Sandbar Comentarios

TOTAL

4,4

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,3
  • Servicios4,8
  • Estimación4,3
  • Limpieza4,6
  • Comidas4,1

Puntuación basada en
59 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Awesome- thought-of-everything-B&B

4,8 en diciembre 11, 2013

Mike greeted us and showed us around, making us feel welcome to the fridge (stocked with pop, water, tea) wine and cheese (3:30-6) use of kitchen, beach toys & chairs, towels, sunscreen, common area to books. Then he showed us our bright, clean room with private bath & gave us the room keys. We had access to laundry and small pool, and the beach across the street. His dog princess, was friendly and guests with dogs had a rear exit- never met their dogs, but guests were nice. Breakfast was a broad continental with pastries, fruit, cereal & bagels.


A perfect getaway!

5 en junio 29, 2011

My husband surprised me with a 2 night stay at the Sandbar after a week in a vacation rental with our 4 children, their spouses, and 5 grandchildren under the age of 6! What a wonderful surprise! The Lighthouse room was absolutely beautiful with classy beach decor and stunning wall colors. The home is clean and inviting. I loved the wine & cheese service each evening. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of fresh fruit, and a wide assortment of specialty teas simply started the day perfectly! The house is just across the street from the ocean and close to many of the local attractions, including restaurants. The owner, Mike ,and his dog Princess, knew exactly how to make us feel welcome. We felt like members of the family! We would highly recommend the Sandbar to anyone looking for a casual, yet classy Bed & Breakfast.


A great getaway!

4,0 en marzo 06, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sandbar to have a get-away to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. We initially chose the Sandbar because of their green and organic cleaning products and also took advantage of the Sweetheart package that included champagne, chocolates, flowers and a gift certificate to a local restaurant. We were very happy with the room, location and especially with the friendliness and helpfulness of the Innkeeper, Cara. She was very knowledgeable and provided us with superior customer service related to our dinner reservations, local attractions and eateries and was an all-around pleasant person. We were able to make full use of the refrigerator for our own food storage helping to lower our personal costs during our stay. There was wine, cheese and crackers each evening in the kitchen area free of charge and a nice continental breakfast each morning with quality self-serve options. The only thing we could have asked for was a hot breakfast each morning, but there was not a full-kitchen so the reason for not having this made complete sense. I would highly recommend the Sandbar to anyone looking for a nice, clean, hospitable B&B in a great part of Nag's Head with close beach access.


A delightful experience

4,4 en marzo 05, 2011

We stayed at the Sandbar for our annual winter birdwatching expedition to the Outer Banks. We always travel with our dogs, and have found it difficult to find pleasant, reasonably-priced, dog-friendly accommodations. The Sandbar welcomed our dogs and charged only a nominal fee for them to stay with us. Cara and her husband were friendly and hospitable, making a great effort to be sure we were comfortable and felt at home. The off-season room rate was very reasonable; our room was sunny, very clean and comfortable, and the common living room/kitchen was also bright and comfortable. I would highly recommend a stay at the Sandbar!


love this place

5 en marzo 05, 2011

The Sandbar is immaculate, quiet and very laid back. We stayed in the Mermaid room which is on the second floor. The room is cool and "beachy" and had a very relaxing view with a wonderful breeze. We also brought our dogs. The layout is very dog friendly. There is an empty grass lot with a few bushes for the dogs to putz around and do business which was also very clean (no smells). Seems everyone is respectful and cleans up after their dogs. The large private balcony can also easily be closed off with a boogie board or beach chair to keep a normal mannered dog from roaming. The beach is a few strides away and the area seems calm and also a great point to access attractions. There is nothing "doggy" about this place except the fact that they are happily welcomed. There is a small place to eat accross the street with pretty good food. The Inn keepers were very friendly and non-intrusive. Overall, this place really has it's act together.


Was an OK Stay

2,8 en marzo 03, 2011

First the area and the location were great. Along with the staff.. Just a few issues with the place that we didnt expect. First the hot tub that was meantion when we called asking about reservations and the sole reason why we rented the suite was down and filled with green water.. Second the cable TV was out.. Third the suite (3rd floor of the beach house) has Zero Privacy. Anyone can walk up in to the living area. There is privacy in the bedroom be we couldnt lock the door while we were gone to secure our stuff. Lastly, the place wasnt that clean. There were a few dead bugs and a broken globe with broken peices of glass or something sharp which was sort of unsafe... I might go back again but this time during the regular season. It seem like we were the first ones in the for a little while and they forgot to get everything running before we showed up. I was many disappointed we spent all that money to use the hot tub and to have some privacy in the suite. I rather save some money for a smaller room.

Respuesta del propietario

This is our first truly negative review at the Sandbar and we take it seriously. We appreciate the time and honesty of our guests. Some of their observations were true: they were the first guests after the house was closed for winter and our preparation for their arrival unfortunately fell short of their expectations and our usual standards. This was not purposeful and we have no intention of repeating it. We would like to point out that we were not given the opportunity to rectify any of their issues during their stay (like cable or housekeeping); nor did they mention them at check-out. We certainly would have addressed them immediately in any way possible. We also feel some of their information is misleading. They chose to rent the third floor of the beach house as a mini-apartment. They were also traveling with their dog. These choices were reflected in their rate. They were also the only guests in the entire house for the time period. At no time did we discuss the hot tub prior to their arrival. It is not a service we provide in the winter months. We did discuss the jacuzzi in the bathroom, which was clean and working. Perhaps a misunderstanding occurred here. We hope that future guests will take into consideration our long-standing commitment to quality of accommodation and service and we hope to have the opportunity to rectify the situation with these newlyweds.


Great Stay

3,8 en febrero 10, 2011

Sandbar was a great stay. The Innkeepers were friendly and welcoming. They provided us with any information we needed and was flexible in meeting our arrival and departure times. Loved that you could easily come and go as we wanted and that they allowed pets to stay.


Worth It!

4,8 en noviembre 17, 2010

On our trip my wife and i were looking for a cozy and nice place to stay along with staying in our budget. The Sandbar does that. Cara and her husband had to be away for a trip when my wife and i were at the B&B, but Cara found someone to take care of us when she was gone. During our stay i contacted Cara by cell phone and was givin locations of places to eat and sight seeing. Princess the dog had breakfest with us every morning and was ready to greet us when we got back in from our sight seeing. Clean B&B and a stone throw away from beach access which we walked everyday. A must stay when in the outer banks!


Highly Recommended

4,4 en noviembre 16, 2010

We highly recommend The Sandbar. Cara is very accomodating, provides a great breakfast and evening snack and gives excellent travel advice. Although we didn't use the kitchen, I think it is a big plus that guests have kitchen privileges and we did store our beverages in the fridge. Since this was our first visit to the OB we found the location perfect for getting to points north and south.


Great first stay in the OBX!

5 en septiembre 30, 2010

My husband, daughter and I made our first trip to the OBX this past August and came across the Sandbar on a bed and breakfast site. We fell in love when we first arrived! Cara and her husband were so gracious throughout the week! We loved having room to spread out (stayed in the Mermaid Room) and enjoyed the pool and wine and cheese hour each night. The beach accessories and towels were a welcome bonus as we didn't have to bring our own with us. The room was very clean and spacious and we were so close to many stores/restaurants and, of course, the beach! The fact that they had a refridgerator on site to store food/snacks for the week and a charcoal grill for guest use was also great. We highly recommend this location to anyone seeking a more layed-back vacation without the hustle and bustle of a hotel. We definitely plan to visit again next year!


The Perfect B&B for OBX

5 en septiembre 06, 2010

The Sandbar B&B and Cara, the innkeeper, team up to provide the perfect stay on the Outerbanks. The inn is a very well maintained and newer home just across the street from the beach and public access. They even have a limited number of beach accessories to use during your stay, first come first serve. You just can’t bet the location for the price. As the innkeeper, Cara creates the perfect balance of helpfulness/service with freedom to use the home as your own. The continental breakfast was extensive and filling, just right for starting the day on the beach. And the evening wine and cheese hour was a perfect nightcap. You can also use their refrigerator and charcoal grill to create your own simple dinner. Cara and her husband are a wealth of knowledge about the community, activities and restaurants. (You must try the Food Dudes restaurant.) The owner Mike and his dog Princess are just as friendly as can be. It was almost our home away from home.


Excellent stay!

4,4 en agosto 26, 2010

My husband and I and two of our friends decided to take an impromptu overnight trip to OBX a few weeks ago. Finding anything available for just one night on OBX is pretty much impossible, but I stumbled upon the Sandbar which happened to have a special one night rate for the Mermaid room. All four of us had a wonderful time. Cara was super nice and accommodated us even though we showed up earlier than anticipated. After a day at the beach which is a very short walk across the street, we came back and enjoyed wine and cheese and crackers with the other guests by the pool. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. Although we didn't bring our dog, we loved that it was pet-friendly. The Mermaid room was very clean and we loved having our own porch area. We had a wonderful time and we hope to come back for a longer stay in the future.


“Small B&B W/Home-like atmosphere”

4,8 en agosto 26, 2010

Best Bet for lovely Nags Head Trip--looking for a wonderful place to stay in Nags Head, NC? Stay at the Sandbar Bed and Breakfast. Cara, the inn-keeper is a wonderful host. You actually feel like you're staying in someone's home...communal kitchen...bikes to use...pool/beach toys to share, etc.... And the breakfasts were healthy and satisfying--there was a bowl of fruit always accessible day and night--not to mention the nightly wine/lemonade and cheese/crackers put out each evening. The Inn is centrally located with several restaurants and gallery/shops within walking distance, including a tasty ice cream shop only a half-block away. Take a look at their website...you'll be booking.


a home away from home

4,6 en agosto 19, 2010

It is always a guess when you have booked your room from abroad what you'll find upon arrival, but this was a very pleasant one. We - a family of 4- stayed 3 days at the Sandbar Inn and thoroughly enjoyed it. The relaxed atmosphere, the fact that we could use the kitchen, pool, laundry facilities and the spacious bedroom with veranda all added up to our positive experience. But most and foreall, the personal advice and help of the innkeeper and her husband made it a home away from home experience. Great location also, you only have to cross the road to reach the beach. So we loved our OBX experience!


Sandbar-the Mermaid Room

4,8 en julio 26, 2010

We came to the Sandbar after happening to come across it on a bringfido.com, which is a website designed to show you places that accept pets. It was supposed to be my fiance and I plus two other people and we were arriving on Friday and Wednesday we found out the other two couldnt come. So we called Cara to say we might have to cancel, she was very nice and helpful about it. She offered to lower the rate since it was just the two of us coming. In the end we did end up coming and we stayed two nights in the mermaid room, which was very nice, clean, and spacious. Overall it was a great experience and I would recommend it to everyone!


amazing place !!

4,2 en julio 18, 2010

my husband , daughter and our dog , visited the outer banks and stayed at sandbar bed and breakfast . although a little pricy , everything was clean and it was as if we had our own private condo . Cara and his husband mike are friendly , helpeful and full of great rec ommendations . the wine and cheese before dinner was just wonderful . we really enjoyed our stay and hope to visit again soon .


Relaxing and Comfortable Time

4,4 en junio 27, 2010

Loved the location and the atmostphere. The room was very nice, bed comfy everything CLEAN. The Innkeeper Cara and family are super nice! The Inn is cosy, only three rooms, but roomy for a beach house. We visited in May so area was not crowded, but all rooms were used at different times while we were there and we still felt we were enjoying it all on our own. Loved that! We definently will return and reccommend it to friends.


Most comfortable we've ever been at a hotel/B&B

4,6 en junio 23, 2010

The Mermaid Room was clean, bright, airy, and spacious with simple yet pleasing decor. Cara was a wealth of information about restaurants in the area. Tortugas Lie, Blue Moon Grill, and the Pier for breakfast were all great recommendations. We even called her on her cell to ask for a nice place to eat lunch on the Sound while we were driving around town and so enjoyed soft shell crabs at Sugar Creek. She and her husband Michael were very friendly and welcoming. Other reviews have mentioned the owner, Mike, and his dog, Princess. They were in residence for most of our stay, but the little bit of noise from above didn't bother us. We had our 8 month old daughter with us, so we were up well before we heard anything above us. We were concerned about Princess when we saw that her owner would let her wander down to the breakfast room by herself, but other than carefully watching us, she did not intrude. Breakfast was an ample assortment of fresh fruit, bagels and other breads, hot and cold cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea, juice, milk and one special treat that changed each day (cheese danish, muffins, chocolate cream horns). The wine and cheese was a varied offering of reds and whites with four different cheeses and crackers. Both breakfast and the wine and cheese were thoughtfully arranged for easy self-service. We particularly appreciated the wine and cheese arrangement because it was available to fit our schedules. All in all everything is arranged so that you can easily serve yourself with help only a phone call or shout away; nothing is intrusive. My husband, who is rather particular about cleaniless and presentation, said it was the most comfortable he has ever felt away from home. We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean.


Incredible beach getaway!

5 en junio 22, 2010

My significant other and I took a 3-night vacation to The Sandbar after classes ended in June. It was everything we expected and more. We stayed in the Mermaid room and it was absolutely incredible with its adorable, beachy decorations and our own personal porch facing the ocean. We had breakfast on the porch every morning and enjoyed our afternoon wine and cheese there in the afternoon. We even took the complimentary kayaks out in the ocean and it was a blast! Cara and her family were so very hospitable and gave us everything we needed, including great recommendations on places to dine! Overall we loved it and will definitely be back!


nice stay

3,6 en junio 10, 2010

Kara, the innkeeper was very nice and helpful. Great location. Very clean. Only complaint would be the Ocean Room is a little small and the downstairs commmon area was kept so chilly it was unpleasant to spend any time there.

Respuesta del propietario

All guests are shown the thermostat at check-in and are encouraged to adjust the temperature as desired so there's never a need to be uncomfortable. However, after reading this review, we immediately closed the air conditioning vents on the first floor half-way. In order to keep the bedrooms cool, the first floor often gets chilly... Probably because hear rises it is usually warmer on the second level. We believe this will adequately adjust the issue and appreciate the feedback!


Nice Rooms, Excellent service and convenient.

4,0 en mayo 23, 2010

We enjoyed our stay.


Mom and I visiting Sandbar

4,0 en mayo 20, 2010

My mom and I were coming to visit my son for his birthday and we found the Sandbar online. We stayed in the Mermaid suite and had a beautiful room with a lovely view. The bathroom was amazing just like new. Our wine and cheese happy hour was great!! Very clean and comfortable!!


Great Bed and Breakfast

4,6 en mayo 20, 2010

Great bed and breakfast literally across the street from the beach. Generous breakfast and snacks (cheese and crackers and wine) at 5pm. Great selection of wines and beverages are available all day long. There is a pool outside the inn. The rooms are sufficient and nicely decorated. We took the vacation with 10-month old. We really liked that there was a kitchen available at all times as well as refrigerator. When the baby was asleep upstairs we could still hang out downstairs in the living room with tv, books or games. The service was simply outstanding. Cara would do anything to accommodate a guest if she could. Lots of good restaurants around for dinner. We would truly recommend this inn for a family vacation.


Excellent service and affordable price!

4,2 en mayo 20, 2010

The Sandbar is a delightful B&B. They have everything you could possibly look for in a B&B at a very reasonable price. Cara is extremely accomodating and flexible if ou have any particular requests or concerns and you can tell that she genuinely loves running the B&B. I will definitely return on my next trip to the OBX.


Comfortable and Cozy Beach House

3,6 en mayo 19, 2010

Great location with beach access within 5 minutes. Hot location for great eats and treats. Cara was very informative and willing to recommend local places of interest. Fantastic views from any angle. Fully equipped kitchen. Would stay again. Nice stay in May.


Relaxing Visit

4,0 en abril 15, 2010

I found the Sandbar a very "laid back" and relaxing B&B. I really enjoyed the continental breakfast that was set up during certain hours. If you wanted to walk before breakfast, it was ready when you returned. The innkeeper and owner were very hospitable.


What a Fantastic Place!!!!!

4,6 en abril 06, 2010

My niece and I spent two fantastic nights at the Sandbar Inn. What a place! The location is great--walk across the street and there is the beach. The innkeeper, Cara, is one of the most dedicated people I have ever met. She went out of her way to greet us, made us feel right at home, and answered questions about gallery row and dining. I have traveled quite extensively and I have to say the Sandbar ranks at the top of comfort, cleanliness, and certainly service. I can't wait to come back!


Comfortable and accommodating inn

3,8 en marzo 22, 2010

I recommend Sandbar for its comfort, friendliness and amenities. The innkeepers were helpful and the room was very pleasant.


Choose the Sandbar Inn!

5 en marzo 22, 2010

Outstanding in every way -- rooms immaculate, service perfect, location excellent. The innkeeper is very nice and personable, and will suggest places to eat, give you directions, etc. You will not regret choosing the Sandbar Inn for your stay in Nags Head!


Perfect getaway

5 en marzo 03, 2010

The Sandbar was a perfect getaway for the wife and myself. The location is great. Very close to the beach, restaurants, and other attractions. Cara the innkeeper was extremely generous and very nice. Would defiantly take another trip to the Sandbar.


Couldn't have asked for more!

4,4 en marzo 02, 2010

We chose to stay at the Sandbar for our babymoon off-season and ended up having the place to ourselves for an incredible price! The location was great, the innkeeper friendly and helpful, and the experience was everything we wanted it to be. I will definitely recommend this to anyone!


Best place to stay at Nag's Head

5 en febrero 27, 2010

Of the handful of places I've stayed at Nag's Head (the Colony and various chain hotels/motels amongst them), the Sandbar is the best. The innkeeper, Cara, was always courteous and friendly, prompt, and helpful in identifying local restaurants and places of interest. The room in which we usually stay, the Mermaid Room, has always been clean, well kept, and decorated tastefully in a fitting beach motif. The available kitchen, nightly cheese and wine, and breakfast are a very nice touch. In addition to the other amenities, there's a closet with extra beach gear, like boogie boards and beach chairs in case you forgot anything. I highly recommend the Sandbar for its close proximity to the beach, high quality of stay, and friendly staff. Oh, and if you like dogs, the inn owner's dog, Princess, is a wonderful presence in the house. She visited us a few times, and was nothing but friendly and gentle. She likes getting her back scratched! Go to the Sandbar! You won't regret it.


A great little get away!

5 en noviembre 09, 2009

This place was exactly what we needed, a nice quiet get away. The rooms were great and the staff was excellent.I would highly recommend the Sandbar Inn.


The Sandbar B&B - a highlight

5 en octubre 29, 2009

my parents and me visited the outer banks this september. it was a pleasure stayin at the sandbar. very clean and bright rooms - well decorated - let you really feel that you are on vacation! Sara-the Innkeeper is very helpful and friendly. describing it in one sentence IT IS PERFECT!! Don't miss to visit the Store "Something fishy" next door. enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!


Nice location from beach, cozy rooms, plenty of food, great stay for couples or families

5 en octubre 20, 2009

We went this summer (2009) and had a great stay at Sandbar. The rooms were clean, great breakfast and evening snacks plus wine, quick access to beach and personalized service are the highlights of our stay. This was our first time in B&B and we thoroughly enjoyed it.


sept in outerbanks

3,6 en octubre 18, 2009

although the weather was not the best, the sanbar B&B and the casualness of the inn was superb! Cara was very informative and the breakfast and afternoon spreads were excellent. ope to be back soon.


A sandy and a cuty B&B!

5 en octubre 17, 2009

Sandbar was a random pick from the BedandBreakfast.com. My husband and I wanted a long week-end vacation (Friday to Monday) in the middle of September, a place to remember in an off-season time. I looked at Sandbar's website I completely liked it! We also got a great package of almost 50% off the regular price. I called for more details and spoke to Cara, the innkeeper. She filled the gaps straightaway and I can honestly say she had warmth in her voice which prompted me to book without delay. We drove from Maryland to Sandbar and arrived late in the afternoon. The B&B was very easy to find, accessible by car, and although it is not located at the beach, it is actually almost 50 yards away. You sleep and wake up listening to the waves breaking on the shore! Our room was to our satisfaction, clean and tidy. Thank you Cara for making us feel comfortable and relaxed! We will definitely consider going back!


Great week at the Sandbar

4,2 en octubre 11, 2009

Our first visit to the Outer Banks was all the more enjoyable due to the hospitality at the Sandbar B&B. Excellent location, close to the beach and restaurants. Bright, clean and comfortable rooms. We appreciated kitchen privileges for tea and snacks, or a quiet carry-out meal. Innkeeper Cara provides thoughtful extra touches including afternoon wine and cheese, and goes out of her way to help with special requests. We will return.


Great B&B

4,0 en septiembre 30, 2009

We really enjoyed our vacation here. The innkeeper was overly helpful. Would stay here again!


A Great Place

4,6 en septiembre 22, 2009

Excellent service, the innkeeper really went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were larger than expected from the pictures and the house was very clean and comfortable. Excellent access to the beach. Definitely can recommend the place!


This is the Beach House

4,8 en septiembre 15, 2009

This is a great location for a beach vacation. The Sandbar Bed and Breakfast is located across from two beach access points to a beautiful, peaceful, clean, and non-crowded beach. The Sandbar accommodates beach goers very well with beach supplies, (chairs, umbrella, toys, books, packed lunches), and refreshing drinks and snacks when we came back from the beach. The innkeeper Cara was very friendly and knowledgeable with helping us find places to eat and explore. We found several excellent places to eat within walking and driving distance. The prices are good for the location and the house was clean. We now have a new vacation destination for the beach thanks to Cara and the Sandbar Bed and Breakfast.


Great place to stay for our Summer Vacation :-)

4,6 en septiembre 14, 2009

If we are ever in the Outer Banks again, we will defiantly stay at the Sandbar B&B. My wife and I (in our late 20's) stayed 5 nights at the Sandbar during our summer vacation to the Outer Banks. There was a comfortable living/dining room on the ground floor and the bedrooms were upstairs. We stayed in the Lighthouse Room and found it very clean and comfortable. All of the rooms have their own bathroom and our was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and the decor was lighthouse/beach themed. There was also a washer and dryer available to the guests in the house which was a nice feature to have at a beach house. The property was located across the street from the beach access over the dunes, there were some beach accessories at the house for guests to use. It is located in a quiet part of town, though near everything you would ever need or want to do. We were able to walk to dinner a few nights as well as to local art galleries. We were just a very short drive from other great restaurants, services, Wright Brothers Monument, Roanoke, and the Cape Hatters Nat'l Seashore. Cara, the innkeeper was fantastic! She was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating to our needs. Every restaurant she recommended to us were local spots, not "touristy", a great value, and absolutely delicious!!! The breakfast was simple but fresh and delicious. Always fresh fruit and the coffee was always fresh, brewed and hot when we came down from our room. In the afternoon/evening Cara would put out a cheese and cracker tray and have a couple of bottles of tasty wine opened. This was very nice as we would come in from the beach, have a glass of wine and some snacks before getting ready to go out to dinner. Over all my wife and I had a fantastic time in the Outer Banks, relaxing on our vacation, and our stay at the Sandbar Bed and Breakfast defiantly added to that wonderful experience.


Get Away

3,8 en septiembre 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Sandbar Bed & Breakfast in August for his birthday. We loved the place! The innkeeper, Cara, is wonderful and took very good care of us. The rooms are tastefully decorated and we enjoyed the deck outside our room. The beach is right across the street, shops and galleries are close by and the store beside the Inn, Something Fishy, is definitely worth visiting. We really enjoyed our stay and will stay there again the next time we can escape! The owner's music is a little loud, but I liked it, although some guests may not.


Awesome Place at Nags Head

4,0 en agosto 25, 2009

The Sandbar Bed and Breakfast is an awesome place to stay while visiting the Outer Banks. It is centrally located in the Outer Banks and a short drive from many great things to see. Cara is an extremely nice and friendly innkeeper who gave us a lot of great restaurant tips and recommendations of places to visit. The beach is just a short walk across the street and there is a public access parking lot with plenty of spaces should you wish to drive there. Be sure to check out Something Fishy next door which is worth a visit. Would highly recommend the Sandbar to couples or families visiting the OBX.


Excellent B&B

4,6 en agosto 24, 2009

This was our first trip to the Outer Banks and the location and value of Sandbar was excellent. We will definitely be back!


Definitely Deserves a Return Visit.

4,6 en agosto 10, 2009

My visit to the Sandbar Bed and Breakfast was one of my best stays at a B&B. Everything from the location to the beach, the "I felt right at home" accommodations, morning breakfast and wine and cheese aternoon reception were outstanding. Cara, the Inn Keeper, was so helpful and accommodating when I was booking my reservation. She was very informative during our trip as to recommendations for activities and places to eat. She was also very concerned about the comfort and wellbeing of her guests. I am definitely planning a return visit to Nags Head and to the Sandbar.


Booming Accomodations

3,6 en agosto 03, 2009

Our experience at the Sandbar Inn was mostly a positive one. The Inn is laid out w/ three floors, the 1st is a common area that includes a kitchenette sans the oven/stovetop, full bath, & a living room area w/ TV used/accessible by all guests of the Inn. The 2nd floor is the guest quarters, three rooms & loud laundry facilities. Our room was very clean, & well laid out for the space. It is located at the back right corner of the house, one of the walls is a shared wall w/ the staircase that everyone on the floor uses to access their rooms & the owner’s suite on the third floor. The owner lives full time on premises. A small pool area is at the front of the Inn. The Inn Keeper (Cara) coordinated a few special things to make my partner’s birthday special. She bought fresh flowers for the room; put together a picnic basket w/ wine, cheese, crackers & other nibbles including a small birthday cake. Upon our arrival she called us both by name & welcomed us. Our first morning at the Inn was filled w/ loud music coming from the 3rd floor at 8am. Being on vacation, at the beach, we fully expected to sleep in as long as we wanted. From what we understood, the owner thinks it is respectful by waiting until 8am. There was also the pitter patter of a heard of small elephants coming from the 3rd floor owner’s suite. Cara was most apologetic & explained the owner’s stance. The morning after our second night, we were awakened at 4a by the neighbors who carried on an incredibly loud conversation. Then we were again awakened by the heard of small elephants up on the 3rd floor, but no music. The morning of our departure was quiet, allowing us to finally sleep in as late. The breakfasts included typical chain hotel like continental breakfast. There was wine, cheese, crackers, hummus & fruit available in the evenings. Both the meal & snack were adequate for what they were & pointed this accommodation more towards what we envision as an Inn rather than a true bed & breakfast.


OBX Sandbar

4,4 en julio 28, 2009

Cara does a great job as the Inn Keeper for this bed and breakfast, she loves what she does and it shows in her care and detail she puts into ensuring you are satisfied with your stay. The place is so nice and clean and you feel right at home and the morning breakfast and afternoon snacks are fabulous. Location is great and the pool is nice too! My only complaint was the noise level from upstairs, the floors are very thin so you hear all the noise and the loud music is hard to not hear... Made it hard to sleep in past 6am or take an afternoon nap which when you have a toddler is very important :( If it were not for that I would definitely go back.


A comfortable and beautiful place to stay in Nags Head

5 en julio 28, 2009

My mother and I just recently stayed in the Mermaid Room. We had my 2 children, ages 3 and 5 and had more than enough space. The room was adorable, had a fantastic deck and the bathroom was beautiful. The house was very clean, had tons of beach toys, and beach chairs to use. My kids loved swimming in the pool and using the board games in the family room. Cara, the Innkeeper, was great. She was extremely personable and knowledgable about the island. It was a great visit and we will surely be back again!


We will be back!

4,2 en julio 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Sandbar B&B for our honeymoon and loved every minute of it! The location is excellent for beach-goers and shoppers alike. Cara, the innkeeper, was phenomenal making you feel at home and knows the local cuisine and shopping like no other. We look forward to staying at the Sandbar soon!


Great inn with superb location

3,8 en julio 27, 2009

The innkeeper was extremely friendly, inviting, and helpful. The room was nice and clean. The location is excellent in downtown Nags Head. The breakfast was nothing special.


A home away from home

4,6 en julio 27, 2009

My daughter, grandchildren and I had a great experience at the inn. Cara was very helpful and anxious to help in any way she could. We are looking forward to our next visit to the Sandbar B & B.


Our Miny-Moon

4,4 en julio 04, 2009

My wife and I recently visited this beautiful bed and breakfast after our wedding for a "Miny-Moon"; just a little weekend getaway until we the time away from work for a full honeymoon. The experience was outstanding and the staff at the Sand Bar are very helpful with any details of trip, even those outside the services they provide directly. We will definitely be visiting them again in the near future, and we recommend it to everyone we know!


Affordable Fun

4,2 en junio 29, 2009

My daughter had just graduated from college and we wanted some girl's time in a really different place from where we live in Colorado. The Sandbar was perfect! Cara, the innkeeper is great at her job, friendly and the continental breakfast and late afternoon wine and cheese were the best! The beach is only a three minute walk. The Sandbar also has extras, like two bikes to ride, sunblock, beach towels, etc. We had a blast and couldn't have asked for more. Thanks to Cara and Mike M. for such fun!


Fun, hospitable getaway

4,2 en mayo 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Sandbar B&B for one night and were impressed with the hospitality and amenities, especially the wine and cheese, the breakfast spread, the afternoon snacks, and the beach items including sunscreen and brand new beach chairs. Cara made us feel at home and was helpful with restaurant recommendations especially Tortuga's Lie, but not Awful Arthur's - it was smoky and overpriced. The inn is convenient to the beach and walking distance to restaurants. The pool was not clean to swim in but we were there in May. The owner plays kind of loud music all the time which we didn't mind because we liked the music but other people might not like that. We would definitely stay there again - the price is good!


Pleasently Surprised

4,6 en mayo 27, 2009

This was our first time ever staying at a B&B, and I must say, I was blown away. The house is so very clean, and every room is tastefully decorated with not to much and not too little detail. Bathrooms were very clean, linens were good quality, and the service was spectacular. Cara responded to any questions we had, left out great wine and cheese for us every evening, and was accessible at all times. I'd definitely stay here again! p.s. Owner has a very cute store next door!!


Casual Beach stay

4,4 en abril 24, 2009

We recently stayed at the Sandbar and the new innkeeper, Cara, was friendly and helpful as we planned out things to do. The house is relaxed and sooo close to the beach! And the surf is killer. We'll be back.


Lovely accommodations!

3,8 en septiembre 26, 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful 4 day stay at the Sandbar. What a lovely home. Katy and Travis and "Princess" made us feel right at home. If you are looking for a homelike stay that is steps from the beach, shopping, and restaurants this is the place. We will definitely make another trip to the Sandbar again.


Wonderful for a relaxing weekend at the Beach!

4,0 en junio 06, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this bed and breakfast for our anniversary weekend. The location was wonderful and it was so quiet and relaxing. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast, and afternoon wine and cheese were a delight. The beach is right across the street and there is private pool for your own use. The Innkeepers Travis and Katy were very nice and made our stay memorable. We can't wait to come back again!


Sandbar

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $89 - $249
  • Comentarios (59) 4,4
  • Habitaciones 3
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-2524891868

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba