The Pond House Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,7

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,7
  • Servicios4,6
  • Estimación4,5
  • Limpieza4,7
  • Comidas4,6

Puntuación basada en
31 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

A Weekend at The Pond House Inn

4,8 en octubre 09, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at The Pond House Inn - an elegant yet unpretentious Inn. The property is gorgeous - with a number of ponds and places to sit and relax as well as a view of the sound.You can even dock your boat at the Inn dock and enjoy time at the Inn. Martha is a delightful Innkeeper who is smart, fun and knowledgeable. The Inn itself has lovely common rooms and our room was well appointed with a terrific view. The Inn sits in a quiet neighborhood and is the only Inn on the water. Perfect weekend - we look forward to visiting again.


The Pond House Inn...The Best!

5 en julio 25, 2013

As we approached the door of the inn it was a nice surprise to see the sign welcoming us. Martha is a warm and gracious hostess. The bedding and linens are the best and so comfortable. The fireplace in the room is a warm touch in cold weather. Martha cooks the best breakfast with a variety of foods, more than could be imagined. Martha sets the standard for how a bed and breakfast should be. When we have the opportunity, we will be back to the Pond House Inn. Thank you Martha


I Want to stay Forever!!

5 en junio 13, 2013

We arrived mid-afternoon greeted by a welcome note to come on in, key in room door. Quickly, upon my calling "hello" Martha appeared and assisted us in getting the lift and helping my disabled partner upstairs. She is warm, welcoming, available (but never "in your face"). The room was lovely, beautiful linen and enough pillows to share. Views of the water available from all rooms, it was so nice to rest in bed and look out. I was worn out from my previous week and wanted a serene surrounding to re-energize. This was perfect. Although we only booked for a night, I had to ask for a second night because I really never wanted to leave, ever. Breakfast served in nicely appointed dining room. Food tasty, fresh fruit, available even when not requested when submitting menu request the night before. The grounds are stupendous. Beautiful little hidden spots to sit and contemplate, read, or nap. Walk the grounds, or across the road along the river, or around the neighborhood. Boat dock available. We have nothing but good things to say about our stay, and look forward to another visit.


Great Winter Getaway!

5 en febrero 17, 2013

Lovely accommodations, delicious breakfast, beautiful water views of the river. The innkeeper was the perfect blend of hospitality and yet respectful of our need for privacy. It's only been a month and I am scanning my very busy schedule to see when I can go back. I love Elizabeth City.


Perfect!

5 en enero 10, 2013

Martha, innkeeper, serves a perfect breakfast in a warm & gracious inn. Such an inviting place, we stayed an extra day.


Great Place to Stay!

5 en septiembre 11, 2012

Excellent service, hospitality. Love the owner! Grounds beautiful -- everything you could want or need.


Big House With a Big Pond.

4,0 en septiembre 04, 2012

Nice people. Lovely olde world accommodation. Very pretty grounds. Lovely Location. I would recommend to anybody.


Beautiful!

5 en julio 27, 2012

Beautiful views of water and gardens; innkeeper helpful, knowledgeable and friendly!


Big Mistake

2,0 en junio 22, 2012

Lesson #1, never book a multi-night stay in a B&B without first visiting it. Based only on the reviews on these pages (big mistake), I booked a three-night stay at the Pond House Inn to celebrate our anniversary. Here's what we encountered: The empty main lobby had a musty, damp odor and the grounds around the Inn were un-kept. The stone steps to the "Family Room" (actually a low, converted attic over the garage) are a challenge to even the most able if you are hauling luggage. The window-style air conditioner had been left off and the room was hot and musty smelling, so we turned it on and hoped it would reduce the odor. It did not. Proprietor says it's the cypress paneling. Maybe. My wife has fibromyalgia and is sensitive to odors, particularly those of mold and mildew, and the smell of this room was a challenge for her. She had a headache, burning eyes and throat, and trouble sleeping. Use caution at breakfast, the kitchen of the Inn had no clean surface to be seen. Papers, newspapers, dirty dishes, towels and "stuff" were pilled everywhere, even around the stove area. My cheese omelet appeared to have been made from Egg-beaters, or might possibly have been microwaved - I couldn't tell, but it arrived without the English muffin and grits I had also ordered - they arrived later in "separate courses." My wife's waffle was tasty, but covered with pecans straight from the freezer, and her "butter-fried eggs" were rubbery and over-cooked. Our announcement we would be leaving early due to the aforementioned room odor problems and my wife’s difficulties was met by the announcement that we would still be charged the three-night fee for our single night stay. We were forced to split the difference of the two unused nights. My advice: if you're looking for look a nice B&B experience, look elsewhere.

Respuesta del propietario

We are sorry to hear that this guest has reported disappointment with our breakfast and our rooms. We enjoy many very complimentary reviews of our breakfast and of our rooms. Unfortunately, even a lovely weekend at a romantic inn cannot heal a broken relationship. No complaints were made about their breakfast at the time; they simply said they did not like the cypress paneling in their room. We offered them a different room, but they declined that offer and others. It became clear that they had deeper problems than we could address, and that had nothing to do with our inn. We complied with their request and refunded one night. We wish them well.


Anniversary Getaway

5 en junio 07, 2012

The house and grounds are beautiful, relaxing and quiet with a water view. Breakfast was plentiful and superb. Good coffee and a Great hostess. This was a wonderful home base for us to explore the Outer Banks. Highly Recommended!


Pond House Inn

3,4 en mayo 30, 2012

We arrived in the afternoon after a 60 plus mile bike trip. We were shown to our room and told to help ourselves to soft drinks, water and wine. There wasn't ever any wine available and only 3 soft drinks and they ran out of water. I asked for a Coke the following morning with breakfast and was asked if I had checked the refrigerator. I replied that I had and there wasn't any and she asked if I was sure. The house is beautiful and the rooms were clean but I didn't think the hostess was very friendly or welcoming.


Home away from Home

4,0 en enero 29, 2012

We arrived on Thursday Evening just before sunset. From the moment we entered till Sat. morning when we left, we were home.The rooms were clean, service was excellant,Value was above what we expected. And the food was North Carolina, down home good. Would make you think your Mama cooked it. We arrived to attend a funeral of a long time friend and comfort his wife and daughter. When we left we had made another friend in Martha. We felt so at home that we ran around in our PJ's. Left the door to our room open and shared her grandaughter with our's. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts. We will return to this wonderful and loving place. To set in the sunroom and have our devotions, and coffee. Eat in your cherry dining room. Walk your beautiful grounds around your home. And most important visit with your black bunny. She was such a surprize. God Bless you and The Pond House Inn. Oh and just to say ROMANTIC too! Even for 44 years of marriage.


Southern hospitality at its best!

5 en octubre 23, 2011

A home-cooked breakfast made to perfection. The view from every window showed the beauty of the river and landscape. Warm hospitality provided by the owner/innkeeper. A unique and memorable experience.


Southern Comfort

5 en agosto 08, 2011

This beautiful, traditional home is located right on the river. The surroundings are beautiful in a quiet neighborhood. If you love luxury and comfort you will not be disappointed at the Pond Inn. The prices are very reasonable. We will be staying here again.


Paradise

5 en julio 13, 2011

We were welcomed at the Pond House Inn with graciousness and all our comfort needs had been anticipated. The innkeeper was well-informed of the area sights, restaurants and natural areas. She directed us to Merchants Millpond when visiting the Dismal Swamp and we found the swamp to be an interesting environment and good birding spot. The property is well-maintained and peaceful. Elizabeth City is a gem. Breakfasts were served according to our preference in time and meal choices. This inn was key to making our vacation to the Abermarle Sound a delight.


Great Stay at the Pond House.

4,0 en mayo 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights. The room was beautifully decorated. At my request, Martha arranged to get some flowers for my wifes birthday. What a beautiful arrangement. The breakfasts were outstanding, nothing fancy, just delicious. Couldn't have asked for better. Loved having a recliner in the room. The grounds and location were beautiful.


Outstanding! We will come back over and over again!

5 en abril 13, 2011

Martha, as always, made our weekend one to remember. We stayed in the suite, with a warm, homemade breakfast welcoming us each morning in the main house. The landscaping is beautiful - the view from our room captivated us from morning to dusk. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic getaway, this is the place to go. What wonderful place to stay!


Our stay was memorable!

5 en diciembre 05, 2010

Martha is an outstanding hostess and the quality of our stay was memorable. I wish we could have stayed longer. I slept like a baby! We voted this the best breakfast we ever had. Also best hospitality and kindness! Traveling with my elderly mother, who said "This is the best I've ever had."


I couldn't have picked a better place!

5 en noviembre 22, 2010

This B&B is a quiet place to relax in a beautiful waterfront setting. My room was very nicely appointed Victorian style and I slept gloriously every night. The innkeeper was warm and charming and fixed my breakfast as if I was the only guest she had! If there is such a thing as 6 stars this is it.


The Pond House Inn

5 en mayo 25, 2010

A wonderful, relaxing stay. The food was delicious and the room was great.


Pond House A-OK

5 en abril 29, 2010

Large, spacious accommodations. Generous selection of breakfast items. Gracious host and lovely grounds. Excellent all around value.


Relaxing Getaway

4,2 en abril 15, 2010

Enjoy a cabin-like retreat in the over the garage suite. Step-up to the large bath, complete with soaking tub. All the amenities of home with none of the hassle. Choose your breakfast from a large and varied menu.


outstanding value!

5 en octubre 27, 2008

The setting is beautiful; rooms are comfortable and tastefully furnished. views of the water from every room. breakfast is ample and delicious. A selective menu is provided. hostess friendly and helpful.


Great/Awesome

5 en septiembre 02, 2008

Clean, quiet, scenic, nice, great food, good people, friendly, comfortable, great location and one of the city's finest.


Outstanding

5 en julio 27, 2008

The recent stay at Pone House Inn was the first experience with a B & B inn; Our experience was totally delightful. In the Inn, we were given our privacy along with wonderful fellowship with Ms. Johnson and other visitors. Innkeeper, Martha Johnson welcomed us with such grace. Everything about the inn was beautiful. The full breakfast was delicious, prepared to satisfaction. My husband and I enjoyed the conversations with Ms. Johnson regarding the history of Elizabeth City. We do plan to return to Pond House Inn and plan to explore other B & B's in North Carolina.


The Great Escape

5 en diciembre 09, 2007

We have stayed at the Pond House several times and every time is a wonderful experience! The service, food and atmosphere are exceptional! The Pond House is a great place to relax. I love escaping to the library for a nap by the fireplace or strolling the wonderfully landscaped grounds. It is a "great escape" from the hectic life in NOVA.


Breathtaking Grounds... A Bit of Serenity!

5 en diciembre 04, 2007

My mother in-law and I immediately felt the charm and history of this Inn. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The house was quiet and peaceful. The grounds were breathtaking! The breakfast was plentiful and delicious! Martha was very helpful and knowledgeble about the history of the house as well as the area! Will definitely be back!


Great Rooms & Food

4,6 en noviembre 14, 2007

Very Comfortable, great bedding, best breakfast of any B&B I've stayed at. House is very quiet, grounds are beautiful and very peaceful.


A fairy tale setting

3,8 en octubre 17, 2007

The pond house inn is found is a lovely 1940s house that is beautifully decorated. The welcome is very cordial and the breakfast generous. The natural setting is superb. However, a very unpleasant chemical odor permeated the house the evening of my stay.


All You Could Hope for and More!

5 en octubre 14, 2007

Spectacular setting, wonderful beds, delicious breakfast, totally charming house and grounds. Innkeeper has done it all right!


What a Gem!

4,4 en agosto 19, 2007

Martha was a delightful host. Our stay at the Pond House was awesome. We loved her delicious breakfast and stories about the history of the property.


The Pond House Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    ? - ?
  • Comentarios (31) 4,7
  • Habitaciones 4
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-2523359834
  • Fax 1-2523359934
  • Sin cargo
    1-8883359834
Arriba