Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast Comentarios

TOTAL

4,5

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,6
  • Servicios4,7
  • Estimación4,4
  • Limpieza4,5
  • Comidas4,2

Puntuación basada en
39 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

A simple stay but homely and fun

3,4 en noviembre 22, 2014

The hostess is friendly, the room is clean and comfortable, and the experience was good.


Thanks a ton Debbie of Sankofa Aban

4,4 en noviembre 03, 2014

Wonderful stay of 8 nights. Despite a mess up of my booking from Expedia, Debbie accommodated me and helped a lot. She is such a bubbling personality with warm heart, it feels like home away from home. Rooms were clean and cozy, shared bathrooms always available (never had to wait). Healthy breakfast (me being vegetarian I had only cereals, bread, fruit and juice but Debbie was making bacon, eggs & pancake for others with great gusto and passion). Wonderful place to experience.


wonderful

5 en noviembre 03, 2014

this is my home away from home!


Awesome!

4,4 en noviembre 02, 2014

THANK YOU DEBBIE for your friendship and kindness; we spent 10 days in your warm, authentic and beautiful house of the last Century. For lovers of jazz, charming and surprising experiences It s the ideal house to visit Brooklyn and Manhattan and Debbie est si gentille, accueillante, chaleureuse qu on a l impression d être invités chez une amie! Merci encore Debbie A bientot Celia et Al


Oh Debbie

4,4 en octubre 06, 2014

Thank you Debbie , for the concert et for your réception , for all people in the world , go in this bed and breakfast it´s great


Gracious hospitality in Brooklyn brownstone

4,8 en octubre 03, 2014

Debbie McLain was a thoughtful and accommodating hostess who contributed immensely to the wonderful weekend I had in Brooklyn recently. Listening to Eric Lemon was a master class in the history of jazz in Bedford-Stuyvesant and then to be thrilled by the music of the master musicians they assemble was simply magic. Looking forward to my next stay!


Lovely Brooklyn Brownstone

4,8 en junio 15, 2014

Visiting daughter who lives a 10 minute walk away from this lovely historic brownstone. 2 blocks from the subway. Very convenient to Manhattan on express train. Comfortable twin beds in large room on top floor - we got the last room so no double was available. Sink in room. Large full shared bathroom. Be prepared to get to know your housemates while waiting for a delicious, filling breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed the other guests in this relaxed setting. Or have cereal and fruit before if you have to get out early. But if you want to relax you won't regret it. Our hostess asked for our preferences our first morning and was very accommodating (turkey bacon instead of pork & lactaid milk). We felt safe in the neighborhood at all times. Though the block is somewhat dark at night it is only one block off of two very busy street/intersection. Jazz on Friday and Saturday with top artists until around midnight. Friday includes a fish fry. Unfortunately we couldn't attend on either night, but from what we could tell they were exceptional artists and a lively well-behaved audience. If you don't want to hear the muffled sounds of top notch jazz artists, then get a room in the back. So exciting to stay in an authentic historic building! We would definitely stay here again.


A Time of Connection

4,0 en abril 19, 2014

I left with my heart and soul full. My husband and I stayed at this gem of a place. We were in town to see The Raisin In The Sun. It was my first time in NYC and I wanted my first experience to be authentic and away from the "tourist" feel of NYC. Debbie and Sankofa Aban did not disappoint and exceeded my expectation. From the brownstone itself to the corner pastry/coffee shop on the corner. For me it was such a connection to Debbie and Sankofa Aban. This connection, particularly to the brownstone and the history behind, was so real to me. We stayed in the Retreat Room and it was simply lovely. We meet a lovely Parisan couple who live in England and another young lady who hailed from Canada. It still resonates in my soul the richness and authenticity of our stay. I want to thank Debbie, Spencer (who waited for us on our 1st day) and just simply everyone for the genuine warmth and love sent our way. We will definitely be back.


Awesome Anniversary Trip to NYC

4,2 en noviembre 16, 2013

This place was wonderful. Being from New Orleans, this was the perfect place. It is just a block from the subway, plenty of parking, the food was wonderful (especially the fried fish on Saturday night), and the owner was amazing. The place was warm and inviting. There was a Jazz performance on Saturday night with drinks and a wonderful Crepe shop down the street. The bed was not the most comfortable, but everything else more than made up for it. We will definitely be visiting here the next time we make a trip to NYC.

Respuesta del propietario

Hi, I'm just taking a moment out to look over some past reviews. I'm very happy to have helped in your enjoying probably a much deserved, though out vacation. In doing so, there should never be a concern on whether the bed would be of comfort in a BnB. So, please if anyway at all I could be made aware of which room had a uncomfortable bed needing to be addressed, I'd like to take care of it. I have said before and will say again, our mattress sets are of some of the best on the market. High quality brands. Still there maybe something I'm unaware of I can do to assure a more restful night. We're not perfect, but I don't mine working at it. Thanks for choosing Sankofa Aban BnB.


Great Location and Hospitality with a Few Quirks

3,0 en agosto 01, 2013

Lovely brownstone and owner was both warm and friendly. She was more than happy to provide us with needed information about restaurants and public transportation in the area. Room was very comfortable and spacious next to a shared bathroom that was always available to us. Breakfast was good but sparce with one entree the first day and out to a neighborhood restaurant for breakfast the second day which we enjoyed. Wash cloths were not available until requested and room was not serviced after the first night (bed was not made upon our return). We thoroughly enjoyed the jazz and fish fry in the evening as well as the warm hospitality during our stay.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your time in giving this review. I certainly appreciate being given the opportunity of clearing up misunderstanding of how we operate. I see that you felt that breakfast was not enough by your standards, but please understand that we are simply a Home-Style Inn we are not a Hotel with a restaurant, with different dishes to choose from. Since I'm the cook it is easier to cook one main dish everyone usually can enjoy together. There is always fruit, and cereal in the Dining Room. This is why I treat my guest to a special Breakfast Outings at the neighborhood Crepe Shop. Not just any neighborhood coffee shop, but actually a authentic French Crepe Shop. Specialty Coffee, Teas, and Pastries. We also have a policy here not to enter rooms, unless asked by the guests. We respect privacy, unless it is absolutely necessary to enter. Plus there is a small extra charge for Room Service not included in rates. Everyone does not need to have that service and should not be charged up front, for such. Also, wash clothes have been known to be a laundry waste being placed in rooms. The small clothes are usually not used by our guest. We give once they're requested. I am glad that you were able to find some enjoyment on your short stay, and hopefully one day you might chance a longer stay. Till then keep enjoying life in Bed and Breakfast.com, BnB's.


OUTSTANDING!!!

5 en julio 03, 2013

Where should I begin- Oh yeah... upon my arrival Debbie (the owner) came to my rescue!!! She took on the cab driver who attempted to overcharge me for the ride from the airport- She was "Not Having It" I knew right then and there- I was in the Right Place!!! Sankofa Aban is a magical ... upon entering i felt transported to another Place and Time- Such Character and History... The Havana Room- Simply Beautiful! Whatever you do- Please DO NOT miss Brownstone Jazz on Friday and Saturday Nights!!! Oh what a Glorious Experience- I attended both nights... It's just that GOOD (plus there is a Fish Fry ya'll) The Caliber of Performers was simply Outstanding- easily worth five times the price of admission. What a Gift!!! Sankofa is an Experience that i will NEVER FORGET- I felt Safe and Cared for at all times... Money well Spent!!! Oh- and a Shout Out to Nelson... Thank you for an Impeccably Clean room and your Sweet disposition.


Wonderful Time

4,8 en abril 20, 2013

I stayed at Sankofa Aban during my first ever visit to New York. I was concerned a little bit since I was travelling alone and had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before. However, I had a very pleasant experience in New York and at Sankofa Aban and my concerns were all for nothing! My room was the "Country Blues" and everything was very sufficient for one person and the room itself was lovely. Jazz sessions on Friday and Saturday were brilliant and the fish fry was great! Debbie, who was my host, was a wonderful person, very very helpful and laid-back. People who stayed at the Inn were also very nice people and every morning we had long breakfast conversations and we shared our experiences in New York and told stories. The breakfasts were very tasty as well (the serving time was a bit late for one day but it wasn't a huge deal). Even though my initial plan was to go to the Inn just to sleep at night, the loveliness and welcoming warmth of the atmosphere of Sankofa Aban made me feel at home and not at a "cold" hotel. When I go back to New York, I will definitely stay at Sankofa Aban. It really add to my trip and overall experience in New York. I am very pleased. Highly recommended!


Victorian character

4,2 en noviembre 15, 2012

Quiet & friendly neighbourhood, lovely hostess, Victorian-style furnishings and decor, amazing jazz nights, lotsa steps inside so ask for lower floor if you need to :), good breakfast although a bit tardy both days, great coffee!


A good nine nights

4,0 en octubre 25, 2012

My wife and I spent nine nights at Debbie's B& B in late September. We had been in Washington for a week and arrived in NY by Amtrak at Penn Station. There was a bit of culture shock for two Western Canadians when we got off the A train at the Nostrand Ave stop. I knew some of the hisory of Bedford Steyvesant from reading up on the area. Debbie's warm welcome quickly made us feel comfortable. We had read previous reviews and one of the selling points in those reviews was the Friday night jazz sessions. That experience was fantastic with great session musicians and the featured vocalist that Friday being Carla Cook, a grammy nominated artist. Expectations would have been a couple hours of being entertained. Reality was an expereince with two sessions that lasted an hour and a half separated by a fish fry and some "Speakeasy" libations. During our stay we met an assortmant of other guests from various corners of the globe. That is one great reason to stay at B&B's. Debbie had a tough week when we were there with a three people close to her passing away.This included her taking a quick trip to Bermuda to attend a funeral. Her close network of friends filled her host role admirably when she was away. Thanks to Davy. Commuting to the other burroughs via subway was easy and cost effective. The weekly pass worked great. From Times Square to the Norstrand stop was around 25 minutes. With Debbie's daily trip to the market, she willcustomize a breakfast for you-- just ask. Enjoy Charlie Clarke, Alberta ,Canada


Our stay at Sankofa Aban....

5 en octubre 15, 2012

We stayed at Sankofa Aban mid-September 2012 for (sadly) just a one-night layover. What a wonderful period Brownstone Debbie has, and she has made it into a great & comfy B&B! In our case we were taking the opportunity to connect with our son who attends Pratt. This is a GREAT location within walking distance of Pratt and many local businesses & restaurants. We received a warm welcome from Debbie, and were very comfortable in the awesome QUEEN "RED ROOM". Debbie gave us the recommendation to go to "Peaches Hot House" for dinner and our son LOVED the down-home southern cooking and so did we. Thanks so much for a great stay! We intend to return again, hoping for Spring of 2013 or Fall 2013 at the latest!!


Hidden Gem in Brooklyn

5 en julio 17, 2012

I now have a new home in Brooklyn! Back in April, I was overjoyed when I learned that I won tickets to Oprah's Lifeclass in New York at Radio City Music Hall. Over the years,I have frequented NYC many times before. This time, I decided that I wanted to live like a local. The Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast exceeded my expectations. Live jazz held on Friday night was enchanting.Jam packed with sounds of true musicianship performed by accomplished local artists playing and singing jazz , blues, gospel and swing. Finger snapping, head bobbing laughter, food and drinks simply flowed.I literally felt as if I was transported back to the Renaissance period. Debbie, the owner is so delightfully charming hostess eager to ensure you have what you need. She tells you to treat her house as your won.You have your own key to your room and front door. You can come and go as you please. Even still, Debbie is very accessible. I don't know what my friend and I would have done without her recommendations. She suggested fabulous underground jazz spots and fine dining restaurants (Thai & French) that only a true native would be privy to. On a cold rainy day, she insisted that I take her shawl to ensure her ill-dressed Texas Sunbelt guest didn't freeze to death. Oh. Did I mention, Debbie held Belly Dances classes at the house too! Breakfast was divine. Each morning presented you with the chance to meet international guests from Australia, Germany and Great Brittan. I cherish each and every conversation. And to think, these connections were made in Brooklyn. I have already shared my experience with friends, family and strangers. Please do NOT pass up an opportunity to stay at this hidden gem in Brooklyn.


Wonderful hospitality in a wonderful location!

4,2 en julio 02, 2012

We stayed in Sankofa Aban B&B for a week and it was the most wonderful base for our explorations! So close to public transport and a great neighborhood. Everyone was so friendly and breakfast was delicious. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there next time we're in town and we've already recommended it to friends! A relaxed and beautiful B&B!


More Than a Bed and Breakfast

4,8 en enero 02, 2012

The Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast was like staying at a friends house. Debbie is a wonderful host and I was so glad to stay the two nights I was there. The rooms are cozy and I really enjoyed Debbie's cooking. This place was exactly what I was looking for. I went to New York by myself and didn't want to stay at a hotel where you check in, go into a room, and keep to yourself. Breakfast with Debbie was fun and I enjoyed talking with her. The house is really beautiful and I hope to visit there the next time.


Pleasantly Surprised!

5 en diciembre 06, 2011

On our first leisure visit to New York to see my daughter on her birthday we got much more than we anticipated at the Sankofa Aban B&B. Debbie went out of her way to make us not only feel at home, but to make Sankofa Aban B&B "OUR" home during our stay. The decor of our home away from home reflects the rich history and culture of the old Brooklyn neighborhood Sankofa Aban B&B is located in. Another thing we did not expect to do on our short weekend visit to New York was to make new friends, but now we have a friend in Debbie along with a few of her friends. In an incident that was not Debbie's fault, Debbie worked through the night to make sure we were comfortable in the morning. We only have one regret, and that is that we did not attend the Jazz festival held weekly at Sankofa Aban B&B on Friday. We will not repeat this mistake next time. God's Blessings. Gary and Linda


Wonderful B&B

4,6 en noviembre 10, 2011

Stayed there for two nights. Room was very nice and tastefully decorated. Other guests in the house were very friendly. The house itself is beautiful, with lots of history tied to it. Debbie is a wonderfully engaging host, who makes you feel at home and is passionate about her business and Brookyln. Right near the subway so traveling throughout the city is not an issue. Jazz concerts on Friday night... What's not to love? Next time I am in Brooklyn, I know where I will be staying.


Fantastic find

4,4 en octubre 12, 2011

A wonderful place, beautifully decorated in a unique neighbourhood of Brooklyn. Debbie, the host, is wonderfully welcoming and a fantasticly eclectic person. Watch out for the jazz practice nights and many other fun goings on. Great breakfast spreads too! Highly recommended.


A Wonderful Place to Stay, A Great Hostess!

5 en octubre 11, 2011

We stayed at Sankofa Aban in May of 2010 for 2 days, and it was everything I wanted it to be and more! Debbie made us feel so welcome from the very start. She is an amazing hostess, such a warm and lively personality. She made us great breakfasts, and even homemade lemonade when we returned from an afternoon of shopping! I loved the neighborhood, the architecture of the brownstones are breathtaking. We loved our room, it was elegant and well decorated, and the bathroom could give any high-end spa a run for its money! I highly recommend this b&b. I plan on staying there again the next time I'm in NYC. Outstanding!


Great Deal in NYC

3,6 en septiembre 17, 2011

Mrs. Debbie the owner was awesome and we felt right at home plus the subway was right down the street! I would stay there again!


Brilliant stay!

5 en septiembre 14, 2011

We had a lovely time staying at Sankofa Aban B&B in Bed-Stuy, Brooklyn. The B&B is gorgeous and the owner Debbie is a lovely person. She attended to our every need - nothing was too much trouble for her. She even took us out for breakfast one day to a lovely cafe with amazing cakes. She was lovely with my son and made both of us feel very welcome in her home. The jazz concert held on a Friday night was also fantastic. I had originally booked to stay at a hotel in Times Square but decided last minute to change my booking to Sankofa Aban due to mainly the price. I definitely made the right decision in staying in Brooklyn as opposed to Manhattan. The locals were friendly and I felt totally safe in the neighourhood even at 2am in the morning - definitely safer than in Times Square at night! The only downside was we did not have enough time to explore Brooklyn itself as we only had 4 days. If I am ever lucky enough to be able to return to NY in the future, I would definitely stay in Brooklyn. Thank you Debbie x


Great place to stay

4,0 en septiembre 09, 2011

I booked this B&B for my in-laws who were visiting NYC from Indiana for the first time. We met Debbie and she was awesome with her service and hospitality. And they loved her ! The A/C train is just a block and a half away. I will totally recommend this for anyone staying NYC


A True Brooklyn Experience

4,0 en agosto 18, 2011

I loved staying here so much! I will definitely stay here the next time I get out to NY! I felt like a local staying here - we had our own key to this cool historical brownstone, and it was within walking distance to the subway and a few great lunch spots - the owner is a trip, and she made us feel like part of the family - can't wait to visit her again! Lindsay


Brooklyn bliss

4,8 en julio 18, 2011

This place has a lot of character and charm, and is as relaxed as it comes! The house is just amazing with lush colours and beautiful details in each room. Debbie made sure we had everything we needed - cold beer, coffee, bagels with salmon and cream cheese, candles, bug spray, you name it! It made it very hard to get of bed in the morning and leave the house, so I guess we'll just have to come back!


Great service, great building, great time!

4,4 en julio 17, 2011

We loved our stay at Sankofa Aban. We were in the brown room, which was great-not too hot even on hot july days, very nicely decorated, very comfortable bed. Debbie was very friendly and helpful. No complaints, other than the price, which is high but not high by New York standards. The location was great as far as being in close subway reach to M anhattan and anywhere in Brooklyn.


Wow, what a place!

3,6 en julio 08, 2011

Flying in from SF, CA, I had a last minute work appt and I needed a place a to stay asap! Thank god for Debbie! All amazing! My regret was not staying longer to really enjoy the house, the Friday night live jazz music, and to spend time to talk with Debbie about this wonderfully renovated house.


2 days in Brooklyn

4,4 en julio 01, 2011

The place is great as well as the owner, Debbie, a wonderful person. Be warned though that the neighborhood is not the best in NYC.

Respuesta del propietario

Well I need to end now, because I keep hitting the wrong button. Probably because there is so many wonderful things to say about this neighborhood and the rapid growth, while we work to preserve our best. Sankofa Aban means Remembering the past, to live the future in a protected royal area. Thanks again guys, much love.


Magic Brooklyn

4,6 en junio 20, 2011

There are no words to explain a stay in Debbie's B&B. All is magic, the Inn-cheeper, the brownstone buildings, the rooms, the atmosphere, the breakfast, the friday jazz concert and all peoples you meet. Easy to Manhattan by subway station few undred meters around. Thanks Debbie, that's really a different way to visit N.Y. Paolo & Isa (Italy)


Fantastic stay

4,6 en junio 03, 2011

It was an unexpected pleasure to stay with Debbie, I felt like staying with a friend!House is gorgeous and rooms look exactly like in the pictures, if not better. There is a great communal feel and weekly Friday night jazz concert was fantastic. Debbie is truly an amazing person and I look forward to meeting her again. I can strongly recommend this place.


Athmosphere in Brooklyn

4,2 en abril 25, 2011

The staff was extreemely friendly. Made the guests feel very welcome.


A Place to Revisit

4,8 en abril 11, 2011

I have been looking to leave a comment here since September 2010 (7 months ago) which is when I had the extraordinary opportunity to live here for a week...technical difficulties caused MY delay. Better late than never. Debbie Mac, I wish to say, is the quintessential hostess. Her house was my house, and my comfort was her priority. Her radical hospitality, working in tandem with the beautiful architectural vintage-feel of a Brooklyn-Bedford-Stuyvesant brownstone, set the stage for a visitation that will be remembered, always, with favor and delight. She is just as accessible as is Manhattan and all the other boroughs from this location. The warmth here disputes, with grace, the NY reputation of being cold and callous.If you are looking for a non-touristic lodging experience in NYC that will give you also a taste of a historic neighborhood like Bed-Stuy, then look no further.


Amazing place

4,8 en enero 09, 2011

We spent two nights in Sankofa Aban and it was a real pleasure. Beautiful restored rooms, Debbie the owner is an absolutely charming person, make you feel good in a few minutes. The entire place is lovely and romantic. The subway station is just 3 minutes away, with a direct line to Manhattan. The best place we have seen in New York, we will be back as soon as we can. And friday evenings, let's come to Sankofa Aban not only for the B&B, but also for the jazz band and open mic. Highly recommanded !!!


Highly recommended

4,8 en diciembre 29, 2010

We spent just a few days at Sankofa, but we would have liked to stay longer. The house has been lovely restored, with care to all details. Cleaness is absolute and all bedrooms are warm and cosy. Deborah, the innkeeper, is friendly and available; and she makes great breakfasts as well. The house is located in a nice area in Brooklyn, which can provide a different sightseeing from usual touristic routes in NYC. Stay in Brooklyn and enjoy real NYC atmosphere. We highly recommend Sankofa Aban B&B ! Alberto and Daniela Stayed on: 12/2010


Hospitable and charming

4,8 en septiembre 24, 2010

My friend and I spent 5 nights here on our first trip to New York. This B&B has not only been restored with a lot of care and love for the period and for detail, it's also clean: there are no bed bugs and no cockroaches. The innkeeper, Deborah, is charming and very helpful - anything you need to know, simply ask, and she'll point you in the right direction. Manhattan and the airport are very accessible thanks to the B&B's proximity to the subway, and downtown Brooklyn is even within walking distance. When I go back to New York, this is where I'll stay.


Home away from home!

4,6 en junio 12, 2010

My husband and I spent two nights at the Sankofa Aban B&B and left more then pleased. The B&B is located in a brownstone in the historic Bed-Stuy neighborhood. The quiet and relaxed neighborhood is easily accessible to all five boroughs by car, taxi, bus, or subway. The beautiful historic building is refined just enough in the important areas (bed and bath), yet gives respect to its age and history by not erasing its uniqueness. The setting is a B&B connoisseurs dream, but may be surprising to the sterile traveler accustomed to lonely chain hotels. The opportunity for peaceful solitude is easily possible, but the real experience here is found in its social atmosphere. The Sankofa Aban B&B is your home away from home.


A beautiful and cozy place

5 en mayo 15, 2010

This is a real authentic Bed & Breakfast that I am really glad I came across...Amazingly beautiful rooms; great service and the inkeepers are so hospitable and helpful; you can tell that they genuinly like having people around. I warmly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a place to stay while visiting N.Y/Brooklyn, I think you will love it as much as I did :)


Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $75 - $250
  • Comentarios (39) 4,5
  • Habitaciones 6
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 0-9177049237

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba