The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast Comentarios

TOTAL

4,9

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,9
  • Servicios5,0
  • Estimación4,8
  • Limpieza4,9
  • Comidas4,9

Puntuación basada en
69 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Singing the praises for The Blue Porch B and B

5 en febrero 26, 2014

The outstanding ratings my husband and I assigned to each and every category are well-deserved. From the first step onto the blue porch, we were welcomed by the warm and hospitable owners of this beloved home. The first thing we noticed, after being greeted, was the leaded windows, the beautiful wooden floors and the ambiance of a spotlessly clean and well-appointed residence. Because my husband is asthmatic, it allowed him breaths of fresh air for the entire stay. The rooms are truly exquisite, and certainly set a high standard for B and B’s. The breakfasts go well beyond what one would expect and are thoughtfully served with fresh fruit, a broad assortment of breads, scones, pastries and an array of mouth-watering condiments. The home is lined with books and music is a big part of the atmosphere. The fact that Paul is a musician adds another intangible to the mix--and as advertised, musicians are very welcome. It is a short walk to public transportation into the city, and lots of information is provided, especially for the first time visitor. And so, if you want to visit NYC, and you don’t happen to have a relative or close friend who lives there, this is the answer to your search for the best accommodation! Enjoy your stay, and feel the warm embrace of The Blue Porch, and the wonderful lingering memories of those of us who have been fortunate enough to have stayed there--on numerous occasions! May your memories be as wonderful, Svea


It doesn't get any better than this!

5 en febrero 25, 2014

My friends and I had a wonderful long weekend staying at the Blue Porch Inn -- it's easy to understand why this B&B is rated so highly. Friendly, helpful innkeepers, a beautiful home with charming architectural features, great coffee and a delicious fresh-cut citrus fruit platter greeting us for breakfast, and so many attractions in NYC and Brooklyn a short distance away. This was the third of many trips......thank you, Paul and Trudy, for all you did to make our stay memorable, as always.....


Thanks, Trudy and Paul, for a lovely stay at the Blue Porch

5 en enero 19, 2014

With a week planned in NYC we wanted to avoid squeezing two adults and two teenagers into a single Manhattan hotel room. The Blue Porch was a great find, excellent value and a comfortable and much more relaxing alternative to a hotel. Trudy and Paul were wonderfully helpful and friendly and provided beautiful breakfasts every morning, including freshly baked gingerbread men on Christmas morning! - a lovely, friendly touch. We had two very spacious and elegantly decorated double rooms and a bathroom shared just between the four of us - and it was a beautiful bathroom too. The area was very pleasant - lots of charming old houses, of which the Blue Porch is one - and we felt safe at all times walking to and from the subway station which is very close by. There are also a good variety of restaurants within a 10-15 minute walk, and again we felt safe walking home from them at night. It does take about half an hour to get into central Manhattan by train, but the subway ran so frequently (including on Sundays and public holidays) that this wasn't a problem. Paul and Trudy struck the perfect balance between being personal, gracious hosts welcoming us into their home and running a highly professional operation. I would thoroughly recommend the Blue Porch to anyone travelling to NYC and hope to return one day myself.


Like visiting good friends

5 en diciembre 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed into Paul and Trudy's home. We truly enjoyed visiting with them, our conversations together, and learning from them about their city. When departing, we felt like we had come to visit good friends. Accommodations are excellent, clean and comfortable rooms in a beautiful old home. Trudy's breakfasts are incredible. Convenience to public transit great. It is the time with Paul and Trudy, however, that make a visit to the Blue Porch really special.


Great stay at the Blue Porch B&B

4,6 en junio 06, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Porch B&B for 4 nights in May. We were the only guests and we were treated like royalty. It is a lovely old house and the owners are very welcoming. We have dietary restrictions and Trudy went out of her way to get breakfast items we could eat. There was so much food at breakfast, it made me feel guilty that we couldn't possibly eat it all. We will definitely stay there again we visit our friends in Brooklyn.


great neighborhood, great stay

5 en mayo 15, 2013

We loved our time at the Blue Porch. Trudy and Paul were so helpful and kind. We not only enjoyed our rooms (and nice updated bathroom!) but visiting with them and hearing more about Brooklyn and other things to see and do near our destinations. I can't imagine finding a more spacious, quiet retreat in the city. A tip: allow plenty of time to enjoy breakfast--they go all out!


à choisir sansaucune hésitation

4,8 en abril 08, 2013

Grâce à la qualité de ce B&B ,situé au calme dans un quartier typique de Broolyn, nous avons pu profiter pleinement de notre séjour d'une semaine en famille à NYC. Nous avions à notre disposition les trois grandes chambres (35 m² chacune,grand vrai dressing, literie moelleuse, mobilier d'époque) et les deux salles de bain (marbre et vitraux) du premier étage ainsi que le très séjour salon du rez de chaussée. Les petits déjeuners étaient copieux, gourmands, variés et "esthétiques". Et que dire de l'accueil chaleureux, prévenant,discret et convivial de Trudy et Paul. En résumé cet hébergement à répondu pleinement à nos attentes et nous le recommandons sans aucune hésitation.


Most wonderful experience

5 en marzo 30, 2013

We had a most outstanding stay at the Blue Porch and we enjoyed it from the first to the last minute. It was outstanding by any means. The room is spacious and comfortable and provides space for your luggage and is very quite. Together with the comfortable bed we got a perfect good night's rest. The quality continues with the bathroom we had with it's great shower and the double sink. The breakfast that is served is magnificent. Besides fresh fruit arranged as a pleasure to the eye we has different types of homemade muffins and cake as well as some other specialties always accompanied by a great coffee as well as matching music. Trudy and Paul are great hosts. They made us feel welcome and we enjoyed discussing our plans for the day and the experiences an discoveries we made throughout our tours.Especially as they always had good suggestions and helpful hints and maps as well as a nice talk with us. Anytime we come back to New York and Brooklyn there will be no second thought for us where to stay. The Blue Porch it is! We recommend this place to all of our friends going to the areas without any hesitation. Thanks to Trudy and Paul for our wonderful stay!


Perfect stay

5 en octubre 16, 2012

This was our first trip to New York and we were ever so grateful that we chose Trudy & Pauls excellent Bed and breakfast instead of choosing an anonymous hotel in downtown Manhattan. Everything was exactly as described below: the wonderful room and the outstanding breakfast - nothing more to add. Manhattan was easily reachable by express metro b and local train q. But also the direct neighbourhood and Brooklyn itself are really worth seeing. Your hospitality really made the difference to our trip, as well as your insights to the cities places. Thanks to the music at breakfasts we finally ended up listening to a concert in Avery Fisher Hall :). Thanks so much, we hope to come back! We wish you all the best and all future guests a wonderful stay at the Blue Porch B&B


A Touch of Aloha in Brooklyn

4,8 en julio 31, 2012

Coming off a long european/mediterranean cruise, Blue Porch B&B was a welcoming stopover back to Hawaii. Trudy and Paul were so gracious. The breakfeasts were fresh and delicious. What a cook! The bedrooms were so roomy, clean and comfortable. A wonderful experience in Brooklyn. Obrigado! and Mahalo! geri f.


Wonderful

5 en junio 30, 2012

The nicest hosts in New York City, a beautiful house, lovely breakfasts and chats. It´s a wonderful place to go. It´s the first B&B I´ve ever recommended to my friends - even with kids. Thanks again for everything, dear Trudy and Paul!


Home away from home

5 en junio 22, 2012

My husband and I just did a road trip through the Eastern USA, and had the pleasure of staying at the Blue Porch B&B along with several other Bed and Breakfasts. Every place we stayed was nice, but Blue Porch was by far the most personalized service, and Paul and Trudy made us feel like we were at home. We arrived to a warm welcome, were given lots of information, maps, etc to help with our plans, and awoke each morning to a beautiful breakfast with home made baked goods, fresh fruit and good coffee! Our room was bright and the bed comfortable. We booked the upstairs/downstairs package which was a little cheaper, but due to a cancellation, they let us use the bathroom on the same floor for no extra cost for a couple of days. That being said, the downstairs bathroom was nice as well. Both Paul and Trudy are intelligent and well read, so we had some interesting conversations as well. The location is perfect - only a few minutes walk from the Subway (which can take you pretty much anywhere), and there are quite a few nice restaurants only a short walk away. We'll definitely be returning to Blue Porch the next time we're in NYC!


Much more than we expected...

5 en mayo 12, 2012

We highly recommend The Blue Porch B&B as an outstanding accomodation. Especially all the additional hints from Trudy and Paul made our stay awesome. Also we never had such a good and delicious breakfast. Trudy - please go on with your homemade cookies.... Hope to see you soon. Sandra & Volker


Warm friendly hosts and a comfortable stay! Highly recommended!

5 en abril 28, 2012

I just returned from my stay at The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. We were warmly welcomed by Trudy and made to feel right at home. Our rooms were lovely and comfortable with Trudy always making sure we had anything we needed. Paul was there in the morning too to greet us and had the warmest smile and wonderful laugh. Trudy's breakfast was always wonderful and unique. With quiet strains of Mozart or any other music we wanted it was a great way to start the day! They were also very helpful in giving us directions around the city. The Newkirk Plaza Subway station is just a short 3 block walk and with one simple train change we were able to make our way to lower Manhattan. There are plenty of places for a quick bite to eat at the plaza or down the block. I slept very well on a comfortable bed and never felt more safe and welcome anywhere I've traveled. I would not hesitate to recommend and if I ever find myself back in New York I'll be sure to stay again.


Prepare to have all your expectations exceeded...

5 en abril 25, 2012

The generous and warm hospitality of Paul and Trudy was the best aspect of this outstanding New York bed and breakfast secret. Not only were they unfailingly helpful with information regarding transport, dinner dining and tourist destinations, we were serenaded with the most beautiful classical music over breakfast. Furthermore when I caught a cold, they went above the call of duty to ensure that I received all that I needed to enable me to keep up our frenetic pace. My daughter also received invaluable instrumental tips to utilise in her music lessons when we returned home...Valentyna


A Warm and Wonderful Stay in Brooklyn

5 en febrero 22, 2012

Our week in Brooklyn for our son's wedding was made even better by the warm hospitality of Paul and Trudy. They were gracious and kind, even inviting our son and his wife for our last breakfast, making our stay even more special. The lovely room, the delicious and even exotic (one was Turkish!) breakfasts, the beautiful music, the charm of their home and their own delightful personalities helped make our week just wonderful.


Highly recommanded

5 en enero 21, 2012

The moment I set foot at the Blue Porch I loved it. It's demure, charming, authentic. The piano that sits in the main room makes you feel as if you'd been invited at a very exclusive place. The house has the charm of its age and has been beautifully kept and restored. The bedrooms and bathrooms are extremely comfortable. However the most important part of the place are its people, their warmth, their smile and their availability. The day we arrived our flight had been delayed and disturbed by a snow storm. Trudy and Paul did their utmost to make us feel at home. Just like their house they then proved to be demure, charming and authentic. They prepare the best breakfasts you can dream of to start your day and will share with you the best of their town. I must say they highly contributed to the quality of our last stay in NY and highlighted it with their personal touch.


Wonderful experience!!!

5 en diciembre 18, 2011

My staying at the Blue Porch B&B was a wonderful experience. The house is antique and very pretty! Every room is spacious and confortable, the breakfast is very good and there are all day a lot of good homemade things and the owners are very kind, hospitable and helpful. Furthermore, the B&B is only a few steps from the subway station of Newkirk Plaza! Rachele Angelucci from Italy


I Will Stay Here Again

4,8 en octubre 30, 2011

I stayed 5 nights at the Blue Porch while visiting my daughter's family only a 20 min. walk away. It was so comfortable, it was like coming home each night after spending the day at my daughter's, whose home is small. I have no complaints; it was a pleasure. Lots of room to spread out, too, in my private bedroom and bathroom! Excellent food, well presented. I will return next time I visit in Brooklyn.


Best accommodation we have ever had

5 en octubre 07, 2011

The best thing in New York is the wonderful house in Brooklyn and their owners Trudy and Paul. To stay there is better than in the most expensive hotel. We felt as if we were visiting friends. When you have any problem Trudy and Paul will help you. We come from Germany and were 4 weeks in America but the 3 days in New York we had the best accommodation. Trudy and Paul are the best reason for us to go again to New York.


The Best of Brooklyn

5 en septiembre 26, 2011

Paul & Trudy welcomed us into their home & within a short time we felt we were real friends. Because of their knowledge we saw much more of the hidden New York than on previous visits. The Blue Porch is a credit to these two wonderful people. It is ideally situated for the subway into Manhattan & is a lovely area to walk around with great restaurants. Many thanks Paul & Trudy for making our stay so memorable. If we're ever in New York again you'll be our number 1 stop. Would highly recommend.


Traveling cannot get any betterthan at the Blue Porch B&B

5 en septiembre 26, 2011

A party of 3 persons, all very curious to discover NY and anxious to find some rest in a quiet place, we found the Blue Porch just an amazingly lucky choice: Trudy and Paul are just truly wonderful hosts; bed and pillows are superbly comfortable after a day running around the city, breakfast selection is out of this world, conversations of substance are daily fare whatever the subject, music and the arts are just all in the air around these 2 exceptional hosts, and they are the most patient and creative guides to their native city. Any angst about subway travel is gone out the window; that there should be work on the line or a multitude of connections to get from A to B, we always found we got right where we wanted or needed to be, and amazingly within time. Our stay at the Blue Porch, with Paul and Trudy as hosts, was the BEST experience we could have wished for and not dared to hope to find. We were 2 childhood friends and a daughter traveling and we all felt the warmth of this terrific couple, their kindness and interest just wrapped us in comfort and confidence. If there is a place worth recommending, Paul and Trudy's Blue Porch is surely one that should prove hard to beat for eons to come. If I were to recommend a place, I would not think of recommending any other, even as I have not seen the other--I just don't even feel like looking for another place ever as I hope to go back to NY some day. Going back to the Blue Porch will be like going back to good friends from old time, or family even. To my fellow travelers I want to say "Go forth and stay at the Blue Porch. This will make your trip an unforgettable experience!." To Trudy and Paul I want to say, once again, thank you; you are just the most wonderful folks and you made our trip just totally wonderful. Thank you!"


:)

5 en septiembre 18, 2011

We had a great stay at "The Blue Porch". The breakfast was enjoyable, Trudy and Paul were really friendly and cared for us in a really familiar atmosphere. The roomy were cosy and we immediately felt good. It was always a pleasure!


Great B&B

4,4 en septiembre 04, 2011

The Blue Porch B&B is in a multi-ethnic neighborhood of Victorian houses in the middle of Brooklyn. The proprietors welcomed us to their beautiful home and gave us a quick orientation to the area. As hosts, Trudy and Paul are very friendly, helpful, interesting people who make sure your stay is very comfortable and pleasant. We highly recommend the Blue Porch to anyone traveling to NYC.


Outstanding 2 Week Stay

5 en agosto 26, 2011

This was our 5th visit to NY/Brooklyn and by far our best experience for accomodations on all accounts. Trudy and Paul are the ultimate hosts and the Blue Porch B&B easily became our home away from home. Somehow over a 2 week stay, we were kept surprised each morning with an exquisite array of fresh baking and fruits, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, and more. And most importantly for us, the freshly brewed coffee was always fantastic. The accomodations are as seen on the website. No surprises here, except possibly larger and more comfortable than expected, and absolutely pristine with cleanliness. What is most difficult to put into words is the genuine warmth and generosity one is welcomed with by both Trudy & Paul. We highly recommend a stay at the Blue Porch B&B.


Lovely BluePorch

5 en agosto 02, 2011

My stay at the BluePorch was lovely. I felt like home, well no... even better because at home I never serve to myself such luxurious breakfasts like I enjoyed at the BluePorch. The room was neat and spacious, extremely comfortable, like the bed (I can't say if queen or king size, but, anyway, a large and comfortable bed). The same for the private bathroom. The house is beautiful, the wi-fi works well, the neighborhood is quiet and it's conveniently located near the metro, so you can enjoy Brooklyn or be in Union Square in 30' or wherever you like in Manhattan by the MTA. And, most of all, Paul and Trudy, the owners, are really nice persons. Next time in NYC, I'll call them for sure to check if there's a room available at the BluePorch. Marco


Before we left this (second) visit we have already booked our third.”

5 en junio 19, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying a week with Paul and Trudy again. A phrase that comes to mind is "try it you will love it". What's not to like?: charming and gracious hosts, immaculate facility, a modern bathroom that equals any hotel, charming and comfortable bedroom, a wonderfull breakfast that you will want to finish but probable can't.Don't worry, there are plenty of restaurants in the neighborhood for other meals. Returning to their home each each evening felt like as warm and fuzzy as comming home to our own house. What a fabulous experience!


A Wonderful B&B with Superb Hospitality

4,8 en junio 18, 2011

Thanks to the innkeepers, Paul and Trudy, a lovely and cultured couple, our 3-night visit was almost like being with old friends. The breakfasts were superb and included some lowfat selections as we had requested plus delicious, homemade treats. As we drove through the diverse neighborhoods of Brooklyn, we were delighted to come to the B&B on a beautiful, tree-lined street. Getting to Manhattan is relatively easy and inexpensive thanks to the subway/train station being a short walk from the house. We also appreciated Paul's area maps and helpful commuting suggestions. With two large air-conditioned bedrooms, a beautiful bathroom, great food, and supremely accommodating hosts, would we recommend the Blue Porch? Absolutely! Barbara & Harry from Maryland


Lovely Recent Stay at Blue Porch

4,0 en junio 14, 2011

I stayed at the Blue Porch recently, and was absolutely charmed by the owners, Paul and Trudy. No question that they will make you feel completely at home. Absolutely lovely warm people. It was a pleasure and a comfort to stay there.


Unforgetable Bed and Breakfast!

5 en junio 06, 2011

Staying at the Blue Porch was really an enjoyment for us. If you are looking for quietness in the busy New York The blue Porch is the place to dwell, besides it is very convenient as it is very close to a subway station taking you minutes downtown Manhattan in about 20 minutes.But the most important is the warm and charming welcome of Paul and Trudy Steinfeld who bent over backwards to make our stay the most enjoyable. Last but not least scrumptious breakfast with classical music!!


Wow...

5 en mayo 07, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights for a business trip- what a gem! This place is marvelous! The breakfasts are delicious and healthy (especially Trudy's fresh-baked cornbread and carrot cake), the rooms are spacious and comfortable, and Trudy and Paul have wonderful hearts :) Discovering Brooklyn was also a treat- lots of interesting places to eat and visit (if needed, Trudy and Paul will definitely give you some pointers) and not too far of a commute by public transit if you do need to get around the town. Truly one of the highlights of our trip... don't waste your money on a hotel! We'll definitely be going back.


family of four city break

4,2 en abril 19, 2011

Delightful home and hosts who helped enhance our trip to New York. The rooms were very comfortable the breakfasts delicious, nutritious and plentiful. The location 45 minutes from uptown Manhatten was easily manageable and the house a 5 minute walk from the subway. Trudy and Paul could not do enough for us and were able to advise us about all sorts of aspects of our trip. The Blue Porch B and B was a definate highlight of a wonderful trip.


A Pearl in Brooklyn ...

5 en abril 13, 2011

Beautiful house, clean and spacious room: Trudy & Paul are attentive but discreet, very helpful and friendly. Delicious and wholesome breakfast. Just a word: GREAT! We'll definitely go back there.


Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast

5 en marzo 18, 2011

My wife and I cannot say enough great things to describe the five day experience we had with Paul and Trudy at their Bed and Breakfast house in Brooklyn,NY. Not only was the bedroom and adjoining bath more than clean and comfortable, but the decor of the entire house with its beautiful wooden floors and furniture made us feel as if we had found a new home in New York. Paul and Trudy were hospitable to us throughout our stay, providing a wonderful continental breakfast for us each morning of different breads, cheese, fruit, juices, jam, and coffee and sharing their experiences in Brooklyn with us. We would recommend this place to everyone. Dan and Gisela Kemper


Like family

4,6 en marzo 03, 2011

Our stay at The Blue Porch Inn was a wonderful experience..like staying with family. The rooms were quaint and clean and Paul and Trudy were a wealth of information..not to mention the European-style breakfasts were to die for! We have lived and stayed all over the world, but it is truly the people that you remember.


Christmas Visit

5 en enero 21, 2011

Attention to detail and and truly caring innkeepers made our stay very enjoyable. Renovated bath is beautiful. Breakfast is plentiful with fresh fruit, breads and cheeses. Subway is only several blocks away for easy access to many tourist sites. Neighborhood is quiet and home is immaculate. Thank you, Trudy & Paul, for a wonderful week. Scott & Ellen, Corpus Christi TX


A great weekend.

5 en enero 17, 2011

We loved our 2 nights at The Blue Porch. Very clean, quiet, convenient, and the innkeepers couldn't have been more welcoming and attentive.


Wonderful stay

5 en enero 14, 2011

We stayed with Paul and Trudy the owners of the Blue Porch in December. We had our two children with us and we had a fantastic time. It was a real treat to stay in the Bed and Breakfast. The rooms were very large especially compared to Manhattan hotel rooms. The bathrooms were clean and beautiful. The breakfast was amazing, fruits, breads, homemade cakes and pastries fresh everyday. Paul and Trudy were very accommodating especially with my children, they had games and toys for them to play with and they are very knowledgeable about the area. I would recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a wonderful experience whether they are visiting Brooklyn or Manhattan.


che bello quando la mattina hai proprio voglia di alzarti...

4,8 en enero 05, 2011

e scendere dalla tua pulitissima, spaziosissima e tranquillissima stanza per andare a fare una buonissima e ricchissima colazione. Se poi Trudy cucina una delle sue fantastiche torte... Trudy e Paul sono tanto discreti quanto ospitali, ben disposti alla conversazione (interessante e varia) così come al rispetto della privacy, ma sempre pronti a dare aiuti e informazioni sia logistiche che culturali per il massimo godimento del soggiorno newyorkese. I bagni sono confortevoli e in ottime condizioni, ristrutturati da poco. Per arrivare alla metropolitana ci si mette 5 minuti e il percorso è tranquillo a tutte le ore del giorno e della notte. Si raggiunge Manhattan in 30 minuti e il gioco vale la candela del risparmio e del benessere che si trova in questa sistemazione rispetto ad un hotel "in centro". Assolutamente da provare!!!


B&B+

5 en diciembre 27, 2010

Trudy and Paul have already exceeded their goal to be warm, welcoming and helpful hosts. They truly share their home, and themselves, making them members of the B&B+ group. The neighborhood is also quite nice, with subway close by and a variety of restaurants. Highly recommend Farm on Adderley.


Blue Porch - Fantastic place to stay!

4,8 en octubre 12, 2010

We stayed at the Blue Porch B & B for our first trip to NY City. Trudy and Paul were so helpful and friendly. It felt like coming home at the end of each day. It was a fantastic experience and one I will definitely repeat on my next trip to New York!


Excellent choice

5 en octubre 05, 2010

Great location within Brooklyn - 5 min. from the subway station, walking distance to several nice restaurants, safe neighborhood. Clean, tastefully furnished and decorated rooms, quiet surroundings. Excellent selection for breakfast, incl. home made breads, lots of fruit. Nice and helpful owners.


Top notch B&B for families

5 en septiembre 17, 2010

My wife, five-year-old and I stayed here for a long weekend in September. It is a wonderful base from which to explore Manhattan and Brooklyn. Our experience was outstanding. Paul and Trudy were the perfect hosts and the home is absolutely gorgeous. We can't say enough good things about our experience. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms with a queen size bed with a bath on the first floor, as advertised. The room was impeccably decorated, bright, spacious and extremely comfortable. The house, thankfully as a parent of a young child, was not one of the many overly decorated victorian B&B's with delicate porcelain dolls, etc. It a relaxed, clean and very welcoming home. Access to the bathroom on the first floor with a great shower was never a problem even for our five-year old. The breakfasts were great -- wonderful fresh fruit and an amazing smorgasbord of breads, croissants, jams, tea and the coffee that met with the approval of my wife, a coffee connoisseur. Paul and Trudy provided a wealth of information, maps and helpful advice. Each morning they were available to answer questions and provide suggestions on our day activities. Paul and Trudy had a keen sense for when we needed or wanted their company and when we wanted or needed our privacy. Kudos on all counts. This is a great B&B. However, it is also a beloved home to a graceful couple who inspire and deserve guests that treat this home and owners with respect and consideration.


It was like coming home to family not seen for a long time!

5 en septiembre 14, 2010

This was the best b&b we stayed at during our trip to the U.S. in July 2010. Trudy and Paul are warm, very friendly and helpful hosts. The rooms are just as described, the bathroom exquisite (with fresh flowers added for that extra special feeling). The breakfast was spectacular - much more than we could eat, lots of fresh fruit, home-made biskuits with herbs out of the garden (thanks for the recipe, Trudy!) If you are looking for a home away from home - choose the Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast! Mary Ann and Thomas with Johanna (19) and Jan-Lukas (12) from Germany


Best place to stay when exploring New York

5 en septiembre 02, 2010

We stayed at the Blue Porch for three nights. From the first moment on we were overwhelmed by the B&B's victorian ambience, its tasteful furnishings and above all the warm welcome Trudy and Paul Steinfeld afforded to us. There is nothing we can complain about: the bed- and bathrooms were very well equipped and in our opinion of hotel standard, and the breakfast was delicious (especially Trudy's daily fresh cake is worth mentioning). Finally, Trudy and Paul were never tired to provide us with maps, tips and directions for our first visit to New York.


Comfortable, friendly, good food

4,8 en agosto 22, 2010

The Blue Porch was perfect for my trip to Brooklyn to visit family. Paul and Trudy were helpful with local information such as taxi service, restaurants, etc., and were delightful host and hostess--seemed like friends immediately. They accommodated my slightly peculiar food needs very graciously. The room was quite large and spacious and attractive. The neighborhood is quiet and feels very safe. In addition, the subway station is only 2 blocks away. This is a great place to stay. I will definitely choose it again for my next trip to Brooklyn.


Almost like being at home - but better!

5 en agosto 17, 2010

Trudy and Paul put great effort into making our stay with them and to Brooklyn a memorable one. The tastefully remodeled bedroom and bathroom retain the charm of the victorian decor while providing you with the modern conveniences of an upgraded space. Fresh fruit, home made goodies, fresh coffee, is just a sampling of the breakfast you will have served to fit your schedule. Trudy made her outstanding home made herb biscuits compliments of her herb garden. I've stayed at many B&Bs and would highly recommend The Blue Porch. Thanks again Trudy and Paul!


a home away from home

5 en agosto 16, 2010

Staying at the Blue Porch was a fantastic way to be introduced to Brooklyn. Owners Paul and Trudy are very friendly and knowledgeable hosts, our room was beautifully decorated and spacious, and our daily home-cooked breakfast was absolutely delicious. If we had a question about transportation or eating out, our hosts were eager to help us. They also really made an effort to get to know us. Location-wise, the Blue Porch is also quite convenient. It's a 5-minute walk to the Subway and close to some really tasty restaurants. Bottom line: Stay here! It'll make your trip to Brooklyn that much more memorable.


Beautiful Brooklyn B&B

5 en agosto 14, 2010

Trudy and Paul are warm and interesting hosts. The accommodations are top notch, and the breakfast is delicious - great coffee, homemade muffins and biscuits, fruit, cereal, and yogurt. The subway is right around the corner and it delivers you in Union Square in Manhattan in 45 minutes. I highly recommend a stay at the Blue Porch!


Hostess with the mostest!

5 en julio 31, 2010

Trudy provides weary New York City visitors with a casual and personable welcome. She will gladly explain the painful renovation process which has restrored this gem 1910 home to majestic elegance. The photos displayed on this site truely reflect what exists. It was a pleasure to be hosted in this home by an owner/operator who knows the histrory of this neighborhood. To our surprise, walking the neighborhood was an experience of many intact, renovated and diverse architectual gems. The Blue Porch is indeed outstanding in everyway...a diamond in the rough worthy of repeated visits in future NYC trips.


No Blues at the Blue Porch

4,8 en julio 18, 2010

Nestled in Brooklyn is the very enjoyable Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast, run by a couple who went out of their way to cater to our needs. There are no negatives about this superlative B and B. Tom and Daria


A B&B Treasure in Brooklyn

5 en julio 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Blue Porch while visiting her sister this month. What was a minor planning detail in a busy trip back East turned out to be a highlight of our our week. The hosts and owners of Blue Porch, Paul and Trudi, were very gracious, warm, and just extremely pleasant to talk with as we started and ended our two days in Brooklyn. The property is on a gorgeous tree lined street within walking distance of some great eateries and bars. The house is a classic Victorian and just kind of takes you back to a different time in NY, probably one you haven't thought of or seen before unless you know Brooklyn or Long Island. Ask Trudy to bake you some of her herb biscuits and sit back and enjoy the music and conversation. We'll be back whenever we we return to visit family. Thanks for a memorable stay!


An absolutely awesome place to stay in NYC

4,0 en junio 08, 2010

We did not know much about hotels and b&b's in Brooklyn, and actually, didn't really hope to find a nice place to stay. Blue Porch exceeded all possible expectations. Trudy and Paul are the nicest people ever, the house is gorgeous, rooms are very comfortable and everything is just the way it should be. Breakfasts were excellent. Trudy's apple pie is the best apple pie I have ever eaten. And the price is more than reasonable for such an outstanding service. We will definitely stay at the Blue Porch when we are in NYC again.


it was wonderful place to stay in NYC

4,8 en mayo 30, 2010

The Blue Porch is very quiet and comfortable, has spacious rooms with big windows (we had 3 windows in our room with a pleasant view in each of them) and is situated in a small and green street in Brooklyn without any traffic. Still it's 5 min walk to the next subway station and about 25 min subway ride to Manhattan. There are only 2 guestrooms to rent in this 1904 build house, so you feel not like in a hotel at all. We've spend 10 days there, and it was perfect. Trudy and Paul know everything about New York and can tell about Brooklyn's history and give a good advice. And there was a nice breakfast too, ask for home maid oregano cakes.


Home away from home

5 en mayo 19, 2010

We chose The Blue Porch primarily because it was near our son's apartment, and we're so glad we did! Trudy and Paul are the most delightful hosts, and they made us feel comfortable immediately. We feel that we now have new friends in a lovely, quiet neighborhood in Brooklyn. Our room was spacious with 3 windows overlooking the other lovely old homes, with plenty of closet space and drawers, an iron, ironing board, hair dryer, wonderful extras like a magnifying mirror, bottled water and chocolates. The bath we used was newly updated and beautiful, and included things like bath gel and choices of liquid or bar soap. They've thought of everything! The breakfasts were delicious -- lots of fruit to choose from, wonderful breads (most made by Trudy), juices, jams, and of course, coffee and tea. Paul was very helpful with directions and how to get around Brooklyn and Mahattan. We'll be staying with them again, I'm sure.


What a lovely place to stay!

5 en abril 27, 2010

What an incredible hospitality! We've had an absolutely wonderful experience staying at your lovely Victorian house. Thank you very much for all the personal attention! Fam. Debeuckelaere from Belgium


A home from home

5 en marzo 24, 2010

travelling with twin 3 year olds is never easy but Trudy and Paul made us very welcome. They had lots of good ideas as to what to do with the little ones, as well as being very accommodating over the breakfast table! We really enjoyed our stay with two New Yorkers who really love the city and are best placed to recommend places and ways to travel about.


Great place to stay

5 en febrero 28, 2010

We had a great stay at the Blue Porch. We'll certainly go back there on our next trip to New York. - Within easy reach of airport by car (40 minutes) or public transport - Safe, nice and quiet location / free parkingspace - Near subway station from where you travel in about 30 minutes to downtown Manhattan - A warm reception / very nice owners - Spacious, cozy and clean bedroom and bathroom - Great breakfast (tea/coffee, juices, bread, cheese, jams, cake, fruit, yoghurt, etc.) - Lots of restaurants nearby - Owners gave us lots of Information about things to do and handy tips


January Visit

5 en enero 24, 2010

Paul and Trudy are wonderful hosts and their home is beautiful. The room was large and comfortable and the bathroom had everything we needed. The purpose of our trip was a family visit and Paul and Trudy made us feel like we were part of their family. They were handy with directions and available to help with any concerns. Breakfast was wonderful and accomodating to our needs. The fresh fruits were great. We will be back!


Great place to stay in NYC.

4,0 en enero 03, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Blue Porch B&B. Our hosts, Trudy and Paul were gracious, helpful, but knew how to stay out of the way. The accommodations were great - large bathroom to share with two teenage girls, comfortable beds, all other amenities like a more-expensive hotel. Location was great - accessible to the subway and BQE. Wonderful fresh-baked breakfasts with lots of variety of foods, and lot of attention to any special needs we had. Would definitely come back, better than the tiny hotel rooms at twice the price in NYC where you don't even have room to walk around your bed!


The Blue Porch: Excellent Value!

5 en diciembre 28, 2009

Trudy and Paul embody the true spirit of hospitality. Their lovely Victorian B&B on a quiet cul-de-sac was a welcome 3 day retreat. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and charming, full of personal touches. But the breakfasts! Each morning little bits of fresh-from-the-oven heaven: Family recipe carrot bread, savory biscuits, cranberry walnut scones. Fresh squeezed orange juice, croissants. Wonderful jams and jellies. Did I mention the baked apples? A lovely time!


Impressive home with gracious owners.

5 en octubre 30, 2009

We stayed in the 2nd floor blue bedroom (with the bay window) and were pleased the room was so large. The bed was very comfortable and the wireless internet connection worked flawlessly. We had private use of the beautifully refurbished bathroom on the 2nd floor. Paul and Trudy live in the home which was built in 1904 and is located on a quiet cul-de-sac in Victorian Flat Bush. Trudy served a lovely breakfast and Paul was very helpful with supper reservations and directions. We felt very safe walking in their neighborhood to and from supper at a local restaurant which was within a few blocks from their home. We would highly recommend their home to all travelers and we certainly plan on staying there again on our next visit to Brooklyn.


The Blue Porch is a great place to stay!

4,8 en octubre 19, 2009

We've been at the Blue Porch for about a week and the two of us stayed perfectly well! The house is beautiful, in a nice and tranquil area of Brooklyn, close to public transport. But "the real plus" of our stay was the warmth and kindness of Trudy & Paul, the landowners! They really treated us like family and made our stay as pleasant as having our own flat in NYC. The breakfast food was excellent and abundant and it was nice to also share some moments talking with them, as they are nice and cultured people with whom you can really have interesting conversations. Too bad the time was always too little to be with them, as we were running around NYC to visit (we only had 5-6 days), but we really hope we will come back one day!


Extremely highly recommended!

5 en octubre 07, 2009

My husband and I came to New York for our honeymoon and I can't think of a nicer place to have stayed in the city. The best thing about The Blue Porch is Trudy and Paul, who were full of inspirational ideas about where to go and what to see in New York - things that we would never have picked up on from reading our guidebook. They were so warm and welcoming, and really went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. As the website says, the rooms are indeed very spacious and bright and airy, and the breakfasts are very generous. If and when we come back to New York, we will certainly stay here again.


I felt right at home...

5 en septiembre 30, 2009

Every time I've visited, I've felt so welcomed, and so much "at home." You have the gift of making people feel at ease. Thank you for sharing your knowledge of interesting things to see and do in New York!


The only place to stay in Brooklyn

4,6 en julio 20, 2009

Spacious rooms, great location and charming proprietors. Trudy and Paul were wonderful and charming. On our next trip, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. I slept like a baby at night and enjoyed Trudy's wonderful breakfast each morning. Paul helped me with suggestions on our daily itenerary, dining and transportation needs. - Guy


At Home, Again

5 en julio 19, 2009

Dear Trudy and Paul - Thank you for allowing us to experience your wonderful home. You both did everything possible for satisfying our every need. Breakfast in your home was so much more than just food; and the food you offered us was nothing short of delicious. Our accommodations were ultra-comfotable and immaculate - amazing in light of the fact that your house is over one hundred years old. It was wonderful talking with both of you about, what it seems, is a common background. Your personal warmth made us feel 'right at home.' Lastly, and possibly most important, thank you for proving Thomas Wolfe wrong. Thank you for making it possible for Wendy to go home again! Should we find ourselves in New York City again, our temporary residence will be The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast. Again, thank you both for making our living quarters a positive and significant part of our New York City experience. Wendy, Larry, Brittny and Hank


peaceful welcome B&B

5 en julio 19, 2009

Perfect for guests travelling with car and guest looking for more than only a bed and breakfast. The rooms are tastefully decorated, very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was really excellent. You can choose cereals, bread, several confiture, cheese and ham, they fulfilled also our personal demand of a boiled egg. The Innkeepers Trudy and Paul gave us excellent and helpful recommendations for restaurants and other point of interests. We loved the interesting discussions with theml. We learnt a lot about New York art, music, Brooklyn and the U.S. It was a fabulous stay. We can recommend this B&B and would return at our next stay in Nev York.


Second trip

5 en junio 20, 2009

The rooms are well appointed. Paul and Trudy are gracious and attentive hosts. The tips and advice to travel in the area are spot on. The breakfast is bountiful and first class. The rooms are well appointed, spacious and comfortable. Wireless internet is available. On the GPS you need to spell De Koven with a space as demonstrated. 5 stars to Trudy and the Blue Porch. This was my second stay with them.


The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $125 - $150
  • Comentarios (69) 4,9
  • Habitaciones 2

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-7184340557
Arriba