

Our stay at the Bayberry House was excellent! Prices for the rooms were fantastic and the houses are gorgeous! The restoration that went into these homes is amazing and you can really see the quality and time invested in these homes. The bed was very well made and was great to sleep on. Bathrooms were cleaned perfectly. The furniture and arrangements were fantastic. Breakfast was decent with plenty of basic foods and drinks available. In all honesty that is probably the only thing I would improve about this B&B. For the money this is far superior to any hotel one can stay at in the area. Loved it and will do it again.

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks for you nice review. Creating a breakfast that works for the variety of guests we get has been a challenge. Now in our 6th year we have tried everything from formal sit down and served to just coffee and pastries. We now do a breakfast buffet that is self-service and available from 7:30 to 10:00 daily that includes at least one hot item, and more on weekends and busier days. I'm also working hard to keep our rates from changing as they have been the same for a couple years now. I would be very interested in menu suggestions as well! Thanks, Scott


Wonderful stay

5 en mayo 27, 2014

What a surprise in the City of Steubenville! Gorgeous B&B with everything to make you feel home. I was so pleased with the decor and beauty of the home. Nice proximity to downtown and a few restaurants. Lovely 4th street corridor is a charming. Stay here. You won't regret it.

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks so much for visiting and I'm glad you enjoyed your time here!


Bayberry House

4,6 en mayo 27, 2014

Just wanted to write this today before getting caught up in the back to work routine. We stayed at the Bayberry House Memorial Day Sun-Mon. Great place. Landscaping made the curb appeal good but the treat was inside. Clean, quite, authentic. I admit to liking the older homes B and B's to modern style homes and hotels. Scott handle everything from reservations to cooking breakfast on Monday morning. Room was very nice, TV, private bath (shower) spic and span. Really like the decor of the entire house. Comfortable and homey and that is Xxactly what we were looking for on this mini vacation weekend.


Stay

4,8 en mayo 11, 2014

Very relaxing place to stay

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for staying with us!


Lovely

4,8 en mayo 09, 2014

This was my third stay at the Bayberry Westfall House; it's simply beautiful and makes me look forward to visiting Steubenville. The rooms on the main level are very tastefully decorated and a treat to walk through or sit and spend time in. The bedrooms are also wonderful -- very comfortable, and Scott has a way of knowing all the details that increase both the beauty and convenience of the rooms. Also the porch outside is large, with plenty of furniture, and covered so that I even enjoyed it in a rainstorm. Scott is friendly but not intrusive, and he is very interesting to talk with since he is quite involved with the Steubenville community so can answer questions and let you know what is going on in the area. His dedication to the city is quite impressive. I've stayed at some of the local chain hotels also but highly recommend Bayberry House as a charming, reasonably-priced alternative.

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks for visiting again and your compliments. Scott


Quick stop for a campus visit

4,2 en diciembre 12, 2013

This is a delightful property! We were last minute, and we are grateful that we were able to get a room instead of staying at a chain hotel farther from campus. The owner was working on a remodel project elsewhere so we didn't see much of him. If my son ends up attending here, we will be back and I look forward to having more time to chat and learn about the area!

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks for staying and yes the progress on the big house was moving along when you were here as we were blowing over 100 bags of fiberglass insulation into the ceilings and attic spaces, we still have a long way to go. I am around every morning for breakfast depending on when you get up and in and out throughout the day to check on things. Hopefully next time we can spend time on the front porch and chat about what is going on around town!


Fall stay

5 en noviembre 13, 2013

Staying at the Bayberry in the fall is wonderful! Crisp weather makes staying at the Bayberry very cozy with modern features...love the gas firelplaces, the super comfortable bed, relaxing in the jacuzzi and enjoying the pictures and books in the living room. The buffet in the am is THE BEST on the weekends-fresh, hot, with lots of variety and so yummy! Ready for you to just sit down with your filled plate to enjoy. A short walk along the historic streets of Steubenville, then a visit to Franciscan University, or Pittsburgh, make this the ideal location and perfect for a family of any size! Scott is very personable, precise, and shows great care with his clients. We would recommend this place to stay in over generic hotels. This B&B makes us actually want to plan another trip sooner, rather than later to Steubenville! Thank you Scott for all of your renovation dedication in preserving, modernizing, and comfortizing (?) these historic homes! You hit the "nail" on the head!


Returning Guests

5 en octubre 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Bayberry many times. Different houses, different rooms, same incredible experience! Our host, Scott, was always gracious. He would frequently chat with us in the mornings. I requested grapefruit for my husband's breakfast, and Scott found what I believe was the largest grapefruit in all of Ohio! Our favorite room is Francesca's, but every one is uniquely well-appointed.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you Mary and Vince! Always fun to chat with you and learn what new and exciting things you are up to. Take care and have a Merry Christmas if I don't see you before! Scott


Great b & b

4,2 en octubre 14, 2013

Very nice, clean and comfortable . Not many options in town for dinner


Quiet Retreat

4,6 en octubre 14, 2013

BAbyberry House was a lovely surprise. It is 2 homes lovingly restored with antiques and period pieces with modern amenities. The best part was meeting Scott and learning of the restoration of Steubenville, especially the theater! He knows a great deal of hstory of the house and the town as he personally restored the homes. We would definitley return. :)

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks so much for staying and chatting. I really enjoy talking about the history of town, the Grand Theater and the homes on Historic North Fourth Street around the B&B. I will have heat in the big house next door this Friday and will be able to work on that all winter, can't wait until it's open for guests and we can do breakfast in the big dining room!


Relaxing B&B

4,4 en octubre 10, 2013

I loved my "Derek" room. I felt like I was at home. The decorum was beautiful and everything including my room, the house itself and the bathroom were exceptionally clean and welcoming. Scott was an exceptional host and made me feel very much at home and respectful of my privacy. I would definitely stay again.


A Historical Trip With Comfort and Convenience At A Bargain Price

5 en septiembre 23, 2013

We have lodged several times at a Bayberry House B&B and always really enjoyed. Our most recent visit for a 45th reunion allowed us to have several classmates stop by for coffee and later wine on the porch. Another special treat is having conversation with Scott at breakfast about his restoration and renovation of historical properties. Everyone with whom we shared our experiences at Bayberry House plans to lodge there on their next trip to the area. We encourage everyone to share these wonderful experiences. Stan & Sharon Yanchus

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks again for staying and thank you for your kind words. Nothing I like better than my conversations with my guests, it's always fun!


A Perfect Stay at the Bayberry Steubenville

5 en septiembre 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Bayberry in Steubenville OH on Labor Day weekend 2013. The reason I chose it, honestly, was because all the hotels were more expensive. Boy, am I glad they were! After an 8 hour drive, we were greeted by Scott on the front porch. He showed us around the house, which was clean and full of interesting antiques. The bedroom had a king size bed that was very comfortable. In the morning, there were great breakfast choices waiting for us. Waffles, sausages, eggs, fruit, danishes, fresh coffee and juice. We sat and chatted with Scott and the other guest that was staying there, catching up on all the recent happenings in Steubenville. All in all, a terrific stay. We will absolutely be staying there again next May when we go for another visit.


very charming

4,4 en septiembre 10, 2013

-


Visit to Franciscan U, stay at Bayberry

5 en septiembre 07, 2013

It was a wonderful place to stay. Very relaxing. I enjoyed meeting the other guests in the morning in the living area. I did not really get a chance to stay for breakfast.


Beautiful house, meticulously decorated, friendly host

4,6 en septiembre 02, 2013

It was very quiet, and we slept very well. The place is located in a beautiful area. Racoon Creek State Park (PA) is a short drive away. Highly recommended.


Bayberry Bed & Breakfast Julia's Room

5 en agosto 29, 2013

We stayed in Julia's room in the Teal House. What a comfortable, relaxing stay! I enjoyed being able to have a cup of coffee later in the evening while watching TV downstairs in the family room (this way my daughter could relax undisturbed in our room before we went out for a later dinner). Scott, the proprietor, made us feel welcome when we arrived and we certainly appreciated the breakfast foods available in the morning and being able to eat in the dining room in our pajamas - just like being at home! I will be happy to stay here again while visiting my daughter at Franciscan University! Highly Recommended!


Fabulous.

4,6 en agosto 29, 2013

What a beautiful place! Everything was perfect. The owner was friendly and professional. Will stay there again and again over the next four years while I have a kid in college there, as long as I don't have my dog with me. (He has a very strict no-pet policy.)


Where do I begin about this hidden gem!

4,6 en agosto 21, 2013

All I can say is if you are in the area...why would you even consider a hotel! from the moment I booked with Scott...he has been more than wonderful to deal with. We felt VERY comfortable there...and he answered our many questions. For those concerned about the bathrooms...there are 2 I the Garrett house and we had NO issues getting access. We even got to have breakfast with Scott, which was wonderful! The house and grounds are stunning...and the history of the house and area is worth taking a sit down with Scott....OH! and the front porch...heaven! Thanks so much Scott!!!!!


Historic Excellance

4,8 en agosto 20, 2013

The historic Bayberry House shows it was restored with loving hands. We were very comfortable in our suite in this quiet neighborhood. Everything we needed was provided. Breakfast was prepared was well done including waffle batter, fruit, juice, eggs, pastries and sausage. Loved sitting on the porch in the morning to have that first leisurely cup of coffee and in the evening for tea. Don't forget to take a stroll down the street to see some wonderful homes. I got a chance to visit with neighbors and got some local history. We highly recommend staying at the Bayberry House.


Perfect for a family reunion weekend

4,8 en agosto 06, 2013

Scott was a most gracious host! Could not have asked for better service. Wish I could have stayed longer.


Hidden gem in Steubenville

4,6 en agosto 05, 2013

This was a wonderful surprise after returning to the area for a thirty year reunion at the college. The stay at Bayberry made the weekend a relaxing retreat. I will suggest this to alum (sorority sisters) the next time we plan an event.


great place to stay

3,8 en julio 22, 2013

This is a great place to stay especially if you are going to a concert at the pavilion, it is very easy to get there from here. I liked the house, the room was a little small but it was clean and cozy! Scott is wonderful !!!!

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks for staying, it was great to have you here. 2 of our bedrooms are smaller and less expensive as well, we do have 7 rooms that are larger and 5 of them have private bath as well. Next time maybe try Hanna & Victor's Room or Julia's Room, or even stay an extra day and get the Jacuzzi Suite!


First Night at Bayberry House

4,0 en junio 29, 2013

I was very glad I chose to stay at the nicely restored Bayberry House instead of a local hotel. It was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. Coffee in the morning on the front porch was a great way to start the day. I'm sure I will return.


wonderful stay

5 en junio 24, 2013

Although short, I had a pleasant stay at the Bayberry House. As I had waited until the last minute to make my travel plans, I was very pleased to find this place in the historic district of Steubenville. The grounds were well maintained, the downstairs rooms beautifully decorated, the bed was comforatable and my every need was addressed. I would gladly stay there the next time I'm passing through the area.


Our Excellent Stay at Bayberry House

5 en junio 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bayberry House Bed and Breakfast. It was wonderful to experience what life must have been like in the 1880's in America, a delightful departure from the experience of staying in a motel. I wish we had done this when our children were travelling with us. The owner treated us like family. The food was delicious and homemade. The place was spotless. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!


The Dean Martin Fest

3,2 en junio 20, 2013

Scott is a wonderful host, enjoyed our stay.


Bayberry Stay in May 2013

4,6 en mayo 28, 2013

We stayed at Scott's Bayberry House for two nights in Steubenville. We loved it, and liked everything about our stay there. We will do it again sometime. Thanks!


great time

5 en abril 17, 2013

inn keeper spent years preparing the place, well worth it


3-Day Stay

4,8 en abril 03, 2013

Had a great stay. Scott, the innkeeper, was always checking to see if we needed anything. Lots of antiques and very nice decor. Gas fireplace was nice on a couple of colder mornings. WiFi and cable were appreciated. We felt right at home. Highly recommend the Bayberry House and plan to come back when we stay again.


bayberry house

4,8 en abril 02, 2013

what a delightful b&b. we enjoyed everything about our stay


Delightful B&B

4,2 en marzo 22, 2013

In the area doing a college visit (Franciscan U) We were very impressed w/ how welcomed we felt. It was cold that wkend & we really appreciated the easy lit gas fireplaces in each room & the comfy furniture. It was nice to have a private bath in our room as well. The owner was so nice, hospitable, & easy going. Will definitely stay there again if my daughter goes to school there.


Great B&B

5 en noviembre 14, 2012

Great place to stay! Will stay again if in the area.


Nice stay at B&B

5 en octubre 27, 2012

Nice, large house with lots of history associated with it. Very comfortable furniture and bed. Would stay here again and is my first choice among accommodations in the Steubenville area.


Franciscan visit

3,6 en octubre 24, 2012

We were unable to stay for breakfast. The rooms were very nicely decorated. The bathroom was small but I appreciated that we had a private bath in the room, and it did say in the room description that it would be small. It would have been nice to have some movies/DVDs to play, but overall, we had a very nice stay and would return to Bayberry House in the future.


Franciscan U Homecoming Stay at Bayberry House

4,8 en octubre 11, 2012

We have stayed here before, and enjoyed our stay once again. Scott is a great host, and always goes out of his way to make sure we are comfortable. His properties are tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. We would recommend Bayberry House to anyone!


Perfect Place to Stay In Steubenville

4,0 en septiembre 20, 2012

If you want the perfect place to stay in Steubenville, stay with Scott at the Bayberry House B&B. I grew-up in Steubenville, but no longer have family to stay with in the area. We returned this past weekend for a class reunion and decided to take a little different path than the usual hotel room. We stayed in the Westfall House in Julia's room and had a delightful stay. Scott was a wonderful host and this restored home was beautiful. The breakfast was very good and there were sodas, fruit & coffee always available. Our room was clean and well appointed. The house was quiet and the bed very comfortable. Scott has a true love for preservation and it shows. We will definitely will stay here again when we return to Steubenville for a visit. Thanks, Scott, for a memorable weekend!


Fantastic experience, no worries, definite bucket list

5 en septiembre 07, 2012

Selected based on passed very positive reviews / comments. Some discussed the neighborhood. Total over reaction! Parked out front, very safe street, beautiful redeveloped area. Fantastic room, Fast internet, beautiful decorations! Very nice inexpensive dinner at local downtown Italian restaurant (Naples). The Sunday morning in-house breakfast was just perfect, fruit, juice, bread, eggs, etc etc. A 5 star experience!! Thank you, Scott.


Superb B&B

5 en agosto 30, 2012

Sumptuous restoration of a classic old Steubenville townhouse - quite an experience. Each room is done with perfect attention to detail. Extremely clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was abundant and delicious, and the Inn Keeper was gracious and knowledgable about all aspects of Steubenville life. A great treat if you enjoy living in history and luxury at the same time. Hats off to our host! We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Beds are big and comfortable, air conditioning and bath facilities excellent.


The Lovely House

4,0 en agosto 30, 2012

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at this bed and breakfast. We especially liked the "homey" feeling of the place and the decorations. We look forward to returning again soon.


Mark Cruise stayed as your guest. His remarks were glowing!

5 en agosto 27, 2012

Mark said the rooms were beautiful and he had excellent service.


B & B with extras

5 en agosto 14, 2012

I expected a charming place to stay for a few day. My stay was far more than expected. Service was great, surroundings were pleasant. I hope to visit again.


Beautiful House close to Fransiscan U.

3,0 en agosto 03, 2012

This B&B has a good location near the campus with nice rooms and a great bed in the Hanna & Victor room! The breakfast wasn't what we have experienced in other B&B's. A few donuts,cereal coffee, bananas and make your own waffles. A little disappointing. Scott was great to meet us early for check in and was there every morning to check in.

Respuesta del propietario

Hi, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall. I'm sorry that breakfast was not what you expected as I do try to make sure that the web site and our communications let everyone know what it includes. When you return please stay for our Sunday Breakfast in the Garrett House dining room, it's very nice and I'm sure you will enjoy it! Thanks, Scott


Very clean and lovely!!

3,8 en agosto 03, 2012

The house is beautiful and I had everything I needed for my stay! I did partake in the breakfast, so could not rate that.


Travelers' oasis

4,2 en julio 17, 2012

Wonderful restoration of a great old home. Curl up with a good book on the porch and let the cares of the world go by!


Bayberry

4,4 en julio 09, 2012

Excellent place. Great renovation work. If you appreciate historical architecture and are in the are, this place is for you.


Wish we could have stayed longer!

5 en junio 28, 2012

We stayed at the Bayberry House because we were going to a concert at the First Niagra Pavilion, which was only about 10 minutes away. The location was very convenient. The house was beautiful! The front porch was huge and a great place to enjoy my morning coffee, which was strong and delicious. Scott was easy to communicate with and a great host. If I ever make it back to the area again, I will definitely be staying at the Bayberry House!


Stay here instead of hotel

4,8 en junio 26, 2012

This place is the best kept secret in Steubenville. I was SO pleased after staying here because the hotels were full. I did not want to write a review because then the word will get out!


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast

5 en junio 21, 2012

This was our second stay at the Bayberry Inn. Loved it as much as the first. We will return. Clean and so inviting. I would recommend the Inn to everyone who wants to stay at a wonderful Bed and Breakfast.


Stepping Back into an Elegant Past

5 en junio 16, 2012

What a pleasant surprise to find this outstanding B & B in Steubenville, OH. On a recent trip with friends from Texas, we stumbled onto Bayberry House and were quite impressed with this beautifully renovated historic property. The lavishly furnished common rooms and thematically decorated bedrooms were a perfect place to spend a leisurely evening as we stopped off during one night of our travels. Meticulously restored and equipped with every modern convenience, this property made us wish we could have stayed longer. Scott is the perfect host, providing breakfast and a quick and interesting lesson in local history. This would also be a perfect place for a family gathering with its five bedrooms and spacious living areas. Modestly priced and offering everything we needed and more, we couldn't have been happier with our choice. Highly recommended!


Surely the nicest place to stay in Steubenville!

4,6 en junio 15, 2012

Stayed there during a recent trip to Franciscan University in June 2012. It was wonderfully clean, comfortable, charming, and Scott is a great host! I will definitely stay there every time I visit the University. The continental breakfast is simply cereal and coffee with a few pastries/ muffins. While this was fine for me, it might not be what some were expecting. Regardless, the whole stay was just perfect and I would HIGHLY recommend this B & B above any other place. Scott is a very attentive and responsive innkeeper and the place is immaculate.

Respuesta del propietario

Hi, thanks for the great review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast is simple and includes fresh fruit, coffee or tea, milk and juice, a choice of cereals, fresh baked goods from the Downtown Bakery, and warm buttermilk waffles syrup and butter. Also there are bagels and english muffins butter and jams. This is offered from 7:30 until 10 so everyone can get up and eat when they would like. Coffee and items that are always there are available early for those who are early risers. Thanks!


five star Bed and Breakfast!!!

5 en junio 11, 2012

One of the nicest (if not THE nicest) B & B's that I've ever stayed in. Immaculate room and home with comfortable décor that is rich with local history… Can't wait to stay there again!!! Scott is an amazing host…thank you for making my stay in Stubenville an awesome experience!!! Definitely a 5 star B & B.


Best Place to Stay in Steubenville!!

5 en mayo 24, 2012

Wow!! From the moment Scott welcomes you, the Garrett House makes you feel at home. This magnificently restored mansion makes you feel as if you are stepping back ingtime with all the modern amenities you could want. The home is decorated beautifully, the bedrooms are very comfortable and abound with quilts, and the porch is a peaceful place to relax and watch the world go by. Immaculately clean baths and kitchen complete the picture, and if that isn't enough, the breakfast waiting each morning makes your stay perfect. We enjoyed our stay, learning about the house form Scott, and we plan to return soon!


Clean, beautiful place to stay

3,4 en mayo 23, 2012

Bayberry House was a beautifully restored home. The room we stayed in was a little bit small, but the shared bath room was really nice. The food was a basic continental breakfast--nothing fancy. I would definitely stay here again, though.

Respuesta del propietario

Hi, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We do offer our two smallest rooms at the lowest nightly rate available in Steubenville under $80. Our breakfast offers a variety of items that allows everyone to eat what and when they would like. We look forward to seeing you again!


Review of Bayberry House, Steubenville, OH

5 en mayo 22, 2012

Loved the historic site. Good food. Clean. Friendly and personal service. Enjoyed our stay tremendously. Would return any time.


Excellent.

4,6 en mayo 18, 2012

First class BandB stay! Very nicely restored Victorian home circa 1870s. Scott, the proprietor, was very interesting to speak with and does a great job with the property.


Clean, quiet, spacious accommodations

4,4 en mayo 01, 2012

We stayed at Bayberry house for five nights and very much enjoyed the stay. The house was very well-kept and clean and the bedrooms were great. I would recommend a stay here.


Excellent B&B, so enjoyable

4,4 en febrero 23, 2012

We had such a great time to enjoy the house and just relax for a nice getaway.


Bayberry House a lovely B&B in a historic Ohio River Town

3,8 en enero 28, 2012

The Barberry House was a very comfortable site on a quite street. I had one of the rooms with King bed and gas log fire place. It was all very restful as I prepared for a busy busy meeting the next day. Thanks for a great stay.


Wonderful!

4,2 en noviembre 06, 2011

We loved this Bed & Breakfast! It was beautifully decorated, clean, quiet, and would recommend it to anyone. The room was a little chilly (I would expect that in an older home and with tall ceilings) but a table top heater was available and took the chill off in just a matter of a few minutes. Wonderful place to stay!


wonderful...just wonderful!

5 en octubre 23, 2011

My first experience at a B&B and what a wonderful suprise! The newly renovated victorian was a gem and the antiques were stunning. The room, though small, was nicely appointed and the sheets were crisp and white. Several different sized rooms to choose from. Quiet, comfortable and immaculate bathroom. Kitchen was modern and fully equipped. Can't say enough about the Bayberry House. Highly recommend it!


Homecoming weekend

3,0 en octubre 16, 2011

The house was clean and well maintained. Scott does a nice job seeing to our comfort. The only bummer was that it was a simple continental breakfast. Having stayed at other B&Bs a great Breakfast is part of the game. Thanks Scott, the house is beautiful.

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks for your comments. I wish we could do more of a breakfast, however until the full inn is completed a continental breakfast is what we can offer at our guest houses. We offer a variety of rooms and price them accordingly and reasonably, often times lower than all the area hotels. If you visit again and there is something special you would like to have for breakfast, let us know and we will try to accomodate that request.


October 2011

4,8 en octubre 12, 2011

Stayed two nights with my son during the Franciscan University Family weekend. Great accomodations, as usual!


Beautiful restored Victorian house

4,0 en septiembre 28, 2011

I stayed here while on business at Franciscan University. Because I was there during the "off season", I was the only guest in the house. The owners have done a fabulous job restoring the home and I especially enjoyed the bed and linens. Very clean and close to downtown shops and restaurants. Definitely the best alternative to a sterile hotel.


Unforgettable Experience!

5 en septiembre 24, 2011

We cannot say enough in praise of Scott Dressel and Bayberry's Garret House! The interior is extraordinary, the service professional, and we had the stay of a lifetime!


Love This House!

5 en septiembre 22, 2011

Bayberry Properties goes out of the way to make your stay as hassle free and enjoyable as possible. Everything is beyond clean and within reach. If you can think of it or if you might need something, they've already thought of it for you and it's waiting for you. The house is quiet, the decorations are superb. The renovation is extraordinary. This is truly a gem, not to be overlooked.


wonderful stay at the Garrett Guest house

4,0 en septiembre 19, 2011

A few weeks ago my husband and I and three other couples spent the weekend in Steubenville at the Garrett Guest House. We were all quite pleased with the house which was restored so wonderfully and also was truly comfortable ....we found nothing lacking. We found all the extra touches and attention to details amazing. We enjoyed eating and later playing cards around the large dining room table. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare our meals. The cozy porch furniture was inviting and we spent a lot of time there just relaxing and visiting. We all appreciated the great effort it must have been to restore this home and we are so happy we chose it for our weekend get-a-way! Julie Smith, Lakewood , Ohio


Ramsammy

4,6 en septiembre 01, 2011

Nicely restored and well-kept time-period 19th century home. My stay was pleasant and relaxing. Very comfy sitting, dining and TV areas and a wrap-around porch, allowed for many areas of privacy to email or read in absolute quiet. Strongly recommend as a great alternative to impersonal hotel rooming.


weekend in Steubenville

4,0 en septiembre 01, 2011

The 4 of us stayed in 2 rooms. Both rooms were immaculate and comfortable.


My stay at Bayberry House

4,6 en agosto 30, 2011

The room was gorgeous and impeccably clean. i needed an extra blanket during the night and it was right there in the dresser. It was nice to be able to go to the kitchen at night and make myself a cup of tea of my choice.


Beautiful b and b on historic Fourth Street

3,4 en agosto 28, 2011

Pulling onto Fourth Street is a visual delight! The Garett House is a perfect example of turn of the century architecture and earns its prominent place ln this tree-lined street. Being greeted on the porch and escorted to,my room created the warm, hospitable tone for my one night stay. The home is meticulously kept. Just the right combinationc of period pieces to convince you that you're visiting family in their home! A wonderful escape! All the time you're there, you're planning your return trip!


A lovely stay

5 en agosto 21, 2011

My mom and I spent her 70th birthday at the Bayberry and we had a wonderful time. Scott was an excellent host; his love of the Steubenville area and passion for preserving Steubenville's history is refreshing. I would highly recommend the Bayberry to anyone. Thanks, Scott!!!


Two nights in Steubenville

3,8 en agosto 17, 2011

A most enjoyable and comfortable stay. Bayberry House has been splendidly restored, and it was a pleasure to spend two nights there. My room was fine, although a little dark, and the pole controlling one of the venetian blinds was broken. I really appreciated the opportunity to spend the second night there, even though the house was closed.

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks for your note, the venetian blind has been repaired. The two floor to ceiling windows face southeast and provide direct sunlight until late afternoon and the blinds can be raised and lowered, as well as the curtains held open. I have also checked the three lamps and the two ceiling fixtures to make sure they are working properly. Room W1 is decorated in dark burgundy and gold so it is somewhat darker than room W2 which is decorated in cream and gold.


Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast Was FANTASTIC.

5 en agosto 08, 2011

My husband and I loved our stay at Bayberry's "Westfall House"..... the decor was beautiful, the food was great and we felt right at home. The other tenants were respective and quiet, too. Personally, I LOVED the that sheets smelled sooooo good. The bed was plush, and cozy. We stayed in the "Julia" room, and highly suggest it. Also, stubenville might be a small town, but it does have some cool quant shops to check out in the historic downtown (right down the road from the bed and breakfast, in walkin distance).... it was a nice, quiet, relaxing get away! Two-Thumbs up from us:)


A B&B you DO NOT want to miss!!!!

4,2 en julio 12, 2011

This place has been restored beyond imagination! Possibly the nicest B&B I've stayed in up to date. Extremely comfortable and charming. Not to mention the fact that the owners are very proactive in the restoration of the entire community not just their own B&B. Although the breakfast treats looked delicious, I would have appreciated some healthy options. But I almost cannot blame the owners for that because you can't find healthy choices anywhere in a 40 mile radius. So, with that being said, this experience is top-notch and I will always return to this place when visiting the area. Thanks Scott!

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks for the nice review. Our continental breakfast is simple we offer fresh fruit, orange juice, english muffins and bagels, and fresh pastries from our downtown bakery. Depending on the number of guests staying the more types of fruit we have, but usually melon of some sort and bananas, apples and oranges in season.


Garrett House

5 en junio 28, 2011

We stayed last night in the Garrett House and it is absolutely gorgeous. His 14 years of renovation really paid off. The house is very nicely set and quiet. I would recommend staying here.


A "Must Stay"

4,6 en junio 08, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at the Westfall House, one of two Bayberry House properties. The proprietor was available and accommodating, and the property is lovely, a joy to explore. I highly recommend.


Great stay at Bayberry House

4,6 en mayo 23, 2011

My family and I recently stayed at Bayberry House in Steubenville. Scott was a great innkeeper and a very gracious host. We stayed at Westfall House, and it was immaculate! Our experience was much more personal than staying at a hotel. I highly recommend it.


The Glory of Easter at Franciscan

4,8 en mayo 04, 2011

We love this house. Honestly, once you step inside, you are transported to another time and place. The beauty and the authentic antiques offer a feeling of serenity. We were here to spent Easter with our son. a senior at Franciscan. It was an experience I would not have missed for anything. Our son graduates next week and we will be privilaged to enjoy our last stay in Steubenville ,as guests in the Garrett House.


AWESOME STAY

4,4 en abril 02, 2011

The host of the Bayberry House properties was very kind and hospitable. The property was very cozy and felt like a home away from home. The rooms were clean, well decorated and availed many unexpected amenities! This was my first stay at a bed & breakfast and I would certainly return here if I stay in Stebenville again. KUDOS!


Highly Recommended

4,8 en diciembre 17, 2010

We just returned from our second stay at the Garrett House. This B&B is a quite unique and highly pleasurable experience. Without a doubt, this will be the only place we will stay when visiting the area.


Great stay!

4,2 en octubre 25, 2010

Nice little touches like basket of lotions and bath accessories in my room; and the biscotti and bar. I enjoyed coming "home" at the end of the evening and sitting in the parlor talking with friends who were staying there with me. Much better than going to our individual hotel rooms. This way we were able to really spend time together.


Garrett House Review with Toddler

4,8 en octubre 21, 2010

Gorgeous house, couldn't believe the care that went into the decorations and restoration, really tried to meet our needs, we were in OH visiting family and the house offered a great entertaining and visiting space, perfect kitchen for people who want to cook their way through their vacation, and toddler friendly even though there aren't really toys and despite some breakeable items. Our 2 year old was fully content climbing the stairs, playing with the pine cones, climbing in and out of the baskets, saying hi to the statue boy, etc. Can't recommend the place more highly and priced comparable to a hotel stay. Why would anyone ever stay in a hotel in Stuenbenville again?


Outstanding!

4,8 en octubre 07, 2010

Far exceeded our expectations. The location in the historic district took us back in time to a quieter more peaceful era. Furnishings and decor reflected taste and comfort. Innkeeper was very kind and accommodating. Would definitely recommend and we will be back!


Absolute Gem

4,8 en agosto 17, 2010

My wife and I made reservations so we could go to concert and once we got there and Scott showed us the inn, we didn't want to leave the house. It was absolutely beautiful.


Wonderful Experience

5 en agosto 03, 2010

What a delightful time we had at a wonderful inn. I only wish we had planned on staying more than 1 night. The next time we will.


Bayberry House

4,6 en julio 25, 2010

My family and I stayed at Bayberry House while we were in Steubenville for a family reunion. We were blown away! The decoration is tastefully done in antiques while still making the house comfortable. My son loved running back and forth across the wrap-around porch and everyone enjoyed sitting in the TV room after a long day and relaxing. It was so nice to have a little space to spread out, and was a much better value than the 3 hotel rooms we would have needed to accommodate everyone. We will definitely be staying here again next time we are in Steubenville.


Unbelievable Place to Stay!

5 en julio 25, 2010

My husband and I booked the Garrett house for 3 nights. What a find! Scott was a wonderful host. The home is comfortable, beautiful, clean and tastefully decorated with both comfortable furnishings and priceless antiques. We chose full use of the kitchen and Scott furnished it with all the food items we requested. The 1st night I just walked around in awe looking at all the furnishings and antiques. They had a photo album of the restoration and transistion. Scott put so much work into this lovely home and it showed. I would highly recommend the Garrett house to a family, couple or for girls weekend away. The house has such a comforting feel I hated to leave! Thank you Scott and good luck with your current restoration!


Beautiful B&B

4,4 en julio 15, 2010

What a beautiful house! It was VERY clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend it!


Marx Visit

4,8 en julio 10, 2010

It is a wonderful facility you guys have. There is nothing to compare to it around. I wish we could have stayed longer in the morning and enjoyed the ambiance. We'll be back!


If you are in the area, I strongly recommend this home.

4,6 en julio 08, 2010

Bayberry House was a fabulous place to stay. I strongly recommend it. Scott was amenable to providing everything we needed - and wanted. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Rooms could not have been more beautiful. The bathrooms were very spacious. The front porch and common rooms were comfortable and inviting. The kitchen had all the best of everything. Only thing I would change were the breakfast rolls - a little dry and not too healthy. But if we'd asked, I'm sure Scott would have fixed that.

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks for the review and sorry for the dry danish and donuts that is the first complaint we have had about our local bakery. With the continental option you also get fresh whole fruit and juice as well, and we offer other breakfast options as well as pre-shopping to stock the kitchen for you so you can have whatever you would like for breakfast. We look forward to you visiting again so we can make sure the kitchen is the way you want it. Thanks, Scott


5 stars all the way

5 en junio 24, 2010

we were in steubenville for the annual dean martin festival and thoroughly enjoyed staying at the garrett house bayberry property scott and vance were wonderful hosts, and the property itself was marvelous - spacious, comfortable, and chock full of beautiful things i would highly recommend to anyone staying in the upper ohio valley


Absolutely Great Place to Stay!!!

4,4 en junio 11, 2010

My daughters and I reserved this house when we came to Steubenville to visit my brother and his family and all of our expectations were exceeded. We enjoy staying at B&Bs but this was special as we had the entire house to ourselves not just a room. The house is immaculate and such a treasure, beautifully restored and the area is undergoing restoration of many of these Grand older homes. We will definately return for another stay.


Weekend Getaway

5 en junio 03, 2010

Wow! I don't believe there are words to describe the wonderful time we had at the Garrett House this past weekend. We are going again in two weeks; perhaps that will tell you house much we enjoyed it. The house is truly a remarkable work of art and you can see the pride in the workmanship. Each room is a beautiful, comfortable setting. We spent hours just walking through the house admiring the antiques, the restoration and enjoying its amenities. All for about the same cost of a moderately priced hotel. This is a must visit.


Great Getaway

4,8 en mayo 19, 2010

The innkeepers were more than accomodating and the inn was outstanding! The rooms were decorated nicely and very clean. We enjoyed our stay so much, we will definitely be back.


The best kept secret in Steubenville

5 en abril 15, 2010

I reserved this house to have corporate meetings with clients and house our guests from out of town. What an impressive home! Very good value, immaculate from one end to the other...there is nowhere else I would stay if I had the choice to book this home. Great for groups and traveling families.


House was amazing, owner was extremely accomodating!

5 en abril 06, 2010

I stayed at the Garrett House with my boyfriend - which was unfortunately a last-minute booking of the house. However, the owner went out of his way to make it special for us - even though we got there last minute. We were more than impressed - there is a lot to look at and the house has an amazing atmosphere. You will definitely appreciate the time and effort that went into the restoration of the Garrett House. We definitely look forward to another stay, which I'm sure will be even better than the last.


Bayberry House is amazing!

5 en marzo 18, 2010

The house is beautifully restored and decorated. Scott was very helpful with restaurant ideas, and the donuts/cinnamon rolls were excellent! The cost was comparable to local hotels, which made it an excellent value. We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to our friends.


Extremely nice B&B

4,6 en febrero 17, 2010

Large, gorgeous, perfect. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The kitchen, dining room, living rooms all make you feel at home. It is a wonderful house. Cooking your own breakfast was fun and romantic, although the kitchen has only the very bare essentials for cooking over multiple days. Overall a wonderful stay and I look forward to coming back whenever I am in town.


Fantastic Experience

5 en febrero 16, 2010

Bayberry House was a fantastic experience for my family and I as we came into Steubenville for a house hunting trip. I will definitely recommend Scott and Vance's properties to my friends and family. The house was fantastic, comfortable and the bathtub and shower in the #1 suite was just wonderful; I wanted to take it home with me. I wanted to ask them if I could come to just use the spa bathroom once we move to town, since the spa was so wonderful. The stay was great, the continential breakfast was fresh and wonderful. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay.


Great experience!

4,6 en febrero 04, 2010

Bayberry House offers a wonderfully appointed residence; I enjoyed the work that has gone into the decoration and the attention to detail. The house is in within easy walking distance of downtown Steubenville and I had a nice walking tour of that section of town. The owners are easy to work with and offered generous amenities.


Lovely

4,2 en enero 04, 2010

Beautiful home that we will definitely visit again.


Thanksgiving 2009

5 en diciembre 03, 2009

What an awesome house!!! We loved the Garrett House it was warm, inviting and Scott is full of great information about Steubenville and its history. We can not wait to come back!! Thanks


Holiday Get Away

4,8 en diciembre 03, 2009

A week later, and my wife and I are still talking about what a wonderful time we had staying at the Bayberry House. This is the first time we have not stayed with our families, who live locally, for the holidays. We decided rather than be bunched up on roll out beds and numerous people sharing a bathroom, to stay off on our own for sleeping accomodations. What a great choice to do so ! The house was so charming and warm it actually turned out to be a much needed get away from the hustle and bustle of the holiday activities. We truly looked forward to the quiet time at the house and the comfort of the decor. The house is so tastefully decorated and furnished it just felt like a home away from home. We look forward to our next visit without a doubt.


Wonderful Place to Stay!

4,6 en noviembre 18, 2009

If you're ever looking for a place to stay in the Ohio Valley, this is the place to go. For a mere $130, my travel partner and I had an entire renovated 1870's mansion to ourselves. It truly was the perfect marriage of old and new: stunning Victorian decor, coupled with all the modern amenities that one could need (modern bathroom, kitchen, heating/AC, wireless internet). Scott and Vance are both helpful and friendly, and clearly very passionate about making Steubenville a better place to live and visit.


Bayberry House Family Weekend

4,8 en octubre 25, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the Bayberry House, and would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone. We were very impressed with the way the old home has been beautifully restored. The furniture, fixtures, draperies, etc are tastefully done and of highest quality. It was as if we’d gone back in time to visit a prosperous ancestor. The kitchen, although maintaining its old-timey charm, has top-grade brand new appliances, as well as a full complement of pots, pans, silverware, spices, coffee, etc. for the guests’ use. The fridge had fresh containers of fresh apple juice, orange juice, and milk waiting for us when we arrived. There were a variety of cereals in the pantry, if someone didn’t want to partake of the delicious pastries that were brought in each morning (the pastries were so good, our son made it a point to go by the bakery that provided them to get a couple of boxes to take back to their home in Michigan). We found the home to be very comfortable and livable. There is an HD TV in the parlor (the teenagers liked that). Our hosts even provided a variety of board games we could use (we spent the last night there playing Monopoly on the big antique dining room table). The bedrooms are very large, and like the rest of the house are finely furnished. We all slept soundly - the house is extremely quiet at night. I should also mention that we found Steubenville a very interesting, quaint old town. We toured Fort Steuben Saturday afternoon, and then went through Union Cemetery (one of the most interesting, scenic cemeteries we’ve ever seen). To sum it up: we had a relaxing time in a fine old home, and enjoyed being together as a family. By the time Sunday morning came, we were referring to the home as “our house”. We genuinely hated to leave it and go back to the “real world” of work and school! (Tom and Donna L.; Rocky River, OH)


Great place to stay!

4,4 en agosto 17, 2009

The Bayberry was a delightful place to stay. Perfect if you have a family event, wedding or other function where you need several rooms and want everyone to stay together. The house was clean, spacious, comfortable and on a very pretty street. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. The only complaint is that breakfast isn't much. They do bring over some donuts, but that's not exactly a healthy breakfast. Might want to consider offering some fruit and less sugary options. But overall, I'd highly recommend the Bayberry!


Clean, Tasteful Luxury in Steubenville (!)

4,6 en junio 21, 2009

Everything about our stay was perfect. If you need a place to stay in Steubenville, you will not find better, especially if you have a large group or family. The decorations were very tasteful and the attention to detail was fantastic. The innkeepers were very accommodating for our specific needs. They are most friendly and emphasized their desire to make our stay totally comfortable and trouble-free. The house is huge and gives you room to move around and feel at home. Everything feels new and modern, and everything works. All of this for less than you would pay for any hotel in town--in fact I will never stay or recommend a hotel in town as long as Bayberry is available. Bayberry House surpasses inns we've used in New England and is a true gem. Josh & Maria (Bayberry's first official guests!)


Bayberry House

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $89 - $249
  • Comentarios (119) 4,6
  • Habitaciones 9
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-7406322899
  • Fax 1-7402841343

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba