The White Doe Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,7

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,8
  • Servicios4,8
  • Estimación4,4
  • Limpieza4,8
  • Comidas4,7

Puntuación basada en
49 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Much Needed Relaxation

4,8 en junio 14, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the White Doe Inn! Bob and Bebe are gracious hosts and made us feel right at home. I'm looking forward to another trip to the White Doe soon!


Anniversary at the White Doe Inn!

4,6 en julio 06, 2012

Surprised my wife with a weekend getaway to OBX for our 26th anniversary. The White Doe Inn was everything they advertised, beautiful rooms, great service, and superb hospitality! Bebe and Bob took the time to visit with all their guests and certainly added that "personal" touch to our stay. We will be going back.


Absolute elegance and excellence

5 en junio 16, 2012

This is by far the most wonderful experience at a B & B that I've ever had. The entire house is an historic landmark with beautiful gardens. It is amazingly updated with such a touch of flare. Bebe and Bob are delightful people. The cook, from Brazil, created beautiful and tasty breakfasts. Everything--the room, the bed, the ambiance, the food, the conversation---was exceptional. I'd venture to say that this rivals the best of the best!


Great time away for anniversary

4,8 en febrero 28, 2012

Had a great time getting away for our anniversary and Valentine's Day. This is a charming Victorian B&B filled with period antiques and pictures. It is a couple of blocks from downtown Manteo and its dining and shopping. The room was a great retreat and the service from the owners and staff was incredible! Highly recommend the garret room where we stayed. It is on the top floor and very private. The breakfasts were excellent and expertly prepared and we enjoyed getting to know the other guests at the table. It even had a gourmet expresso/coffee machine that we could enjoy any time day or night. This was a great place for us to get away and we look forward to returning soon!


THE BEST!

5 en noviembre 29, 2011

This place was gorgeous! We loved every relaxing moment of the stay. We actually were able to look into every room in the inn and have made a list of at least three other rooms we plan to come back to spend a night or two in! The breakfast was great! The in-room couples massage was spectacular! This trip couldn't have been any better! Thank you so so much!!!!!


Very Romantic

5 en octubre 12, 2011

Wonderful Inn. Owners very friendly and accomodating, breakfast superb, staff fabulous!. Loved the ambience of the house. Comfortable, indeed. Unfortunately it rained the enitre weekend and we could not enjoy the beautiful gardens. Cannot wait to go back!


White Doe Inn

4,4 en agosto 01, 2011

Wonderful place but had mainly the same breakfast each day which was some kind of quiche. We went in August of 2010 and the weather was extremely hot. Breakfast was served outside with all sorts of mosquitos etc. and flowers falling into your food. Nice people and a beautiful place but was not satisfied with the breakfast being served in extreme heat.


Immaculately kept B&B - don't hesitate to book

4,6 en mayo 18, 2011

The rooms were decorated beautifully. The gardens were well manicured and numerous fountains were lovely. We visited in early May and weather was great so we ate outside on veranda every morning. The breakfast table was decorated elegantly with beautiful table decor. The Inn was immaculately kept and the service was exceptional. I will be visiting again. The White Doe Inn is the epitome of a high end bed and breakfast.


First Time

4,4 en mayo 05, 2011

Being from Kingsburg, California, we had never experienced the Outer Banks hospitality. Bebe and Bob Woody run a first-class place. We had a wonderful two-day stay.


A great place for a relaxed honeymoon.

4,0 en mayo 04, 2011

A nice location: walking distance to restaurants, cafés, and shops in Manteo; close to a good bike path; and within easy striking distance of the Outer Banks beaches, but not right in all that sprawl. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, but not in a pushy way. And the breakfasts and snacks are just evil.


Quiet Anniversary

4,0 en abril 18, 2011

Away from children, just my better-half and myself, not a breafast eater but wow! that was GOOD, Lafeyette, you know who you are awesome landscaping. We will be back!


CHARMING and Perfect. The little touches add so much

4,4 en enero 11, 2011

We spent two nights during the offseason. It was very cold (26 degrees) and the in-room fireplace made for a romantic and comfortable evenings. We loved the wine pantry and the parlor was VERY inviting. The soft music, dim lights, Christmas decorations, extensive library, fireplace - perfect. The off-season rates were a fabulous deal and the location was convenient to shopping, dining, sights. Highly recommend. One of the best B&Bs I've visited.


Christmas at the White Doe Inn... must be experienced

5 en enero 09, 2011

Decided to spend the Christmas weekend in an out of the way B&B. Found the White Doe Inn and decided it was the place. The reviews, the website, the pictures, don't do the place, the proprietors, or the staff justice. We had an amazing time, and the staff were incredible. We have stayed at many B&Bs over the years, but The White Doe Inn may very well be the best of the best on our list. As an FYI.... Be careful about where you eat for Christmas... Not a lot of places open, and those that are may not be what they advertise since the island is a tourist destination and the winter is the off season.


Anniversary

4,6 en octubre 05, 2010

We stayed in the Virginia Dare room for our 5th Anniversary and the room was just so lovely and romantic. I did not rate the room 5 stars due to a bit overcrowding of furniture in it...however most B and Bs do this. Nevertheless, it was beautiful, as was the entire B and B. The service and breakfasts were amazing. Breakfasts are served out on the porch in four wonderfully proper courses complete with fine tableware and royal purple linen. My husband and I really appreciated having our own private table. The staff was friendly and gave excellent recommendations for dinner and entertainment. I would highly recommend staying here.


White Doe Inn

5 en septiembre 13, 2010

We'd stayed here for our first wedding anniversary. It was perfect.


Retreat

5 en septiembre 06, 2010

It felt so refreshing and calming to step through the doors of the White Doe Inn. The staff make it a special place ever eager to meet your needs and assure you stay is as good as possible.


A relaxing escape.

5 en agosto 03, 2010

A delightful respite from a family visit. Very comfortable, tastefully appointed rooms. A delightful, very helpful staff. Quite enjoyed the multi-course breakfasts -- a wonderful way to start the day. Very conveniently located to the Manteo waterfront with charming shops and restaurans. This is one of our favorite places on the Outer Banks.


A Lovely Inn

4,4 en julio 24, 2010

My husband and I have been to many B & B's and this one was one of the wonderful ones. Everyone was extremely friendly and kind. I'm an avid tea drinker and to have hot tea at the ready.... all day.... was wonderful. The breakfasts on the terrace were exceptional and the cakes and goodies in the afternoon were some of the best I've ever had. They have a cute little gift shop and the grounds were lovely. Manteo is such a quaint little town with lots of interesting little shops. We will be visiting again. Betty Wimmer


Exceptional Hospitality and Attention-to-Detail

3,8 en julio 11, 2010

We stayed in the Scuppernong during the Independence Day holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The bed was super-comfy, the 4-course breakfasts were scrumptious, and Bob and Bebe could not have been more welcoming. We were also spoiled with the opportunity to help ourselves to excellent cappucinos/espressos and teas any time of the day or night, in addition to the mouth-watering munchies the Inn's chef put out on the dining room table every afternoon. One particular thoughtful detail was the selection of good wines available for guest purchase. We enjoyed two of our dinners right there at the Inn (we ordered take-out) and appreciated not having to make another stop to buy a bottle of wine. Be sure to get to know the Inn's very handsome, very loveable feline mascot, "Peacetrain" (a.k.a. Buddy). He also made us feel very welcome :o) Like Pizza? Go to Garden Pizza and Deli. Yummy!


All we can say is WOW!

5 en julio 07, 2010

My husband and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary. WE had been searching for somewhere very special and wow did we find it.The White Doe Inn exceeded every thing we imaged our stay would be . The attention to detail and the incredible breakfasts won us over fast. We hope to visit many, many times in the future.


a relaxing B&B

5 en junio 13, 2010

A great breakfast to start your day. Staff that make you feel like family. A comfortable place to relax and spend the night.


Best B & B in the Outer Banks

4,8 en mayo 24, 2010

We spent Mother's Day weekend at the White Doe Inn arriving on First Friday then exploring the whole Outer Banks. The most delicious food we had was breakfast at the White Doe Inn. If we could have dinner there, we would have eaten there every night. We look forward to returning.


Lovely place with a soul

4,0 en mayo 08, 2010

Beautiful house on a lovely street. We really enjoyed our stay.


Romantic getaway

5 en mayo 02, 2010

Our first visit to the Outer Banks was made so much nicer by our stay at The White Doe Inn. The inn itself was just beautiful. The rooms were beautifully appointed for romantic evenings. Breakfast was served on the patio with beautiful gardens surrounding us. Perfect location for a walk to town and a short ride to Nags Head. We will be back!!


Exceptional Inn

4,8 en marzo 15, 2010

We had a wonderful stay and felt quite pampered. I would highly recommend the White Doe Inn to anyone.


Wonderful B&B

5 en marzo 04, 2010

our yearly trips to White Doe & Manteo are alway special, mainly because the White Doe & its staff are special.


Outstanding Stay/White Doe Inn

5 en enero 03, 2010

From my reservations placed on a satelite phone from Afghanistan with Beth to turning the corner on Sir Walter Raleigh and seeing the home with my own eyes. I only had time to stay one night in December, but I will be back when I return to the states. Bob, Bebe, and Beth are fantastic people and treat everyone light Royalty. - Richard Jude


Wonderful get away

5 en diciembre 19, 2009

We had a wonderful time staying at the White Doe Inn. Every thing was perfect from the arrival experience, to the staff, to the privacy of our room and amenities. Will for sure be back again.


Enchanting

4,8 en noviembre 08, 2009

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly, the room was lovely, beautifully decorated, charming and comfortable. The fireplace was an added bonus! The gardens surrounding the inn were nice, very peaceful and quiet. We appreciated Bob and Bebe's warm hospitality, we will definately make a trip back.


So fun! So fabulous!

5 en noviembre 02, 2009

We were travelling with two other couples and had the most amazing couple of days! We felt completely pampered, and had a great time talking with the hosts and other guests! Our room was lovely, and we really enjoyed the balcony area overlooking the gardens. Wonderful breakfasts! Gracious service. Within easy walking distance to quaint shopping and great restaurants! Awesome place to stay while touring the Outer Banks! Memories to last a lifetime!


The White Doe Inn is like a journey into the past!

5 en noviembre 02, 2009

If you are looking for a first class bed and breakfast, the White Doe Inn is the place to go. The inn itself is enchanting with its antique furnishings and its spectacular gardens. The 4 course breakfast is incredible when served on the terrace or in the beautiful dining room. The owners are very in tune with their guests and the staff is outstanding down to the last detail. I would highly recommend this place for anyone who wants to experience the true meaning of "Southern Hospitality"!


Quality is number one at the White Doe Inn.

4,6 en octubre 29, 2009

My husband and I were a little leery about what we may encounter at a B & B. The rooms were so charming, giving our trip that touch of romance we were looking for on our 8th anniversary. The first night we found out that the bed was too small for my husband, the staff quickly switched us to the room with a larger bed and moved our things while we were out at the beach. I was so impressed by their concern and response. Bob and Bebe made each day a joy to come down for breakfast. The day would not have been complete without the smiles of our wonderful hostess. I want to thank everyone at the White Doe Inn for the marvelous trip you gave my husband and I.


Slice of Heaven

5 en octubre 05, 2009

We were blessed to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary at the White Doe Inn. Words are inadequate to express our appreciation to Bebe, Bob and staff! We were pampered and welcomed in as family. We look forward to our return.


Outer Banks as its best

5 en octubre 01, 2009

The best place to stay at the Outer banks


Perfect 1st B&B Experience!

5 en septiembre 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Garrett Bedchamber. It was cozy and romantic, especially with the 2-person whirlpool tub and electric fireplace! The 4-course breakfast was fantastic: a fruit parfait (delicious), grits (most people skipped this course), the entree (from pancakes to french toast), and dessert. Yes, dessert - from cheesecake to strawberry crepes! The breakfast was filling but not so much that you felt gorged afterwards - it was just the right amount of food. The Inn is only a short walk to the Manteo waterfront, where there are lots of dining options and great places to sit during the sunset. The neighborhood is quiet, and the Inn grounds are gorgeous. They have their own grape vines and herb garden, lots of flowers, swinging benches, etc. The entire trip was very relaxing and romantic. If my husband and I return to the Outer Banks area, we'll be sure to stay at the White Doe Inn again!


Stay at the White Doe Inn

4,8 en septiembre 23, 2009

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at the White Doe Inn in Manteo, NC. We had a wonderful stay. Bob & Bebe are outstanding hosts. The Inn is kept spotlessly clean, and is very tastefully decorated. Our room was very comfortable and the Inn is within walking distance of the very attractive town of Manteo which has both nice shops and an histroical area. The Inn is also close to some outstanding restaurants, particularly the Tale of the Whale where we had a wonderful seafood dinner. I would recommend the White Doe without hesitation.


A lovely place to reconnect and relax!

5 en septiembre 22, 2009

We chose the White Doe Inn for a night's stay as we visited the Manteo area. We found it to be very beautiful, both inside and out, with attention to every detail. We loved walking through the gardens! Even though other guests shared the Inn, we found it to be very quiet and peaceful. The innkeepers and staff attended to every detail, and provided wonderful suggestions to make our visit to Manteo a wonderful memory! We found the accommodations to be very elegant, yet comfortable. The rooms are very large and beautiful! It was so nice to have a private space to relax, but yet a wonderful "commons" area to share with the other guests. There is a wonderful grand piano in the living room! We found our stay at this inn to be one of our best ever!


A peaceful and romantic inn

4,8 en julio 27, 2009

For our 20th anniversary, we enjoyed a wonderful stay at the White Doe Inn in Manteo, NC. The staff were friendly yet respectful of our privacy. The rooms were furnished beautifully with antiques and original artwork. The rooms are set up for romance with candles, music, bathrooms with spa tubs or showers, soft beds and linens. The Inn has a very welcoming feel to it. The staff and owners know the Island and the surrounding areas well. They gave us great suggestions for restaurants, beaches and evening entertainment. One of our favorite things at the Inn was the coffee machine which offered about 8 options and a well-stocked tea/coffee bar which is available around the clock. I also enjoyed the beautiful, flower garden surrounding the house. Everyday, I spend quiet time there reading or just relaxing. I also enjoyed the close proximity to the quaint, downtown of Manteo. I often walked there to shop or eat during our stay. It is about a 5 minute walk from the Inn's front porch. All around it was the best Inn experience we've had and I'm looking forward to returning soon.


Absolutely the best B&B!!!

5 en julio 08, 2009

My BFF and I go every year for a 2 - 3 day stay. We are never disappointed. My friend's daughter had her wedding reception there last year and it was fabulous. The breakfast if phenominal and hospitality is very warming. We plan to go back after the summer rush for a few days. Hello Bob and Woody. Bev Shoemaker and Ann Brady


Back in Time

5 en junio 22, 2009

My wife, Veda and I were attracted to the Inn based on our review of its website, which is comprehensive and laid out well. Yet the website only begins to describe the depth and richness of the experience we encountered during our three days there. There were absolutlely no unpleasant surprises. We are frequent B&B'ers around the U.S.A. and this is our first "Zero Negative" visit to any B&B. The owners are both lovely people with really interesting history due to their many years with the National Park Service. The Staff and the service they render are impeccable. They are attentive, warm, knowledgeable, and over-the-top capable. The food (four-course breakfast and afternoon/evening treats) was delicious and imaginative. The dining experience was greatly enhanced by the wonderful setting on the back porch/patio, which has a lovely pergola covered in Wisteria vines. The accommodations are not done justice by the pictures, which are actually quite professional and well done. The antique furnishings are well worth the time spent admiring them. Our bed was comfortable and the linens plush. The baths are sumptuously decorated and generally large or over-large. The rambling grounds are marvelous with their quiet alcoves, gazebos, and swings. We were tempted to forego our planned sightseeing trips just so we could stay all day in one of the several swings and just relax. My overall impression is one of gentility from a byegone era and I came away with the distinct impression that I had stayed with family. I initially planned to title this review "Once in a Lifetime"; but that would be inaccurate since I know we will return to this 'comfortable shoe' of an Inn on a regular basis.


Awesome

3,8 en febrero 28, 2009

We loved this Inn. Very romantic. Lots of fun things to do in the summer. You can walk to the shops in Manteo. Beautiful.


Charming but Termite-Infested

3,0 en noviembre 16, 2008

I am a huge fan of B&Bs, and what a surprise when I checked in and the young girl who was showing us the premise and such told us that this B&B was listed in the 'creme de la creme' list of B&Bs in the states. I do have to admit, the inn was very charming, and somewhat clean. My bf and I had reserved the Garrett Room, and this was decorated with Asian antiques and such. The bed was one of those foam beds, and it was somewhat firm. Since this room is on the third floor, it tends to get warm very easily. There was, however, an extra AC unit in place, so that was good. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub for two, and next to it was the fireplace (in which you switch on). There are some so-called luxurious bath products, and one of them happens to be bath salts that were nice to dump in the tub and relax in. There were a few noticeable stains on the carpet, but it was overall clean, nonetheless. My bf found a massive amount of termites by the tub (which was located near the bathroom windows), which lucky for the inn, I did not see. That, I believe, is a huge problem. The breakfast was mediocre - the chef came from a local restaurant, and it was a 4-course breakfast: pineapple with orange marmalade with shredded mint leaves; grits with some shredded cheese and a spoonful of butter; German eggs (which was like an egg souflee - cheesy, airy, and greatly seasoned); and cream puffs drizzled with chocolate for dessert. The chef was nice. We were the youngest couple there besides a recently married couple and an older couple. It was very quiet. The night before, you can get sodas, water, ice, and random baked treats and goods that's set out on the dining table the whole entire night. There is a 'downtown' Manteo which has random kite shops and little restaurants and such (the food is horrific). However, it was a pleasant stay, but it's overpriced and there are better B&Bs out there.

Respuesta del propietario

Response to "Charming but Termite-Infested". We were delighted that the guests found our inn charming, and liked their room, complete with effective air-conditioning, a fireplace, and a double whirlpool tub with luxury bath salts. We are proud members of Select Registry, whose members must meet strict criteria before being accepted into the association. We must, however, clarify that the White Doe Inn is absolutely and caegorically NOT termite infested. We have had a pest control contract in place since we opened The White Doe in 1995. Never-the-less, during the termite season, termites will swarm from rotten tree stumps in the neighborhood and enter surrounding residences. This is not uncommon in humid coastal areas. We wish that these guests had reported this undesirable situation so that their problem could have been addressed immediately. We had an inspection done after we read the review and no termite problems were found. We have also alerted our housekeeping staff to maintain a close watch and so far have not seen any evidence of swarming since. Manteo, located on Roanoke Island on the outer Banks of NC, is a quaint coastal village that focuses on promoting its cultural and natural resources. There are no chain restaurants by choice because the community prefers to support small independent entrepreneurs. Among the excellent resaurants in town, we would recommend Full Moon Cafe, 1587 Restaurant, Orgegas, and Basnight's Lone Cedar. We suggest that guests let innkeepers know if they are not happy or if there is a problem with their accommodations. Innkeepers really do appreciate guests expressing their opinions so that they can make sure their stay is a good experience.


Anniversary Getaway

5 en julio 30, 2008

This is an elegant, quaint, romantic inn. It made our anniversary getaway complete. The breakfast is exceptional.


A Serendipity Experience

4,0 en julio 24, 2008

We were transferred to the White Doe Inn because of air conditioning problems where we were registered to stay at another Bed & Breakfast. What a serendiptity! The warm hospitality, very comfortable facility, and delicious breakfast were GREAT! The White Doe Inn gets an A+ rating from us!


Fantastic Stay

5 en julio 08, 2008

We spent 7 wonderful days at the Inn. The four course breakfast was different every morning and beyond belief. Bebe, Bob, and/or Lisa came to our table every morning to greet us. Afternoon snacks were much more than we expected and sumptuous. Friday evenings hors d'oeuvers were something from a five star resturaunt! We also have one of their picnic lunches - deelicious! Absolutely the best B&B that we have ever stayed in! Can't recommend it high enough. Will come again. Gayle and John Mosier


Outstanding Experience

4,6 en mayo 28, 2008

Hospitality was exceptional. Everyone was gracious and friendly. We felt relaxed and special and entirely at home! Breakfasts were wonderful and sumptuous.


Delightful weekend on the Outer Banks of NC

5 en octubre 23, 2007

Fabulous food and service complemented a lovely and comfortable suite of rooms. We availed ourselves of the "always available" coffee and teas, and thoroughly enjoyed the delicious snacks in the afternoons. I had requested flowers, wine and cheese in the room for my wife's birthday; all was provided on time and was beautiful and delicious. The area (a first visit for us)is equally beautiful and lovely. The Manteo waterfront and several good restaurants are a short walk from the Inn. We had a totally delightful experience.


Romantic Weekend in Luxury

4,6 en octubre 18, 2007

A romantic weekend with my husband after his return from deployment. Had one of the rooms with the whirlpool for 2. Took a wonderful afternoon sail on the schooner. Breakfasts were amazing and very filling. 4 course breakfasts were delicious. Definatly go in the mid to late summer or early fall to avoid the summer rush down in the Outer Banks.


Fabulous!!!

5 en julio 16, 2007

This is such a quaint, lovely place. They really provide great service. Their breakfast is the best breakfast we have had at any Bed and Breakfast.


The White Doe Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $210 - $380
  • Comentarios (49) 4,7
  • Habitaciones 9
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-2524739851
  • Fax 1-2524734708
  • Sin cargo
    1-8004736091

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba