Ostrander's Bed & Breakfast Comentarios

TOTAL

4,9

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,8
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,8
  • Limpieza4,9
  • Comidas4,9

Puntuación basada en
151 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

prefect

5 en septiembre 28, 2014

charming totally equipped room, gentle landscape, welcoming hosts, great breakfast, - loved it all.


Great B&B

5 en agosto 28, 2014

Have already made reservations for my next stay in Canton.


Home away from home

5 en agosto 28, 2013

I have stayed here 4 to 5 times over the last 2 years. It is a wonderful place to stay. The Ostrander's are delightful and very accommodating.


Outstanding again!

5 en agosto 21, 2013

Another 1st class stay.


A weekend away

3,0 en mayo 21, 2013

This was exactly what was needed for a weekend away from the city and work. A comfortable room, with a few extra perks like a small kitchenette and sofa. Nothing too fancy, but comfortable and clean with great service from Al and Rita!


Couldn't have picked a better place

5 en febrero 28, 2013

We stayed at this B&B in August while doing genealogical research. Having grown up on Iowa farms, we really appreciated the country atmosphere. We stayed in the Pond House, loved the peaceful setting and walking the path. And, oh, the food was wonderful... dessert in the evening and a fabulous breakfast. Thank you for the gracious hospitality!


Overnight Trip

5 en noviembre 14, 2012

Such a great and welcoming couple. I arrived in the evening and was only in town for a quick visit, but their warmth and hospitality made me feel right at home. Room was great with a beautiful view. Breakfast was a special treat, over and above my normal yogurt and coffee. Would definitely return for a lengthier stay in the future. Many thanks!! A.P.


Comfort

5 en noviembre 09, 2012

Beautiful grounds, working farm, friendly, caring people, delicious food, peace and quiet. Perfect!


Ostrander's B&B

5 en octubre 07, 2012

Al & Rita are the best! Great room. Fantastic breakfast, and super accommodating.


Spoiled Again

4,8 en agosto 10, 2012

Mr. and Mrs. Ostrander were wonderful hosts and our accommodations were very comfortable. It's not our first stay, and we always look forward to a very nice family-style breakfast. Thank you, Rita & Al!


Excellent B&B

5 en agosto 10, 2012

Many stays over 8 years, always top-notch. Great breakfasts. Wonderful hosts!


A bit of heaven in Canton, NY

5 en agosto 03, 2012

A lovely, peaceful setting accompanied by exceptional hosts Rita & Al. Reserve early!


Ostrander's B&B

5 en julio 26, 2012

This was the most home felt B&B I have ever been to. So peaceful.


Our Stay at Ostrander's

4,8 en julio 20, 2012

We have stayed at this relaxing B&B before, and have always been refreshed by our visits. The peaceful surroundings and wonderful hospitality of the hosts are rare treats that are much appreciated by guests like us! Breakfasts are absolutely delicious, as well. Ostrander's would always be our first choice when visiting this area.


Home away from Home

5 en junio 23, 2012

We have had the pleasure of staying with Al and Rita for the last four years while visiting our son at SLU. Ostranders are truly amazing hosts and the accomodations are outstanding. We are fortunate to be able to recommend this B&B for all the comforts of Home!


North Country Hospitality At Its Finest

4,4 en junio 04, 2012

Expectations for accommodations in the North Country are usually not too high, so finding this charming place was a real treat. The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed; the setting allows for a taste of the beautiful rural countryside; Rita makes a delicious breakfast; and Rita and Al are delightful inn keepers with encyclopedic knowledge of the area, the history and the people.


Relaxation and Excellent Dining...Exceeded Expectations

5 en abril 11, 2012

Just returned home from a four night stay at Ostrander's Bed and Breakfast. This was a great get away that I can't wait to do again. The property is lovely, each breakfast was unique and delicious, and... I slept like a bear.


Great people great place

5 en abril 09, 2012

Food was great, rooms were great and the owners were awsome. I would highly recomend to anyone.


Classic B&B and more!

5 en diciembre 01, 2011

Stayed at Ostranders for three nights while attending meetings locally and was blown away by Al and Rita's hospitality! The Pond house is wonderful, coming with all possible amenities and Rita's breakfasts were incredible! Already hoping my company sends me here again, and soon!


The best place to stay!!!

5 en noviembre 05, 2011

My husband and I have stayed numerous time at the Ostrander's Bed and Breakfast and every single time we have been treated like family. Always welcoming us with open arms and their caring and exeptional cutomer service, certainly made our stay a wonderful expericence. No wonder we keep coming back!! There is no other place to stay when visiting the Canton Area.


Ostrander's B&B

5 en noviembre 03, 2011

Outstanding B&B -- quiet setting; excellent breakfast -- friendly owners; one of the best if not the best B&B we have stayed at on US and England trips.


Peaceful getaway with fabulous food!

4,8 en octubre 13, 2011

Had a very restful night in my little get away by the pond. The cottage was exceptionally clean and stocked with eveything I could possible want or need. The best surprise was Rita's amazing breakfast- more food than an army could eat and tastefully done. My favorite was the pumpkin/pineapple bread. Lovely hosts and very affordable. Can't wait to go back!


Comfort of coming home.

5 en agosto 05, 2011

It is so nice to have anticipated one's every need, but be given privacy completely. It is so nice to be comfortable, well-fed and thoughtful suggestions made in quiet support. It is the comfort of coming home again.


A special place

5 en agosto 03, 2011

This sheep farm B&B is simply...lovely! Airy rooms with every amenity provide guests with a warm & comfortable stay -- whether here for college visits, business or just recreation. Quiet and at the same time very conveniently located!


A Home Away From Home!

5 en julio 23, 2011

We brought our son to his college orientation and found Ostranders Bed and Breakfast in our search for accommodations near school. Our hosts Rita and Al were so warm and welcoming. Rita makes a delicious breakfast and the home made cookies were a welcome afternoon treat! The rooms are so comfortable and we have enjoyed our stay there enormously! The inn is spotless and the grounds are gorgeous. We will be back!


A very enjoyable B&B stay

4,6 en julio 22, 2011

Ostrander's B&B offers great value for the money. The hosts are friendly and their breakfasts very tasty. We would gladly stay here again!


Ostrander's B&B

5 en julio 19, 2011

Friendly, comfortable, quiet. Everything was clean as a whistle and the food was great! Beautiful place!


Just like home

5 en junio 27, 2011

This place is wonderful. Al and Rita are the best hosts. Less than 10 min from family and it is nice to have some peace and quiet. Rita makes a wonderful breakfast and their shop is great. We have stayed there before and hope to do it again.


Aaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh...

5 en junio 10, 2011

Stayed here while up for my son's commissioning and graduation from Clarkson University...oh my...what a fantastic B&B!! I stayed in the Pond House, one of the "out buildings". It was soooo relaxing (which I desperately needed). Rita and Al are wonderful folks and make you feel at home...even went and hung out with Al while he fed the sheep, etc. Lots of great stories, delicious breakfasts and wonderful memories. I wish I were there now!!!


This is a wonderful inn.

4,4 en mayo 09, 2011

this was our 2nd time at the inn. We had a great time. The innkeepers are bery friendly. We had a member of our group with a dietary restriction. this was not a problem and the innkeepers went out of her way to make an excellent option for us. It was a lot of fun. We will be back. Marc


Terrific place to stay

5 en mayo 09, 2011

We just spent a long weekend here for my nephew's commissioning and graduation from Clarkson University. Rita and Al couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly and the breakfast was fantastic! I would highly recommend Ostrander's Bed & Breakfast to anyone traveling in the area!


Wonderful!

4,0 en mayo 05, 2011

Spent one night in the Shepherd's House, and everything about our stay was wonderful. The peaceful setting, the spotless, comfortable accomodations, the delectable breakfast and evening treats, Al & Rita, the wonderful hosts, and their great shop and the yard and barn! Perfection!!


We Had A Great Time

5 en abril 26, 2011

As we arrived we met Al who was on his way to do his chores. We went along and 3 hours later we checked in. We got to see sheep, baby chicks, tractors, farm equipment for cutting and bailing hay, chickens, rabbits, and a sheep dog followed us everywhere. We stayed in the Pond House and it was clean, roomy and quiet. Breakfast the next morning was homemade and what a variety of foods. Rita and Al are some of the hardest working people we have ever met, and we thoroughly enjoyed talking with them both.


excellent place to stay

3,8 en abril 18, 2011

This was a last minute plan and the innkeepers were so gracious and accommadating.


Ostrander's - THE BEST

5 en marzo 06, 2011

My boyfriend and I had a lovely time at Ostrander's B & B. We had an easy time making a reservation, and we were accommodated when we changed out arrival to an earlier time. We stayed in the Shephard's House, where there was a great living/dining room, a spotless kitchen, and a cozy bedroom. Everything was wonderful -- but I truly can't say enough about Rita's breakfast! My boyfriend said: "This is the best breakfast I ever had!" We loved sitting and talking with the Ostranders while eating. After breakfast, Al took us to the sheepskin shop where I bought an amazing hat and pair of slippers. He even took us on a tour of the barn, to meet the sheep and their newborn lambs. All in all - this was one of the most lovely experiences I have ever had. Please make your visit to Ostrander's today - and stay longer than we did! One night was not enough. I look forward to giving them my business again one day.


Clarkson recruiting visit

4,6 en marzo 03, 2011

The Ostrander's are lovely and very accommodating. Our room was comfortable, very clean and included everything one would need. Breakfast was delicious both mornings and portions were very generous. We will stay here again, now that our daughter will be attending Clarkson in Fall 2011.


holiday stay

5 en enero 03, 2011

We have been regular customers to the Ostrander's Bed and Breakfast for 10 years while visiting relatives in a nearby town. We stay in the Shepherd House with our two children, so we have a separate bedroom and the children sleep on the pull out couch in the living room. We have always enjoyed a peaceful stay, with all the comforts of home, and the wonderful hospitality of Al and Rita! The beds are comfortable, the place is always spotless, and Rita leaves homemade desserts for us every evening - yum! Al has been kind enough to show the children the sheep and the chickens on their farm; our kids LOVE going there! It is our "home away from home" for several days at least 3 times a year; we would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone traveling in the area!


Home away from home

5 en noviembre 04, 2010

A fabulous rural setting and outstanding hosts. I stayed in the Shepherd's House -- super clean and comfortable. I felt right at home in my cottage and visiting with Rita in the main house. She makes an outstanding breakfast too. So good! Being from the city, I loved coming back in the evening and finding a deer in the front yard. Very convenient to Canton and Colton. I only wish I could have stayed longer. Would definitely stay at Ostrander's B&B again.


A Incredible Find!

4,0 en septiembre 30, 2010

This was our second stay at this B&B, and it was as wonderful as we remembered. We especially enjoy the beautiful setting. The grounds are immaculate and lush and the pond with the fountain is serene. We stayed in a big room in the house that was clean and tidy. The Ostranders are extremely personable and we enjoyed tea and cookie with them before bed. The breakfast was huge and delicious. We hope to be back soon on our next visit to the area.


Highly Recommended

4,8 en septiembre 29, 2010

Room - comfortable, perfect. Food - superb. People - friendly & informative.


The best ever

4,8 en septiembre 16, 2010

What a treat! Beautiful location, super accomodations, outstanding home-cooked breakfasts and two great hosts!


restful oasis

5 en septiembre 04, 2010

This was my first time to enjoy the warm hospitality of the owners of Ostrander's B & B. It was by mere chance that I found their website in July 2009 and knew that I needed to spend time there. I was blessed with being able to reserve the Shepherd's House from five nights in August and my time there was truly a healing experience. It revived and re-energized me spiritually, physically and mentally. May the owners continue, for a long time, their mission of hospitality in this peaceful and tranquil pastoral setting.


First time visit

5 en agosto 30, 2010

Our first time staying at a B&B and we could not be more pleased. Al and Rita were superb hosts and some of the nicest people you will meet. Rooms were very comfortable and extremely clean and Rita's homemade breakfasts are simply the best. We look forward to another stay with the Ostranders. The Youngs


Exceeded every expectation

5 en agosto 22, 2010

Ostranders was recommended to me by a couple who had stayed there before. It was everything I heard and much more. Rita & Al were excellent hosts who provided a warm and friendly atmosphere. The room was very nice with everything you could possibly need. I had a very restful night and woke to the smell of a wonderful breakfast cooking below. Rita welcomed my daughter over for delicious breakfast to escape the schools food one last time and went back to campus very happy. I would highly recommend Ostranders to anybody who asks.


Great location for visiting Clarkson University

5 en agosto 20, 2010

My son and I were visiting Clarkson University in nearby Potsdam, NY. There are very few hotels to choose from in the area and while I like Bed and Breakfasts, most do not have two beds in a room and most charge an arm and a leg. That was not the case with Ostrander's Bed and Breakfast. They are used to catering to College families and besides being extremely reasonably priced, they have rooms with two or even three beds. My son and I very much enjoyed our short stay in this country location. We talked to another family staying there at night, watched a short meteor shower and had an outstanding breakfast in the morning. We also enjoyed some pet's with their friendly outside-only cats. Great place! Rita and Al were great hosts.


Great Stay at Charming B&B

4,8 en agosto 19, 2010

Best breakfast in the area, wonderful owners, charming farm with beautiful gardens. Definitely would recommend to a friend.


The perfect B and B

5 en agosto 17, 2010

What a delightful, restful, and delicious experience we had with Al and Rita! They changed my husband's mind about B and B's. We had a wonderful 2 nights at Ostrander's and will definitely by returning.


Superb home base for visiting St. Lawrence University

5 en agosto 04, 2010

The Ostranders are a lovely, warm and accommodating couple whose namesake Inn bears every hallmark of such fine people. We were made a part of the family for our too-short stay and hope to return soon. One of the finest home made breakfasts we have had anywhere. Highly recommended without hesitation.


Ostrander

5 en agosto 02, 2010

We were thrilled with the accommodations, our wonderful hosts, the bucolic setting, and the incredibly delicious breakfasts. Thank you very much.


Wonderful place to stay

5 en agosto 01, 2010

Rita and Al were so welcoming and the Pond House was a comfortable, private retreat - and the grounds are beautiful. A delicious breakfast, too. I appreciated them accepting my last minute reservation request!


Very relaxing

5 en julio 29, 2010

My wife & I have been staying at Ostranders B&B for the past (4) years and we look forward to staying there each year.


Land spreading out so far and wide...

5 en julio 19, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Rita and Al's B&B. We stayed in the Langdon Room. Everything was clean and perfect--lovely bedroom and modern bathroom. Touring the barns with Al and visiting the animals was great fun. Walking the premises, enjoying the pond fish, and picking fresh blueberries was a great treat. Be sure to visit their store which is located in their home. It has some lovely, quality items made from wool, leather, and other fine materials. Rita prepared some outstanding breakfasts and evening snacks. The breakfast was huge and delicious, prepared thoughtfully from the fresh fruit all the way to the main courses. The table setting was beautiful and the food was plentiful and delicious. It was a treat watching the many yellow finches just outside the window. All in all, it was a wonderful experience. Thanks very much for a great stay!!


Ostranders - Wonderful B&B

5 en julio 10, 2010

We stayed in the Pond house and were extremely pleased. We had a wonderful view of the pond. The Pond house is very large and had all the amenities of home. It's the perfect place to stay if you have difficulties climbing stairs. Rita and Al are wonderful hosts. They make you feel right at home. The breakfasts were out of this world. We never went away hungry. We wondered if Rita could top the last breakfast and she always did. She didn't let us down. The next time we are in the area, we will definitely stay with the Ostranders!


Ostrander's B&B The Only Place to Stay

5 en julio 10, 2010

We spent a week with Rita and Al Ostrander and loved every minute. In fact, I tried to think of ways I could stay. We were in the Langdon Room and was very pleased. We had a wonderful view of the fields from the bedroom and from the private bath we could see the pond. The breakasts are absolutely wonderful. Rita surprised us every morning with a new and delicious breakfast menu i.e., eggs, pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, freshly baked bread or muffins ... the list goes on and on. She also shares her recipes with us. Al took us on a tour of the barn and explained the process of haying and raising their sheep. We had fun every morning visiting the sheep before breakfast. Al and Rita are the perfect hosts and make you feel part of their family. We will come back for future visits.


We absolutely loved Ostander's B&B

5 en julio 09, 2010

Let me preface this review by stating that my husband and I have stayed at many B&B's throughout Canada and the US and rely heavily on reviews in making our choices. We loved it. The B&B itself sits way back from the road. We chose the Pond House and could not believe that it contained everything that we could have needed. Rita supplied bottled water and soda and left us wonderful cookies in the evening. The accomodation was exceptionally clean and comfortable and I slept like a baby and I spent endless hours just enjoying the pond and fountain. Al took me on a tour of the barn and showed me all the equipment as well as the sheep, long eared short hair goats, chickens, barn cats, etc. Breakfast was so very enjoyable with beautiful finches and other beautiful birds constantly outside the window by the bird feeders. Breakfast - coffee, juice, delicious muffins, fruit and two breakfast entrees plus sausage each day followed by a yogurt and fruit parfait. The food was absolutely delicious and the amount of food was very generous. Rita and Al are really nice down to earth people who must love running a B&B and sheep farm as it was a wonderful experience staying with them for three nights - we hated to leave. If we ever visit the area again, we would stay with the Ostranders. If we win the lottery (LOL) I think we will book the Pond House for the entire summer each year.


Tranquility and Hospitality abound

5 en junio 22, 2010

We had a delightful stay at Ostrander's. The room was spotless and inviting with a comfy bed, fluffy towels and all the amenities. The grounds were incredibly peaceful, strolling past the sheep, taking the paddle boat on the pond or just sitting in the Adirondack chairs enjoying the colorful birds at the feeders. Did I mention a scrumptious breakfast?


A few days in Canton to connect with friends from SLU

5 en junio 21, 2010

Al and Rita welcomed my wife and I like we were family. I missed my 10th Reunion at SLU earlier in the month and made this trip to connect with old friends from the Canton area. We were able to rest and relax at Ostrander's B&B. In addition, we enjoyed Al's stories and Rita's wonderful treats at bedtime...and of course a top-notch breakfast. We recommend Ostrander's to anyone who is traveling to the Canton area and is looking for a wonderful place to enjoy a few days.


saint's 60th

5 en junio 08, 2010

we were treated like very special friends they have missed seeing for a long time!!!we loved every moment,and the gourmet breakfasts were impossible to describe--you had to be there!!!we have our reservation for 2011 now!!!!


Better than home!

5 en junio 07, 2010

Ostrander's is absolutely tops in what our family looks for in a b & b. It is impeccably clean, comfortable, restful and relaxing. Rita and Al are friendly and helpful and so welcoming! Rita's breakfasts are always delicious and it is great to have time to meet and great the other guests. We have been coming to Ostrander's for 11 years, ever since our daughter first became a student at St. Lawrence and each time we have stayed there as been as great as the first!


College Visit

4,4 en abril 08, 2010

Our visit to Ostranders was our first Bed and Breakfast experience. We were welcomed as if we had visited the b&b many times before. The house was immaculate and inviting. Our hosts were warm and friendly. The cookies provide for bedtime were delicious. Our breakfast was lovely and just the right start for our college visit. We enjoyed visiting the gift shop and picked up a few things. We are excited to return to Ostranders throughout our son's four years at SUNY Potsdam. We have found a home away from home.


Breakfast to die for!

4,2 en abril 07, 2010

Lovely home, lovely hosts, 5 (?) course breakfast to die for... :-)!


Great get away with unique atmosphere

4,8 en diciembre 19, 2009

We have stayed here frequently during visits to our son at college. It is consistantly a very pleasant, comfy place. The hosts are lovely people who aim to please.


Short but sweet!

5 en diciembre 13, 2009

The house was impeccably clean and wonderfully decorated for Christmas. Our room had everything we needed. Our hosts were accommendating on our arrival and departure times. The breakfast was outstanding. We enjoyed the sheep shop and made purchases for Christmas. Our child was participating in the athletic recuritment over night at one of the nearby Universities. Staying at the Ostrander's Bed and Breakfast was exactly what we needed. We definately would choose it again and would recommend it to others.


The Comforts of Home Without the Chores!

4,6 en noviembre 24, 2009

Warm and comfortable, this B&B was like home only I didn't have to make breakfast or clean the dishes! Rita is a great decorator and cook. She and Al are fun to chat with and chock full of local info. It made our family's college visit enjoyable and relaxing.


Ostrander's

5 en noviembre 04, 2009

This was my first visit to a B&B and it was wonderful. Friendly hosts, clean and comfortable lodging and the best breakfast I've ever had, much more than I could eat and delicious. Had a wonderful tour of the barn (baby lambs, kittens and cats and amazing equipment. Hosts were full of energy and very welcoming. I stayed in the Pond Cottage. Nicely decorated, very warm, with all the comforts of home including books and DVDs.


Great food, great farm, great fun!

4,8 en octubre 28, 2009

Such a creative & delicious breakfast, new born lambs on the farm; a pre-breakfast trot around the pond; such hospitable hosts, and a lovely "warm wool things" shop. Couldn't ask for more. It's even in the town where I grew up.


Guest friendly

4,0 en octubre 27, 2009

Al & Rita have guests ranging from college alum to hunters & everyone is welcome.


Wonderful hospitality and great value!

4,6 en octubre 27, 2009

The food was fabulous and the host and hostess were extremely friendly!! Would highly recommend!


What a pleasant surprise.

4,8 en octubre 11, 2009

My stay for several nights this summer was perfect. Al and Rita are exceptional people who really understand how to make each visitor comfortable. The setting is beautiful and relaxing and entertaining. Remarkable farm and great hosts.


Ostrander's Bed & Breakfast

5 en septiembre 30, 2009

Just great!


The Best Breakfast

5 en septiembre 23, 2009

This is the cleanest, most beautiful place I have ever stayed. The breakfast is delicious, healthy and served with elegant style.


Excellent

4,0 en septiembre 01, 2009

Very nice place to stay. We wouldn't hesitate to go back!


Wonderful Welcoming and Delicious!

5 en agosto 27, 2009

A wonderfully welcoming, comfortable, clean, convenient place to stay! The accomodations were attractively decorated, as well as being immaculate. The beds were outstandingly comfortable! Best night of sleep we've had away from home in a long time. Rita and Al are charming and comfortable hosts, and breakfast was just fantastic. We will be sure to return to Ostrander's on any and all of our future visits to our college student in Potsdam.


Wonderful comfort during an emotional trip

4,8 en agosto 26, 2009

As executrix of my father's will, I had to "return home" to take care of my father's house & belongings. Rita & Al Ostrander took great care of my stay as if I were part of their own family, making an emotional trip so much more comforting than I ever imagined it could be. Thank You!!


Weekend at sheep farm.

4,8 en agosto 24, 2009

Owners are very friendly and hospitable and went above and beyond to meet guests' needs. Beautiful and relaxing setting.


Ostrander's Bed & Breakfast

5 en agosto 20, 2009

I really enjoyed the cottage. The people were so caring -- they had the porch light on and a snack. Breakfast was so good. The surroundings were so beautiful. I am telling all our relatives to try it out.


A lovely, peaceful place

4,6 en agosto 14, 2009

It was special having you leave the light on for me. Thanks for the fabulous breakfast. Everything was wonderful.


beautifully kept up

5 en julio 13, 2009

Loved it. Homey, super clean, gorgeous country setting, awesome breakfast. Sheep Skin gift shop had excellent products and great prices.


Awesome retreat

5 en junio 09, 2009

We only stayed one night but Rita and Al made us feel like family taking us on barn tours, giving us history of area and home.


Best B&B by Far!

5 en junio 08, 2009

The most fabulous B&B we have ever experienced. Very clean, beautiful surroundings, excellent location, but most of all proprietors who worked very hard to make our stay memorable!


Sheep, birds and a good sleep

5 en junio 06, 2009

This is my second stay-woke up- having coffee watching the nesting kildeer chase the robins and the flicker digging for grubs. Can't beat this place. When I visit this part of the world, won't stay anywhere else.


hospitality in the north country

5 en mayo 20, 2009

Rita and Al made us feel welcome and part of the family, but we don't have to do any of the chores. Gourmet breakfasts and delicious desserts!


relax and renew

5 en mayo 20, 2009

Nothing beats the pond house for renewal! The sound of fountains in the pond, watching baby geese learn to swim and play, sheep in the fields, plus breakfasts that last all day!


A Wonderful Stay!

4,8 en mayo 15, 2009

This place was a respite from everything! Relaxing and welcoming in all ways. The grounds and rooms were immaculate and well taken care of; amenities galore. Rita and Al are like your favorite neighbors and were incredibly helpful to us while we were there. It was also fun to visit the new lambs and baby goats, commune with the barn cats and hang out with the family farm dog. Evening dessert was a treat and breakfast unbeatable.


Great short stay

5 en mayo 11, 2009

We recently stayed at Ostrander's in Canton NY. It was fabulous. Our accommodations were affordable, comfortable, clean and quite spacious. The grounds are meticulous. We can't say enough about the breakfast. What a cook Rita is! We plan to stay here again in the near future. We would highly recommend Ostrander's anytime.


AMAZING PLACE TO STAY

5 en marzo 08, 2009

The atmosphere could not be any better. It is nestled in the beautiful countryside of Canton, NY. Wonderful hosts Rita and Al are just the best- such nice people to talk to and have you stay at the beautiful home. The breakfasts are really great and always have homemade fresh food and the new breakfast sundaes are really a nice touch!


great value, warmth, hospitality

4,8 en febrero 20, 2009

Excellent location. We keep coming back and are never disappointed. Would recommend highly!


Ewe will like it!

4,4 en enero 12, 2009

Very comfortable and clean. Huge breakfast and great food!


A great hide-away

5 en enero 04, 2009

Ostranders is a regular overnight for us when returning to visit family in upstate New York. We feel like we are in fact part of Rita ans Al's family. Great food, great rooms and first class hospitality.


often stay here

4,2 en diciembre 18, 2008

Very comfortable and convenient. Excellent breakfast.


Fantastic hospitality and comfort

5 en diciembre 16, 2008

We could not have felt more welcome at the Ostranders B&B. They were extremely generous with their time, indulging our many questions about their charming and adorable flocks of sheep, their darling dog and barn cats, and their sociable goats. We were also welcome to meet and pet these animals, which was a real treat for this animal lover. We also were indulged with a lovely surprise of berry cobbler one morning at breakfast, made from berries that were grown on the property. This was in addition to an already-generous and delicious spread. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, and thoughtfully stocked with local publications and restaurant and activity recommendations. One other thing that pleasantly surprised us was the relatively mild weather - we were quite tickled to observe as we drove north to Canton from central New York that the snow had turned to rain and the temperatures were substantially milder. Apparently this is normal, but not well-enough known to outsiders. We will definitely be back!


Great hosts/property/everything we were looking for

4,4 en diciembre 12, 2008

While in the area for work, decided to bring the wife of 25 years for a fall getaway. My wife really enjoyed Rita's fabulous breakfast and the conversations with the other guests from instate and out of country were enlightening. The fall colors were amazing, even thou the locals always seem to say 'you should have been here last week.' We also happen to be present during the 'lambing season' and the new life on this working sheepfarm was inspiring.


peaceful and pastoral

4,6 en noviembre 25, 2008

Comfortable, clean, quiet accommodations. Al and Rita went out of their way to make my stay pleasant. They even gave me a barn tour!


Perfec place to stay for a Clarkson visit

5 en noviembre 23, 2008

We just stayed at Ostranders on a trip for an interview at Clarkson and we loved it! Rita was extremely helpful and the breakfast was superb. We would recommend to anyone visiting the area for a college interview. We are going to be staying there whenever we visit should our daughter attend Clarkson.


what a warm and wlcoming place!

5 en noviembre 03, 2008

Great people, great breakfast, great view from the Pond house. Can't wait to go again!


outstanding B&B

5 en octubre 30, 2008

immaculately kept ground. spotless, clean rooms. very personable owners who are willing to go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome. Fabulous breakfast. Home away from home!


Best hosts in the North Country

5 en octubre 28, 2008

my husband and I have stayed at Ostrander's several times. Wonderful rooms, attention to details of guests' comfort, bedtime snacks, great food, and loveys setting. Best of all, hosts Rita and Al are fun to talk with!


Country Relaxation

4,8 en octubre 28, 2008

A great little B&B just outside the town of Canton, NY. Delicious full country breakfast with friendly personable hosts. Clean, comfortable rooms and cottages in a rural setting.


wonderful

4,8 en octubre 24, 2008

well run country B&B excellent breakfast, convenient to local colleges, lovely hosts and a barn-full of young lambs


home away from home

4,6 en octubre 23, 2008

comfortable, clean, cozy. very sweet and interesting proprietors. we felt like part of the family after three nights!


Peace and Calming

5 en octubre 14, 2008

This B&B was not only a comfortable, relaxing inn, it was also a superb value. Our family of four stayed at the Ostrander's while touring a nearby university. We chose to stay in the pond house so we could spread out a bit. It was a beautifully peaceful setting adjacent to the pond. We woke to the soft bleating of sheep in the field. The breakfast was delicious and far more than we expected. We made a quick trip to the barn to see some newborn lambs. The only regret we had was that our tight schedule would not allow us to spend more time relaxing in the adirondack chairs by the pond to enjoy the peace and calming setting.


Ostrander's B&B

4,6 en octubre 14, 2008

Best breakfast ever.


Wonderful place to stay

5 en septiembre 22, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a stay at Ostrander's. It is a wonderful place. The hospitality Rita and Al extend is beyond what you can expect. The accomodations and meals were exemplary and far beyond what was expected. We would highly recommend Ostrander's to anyone.


parents weekend

5 en septiembre 21, 2008

Stayed one night because it was the only night available, wish they had a second. Rita and Al were exceptionally friendly as were the other guests. The rooms were very clean, fridge was stocked, desert on the table upon return in the evening, and the lights were on for safety for returning after dark. Beautiful surroundings, pond with lighted fountain, and a wonderful breakfast in the am.


High Tech Laurentian

5 en septiembre 13, 2008

We visited St. Lawrence University and found Ostrander's on the Internet and stayed in the Shepherd's House. They provide all the little touches that I had not even though of: free telephone, Internet, umbrella, LED bedside flashlights, evening snacks, newly born lamb, pond with a fountain. Amazing, and at an affordable price.


Excellent service & food and very clean.

5 en agosto 26, 2008

This was our first stay in a B&B and I feel we truly hit upon a gem. Rita & Al were great hosts and Rita's breakfasts were absolutely delicious. Very pleasant and extremely clean. Room was quite comfortable. Grounds beautiful and peaceful.


Amazing...

5 en julio 30, 2008

Amazing breakfast sweets!


Weekend getaway

5 en julio 25, 2008

Cozy and beautiful with a delicious breakfast and friendly chatting.


Hospitality at it's finest

4,8 en julio 23, 2008

We spent two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Al and Rita went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Rita is quite the cook, the food was wonderful! Al gave us a personal tour of the farm. The setting is very quiet and peaceful. We have already scheduled our next stay.


Outstanding

5 en julio 18, 2008

Beautiful accommodations in rural setting. The hosts were special - gracious & friendly and informative. Their guests interesting. The food was delicious. We learned a lot about farming & the area.


Ostrander's

5 en julio 17, 2008

Nice as nice can be! We loved it. The area, the home, the food, the host & guest were all special.


Ostrander's

4,2 en julio 17, 2008

A bird haven on a quiet country road


Ostrander's

5 en julio 16, 2008

Our stay was great. Owner's very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was more than expected, delicious. Evening snack and beverages provided were great. We plan on staying there in the future.


just what we needed

5 en junio 09, 2008

my girlfriend and i have never stayed at a b&b before. this was our first and it was amazing. from the cozy decor and furniture to the amazing landscape. everything was perfect. al and rita made us feel right at home and part of the family. kudos to them


outstanding

5 en junio 09, 2008

outstanding value of quality and comfort. the rooms, food and service were all outstanding. the hosts treated us like their personal guests.i'd never stay anywhere else in the canton area. all the convenience of a chain hotel with far more personal attention and a "homey" atmosphere.


Excellent

5 en mayo 29, 2008

Everything was perfect during our stay with Rita and Al Osrander. They were friendly and accomodating and the facilities are above excellent.


Ostrander's Bed & Breakfast

5 en mayo 22, 2008

I would definately stay there again!


Ostrander's

5 en mayo 13, 2008

Very quiet and peaceful setting amidst rolling farmland. Will definitely stay again.


Wow!

5 en mayo 05, 2008

What charmers these owners are! I felt completely at home and the beds were nice......so clean, too! My only complaint? I ate too much at breakfast each morning and gained weight!


Just what I was looking for

5 en mayo 01, 2008

Needed a place to stay so my son could visit Clarkson College. The setting is lovely and peaceful and I enjoyed meeting the sheep and goats. My fellow guests described Rita as the Martha Stewart of the North Country and breakfast was indeed outstanding.


What a nice surprise!

5 en abril 20, 2008

This was my first stay at a B&B. We were in town for a college visit and didn't get in until late on Friday night. My son and I were greeted at the door by the owners bearing a plate of homemade cookies. Upon settling into our room, I was impressed by the cleanliness and amenities it offered. Breakfast the next morning was out of this world and my 18 year old son was actually full and unable to eat anymore! I look forward to staying there again when he starts Canton in the fall.


Outstanding B & B

5 en abril 19, 2008

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast, and everything about it exceeded our expectations. The proprietors, Al and Rita, made us feel right at home. Al even gave us tour of his barn to show us the sheep he raises. The breakfast we were served was excellent and the room we stayed in, the Pond House situated overlooking a small pond on the property, was very charming. They also run a sheepskin shop with top quality products. We will definitely be staying there again and would recommend Ostranders to everyone!


Ostrander's, beautiful and charming

4,0 en abril 14, 2008

I had a great stay at Ostrander's. The property and buildings are absolutely gorgeous. The owners are very kind and personable. When I make another trip to Canton, NY in the future, I will be sure to stay at Ostrander's again!


Outstanding Ostrander's

5 en abril 11, 2008

Our family was referred to Ostrander’s Bed and Breakfast by a co-worker. My wife and I love to stay at Bed and Breakfasts and have done so many times. Not only were the accommodations outstanding but Al and his wife Rita were a joy to spend time with. We were visiting a nearby University with our daughter and had many questions about the area and its history we found them both to be knowledgeable and informative. We will be seeing much more of Al (aka Ned) and his lovely wife Rita (aka Wilma) over the next four years as we visit our daughter in school.


Terrific place to stay!!!

5 en marzo 26, 2008

We stayed most of a day and an overnight plus breakfast the next morning. Rita and Al were very hospitable hosts, their home is lovely, the rooms are clean and well appointed. The food served (evening dessert and hearty breakfast) was first rate. Everything was high quality. We would not hesitate to stay there again and look forward to in the near future.


Loved it!!!!

5 en marzo 18, 2008

Ostranders Bed and Breakfast far exceeded my expectations!!! A wonderful experience and a very reasonable price!! When you stay, be sure to taste the tap water, better than any bottled water I have ever had


Great setting

5 en febrero 10, 2008

We had to leave early, before breakfast was being served. Rita and Al had coffee, home-made muffins, fruit and yogurt ready for us before our departure. Very nice rooms, brownies on the night-table are superb... Will definitely go back and stay with them again - even after our daughter graduates from St. Lawrence!


Superb outing

5 en febrero 08, 2008

We really enjoyed a superb stay at rita’s and al’s. excellent accomodations, superb breakfast. We will come again and recommend this B&B.


Highly Recommended.

5 en febrero 08, 2008

Wonderful place to stay at anytime of the year, The owners make this B&B a temporary “home” for anyone who stays there. It is clean, they are great conversationalists.


Ostrander Bed & Breakfast

5 en febrero 07, 2008

Wonderful breakfasts and desserts. Friendly and helpful. Great stories. Overall excellent!


Ostrander

5 en febrero 06, 2008

Very nice, lovely setting.


First class in every respect.

5 en enero 30, 2008

Very clean and affordable. Very private and great food and hosts. Have tried without success to find fault… NONE!


First Choice

4,8 en enero 30, 2008

Ostranders is always our first choice for accommodations whenever we visit our son at St. Lawrence University. The breakfast is superb, the rooms are cozy and sparkling clean and the Ostranders are delightful hosts.


Outstanding

5 en enero 25, 2008

You would never know that this was a working farm. Best night’s sleep I’ve had in some time. Food and hospitality outstanding. I’m a world traveler and I have never stayed in any better of a place. Best B&B!


A Great Get-Away!

5 en enero 25, 2008

Came for a week of peace and quiet and found it. Stayed in the Pond House and enjoyed the comforts of home as well as privacy with a great view! Breakfasts were unbelievable and evening desserts were awesome! Al and Rita were a tremendous pleasure to get to know. Looking forward to making it an anual event.


Who would not come back again?!?

5 en enero 22, 2008

Al & Rita welcome you, fix your daughter’s blown bicycle intertube, tell you where to have dinners, have clean, home-like and well thought-out settings and the breakfast is amazing food.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 en enero 14, 2008

A wonderful place to stay. We will always remember our first visit: the long drive from NH...arriving late at night and on the counter was a delicious homemade snack. That was just a preview to the incredible breakfast Rita prepares each morning. We always look forward to our next stay! Comfortable rooms and great conversation with Rita and Al.


Great stay every year

5 en enero 09, 2008

will come back every year


Enjoy the stay

5 en diciembre 30, 2007

We always enjoy our stay here when visiting the North Country.


Home Away From Home

5 en diciembre 29, 2007

Al and Rita are the best innkeepers anyone could ask for. We meet Al & Rita 6 years ago when we started going to the north country when our local college men's ice hockey team plays St. Lawrence and Clarkson they are not just the innkeepers they make you part of their family. The hospitality and the food is just out of the world. When it's time to go back home it's hard to leave but we always know you will be back the next season or possility for play-offs. We recommand the Ostrander Bed & Breakfast to everyone. They are the best!!! The sheepshop is another exiperence on it's own the items they have in their shop are beautiful-you have to see it.


A Real Gem

5 en diciembre 28, 2007

We've been guests of the Ostranders for four years now and each year going back is like going home. The accommodations, the country atmosphere, the warmth and friendliness of the Ostrander's makes it difficult to leave and we always look forward to the following year. A real find in the beautiful North Country!


best of the best

5 en diciembre 23, 2007

Having stayed in numerous B&Bs over the past 25 years, I can truely say that the Ostranders rates in the top 5. Al and Rita are warm, friendly and make one feel like family. We have returned there for the past 3 years and its like we never left. The Shepard house is clean, well appointed and always inviting. Prices are very reasonable and local amenities are only a short 5 to 7 minute drive away. This is the place to stay in the Canton area!


Great North Country Inn

5 en diciembre 22, 2007

We have stayed at Ostrander's B&B a number of times since our son started attending nearby St. Lawrence University. Rita and Al are the perfect innkeepers and take the time to really treat you like family. Rita has even sent us clippings from the local newspaper when our son has had successes in his collegiate sporting events! And Al loves to share his pride in his sheep farm. We've met the newborn lambs when they were just hours old. The rooms are very clean, attractive and comfortable and the breakfasts fill you to the brim. We truly look forward to our stays at Ostrander's.


The Place to go to Rest!

5 en diciembre 22, 2007

When you get to Ostrander's you feel like you came home. They remember you and take care of you and give you the space to rest and recuperate. Breakfast will fill you for the day and the company is wonderful. Rita and Al are the best!


At Home in the North Country

5 en diciembre 19, 2007

Al and Rita provided us with our first B&B experience 7 years ago and remain the Gold Standard of hospitality that we use to measure all of our frequent B&B stays. A visit with the O's has become a comforting part of our trips to the North Country for kayaking on the Raquette River, Potsdam basketball in the winter, and golf in the summer. Regardless of the other activities that bring us to St. Lawrence county, the extended breakfasts and conversation with Rita and Al and their superb facilities are most important in bringing us back several times a year.


Ostrander's B&B.

4,6 en diciembre 17, 2007

Excellent, lovely home. Wonderful food, nicely presented.


At home!

4,8 en diciembre 17, 2007

This is the first time we have stayed at a b&b. It was fantastic, the atmosphere was so homey, the people so welcoming and friendly. It was magical in the north country at christmas. The breakfast was the best I ever had. I felt I was at home! I will stay there when I can.


Ostranders.

5 en diciembre 14, 2007

This bed and breakfast was outstanding.


Ostranders.

5 en diciembre 13, 2007

This bed and breakfast was outstanding.


The only place to stay

5 en diciembre 06, 2007

Traveling for business becomes very monotonous when having to stay at generic hotels. Al and Rita's place is an oasis in a desert of mediocrity. It truly is like being at home away from home. I especially enjoyed the evening delivery of a tasty baked treat from Rita. The breakfast is the best you will get anywhere.


Beautiful location, great hosts and a fabulous breakfast!

5 en diciembre 04, 2007

Al and Rita are very welcoming and accommodating! We stayed in our own private cottage (The Pond House.) It's a wonderful large one-room suite with a complete kitchen, great room and queen size beds. Lots of windows provide a wonderful view of the scenic countryside. Just before dinner time we saw deer grazing on a hill nearby - the Ostrander's sheep grazed in a pasture below. It was wonderful and relaxing. We can't say enough great things about the fabulous breakfast Rita prepared - you won't go away hungry - that's for sure! We highly recommend this for overnight - or for a week of relaxation!


Ostrander's Bed & Breakfast

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $85 - $100
  • Comentarios (151) 4,9
  • Habitaciones 4

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-3153862126
  • Fax 1-3153862126

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba