Washington Irving Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,2

Más info

  • Habitación
    3,9
  • Servicios4,5
  • Estimación4,0
  • Limpieza4,3
  • Comidas4,4

Puntuación basada en
101 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Absolutely Beautiful

5 en noviembre 30, 2014

We stayed during the Thanksgiving holiday and it was wonderful! You can see how much love and care Stephania puts into this beautiful inn. She wanted to make sure you felt like you were at home. Looking forward to coming back soon!


Sweet spot in the Catskills

3,8 en agosto 27, 2014

An anniversary weekend in August that was very pleasant. Had a jacuzzi room on the 2nd floor. Bright, airy, private, and quiet. Only drawback: the outside room "balcony" is only about 1 foot wide! Location it excellent for local tourist spots. We hiked the Hunter Mt fire tower (highest in NYS!), went to a festival, found wonderful restaurants in Tannersville, visited the "world's biggest Kaleidoscope" in Mt Tremper, and went to Woodstock - all in easy access from the B&B.


Ok Place to visit.

2,8 en agosto 20, 2014

A little expensive for the plain small room we had. Didn't spend much time at the Inn as we were visiting relatives so can't say much about the place.


Very comfortable pleasant getaway In the Catskills

4,2 en julio 13, 2014

We stayed for the weekend while attending a family gathering close by. Service was excellent, breakfast lovely, and accommodations quite nice. Needs a bit of 'sprucing up' but certainly the place to stay in the Hunter area.


Mountain Jam Weekend Hunter NY

3,2 en junio 11, 2014

Very good value in a town where every room is booked for the special Mountain Jam Music Festival.


Charming but dated

3,2 en mayo 22, 2014

This is a lovely inn and probably one of the better places to stay in the area. At one time, it was probably quite grand but could use new mattresses, window shades, etc. and just a general de-cluttering. Breakfast was all homemade and delicious.


Experience

4,2 en mayo 07, 2014

Personable and excellent service - will stay again!


Great Value

4,2 en marzo 19, 2014

Great!


An excellent place to enjoy the Catskills

4,4 en marzo 03, 2014

A beautiful inn, with fine woodwork, stained glass and a great atmosphere. It offers fine value, a fine breakfast, and the perfect base for skiing, hiking, or a romantic weekend away.


A great weekend escape!

4,6 en marzo 03, 2014

This was my boyfriend and I's second trip to The Washington Irving for Valentine's day. It's a great place to spend a weekend. You must try the pancakes at breakfast!


Good value, great service, best location

4,4 en febrero 19, 2014

Spent two days at Washington Irving Inn during valentines weekend. Enjoyed the service and friendliness of staff and thought our stay was a great value.


A Weekend to ski and relax in January

4,8 en febrero 05, 2014

The Washington Irving takes one back 100 years. The décor is a collection of antiques Stefania has arrange for your enjoyment. The rooms are neat and clean and early 1900s. I could not get over her collection of indoor flowers. Breakfast was simple and to the point. You could eat and be on you way to Hunter Mt, one mile away for a day of skiing. My wife and I went there two summers ago and it was delightful. The room rate is a bargain when you consider it includes a charming breakfast. I have been to the Inn many times in the past ten years. Stefania is more that a innkeeper she is a friend who cares for you and looks to make your stay a wonderful memory. I recommend it highly. -Alana and Frank


Great weekend get away

4,8 en febrero 02, 2014

We had a great time at the Inn. We usually use it for a couple of weekend trips throughout the year and can strongly recommend it. There is no dining at the inn.


Charming B&B With Great, Friendly Owner

4,2 en enero 27, 2014

Utterly charming place with very attentive and kind owner. Has many of the quirks associated with B & Bs, but if you like that, you'll like it here! The owner gave great advice about where to eat in town ans was always available. We were hoping to go cross-country skiing, but the snow didn't cooperate so we had a bit more time to spend at the inn than anticipated. We stayed in room 16 which was described as having a sitting a area with sweeping views of Hunter mountain. It was more like a little alcove with a love seat and a normal sized window through which you could see the mountain and ski slopes. Not bad, just not quite as marvelous a view as I thought. The main dining room was pretty chilly, but the breakfast was nice (fruit, croissants, French toast or eggs, orange juice, and coffee. The afternoon tea (not the full tea meal) was delicious in lovely warm pots with really yummy homemade cookies. The room was fine, especially once we turned up the heat. The shower had the tendency to change temperature a lot during my showers, from ice cold to scalding hot, which was a bummer. There's a VCR in each room but they don't have any tapes to watch, so I'm not sure why they are still there. ;) The décor felt like a 1990s vision of the 1800s. but that's part of the charm. I would stay here again.


warm and cozy

3,6 en enero 05, 2014

WelI only stayed one night but Stefania was very accommodating and gave great directions esp when it's pitch black..lol. The room was very clean and was a great escape from city life.. enjoyed the breakfast and my girlfriend loved the shops..lol. very close to the ski and snow tubing mnts.. would stay again hopefully this time for a little longer


great weekend

4,4 en octubre 24, 2013

delicious breakfast....convenient location....Stephania and Kathy were great hosts


Loved it. Could have slept in the bed like RIp for 20 years!!!

4,8 en octubre 23, 2013

Ron and sandy


Very Enjoyable

4,2 en octubre 20, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay completely.


Awesome place!

4,4 en septiembre 26, 2013

This is a beautiful B&B in a great location. Stephanie, the innkeeper, was awesome. She took care of every possible request we had, including places to dine in town and what to see while in the Catskills. The breakfasts were fresh and delicious. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to my friends.


Great inn great service good people

4,2 en septiembre 25, 2013

Would def stay again, the house was clean, and the rooms were spacious. Breakfast was as good as you will get anywhere and the Inn keeper was very hospitable.


Lovely Inn, Great time!

5 en septiembre 23, 2013

We had a great time. Highly recommend the Inn. We will definitely return.


stepping back in time in confort

3,6 en agosto 20, 2013

the dining room is an outstanding room and the delicious well balance breakfast served fits in perfectly with the atmosphere of the room .


A Pleasure--and will certainly come back many times

4,4 en agosto 07, 2013

This is a charming, quiet, beautiful place---and absolutely perfectly located in the midst of the Catskills. I recommend it very highly. And the breakfasts were individually cooked to taste, and were they ever "tasty."


My home away from home! Beautiful and comfortable!

5 en julio 25, 2013

Stefanie is a great hostess. The breakfasts are fresh and made to order with choices of eggs, pancakes or french toast. Plus included are homemade baked goods, such as croissants or muffins. The rooms are always clean and with an elegant yet homey decor. I love Washington Irving Inn. I recommend it highly.


A Stay At The Washington Irving Inn

3,8 en julio 08, 2013

The Washington Irving Inn is charming. I stayed in Room 18, the Washington Irving Room. Getting to the room was a bit troublesome as it is on the third floor, and the stairs are narrow and difficult to negotiate, especially when toting a large bag. The room itself, however, was delightful. Breakfast was prompt, offering a nice variety (I stayed with the excellent pancakes and bacon), and very good. Definitely would stay there again on my next visit to Hunter Mountain.


pleasant and quaint

2,8 en junio 28, 2013

It was our first anniversary and we wanted a nice place to stay while we hiked. The room and breakfast were nice and the innkeeper was very accomodating. The price was a little high from our perspective but I would recommend this place to a friend.


Great new experience!

4,0 en junio 28, 2013

The owner and staff were just wonderful. So accomodating and friendly. My husband and I have never stayed in a B & B before, but we will certainly do it again after our great stay at the Washington Irving Inn!


Taste of Country Weekend

4,0 en junio 21, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for the TOC weekend on Father's Day weekend 2013. It was an hour's drive, and the perfect getaway for the two of us, and our two dogs. The rooms were cozy, the yard was perfect, the breakfast was wonderful, and our fellow guests were as friendly as the staff. There is absolutely nothing negative to say about this B&B, and we plan to return to the area soon for more than just the TOC weekend, and no doubt we will be staying here.


Really sweet place!

4,2 en junio 14, 2013

What a great palce to stay! We booked way in advance for a room for Mountain Jam. It was great to get a phone call from the Inn keeper confirming our reservation. We were greeted with warm hospitality and helpful advise about getting to and from the venue. Every morning we were bestowed with a gorgous breakfast of perfect size done fresh with care and love. The Inn keeper was a beautiful gem and a gracious host! we will definately be returning!!


Lovely Stay

4,8 en junio 02, 2013

We were visiting for a wedding in Tannersville and Washington Irving Inn added that perfect touch of romance. The room was beautiful, quiet, and spacious. Breakfast was a great surprise! And the hosts are very kind and helpful ladies.


Lovely experience

4,6 en mayo 22, 2013

I was amazed by how picturesque the hotel was and how charming the rooms were. I stayed in the Bliss Carman room which was truly unique and cozy. The owner was very friendly and provided great service. I was really blown away by the breakfasts, they were of much higher quality than I expected, and I was offered several options each day I was there, which surprised me. If I ever visit Tannersville again I will definitely stay here.


Good stay for skiing at Windham or Hunter, + vegan-friendly

3,8 en marzo 16, 2013

I stayed a couple of nights with my girlfriend to go skiing at Windham. We were pleasantly surprised to find that they were willing to accommodate our vegan diets with almond milk-based oatmeal, fruit bowls, and even a delicious vegan chocolate cake. Service was straightforward and friendly, and the room was fine, even though the toilet could have used better flush capacity and the bathroom seemed a bit in need of updating. All in all, a nice, quiet, stay for a reasonable price.


Beautiful and relaxing from start to finish!

4,8 en febrero 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Washington Irving over President's Day weekend. It's a beautiful house and very well maintained. They offer complimentary tea in the afternoons and a great breakfast in the mornings. The Inn offers a very personal experience. I strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to escape the hustle and bustle for a weekend. Also, very close (less than 5 min drive) to Hunter Mountain.


Washington Irving Inn - Recommended

4,2 en febrero 20, 2013

We had a marvelous time at the Washington Irving Inn. It is a unique B&B experience unlike many in the region. Service was outstanding and the breakfasts were delicious. Highly recommend the "Washington Irving Blend" if you are having tea in the spacious, quaintly decorated dining room.


Attention to detail is apparent in the decor of this charming, Victorian-era Inn. Each room is furnished in authentic stule, and lovely colors. The breakfasts feature fresh fruit, croissants, and your choice of a hot entree. Deliciously prepared! We will be back.

4,8 en enero 24, 2013

Loving attention to detail and impeccable taste are hallmarks of this charming, Victorian-era Inn. Each room is furnished in authentic style, with lovely colors and exquisite antique furniture pieces. The generous breakfasts feature fresh fruit, juice, croissants, a hot beverage, and your choice of a hot entree, all deliciously prepared. In addition, an afternoon tea is included for guests, offering a tasty assortment of cakes, cookies, and pastries. The dining area is especially lovely, reminiscent of a Victorian conservatory, with large windows and plants. We also enjoyed playing board games in the beautifully decorated parlor. Truly feast for all the senses--a wonderful getaway! We will be back.


a nice getaway

4,0 en enero 01, 2013

This was a great place for a one night winter getaway. The room was very nice and the breakfast was excellent!


Weekend at the Washington Irving Inn

4,6 en noviembre 29, 2012

I had an absolutely great time at Washington Irving Inn. The service and accommodations were exceptional. I was originally booked in a smaller room, but heating was not working and the Inn Keeper, Stephanie, upgraded me to a bigger room for no additionally fee. Stephanie was more than accommodating and did everything should could to make my stay perfect. She even helped me book a last minute spa appointment. Breakfast was wonderful and made fresh each morning. The inn is also located in a great part of Hunter and is partially secluded which makes for a great relaxing weekend. I will, for sure plan, another visit to Washington Irving Inn.


Very Nice Inn

3,0 en noviembre 26, 2012

We've stayed here a few times - always in the same room (separate bldg behind inn). Very quiet, beautiful scenery, nice people, good food. This time we came out for a wedding at Hunter Mt. (about 2 miles away) and we took our MinPin with us: He enjoyed everything as well. We will be back.


Lovely, historic inn.

4,8 en octubre 27, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Washington Irving Inn. Highlights were: the wonderful antique appointments and lovely plants all around, the wonderful breakfast, the beautiful setting and attentive service. We would definitely return if we are in the area again.


Cozy, Pet friendly B&B

4,2 en octubre 04, 2012

The Innkeeper, Stephania, is warm and friendly. Makes you feel right at home. The breakfast was amazing and all the staff were superb. Charming Inn and grounds. Conveniently located near everything. Made our dog feel very welcome too. Great value!


Would happily stay there again!

4,2 en septiembre 19, 2012

Stayed there for a wedding and it was my first time in that area as I am from North Carolina. It was just perfect for me and the owner was friendly and helpful. She even met me outside one day, as I returned from touring, to make sure I knew that the schedule for the shuttle to the wedding had been changed. The breakfasts were very nice and so much better than having to go out every morning and scout out a restaurant. Sheets were crisp and ironed -- just the perfect thing! Loved my stay there -- just too short.


review of Washington Irving Inn

4,4 en septiembre 08, 2012

Great stay. I would defintely return for another stay, The library is wonderful.


Pleasant Surprise

4,4 en agosto 22, 2012

What a pleasant experience and the Innkeeper was so pleasant and accomodating. Breakfast was exceptional. Our room was very nice, however, the bed was a bit hard.


Beautiful Inn

5 en agosto 08, 2012

The inn was lovingly furnished, and the rooms were immaculate. Breakfast was cooked to order and included freshly cut fruit, even the dishes in the dining room were beautiful. I look forward to returning.


Visually Stimulating Bed & Breakfast

4,0 en julio 24, 2012

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. The room we stayed in was smaller than we were used to, but quite adequate, having everything we needed. The inn and grounds were well maintained. The room was nicely decorated. There was no air conditioning in room but the ceiling fan and the drop in temperature kept things cool during the night. The breakfast was amazing! Fresh fruit, eggs, pancakes, french toast, juice, coffee and tea. The dining area was beautiful. This was a very charming inn. Good place to relax and feel pampered at breakfast!


Great place to stay

4,6 en julio 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Washington Irvington Inn seveal times over the last 15 years and have never been disappointed. The inn itself is charming--like no other in the area. The rooms are comfortable, the service is outstanding, the breakfasts (which are included with the price of the room) are generous, and the grounds are beautifully kept . We highly recommend this inn to anyone who desires a relaxing and uniquely pleasant Catskills experience.


The Washington Irving Inn

5 en junio 18, 2012

This is my fifth stay at the Washington Irving Inn, it's a beafitul BnB the owner Stephanie and staff are very friendly, the rooms are very nice morning breakfast is always worth waking up for the exterior is beautiful with a nice collection of antiques I recommend this BnB and will be staying there again soon


Loved the Catskils

4,0 en abril 23, 2012

I spent Easter weekend at the Washington Irving Inn with my daughter and her roommate while we were on a spring break trip to look at colleges. It was the perfect place for us to stay and the staff was very helpful and providing. We will definitely try and get back!


Cozy weekend retreat

4,0 en marzo 05, 2012

Excellent weekend spot in the winter. Very close to Hunter Mountain.


Fantastic Stat

4,8 en marzo 05, 2012

I spent three wonderful days at Washington Irving Inn. My main reason for selecting this Inn was that it is a b&b which allows children. I thought I hit the jackpot when I seen that on the website. Once I arrived I realized the treasure this place is. Stephania was welcoming from check-in to check-out. The place has a charming and comforting feel that keeps you relaxed and feeling like you're home. The breakfast is superb, if I wish I could relay smell and taste in a review cause that in itself would be reason for someone to hit the book-it button! Be sure to take some time to sit with Stephania and discuss how her family acquired the Inn and stories of days past. Good stuff!


Beautiful Inn

4,2 en febrero 10, 2012

Highly recommended to all. beautiful old building, great rooms, very friendly inn-keeper that is super helpful. can't say anything bad about this place and looking forward to coming back!


This place is great!!

4,0 en febrero 04, 2012

Charming, extremely clean, cozy and quiet. Delicious breakfast in the morning, and great service!


Charming B&B

4,8 en enero 04, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay and want to come back in spring or summer


Nicest Inn in the Area, but not 5-Star

3,4 en noviembre 29, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Washington Irving to check out the Catskill fall foliage. Overall the inn is beautiful. It's in a perfect location, off of a main road, but set back, so there was no street noise, and it's just minutes from Hunter and Windham Mountains. The common areas of the inn were beautifully decorated; I especially loved the bar area and the breakfast/eating area. The breakfasts were very good, but nothing to rave about - we had fresh fruit every morning, with bacon and eggs or pancakes. We stayed in a turret room in the oldest part of the inn. It was a smaller room, which was to be expected, but I'm a clean freak, and the room was definitely in need of dusting. The window shades kept getting stuck and fell out of the hooks - I would recomend getting new ones. We slept with them open in fear of breaking them. Again, overall it was a very pleasureable experience, and after researching all of the inns in the area, I'm confident that we stayed at the nicest one. I would stay there again, if I returned to the area.


Washington Irving Inn

4,4 en noviembre 13, 2011

We were there during a snowstorm in believe it or not October and Stephania the owner couldn't have been more accomadating and helpful.


A NYS gem

5 en noviembre 09, 2011

From the time we arrived until we left, the owner Stefania had been such a delight. She is truly a gem. The rooms were perfect, quiet and cozy, the menu was done with impeccable detail and her personal service and presence made our cold November weekend getaway warm and inviting.True rustic country inn ando worth every penny. Can't wait to return.


Washing Irving Inn Anniversary Weekend

4,8 en octubre 31, 2011

Charming, Relaxed, room just as described online, simple, no-fuss, easy check-out. The Inn has nice period architectural details.


just perfect

4,6 en octubre 17, 2011

home coming feeling on october 10 after a stay in NYC. Stefania is an excellent host. enjoyed the Indian Summer. fam. Daman and Serrano


Wonderful Birthday

4,6 en octubre 01, 2011

Wonderful bed and breakfast. Stayed here for one night for my boyfriends birthday. The staff was super friendly. The Jasmine room was really nice and cozy. Made me feel like I was home. Breakfast in the morning was really good. I highly recommend the pancakes. Even though we were checking out on Saturday we were told that if we were still in the area at 2p to come back for tea and pastires.


Nice, comfortable, but little small room

3,8 en septiembre 08, 2011

Nice, comfortable, cozy and delicious meal but a little small room,


Washington Irving would have loved this location! Very inspiring!

4,2 en agosto 29, 2011

This is a fabulous "little" big B&B. It's got small B&B charm and a wonderful atmosphere. They are continually remodeling and renovating the rooms. The breakfasts were very very nice and the staff was extra friendly. They have afternoon "tea" that we were sorry to have missed, but we'll be coming back next year with my Mum to enjoy it all for a few extra days.


Wonderful place

4,6 en agosto 25, 2011

I only wish I were there longer than 2 nights! Beautiful antiques, lovely hostess, terrific service, great breakfast.....just delightful and highly recommend to anyone


W. Irving could have slept here.

5 en agosto 24, 2011

This is a quiet, comfortable, and well-located B&B. It has a Victorian era ambiance but with all modern amenities. The owner is a very pleasant hostess and also is a great baker; breakfast was superb. Although I didn't attend the afternoon tea, I understand from others who have that it is an event well worth going to.


Washington Irving Inn

4,6 en agosto 12, 2011

We stayed 2 nights & enjoyed our stay. Room was clean & comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Both the pancakes & French toast were outstanding.The Innkeeper was friendly & very helpful--she made several phone calls to help us locate a restaurant we were supposed meet friends at. The inn was quaint, but had all the amenities you would want.


nice stay for the night

3,6 en agosto 11, 2011

nice inn. would recommend it. Great location. like to return for a longer stay in the future.


A very good place to stay

3,8 en agosto 08, 2011

The room was clean, the breakfast was good, the building has a lot of characters. A very good place to stay if you like antiques.


Washington Irving Inn was Okay

2,6 en agosto 03, 2011

Kathy the person who served the breakfasts and cleaned the rooms was ultimately helpful and her method of cleaning and straightening the room was optimal. Stefania was gracious and helpful also. However, I was a little disappointed in the room although Stefania seemed to have my comfort in mind. I was expecting the room to look like the picture. I was disappointed in the breakfast insomuch as in other B&Bs I have been to, there is usually more variety in choices. However, the food was quite tasty.


Absolutely Loved it! Gorgeous!!!

4,6 en agosto 03, 2011

We just loved our stay.... Stefania was wonderful & Kathy too! The grounds are so beautiful, just wish we were there longer than 1 night!! Can't wait to come back again. So lovely and restful! Thanks for making our stay enjoyable! Mary & Virginia - NJ


a pleasant stay in the catskills

3,8 en julio 28, 2011

Stephania and Kathy were very accommodating and made our stay most satisfactory.The breakfasts and complimentary afternoon tea were both excellent.Our room was very clean,but the rug and drapes need to be replaced.The wrap around verandah was lovely but some of the furniture needs to be painted.The flowers and baskets were beautiful. A most relaxing and pleasant stay and hope to return


In the middle of no where is a lovely somewhere

4,0 en julio 26, 2011

Imagine taking a road that you think, wow this is really nice but I don't see who this is going to lead back to any civilization. Well indeed it did. Having obviously taken the more circuitous route to our destination, we did find out pot o' gold at the end of that rainbow. We were greeted by Stefani who gave us the "layout" of the area, and we were then on our way. In Hunter but a very short drive to Tannersville where you can visit and shop at small stores that you can only find in areas like this. This place is lovely from the antiques to the well adorned (very well kept and clean) rooms to the fantastic breakfast the next morning. This well placed oasis in the middle of Hunter Mountain is a place to get away to, whether it be by accident or on purpose. Just do remember, that there is that treasure at the end of the rainbow. Alan and Mary Beth Balkin


A perfect weekend getaway

5 en julio 19, 2011

I planned a 2 day trip to the Catskills as a surprise for my husband's birthday. It was perfect in every way. Wonderful place to stay - cordial, accomodating and personable innkeeper....we are planning our next stay!


Good value; great breakfast

3,8 en julio 08, 2011

Although we requested an "older" room, we were given a newer room (at same price). A bit disappointed with that, but the cleanliness and charm of the Inn made up for it. Pool was big, but cold--we both loved laying by it but only one braved the cold (it felt great on a hot day). Location was lovely, and breakfast was outstanding--a very pleasant surprise.


best pancakes in the Catskills!

3,6 en junio 21, 2011

'Twas our 2nd year visiting and this time we brought someone along, and we have decided to go back again. The ladies who run the spot are great and the breakfast each morning makes the stay even better. Great location and scenery.


Quiet and Comfy

4,4 en junio 15, 2011

We stayed for two nights in June recently and had the room with the jacuzzi tub. Fresh and clean, comfortable bed, stimulating environment with antiques and lots of history about the house and the area. Great breakfasts! Stefania is a classy, kind, thoughtful woman who takes hospitality seriously (we were delayed by traffic when arriving, and she satyed up to meet us). Terrific place to stay in the Hunter mountain region!


Washington Irving Inn B&B

5 en junio 13, 2011

This was our second stay. When I booked our first stay, I thought the room was "pricey" for off season, but when you take in consideration the gourmet breakfast and afternnoon tea it is quite the bargain. The property is full of history, character and the inn keeper, Stefania, is a real sweet heart. Looking forward to our next trip to Tannersville.


Mountain Jam returns to Hunter

3,6 en junio 08, 2011

We -- and several thousand other folks -- come to Hunter, NY once a year, at the beginning of June, for Mountain Jam, the multi-day jamband festival sponsored by Radio Woodstock and guitarist/singer Warren Haynes. For those of you not familiar with the Mountain, it is famous for, among other things, dramatic weather and temperature changes in very short time periods. Easy enough to endure when one is 25, drunk and stoned; another matter entirely when one is 60 - something and not indulging to nearly the same degree. At our ages, if we're gonna rock from noon till sometime after 3AM, 3 or more days in a row, on the mountain, we need hot showers, a comfortable place to sleep, and good breakfasts! After trying two other places in prior years, we settled on the Washington Irving Inn in 2009 and have made it our permanent base for Mountain Jam. The B&B is a straight shot east from the Mountain on Rt. 23A. Quite picturesque, very clean, reasonably priced, GREAT breakfasts. And yes, there's a broadband connection available for internet addicts. My guess is Mountain Jam weekend is a little different from the rest of the year in that everyone staying there is going to the festival, with folks returning at all odd hours, but the innkeeper seems to have adapted fairly well. We give the place a solid recommendation.


Wonderful Surprise

4,6 en mayo 18, 2011

What a great place. We had two rooms for our family. The rooms were beautifully furnished with antiques and details like the bathrooms were in good repair. The service was efficient and charming. The inn even smelled of antiques and old wood. What a treat. If not before, we hope to be back in ski season even if a bit of a drive from Belleayre, our favorite Catskill ski spot.


Campers would enjoy their stay here

2,8 en mayo 04, 2011

This B&B is rustic charm at its best. The owner is a wonderful hostess and the morning breakfast was a delight. However, our room was a total disappointment. We stayed in a "cottage" room (detached from main house) and it would only appeal to those who enjoy musty, damp sleeping environments. It was disappointing to say the least. When we inquired about a possible switching of rooms, we were informed none were available, however, the proprietress did stress we should come back and try a room in the house. hmmmm, if you know the 'cottages' suck why allow people the misery of staying in them? We may go back as long as a room in the house can be assured. The place has a certain campy charm about it.


Quiet, Cozy, and peaceful...

3,2 en marzo 30, 2011

The site of connectivity to the Hunter Mt. was very nice to me. This place was suitable for couples, small families, or small gruop who would stay quiet and relaxed. The innstaff were very nice and kind to what we asked to, so there's nothing to complain about it. When we went to there, it's the end of March: the off season time, so we enjoyed our time off the NYC. ^^


A weekend to ski

5 en marzo 10, 2011

The hospitality of the hostess is outstanding. I love the old colonial atmosphere of the entrance and the dining area--always plenty of house plants. Tea time on arrival hit the spot after a day of travel and skiing


Our first bed & breakfast experience

4,2 en febrero 22, 2011

We stayed in the Carman Bliss and the room was very quaint with a great view of Hunter Mountain. The inn is close to everything there is to do. Breakfast was very tasty and just the right amount. The innkeeper, Stephanie is so friendly and sweet, she is just perfect. It was an awesome experience and we will definately stay at a bed & breakfast again.


Good stay overall, with some reservations

2,8 en febrero 16, 2011

It was a nice stay overall, the place is elegant and they serve alright breakfast and a nice dessert and tea at 4 pm. It is expensive though for value. Our room, The Victorian Rose, was not very special though and there were several annoying things in the room. For example, the TV was to the far left of the bed, not in front of the bed; the bathroom fan is turned on automatically with the bathroom lights and is very noisy; the water in the bathroom takes like five minutes to get to the right temperature with a lot of adjustment and then can suddenly change temperature to become very hot or very cold.


Best pancakes ever!

3,8 en febrero 09, 2011

Great inn, conveniently located near Hunter. Friendly service, DELICIOUS breakfast included with the room rate.....highly recommend! Cozy and comfortable! Thanks Stefania!


Would definitely go again

4,4 en febrero 07, 2011

Charming spot, very close to skiing, well taken care of and the owner is incredibly helpful.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast!

5 en febrero 02, 2011

This is a beautiful old house with comfortable rooms and a nice homey feel. The breakfast was outstanding! We will definitely return!


Great getaway place

4,0 en enero 26, 2011

Great accessibility from highway, close to many activities. Nice innkeeper who will offer complimentary afternoon tea with homemade pastries. Great breakfast with pastries and fruit with three main options (including egg, bacon, pancake). Overall, great getaway place.


Awesome

5 en enero 17, 2011

Very nice and good hospitality. Will recommend to other travelers.


Winter Wonderland

4,0 en enero 12, 2011

It happened to be snowing which was an enlightment to the weekend. The inn was welcoming and the innkeeper was very accomodating. We are looking forward to returning some time in the summer


Service with a smile

4,4 en enero 05, 2011

Service here is amazing. The innkeeper is one in a million, she made us feel like home and was very accommodating. Love the old school bar and dining room. They don't serve dinner, but breakfast is great, again, especially the service. There is something very endearing about the staff. I think they're all family and they make you feel like part of the family.


Charming Inn full of history and warmth.

4,4 en diciembre 01, 2010

Stefania did a wonderful job of welcoming us and making us feel at home. The inn is definitely old... but quaint and very warm. The main hall is a bit dark, but fits the style of the house. The rooms are full of family owned New England antiques. Don't expect a boring, cold modern hotel... expect an charming inn full of history and warmth. The dining area is bright and open. The food was delicious. Thanks!


My Stay at the Washington Irving Bed & Breakfast

5 en octubre 31, 2010

This was a lovely vacation and I chose the Washington Irving Inn because of the well presented and beauty of the Inn itself. It was a wonderful experience and Ms. Jozic and her Inn could not have been any more perfect. Not to mention the pancakes that would float off the breakfast plate! Thank you so much for a very memorable and special time.


Washington Irving Inn

4,0 en octubre 27, 2010

Stephanie our hostess was very accommodating and was very anxious to please. Her own personal tea blend was exceptional and breakfast was wonderful. The room was a little smaller then anticipated, but was clean and cozy.


Girlfriend Weekend Getaway

4,6 en octubre 26, 2010

A lovely country style inn with lots of antiques. My best friend and I went for a gab fest and we had a ball lolling about the dining room during afternoon tea --we spent hours talking--and then over breakfast the next morning which we went to in our pjs and talked again for hours. The owner Stephna was absolutely hospitable, understanding and humorous and she gave us three breakfast since we could not decide between eggs and bacon, french toast or pancakes. We shared all three. The food is all homemade and delicious. Overall, we are two very picky women who travel a lot worldwide and we loved our time spent at this Inn. Will definitely return. Close to Tannersville where there were some good restaurants.


Overpriced

2,8 en octubre 24, 2010

Room was cute but breakfast was not very impressive. A bit drafty. Pricey for the room. Inn keeper was very nice.


Very nice place,but no vegan breakfast and no being a couch potato watching TV

3,2 en octubre 21, 2010

Stayed in the Maude Adams room which was quite large and nicely decorated. A few items did not meet our expectations. The TV in the room was very small and had poor reception. It had a VCR player,but who has VCR's are any more and B&B did not have any. It would be more intelligent to read one of the great books that they had available, but after hiking all day you want to veg! Tried to watch on a stream from laptop, but internet connection was too slow to accomodate. When we made reservation, we noted that we where vegan. They really did not have any decent breakfast for us. Cereal with soy milk and "wonder bread" fake whole wheat toast. The carnivore guests seem to be enjoying the bacon and eggs.


Lovely Inn, lovely location, nice room.

4,4 en octubre 14, 2010

My husband and I had a nice experience at The Washington Irving Inn. It is a historic property, decorated with numerous antiques. Each room is filled with a variety of these antique furnishings, together with a collection of books (per a flyer posted in the room, guests may actually borrow books, so long as they mail them back). The Inn offered an afternoon tea with delicious snacks, and a great breakfast was included. If we return to the Catskills, we will most definitely consider staying at the Washington Irving Inn.


Great place to stay in the Greene County area of the Catskills

4,8 en agosto 27, 2010

We enjoyed the charm of antiques throughout the facility. The full breakfast was wonderful -- especially the pancakes with their crispy tops and the great local syrup. Stephanie, the proprietor, was friendly and helpful. We LOVED the swimming pool, which we used every day of our stay. The accessibility to Hunter Mountain and cute little Tannersville was appreciated. Yes, we would go back again -- and hopefully will!


Very pleasant accomodations

4,2 en agosto 22, 2010

We stayed at the Washington irving while visiting the Internatinal Celtic Fesitval at Huner Mountain. Perfect location - two miles to Hunter Mountain and one mile to the funky little town of Tannersville. The room was tight with our nine year old son traveling with us (our fault, not the inn's) so next time we are booking a bigger room. There is a great porch and library for sitting, reading, and relaxing, and clean pool. The breakfast was amazing - make sure you get the pancakes! We found Stefania very friendly and knowledgeable. A very nice B&B-style inn.


Perfect time in the country

5 en mayo 26, 2010

I did read about the bees and the firm mattress. If we want all the latest accommodations (in-room jacuzzi/hot tub, flat screen TV, rental movies) then we go to Atlantic City or on a cruise. If we want to get away from the city and enjoy the fresh air--and breakfast always tastes better in the country, but especially so here--and hospitality that makes us look forward to our next return, then this is where we come. P.S. Rating "outstanding" on value is does not mean it's cheap, it means it's worth it, certainly for us.


Wonderful experience

5 en octubre 14, 2009

My husband and I wanted a quiet, charming getaway not too far from home and discovered this gem of an inn,so European in flavor, wonderful abd attentive innkeeper, Stefania, luscious breakfast, beautiful room and pictoresque setting. Can't wait to come back again. We loved it. The James'


just ok.

2,4 en octubre 05, 2009

I hate to be one of those people who says negative things about anything, but i wish i had had a better sense of this B&B before i booked. We stayed in the Bliss Carman room which was tucked away at the top of the house, it had great potential but perhaps this room is not booked often because it had the feel of an attic room that had not been opened up in a while. The bedding smelled slightly musty and the bed was VERY firm. My traveling companion is allergic to Bees, and we had a slight infestation ( five or six) that we had to take care of over the course of the weekend, but that could just be due to the change in the season. The service was adequate but nothing spectacular, and over all we felt that the cost of the room was not worth the comfort/ experience. Please just take this review as my own opinion as i'm sure there are people who love this B&B, but i just wanted to share my thoughts.

Respuesta del propietario

The Washington Irving Inn was built 1890.and is on the Greene county Historical Register.We try to preserve and promote and run our inn as historically authentic as possble. From time to time,some people think they are coming to amodern bed and brakfast where they can have the look and amenities of a modefn hotel, which causes confusion for the visitor.We are terribly sorry that you didn't have a good night's sleep on the firm mattress.If you had approached me while you were here, Iwould have offered you another room more to your liking.However, your campanion gave me the impression that everything is perfect and just what you were looking for.In the beginning of season,when we first turn on the heat, our rooms tend to smell of the pipes carrying the heat.I'm sorry for that.As for the server.s accent and eige, I do not think we should judge people by their accent ,color,or personal preference.Thank you for staying with us.We hpoe you will come bake to our area again and we will personally review your needs and give you a suitable room. Sincerely Innkeper Stefania


Washington Irving Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $140 - $175
  • Comentarios (101) 4,2
  • Habitaciones 15

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-5185895560

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba