Portobello Inn Bed & Breakfast Comentarios

TOTAL

4,7

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,4
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,7
  • Limpieza4,7
  • Comidas4,7

Puntuación basada en
75 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Can't wait to go back!

5 en octubre 31, 2013

The room was nicely appointed and very comfortable. The Innkeeper, Roland, was very friendly but not intrusive. The breakfast was to die for and exquisity presented. My mouth waters thinking about it. I'm one who prefers motels to B&B's, but I can't wait to go back to Portobello Inn in the Spring.


Home Away From Home

5 en septiembre 03, 2013

I am a repeat customer at the Portobello. Rowland and Steve are the perfect hosts. This trip was due to a death in the family and they accommodated my needs on short notice, in spite of having a full house. They were able to arrange guests so that I wouldn't have to change rooms and all below the price I expected to pay. While I didn't take advantage of the fabulous breakfasts that they prepare, in the past I have - Roland is an excellent Chef. I recommend the Portobello to anyone who appreciates the Victorian past.


Portobello e cosi bello!

5 en agosto 31, 2013

Our stay at Portobello was magnificent. From arrival to departure Roland was most cordial and accommodating. Fresh bing cherries, homemade brownies, and fresh coffee awaited us. Soft music, beautiful artistry and antiques adorned each spotless room. After comfortable and relaxing evenings, we awakened looking forward to an amazing table presence of prepared morning fare consisting of fresh fruits, and muffins. There were pancakes (on one occasion) and a fluffy egg & cheese souffle (on the other). We were able to purchase beautiful antique trinkets and Roland even gave me his recipe for those fudgy brownies. Upon leaving a baby rabbit feasting on cherry tomatoes was our farewell glimpse of a wonderful, very reasonably priced stay. We would most emphatically recommend a stay here, and hope to return. Thanx ever so much Roland!! Carmelina & Stacey from Connecticut


Stopover in her limber

4,0 en agosto 19, 2013

We stayed overnight on our way to niagara on the lake and were surprised to find such a nice spot in little falls House is a bit run down on the outside - needs a paint job but once inside it is delightful,clean and well worth staying. I suggest you bring ear-plugs if you are a light sleeper like me as trains can run about every 30 minutes all night long. My husband was fine but I got very little sleep. I suggested this to Roland so he may be providing for future guests. We would definitely stay here again. Katherine Smith


Fantastic

5 en julio 31, 2013

Roland was very accommodating and made our experience very enjoyable. He is witty and engaging. We were part of a group of four couples who stayed for a weekend and everyone had a great time.


A+ for Hospitality

4,6 en julio 25, 2013

This was our home base for bicycling on the Erie Canal trail near Herkimer, Little Falls, and points East. Roland really knows how to make you welcome. He prepared foods to accommodate our finicky digestion (non-dairy, low sugar) and everything was delicious! The room was very comfy and had a king-sized bed (often hard to find at a B&B). Many antiques in the common areas were fun to look at.


Excellent B & B

4,8 en junio 09, 2013

We don't usually stay in bed and breakfasts but this was truly a great experience. We stayed two days and the breakfasts were absolutely sensational and alone might be worth the trip back. Roland is a great host.


A Local Oasis

5 en abril 24, 2013

My wife and I needed a quiet and relaxing getaway... And we found it at Portobello's! The home was a beautiful representation of its Victorian era. It was quiet, Roland and the co-owners were so kind and compassionate and treated us like royalty. The breakfast was divine and abundant and the atmosphere was welcoming and beautiful. We will definitely be visiting Portobello's again!!


Quick, yet enjoyable stay.

4,6 en octubre 21, 2012

I came up to the area for a student film shoot in Little Falls. I needed a place for the first night so I decided on the Portobello Inn. The innkeeper Roland was wonderful and extremely helpful. I had originally picked a smaller room, but due to the furnace being broken, I was upgraded to a larger room. It was very nice and spacious with a lovely bathroom. The only downside was that the bed was a bit hard for my taste and the train that ran past the place was very loud at night. I had to leave at 5:30 the next morning and Roland was up and ready to help me with my many bags and kits and send me on my way. On the whole, a very nice place. Very home-y and comfortable. I only wish I could have had some time for breakfast the next day as I have only heard wonderful things about the food there. I definitely recommend the Portobello Inn to anyone going through that area. Very relaxing and a pleasant stay.


Grand Home in the Mohawk Valley

4,4 en octubre 04, 2012

This is a wonderful home with very comfortable bedrooms and several sitting areas. We booked an extra night just so we could enjoy time in the home. Would be an ideal gathering place for a small family reunion. The host is Roland Randall and he is very gracious and helpful. This is now an annual stop for us.


Wonderful hospitality!

4,8 en septiembre 23, 2012

Comfortable, clean, beautiful room! Extraordinary breakfasts -- best we've ever had!


Roland is a Sweetheart!

4,8 en septiembre 06, 2012

Our stay was delightful. Rooms are immaculate and very comfy. Roland went out and bought organic food for us! Great place to stay!


Lovely Experience

4,2 en septiembre 06, 2012

Our room was clean and nicely furnished. Coffee station outside our door for easy morning . evening coffee. Breakfast was nicely prepared -- food selection excellent. The innkeeper was helpful and very pleasant.


My stay at Portobello Inn

4,8 en septiembre 06, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at the Portobello Inn. I was very sick with a cold, but Roland made me tea and served me lots of fresh fruit. The room was lovely and well appointed with a very comfortable bed. I would definitely stay there again!


A Hidden Treasure

4,8 en septiembre 03, 2012

Our room was clean and comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was great. Our host was friendly, helpful, and accommodating.


our stay at the Portobello Inn

5 en agosto 16, 2012

When we made our reservations for the Portobello Inn B & B,my husband was not happy. We had been to a few of them and he didn't like them. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we felt like it was our home.. The hosts were warm and friendly, the place was clean, the food was excellent. My husband and I felt really sad when we left . If you get a chance please try the place it is wonderful. Now my husband wants to try some more B & B,but it's going to be hard to find a place that cam top this one!!! Liz and Dom Grieco


Just Like Home B&B

5 en agosto 15, 2012

I can not say enough about Roland Randall, the Inn Keeper. He was very attentive, a great cook and hostess. He was there to greet myself and my sister upon our arrival. He made sure we had everything we needed. There was always fresh fruit, snacks and beverages out for his guests. It was a wonderful two days.


Comfortable Stay

4,2 en agosto 15, 2012

We stayed two nights. The room was well appointed and comfortable with many nice decorative features. The bathroom was clean with room to lay out toiletries. Breakfast was delicious and different each day with plenty of coffee, juice, pastries and a hot main course (quiche one day and french toast the next). Roland, the host, was eager to be of service and helpful with suggestions for sightseeing in the area. We would definitely visit again.


Looking forward to my next stay

4,6 en agosto 13, 2012

I had as much fun staying at Portobello Inn as I had reuniting with my HS classmates. Now I will look for a reason to visit the area again so that I can stay at this charming and accommodating B&B!.


A blissful vacation stay at Portobello Inn

5 en agosto 12, 2012

The Inn was beautiful, very comfortable and perfectly located for the day trips we had planned in the area. Roland, Ralph, Steve and Rob, were all super. Roland bent over backwards to accommodate our late arrival and our other little requests such as the use of some kitchen tools. Rob engaged us in conversation regarding local history and then presented us with a book on the subject, after learning of our interest. I would stay there again and highly recommend Portobello to my friends. I felt less like a guest than as a treasured family member!


Wonderful Getaway

4,8 en agosto 04, 2012

Portobello B&B was a lonely, cozy, homey stay with great rooms and service. And the breakfast was outstanding... fresh fruit and orange juice and delicious fluffy pancakes.


Great value and outstanding service in Central NY

4,4 en agosto 01, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Portobello and had a great stay. The highlights were undoubtedly Roland's hospitality and cooking. He is an outstanding innkeeper! We would stay here again and would recommend the Portobello to anyone wanting to visit area attractions, such as Cooperstown, Fort Stanwix, or the Munson Williams Museum.


A Pleasant Stay

4,6 en julio 31, 2012

We were warmly greeted by innkeeper Roland and had a most delightful stay with a historic review of the area and inn's history by innkeeper Steve.


great bed and breakfast

4,0 en julio 19, 2012

Very quaint home with lovely antiques throughout. Breakfast was fabulous! The afternoon sugar cookies and tea was a nice touch. Rooms were comfortable and nicely appointed. We loved our stay and would definitely return again. The innkeeper was very pleasant and so accomodating.


Review of Portobello Inn Bed & Breakfast

5 en julio 19, 2012

My wife & I have stayed at this Inn twice & loved it!! The rooms were very clean , breakfast was amazing [Rolon, one of the Inn keepers is a gourmet chef]. There was free Wi-Fi & the location was convenient to all the area's we had to visit. I would reccomend this Inn to any one & everyone. Dr. Carlos & Maria Coro, Miami Florida


Returning Customer

4,8 en julio 06, 2012

We have stayed at the Inn several times and recommend it highly. Clean rooms, exceptional service, and Roland's breakfast is extremely good. The Inn is conveniently located to anyone wanting to visit the Mohawk Valley. The decore is all very nostalgic and the place is huge. Many nooks to enjoy peace and quiet. The beds are comfortable. (Coming from a Sleep Number owner, that is a compliment.) Roland is the perfect host! Highly recommend it.


Prepare to be pampered

5 en julio 02, 2012

This delightful B&B not only has charming, clean rooms, but the owners go out of their way to make you feel cared for. The breakfasts were some of the best I have ever had and there were always snacks and treats available at the end of day. I would highly recommend the Portobello Inn to anyone planning to stay overnight in the Herkimer county area.


Fantastic Relaxing Getaway

4,8 en junio 29, 2012

My wife and I recently visited the Portabello and it was a very relaxing, pleasant and enjoyable experience. Our host, Roland, made us feel very much "at home" and his wonderful breakfasts are not to be missed. We will definitely visit again whenever we are in the area. Bill & Jeanne, Fishkill NY


Simply Wonderful!

4,4 en junio 22, 2012

We were visiting family in the area, and accomodations at the Portobello were wonderful! The Inn is welcoming, comfortable, rich in history, and the Innkeepers are very attentive, friendly, and we had some great conversations. The breakfasts were delicious, and snacks and beverages always available. Thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay, and look forward to going back again!


A Wonderful Experience!

5 en junio 14, 2012

My stay at the Portobello Inn was truly a wonderful experience! It was the first time I had ever stayed at a Bed and Breakfast so I was unsure of what to expect. The hosts were charming, the decor was so beautiful - full of antiques, and the breakfast both mornings was extraordinary! I enjoyed sitting at the breakfast table and chatting with the other guests. I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone that has that area as a destination!


Only Stay At This Inn IF.......

5 en mayo 28, 2012

Only stay at the Portobello Inn Bed and Breakfast if you desire the very finest in accommodations, superior service, immaculately clean rooms and exquisite breakfasts Mediocrity is not allowed! Partners Roland, Steve, and Howard each went out of their way to ensure our needs and desires were met. The room was impeccable! Beautifully decorated with a great attention to detail. When initially confirming out reservation, Roland asked if there were any dietary restrictions. We mentioned that my partner cannot have seeds, nor nuts. Upon entering the breakfast room room for breakfast, there was a bowl of fresh fruit cut up containing strawberries, raspberries, grapes, melons, etc. My partner helped himself to a dish of fruit. Roland suddenly appeared from the Kitchen with a separate dish of assorted melons and fruit with no seeds. Roland immediately reminded Gene that the dish he was about to eat had seeds, and he was NOT about to let him consume something that could be harmful to him. A lesser host would have let his guests fend for themselves, making them forge through the fruit to find seedless bits as best they could. This kind of attention to detail and attentiveness is only one example of what makes the Portobello Inn Bed and Breakfast a step above the rest. Room, Service, Value, Cleanliness and Dining are all outstanding. There is train traffic near by, but it did not bother us in the least. In the future, when our travels take us to the Mohawk Valley area, we fully intend to make the Portobello Inn our home away from home. I say this because out hosts, Roland, Steve, and Howard do all possible to feel like we are indeed home. Gary Smith


Quiet & elegant

4,6 en mayo 17, 2012

Much nicer than any of the dingey hotels in the Utica area. Roland is the perfect gracious host.


I loved this inn

5 en abril 15, 2012

Shortly after we booked online, Roland phoned to confirm and ask what we wanted for breakfast....then gave us an off-season discount!!! The inn is charming. Really quaint. Really quiet. The room was very clean. The bed was comfy. At breakfast Roland even made me my diet omelotte...and pancakes for my husband looked yummy. We wanted to stay on the way back from my quilting conference but ran out of time. If you are travelling into New York State from the North or West...its a great overnite spot, convenient to the interstate. also good for those interested in the history of the Mohawk River Valley.


Two sisters on a road trip!

5 en abril 07, 2012

My sister and I take a road trip every spring break and though living in California this year was no exception. Our parents and grandparents are from the Herkimer, Little Falls, Illion area and we decided to reconnect to upstate New York. We had a wonderful experience at the Porto Bello. The food was very special and the owner, Roland couldn't have been nicer. The room was delightful, very clean and nicely decorated. If we return on any future trips, I am sure we will stay at the Porto Bello.


Unforgettable stay

5 en febrero 26, 2012

My wife and her family stayed at the Portobello Inn with Roland, our super-gracious innkeeper for our wedding weekend. It was fabulous.


What a find

4,4 en noviembre 28, 2011

Roland was a real treat, very very friendly. Love the character of the B&B. Close to shopping. Great atmosphere, food and people. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay.


Portobello

4,6 en octubre 11, 2011

A great place to stay .Complimentary golf on a well maimtained course was also great .I would deffinitely stay here in the future. Mike Penik


Portobello: A lovely retreat or shall I say;"TREAT"!!!!!

4,0 en agosto 29, 2011

My husband and I were navigating the Internet...hoping to come upon a lovely B&B near or in Herkimer. After coming across Portobello B&B;we read numerous reviews before we made our decision to stay the weekend!!! Every review was so very positive...how could we not make our reservations! The InnKeeper, Roland greeted us at the door;warm and gracious he showed us to our room. The Inn is very tastefully decorated and you immediately felt "at home"the moment you walked in!!! The breakfast was yummy and left us very satisfied! There wasn't anything negative about our stay and hope to visit Roland and his partner Steve again!!!


Great Value

3,8 en agosto 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Portobello for four days, and had a very good experience. Roland and the other two gentlemen were very helpful with recommendations and information about the area, and the food was excellent. The seating arrangement at breakfast facilitated conversations among the guests, which was pleasant. The Inn's location in Herkimer was perfect for what we wanted to do in the area. We highly recommend the Portobello.


beautiful

4,8 en agosto 24, 2011

Roland was great, the house was beautiful, the room was cozy, made for a great weekend


Nice Bed and Breakfast .after visiting Cooperstown and going to Saratoga Races

3,8 en agosto 21, 2011

The Inn was very nice.... The hosts were very gracious.... We had a nice, quiet breakfast with others in the diningroom... Our room even had a sitting area....and a large bath...


Portobello Inn--A great place to stay

4,8 en agosto 15, 2011

The rooms were comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was wonderful, and the hosts were beyond nice.


Another great stay!

5 en agosto 15, 2011

Returning again this year to this great find in the Cooperstown/Glimmerglass area, we had another pleasant stay including the best breakfast around and the incredible hospitality of Roland.


Great Place Stay in Herkimer

4,2 en agosto 04, 2011

It was a pleasant surprise to find out that if you stay Mon-Wed you get a discount on the room and use of the Country Club pool and Golf course!


Very enjoyable stay!

4,2 en julio 28, 2011

Went out of their way to make us feel at home. The breakfasts were out of this world good (and one of us is gluten free). The first night, we opened the window and we found the train/road noise a little loud. The second night, we kept the window shut and ran the air conditioner and slept very well. Thanks!


Portobello Inn

3,6 en julio 25, 2011

Roland was very helpful and went out of his way to make our stay grata. The outside of the Inn needed some paint but the inside was filled with interesting pieces of furniture and art. The breakfasts were wonderful and Roland went out of his way to meet dietary needs and likes/dislikes.


great place to stay

4,6 en julio 23, 2011

Our room had been pre-cooled for us and drinks, cookies and fruit were set out for us by the kindest and most attentive innkeeper we have met. Roland printed out directions to all of our destinations and prepared delicious breakfasts, taking special care with one member of our party on a gluten-free diet. This is a wonderful, welcoming place to stay, close to attractions/opera; we plan a return visit next year.


Perfect stay in the Mohawk Valley

4,8 en julio 14, 2011

If you are looking for a nice comfortable place to stay in the Herkimer-Little Falls area the Portobello Inn is the perfect place. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the innkeepers are wonderful.


One Night Fantastic Stay !

4,0 en julio 11, 2011

My husband & I stayed at the Portobello Inn on 7/8. It was only one night, wished it was a week. The place is wonderful! The Innkeeper, Roland is the perfect host. From the minute I called, to meeting him, it was a wonderful pleasure. The inn is spotless, and beautiful. The breakfast was beyond, anything we have experienced. We have been to many inns, but by far, this was our favorite. Hoping to get back, for a longer period of time.


The Fabulous Portobello

5 en junio 29, 2011

The Portobello Inn was beautiful!!!! The rooms were all immaculate. The food was fabulous. The owner, Roland could not do enough for us to make our stay very memorable!!!! We would highly recommend the Portobello Inn!!!! Thank you so much Roland!!!! Lynn


a great getaway!

4,8 en junio 28, 2011

Roland's (the innkeeper) attention to detail and culinary expertise at breakfast made this a most enjoyable stay! We loved it!


Fantastic Stay - Extremely Accomodating

4,8 en junio 17, 2011

We could not have been happier with our visit to the Portobello Inn. Both Roland and Steve were very gracious, thoughtful, enjoyable to listen to and talk with, and attentive to our needs. We had to stay in a hotel our first night in town due to the Inn being booked; they allowed us to drop our luggage off and took it to our room so we could tend to family and not worry about the timing of check-in with our plans. Our six-year old son was with us and Roland took the time to ask him what his favorite breakfast was (pancakes) and the next morning, made him special pancakes that spelled out his name. Talking about memorable! Felt so comfortable and clean that I walked around in my socks; sheets/pillowcases so clean and crisp - they are ironed! Next time we are in the area, we will be staying there! Fantastic place!


An OUTSTANDING place to stay

5 en mayo 21, 2011

The Portobello Inn Bed and Breakfast is just wonderful. The accomodations are wonderful, the staff is out of sight, and the food is spectacular. My hat is off to Roland he is an outstanding Innkeeper. I guess that is why we always come back.


Can't Go Wrong

4,6 en mayo 16, 2011

Caters to your every creature comfort. Clean, spacious, filled with nooks, corners and curiosities. Can't separate the place from the Innkeeper, whose gracious hospitality makes your visit relaxing and memorable. Can't beat the breakfast!


Wonderful Surprise

4,2 en abril 26, 2011

Portobello was such a pleasant surprise! The place was so clean and the decor in the common areas was not overpowering. Our room was so neat and tidy. I had no fear of taking my shoes off and getting into bed! Breakfast was a delight, the frittata thing was amazing and the homemade muffins delish! Roland was tremendous! A real pleasure! Bonus . . .he gave us some loose Herkimer diamonds for our collection that were better than anything we found digging. Thank you Portobello Inn!


Great home

4,8 en abril 13, 2011

Roland, Steve and Mike were great. Very helpful with ideas and directions to areas of interest.


A great palce to stay!!!

5 en febrero 18, 2011

It was a beautiful, good sized room and our host was great. he had homemade cookies out when we got there and even gave us some for the road. The breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to others.


Would stay again

4,6 en enero 10, 2011

We had a wonderful 2 night stay in the Portobello Inn. Roland was very welcoming and the fresh cookies were a delicious touch-even a few for the road! The Vassar room was very spacious, but the others looked great as well. Breakfast was different both days and outstanding. The only negative was the closeness to the train tracks, but the second night was very quiet. We would recommend this B&B and would stay again.


Could Not Be Better!

5 en noviembre 24, 2010

We stayed two nights in the large and comfortable Vassar Room (king bed). I usually don't like B&B's, but this is my one exception. The spacious, yet cozy, inn provided privacy, soothing music, books & magazines galore, and nooks to hide & read. Roland takes exceptional measures to make your stay comfortable. He stays out of your way, yet always remains attentive, and prepares an exceptional breakfast--all to your sensibilities. He took the time to learn how to pronounce my husband's unusual name--and greeted us at the door with it--much to my husband's surprise. Don't miss the delicious cookies awaiting you at all hours. If I could, I'd plan a vacation just to stay there for an extended time!


Like being with family

4,6 en noviembre 10, 2010

Besides the great rooms, delicious breakfasts and central location, Roland, Steve and Ralph pick up where the family leaves off. I actually look forward more to seeing the boys then my family! They care a lot about their B&B but care more for their guests.


Excellent!

4,2 en octubre 31, 2010

First visit to a B&B. Couldn't see everything ahead of time online because of problems with their website. All reviews were positive so I decided to try. Overall experience was excellent.


Portobello Inn

5 en octubre 28, 2010

A welcome stop on the way home from a long trip. I'd go back for sure.


A home away from home in Upstate New York

5 en octubre 26, 2010

We were greeted warmly by our hosts when we arrived and shown to our room which, because of a last-minute cancellation, was not the small one we expected but a larger one that was better suited to our party of three. When we told Roland that we were in Herkimer to dig for the famous Herkimer Diamonds, he gave my son three perfect crystals to show him what he was digging for. And at breakfast, Steve made my son a special pancake shaped like the letter "H" for "Henry," which he thought was great! The Portobello Inn is a well-appointed space. Because it is in a very large house, you don't get the sense that the innkeepers are right on top of you or that you've taken over a bedroom that they really couldn't spare (an experience I've had with smaller bed-and-breakfasts). There are plenty of places to mingle with other guests or to read. And the free WiFi was a pleasant surprise. If you're looking for a silent place, though, be advised that there are train tracks across the street and they are used day and night. For my family and me it was not a problem.


Our Stay at the Inn

4,8 en octubre 13, 2010

We recently were in the Herkimer area for some genealogy research and chose the Portobello online. It was a wonderful surprise to stay there. It is such a lovely place. The host was very gracious and solicitous for our comfort. I have never been asked wether I had any food allergies. It was very clean with nice amenities in the room. The whole house was very nicely decorated, it was like staying a friends home. We certainly will stay there again on our next visit to the area.


great stay

4,4 en octubre 07, 2010

Have stayed at the Portobello several times and always a great stay. Very comfortable environment and the breakfast is always first rate. Am already planning my next visit.


Great Escape in Herkimer at the Portobello Inn

5 en octubre 06, 2010

My husband and I recently had to be nearby for an evening event so we decided to find an inn to stay the night. We looked online and discovered the Portobello Inn. From the minute we walked into the old and charming home we were immersed in immediate serenity and comfort. The house is filled with antiques that are welcoming without being pretentious. Books and art are tucked away everywhere with quiet nooks to sit and read or just think. Our room was spacious with a gorgeous four poster bed, a small couch, several chairs and a television set. The breakfasts were healthy and beautifully prepared and served in the dining room of the house. My husband and I pulled out the adirondack chairs in the yard and enjoyed a glass of wine as we looked at the fall foliage across the highway. It was pure pleasure and we hated to leave. We will have to figure out a reason to return.


Very Nice

4,6 en octubre 06, 2010

We had an enjoyable stay this past weekend. It was clean, quiet and breakfast was very tasty.


A Wonderful Experience

4,6 en septiembre 24, 2010

A lovely, warm and welcoming place to stay. The breakfast each morning was delicious and the atmosphere is elegant yet very comfortable. I highly recommend this lovely home.


A Bed-and-Breakfast With Class

5 en septiembre 23, 2010

My partner and I stayed in the Portobello Inn for six nights in August, 2010 while attending the Glimmerglass Opera, and the only disagreement we had during the entire stay was about the afternoon cookies. I thought the chocolate chip superior to the oatmeal; he thought the opposite. We both agreed about the quality and tastiness of the sumptuous breakfasts: always a fresh fruit cup, juice, muffins, and endless single-cups of coffee, tea, or hot chocolate while waiting for the main courses: individual quiches, or unusual French toasts, torts, bread puddings, sweet potato pie, blueberry cobblers. Roland, the Innkeeper, and Steve and Ralph, co-owners, cater to one's every need, whether it be a special diet, a dinner reservation, or insider tourist tips. The house can best be described as old-world elegant with a down-home feeling. Filled with antiques from all periods, paintings, and books, it's a treasure trove of delights and a true home-away-from-home. We never wanted to leave. We stayed in the Lundstrom Room, perhaps the smallest room in the house, but perfectly appointed with two upholstered chairs with lamps nearby for reading, a small armoire, a modern bath with stall shower, and two antique twin rope beds with modern mattresses. Ask Steve to tell you the history of the beds. He has a wealth of stories to tell about the house and its uniqueness in American history. We observed that the people who stayed only one night didn't have time to savor the full experience afforded at the Portobello, so try to stay at least two nights and allow time for afternoon or early evening relaxation in the downstairs rooms. You, too, may never want to leave.


Fabulous Find

5 en septiembre 12, 2010

We only stayed one night at the Portobella Inn but wished we could have stayed longer! The Inn has many interesting antiques. The rooms are furnished nicely with unique and special extras like lap blankets on cozy reading chairs. The beds are very comfortable and our bathroom was spacious and very clean. What helps make this place so special is the attentiveness and care given to guests by Roland, the Innkeeper. He asked us when we might be arriving and was there to greet us. He offered assistance from carrying luggage to directions to restaurants or visitor sites. Roland asked in advance for our food preferences and dietary needs and paid special attention to them for breakfast. The breakfast was delicious - all homemade dishes, fresh fruit salad and homemade muffins. There were always homemade cookies available (with baggies to take some with us!) and bottles of spring water. The breakfast room was lovely in the morning and staff helped make guests comfortable and welcome. The Inn is in a picturesque area of New York and close to Cooperstown - which was where we visited. We look forward to staying there again!


Highly recommended!

5 en agosto 26, 2010

If you're in the area, don't miss this B&B! Impeccable hospitality, cleanliness, and great breakfast! Beautifully furnished and decorated, this B&B is a treat for the eyes -- lovely antiques everywhere you look.


Fabulous Place - Recommend to All

4,8 en agosto 18, 2010

Our recent stay was wonderful. Roland was a great host - anticipated and attended to all of our needs. FABULOUS breakfasts - course after course. I don't know if we'll be visiting that area again, but if we do, we'll stay there. I would recommend Portobello Inn to anyone.


Made to feel like we coming home

4,6 en agosto 02, 2010

Roland was exceptionally accomodating for my son and I. He made a point of knowing exactly our likes and dislikes before even arriving. Our first breakfast is one we still talk about as he made a 10 year old feel special with his name in pancakes. The forethought of having explicit directions to area locations were provided and fresh oatmeal cookies were available whenever the craving hit us ~ which was often!


Artistry, History, Attention

5 en marzo 06, 2010

It's hard to imagine that an Olde World hostelry like this could be waiting for travelers in modern times.... From the moment we received our personal welcome through these beautiful doors, the artistry, attention to detail, and historic charm told us that this would be a place like none other. It was true! We slept in greatest comfort, and awoke refreshed and enriched, to a gourmet breakfast surrounded by sculptures, sunlight, and a wonderful viewpoint over the historic Mohawk Valley. This is truly a place to be inspired and energized. The talents, vision, and care of our exceptional hosts were perfectly matched to the natural beauty of the site, and etched a lasting place in our memories of the Historic Mohawk Valley. We will definitely find a reason to return to the Portobello Inn.


Great Location

4,6 en julio 08, 2008

Herkimer was a nice location for enjoying some great country drives. Included was an outing to Cooperstown and the Baseball Hall of Fame. The last 10 miles of this 30 mile drive is one of the most beautiful we have seen. The rooms were large and clean, the food first rate and our host most accommodating. Wayne & Kathy


Portobello Inn Bed & Breakfast

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $110 - $150
  • Comentarios (75) 4,7
  • Habitaciones 5
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-3158238612
  • Fax 1-3158239376
Arriba