The Swag Country Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,7

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,8
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,4
  • Limpieza4,8
  • Comidas4,8

Puntuación basada en
164 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Dream Getaway!

5 en noviembre 16, 2014

We have stayed in 5 star hotels that did not offer what the Swag provided. We stayed in the Terrace Cabin and with the rustic beauty and scenic view I was in love. There is no TV just WiFi and Sirius radio. This was our first visit but we had a couple who was on their 22nd visit. There was so much great food from breakfast, to our picnic lunch (where you have a choice of a bag lunch, backpack or picnic basket) to a the hors d'oeuvres and then a 4 course dinner. While at dinner they come into your room and turn down your bed and leave chocolates (I am diabetic and they even left sugar free chocolates for me)! The wonderful Dan and Deener who developed this wonderful paradise and shared it with everyone is still there everyday. They know everyone and treat them like family. They sit with everyone, eat meals and socialize and give great facts and the history learned was amazing. If you can, you have to visit this rustic paradise! We can't wait to come back. Everything was wonderful and I wish I could have stayed longer.


Amazing Country Inn

5 en noviembre 01, 2014

The Swag Country Inn is a truly amazing place. World class dining, friendly staff,comfortable rustic (but modern) rooms and a view that is post card perfect. I highly recommend this place. You will love it as much as we do.


The Swag really is a special place!

5 en octubre 31, 2014

If you want to stop the craziness of your everyday life, go to The Swag. Secluded on a mountaintop surrounded by the Great Smokies and gorgeous views, you will take a deep breath and feel your stress leave. It really is a special place! Incredible rooms, delicious food, outstanding service and no TVs make this place a must get away! It has become annual trip for us!


Three days at The Swag

5 en octubre 15, 2014

This was our second visit to The Swag and was outstanding in every way. The beauty, service, meals, and genuine hospitality make this my favorite place to visit with family and friends. Our trip this time was enhanced by Donald Davis, a story teller and hiking guide. I told Deener Matthews that if they offered us a free week at the Swag if we could suggest an improvement, I couldn't think of anything!


A world away and well worth it

5 en octubre 08, 2014

My wife & I just completed our third stay in two years at the Swag, It's hard to use the expression third times a charm because we were charmed from the first arrival at the Swag last June. WOW what a place. Your cares melt away and you become family with Deener, Dan and the rest of the Inn Guests. What a special place. The history, nostalgia and pampering. I'm always amazed at the level of service and the quality of people on staff. To have so few rooms you feel like you are the VIP guest there. they go overboard to make you feel 'at home"! The food is so amazingly fresh, hikes are the best in NC. Deener and Dan so warm and endearing. GO GO GO GO


If intimacy is what you're looking for, this is the place to go

4,4 en agosto 29, 2014

The SWAG is a beautiful isolated property with first rate service and hosts who do everything in their power to make you feel welcome.


A truly magical place in the US

5 en julio 18, 2014

There is probably not much more that I could add to the lyricism that has been offered in the past about The Swag. From the people (first, of course) to the location, the amenities, the pampering, the attitude of "please let us make that happen" instead of "sorry, we can't) and on and on. Frankly, the rates, though expensive, are altogether reasonable for all that is extant. A destination!!


...the tradition continues...

4,6 en junio 30, 2014

After discovering The Swag on our honeymoon in 2011, we have made it a priority to return each year for our anniversary. As usual, our stay was wonderful! We stayed in the Rock Room and loved the new design (especially the sauna after a day of hiking in the rain!). Each meal was absolutely delicious - we're still enjoying our Swag bars!! It was wonderful to meet the new GM, Brooks. Deener, Brooks, and the Swag staff went above and beyond to ensure our every need was met. We are already planning next year's trip!!!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your kind comments! Congratulations and warm wishes from all of us at The Swag--we were honored once again to play a part in your anniversary celebration and we will look forward to seeing you next year! Please let me know whenever I may be of assistance, and if I may help you with the arrangements. Warm regards and grateful thanks, Brooks Brooks Bradbury General Manager The Swag Direct: 828.926.0430 x606 brooks@theswag.com


A Weekend to Remember

5 en junio 18, 2014

What a lovely Inn. The friendliness and service we received were unsurpassed. We were greeted by name, given a grand tour of the property and shown to our beautiful room with a magnificent view of the mountains. There were hiking trails of every distance imaginable. Sauna, steam shower, and hot tub were available to guests. The dinners were very well prepared. We met others from all over the U.S. This will certainly be a place we will return to.


A Mountain Paradise

4,6 en junio 05, 2014

The Swag is a very special place, like no other. We were captivated by our first visit and have returned every year since. It is pricey, but we know that up front. They tend to every detail and every aspect is first quality. It is not a smothered pampering, but rather a friendly attitude that they will take care of everything. We believe they are truly delighted to have us there.


An experience not to be missed

4,8 en mayo 22, 2014

An amazing location and wonderful cuisine. They have paid attention to each detail and have done everything possible to make the guests comfortable and welcome.


Anniversary at the Swag

4,6 en mayo 21, 2014

Wonderful weekend at the Swag! It was great to meet our hosts and others at the Swag. Very friendly atmosphere.


A Wonderful Place

4,8 en mayo 18, 2014

We have been to The Swag several times. We have stayed at many inns around the world. The Swag is the best of the lot. The location is inspiring for someone who wants to enjoy the natural world of the North Carolina mountains and Smokey Mountain National Park. Deener maintains an atmosphere of family fellowship. This is a place that emphasizes participation as opposed to observation. We have met many interesting people there while hiking, eating at small or large tables, and sitting or standing at the cocktail and hors d'oeuvre hour on the dog trot/porch . We always feel restored when we leave The Swag.


Simply the best!

5 en mayo 14, 2014

The was the best vacation we have ever experienced - so we have booked The Swag for 2 more vacations this year! We will recommend it to everyone! The Swag will be a new tradition for our vacations!


Best Place to Relax

4,8 en mayo 11, 2014

The Swag is one of our favorite places to relax. Its natural beauty, very comfortable rooms, and accommodating staff make it very, very special. No one makes just one trip!


Smoky Mountain Retreat

4,8 en mayo 08, 2014

This was our fifth visit to The Swag. It is a family-run country inn that shares a back fence with the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. The rooms are outstanding with many amenities. Many offer breathtaking views of the mountains and valleys. The meals are served family style for breakfast and supper, with lunch in a box or backpack, depending on preference. The food is wonderful. It is full American Plan. The owners and staff are very gracious and accommodating.


The Swag

4,2 en mayo 04, 2014

This was our second trip to the Swag and it is truly an outstanding place to stay. I would go back again, as the views are outstanding and the people that work there are wonderful. Their meals were not as good as the first time I was there except for the breakfast which was excellent. The quality was just not there for lunch and dinner. I hope that can be improved, but everything else was outstanding!!


A Wonderful Oasis

5 en enero 12, 2014

The Swag has gorgeous views, beautiful property, and wonderful services. The best part of the visit, though, is the hospitality of the Innkeepers, who are considered with each moment of your visit, though leaving you alone to soak it all in, explore, and be renewed and refreshed.


Our Stay

4,6 en noviembre 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay!


Great getaway!!

4,6 en noviembre 27, 2013

If you haven't been, it's your loss. This place is simply delightful. The setting is Godmade and wonderful, and the inn exquisite. A treat for sure.


Romantic getaway

5 en noviembre 17, 2013

My wife and I spent two days at the Swag. Everything was PERFECT.


I think I can see heaven from here!

5 en noviembre 13, 2013

We first visited the Swag in 2005, and have been back multiple times since then. The quiet and the serenity literally feeds our souls. Everything that harries, everything that presses or disappoints or stresses in my everyday life, I feel I leave it behind when I come here. At every turn, there is a smile or a kind word from the staff, even those whose jobs don't normally interact with the guests. The food is a delight, the hiking invigorating, the vistas restful. We come to be renewed, and we always are!


Slice of Heaven

5 en octubre 28, 2013

From the moment you arrive the journey begins. The staff are warm, friendly & helpful. Then you experience your room which each is different and exciting. The food is presented in a beautiful display and very tasty. Afternoon cookies and cider are my favorite! The place is beautiful, the scenes are breath taking you feel like you are on top of the world it is very peaceful. You never want to leave and you do keep coming back year after year.


Casual Luxury

4,8 en octubre 27, 2013

Casual luxury is not an oxymoron at the Swag. Its location, at 5,500 feet above sea level, would be envied by angels. All meals are included, and the food is excellent. There are remarkable vistas and miles of hiking trails, and you can really leave your cares behind.


Relaxing Retret

5 en octubre 18, 2013

A very beautiful location with luxurious accomodations, fantastic food and gracious hospitality from Deener and Dan Mathews the inn owners.


Great fall visit

4,6 en octubre 14, 2013

Our first visit to the Swag and it was wonderful. So good that we have already booked the 7 plus hour drive to the Swag for next fall.


One of a kind

4,4 en septiembre 27, 2013

We just love the Swag!


A Fantastic Visit and Stay

4,8 en septiembre 21, 2013

This was my husband's and my first visit to the Swag. We felt so welcomed and cared for. The hikes are incredible; the food is delicious, and all the people we met were so kind and fun to talk to. We hope to be back one day!


Wonderful Weekend

5 en septiembre 11, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at The Swag. It's hard to explain how it can be "rustic" and elegant at the same time, but that's what it was. There was no amenity that was missing and the service was great. Everyone was so very friendly and always asking what they could do to help. There was no nickel-and-diming, either. A 15% service charge was added and no one seemed to have their hand out. We loved that.


The Swag

4,4 en septiembre 08, 2013

Amazing grounds, staff, and rooms. One of the best weekends we have ever had---definitely serves as a special event venue!


Fabulous Place, Fabulous Experience

4,6 en septiembre 04, 2013

The thoughtfulness and graciousness of the innkeepers are extraordinary. A very special place and a truly lovely inn. Thank you.


Birthday Weekend 8/13

5 en septiembre 04, 2013

We visited The Swag Inn for a long weekend to celebrate my boyfriend's 60th birthday. Everything was absolutely wonderful from the moment we arrived! Can not wait to go back!


My third wonderful visit to The Swag.

5 en agosto 23, 2013

Over the years I have found The Swag equally delightful, with comfortable rooms, delicious food, and interesting activities. The staff is exceedingly thoughtful and helpful. Whether you want a challenging walk or a peaceful rest, they are happy to arrange for it. The mountain vistas and woodland trails are among the best in the country yet can be experienced in the lap of luxury over many days.


An amazing getaway

4,8 en agosto 22, 2013

We loved everything about this place. It's definitely for doing two things- relaxing in your room/on the grounds or hiking. The demographic while we were there was the 50-70 year old crowd, so no other early 30 somethings, but we really enjoyed getting to know the other guests. The food was amazing. We'd love to go back.


Amazing weekend at the Swag!

5 en agosto 20, 2013

Beautiful location, wonderful service and amazing food! What more could you ask for in a vacation? Lovely!


Perfection in Paradise

5 en agosto 18, 2013

Nothing could be improved upon. A perfect experience ... 5 star !!!


The Swag/Hiking and Dining in a Mountain Paradise

5 en agosto 17, 2013

Great hiking in a beautiful setting. Comfortable authentic rooms. Great food with friendly professional service. I can't wait to return.


Our stay

4,8 en agosto 17, 2013

Nice stay


A Fabulous Mountain Inn!

5 en agosto 15, 2013

The Swag has been on my “bucket list” since we first discovered it several years ago. It is a most unique mountain inn in the Western North Carolina Mountains. We have visited The Swag in the past having been there for their fabulous dinner and gourmet lunches on Gooseberry Knob with miles of views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. This year we had the opportunity to stay at The Swag for a wonderful experience. A true Shangri La in the mountains. We love it! A place that reminds us of what is important and how to really appreciate the beauty of these fantastic mountains, the scenic views, and the cooler temperatures. I highly recommend it to anyone I chat with who is visiting the western NC mountains for either an overnight stay or at least going for the Wednesday “Gourmet” Picnic or delightful Swag dinner. The Swag is a “bucket list” destination. The Swag is an all-inclusive resort. Needless to say we are definitely “Swag Fans!”


A once in a lifetime mountain stay!

4,8 en agosto 14, 2013

The Swag Inn is everything you could want in a mountain top retreat-beautiful setting with warm, comfy accommodations, excellent food, hiking trails at your back door, very thoughtful amenities (including your own walking stick to take home) and privacy when you want it with time to meet and chat with guests, as well. A very special place for celebrating life's special events or just a much needed get-away. While it is expensive, it is worth it at least once, and after that, you will be spoiled for any other mountain retreat!


Fantastic first visit

4,6 en agosto 14, 2013

This was our first time at the Swag, and we had a great time. The owners and staff are absolutely fantastic at what they do, and make sure that every guest is made welcome and has a relaxing, wonderful experience. Service is the best I've had - the staff are very good at being attentive without hovering or making you too aware of their presence. The rooms are beautiful, well appointed and very clean. The food that is provided as part of the stay is absolutely wonderful as well, and when you consider what the cost would be to have meals of that quality, the cost to stay at the Swag is reasonable. Despite the fantastic food, service and rooms, what probably is the greatest feature of this resort is its location. It is a secluded, mountaintop retreat with plenty of hiking trails on the property to fill a 3-day stay (or more). The website is wonderful and has fantastic photos, but it still cannot do it justice (nothing could). The Swag house itself is surrounded with beautiful landscaping, and swarming with hummingbirds, butterflies and birds. The trails on the property are well maintained and provide access to some amazing terrain. The property is also located right on the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, so you have access to several longer trails there. The only thing that was less than perfect was the location of one of the rooms that we stayed in... the Salmon Room is close to everything, but also in the middle of everything. If you are a light sleeper or would like a private location, you might want to choose a different room. It was not a major problem though - I would go back in a heartbeat, and I would stay in the Salmon Room again, but I would look for other options too.


Magnificent get-a-way

4,2 en agosto 14, 2013

Exceeded our highest expectations !


The Swag

5 en agosto 13, 2013

Beautiful views, great hikes, delicious food, elegantly rustic atmosphere, exceptional service. Can 't wait to go back!


Our romantic First Anniversary

5 en agosto 13, 2013

My husband surprised me recently for our first wedding anniversary with a stay at The Swag Country Inn. I can honestly say that this was the best get away ever. The service was amazing from the time we pulled in until we packed our bags and drove away. The food was outstanding and the accommodations perfect. Before we checked out, we had reserved another stay for this November. I can't wait to return to a little piece of heaven. I would recommend anyone looking for perfection, make your reservations now. You will not be disappointed.


Daring, Delightful, Delicious, Debonair

4,6 en agosto 12, 2013

A truly off the wall experience from the entrance at the gate to the top of the mountain. A wonderful refuge to refresh your energy, renew your spirituality, and appreciate the glorious wonders of nature on the mountain top. SBC from SC


nice getaway

4,6 en agosto 03, 2013

Amazing location with top notch service and food. Hikes and scenery are hard to match.


Kemplins stay in the Salmon room

4,8 en agosto 02, 2013

We had a wonderful time and hope to come back at another time. Our next stay will be in the Bishops room, now that I know the showers and tubs are separate. Tess and Steve Kemplin


Best Inn ever!

5 en agosto 01, 2013

We stayed at The Swag for three nights, wished it had been longer! Very warm welcome, spectacular location, attentive staff and grand lady of the house. Plus great food at all the meals.


Very nice!

4,0 en julio 31, 2013

A birthday surprise for my wife.


My retreat at the Swag

3,6 en julio 31, 2013

The Swag is the perfect mountain retreat. My husband and I have been numerous times and enjoy it immensely each time. We love the hiking, the food is wonderful, and the staff is always friendly and helpful. We are left with wonderful memories of the hummingbirds, sitting on the porch, the beautiful fire in the fireplace in the main room and the views of the mountains.


Great Mountain Hideaway

4,8 en julio 29, 2013

We stayed five days and four nights at The Swag and loved it! Great service, wonderful accommodations and so much high-quality food that hiking felt mandatory. The location must be the best in the Smokies. A bit pricey, but worth it to us.


Another great stay at The Swag

4,4 en julio 28, 2013

A top-notch accommodation with a superb staff.


One of my favorite places

5 en julio 25, 2013

Wonderfully embracing in everyway. A fabulous combination of outstanding outdoor activities and relaxation.


AMAZING Getaway!

5 en julio 23, 2013

Our time at The Swag was absolutely phenomenal. The staff was helpful and friendly, the food at all three meals each day (plus mid-day fresh baked cookies, and hors d'oeuvres at the social hour before dinner), and the room could not have been nicer. There was nothing we could've wanted for, and everything we did want was provided to us instantly with a smile. We also had a chance to do some birding and nature exploration with the guest naturalist who was there for the week (included in our stay), and took some solo hikes alone The Swag's many beautiful walking trails. Hands-down, this was our favorite getaway in years!


Much more than a walk in the woods

4,6 en julio 20, 2013

Everyone made us feel welcome and the seating at meals allowed you privacy or social...your choice. There was so much more to do than our two days could accommodate. We will be back!


A unique experience

5 en julio 20, 2013

Although expensive, The Swag offers a unique experience in rustic luxury. It combines breathtaking closeness to nature and old fashioned hospitality and attention to detail provided by the inn's personable and personally committed owners and hosts, Dan and Deener. For three days we felt like family, albeit very pampered family.


Unforgettable honeymoon

4,6 en julio 18, 2013

Warmly greeted when we arrived. Upgraded to a beautiful cabin. Majestic setting. Incredibly relaxing. Owners on property, always a plus. Food was high quality but not very exciting. The food WOULD NOT keep me from returning, it just made a "5" a "4.9". We will return...


TheSwag

3,8 en julio 09, 2013

Our stay was very enjoyable. The Inn makes an effort to extend gracious hospitality, from the staff and the owners. The food was wonderful. We will return.


Wonderful stay at The Swag Mountaintop Inn

5 en julio 09, 2013

What a wonderful place. The Matthews are exceptional hosts, putting their heart and soul into The Swag. The food, views, property, rooms, hiking, service, staff, and all the little extra touches at The Swag are fantastic. One criticism: it rained a lot during our stay precluding hikes, so a workout room would have been nice. Nevertheless, highly recommended.


Once again, The Swag exceeds expectations!

4,8 en julio 03, 2013

A fabulous return to The Swag! Yes, it's expensive. Yes, it's worth it. Every detail has been thought of and the staff works discreetly behind the scenes to ensure you have a beautiful and stress-free experience. We keep going back!


AMAZING GRACE

5 en junio 19, 2013

This Cathedral in the sky is here to refresh,renew and remind us of how life giving nature is. The Swag accommodations are in keeping with the surroundings. The staff is warm and personable. We were greeted at the driveway by first name and wished a Happy Anniversary.( We had spent part of our honeymoon there 15years before.) We came back to hike to the waterfall and renew our relationship together at this sacred place. There are so many little special hidden treasures that have been well thought out along the trails. Places to stop and pause and enjoy. Every detail is magical. Each guest is given their own beautifully carved walking stick with their name on it . Every meal is prepared with food from their extensive vegtable gardens. Mornings there was a fabulous homemade buffet of everything you could possibly want. Lunch was our choice of a bag, basket or backpack lunch for your day of outdoor adventure.. And if that wasn't enough there was tea,cookies and the like for the mid afternoon . Evenings began on the porch with a beautiful spread of hordeouves followed by a delectable meal.There was fun mountain singing entertainment afterward. Our room had fabulous veiws , a fireplace and aways a bed either made up or down without ever seeing anyone around to make it so! We have pledged not to stay away so long , this place calls you back to touch the sky. Thank you Deener and Dan for the kind anniversary note and dear little pottery vase with flowers from your gardens. This special touch is an example of who you and what the Swag is all about.. peace, joy and kindness.


Favorite B & B

4,6 en junio 19, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Swag and we love it!! Accommodations are the best - super clean, fabulous attention to details, nightly turndown with chocolates, superb amenities, and the most relaxing setting. Hike, sit on the porch or on the lawn swing and read, homemade cookies at afternoon tea, wonderful backpack lunches, and Dan and Deener make you feel so welcome - like you are visiting your best friend from high school again!!!


If this isn't Paradise, you can see it from here!

5 en junio 17, 2013

This was my 4th stay at The Swag over 16 years. Every trip has set a new standard of what an inn could and should be. From owners Dan and Deener to the kitchen staff to the room staff, everyone makes you feel like a dear friend who has come to visit. Sitting family style with the other guests as well as Dan and Deener allows you to exchange ideas with some of the most interesting people you will encounter anywhere. In addition, the guest speakers add a whole new aspect to the stay. Guided hikes, story telling, history of the region and other special interests add the frosting to this special cake. Don't let the cost chase you away- considering what The Swag offers on a daily basis, it may actually be underpriced. Where else can you step off of the "dog trot" of the inn, take a dozen steps or so and be in Smoky Mountain National Park? Or you can stay on the property and hike their Nature Trail, rest in one of the family "Hideaways" or sit on the porch and gaze out at one of the most beautiful views you'll encounter anywhere. The fact that most of the guests are repeat visitors speaks to the special experience of The Swag.


Returned to the mountain!

4,8 en junio 14, 2013

Celebrated our 43rd wedding anniversary late, wife's birthday, and my birthday early. Thoroughly enjoyed the picnic on the mountain, missed it last visit due to weather. After dinner with Doug Peters and his lovely wife is a real treat. Dan and Deener continue to raise the bar - no misses here!


David and Lynn's stay

5 en junio 12, 2013

This was our second stay at the Swag and it was even better than the first stay. Our expectations were exceeded and the quality of the room, service and food were outstanding. We will return soon.


Too short & SO AWE-mazing !

4,6 en junio 12, 2013

My wife and I are well traveled and also very frequent travelers in NC, yet we had never heard of The Swag until someone I work with parents stayed there. We are STILL Savoring our Swag time, it was too quick a time to get it all in, we are so excited to be returning in October again. Deener, the staff, the accomodations, the FOOD, the warmth of guests and staff. Hideaway and it's Copper outdoor shower, SO nice. Just a GREAT relaxation and celebration of 27 years of marriage. Denner and the Inn went out of their way to recognize and celebrate with us. Bill Harley entertained us each evening as well, WHAT grand times and memories ! AWE-mazing !


Very nice but expensive

4,0 en mayo 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights at The Swag in May 2013. It is a lovely and special place. Our room, Laurin's Room, was wonderful. The food was great. We had bad weather throughout our stay and didn't get to see the views until the very last morning before we left. We did some hiking in the rain but overall we were unable to really enjoy the place at its best. We made the best of it and enjoyed ourselves but we think it worth mentioning that it is important to realize how dependent you are on the weather at a place like this -- and the weather on top of a mountain can be very different from the valley below. We have stayed all over North Carolina and this is an expensive inn, even for a luxury hotel. We have stayed in places that were just as nice that cost far less. In short, we really liked The Swag but are not sure if it is worth the cost.


A truly magical place

5 en mayo 10, 2013

My husband and I chose The Swag to celebrate our anniversary. We have stayed in the Blue Ridge mountains several times because we love to hike. But this time we were looking for something a little bit nicer than a rented cabin. The Swag gave us that and so much more.You are pampered constantly and yet feel like one of the family. They have fantastic hiking right on their property. You come back from a long hike and shower and then dine on a gourmet meal. One night after dinner the hosts and most of the guests sang around a player piano. It was great fun with some great people. We can't wait to go back. It is a bit pricey, but well worth the cost.


Mountain bliss

4,0 en mayo 06, 2013

Outstanding hospitality


A Delightful Stay

5 en abril 29, 2013

This is the third time we have been to The Swag. We stayed 3 nights (Tuesday-Thursday). They opened for the season the day before we got there. The room (Bishop's Room) was terrific. It was the week that Donald Davis was there to tell stories and lead hikes. Once again, he was wonderful. Deener and Dan are the most gracious hosts. They greet and know everyone in such a way that the stay is like a family get together without family rivalries. There is a new executive chef, and the food is still outstanding. We have stayed at many inns around the world. The Swag is the most beautiful and relaxing of them all. Dan and Deener really do involve everyone in such a way that it becomes a event with old friends.


Fall visit to the Swag

4,4 en noviembre 15, 2012

We arrived at the same time as Hurricane Sandy but fortunately for us it was far to the North but we received between 8" and 1' of snow. While it was a devastating storm for the Northeast it created a magical wonderland at the Swag. Cozy, warm, log fires set in our fireplace in the cabin, rustic but with all the amenities. Meals were in the main lodge and were generous and fun to share experiences and time with other guests. The owner and staff are fabulous; we had great service the whole time. The weather eventually cleared, the snow melted and we were able to view and experience some of the great beauty of the Smokey mountains. Highly recommend the Swag; it's a must see.


What a memory!!!

5 en noviembre 15, 2012

Last week I proposed to the most wonderful woman in the world and of course wanted this experience to be perfect. The staff kept the secret and went out of their way to make sure that the evening would go as planned. Deener Matthews was the perfect host and it was a pleasure to spend some time with her as well. Thanks again for all that you have done for us the swag will always be a special place in our lives. Mike Blanton President Successful Financial Strategies


Paradise on Earth at the Swag!

5 en octubre 25, 2012

This was our 5th stay at the Swag and we had a fabulous experience, as always. What's not to love about the glorious NC mountains, the wonderful accommodations, the great food and fellowship!! Deener and Dan make everyone feel like part of their extended family and the staff is very attentive and accommodating. Try the Swag, you won't regret it!


A little piece of heaven!

4,4 en octubre 15, 2012

This was our first time at The Swag and we were so enamored with it we made reservations to return next year. We cannot wait to get back and we cannot say enough good about it. It is quaint yet sophisticated and the staff treats everyone like family. The food is excellent. There are no televisions in the rooms which was okay with us. There is a television in the library for those who cannot live without it. The activities there mostly include, relaxing, dining and hiking the beautiful trails of the Great Smokey Mountain National Park. It is atop the mountain so be prepared for the winding road but realize the effort is well worth the drive. First timers should arrive during daylight hours. Come prepared to unwind and forget your troubles at this magical place in the clouds.


Swag

4,8 en octubre 05, 2012

Magical place. Thoroughly enjoyed. Everything was great. No complaint but a suggestion: warm the maple syrup for breakfast.


our stay at the swag

2,8 en septiembre 23, 2012

we celebrated our anniversary at the SWAG. We had a wonderful time. Loved our trout fishing experience and the extraordinary beauty of the inn and its setting. The inn was full though and the fact that there was a very large party occupying the main dining area meant that we didn't get a chance to dine with other guests, which we normally enjoyed. We were sad that the hummingbird feeders had to be taken down due to a small bear drinking them and we had several glitches with the front desk. Otherwise, our stay was extraordinary. The SWAG is a special place for special occassions.


The BEST Experience

4,8 en septiembre 23, 2012

We went to NC for a weeks vacation and stayed at the Swag for 2 nights. It is one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. Up 5000 feet on a mountain is rustic luxury. Once you drive up and set what the Swag has the offer you don't want to drive back down for anything. Nor do you need anything as your every need is attended to including beautiful walking sticks for hiking. The 3 meals that are included every day are wonderful the scenery breathtaking. The staff and owners gracious. The rooms are all rustic but yet refinded at the same time. We met wonderful people who were staying had great conversations and yet had plenty of time alone in the peace and quiet of the Smokeys or our room. Although quite expensive I can say surprsingly that is was worth every penny.


Just the two of us

4,4 en septiembre 10, 2012

It was the perfect place for us to enjoy each other. We were able to get away from it all and focus on what is important. If you are in love with someone, then this is the perfect place to go/be and you are little bit closer to heaven.


Visit # 4

5 en septiembre 05, 2012

You could not do any better than a weekend at the Swag. Everything was perfect and Deener and Dan treat and welcome you like you were their own family. The entire staff is outstanding.


The Swag is my favorite place to relax

5 en septiembre 04, 2012

No one who visits the Swag could ever doubt the existence of God. Sitting on the porch and enjoying the view before you should convince you that all that is before you didn't happen by chance. Breakfast at the Swag is my favorite meal of the day, beginning with a bowl of steel-cut Irish oats cooked in apple cider. What a way to start the day. You always meet such interesting people when you stay at the Swag, and your hostess, Deener Matthews is a delight.


Another anniversary at the Swag !

5 en agosto 28, 2012

The food and room were superb. The dinning is fun and the people you meet stimulating. Another great visit in the mountains. Relaxing but, lots to do if you prefer.


Fantastic getaway in gorgeous location!

5 en agosto 24, 2012

The Swag is a very special place that should not be missed! Truly spectacular mountain top location with 5 star service, outstanding food and amazing service. The staff are attentive, helpful and friendly. The owner is incredibly warm and classy. Every possible effort is made to indulge the guests and ensure a wonderful time! It is worth every penny to stay in such a magnificent location with such thoughtful service. We look forward to returning soon!


A wonderful experience/place

5 en agosto 20, 2012

We stay at many b&bs and inns. This is the best for a place to "chill out". The rooms are all different, very nice, and interesting. The location is spectacular right next to Smoky Mountain National Park at 5,000' elevation. One can walk trails in the park or the 250 acres of Swag property. The staff is very attentive and personable. The food is outstanding. Probably the best feature of all the exceptional features is that each week there is a special activity led by different guests in residence. These are experts who lead flower walks, birding, and storytelling. In addition, the proprietors, Deener and Dan, give the place a personal feel like it is your own family's summer home.


Great Mountain Get Away

4,2 en agosto 20, 2012

Gorgeous setting. Great service from a friendly staff. Chance to meet interesting fellow travelers. Two days is not long enough. Recommend at least three.


Wonderful Anniversary Getaway

4,8 en agosto 05, 2012

Two days of heaven literally on the border of the Smoky Mountains. What wonderful hosts... This was the first of what will be many trips!


Wonderful setting, great inn!

4,8 en julio 31, 2012

The staff go out of their way to accommodate, the Swag is gorgeous, meals are terrific. Great place to relax. We will come again!


outstanding and relaxing weekend

5 en julio 29, 2012

when we were late to breakfast, the staff came to our room to be sure we were ok and asked if we would like something prepared for us. we have never had the type of service and consideration anywhere else.


Return to paradise!

5 en julio 22, 2012

A three night return to The Swag was wonderful. This is one of the most beautiful and relaxing places we've visited. Service was warm and welcoming. Food had improved since our first visit a few years ago, and was comparable to fine urban dining. Lot's of little touches make this well-run place special, and the setting is hard to beat. Can't wait to return to one of those hideaway hammocks!


Another Great Anniversary Celebration at the Swag

5 en julio 11, 2012

Rustic luxury is not an oxymoron – it’s the Swag My wife and I just spent our second consecutive year at the Swag celebrating our wedding anniversary. This year we stayed in Gail’s room and it was fantastic. Nothing in this room has been forgotten in the design, amenities; and details. The mountain view of the Blue Ridge from Gail’s room is unmatched. Last year we stayed in the Terrace and it’s obvious that all the rooms are a unique experience. The Swag is a special place. It’s rustic and luxurious. The customer service from every employee is outstanding, and the owners/inn keepers, Dan and Deener’s love for what they do exudes quality in every aspect of the Swag experience. The Swag is a must and we are planning our next trip.


A Slice of Heaven

5 en julio 09, 2012

The accommodations were beyond expectations. Everyone we talked to thought they had the best room. "The Cabin" is fabulous. My favorite room was the back porrch with a fire place and shower. This place will light any couples' fire. Every wish was met with a smile. Interesting and friendly guests to interact with or not. The Picnic was one of the best that either of us had attended in our 66 years. Great food and views beyond description. We had a special treat of having dinner with Deener 2 nights. We will definitely return. You need to spend at least 5 nights. We didn't get to see and experience everything that is available.


Another great visit at the Swag

4,2 en julio 08, 2012

We have been to the Swag 16-18 times over the last 20 years - never a disappointment. Deener and Dan are great - it's the best place we know to just relax for a few days.


Don't miss the Swag!

5 en julio 08, 2012

The Swag is a very special property made even more so by its gracious, energetic proprietress Deener Matthews. There is much thoughtful attention to detail everywhere you turn. The views are outstanding and there are numerous cozy places to sit and relax and take it all in. Hiking trails abound both on the property and in the adjacent Great Smoky Mts. National Park. The food was wonderful. Highly recommended.


Stellar accomodations and value

5 en julio 08, 2012

The Swag exceeds your expectations....if that's possible. The food is out of this world. The staff is exceptional! However, they manage to keep an atmosphere as if you're a guest in Dan and Deener's home. This isn't the pompus atmosphere of The Ritz...it is a group of folks who genuinely care about you forgetting all your worries during your stay with them. As for value, The food is worth a good portion of he room rate. They suprise you during your stay with little gifts. What's best, once you make your way on the property, not a dime comes out of your pocket. They think of everything. The views and hiking are breathtaking! Highly recommend hiking to the waterfall. I never heard the word "no" during our stay. Simply amazing. I can't recommend The Swag highly enough. We will be finding a way to make it an annual trip. Chris


"Beautiful B&B Inside and out"

5 en julio 07, 2012

Gorgeous views, friendly and accomadating staff, terrific food and a cozy room! We loved our weekend get away! We also took advantage of the fly fishimg trip for two with Alvin and had a blast! Thanks so much, we really enjoyed our stay! The Dablocks from Columbia, South Carolina


Loved Loved Loved it!

5 en julio 01, 2012

The service is beyond outstanding at The Swag. You are truly made to feel wanted, that your stay is very important to them. It is definitely worth the money. The accomodations and meals are excellent. I have no complaints, other than the stay was too short!


Awesome Inn and Setting

5 en junio 25, 2012

The Inn is located at the eastern edge of the Great Smoky Moutnain National Park at an elevation of 5000 feet. We actually hiked to the Inn on one of the trails that passes along the edge of the park to within 10 yards of the Inn. To go from one of the most beautiful areas in the world to one of the most beautiful Inns in the world was a treat we will never forget. The Swag is as good as it gets when it comes to small country Inns. Everything was awesome - the room, the views, the amenities, the service, the food, and most importantly, the innkeeper. Deener greeted us when we arrived. She was at breakfast and dinner, eating and conversing with the guests. She was gracious and hospitable, and her touch, along with her husbands, Dan, could be seen through out the Inn and property. It was a special two nights that my wife and I will never forget. We would recommend it to anyone who is looking for that special place. Tom And Valerie Ward


Review of a wonderful Inn

5 en junio 22, 2012

If you want to be spoiled rotten in an idyllic country setting, this is the place.


return to The Swag

5 en junio 06, 2012

Gorgeous setting, great service, a wonderful escape!


Best Service Ever!

4,4 en junio 01, 2012

The staff at The Swag are the most gracious and accomodating I have ever experienced. This was our first trip and we felt so welcomed. Hope to go back many times!


Ideal!

5 en mayo 31, 2012

The Swag is an absolute gem. It's a case study of the way things ought to be done. A gracious hostess and host; a magnificent setting; warm; attentive and professional staff looking after every detail; inviting, comfortable accommodations; superior food... The Swag is a perfect place to get away, relax and enjoy fine hospitality the way it should be experienced. Carla and Bob Reich


This must be heaven

5 en mayo 30, 2012

We have stayed in some of the finest inns around the world, but none finer than the Swag Inn. We were made to feel comfortable from the moment we arrived, and the service and attention to every detail never disappointed. It is truly a very special experience, from the views to the service to the food to the rooms. It is well worth the money.


Perfection in the mountains

5 en mayo 23, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights in Gail's Room at The Swag. It exceeded all our hopes for a relaxing anniversary trip. The two mile drive into the property transported us into a self-contained world of simple elegance. The staff was friendly and accommodating and anticipated all our needs. Hosts Dan and Deener were fantastic in making us feel welcome. We will be back.


Now THAT'S a bed & breaKfast!

4,6 en mayo 20, 2012

The Swag is high up in the mountains of Haywood County - as they'll tell you, the highest county east of the Mississippi - with 18 peaks over 6,000'! I think The Swag is on top one of those peaks! The long, winding dirt/gravel drive up to the property helps with the reality that you are really getting away from it all. (And the drive is a bit of an adventure for us flat-landers). The Swag House is lovely- but we stayed in The Woodshed which was magical. When we left our home in Florida it was 89 degrees, but there it was only in the high 50s so we got to use the fireplace...a lot! And they provided this rather unique mixture of woodchips that made lighting a fire...even for the inexperienced, a breeze. The room was exquistely appointed...copper soaking tub, steam shower, sauna, outdoor shower and porch, a cute little living room plus small wetbar/kitchen area. The entire property sits literally on the boundary with the Great Smokey Mountains national park...so the hiking trails that you use are literally in the park. The hikes were wonderful (again, a little challenging for us flatlanders)...they packed our lunches, gave us walking sticks (with our names on them!) and instructions and sent us on our way. Dinners were wonderful affairs...you could sit at a communal table or a table for two...your choice. There was a 'cook out' night on Thursday and an elaborate picnic on Wednesday. We had a wonderful time...and the staff was consistently cheeful, helpful and genuine in their interest in our stay. This will become a tradition!


Love at 5,000 ft.

4,6 en mayo 14, 2012

Great place to get away and enjoy the Smokies and great food.


Perfect Getaway

4,8 en noviembre 27, 2011

The Swag is heaven on earth. Rustic and comfortable, yet with exquisite attention to detail.


The Best B and B!

5 en noviembre 23, 2011

Everyone is very friendly and helpful, and the attention given to every little detail is amazing. A beautiful setting, lovely rooms, lots of outdoor activities to do if you choose, and a ton of great food! Thank you so much.


Truly a special place

5 en noviembre 21, 2011

We were celebrating a special birthday and couldn't have been more pleased with this weekend. Beautiful mountain scenery and service beyond comparison. This is really a special place and we thank Deener and Dan and the staff for a memorable visit.


Wonderful Experience

3,8 en noviembre 20, 2011

Terrific hospitality, wonderful location, natural beauty and superior dining especially the Sunday Brunch.


Treat yourself, you will not be disappointed.

4,2 en noviembre 17, 2011

I could write pages, the words would not begin to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay at the Swag. Our only regret, we could not stay longer! If you can....make sure you are there for the Wednesday Picnic. The entire SWAG Staff did an outstanding job to make it special for their guests. I say guests, yet we felt like family....we did not even lock our door! Deener and staff have paid much attention to details....it showed. A favorite place from our first visit (we are coming back) is Dan's Hideaway. This private spot offers two rocking chairs and a double hammock in a secluded area of the mountain.....a small brook flows by and proved to be a great place for our wonderful lunch (packed just for us) and a refreshing nap. Can't wait to hike the other trails and see what they have to offer. We stayed in Gail's Room. The view from the porch...the rocking chair in front of the fireplace....the STEAM SHOWER and SAUNA.....and the extra surprises ...... We are happy to call ourselves "Swaggers"!! We tried the Antelope Tenderloin offered one evening, it was wonderful. If you go hungry, it is your fault. For the Alberts, it is well worth the drive from the gate....to the top of that mountain.


Recent stay at The Swag

5 en noviembre 02, 2011

Just got back from a 4 night stay at The Swag. This was our 4th year making a fall trip there and it was, as always, a fantastically relaxing and enjoyable time. Deener and Dan are marvelous hosts, the staff is friendly and efficient, the food is great, the scenery is amazing, and hiking in the GSMP is terrific. A little slice of heaven on earth if you ask me. We've alredy booked our dates for next year.


Rustic Comfort

3,6 en noviembre 01, 2011

We loved our stay here. The natural beauty was spectacular. Deener is a gracious host.


Total perfection and peace

4,8 en octubre 25, 2011

5000 feet on top of a mountain looking out over seven mountain ranges that display all the fall colors of leaves against a Carolina blue sky which catches glimpses of hawks and other migrating birds as they flow silently through the sky...... add to this an incredible bed and btreakfast that provides service and hospitality that is above and beyond anyones dreams. This is The Swag. The owners make sure that everyone has a perfect vacation and that all will come back for an exctended stay the next time. There is no place like this .


Fall Get-away

4,6 en octubre 24, 2011

This is a wonderful place to spend time -- being in the outdoors, eating good food, having stimulating conversations, and relaxing. The colors this fall were outstanding!


The most awesome place!

5 en octubre 04, 2011

This is the most incredible place. I see the view everytime I close my eyes. Deener is a gracious innkeeper and her staff is top-notch. The food is always excellent.


Fabulous

5 en septiembre 19, 2011

The whole experience was fantastic.....the setting, the staff, the food, guides to lead walks into the Smoky Mt Natl Park....it could not have been any better. We have already booked 3 nights for summer 2012.


So glad to be back!

4,8 en septiembre 06, 2011

As always the food, staff and setting are superb. The innkeepers, Deener and Dan make everyone feel special. We have returned for several years, as have most of the guests we met this weekend. The hiking, the bluegrass band, the views--all great. I think this was our most fun visit ever, but maybe I always say that. Can't wait to go back.


Comfortably Elegant

5 en septiembre 05, 2011

Deener and Dan are the best hosts as are all the employees. There's nothing like being in the mountains with 70 degree weather when it's 100+ at home AND it's a placd that has fabulous food and interesting guests!


What a Great Get Away

4,2 en septiembre 04, 2011

Wonderful place, beautiful views, friendly staff always helpful. Lodging was great, food fantastic. You will not be dissapointed.


Lovely weekend!

5 en septiembre 04, 2011

It brings joy to my heart to know of a beautiful, gracious, cool place to escape to when the temps are soaring and stress fills my days. We loved every minute of our stay from the hike, to the gorgeous room, to the delicious meals, to the lovely surprise of fellow guests that were so much fun to share the weekend with, we'll be back over and over again now that we have discovered this gem.


5000 ft high but even closer to Heaven

5 en septiembre 01, 2011

I took my wife there as a surprise for her birthday, but we were both surprised by what we found. I had heard great things, but nothing prepared us for this. This place is amazing. Stay in the "family room" cabin, and you won't be disappointed. Julie showed us around, and basically acted as concierge. She is amazing. I can't say enough good things about The Swag. We will be back.


Outstanding country inn in the Smolies

4,4 en agosto 25, 2011

The Swag is one of our favorite places to spend a few days. It is very relaxing. One can park on arrival and not even get into the car until (sadly) the time to leave. We never want to leave. We really enjoyed Donald Davis' storytelling; it is a highlight of our stay. The food, the staff, the service ... outstanding. This is an inn that one should not miss.


Our stay at The Swag

5 en agosto 20, 2011

This is a spectactular inn. You will not encounter better meals or a more attentive wait staff.If getting away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, you should try this inn. We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit andlook forward to returning.


Anniversary stay at Swag Country Inn

4,6 en agosto 09, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 days and nights at the Swag Country Inn from July 15-18. The accomodations were fantastic, the meals were outstanding and the service was impeccable. The best part was the cool weather which was a welcome relief from the 100 degree days at home. We made full use of the two fireplaces in our cabin.


Service and Dining Surpass Even High Expectations

4,8 en agosto 07, 2011

As this was our fourth stay at The Swag, our expectations already were high. Even so, the staff's friendliness and helpfulness are amazing--they greet you by name and remember details of what you like (after we shifted to sit next to one another rather than across a four-top table, we found our places set that way at dinner the next night); after we used the outdoor shower on our porch, the housekeeper put the next morning's fresh washcloths out there rather than in the bathroom's shower. I mention these small details because after several very happy visits we're no longer surprised that the food is excellent and the room is wonderfully comfortable and large. Having said that, though, we were pleasantly surprised by the food: antelope was tender and rich, pork roast was accompanied by perfect spaetzle and roasted apples. This year we caught perfect weather, too. High temperatures during our four days never topped 78 degrees; nights were cool and breezes were refreshing. We can't wait to return.


Wonderful weekend at The Swag Country Inn

5 en agosto 04, 2011

A fantastic, romantic, gastronomic and outdoor wonder place. You feel miles away from the world, but surrounded by a caring and obliging staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them to handle. Very highly recommended!


Mountain-top Enclave in Western NC

4,8 en agosto 01, 2011

The Swag is located on a secluded, picturesque mountainside that provides a rustic, yet elegant accommodation with outstanding gourmet food and unsurpassed personal service. A member of the distinguished Select Registry, the Swag exceeds the high quality standard established by the association. Guests visiting the Swag will not be disappointed. Simply the best of the 20+ high quality B and Bs we have experienced.


The Swag summer stay

5 en julio 25, 2011

One of the best vacations my wife and I have ever experience!


Life in heaven at the Swag

4,4 en julio 18, 2011

My husband and I loved this getaway. After living with beautiful vistas among the clouds, it was hard to come back down the mountain and return to our regular lives. Sonya Clark


Wow!!! Exceeded my highest expectations!!

5 en julio 13, 2011

Have stayed in many B&B's over the years and the Swag is absolutely in the top 3! Incredibly awesome beyond words in any review.


The Swag - An Outstanding Inn

4,8 en julio 11, 2011

This was our ninth visit over a ten year period starting in 2002. My wife and I look forward to our annual "pilgrimage" to The Swag in the North Carolina mountains. We enjoy hiking and renewing friendships with other annual visitors. We have already made our reservations for 2012. We have stayed in the Rock Room and Laurin's Room on various occasions.


Summer visit

4,0 en julio 09, 2011

The Swag Country Inn is a great place to go and relax away from it all, quite, and the most beautiful views. The food is so wonderful with a mixture for everyone. The only thing that I didn't like was the price, it is a little overprice even for all that they offer.


Rustic Elegance - Love it!

4,6 en julio 05, 2011

Fantastic! Had a wonderful anniversary get-away here. Every bit as advertised. If you like a lodge atmosphere with high-end amenities, you gotta go here. Hard to rate a place here that you "expect" to be "outstanding", but The Swag really is. Expensive, yes, but you'll understand when you go. Many reviewers here are 55+, but there's so much here for less senior folks who love the outdoors and a relaxing atmosphere. If you think a mountain lodge is a romantic place, this is the one to go to! The rooms are wonderful. Caveats? Hiking destinations are great, but trails might not be as "developed" as you expect. Still, great maps and directions are provided. You'll want to get out and explore this beautiful area.


Incredible experience!!!

5 en julio 05, 2011

Great Inn, wonderful people, warm receiption and incredible food. One of the best stays we've experienced. Would definitely recommend this for anyone needing time away in the beautiful mountains of NC.


A Wonderful Stay

5 en junio 27, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay and should not be missed. The staff can't be beat. The service is fantastic and the other guests are delightful.


Still the best place for a getaway

3,8 en junio 23, 2011

This was our second stay here. The last time was 10 years ago. It was even better than we remembered. It truly is a place to go to put your busy world back into perspective. Dan, Deener & staff are the key to making this oasis.


The Swag Experience

5 en junio 19, 2011

The Swag Country Inn is more than a Smoky Mountain resort. It is an experience that will leave you planning your return trip before you depart. Park your car and forget the hectic world 5000 feet below this mountain gem. All is provided during your stay. The personalized treatment from the owner and staff combined with a location that is one of the most beautiful in the Smokies puts the Swag on top of the list of the best places to stay.


Perfection

5 en junio 15, 2011

Arriving later than expected, and after dinner was served in the dining room, we were met by gracious staff and served a beautiful 3 course dinner in our room accompanied by a special cake for my daughter celebrating her graduation. The rest of our stay was no different, with every detail beautiful, the grounds impeccable, and the hikes invigorating. The room was exceptionally comfortable and the food delectable and plentiful. We loved our stay and can't wait to go back.


Amazing Experience

3,6 en junio 15, 2011

Our stay was a birthday present for my wife, she loves antique cabins. She was wonderfully suprised when I drove her up to Swag. She will remember her time there as long as she lives. Great staff, fantastic service and incredible views. Our experience at the Swag fed our souls.


Bag a Room at the SWAG!

3,8 en junio 08, 2011

A wonderful place with amazing views. The Swag is a charming venue with personalized service. You can immerse yourself in with the guests or go your own way, or do a bit of each. Deener and Dan are the most entertaining and delightful "inn keepers" and you feel as if you are visiting friends rather than visiting a hotel. They offer a warm welcome and allow the guests their privacy or get them to mingle, which ever the guests choose. You must not miss this. Whether you are local, American or international, well traveled or barely traveled, you will enjoy a stay at the Swag.


Karen Seggerman & Jim Malless 5-19 to 5-22-2011

5 en mayo 25, 2011

Ms. Matthews, Thank you and the staff for a great weekend. We have been recommending The Swag all over Lakeland. Let us know about Thanksgiving. Best Wishes Jim Mallless


magical mountain retreat

5 en mayo 22, 2011

Everything about our 2-day stay at the Swag was exceptional - breathtaking views, gracious hospitality, friendly relaxed service, delicious food. Outstanding!!


Our new favorite!

4,8 en mayo 18, 2011

We have travelled all over the world, The Swag is our new favorite. If you love gorgeous views, gourmet food, amazing hiking trails, and your every need met before you even knew you needed it, this is the place for you. They have thought of everything. There are hideaways all over the property and no need for your car once you arrive. The most refreshing place we have ever been. The best staff too!


One of our favorite places!

5 en mayo 12, 2011

Stayed for three nights in May. Where can you go for such a view at 5,000 feet, the national park at your back door, and outstanding food at every meal? Not stuffy, casual atmosphere with attentive staff.


1st guests of 2011

3,6 en mayo 08, 2011

We went to the Swag as a birthday/anniversary celebration. We were their first guests of the season and had a large staff waiting on our needs. They upgraded our room as we were the only guests on a monday night. After a lovely hike along their nature trail, we had a glass of wine and appetizers by a blazing fire. Dinner was a wonderful multicourse meal. WE got to chat with the chef, who is new this season. The next day we did a great hike in the smokies which is literally right outside thier door. They add lots of extra touches; hiking sticks as a gift, a scumptious lunch for our packpacks, birthday cake and another little gift with dinner. Lovely Innkeeper and family, attentive staff and a great Inn cat, Malcom. We had a great stay. It's a splurge, but worth it for a celebration.


do not book this inn, unless you want the best

5 en mayo 08, 2011

this inn is where we come to relax and get away from the outside world. Deener is a great host, who will make your visit very special and enjoyable. it is not for everyone, but, if you want a quite place, good hiking trails, excellent food, and being able to set your own social pace, you will love the swag. we have enjoyed our 10 stays and will return soon.


can not wait to go back

4,2 en noviembre 01, 2010

This was our first stay. An amazing place. You feel like you have your own national park and a wonderful staff and owners to take care of you


Had a wonderful time

4,8 en octubre 29, 2010

We came to hike some trails in the Smokey Mountains that were accessible from the Swag. We had a great hike with a delicious lunch included with the room. This is a unbelievably beautiful setting and the Inn has thought of everything. All the meals were great.


13 Years and Counting!

5 en octubre 23, 2010

My husband and I have made The Swag our annual getaway trip after discovering it 13 years ago. We always look forward to the beautiful and peaceful setting, outstanding customer service, and fantastic food. Deener and her staff are masters of detail. We are true Swaggers!


THE SWAG IS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY

4,8 en octubre 19, 2010

We have been to the Swag many times over the past 25 years and have fully enjoyed every visit. We went twice this year, once in the Spring and once in the Fall. It is a great place to relax, do some hiking, and enjoy the food and people including the hostess and the other guests. If you like the outdoors in the neighborhood of the Smokies you can't beat the Swag.


Rustic Elegance

4,8 en octubre 14, 2010

A fantastic resort located on a 5000 foot North Carolina mountain top. Rooms have the feel of mountain living while providing all the modern amenities. Food is superb. The staff and ownership truly know the meaning of hospitality. Clean air, beautiful views, nature walks, and tranquility abound each day and night.


Rustic Elegance

4,8 en octubre 14, 2010

Great place to just relax in a mountain setting or hike in the Smokie Mountains.


A wonderful retreat

4,8 en octubre 11, 2010

The Swag is a wonderfully rustic yet elegant retreat in the mountains. Every last detail is taken care of for you so you have nothing to do or think about, just relax. It truly is a wonderful escape. I found all of the staff to be expectioanl and the property and the views were breathless.


Pamper Yourself

5 en octubre 02, 2010

We were fortunate to join friends who had previously visited The Swag! The Swag is resort retreat for anyone desiring peaceful surrounds, beauty of nature, delicious meals, and pampering staff. From private hideaways to croquet, from Malcome to chocolates, from Deener to gardner, from views to respite, if you desire to be pampered and deserve peace, The Swag is for you.


September Anniversary Stay

3,0 en septiembre 19, 2010

Amazing setting with breathtaking mountain views. We were at the Swag for two nights and wanted to stay outside as much as possible. There are so many ways to enjoy the outdoors no matter if your preference is to be active or relax. Don't miss the views from Gooseberry Knob (a short hike). We also really enjoyed our hike with Bob and Louise Collier and would highly recommend joining them for a hike if your stays coincide. I wouldn't make plans away from the property unless you are there for several days.


The Swag is the very best of everything!

5 en septiembre 18, 2010

The food is superb, the views can't be beat, the hiking is incredible, the rooms are to die for, and the staff is fabulous!


Great people,place can't wait to return.Very caring.

5 en septiembre 07, 2010

see about!


Paradise on earth

5 en septiembre 07, 2010

This mountain top resort has been my destination for 10 years, and each year brings new and wonderful surprises. The special features during the week enable the young or older to enjoy.No one should miss the barbeque or the elegant picnic on Goosberry Knob.I love the chef's explanation of each meal's preparation as well as the beautiful presentation. You are truely pampared from the moment you arrive.


Country getaway

5 en septiembre 07, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at The Swag so much! Everything was top-notch. We celebrated my birthday there and everyone made me feel special. We went to Hilton Head and Charleston after our stay with you and they just did not compare. We plan to return next year. Thank you for making my birthday so special!


Sleep above the Clouds

4,8 en agosto 24, 2010

Amazing views, awake to the clouds appearing to be below you. The Swag Resort is an exceptional place to relax, hike and enjoy wonderful food in the smoky mountains. Our room had a great fireplace, private porch and steam shower that we truly enjoyed. The staff made us feel as if we were part of the family in for a long weekend. We so agreed with Deener (the owner) who said she had a seven-month house party. She and her staff makes everyone feel as if they are close neighbors. The hiking was fantastic and challenging for this 50ish in fair shape! I can not think of one thing I would change..


It's the best. We have gone every year since 1984!

5 en agosto 13, 2010

The minute you round the last curve on the driveway, you're relaxed. Be prepared for: gorgeous mountain views, fabulous very individual rooms, pampering by staff, excellent food, stimulating conversation or quiet time for reading, hiking trails right outside the door, the best innkeeper ever. You'll feel at home and won't want to leave. You'll plan your return as you drive down the driveway.


Relaxing at The Swag

5 en julio 29, 2010

We have enjoyed several anniversary celebrations at The Swag and we leave looking forward to our return. The Swag is secluded on top of a mountain with gorgeous views. Every room at The Swag is wonderful and the owners and staff attend to every detail to make your stay extra special. The meals are outstanding and we have never been disappointed in anything at The Swag.


The Swag..... 18 years and still coming back!

4,8 en julio 13, 2010

I have been going to The Swag for almost 18 years, and it just gets better every year. Yes, it is expensive. However, I really believe it is worth it. Each room has its own unique decorum, and every year it seems that there are updates and upgrades to the rooms. Sometimes just something small, and other times it's "Wow, look at this!" Needless to say, the location (at 5,000 feet) is both spectacular and comfortable (cool!). We like to hike, and there are many trails to select from ("easy" to "you've got to be kidding"). However, when it rains..... that is a treat too, since it signals it's time to grab a book and sit on the covered porch and enjoy the rain (or on your private balcony if you room is so equipped). The food.... it's always a treat. From the buffet breakfasts to the yummy light sandwiches for lunch, and the really nice dinner selection. Oh, and don't forget the fresh-baked cookies at 3:30 each afternoon! Finally, Deener and Dan really make The Swag what it is..... a special retreat where you always feel welcomed and where your comfort is assured. My wife and I are huge fans...... We already have our dates booked for 2011.


Absolutely Wonderful

4,8 en julio 13, 2010

The serene environment is so welcoming you can't help but relax as soon as you get out of your vehicle. When you arrive there is a huge collection of walking sticks of all shapes/sizes/textures for you to pick one and label it with a custom label you are given from the front desk. That was so much fun as you make good use of it to tour the many hiking trails and the beautiful Smoky Mountain Park. It is your souvenier to take home when you leave, and each year you come back you can add a walking stick label for that year or get a new stick. Our accomodations were perfect, the room comfortable, clean, quiet, can't say enough good things. Chef Brian made some remarkable dishes throughout our stay and our steaks were cut with a butter knife! Warm cookies and nuts at 3pm after return from a long hike. The water bottles were filled and chilled all day long for you to help yourself. (Stainless NOT plastic) The staff went out of their way anticipating our every need before we asked. The owners joined in events and circulated to visit with guests/old friends. The band was enjoyable for the Fourth of July event...and the chef made absolutely everything taste delicious. So very glad we found this wonderful treat and were able to be part of it for 3 days. Can't wait to return and to hear about our friends visits!


My Favorite Inn

5 en julio 08, 2009

It is hard to describe the natural beauty of the setting and the peace you feel. The spectacular views, the Smoky Mountain National Park is your backyard and the hiking doesn't get better. We stayed in the new suite - Gail's Room, it was the most amazing suite we have ever stayed in. The food was to die for and the personal service and warm hospitality surpassed all expectations - we will be back!


The Swag Country Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $445 - $800
  • Comentarios (164) 4,7
  • Habitaciones 14
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-8289260430
  • Fax 1-8289262036
  • Sin cargo
    1-8007897672

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba