Astoria B&B Comentarios

TOTAL

3,8

Más info

  • Habitación
    3,8
  • Servicios3,6
  • Estimación4,1
  • Limpieza4,0
  • Comidas3,4

Puntuación basada en
14 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Outstanding place to stay!

5 en agosto 14, 2014

Our group of 5 stay absolutely loved it here. It's in a safe neighborhood only a 5-10 minute walk from the subway station. Mr. Damian is a fantastic host, very friendly! Our pantry and fridge was kept stocked, and our rooms clean. They even accommodated for the large party with a third mattress. Our private basement room had it's own private entrance.


Great way to stay in NY

3,8 en julio 10, 2014

Three of us stayed quite comfortably for four nights ending July 5, 2014. No complaints from anybody! Breakfast necessities were in the fridge and cupboards, a grocery store is close, and a great German pub a mere couple of blocks away. Access to the subway is fine. We plan to return.


Fantastic deal

4,6 en enero 27, 2012

First, I'd like to say there were absolutely no complaints. Reading other reviews, I saw that some people said it was stuffy, crowded with little light, but I did not find that to be the case. It is a basement apartment, but, did I mention, it's a basement apartment! You get a living room, small kitchenette, bathroom and sleeping area. Let me say, if you are like a lot of attention and are looking for a room with a view and warm breakfasts cooked every morning, you are going to be disappointed. But if you like being able to come and go as you please, make your own hours, and have your own mini apartment to yourself, then this is an awesome place. It's very close to the subway, it felt safe, and Claudia was nice and made herself available. And for the price, in NYC, I can't imagine finding anything better. Would go back in a heartbeat.


Very nice place in a nice neighborhood

4,2 en agosto 14, 2011

Lots more space than most rooms; really almost like having a 1 bedroom basement apartment, since you have your own bedroom and also share a living room next door with the proprietors (who are rarely downstairs). Claudia is very nice and very attentive (but not to an obnoxious degree). The neighborhood is nice and convenient. The only negatives were (1) the mattress was too soft for my back (which reflects my idiosyncratic tastes- if it was harder I'm sure other guests would be displeased because it was too hard) and (2) when I emailed trying to book another stay I didn't get a response!


Astoria B&B was just what we needed!

3,8 en abril 17, 2011

Very convenient for traveling into NYC. Claudia and Theo are very friendly and helpful, and Claudia kept the refrigerator and pantry well stocked for us. Rooms were a bit crowded, but the beds were comfortable and it was nice to have our own bathroom. Kitchen has a microwave, toaster, coffee maker and full size refrig. Good variety of restaurants nearby, and a grocery store and a laundromat as well.


Fine for the price but not exceptional

2,8 en septiembre 13, 2010

What you need to know: 1. This is a basement apartment so it has little air or natural light (although there is some) 2. The neighbourhood is safe 3. It is convenient for visiting Manhattan The weather was very warm whilst we were there so the apartment was quite stuffy, the only option for some air was opening the back door, exposing a screen covered with a mosquito net. I wouldn't say that the hosts were unfriendly, but they were a bit distant (perhaps because Claudia's English is good but not fluent?) - our only contact over was checking in and paying. Overall, fine at the current price but not a hidden gem. If you can afford more go elsewhere.

Respuesta del propietario

While the window to the front does not open, you can open the front door and leave just the screen door closed so that air can come in. If you also open the back door this will create cross ventilation as desired. The screen door for the front can be locked from the inside, so in the summer months it can stay open even while you sleep. Alternatively, there is also air conditioning. It is a basement apartment with an incline leading down to it from the street (see the photo), about 2-3 feet below street level. To the garden in the back there are two steps up.


Cozy and comfortable

4,0 en agosto 17, 2010

My friend and I just stayed at the Astoria B & B. The place is a nice cozy apartment on the bottom half of a private residence. It definitely was a great location in a very safe neighborhood of Queens. It's only a few blocks (no more than 10 min walk) to the nearest subway station that will take you anywhere from Manhattan, Brooklyn, etc. We used the subway every single day and it was a bargain at $2.25 a ride anywhere we wanted to go. The fridge was stocked with loaves of bread, milk, juice, water, jams, peanut butter. The cupboards were stocked with cold cereals, oatmeals, teas and coffee. We didn't get to meet Claudia but did get to meet her husband Theo. He was very nice. The price was a great deal compared to all the expensive hotels in the Manhattan area. I would definitely stay again.


Astoria B&B a gem

4,0 en mayo 11, 2009

We really loved our 4-day stay. Claudia is wonderful, the apartment is generously sized, clean and quiet. The only reservation we have is that if you drive (as we did) it can be very challenging to find parking.


Astoria Bed and Breakfast

2,6 en septiembre 30, 2008

The neighborhood in the district is ok. Peaceful and nice. The rooms used for customers are ok. I have marked the Service with 2 stars only because during our stay there the landlords were out of town and we had to call up for a relative to ask for this and that. I am sure this cannot happen during a normal period of time when everybody is home. The worst thing is breakfast. But I think people could clarify this before booking the room. It is better to ask what is the breakfast consisting of. The rest is ok.


Would stay again

4,2 en julio 25, 2008

Our family stayed for several days and the convenient location to the city, coupled with the amenities we needed traveling with our children was perfect. We would definitely stay again.


July 2008 stay

2,6 en julio 16, 2008

The room was clean and comfortable but a little dark - no natural light. The big disappointment was when we discovered that 'self-serve continental breakfast included' means juice and bread in the fridge in the room and we had to ask for that. Overall 3 out of 5. I would only stay there again if I couldn't find anywhere else in the area.

Respuesta del propietario

I am sorry you didn't enjoy enjoy your stay as much as you hoped. "No natural light" is not exact - the room is bright in the mornings, in the afternoons less so, true, especially now in the summer when the wine leaves filter some of the light from the garden side. For breakfast we provide milk, juice, water, breads, margarine, jams, tea, coffee, chocolate, and cereals. There is a coffee machine, hot water kettle, toaster, microwave and fridge. Cheese and such can be purchased at the supermarket around the corner. sincerely Claudia Damian


Felt just like home!

4,6 en julio 09, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for one week. I would definitely stay here again. My son lives in Queens, which was very convienent and, we felt and lived like new yorkers for the week. It was nice to go into the city as needed and able to come back to a nice comfortable apt. Special thanks to Claudia ! See you soon!


good choice

3,6 en febrero 28, 2008

I had to come in New York for few days (vacation) and I stayed at Astoria B&B.I was in vacation and I only need a place to take a shower and sleep because the rest of the day I would be out . Location is pretty good, the host, Claudia is a very nice lady, everything pretty much clean, good price . I will go again next year.


loved it

3,0 en junio 19, 2007

I stayed here last year on my trip to new york,and I LOVED it claudia and theodore were great host,and the neighborhood is surrounded by everything,it was great..felt like my own apartment,


Astoria B&B

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $80 - $100
  • Comentarios (14) 3,8
  • Habitaciones 1

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-7186266013

Más info

Arriba