Fairlawn Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,5

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,4
  • Servicios4,6
  • Estimación4,3
  • Limpieza4,5
  • Comidas4,7

Puntuación basada en
94 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Charming Supported By Great Food

4,0 en abril 03, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this B&B for three nights. The bed was comfortable, the room spacious and the breakfast delicious. The pancakes (any flavor) were wonderful. Chuck is a good host and offered suggestions of things to do each day. The room was clean and we felt comfortable. Our only suggestion to folks visiting is to make plans in advance for dinner as the selection in town is limited and not open very late. Chuck has his favorites and we got to try one which was very good. For something casual and with feel good home cooking try the Last Chance Cafe - good cheese selection too.


Chuck's Place

3,0 en marzo 18, 2014

Lovely rooms in quaint B&B decorated in a funky, eclectic, shabby-chic style. Demerits for tiny, uncomfortable pillows, and tacky plastic wall-mounted shampoo/soap/conditioner dispensers with Dr. Bronner's products; which are ok if you like soap that stings & tingles like a Hall's lozenge on your skin. My room had a round translucent ceiling skylight/solar-powered light fixture, whose timer was off, and turned on in the middle of the night, and could not be turned off manually. This was reported, but not corrected. It was quite amusing (the first night). The breakfast was well prepared in general, though slightly over the top with heavy use of whipped cream, powdered sugar, and candied walnuts caressing your eggs & pancakes. The use of those tiny pastic half&half creamers and plastic coffee carafes is unfortunate in a small B&B (hello Dr. Bronner). And Chuck. Outwardly friendly, but a bit put-offish with the house rules. Lastly, it is advertised as walking distance to Hunter Mt.; which it is, if you are ok with walking about a mile or so, mostly uphill, with your ski gear. We drove. Correcting the above, especially having a more "open-arms" approach, would garner four stars or more, and a return visit.


cozy B&B

3,4 en marzo 03, 2014

friendly and beautiful decor inside and out.great location to Hunter mountain and local town


I can't wait to go back

5 en febrero 26, 2014

It was my first time staying at the Fairlawn and most certainly will not be my last. The house is stunning and very well maintained. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast is to die for! I've stayed in many B&B's and had the usual eggs cereal etc. This however was gourmet dining at it's best. Chuck the innkeeper is very helpful and friendly.


Lovely!

4,8 en febrero 13, 2014

This B&B is amazing, well-cared for and richly decorated. Despite the cold outside, I was toasty warm both in my room and in the main living area with a warm fire! Everything was relaxing and just what was needed. The pumpkin pancakes with fresh fruit were decadent and memorable! What a treasure and Chuck is the perfect host.


Excellent stay

4,6 en febrero 09, 2014

Everything was perfect! My girlfriend and I were on our first getaway together. We went skiing at Hunter and the weekend went off without any problems even though we were a little late arriving Friday night(which Chuck graciously had no problem with). Overall, a great place with great breakfast and it couldn't be closer to mountain without actually staying on the mountain. See you guys again. Thanks Fairlawn


Beautiful Victorian B&B with Incredible Attention to Detail

5 en febrero 04, 2014

This place has excellent reviews for a reason. The building is an incredibly well maintained Victorian built in 1905. The rooms are furnished with lovely antiques and lots of tasteful artwork from the period. There are beautiful sitting rooms and even a pool table. Chuck (the Innkeeper) is a very gracious host and will do whatever he can to make your stay the very best possible. He clearly takes a lot of pride in what he has created and he really cares. This is obviously more than just a job for him. This is our first time staying at the Fairlawn Inn. In the past, we have stayed at several other B&Bs in the area, several of which where very nice. However, none compared to the Fairlawn. In the future, when we come to this area for vacation, we will be staying at the Fairlawn.


Fairlawn Inn review

5 en enero 28, 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a spontaneous ski trip over the long holiday weekend and were wonderfully accommodated by the Fairlawn Inn. Chuck, the Innkeeper, was immediately responsive to my reservation request, and promptly followed up with an invoice via email. He also upgraded us free of charge (and with our permission) to the room with the 2 person jacuzzi in order to accommodate a large family who needed our original room. On arrival, Chuck was courteous and prepared with our ski lift tickets which had been ordered in advance. The room was clean and cozy and the Inn was beautifully kept. We really appreciated the tea/coffee and other drinks and snacks that were available all day long, and breakfast was made to order and delicious! We really enjoyed our stay and will stay again the next time we ski at Hunter!


Excellent! I would stay again.

5 en diciembre 19, 2013

Ideal setting for anyone who likes a cozy country stay in the mountains. View are incredible and rooms are ideal. Fireplace in room was great. Service was incredible, innkeeper brushed snow off cars and breakfast menu is great and service fast. A beautiful home and proximity to hunter skiing is excellent.


Great experience at Fairlawn Inn

4,6 en diciembre 07, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at Fairlawn Inn for four nights in late November 2013. I must highlight a number of aspects that made our stay exceptionally positive experience: The interior of the Inn is an experience in itself, the place is full of character and magic, mirroring the unique tastes of the owner. The rooms are full of paintings statuettes, plants and antique furniture. The living spaces on the ground floor invite you to spend an evening after a busy day by the fire cosied up with a book or playing pool - with complementary bar of light and alcoholic drinks available to you. The owner of the inn is a man of multiple talents - he is a warm welcoming host that makes himself available to guests questions and requests, a well of knowledge when it comes to the attractions and restaurants in the area and an amazing cook! I would recommend Fairlawn Inn to anyone and would definitely come back to visit again.


Victorian Dream

4,2 en noviembre 15, 2013

This mansion was truly a Victorian dreamscape! Chuck was incredibly informative, friendly and full of talent! How he cares for this piece of dream property is amazing. This is a "must-see!"


Very nice place to stay

4,0 en noviembre 06, 2013

Chuck met us at the front door and showed us around. He was very pleasant and accommodating. We stayed in the Glenwood; The room was a bit smaller than the pictures led us to believe, but it was very clean and inviting. The bed was a tad uncomfortable for both my wife and I, but overall, we had a very pleasant experience.


Beautiful house in a very picturesque area

3,8 en octubre 30, 2013

We stayed at Fairlawn Inn as part of a weekend getaway from New York. Very impressed with the detail provided in our booking - with ideas on what to do, where to go and places to eat sent through with our confirmation. It was great, and very helpful. Our host was there on arrival and took us through all the details of the house, he was very pleasant. The room (Gazebo) was exactly how it was pictured, and very tastefully decorated. Quiet and had a nice view over to the mountains. Unfortunately can't comment on the 'breakfast' side of B&B as we chose to sleep in past the allocated dining time.


Wonderful mountain retreat

4,6 en octubre 29, 2013

Spent three nights recently at the Fairlawn Inn. Service was excellent with attention to detail within the home as well as to providing valuable information for our 'explorer' needs in the Catskills. Room was quite comfortable and charming as were the common areas. Food was well prepared and appreciated a choice of items on the menu. Overall a great experience and would highly recommend.


Great stay!

4,0 en octubre 21, 2013

This is a beautiful place with great views of the mountains. Chuck is great and made us feel very welcome. We would stay here again!


a very romantic stay

4,8 en octubre 15, 2013

my girlfriend and I went there, everything was perfect. Love the house, very vintage style. We had the most romantic weekend in Fairlawn Inn. Going back again soon.


Had a good time at the fair lawn inn

4,0 en octubre 13, 2013

Would come back again. The inn keeper was knowledgeable And friendly. The place is beautiful, very well taken care of.


Cozy inn, nice location

3,6 en septiembre 20, 2013

We stayed in a cozy, nicely warmed room with a nice view of trees and grass. Very comfortable furniture in the bedroom and plenty of space. The common areas are beautifully decorated with antiques and a pool table provides a fun activity in the evening. Very good breakfasts. Terrific hikes in the Catskills within 30-40 minutes driving, and two friendly pubs within walking distance make the location very good. If it had been warmer, we would have enjoyed a very nicely appointed garden for sitting back and relaxing in the sunshine.


Grounds are beautiful

3,6 en septiembre 19, 2013

Nicest place that we have found in the area.


First B&B experience

5 en septiembre 11, 2013

Beautiful inn and setting. Comfortable bed and delicious breakfast thanks to Chuck who was a gracious host. He was most informative about the local dining and made our first B&B experience a great one!


Beautiful place to stay.

4,8 en septiembre 04, 2013

Very nice BandB!! As it is an older property, the floors creak and the walls are thin. Needs some TLC on some of the banisters. Other than that exceptionally nice. Exceptional Breakfast. Very nice Inn Keeper. Would recomend staying there if you are in the Hunter Region.


cute B&B right by Hunter mountain

4,6 en agosto 29, 2013

Really cute B&B. We got in quite late but Chuck was very accommodating. The room was spacious and very clean. Really liked the eco-friendliness. Breakfast was absolutely amazing and so delicious that I still think about it! Close to most of the Hunter attractions.


Fairlawn Inn

4,4 en agosto 23, 2013

Chuck does a wonderful job at the Fairlawn. The Inn is beautiful, comfortable and Chuck does an excellent job in the kitchen. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend the Fairlawn Inn.


outstanding

5 en agosto 22, 2013

The breakfast was spectacular and the host was very personable. will stay again


Amazing stay thanks to a great guy

5 en agosto 04, 2013

Chuck set up for me to have the perfect proposal. He was on point with it when we arrived and even took pictures for us. The whole experience of the trip was very personal with breakfast every morning and late nights on the patio with a fire and s'mores. Overall awesome place and he is a laid back funny inn keeper making the stay that much better.


Excellent bang to buck ratio

4,2 en julio 27, 2013

Beautiful grounds and amenities within the house - pool table, self serve bar, anytime snacks, porch and outdoor lounge area. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable and we'd absolutely stay again. The breakfast meals were a bit of a disappointment a few days in a row (bugs on the fruit, subpar grocery store sausage patties), though the staff was gracious and accommodating. Great location as well - access to anything you'd want to do in Hunter. (Side note, and for your own good - don't go to the local 'high end' restaurants, no matter how highly they're recommended by the staff. Not good.)


Wonderful B & B

4,6 en julio 25, 2013

My wife & I have stayed here overnight 2 years in a row and would not hesitate to stay here again. Nice old vibe with period furnishings, clean, and a delicious breakfast. The owner is quite helpful with his knowledge of area restaurants etc.


Great Getaway!!!

4,8 en julio 23, 2013

we had such an awesome time!!! the Inn was beautiful and conveniently located!!! I cant say enough about Chuck the Innkeeper!!!! he was very attentive...and friendly! and he makes one hell of a breakfast!! He keeps the house and the grounds in tip top shape!!


Another fantastic weekend getaway at the Fairlawn Inn...

4,4 en julio 09, 2013

...from arriving (a bit early) and still being upgraded to a larger room with two-person Jacuzzi tub; to the "surprise" tasty snacks brought to us by Chuck out on the patio, to the late nights gazing up at the stars; ...we were treated like family. Thanks once again, Chuck!


great place to stay

4,8 en junio 30, 2013

We stayed here in June and it was beautiful. Staff was very friendly.


Wonderful taste of country weekend at the Fairlawn

4,8 en junio 19, 2013

Wonderful weekend at the Fairlawn Inn! What a beautiful and warm atmosphere that made out stay outstanding, despite two days of rain and unexpected chill for a June weekend. We would definitely stay here again.


Excellent

4,2 en junio 19, 2013

Excellent host, made us very welcome. Comfortable rooms and fantastic breakfast


B&B in Hunter

4,2 en mayo 31, 2013

excellent French toast. Need ice for rooms or refrig.


Perfect Weekend

5 en mayo 22, 2013

This was a perfect weekend because of the hard work and dedication from the innkeeper, Chuck Tomajko. Highly recommend!


awesome stay at the fairlawn inn

5 en mayo 01, 2013

the room was perfect - just like it was in the photo. the breakfast was delicious - made by the owner of the inn, who is very friendly and accommodating.


A Charming Stay

4,0 en abril 18, 2013

My husband & I recently spend a weekend at the Fairlawn Inn. It was the last weekend of the skiing season and the crowds had definitely left. We had the inn all to ourselves. Chuck was away for the week and Kathleen took over as the inn keeper and she was great. Very warm and friendly and helpful with her suggestions. The property is very pretty. I loved the interiors. The common areas were good. It was great fun to relax by playing pool at the end of the day. Our room, the Gazebo was very charming. I would highly recommend it to all.


beautiful and charming

5 en marzo 28, 2013

The Inn was very well kept. The furnishings were comfortable and inviting. Breakfast was delicious. We stayed in the gazebo room and I was reluctant to leave. Touches like the chandelier over the bed, the clawfoot tub and a little lamp in the bathroom made the room seem like home.


Wonderful !

5 en marzo 18, 2013

My husband,son and I spent a fabulous 3 nights at the Fairlawn. The house itself is an absolute delight with beautiful furniture and furnishings throughout. We stayed in the Opal room which is bright, airy, comfortable and beautifully appointed; it is a wonderful space in which to relax whether you have been skiing or enjoying less energetic pursuits.There is also a games room, complete with snooker table and board games and complimentary snacks and soft drinks. Breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruit, yummy homemade cakes/breads and a good choice of freshly cooked hot options made with good quality ingredients. Chuck, the Innkeeper, is fantastic. Where do I begin?From the moment I contacted him about our booking he went out of his way to ensure we had a wonderful stay. His advice about ski passes, transport, local eateries etc etc was invaluable; he even cleared our car of snow prior to our departure and armed us with a delicious and thoughtful goody bag for our journey and printed directions to our next destination. Everything about The Fairlawn is a labour of love for Chuck and he is more than generous of his time and his beautiful home;we had a great stay and we will be back.


Being going for years

5 en marzo 09, 2013

This was our 10th year staying at the Fairlawn. Chuck the Innkeeper is always changing and updating things to keep the place fresh and exciting and he is extremely personable. He is a super cook and he even surprised me by changing the breakfast menu to add my favorite dish from years past.


Convenient for skiing

4,6 en febrero 20, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend at the Fairlawn in February, and had a very nice stay. The food for breakfast was excellent (I'd recommend the "French French Toast"). The innkeeper, Chuck, was a great chef and a friendly host. The best part about the Inn though is its location- a 10 minute walk to the ski slopes at Hunter Mountain. Really nothing negative to say- our room was clean, and we were comfortable. The only annoying aspect is their 2-night minimum stay during high season, but this seems to be in keeping with all of the other hotels in the area. I would recommend this B&B to others.


Excellent Bed and Breakfast

5 en febrero 13, 2013

What an incredible Breakfast!


Great Week in the Catskill Mountains

3,8 en enero 31, 2013

We were there for a work planning retreat and I must say it was a pleasure. The rooms were clean, the service was excellent, and the dining was superb! I would love to go back in the late spring. Chuck was such a pleasure and his staff made us feel so welcomed!


I never give 5 Stars, but I did this time.

5 en enero 31, 2013

I have stayed many places and especially many B&B's. Many of them have exceeded my expectations. Few have disappointed. Chuck the inn keeper definitely did not disappoint. I expected big things from what I had read and heard and he delivered. This time the trip was with 6 couples from our Staff team. We not only stayed but we met there for our planning meetings and Chuck cooked for us almost all our meals for the week. I could go on and on about the beautiful inn but honestly it was Chucks cooking and his attention to every detail that really impressed me. He truly has a gift of hospitality and has found his calling in life. Beyond that he is a great chef. He can take the ordinary and make it a culinary experience that explodes in your mouth and in your heart. I would recommend not only couples looking for a great inn but corporate and church teams who need a place to meet, eat and sleep. This will be an experience to remember. I Give Fair Lawn 5 Stars in all of the above and no where is perfect I know and I never do this but Thats how I sum up our Stay. Our whole team loved it.


Great Inn

4,4 en enero 07, 2013

We arrived after a storm and were greeted at the door by our host. He made us feel very welcome and was a great source of information about the area. We enjoyed our chats and loved the rooms. Breakfast was very good. There are some very nice restaurants nearby and some cute shops. We look forward to returning in the spring.


A very nice stay

4,4 en enero 02, 2013

This was our first ever B&B stay and we were very pleased. Service was excellent and the breakfast...wow. Will stay again in the future.


very enjoyable stay

4,2 en octubre 29, 2012

Mt Dew room small but cozy could hear through walls excellent breakfast good area information


good deal, great breakfast!

4,0 en octubre 29, 2012

Chuck is a very informative and thoughtful proprietor. But he's an even better chef! Inn is lovely and can't beat the "stay two nights, get one free" deal we were able to snag...


Marie, Denmark

5 en octubre 16, 2012

We was very happy, with our stay.Great place-very good breakfast and very helpfull owner.


Octoberfest Fun!!!

5 en octubre 14, 2012

Chuck was a gracious host, great cook!! He goes out of his way to make you feel like the Fairlawn is your home away from home . We enjoyed our recent stay there so much we will be making plans to return . We would not think of staying anywhere else. Maybe next time we will try the room with the fireplace!!!


wonderful place to stay

5 en agosto 31, 2012

It was a beautiful place to stay, and the Host He was wonderful, made us feel at home. Will stay there again if given the chance.

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks for the review and nice commentary. We hope you come back often and have that opportunity.


Fairlawn Inn for Octoberfest

3,0 en agosto 27, 2012

This was my first time in a bed and breakfast and I had always wanted to stay in one. We arrived one day late and very tired, having notified the owner. He misread the e-mail and we were greeted with somewhat of a tirade as to why we had not answered his phone calls. This set the tone for the stay unfortunately. The rooms were very noisy, the bed was extremely uncomfortable and the doorknob broke, along with having no way to lock the room due to the locks on the windows not working. Although he assured us there would be no problem with security, I had confidential files with me and had to bring them in and out for security reasons. The B&B was beautifully decorated and he had many interesting artifacts and antiques and knew the area well. All restaurant recommendations were fabulous and the breakfast was organic and outstanding! Once everything settled down from the misunderstanding, we enjoyed our stay very much.

Respuesta del propietario

We would like to apologize to this guest for any inconvenience that they faced on their stay. I greeted the guest as they arrived with concern as they arrived a day later than their original reservation, did not respond to two phone messages and emails. I was happy to see they had arrived and that the delay a mis-communication. I read their email as a later check in on their original arrival day, not a delay of a day. The historic home is not as quiet at new construction but that is part of the "charm" of the inn. I get compliments on the Serta Perfect Sleeper mattresses so I was surprised by the comment on it being uncomfortable. We are in a very safe area and I did offer to screw the window closed if that made it more comfortable for the guest. We live in a rural and very safe community but I did try to offset her concerns. Thank you for your compliments on the decor, breakfast and my referrals. We try to make sure we exceed the expectations of every guest and apologize that we did not do this in this case.


Review!

4,0 en julio 18, 2012

Everything a B&B should be! Great breakfast and outside seating areas, especially the breezy porch with comfortable furniture at the end of the 2nd floor. Nice gardens and flower decorations, he obviously puts a lot of work and care into his "expensive hobby"!


lovely place and the innkeeper was very helpful and accomodating.

3,4 en julio 01, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. We liked that the inn is going green. the food was very good too.


Wonderful stay!

5 en junio 28, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay here for our anniversary. The Inn is beautiful and we just loved all the little details. The gardens and porch outside are perfect for relaxing and our room was very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing and we still can't stop talking about how delicious the omelettes were. Chuck, the Innkeeper, was attentive to our every need. He keeps a snack bowl, cookie jar and fridge stocked with sodas for guests, and gave us some spot-on suggestions for dinner! He also surprised us with a bouquet of flowers from the garden for our anniversary! It was the most thoughtful gesture and we cannot wait to plan our next getaway here.


One of the most wonderful houses I've ever been to

5 en junio 02, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in May 2012 with my 76-year-old father in the "Opal"-room. We traveled through New York State and this was the best B&B we stayed in. Wonderful breakfast and the house and rooms are lovingly decorated. Thank you very much for your hospitality, Chuck - I hope we will return (as we came over from Germany it may take some time...).


A Perfect Spot

5 en mayo 02, 2012

What a wonderful place with an even more wonderful host. Rooms are well appointed, clean and super cozy. Just a short walk to Hunter mountain and area attractions and the breakfast is superb!


Great time at Hunter Mountain and the Fairlawn Inn

4,0 en febrero 29, 2012

My Wife and I stayed at the Fairlawn Inn for the weekend of Feb 24 to Feb 27. The Inn Keeper was both gracious and attentative to our needs. The room was clean, comfortable and cozy. We stayed in the Willow room that had a electric fireplace, nice touch The Inn Keeper made us breakfast both Saturday and Sunday morning and it was a breakfast to die for! He is an excellent cook. We intend to re-visit the Inn again.


A nice escape for a romatic weekend away

3,8 en enero 31, 2012

The Fairlawn inn is a beautiful, well furnished inn. My GF and I took a trip up here to spend some time away from the city. It was well worth the trip. There are tons of things to do in the area, especially if you're a skier. Not being skiers, we went to City Brewery and Kaaterskill Falls. Both were wonderful even in the inclement weather. However, there were some very minor flaws. A couple of the lightbulbs in our room didn't work, and there was some exposed electrical wires in the dining room. The cues for the pool table were almost unusable and need to be replaced. Too his credit, Chuck makes a fantastic omelet.

Respuesta del propietario

I appreciate this guests review and was glad his overall experience here was a pleasant one. Upon reading the review I immediately went to the dining room to look for the exposed wiring referenced in his review and could not find it. I would have been surprised if we found something like that as I circle the inn daily and address R&M issues immediately. We work very hard to insure there are no issues of that nature here and that all guests know we offer a very safe environment. We do check all fixtures and light bulbs periodically. We always turn on lights in each room prior to guests arrival so my apologies if we missed some. I would have been happy to replace a burnt out bulb immediately had this guest requested it. We will tour the inn today to insure they are all functioning. All of the light bulbs are CFL or LED so we can maintain as green an environment as possible, when these bulbs turn on they are dim but over the course of a few minutes reach their maximum brightness. I also checked the cue sticks, although they are not "professional" quality they are all well maintained, tipped and certainly if one cue was off the other three available would suffice. We also have a smaller cue, a bridge along with chalk, rosin and racks that are well maintained so this was a curious comment. Thanks for the compliment on breakfast, I love to cook and breakfast is usually one of the highlights of the visit.


Absolutely Beautiful...

5 en enero 02, 2012

The Inn is perfectly located to the ski mountain. The Greene suite was beautiful with a huge private bathroom and fireplace. The breakfast was delicious . I simply cannot think of anything wrong with the Fairlawn..5 stars across the board . Thank you


A great stay at the Fairlawn Inn

4,4 en noviembre 07, 2011

Our innkeeper, Chuck was very knowledgeable about the area and many other topics. We always enjoyed our conversations. Chuck is also a wonderful cook and our breakfast was fantastic. The Inn and our rooms were clean and well cared for.


fairlawn inn

4,0 en octubre 20, 2011

The place was great, expertly decorated and very very clean, food was top shelf had a good time I would highly recommend this B & B


Outstanding Hunter Mt Bed and Breakfast

5 en octubre 12, 2011

Everything about the Fairlawn Inn is perfect. The accommadations, the grounds, the breakfast, the staff. An exceptionally well run establishment and beautiful home.


A Romantic Stay in Hunter, NY!

4,0 en septiembre 26, 2011

Chuck ensured our first Bed and Breakfast stay was a wonderful one! Thanks again!


The Fairlawn is a wonderful B & B. Loved it!

5 en septiembre 21, 2011

The Fairlawn is a beautiful, well-maintained home. The innkeeper was gracious and friendly. The breakfast was delicious. We would visit again and recommend it to others.


Fantastic!

5 en septiembre 09, 2011

Amazing B&B! Highly recommend it, we had such a nice time. Sat in the second floor gazebo while the rain was pouring down. So cozy... Thank you Chuck, we will be back. Olof & Carla


Beautiful

5 en agosto 17, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend and the Fairlawn and service made it even better. This was our first time staying at a B&B and are planning to go back next summer.


Wonderful experience

4,4 en julio 20, 2011

This was the first time we have stayed at a B&B and The Fairlawn exceeded every expectation. The decor was tastefully done, the bedding exceptionally comfortable and the bathroom comfortably designed (lighting was not terriffic in the bath, but better than the average hotel). The air conditioning was very quiet. Attention is given to the exterior as well with comfortable furniture and a very pleasant, relaxing atmosphere. The hot breakfast which was available was wonderful. Our only recommendation to the Inn Keeper would be to broaden the breakfast options by including some additional cold items, such as cereals, yogurt, etc. for those who need/prefer lighter fare.


1 night stand

4,4 en julio 20, 2011

we stayed only 1 night and it was perfect! Accommodation was ready upon our arrival, innkeeper genial, room clean with nice towels and linens, bed very comfy and breakfast the next morning was WONDERFUL!!!! There were 2 of us and we shared a breakfast table with 2 others and decided to try all the breakfast offerings and share....scrumptious! Would highly recommend and will return.


The best Inn in Hunter NY

5 en julio 20, 2011

This was our 4th visit to the Fairlawn, this trip was to plan our wedding. When we thought about where we wanted to be married we thought it should be a very special place, immediately we thought of the Fairlawn. Chuck, the Inn Keeper, will be hosting our event at the Fairlawn next summer. The setting is one of the most beautiful on the Mountain. From the beautifully decorated Victorian interiors, that makes you feel like you stepped back in time, to the wonderfully delicious breakfast each morning. Each morning you have a choice of at least 5 or 6 different gourmet items on the menu along with seasonal fruit and fresh baked muffins. Chuck will go out of his way to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Once you stay here, you won't want to stay anywhere else.


An amazing place to stay...well worth the diversion!

4,8 en julio 09, 2011

Very accommodating and the rooms were well appointed. The breakfast beat any 5 star hotel.


Will always go back...like home away from home,,,

4,2 en junio 27, 2011

We have stayed at the Fairlawn Inn twice now. Each experience was wonderful and will probably always choose this bed and breakfast in the future. We love to go zipling on Hunter Mt. As exciting and thrilling zipling can be, that is how relaxing and low key The Fairlawn Inn is. We love the beautiful architeture and ambiance. The owner is just a really fun guy with great stories and a wonderful sense of humor. He makes everyone feel right at home and comfortable from the start. The other people staying there talked to us like we were old friends and we enjoyed our stay very much. This is definitely a MUST stop for you!


vacation in the catskills

4,0 en junio 10, 2011

A wonderful host who made our stay very nice and served a great breakfast.


Great Place

3,6 en junio 06, 2011

The Fairview Inn is a beautiful, old victorian style inn. The owner Chuck is accommodating and kind. He also makes a terrific breakfast. The village and restaurants of Tannersville were not that impressive. I encourage a visit to Woodstock, NY while staying at the Fairview.


what a great place to stay for a weekend get away

5 en mayo 10, 2011

gorgeous room, excellent breakfast...Chuck runs a great B&B. We'll definitely be back.


Outstanding experience!

5 en mayo 01, 2011

The Fairlawn Inn was comfortable, had interesting decor, wonderful staff that cooked up some of the best breakfast! My friends and I took up three rooms and got to see each others spaces and all were interesting. The location is fantastic. You can actually walk to Hunter Mountain and Wyndham is a short ride away. Fantastic value!


weekend in the catskills

4,4 en abril 23, 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at The Fairlawn Inn. The weather was awful so we spent alot of time at the Inn, it was very cosy and the proprietor was so nice and took wonderful care of us. We would definitely go back again.


Historic Charm

4,2 en marzo 06, 2011

Planned a last minute getaway after winning tickets to ski at Hunter Mountain. Although we had a Select Registry handbook of BandBs and Inns, we were really attracted to the beautiful decor featured in each room of the Fairlawn and were more than satisfied to stray from the recommendations in the Registry. The home is a beautifully restored early 20th Century Victorian, true to it's roots. Breakfast, prepared by Chuck each morning was scrumptious, and he has a selection of card and board games as well as some videos and a pool table to occupy free time. Snacks were around to graze upon around the clock. The choice to stay at the Fairlawn turned a quick "stay in a motel" ski weekend into a mini romantic getaway.


Stay at the Fairlawn

3,6 en febrero 28, 2011

We spent one night at the Fairlawn and very much enjoyed the home, the rooms, and the breakfast. It was lovely to have a fireplace, pool table, etc. available for our use. Breakfast was wonderful


Great experience

4,0 en febrero 23, 2011

The food was excellent, the staff was helpful and courteous, and the room was beautiful. Seeking green certification so had a nice dispenser with high end soaps and shampoos in the shower. Went on the windiest weekend ever, and the room was a tad drafty.


Great place

4,8 en febrero 14, 2011

Overall great experience. The inn is less than 5 minutes' drive from the entrance to Hunter mountain and is pretty centrally located to many other things: good food (Chuck recommended Last Chance and I heartily concur after having eaten there), movies, bowling (in the town of Catskill), shopping, etc. Inn is beautiful, room was wonderful, and breakfast was delicious. We were also given dicount cupons for our next stay, which we will very likely take advantage of in very short order. Only complaint would be that walls are VERY thin (or at least the ones in our room were). In addition to hearing the people in the room next door talking/watching TV, they set their alarm which we heard clear as a bell when it went off at 7:30am...


A FAVOURITE

4,4 en febrero 06, 2011

Chuck was a great innkeeper...very friendly and warm. We were very happy to bring our dog with us and were very pleased with how pet friendly our room was. The room had a dog bowl and treats ready for our pup upon arrival. The breakfast met beyond our expectations. Healthy and hearty food, I would say a gourmet experience. We will return in April. "Thank You Chuck" for a wonderful stay.


Definitely staying here again!!

5 en enero 28, 2011

I was looking for a B&B for my husband and I to stay at while in town for a ski weekend at Hunter Mountain. We loved the Fairlawn Inn! Our room was gorgeous and immaculate. We stayed in the Greene Room which had a gas fireplace and a very large bathroom with a claw-footed tub. It was such a nice, relaxing atmosphere. The rest of the B&B is gorgeous and decorated with tons of beautiful old antiques. Breakfast was excellent - I would recommend the goat cheese and pesto omelet! Also, the Fairlawn is literally within walking distance to Hunter Mountain..less than half a mile. This is a terrific place to relax at after a long day of skiing. We will definitely be staying here again next year!


Wonderful warm room in great location

4,4 en enero 27, 2011

Fairlawn Inn is a beautiful B&B just feet away from Hunter Mountain ski resort. The prices at the ski resort were ridiculous and I was so happy to find a room nearby that would book 1 night at a reasonable price. The room was beautiful and decorated for my boyfriend's birthday. The breakfast was amazing. I wished they served breakfast every weekend to the public, as we typically come to Hunter to ski every weekend. The house is beautiful and the room was lovely. It was a little smaller than I expected, but it was beautiful with a big jacuzzi and warm fireplace. After skiing all day, this was such a wonderful place to land! Thank you to Fairlawn Inn. We highly recommend it!


Very satisfied

4,6 en noviembre 24, 2010

Off season. We were the only ones there and Chuck had just returned from vacation. Nonetheless, he took excellent care of us. The ambience was wonderful and we had an excellent visit.


Weekend at Fairlawn

3,8 en noviembre 09, 2010

We had a great time. Chuck the Innkeeper has a great personality and was there to make sure each detail was covered


In 'All' ways Awesome

5 en octubre 31, 2010

We've stayed here 5 times!!!!! Chuck (the Innkeeper) couldn't be sweeter or more accomodating! The house is stun gun gawgeous..... antiques abound ... ! Breakfast? YUMMO! Looking forward to another 5 times :)


The Fairlawn Inn

4,4 en octubre 31, 2010

There was so much to see in the area, and staying at the Fairlawn made it more enjoyable.


Excellent Vibe!

4,4 en octubre 28, 2010

We couldn't be more pleased with our stay at the Fairlawn.Chuck was the perfect host!We loved the vibe and visual appeal of the common rooms and our room was outstanding!We felt very much at home and relaxed.Chuck's culinary skills were awesome.We would highly reccomend the Fairlawn and hope to visit there again.Lori Mann


Great Place !!

5 en octubre 15, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Fairlawn. Chuck was great and the breakfast was delicious! Would highly recommend staying here.


A magnificent weekend!

4,6 en julio 06, 2010

My fiance and I both work in high stress jobs (who doesn't these days?). We just spent the most wonderful 4th of July weekend at the Fairlawn. Kathy and Candy were the perfect hosts! The room was great and sitting around the firepit in the evening was the perfect end to the days' activities. We both are planning on returning in the Fall when the new Zip line is installed.


Roll of the dice: never again

2,2 en junio 02, 2010

One might have a better stay almost any place else (we went as it was listed pet-friendly). On this sold-out weekend it seemed the owner was attempting to keep our money by finding reason to get rid of us and let the room to another party. Fellow guests told us that he assured them he would kick us out if there were ANY complaints--Counter to some friendly offers on our arrival the well-spoken host seemed to be intermittently replaced by a caustic brute. I was reminded numerous times about the policies re: dogs. The ‘reminding’ was in a manner which was harsh in dealing w/anybody, much less paying guests who haven’t broken any rules. We were as responsible as possible and the dogs didn’t bother fellow guests (a number of them noted how well-behaved the dogs were). At one point a rather large dog, roaming freely, who (even if 'friendly') engaged our dogs. Next day the same dog was barking away in a truck w/the back open parked in the Inn’s driveway. I believe, unlike ours, this dog was not there w/paying guests, but w/people working the Inn's yard sale. Another time we were relaxing outdoors after b'fast hour w/a friend staying down the street, to whom Chuck kindly offered b'fast; he then came up and harassed us re: dogs (who were extremely well-behaved until he came up). For over $200/night (regardless of toilet to be swapped out on the landing outside the room, broken banister, steps needing repair, thin walls, etc.) others may have a more civil experience. Tripadvisor has some poor reviews re: Chuck's mood swings (which ring true w/us)--nb: the owner refutes/turns on every guest who gave anything but a stellar review. Of our stays at B&Bs in USA, Europe and Asia it was our worst experience (in fact the only truly negative experience we've ever had at a B&B). I'm sure the awards listed by the owner are well-earned; an award-winning stay wasn't, however, our experience.


A diamond in the Catskills

5 en agosto 14, 2009

My fiancee and I recently stay at this wonderful place during our "adventure" weekend in the Catskills. We had decided to take a road trip vacation close to home and do as many new and exciting things as we could fit into one weekend. Naturally, staying in a bed and breakfast was right up near the top of our list, having only traveled to major chain hotels in the past. The scenic drive through the Catskill Mountains and the beautiful views of the peaks and valleys made getting to The Fairlawn Inn a pleasure. The close proximety to the major roads, the location on the "main drag" of the town of Hunter, and the un-obstructed view of Hunter Mountain from the drivway welcomed us. The inn itself is brilliant as a picture post card decorated. Lively florals, rich dark wood furniture, and paintings addorned the walls making this inn a time caspule perfect for a get away. There is a pool table in the common area for everyone to enjoy, a small sun patio with a lovely waterfall and water pond. Surrounding the fire pit are a group of patio chairs which, would have made for a great evening relaxing around the fire with a glass of wine or coffee. Breakfast the next day was beyond review. Starting with the fresh baked blueberry/bannanna muffins with a light citrus glaze and a stiff cup of coffee, the food continued to get better as the courses progressed. Fresh fruit flowed from the bowl and was perfectly ripe. While I can only speak for my gigantic chedder and bacon omlett, I am POSITIVE that everything on the menue would have been as good. Conversation was pleasant, and the rest of our stay was enjoyable. We would go back again to stay with Chuck at the Fairlawn, if only for the breakfast. It was far worth the trip.


A weekend to remember

5 en noviembre 05, 2008

A group of friends came to Hunter for the weekend and rented the whole Inn. The food was superb, the Inn was so nice and comfy, rooms were perfect and I know that everyone enjoyed themselves. Chuck went above and beyond for sure. We arranged to have a winetasting and dinner there on Sat. night so folks wouldn't have to drive. We did the winetasting/appetizers and Chuck prepared a great dinner. Chuck went the extra mile to make the most wonderful centerpiece for the winetasting/appetizer table creating the right mood for the event. Chuck put the time and energy into making the weekend one to remember. We had the opportunity to see all the rooms in the Inn and each had its own ambience and all were nice and ensuite so no one felt like they got the short end of the stick! A great time was had by all.


Beautiful B &B to stay

4,4 en mayo 28, 2008

We just came back from a weekend trip and can say that Chuck (the owner) was a great host in this nice Bed and Breakfast. Hunter is obviously more of a ski-town than for summer vacation - but the close proximity to all sights and hiking trails makes this place a wonderful stay.


Fairlawn Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $129 - $249
  • Comentarios (94) 4,5
  • Habitaciones 9
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono (518) 263-5025

Ver el sitio web del B&B »

Más info

Arriba