Casa del Gavilan Historic Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,6

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,5
  • Servicios4,8
  • Estimación4,5
  • Limpieza4,7
  • Comidas4,6

Puntuación basada en
55 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Great Experience

4,8 en octubre 24, 2014

Stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful experience. The room was very nice, and comfortable. The breakfasts in the mornings were delicious. I highly recommend the stay.


A Natural Treasure

5 en octubre 13, 2014

An awe inspiring view of the Tooth Of Time and it's mountain range. Warm and comfortable hospitality each and every time we stayed.


Wonderful place

4,4 en octubre 09, 2014

Wonderful place and setting. Would stay again and would recommend. Only thing wrong was that I found some sand under my pillow. Who knows, maybe the sandman stays here. Davi Debris


Our favorite place for R and R

4,8 en octubre 08, 2014

The Casa has been a favorite family get-away for years, whether it's a 'Christmas In July Gathering' where we have reserved the entire place or an Autumn visit with friends to just enjoy the peace & quiet, the awesome stars & Milky Way, meet new people, and play a little cards and dominoes.


A Great Place to Get Away

3,8 en octubre 08, 2014

This place is a gem if you just want to get away for a night or two and relax. You can curl up before the fire with a book from the library or read it on the sun porch or courtyard.. And for those that want something to do during the day, we visited the nearby Seton Museum and Villa Philmont as well as the Chase Ranch located on Ponil Creek and the Kit Carson trading post in Rayado. All four are run by BOY Scouts of America. We also visited the Old Mill Museum in Cimarron. While the Casa only serves breakfast, we had a great dinner at the historic St. James Hotel in Cimarron. Other great places to check out are The Porch for lunch and the Colfax Tavern, "Cold Beer", about 20 miles east on Rt. 64. Their green chili cheeseburger is well worth the drive.


A wonderful place to relax!

5 en octubre 07, 2014

This was our second visit to "The Casa". It was just as enjoyable as the first: great hostess, comfortable rooms, and wonderful views.


NM at its best!

5 en septiembre 22, 2014

This place is a gem! Nestled within the Philmont Scout Ranch, it is a wonderful respite.


The Casa is a nice place to stay while visiting Philmont.

3,2 en agosto 18, 2014

Nice place to stay, but the innkeeper stayed in her room most all of the time and didn't appear at breakfast.


B&B not to be missed

5 en agosto 09, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Del Gavilan. The room was comfortable and nicely furnished, the breakfast was fabulous, and the views breathtaking. I would recommend it for anyone in the area, especially if you are visiting Philmont.


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast

5 en julio 28, 2014

Excellent location. Antelope great you as you arrive. Tooth of Time beautiful. Excellent food. Wonderful evening program.


Casa Review

5 en julio 23, 2014

Outstanding


A stay at the Casa

4,0 en julio 13, 2014

Our stay at Casa del Gavilan was generally very good. It is an old building and shows some wear around the edges, but the patio was lovely, and it was wonderfully quiet. The setting, smack against the Tooth of Time rock formation, was superb. And we enjoyed the longer hike. We found the breakfasts tasty (we stayed two nights) but a bit skimpy. The price was quite fair, somewhat below other B&B's we have stayed in. All in all, if you want a quiet place, off the path, far from any madding crowds, we suggest you check out the Casa.


A part of NM History

4,4 en julio 11, 2014

Off the beaten path, but worth the time to experience a bit of New Mexico history.


pleasant weekend at the casa

3,6 en julio 06, 2014

We always enjoy our stay at Casa del Gavilan. The only thing that could be added would be a little fresh air to the room. Not sure how they could do this.


Casa del Gavilan Has It All...

5 en mayo 29, 2014

You could not ask for anything more than what Casa del Gavilan has to offer. Truly beautiful, peaceful surroundings in which you can just feel the history surround you while enjoying the beautiful ambiance of the land as well as the remarkable Casa itself. Clean, comfortable, authentically furnished sleeping rooms, library, dining room, gathering room and outside courtyard all make one feel like what a guest of the original owner,Jack Nairm, must have enjoyed themselves. So much to enjoy!!!


Rugged elegance

4,6 en noviembre 27, 2013

This "home of the eagle" is so much more than the hotel that I expected. From the drive in--where there were a herd of prong horn grazing beside the road, to the spectacular view of the "tooth of time" to the wonderful décor of the great rooms, this was an entirely enjoyable several days. The host was gracious--a really nice person. My wife's favorite was the corn meal pancakes with blueberries. When we got home, the first morning she had to make them again. A delightful experience! Bill Sexson (physician, Atlanta)


Charming B&B

3,4 en octubre 30, 2013

Area was very beautiful and peaceful. Nice stay.


The middle of nowhere is where it's at

4,6 en octubre 27, 2013

Just outside Cimmaron, New Mexico, and a long drive down a gravel road, it is an oasis, seamingly in the middle of nowhere. Cattle graze on the range that they share with deer, antelope and elk. We even saw a jackrabbit on our drive in to this converted hunting lodge bed and breakfast. The 360 degree views are awesome, where the prairie meets the Rockies. It is situated in the middle of a Boy Scout Retreat. Our room was comfy with its king bed and gas fireplace, and the lodge is welcoming with large leather sofas, and reading library. Breakfast is delicious and the kitchen and pantry is available 24/7 for snacks. Wifi is available in the lodge.


Wonderful family stay

5 en octubre 23, 2013

We stayed with the family. The Casa was very kid friendly. Love this place


Michigan Travelers

4,6 en octubre 14, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to the Casa. My son and I had trekked Philmont back in 2000, I wanted my wife to experience the beauty of this country. Our stay at the Casa was relaxing, the food was wonderful and the Innkeeper really assisted us in getting to know more about the area. We would like to go back and visit again.


Our favorite New Mexico getaway!!

5 en septiembre 29, 2013

We LOVE coming to the Casa; usually doing so after camping in the Valle Vidal. It is a friendly and comfortable place, and we will continue to come back!! Be sure to spend some time in the common rooms, and do take the hike on the trail around the property!


Great Fall Getaway

5 en septiembre 28, 2013

I've been doing Philmont treks and PTCs just to get into the backcountry, for years. I thought it time I shared the area with my wife. I hit a home run with our stay at the Casa del Gavilan. she loved it!


Great stay in Northern New Mexico

4,6 en septiembre 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Casa del Gavilan the night before our check-in at Philmont Training Center just down the road. Thanks for a great place to stay in this corner of NM.


most relaxing and revitilizing place I have ever stayed

5 en septiembre 17, 2013

Truly a destination I did not want to leave.Wonderful spacious rooms, great place to sit outside or walk/hike around the the hills and wide open sky's to enjoy rainbows clouds sunsets and stars. We will go back as soon as we can.


Casa del Gavilan

5 en septiembre 04, 2013

Welcoming and restless in a beautiful setting.


Beautiful casa

5 en agosto 29, 2013

This property is in the middle of the Philmont Scout Ranch and has gorgeous views. The casa itself is lovely with western style rooms. The main casa has comfortable living spaces to rest, relax, read and revive. The bedrooms themselves reflect the western heritage and are more than comfortable. Our room was the Webster with a queen size bed as well as a twin in an alcove that made it perfect for our grandson travelling with us.


Wonderful get-away

5 en agosto 27, 2013

Casa del Gavilan is the perfect get-away from the stress of daily life. The setting is magnificent, and the quiet of the surroundings is mesmerizing. The inn itself is charming and retains all the patina of its age. This is not a glitzy resort, and that's why it feels so comfortable. The library has real books that you might want to pick up and while away an afternoon reading. Joe and Noelle prepare delicious breakfasts that you might find in one of Santa Fe's best restaurants. But after breakfast, they fade away and leave you blessedly alone. We felt like we had the whole house to ourselves all day. And did I mention the herd of antelope that hangs out in the front pasture? We plan on returning, and its only a 2 and 3/4 hour drive from Santa Fe.


WOW and the mountain views were good too!

4,8 en agosto 23, 2013

It was a perfect 3 night stay. The food was beyond great, rooms were clean and true to the photos, service was the best. I will stay there again and tell my friends and family to do so.


Awesome!

5 en agosto 22, 2013

Will return.


Paradice on the Plains

4,8 en agosto 13, 2013

Lovely, historic inn. Guest rooms are nicely decorated, common rooms are large and comfortable and have books & games, a telescope for star gazing, field guides, and afternoon tea and cookies. The courtyard is delightful, filled with flowers and birds, and is a pleasant place for reading and enjoying the view. There is a hiking trail on the property & deer and pronghorn antelope roam the area. The hosts are warm and welcoming. A perfect place for peace and quiet, a wonderful place to get together with family & friends.


Wish we would have been staying longer

5 en agosto 08, 2013

Stayed in the Miranda-Maxwell suite, very spacious. Enjoyed the common great rooms. The view of Tooth of Time Ridge is spectacular, particularly at sunrise. Land line computer access was nice. Breakfast was 9ish and wonderfully creative. Deer and antelope encounters common.


Breathtaking views, awesome breakfast, gracious hosts

4,8 en agosto 05, 2013

We arrived at the Casa and were warmly greeted by the innkeepers. This beautiful inn has the "picture postcard" view of Philmont's infamous Tooth of Time mountain outcropping. The breakfasts were spectacular -- homemade breads, warm fruit compote, delicious eggs. The public rooms are welcoming and full of history of the inn. We had a great time, loved the many hummingbirds in the courtyard and truly enjoyed our stay.


Loved the stay and wish to return with friends...

4,4 en agosto 02, 2013

Inn keepers were extremely friendly and were very attentive to us. It is a gem in a remote location; nevertheless is well worth the stay for the value of the property and surroundings.


great B&B

4,6 en agosto 02, 2013

Loved it


Beautiful surroundings!

4,0 en agosto 01, 2013

Unique historic property in a beautiful setting. The area is breathtaking. We were unable to enjoy the hot breakfast and were disappointed. Noelle is very energetic and accommodating. We would stay there again!


Casa del Gavalan

5 en agosto 01, 2013

Great place


July Vacation

5 en julio 30, 2013

Visited Philmont and stayed at Casa del Gavilan. The only bad thing is that it was for only two days. I highly recommend Casa to anyone wanting a beautiful place to stay. They make their guests feel very welcome. Beautiful courtyard to enjoy, surrounding mountain view, could easily have spent more time at Casa. Noelle and Joe make you feel very much at home and prepare a wonderful breakfast each morning. Thanks to you Casa!!!!


Wonderful Historic Inn

4,6 en julio 28, 2013

Noelle and Joe were wonderful, attentive Innkeepers. The breakfast each morning were very delicious. The view of the Tooth of Time is awesome. We were visiting our daughter who is a Philmont ranger so the close proximity was very convenient. We would definitely stay there again.


You Never Want to Leave

5 en julio 27, 2013

The old adobe building just shines in all its whiteness while enjoying accentuation of the deep green mountains and gorges that surround you. You cn see forever and while sitting in the courtyard in the evening, you don't want to leave until every star is counted. At these moments the feeling of forever becomes real - and you and I become unimportant. Noelle and Joe watch over your every need - not only with surprising breakfasts but quiet, uninterrupted tea in the afternoon if you wish. As they move and do you know that they are happy you are there. It took them 5 minutes to size me up and from then on they were one jump ahead of me in putting things, ideas, thoughts that I enjoy right out front. Did want to leave - but....


Best B&B ever!

5 en julio 26, 2013

My husband and I have been to many B&B's in multiple states and this one is so very special. It is in a a gorgeous isolated location of New Mexico. The innkeepers are very warm and generous and the breakfast is truly gourmet! Lots of history and hiking trails. I had an opportunity to run part of the old santa fe trail which was really cool. This is a definite must if you enjoy history, serenity, food, and a lovely atmosphere.


Touch of the West

5 en julio 18, 2013

Wonderful hacienda experience. Breakfast prepared earlier than usual for our needs for an early departure. True peace & quiet where the mountain meet the plains.


Beautiful Location

3,4 en julio 14, 2013

We spent two nights in the Nairn room and found everything to be well kept and cared for. The Innkeepers were friendly and made us feel at home. The courtyard was very nice and a comfortable place to spend the morning and evening hours. The trails on the property need to be better marked.


Great sunset and early morning hike

3,8 en julio 08, 2013

My stay was great except I stayed in the Beaubian room and would not stay there again. I like lots of natural light and with the only window leading to the walkway where people can look in, my drapes stayed shut. Other than that, the surroundings were wonderful, the Inn Keepers were the best!, breakfast was good.


What a surprise for this hidden treasure!

5 en julio 07, 2013

We found out about the Casa through the Philmont website and booked on a whim. It turned out to be a fantastic surprise! We loved every minute we were there and wished we could have stayed longer. The Casa is gorgeous and has beautiful views of the Tooth of Time and surrounding areas. The breakfast was delicious - we were more than happy with what was served. Customer service was great also. Loved the Nairn Room - more than enough space for the two of us. Also grateful for the kitchen at our disposal. Only complaint was that the internet didn't work but I can't say we really needed it. Can't wait to come back! Hope this turns into a new family tradition for us!


Amazing New Mexico B&B

5 en julio 01, 2013

Friends highly recommended this place to us as the place to stay while travelling to Philmont. Truly amazing facility and location. Staff was super friendly and super helpful. We are already making plans for our next stay when back in the Cimarron, NM area.


A superior B&B!

4,4 en junio 30, 2013

Excellent, comfortable quarters, great breakfasts, charming hosts


Delightful get away

4,8 en junio 19, 2013

Wonderful hospitality and great food


Relaxing Stay

4,8 en mayo 30, 2013

Love the history of the place and of nearby Philmont Scout Camp. Hosts and breakfasts were the best part.


wonderful stay

4,8 en mayo 29, 2013

This was a very nice B&B. Old building but clean. The area was gorgous. The only thing that surprised me was the mile of dirt road leading up to the B&B, because we were on motorcycles and I didn't do my homework. The staff was very welcoming and the beds were very comfortable. The view was awesome!! I would like to stay again.


At the foot of the Tooth of Time

4,8 en mayo 29, 2013

Our stay on Memorial Day weekend at Casa del Gavilan in Cimarron New Mexico was OUTSTANDING. The location could not be beat. I went to Philmont Scout Ranch as a young Man (22, 24) and to Philmont Training Center with my family 15 years ago. Now I was able to go staying right at the base of the Tooth of Time. The innkeepers, Joe and Noelle are so great. They have only been there a month and have really taken on the location and the Casa. They have learned the area history, and have learned the history of the Casa. The food is great. Had two breakfast and both were so good, and so filling. I love the way we had breakfast so we could interact with everyone. The breakfast alone would cost you $20 a person or more anywhere you go. In my reviews I always say the good and the bad: Good: Location, the house, the rooms, the fact that there is no TV, the food, the Innkeepers, and the price. Bad: Really nothing, I did give a suggestion to improve the wireless Internet, since the building is so thick, it only is in the dining room. I would not only recommend the Casa to everyone, I would scream it from the rooftops


"My God, it's full of stars"

5 en mayo 23, 2013

In more ways than one....I normally go for hotels but this B&B rises above all others of the kind. It was great when I stayed there 12 years ago and was even better when I was there last Sunday. The wonderful young couple in charge know what they are doing in a big way.The location is spectacular; miles away from anything and the night sky could humble even the most arrogant among us.


Excellent Service, Superb Food & Amazing Location

4,2 en mayo 17, 2013

Joe & Noelle, the new innkeepers, were determined to make our stay very enjoyable and ensure we had no issues. They obviously enjoy cooking - all of their food was prepared from fresh ingredients and superb. The location and ambience of the Casa are amazing.


Casa del Gavilan

4,0 en abril 27, 2013

The peace and tranquility of the Casa del Gavilan can not be overstated. The new Innkepers and staff are friendly, professional and very accomodating.


Great Place!

5 en enero 16, 2013

Perfect location - it was rather remote, gorgeous scenery, right where the plans meet the mountains. Loved every minute. Home built in the 1920s surrounded by Philmont Ranch. Can't wait to go back!


Beautiful, welcoming & cozy

4,0 en octubre 23, 2011

An absolutely beautiful, cozy, wonderful place! It was like spending five days in heaven. So beautiful, accommodating and wonderful! Can't wait to come back!


Casa del Gavilan Historic Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $114 - $174
  • Comentarios (55) 4,6
  • Habitaciones 4

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-5753762246
  • Fax 1-5753762247
  • Sin cargo
    1-800GAVILAN

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba