Morgan Samuels Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,8

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,6
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,5
  • Limpieza4,8
  • Comidas4,9

Puntuación basada en
134 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Attentive hosts!

4,2 en octubre 19, 2014

We stayed here for several days and had a wonderful experience the entire time. The gourmet breakfast with fresh fruit was delicious and it was very comfortable to stay here. There was plenty of privacy and outdoor seating and the estate looks beautiful during the fall.


Lovely hideaway getaway

4,2 en octubre 19, 2014

A cozy, warm place to relax on a fall weekend. The innkeepers are the perfect combination of warm and obliging while giving plenty of space to enjoy the the beautiful home. Everything that I could have wanted in a one-night stay. The grounds and home were exceedingly picturesque and quiet. Would recommend and look forward to visiting again soon in another season.


Delisious Dining

5 en octubre 18, 2014

Outstanding in every way.


Wonderful Stay

4,8 en octubre 17, 2014

My wife and I were ending a New England trip and traveling home when we stopped at this inn. We stayed in the Evies room and, outside of a somewhat quirky bathroom, it was lovely. It had a wood-burning fireplace which John started for us one evening. We also had the privilege of enjoying one of his gourmet meals. Very highly recommended!! John and Julie were most helpful and informative.


Anniversary weekend! 10-12-2014

5 en octubre 14, 2014

Pure Autumn Bliss!! That is all I can say about this Inn. My husband and I spent the weekend for our Anniversary. I felt like I was back in time of an early American story book with a twist of English flare! The most delicious breakfast and please if you visit, it is a MOST! to have John cook you the dinner of a lifetime don't leave with out this culinary experience, its a labor of LOVE! John cooked each dish,( we had an eight course dinner!) and presented each one himself. From the hot bread drizzled in Olive oil & herbs, to the hot & cold appetizer! to One of the BEST cuts of beef we've ever had! Thank you, John and Julie!! it truly changes your stay, when wonderful people like you make it so unforgettable! Love, Mabel & Ray


Morgan Samuels Inn

4,0 en octubre 10, 2014

Superior to other B+B Inns we've stayed at. Service at both breakfast and dinner was exceptional. A perfect location for a special occasion. Also atmosphere, grounds, situation in countryside led to a feeling of tranquility and peace.


Relaxing & Comfortable

5 en octubre 09, 2014

A Perfect Place for a Fall getaway weekend. The staff,home and grounds are outstanding


Morgan Samuels Inn

4,8 en octubre 07, 2014

This was our second stay at Morgan Samuels Inn. We felt like we were coming home again. Our hosts Julie and John were extremely welcoming and friendly. Our dinner was a culinary delight. Atmosphere complimented the dinner. We look forward to our next visit. We highly recommend Morgan Samuels Inn for couples looking for a 'special" time away.


Amazing Stay

5 en septiembre 30, 2014

My husband and I found this gem of a place online and we really lucked out! The innkeepers (John and Julie Sullivan) were gracious and extremely accomodating. Our room was romantic and cozy and perfectly decorated. We ordered dinner created by John and were amazed at the high, gourmet level of the entire eight-course meal. Although we only stayed one night, we were treated as old friends and felt entirely at home. What an amazing experience! We have stayed in may B and Bs, but this one is truly deserving of the highest rating we can give. Robert and Lisa Gurga, CA


Anniversary getaway

4,2 en septiembre 06, 2014

The Innkeepers John and Julie were delightful... very warm and welcoming. The grounds were idyllic and beautifully maintained; the setting was exceptionally quiet and peaceful. We were especially fascinated by the history of the house. The Garden Room was very nice and comfortable although small... but adequate. The bathroom was very small, yet functional. The dining areas, conservatory and other common areas were comfortable and inviting, as well. The breakfasts were outstanding; we regret not being able to experience the dinner. That will give us a reason to re-visit someday.


excellent inn

4,8 en septiembre 04, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 days here and loved it! The victorian room was romantic, comfortable and a perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. The grounds are amazing and little benches or chairs everywhere to sit and enjoy the property peacefully and privately. John and Julie are the perfect hosts, making you feel like family. They are attentive but not overly so. It is clear that their goal is to serve you and make sure your stay is perfect. The food...amazing! Dinner a must do; the food is delicious and the experience is exciting because you are never sure (except your entree) what is coming next. We will def visit this place again!


Fantastic stay

5 en septiembre 01, 2014

We literally just walked in the door after our Labor Day weekend getaway to the lovely Morgan Samuels Inn. The hosts were so kind and the food.... abundant and amazing!!! We would definitely return! thank you John and Julie for a lovely time


A delightful place to stay!

5 en agosto 31, 2014

As you turn down the tree line drive, you immediately get the feeling that you are in for a treat. The 200-year-old stone Inn is exquisite, tastefully decorated but not pretentious, very comfortable. Julie and John, the owners, are warm, friendly and engaging. John tells great stories of their life together. A stroll around the property found perennial beds interspersed among grand old sugar maples, black walnuts and oaks. We stayed in the Morgan Suite with its high ceilings, long shuttered windows, and a spacious sitting room. We have to return in the winter because the room has a wonderful fireplace. Breakfast was to die for, with the usual favorites—pancakes, French toast and eggs—all prepared with just a speck of unusual flair. The Inn is located on a country road with nothing around but still only a couple of miles from the CMAC Performing Arts Center and downtown Canandaigua. If you are looking for a warm and quiet place to relax with nice folks who work hard to make your stay perfect, this is your place!


If there were 6 stars for breakfast..

5 en agosto 09, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Morgan Samuels for our "Baby-moon" (last vacation before having our first child). Everything about the visit was amazing.. We loved the room, the grounds, etc were beautiful, our hosts were very nice and it was within short driving distance to most of what we did in the area. However... by far the most amazing part of it was the breakfast. It was definitely one of the best breakfasts we've had. My wife and I wish we had done the dinner as well, but, I suppose we'll have to try it when we come back next!! (I'm now hungry thinking about it and think I will get some lunch.)


Grandpa's House

4,0 en agosto 04, 2014

I wasn't sure that driving 40 minutes to Canandaigua would be enough of a "get away": How wrong I was! Despite having accidentally visited the town during a Luke Bryan concert, the inn never reflected the hustle and bustle that was taking place outside. My husband and I stayed in the Victorian room, which may have benefited from a little bit extra natural lighting, but we loved it all the same. We didn't expect to have our room refreshed daily after some past B&B experiences, and yet it was. Thank you, John and Julie, for sharing your lovely home with strangers on a daily basis, and treating them like family.


Beautiful and serene setting with exceptional and personal service.

4,4 en julio 25, 2014

Our recent stay at the Morgan Samuels Inn was a delightful two days of relaxing in the beautiful and serene gardens and eating exceptionally prepared food. John and Julie are relaxed but attentive inn keepers . John also gave us great advice about which wineries to visit as well as suggestions of scenic stops to make in our drive around the area.


One of our best B&B experiences ever!

4,8 en julio 12, 2014

After spending a delightful evening and morning at the Morgan Samuels Inn, I really don't know where to begin reviewing all of the reasons that it is a perfect place to stay! The inn itself is lovely...well-kept and filled with beautiful antiques. The owners, John and Julie, are wonderful innkeepers...warm, friendly, interested AND interesting! The rooms are gorgeous, clean and comfortable. The food...the breakfast and dinner...yes, you can arrange in advance to have a lovely meal prepared especially for you, to be served by candlelight in one of the dining areas. Both meals were multi-course treats that any foodie would totally salivate over. There is even a private dining room looking out at a fountain that is reserved for guests who book the "Morgan Suite". Let's just say you can't and won't be disappointed.


Bed and Breakfast Takes you back in time

4,6 en julio 07, 2014

John and Julie are superb hosts! Romantic, quiet grounds with a great view from any area of the house. Dinner was fabulous - will definitely visit this B&B again!


Perfect Getaway

4,6 en julio 06, 2014

John and Julie were remarkable. Best Bed & Breakfast food we ever had. The optional dinner far exceeds any top rated restaurant for quality, taste and presentation. If you like restored mansions and quiet settings, this is the place. 5 minutes from the beautiful lake. Bring a couple of comfortable chairs to watch the boaters. Loads of gift shops down Main street. Sonnenberg Gardens a must see nearby.


Excellent Vacation Choice

5 en julio 04, 2014

John and Julie have a wonderful home, beautiful grounds, and are genuinely interested in providing their guests with a relaxing stay while in the Finger Lakes Region. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. In addition to a five star breakfast they offer an optional privately cooked and served dinner in one of several lovely settings. If you are looking for a first class place to stay this is the place. J. O'Coin Gorham, ME


Wonderful Experience at Morgan Samuels Inn

5 en julio 02, 2014

As you drive up the tree lined driveway you can't help but feel a sense of anticipation. When the Inn comes into view it feels as if you have come home. The home is lovely, the gardens are gorgeous and well maintained. To sit on the property and just relax is such a peaceful experience. (And there are numerous settings throughout the property where you can just relax). Each room in the Inn is unique and beautiful. No detail is left undone. Breakfast is unlike any other I have ever seen from the fresh fruit platter to the homemade entrees. Dinner is a feast of the senses as well as the palate. The chef takes his time presenting each course which allows you to linger and enjoy the experience. John and Julie are the most wonderful hosts and truly make you feel welcome. My husband and I have been there on several occasions and will continue to make it a destination of choice.


Morgan Samuels Inn

4,4 en julio 02, 2014

The best B&B we ever stayed inn! Food, service, comfort were quiet wonderful


Most worthy of another visit!

5 en junio 28, 2014

The Morgan Samuels Inn far exceeds the quality of other B&B's in the upstate NY area. The accommodations and location are beautiful, peaceful, relaxing, very tasteful and professional. The food and the staff are both delightful. The chef puts great care into how he prepares the food and how the meal is presented. He also puts a lot of thought into what ingredients are used. The beef wellington he makes is superb! The flavor and tenderness is outstanding. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. My husband and I will definitely be returning for another visit!


Comfortable and relaxing weekend

5 en junio 22, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at the Morgan Samuels Inn. As nearly every review recounts, we had a wonderful and relaxing stay. We were fortunate that the weather was perfect during our late June vacation. John and Julie are the most gracious (and interesting) hosts and served us the most wonderful breakfasts and dinner. Breakfast is sit-down and relaxing (not a cattle buffet). Breakfast choices are endless and include fresh fruit, breads, unique jams and choices of pancakes, French toast, eggs or omelets. Dinner at the Inn is an exceptional seven course meal including fresh baked bread, hot and cold appetizers, soup, salad, entrée and dessert. This meal rivaled anything that I have ever eaten and we felt that we were given a private meal like royalty. Our room itself was comfortable and relaxing as were the surrounding well-manicured grounds. In the morning we relaxed with a cup of coffee watching the cows graze and enjoyed lovely pictures of the surrounding landscapes. This was truly a wonderful experience and we would highly recommend it to anyone interested at staying at a bed and breakfast. To top it all off, the price was also very reasonable.


Perfect In Every Way

5 en junio 20, 2014

Our 2 day stay for our 25th anniversary could not have been more perfect. From our personal greeting upon arrival until the time we had to leave, John & Julie treated us not only as guests but as friends. The Antique Rose Room was lovely, the food incomparable and the beautiful grounds were a combination of peace, serenity and romance. Thank you Julie & John for being so gracious and accommodating and for opening up your beautiful home to us. We will be back.


Quaint spot down a country lane

4,6 en mayo 28, 2014

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a pleasant stay in the Gothic room recently. I had lived in Canandaigua for two years and had never ventured down this particular country lane. The Morgan Samuels is in a lovely spot - only a few minutes to drive into the town, but far enough apart to be quiet and secluded (there is, however, a race track nearby and the noise from the car races did overwhelm the otherwise calm atmosphere). For someone who works in a historic house museum, the Morgan Samuels was nicely furnished and decorated. The muraled dining room is quite something! Our bedroom was spacious enough, quaintly decorated, and climate controlled via an air conditioning unit or a fireplace. Breakfast here is not to be missed - an extensive array of fruits, fluffy eggs, three kinds of pancakes - and, though we didn't partake ourselves, the add-on dinner is a 7 course, three hour culinary event. Goldwyn the 2 year old vizsla inn dog is very welcoming as are John and Julie, the proprietors.


Wonderful experience. Charming. Excellent food

4,4 en mayo 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Garden room for one evening. The house is very charming and the grounds are beautiful. We decided to stay for the dinner. We had a private dining room with excellent service. Each course was better than the previous. Dinner is a must! Breakfast was also delicious and filling.


Wonderful Experience!

4,8 en mayo 19, 2014

This was the perfect little getaway for me and my husband's "babymoon." We were greeted by John when we arrived and he is the most friendliest and accomodating person. He makes you feel right at home. You can tell he really loves what he does. We enjoyed roaming the beautiful mansion and playing a game before dinner in one of the common rooms. The dinner at the inn was phenomenal! It was a 6 course dinner plus dessert and was a 2 1/2 hour affair. Definitely glad we requested to have dinner at the inn rather than eating out. The room was very nice, too. I love how most of the rooms have a jacuzzi bath. John was also flexible with our schedule - we had to eat breakfast early the next day. The breakfst was also very delicious. I loved the fresh fruit platter. It must of had ten different kinds of fruit. I definitely would reccomend this inn!


Like going to Englad

4,4 en mayo 10, 2014

Although we were just two hours from home and stayed just one night, our visit to the Morgan Samuels Inn felt like a European get-away. We enjoyed walking the lovely grounds, and they had not yet been "cleaned up" after winter. The Inn is filled with character, our room included. And the private dinner (extra cost) and breakfast (included) were extraordinary ... wonderful combinations of tastes and fabulous service by the chef/owner himself. We wanted to "hide away" longer at the Morgan Samuels Inn but had to go home ... to plan our next visit!


Superb!

5 en mayo 07, 2014

This was our 3rd or 4th time staying here. The owner John & his wife Julie were very welcoming. They weren't here before when we stayed. We tried the Cathedral room this time which was wonderful with the gas fireplace, and the linens were to die for. I didn't want to get out of bed! The breakfast was superb!! The fruit platter was out of this world, the french toast on the monk's bread, the warm apple crisp, the homemade greek yogurt, the Canadian Ham was exceptional along with the sausage! How could I forget the homemade hot chocolate! Also, superb!! We were there celebrating our 39th wedding anniversary, and we enjoyed ourselves totally. Such a quiet, restful place. Truly amazing. We will be back again. They now have massages, which I didn't try this time, but definately will after speaking with another guest at breakfast about how wonderful it made her feel!! Marion & Gary Wille-Greece, NY


Perfect romantic getaway

5 en marzo 24, 2014

Me and my boyfriend were looking for something to do out of the ordinary and as a romantic getaway and I have to say staying in the Morgan Samuels inn is just that. We stayed in the Victorian suite which was a beautiful room. At first I was disappointed about not having a television in the room, but then realized its not needed and helps with the getaway experience. We were also provided with excellent service and the breakfast was something neither of us have ever experienced or will ever forget. Definitely worth the money.


Tranquil and romantic

5 en marzo 16, 2014

This is a beautiful home that was a delightful getaway. We stayed in the Antique Rose room and loved the views of the property and the warm in-room fireplace. The breakfast was outstanding. Wonderful fresh fruit, freshly squeezed juice, only the highest quality breakfast meats. We felt really welcomed by John, the owner, and enjoyed talking to him. We only wish that our stay was a lot longer than one night. We felt it was really reasonabley priced for the accomodation, atmosphere, and high quality of the entire experience. We definitely plan to return.


Two Nights and Two Rooms

4,8 en enero 09, 2014

Stayed two nights at the Morgan Samuels Inn in early January, first night in the Antique Rose Room, the second night was in the Morgan Suite. Both rooms were very clean, well cared for, and featured antique king beds with luxury linens . The Antique Rose Room had high-quality antique furniture including bed, love seat, dressers, etc. Gas fireplace was wonderful and easy to use. Bathroom was spacious with large, 2-person jacuzzi tub. Jacuzzi tub also had a large shower head. The Antique Rose Room overall was charming, quaint, and intimate. The Morgan Suite is gorgeous. 11 or 12 ft ceiling, beautiful architecture and furniture. Very spacious, featuring large bedroom with sitting area near wood fireplace. Jacuzzi room was also large with plenty of space for luggage and dressing. Separate bathroom featured sunken tub and a enclosed shower. Very nice. John Sullivan is a wonderful host and ensures that you have what you need to make your stay comfortable, but he also knows how to give couples their space. He is a chef of outstanding quality. Highly recommend any food that comes from his kitchen. He uses only the best ingredients and has clearly mastered his craft. The inn itself is spacious and rich in history. Many original paintings adorn the walls and it is tastefully decorated as you would imagine a wealthy 1800s mansion would be. It's property and setting are very restful and beautiful. The glass porch was one of the favorite sitting areas. This is a must-visit inn. We will be returning and recommending to others. Thanks to John and Julie Sullivan!


Best experience ever!

5 en diciembre 31, 2013

Our family needed some time away to recover from a family loss. I cannot praise the innkeepers (John & Julie Sullivan) at Morgan Samuel's Inn enough! They are so kind hearted and generous. They welcomed us in as if we were family! There is such a gentle, warm calmness over the place. The meal was exquisite! After enjoying an incredible 7 course dinner prepared by the Inn's private chef, served by his delightful wife, the following morning the delicacies continued! It was an unbelievable experience! We were so stuffed that we didn't need to eat for two days after our stay! We did of course, but there really was no need! The service was impeccable, our sleep was heavenly (they even had down pillows in the rooms!) and the new friendship that was formed was beyond compare. We left refreshed in body and mind, after a very sad year that preceded our visit. The Morgan Suite is luxurious, roomy and cozy all at the same time. The Evie suite is gracious with antique love letters all over the wall! We booked both rooms and loved them both. We spent a lot of time reading the love letters from days gone by. We have only been to one other B&B before this and to be honest, it was memorable in a very different way…. I could not praise our experience at the Morgan Samuels Inn any higher! This experience was beyond comparison! I hope to return again in the very near future. This was hands down the best experience ever!


Excellent Inn Experience

5 en diciembre 29, 2013

The best Inn we've stayed at. Aside from the spacious grounds and comfortable rooms the proprietor, John, is an excellent chef; he and his staff prepare outstanding meals with plenty to choose from on the menu! Will definitely visit again!


Winter getaway

4,8 en diciembre 27, 2013

Wonderful retreat for a getaway. The atmosphere was amazing and the meals exquisite. We visited just before the holidays and enjoyed the decorations, the cozy rooms, and the freshly fallen snow made it picture worthy. Wonderful grounds and setting. John is a master at making you feel right at home and provided attentive but non intrusive service


Morgan Samuels Inn

5 en diciembre 12, 2013

We had an exceptional vacation at Morgan Samuels Bed & Breakfast. We were fortunate to have dinner there, which was an incredible gourmet experience. Their, breakfast is over the top. We definitely would visit again. John is an incredible host.


Morgan Samuels Inn

4,0 en diciembre 12, 2013

Morgan Samuels was amazing. We were celebrating our wedding and couldn't imagined a better place to go on our first trip as husband and wife. The breakfast was delicious and you can really see the attention to detail they put into it. John was great and made us feel right at home. We are telling others to go here if they are ever in the area and we will definitely be coming back soon.


Morgan Samuels Inn

4,0 en diciembre 11, 2013

Great B&B situated on beautiful country grounds. Friendly staff & awesome breakfast. Other guests said dinner also awesome, but we didn't have the time. But will try next time. Approximate $65 "property fee" that we didn't know about until check out.


Perfect Night Away!

4,8 en noviembre 27, 2013

We stayed at the Inn in November and to say it was warm and cozy would be an understatement!! Mr. Sullivan and his son Jonathon were wonderful hosts. We are 'foodies' and Mr. Sullivan's 7 course dinner and breakfast were incomparable... OFF the Charts! HIGHLY recommend staying here for either a relaxing getaway or someplace to unwind after doing a wine tour!! It was AMAZING!


A lovely place for a "Getaway weekend"

4,0 en noviembre 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of the Innkeepers, and the history and charm of the Inn. We appreciated the ambiance and privacy that usually accompanies visits to B&B's in the off season, and did our best to make use of all the common spaces which were kept very warm and inviting. Our room was very comfortable and spacious, the grounds well maintained, and the location very tranquil. The breakfasts were scrumptious, and we were very pleased to see the assortment of fresh fruits provided, which is sometimes lacking in a B&B. The Innkeepers dinner was not the experience we were hoping for, especially for the price. Due to a miscommunication, John was not prepared to make dinner for us on the day of arrival. In hindsite, we should have insisted that we do it the next night, or ask if we could just have a pared down version of the dinner. We would have been just as happy to have 2 or 3 courses instead of 6, as it meant we could stay in and enjoy the bottle of wine we brought with us from the Finger Lakes. We would love to return in the summer to take advantage of the sitting areas outdoors, and the lovely patios and gardens. Even if the Inn was operating at capacity, there would still be enough privacy for all!


Wonderful Time

5 en noviembre 15, 2013

We travelled from Connecticut to join our friends from Rochester at the Morgan Samuels Inn. Everything - Innkeeper(s), facility, setting - was great. The breakfast was a delicious multi-course extravaganza, consisting of "all things breakfast", served by John. We were unable to dine for dinner at the inn, but we will be sure to do so the next time we visit. Another delightful aspect of our visit was a chance to meet Goldwyn, John's one year old adorable Vizsla puppy.


Just what we were looking for in a romantic getaway!

5 en noviembre 12, 2013

Morgan Samuels exceeded my expectations in every way! This was our first time at a bed and breakfast and I'm so glad we chose it over a hotel room for our trip to the Fingerlakes. I booked it as a surprise to my husband for 2 nights, a massage and the gourmet dinner. So glad we stayed at the Inn for dinner the first night to get the whole relaxing experience. The Innkeepers prepared endless gourmet courses with the best quality foods with many things from local areas. It was the best dinner we have had and the breakfasts each morning were spectacular too! I loved the romatic candlelight, fresh flowers, Victorian dishes and silver. Julie went out of her way to provide excellent service treating us so wonderfully. The rooms were fantastic with fireplaces and updated bathrooms with jacuzzi tubs. The bed was so comfortable! Everything was just perfect. We highly recommend this inn.


Best ever

5 en octubre 31, 2013

This inn is the best bed and breakfast, in every respect, that we have ever stayed in, and sets the standard by which all future b&b experiences will be judged. John and Julie Sullivan are the best hosts and provide the best service we've ever encountered. The house and gardens are simply beautiful, and the rooms are lovely and extremely comfortable. The common rooms are so inviting that we wanted to enjoy them (a first for me). And the food is incredible. The breakfast is unbelievably good, with amazing variety, and the six-course chef's dinner is not to be missed. John obviously loves to cook and puts together a meal that ranks with the finest restaurants, at a price that is an excellent value. His beef tenderloin is justly famous, and every other aspect of the meal he gave us was equally outstanding. This is one b&b we really want to return to.


perfect getaway

4,4 en octubre 24, 2013

My husband and I chose Morgan Samuels Inn for an extended weekend getaway. We loved the property, from the vast scenic views to the elegant old style charm of the house. We were in the Victoria room which has a jacuzzi and a small private blacony. We opted for the gourmet dinner the night we arrived and were pleasantly surprised. Each couple had their own private romantic dining area. The meal itself was several courses, each better than the last. Breakfast each morning offered 4 choices, which I"ve never had at a B&B before. We could choose from a variety of times from which to eat, depending on our schedule. It truly was a gem of a find!


Like Staying in Fairyland

4,6 en octubre 18, 2013

We got a little lost getting to the INN however once we got there what a more than pleasant surprise! Julie greeted us and immediately made us feel at home. She even came outside and showed us where to park...right outside the "cottage". We truly felt like we were in fairyland. We went to dinner at 7:00pm and what a meal! John, Julie's husband, did all the cooking, all five courses (and they kept bring us special little goodies from the kitchen in addition). The whole weekend was the best time we have ever had.


Magnificent - Could not have been better!

5 en septiembre 19, 2013

If you are planning a trip to the Finger Lakes, the Morgan Samuels Inn is where you need to stay. It has to be one of the finest Inns we have ever visited. The Inn and grounds were beautiful and immaculately kept. John and Julie could not have been better hosts. They are kind, sweet people, knowledgeable of the area and offer the best recommendations of where to go to eat or what to do. Their dog, Goldwyn is a treasure. He seems to know when to be friendly and when to leave you alone. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and you must have John's 6 course dinner. Buy the best bottle of local wine you can find and prepare for one of the best meals you'll have.anywhere. I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. Rich and Flo


One of the nicest places we've stayed at

4,6 en septiembre 02, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Morgan Samuels. It is a beautiful inn that feels like an English country cottage. It is located not far from Canandaigua in a serene setting with views of green fields as far as the eye can see. John is a spectacular chef and he serves a wonderful breakfast with several courses. Our room was beautifully decorated with gorgeous furniture. The bed had the softest sheets I've ever slept in. I usually don't like to rave about innkeepers, but John and Julie were wonderful hosts and they seemed like old friends but at the same time gave us plenty of space to do our own thing. We had a wonderfully relaxing time at Morgan Samuels -- it gave us greater appreciation of living away from it all -- and we would recommend it very highly.


Relaxing and scenic

3,6 en agosto 25, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Morgan Samuels right after our wedding on Seneca Lake. The Inn was just the scenic, quiet spot we needed to relax and unwind after a busy wedding weekend. The gardens are beautiful, the dog, Goldwyn, is just the sweetest, and the owners are extremely nice and accommodating. Our first breakfast in the windowed private room was the most relaxing meal I'd had in a week. We also enjoyed dinner one night cooked by John with a bottle of wine we picked up in town. We stayed in the Garden Room, which was modest but suited our needs; we liked the private entrance. It was a great cap to a special wedding weekend, exactly what I needed in a "mini-moon."


Road Trip Retreat

5 en agosto 15, 2013

My husband and I planned a nice retreat for our family at the Morgan Samuels Inn and were very happy that we did. The grounds and landscape was like nothing I had seen and John and Julie were exceptionally friendly and accomodating hosts. What was perhaps the most luxurious and worthwhile part of the visit were the breakfasts and dinner. The food was better than any restaurant we have been too (and we are picky eaters!). We stayed on the Garden Room because we had our 17 month old toddler with us and did not want to disturb any of the other guests in the main part of the house. This room arrangement worked out well for us. John and Julie were very sweet with our little boy who loved playing with their dog and visiting the fish pond! Thank you again for the wonderful visit!


Romantic Getaway

4,8 en agosto 07, 2013

My husband and I planned a last minute weekend getaway to the Finger Lakes for our anniversary. From the moment I made the reservation at the Morgan Samuel Inn, John and Julie were very warm and welcoming. They took the time to give us recommendations and make us feel special. The Inn and grounds are beautiful and food is as good as a gourmet restaurant. The breakfasts are delicious and the 6 course dinner is spectacular! We stayed in the Morgan Suite and ate in the private tea room. We felt like we were royalty. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway with great food, beautiful grounds, lovely decor and warm/friendly hosts, this is a special place not to be missed!


Remarkable Finger Lakes Gem

4,8 en agosto 03, 2013

Without question, the Morgan Samuels Inn is a special place. Julie & John ensure a warm, welcoming, engaging stay from the moment of your arrival. The charm of the Inn is only overshadowed by the amazing grounds and peaceful surroundings. John's AMAZING breakfasts are not to be missed (try the hazelnut hot chocolate); dinner at the Inn is truly an experience in fine dining -- I will be back for the lamb -- easily one of the best meals I have ever had in all of my travels.


Scenic and relaxing

5 en julio 29, 2013

Morgan Samuels Inn is delightful in every way. The most outstanding B&B ever in all ways. We look forward to a return trip to Morgan Samuels Inn with John and Julie Sullivan.


Short but Wonderful Stay Experience!

5 en julio 28, 2013

My husband and I often drive to Canandaigua for a Friday night getaway, just an hour from our home. We have admired and always wanted to stay at Morgan Samuels Inn and we were not disappointed. The Inn is amazing! The room, the grounds and food all exceeding our expectations. John and Julie are masters of hospitality, very gracious hosts that make you feel so welcomed and relaxed. If you want to truly experience this Inn, the private Innkeepers Dinner is a must, the best part of our stay! Thank you John, Julie and Susan, we will be back! Dwight & Chic Yoder


Hidden Gem in Upstate NY

4,8 en julio 27, 2013

Julie greeted us at walkway entrance of estate right after parking our car. Antiques and artwork and ambience are outstanding. Rooms are all welcoming. Breakfast in the morning is an endless serving of pancakes or french toast or eggs along with a fruit platter of at least 15 types of fresh sliced choices. Special muffins and juices complement the meal. This is not to be rushed. Allow at least an hour to savor the view and private service by the hosts. Gardner takes great pride in keeping the blooming flowers in great condition. Hospitality and service and food selections greatly exceed other overnights in other locations.


Charming, Absolute Must-See Bed & Breakfast

5 en julio 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed two nights and booked the Morgan Suite. It was awesome. Julie and John were so amazing and so gracious to us, we truly felt like prince and princess in our own castle. The breakfast and dinner were truly magical experiences--every single dish was carefully prepared and masterfully executed. Be sure to bring your own wine! We loved every aspect of the Inn so much that we will most certainly return. Romantic places like the Morgan Samuels Inn inspire us all to relax, unlock our inner passions and live our lives to the fullest.


Romantic Weekend Get-A-Way for First Time Couple

5 en julio 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to travel to the Seneca Lake Wine Trail for a weekend. While looking for a place to stay I started reading reviews for this Inn. We were "first timers" to the bed and breakfast world and we were so overjoyed with our choice! When entering the driveway to the house it felt like all of our stress just disappeared when we saw the beautiful landscaping and Inn itself! John and Julie were absolutely wonderful. They welcomed us right into the Inn just like we were family and helped us with whatever we needed, even directions! We stayed in the Morgan suite, which is the master suite of the house. We had an amazing king size bed, sitting area in front of a fireplace, private bathroom, Jacuzzi spa tub, beautiful architecture and décor and we can’t forget the option to dine in the private dining room that overlooks the back patio and rose garden. Everything about the suite and the Inn was romantic, from the décor to the beautiful dining experiences. The gourmet breakfast was amazing and refreshing after a great night’s sleep, however if you want a real treat have the six course dinner created by John. There will be no complaints, trust me! And especially with the option of eating in the private dining room by candlelight sets the romantic pace. We loved it so much that we didn't want to leave; we actually stayed another night and had another exquisite dinner! John said when we arrived that he wanted to make it special for us and he definitely accomplished his goal! With this relaxing and romantic weekend to ourselves it has brought us closer together!


Most eleborate B&B

5 en julio 15, 2013

John and Julie were the perfect hosts. We were flying and our plane was late and called to let them know we would not be there on time. They advised us to be safe and take our time as they would hold our reservations. They advised us to let them know if we needed further directions or any questions to call anytime. The B&B was so beautiful and their hospitality very caring and outstanding. They made us feel very welcome and the rooms were beautifully decorated to the theme of the era. The breakfast was most delicious and far exceeded our expections. We have been to a lot of B&B and this was the BEST of the BEST


Wonderful Stay

4,4 en julio 10, 2013

Our stay at Morgan Samuels was outstanding. The rooms were clean and comfortable and for a building which is a couple hundred years old, quite spacious. If you enjoy gourmet food, this is the place for you. John and his wife, Julie, offer a fabulous dinner course (optional) that is absolutely 'to die for'. John is quite the cook! !!! We ate passed the point of being hungry. Breakfast is not your usual....they import from local bakeries and farmers markets, making breakfast another' dining experience'. Wonderful Stay!


Elegant and welcoming

5 en julio 08, 2013

We have stayed in many bed and breakfast inns around the country and the Morgan Samuels Inn is now our very favorite. Our two night stay at the Morgan Samuels was cozy, comfortable, and very relaxing. John and Julie Sullivan were thoughtful and gracious hosts. Our dining experience (dinner and breakfasts) was exceptional and very gourmet. We look forward to future visits to upstate the Finger Lakes area and a stay at the Morgan Samuels Inn.


Wonderful Anniversary Getaway

5 en junio 24, 2013

Hard to say enough about this B&B and the operators. John and Julie Sullivan know how to meet every expectation of a B&B stay without any hovering or intrusion. Three night's stay at Morgan Samuels goes down in our widely-traveled book as just a great experience and vacation. Electing to try John's dinner so to not have to look for a local restaurant our first night led us to not even consider going any place else for the next two nights. This is first rate eating and service, bar none! I cannot think of any restaurant--no matter how posh or exclusive that put forth any better dinners that this B&B. As for the breakfast meals, suffice to say that you won't even think about lunch as John and Julie "fuel" you for an entire day of sightseeing and wine shopping. There may be bigger and newer B&Bs, but you'll find none that can match Morgan Samuels in service, comfort, amenities, and, most importantly, the owner(s) sincere desire to make you truly feel at home. Going to the Finger Lakes? Do not miss the opportunity to experience Morgan Samuels Inn. Roy & Joy Croy Columbus, Ohio


Go. Don't think about it...just go!

5 en junio 13, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here. I'm always skeptical of B&B's, but the owner, John Sullivan, was truly welcoming and helpful without being at all intrusive. The home is gorgeous inside and out with lush landscaping and lovely antiques. We rented the best suite with the fireplace but I'm sure any of the rooms would be pleasing. Made the wise decision to spring for the home cooked dinner, which was sumptuous and delicious. Worth every penny. Breakfast, included, is also amazing with bountiful portions of fresh berries and other fruits, eggs, pancakes, etc. I'm a Four Seasons/Ritz Carlton/Relais &Chateau kind of guy and this met all my expectations and desires. Highly Recommended.


Morgan Samuel Inn

4,8 en junio 11, 2013

The dinner was beyond expectation. Six creative, fabulous, delicious dinner courses. Beautifully presented and served. Outstanding!! And, the same experience at breakfast. Such a silly description for the multi-course meal. The omelet was one of the most fabulous food items ever eaten.


Morgan Samuels Inn

5 en junio 10, 2013

My husband, sister, and I recently spent two wonderful nights with Innkeepers John and Julie Sullivan at the Outstanding Morgan Samuels Inn in Canandaigua, New York. We are all over 55, and were on vacation. We were delighted with the rooms, serice, cleanliness, and particularly the attention to every detail by the Innkeepers and staff. The setting and grounds are very beautiful. The most outstanding features of our visit were the two fabulous dinners and breakfasts. Susan, the new chef prepared special meals for us in accordance with our dietary preferences. The six courses were all delicious, and perfectly prepared. Particularly outstanding were the imaginative appetizers, soups, and salads, along with great main couse sauces and seasonings. A richly smooth chocolate was wonderful. Breakfast included a fabulous fruit tray with 24 varieties of fresh fruit as well as delicious yogurt, several hot options, muffins, and fresh, local breads.


AMAZING

5 en mayo 30, 2013

My husband and I returned to Morgan Samuel for our 20 yr anniversary. We had been twice before and it remains our all time favorite after trying many others. John was extremely gracious and place, the setting, and the breakfast were superb! But what really blew us away this time was the dinner! Best dinner out we've had in some time, all in a quaint and cozy nook overlooking beautiful gardens with soft music playing in the background... so romantic! We'll be back soon!!!!


A relaxing stay at Morgan Samuels Inn

5 en mayo 16, 2013

John and Julie are the wonderful hosts at this charming Inn. We stayed in the Victorian room, and whoa! What a beautiful room! After walking around the grounds and taking in the natural beauty of this historic setting, we had the dinner expertly prepared by John. What a feast! The table setting, the beautiful music, oh, the great meal! Breakfast is another treat. Slow paced, truly enjoyable! A great place to visit any time of year.


A great weekend get away

5 en mayo 14, 2013

This property was simply amazing. I would highly recommend this B&B to any couple looking to get away for a weekend or host a special event. Breakfast and rooms are first class! John, the inn keeper, really cares about the people who visit and goes above and beyond to ensure that your experience is special.


Great 32 Anniversary getaway!

5 en mayo 05, 2013

The service, room, food and grounds were wonderful! Recommend to our friends!


Peaceful oasis

5 en mayo 03, 2013

We were the blessed recipients of a two-night stay in the Victorian Room of this "English" looking country home. John was a gracious host/chef extraordinaire. The grounds were blossoming with the beauty of spring & we felt we'd come to an oasis in the midst of life. We definitely want to return & will highly recommend at least a two-night stay there to our friends & family.


A great weekend getaway

5 en mayo 02, 2013

We spent last weekend in Morgan Samuels Inn and we were delighted by the quality of the service, the kindness of the owners, John and Julie, the incredible scene, delicious food and our amazing room. We strongly recommend this place to everyone!


Enchanting... perfection... beyond expectations

5 en abril 28, 2013

We chose the Inn as the place to get married and planned an intimate dinner party with our 7 guests/wedding party. The inn was spectacular. We fell in love with all of the enchanting ways when we first "checked out" the Inn last fall. On our day... not a single hitch. Perfect weather, perfect atmosphere. PERFECT,PERFECT, PERFECT. We felt like we were the only ones there even though there were 3 other couples there. Dinner was amazing! The courses kept coming and coming. It was fantastic. The tenderloin dinner was to die for ...starting with the 1st course ... bread then an exquisite variety of appetizers plus soup, salad and then the entrée including corn on the cob, potato, peppers, and asparagus... lastly there was the richest chocolate cake. Unbelievable cuisine. John is amazing. And he personally stopped by and checked that all was well at both dinner and breakfast. Breakfast the next morning was very comparable with an abundant supply of more than 10 fruits fresh fruits plus fig and dates. We will definitely return to this magical place and look forward to enjoying more wonderful meals prepared by John and lovingly served by Julie. Thank you both for hosting literally the BEST day of our lives! Marsha and Don Covert Interlaken, NY


The proposal

5 en abril 27, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Morgan Samuels Inn in late April 2013. What a wonderful place. It was like stepping back in time to a simpler time and we were in awe of the decor. We stayed in the Victorian room. John and Julie were exceptional hosts. We dined in the tea room and were served, graciously by Chef John, himself. Greatest dining experience of our lives. John is an absolute magician with cuisines. I had the beef tenderloin which John prepared to perfection and she had the Salmon, also perfect. Between the fourth and fifth course, I proposed in that tea room and she said yes! Thank you John and Julie! This was an experience we will never forget!


Finger Lakes Area Find

5 en abril 24, 2013

We have stayed at a fair number of B and B's, but the Morgan Samuels Inn will be memorable. The building is a very well maintained historic farmhouse set away from the road in a beautiful, quiet pasture.The common areas and guest rooms are unique, nicely furnished and decorated, and spotless throughout. All very nice, but the innkeepers are what make this establishment remarkable. Easygoing, interesting, and accomodating, John and Julie in every repect made for a wonderful stay. The evening dining experience (a five course gourmet delight) prepared and served by John personally was temendous. The intimate and warm private dining porch was a perfect setting for a truly great meal. I am already contemplating our next road trip through the Finger Lakes and will be certain to stay with John and Julie again.


An Escape From Reality

4,2 en abril 22, 2013

My husband and I visited the Morgan Samuels Inn this past weekend and we stayed in the Morgan Suite. Breakfast was absolutely the best we have ever had. We started breakfast at 9:30 and ended at 11:00. We were continuously being served by John the entire time. The fresh squeezed orange juice, the endless tray of fresh fruit, and the choice of entrees was absoultely amazing. We also had a candlelit dinner at the inn on Saturday evening which was served to us in a private dinning room. The seven course dinner was beyond what we could have expected. Every course was unbelieveably better than the last. From the shrimp, homemade soup, to the mouthwatering filet that exploded with flavor, we could barely eat the homemade warm apple pie. (But we did!) We were very pleased with our two night stay. We have stayed at various inns over the past several years and we always look for a luxury suite with a fireplace and a two person jacuzzi. The suite had both, and the fireplace was an original wood burning. Most inns replace their fireplaces with gas and it takes away from the character of the homes. We left the inn so relaxed and reconnected we have every intention to return for our next escape from reality.


The Gift of Hospitality

4,8 en abril 20, 2013

As an anniversary gift, our son did the research to find the best B&B within 50 miles of Rochester, and to our delight, gave us a gift of a one night stay in the lovely Garden Room of the Morgan Samuels Inn. On a chilly April day, John warmly made us feel at home in the lavishly furnished and historically decorated surroundings. We were so glad that we chose to reserve and pay extra for the optional 7 course gourmet dinner with John as our private chef. After creating and serving an epicurian delight we so thoroughly enjoyed, we shared some of the wine we brought with him over interesting conversation. He graciously offered to please us as guests in every way. The candlelight breakfast with an array of fresh fruit, berries, hot muffins, and eggs, meat and pancakes or french toast all cooked to order was too scrumptious to resist over-indulging! The views of the countryside with the trees budding were beautiful and refreshing, inviting walks on the long scenic driveway. John surely has the gift of hospitality, and we are sorry that we didn't get to meet his wife, Julie, as from what I read, also must share that gifting.This was an exceptional and relaxing B&B getaway experience. Sincerely, Kathie and Jim


Wedding anniversary

3,2 en abril 14, 2013

Surprised my wife with a night at the inn from one of the Beverly Lewis' books she read. The candlelight dinner for two was incredible. Breakfast was just as great, fresh fruit and a choice of breakfast foods. Our night in the antique rose room was relaxing and comfortable. John and Julie made us feel right at home.


An Incredible First Stay

5 en abril 02, 2013

This was the first "true" B&B that my partner and I have ever visited. We wanted to do it right, so I did plenty of research beforehand, reading reviews and taking virtual tours. We chose the Morgan Samuels Inn for both its location and amenities - and we certainly weren't disappointed. Our room (the Victorian) was very inviting and cozy; we loved having our own fireplace and a full jacuzzi tab to relax in. The entire Inn was organized and clean, and it was a delight to explore the common rooms and enjoy the ambiance. Both breakfast and dinner were extraordinary - John is an excellent chef and will gladly cater to personal requests, if desired. I would definitely return for another stay if the opportunity arises.


Outstanding is the only way to describe it

5 en marzo 18, 2013

We received an invitation to stay at the Morgan Samuels Inn from a friend. Not many bed and breakfasts offer an evening meal for such a reasonable price. The owner knew that I was a gourmet chef and was critiquing his work and yet the meal was relaxing, comfortable, personable and excellent. John's breakfast added an extra dimension to the meaning of the word exquisite. We left feeling full and satisfied not stuffed and uncomfortable. Everything was truly memorable and we feel quite blessed to have been able to experience this unique opportunity. Keep up the good work. It was a beautiful home and a wonderful time. Thanks...


Romantic, Delicious, Cozy

5 en marzo 14, 2013

Romantic candlelight dining and incredibly delicious gourmet meals. Roaring fires or toasty stoves in every room. Beautiful countryside views and amazing hospitality. And a massage before supper. We were so pampered. We couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. Thank you John and family!


Morgan Samuels Inn

4,2 en febrero 28, 2013

Everything at the Inn was perfect. The breakfast was the best breakfast I have ever had. The staff made us feel welcome and at home. A great experience.


A Late Winter Escape

5 en febrero 28, 2013

Our drive to the Inn was very easy one living only 100 miles away, we both were excited about our overnight stay. Approaching the Inn up the long tree lined driveway, one could imagine how spectacular this place would be during the Summer months. Upon entering we were greeted by John and Julie followed by their dog Goldwyn a few moments later. They told us to make ourselves at home and that our room (Victorian) was ready for us, we toured the main floor marveling at its old world charm. The reason for our trip mainly was to attend the ice wine festival at the New York Culinary and Wine Center in Canandaigua. Upon returning for dinner at 7pm. John gave us our choice of seating, we chose the most private room just off the main dining room that has a great view of the gardens. Dinner was excellent, and served by John himself. Retiring to our room for the night, we sat by the fireplace with a glass of wine and talked about the amazing day we just had. The morning came with breakfast served by Julie, it was truly sumptuous. After breakfast we both had massages given to us by the very skilful Susan, her hands worked magic on our bodies. I must say that this was the best weekend trip we've taken so close to home, and promised ourselves to return during the Summer. Thank you, John and Julie for a wonderful stay in your home.


top 3 of of the 67 select inns we have been to in the north east. best in nys, but be sure to take your own wines.

4,4 en febrero 16, 2013

have been doing top class inns/ bb for last 12 years in ne usa.. this is in my back yard and just got there. relaxed, no pressure, great hosts, great staff, and food - evening/breakfast like you would not believe. exceptional value. mcleod of starkey,14th brieve de lin of the lews


Best anniversary/get-a-way weekend ever!!!

5 en febrero 12, 2013

Mike and Cheryl C.


Wonderful relaxing environment with outstanding food

4,4 en febrero 11, 2013

John and Julie run a really wonderful inn. They are very welcoming and the inn is quite comfortable. The breakfast offers a wide variety of fruit with a number of hot entrees available. Dinner is a multi-course affair with each item carefully prepared and presented. Note that the inn does not have a liquor license so you need to bring wine if you would like to have that with dinner. We will definitely return.


Fantastic Food and Service; Beautiful & Peaceful

4,2 en enero 02, 2013

Dinner and breakfast were among the best meals we've ever eaten. The inn keepers, Julie and Jon are warm and friendly, and have created a perfectly relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. Between the food, the glowing fire places and the classical music... we hated to leave!


John & Julie were true professionals

4,8 en enero 02, 2013

Upon arriving at this snow covered Chalet, our greeting and introduction to this 1810 Inn was extraordinary. The rooms were very unique and beautiful. We had also scheduled a private 6 course dining experience for our Anniversary getaway hosted by the Sullivan's. John was a true professional, bringing homemade cuisine spaced perfectly, elegantly and tastefully. The meal was delicious. Our breakfast experience was also memorable. The combination of unique fruit dishes, pastries, and homemade entrees was perfect. We will return to this hidden gem and plan to pass our experience to everyone. Great value for special occasions or a simple getaway.


The most perfect getaway to be hoped for!

5 en octubre 31, 2012

My boyfriend took me here as a surprise little getaway for my birthday. It was the best gift ever. The innkeepers were effusively friendly and welcoming, and I felt perfectly at home the entire time. The grounds, the house, the rooms, everything was not only well maintained but deliberately placed and cared for and charming. Anything we needed or wanted, we got, with smiles. The breakfast was out of this world- no stale croissants or vats of scrambled eggs. All exquisite, unique, delicious food. All the other guests were just as happy and thus enormously friendly. I loved the fireplace in our bedroom! It was warm, it was beautiful, it was just the right amount of fancy and upscale and relaxed, casual and welcoming.


what an amazing mini vacation

4,8 en octubre 31, 2012

On a very stormy nite we arrived to the most cosy and friendly inn. We didn't want to go out and get dinner and John the inn keeper suggested having our meal with him. What a fantastic and great meal! Food was great, ambiance was great and we didn't want to leave! Breakfast was even better if that is possible... We will be back!


Morgan Samuels Inn was exceptional

4,2 en octubre 30, 2012

The experience at Morgan Samuels Inn was exceptional. The friendliness and welcoming atmosphere immediately created a relaxing environment. John and Julie welcomed us as if we were 'guests' in their private residence! The occasion was to celebrate a joint birthday with a life long friend. John and Julie accommodated my husband, myself and our friends with the utmost professionalism, responding to our every wish. The breakfast was beyond belief and, we found, no need to eat lunch! The evening meal, or as I wish to refer to it, FEAST, was an overwhelming delight. It was as if we were in a 5 star restaurant! Presentation, service and quality of food was exceptional- right down to the birthday cake with ONE candle!


Delightful weekend at the Morgan Samuels B&B

4,2 en octubre 25, 2012

We had a delightful time at the inn. Our room was charming, cozy and comfortable. The public rooms of the inn were comfortable and the antiques beautiful. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful with a delicious array of foods (the fruit platter was especially nice), but dinner was superb. The setting, even past peak foliage, was lovely.


Never Experienced Anything Better Than Morgan Samuels!

5 en septiembre 30, 2012

My wife and I are seasoned travelers and have stayed in many very fine hotels and Inns. We stayed at Morgan Samuels on Sept 28th & 29th 2012 for our 36th wedding anniversary.....it was the most beautiful and cozy Inn we every stayed in. John and Julie paid attention to every detail and make you feel at home instantly. We felt so relaxed and wished we could have stayed a few more nights. We will be planning a getaway to Morgan Samuels at least once each year!


Morgan Samuels Inn

4,6 en agosto 26, 2012

My wife and I met another couple from Pittsburgh at the inn on Friday, May 25th. Our friends had never stayed or visited the Finger Lakes region. My wife and I had only stayed in B&Bs 3 times (all one night) before this. The four of us were amazed at both the inn and John Sullivan's culinary skills. All three breakfasts were amazing, I personally have never eaten so much food for breakfast in my life. The presentation was beautiful and the food was outstanding. John and Julie Sullivan definitely know how to treat their inn guests. On Sunday night, we enjoyed one of John's (what should be legendary) 9-course meals. After having the best pork chop in my life at the NY Wine & Culinary Center Friday evening, I was amazed at the food John prepared for us. The dinner was magnificent, and as a member in our party stated, "That was the best meal I have ever had!" We all had to agree -- it truly was! I would recommend the Morgan Samuels Inn to anyone who enjoys awesome food and excellent hospitality.


Heavenly

5 en agosto 11, 2012

“Heavenly” August 11, 2012 My husband and I recently stayed two nights at Morgan Samuel’s Inn, Canandaigua, NY. It’s a simply breathtaking retreat filled with love, luxury, welcome and warmth. John and Julie,(owners)have put heart and soul into endless attention to detail, all kinds of fascinating elements, extremely inviting style in every area and room in their historic Inn. Ultimate comfort and collections abound, including eye-catching murals, and impressive stone. I have to mention a lovely, well-accommodated library, with a large flat-screen opposite a cozy couch; movies and books to enjoy. A baby grand even greets you in the common room! Views from any window inside or chair outside, on 46 acres of farmland are outstanding. Gorgeous gardens, enchanting patios surround, and beckon to stay longer next time. Finely, John and Julie are truly the finest features of their Inn. John’s cuisine is just “Heaven-inspired” and unfortunately at this point in time at least, this treasure is little known. The entire dinner experience accompanied by Julie’s doting and infectious personality warmly lingers on, and simply transports you in heart and mind. (This is worth going for alone.) We loved it, we’re spoiled, we’re going back in the Fall with friends! John and Julie, God bless you, thank you, and here we come again! Meg Vaughan Lenz


The most relaxing vacation we've ever had!

5 en julio 30, 2012

As you drive up the tree-lined lane to this inn, you will be transported back in time to a beautiful county inn in a serene setting. The owners John and Julie are incredibly charming and friendly, and do everything in their power to make sure their guests have a wonderful stay. The warm, Victorian furnishings, the beautiful gardens, the smell of the fireplace and the classic architecture all add to the extremely relaxed and cozy atmosphere. The meals at the inn are indescribably decadent - John is truly a master chef. The complementary breakfast includes an enormous fruit tray with at least 20 different types of fresh fruit, huge omelettes with many different cheeses and fresh vegetables, homemade blueberry pancakes, and much more. Dinner at the inn is a unique experience, which should not be missed, and consists of 7 courses, each more delicious than the last. We always make a point of dining at fine restaurants for special occasions, but dinner at the inn was easily the most amazing meal we've ever had. The one modern aspect of the inn which is its amenities. Many rooms have Jacuzzi tubs (also quite relaxing), and all have up-to-date, clean bathrooms with good water pressure. The inn is air conditioned, and the rooms have quiet ceiling fans with remote controls. A spa offering excellent massages was also recently installed in the stone basement of the inn. Overall, the best, most relaxing vacation we've ever had. I wish we were still there now, and can't wait to go back!


Honeymoon in Heaven

4,6 en julio 27, 2012

That's what it was like !! We were married on Sat. the 21st and spent 2 nights here The grounds were beautiful, begging you to take a walk about. The Morgan Suite was better than expected. Comfortable, clean bedroom with sitting area in front of the fireplace with wine glasses waiting to be filled. It has it's own jacuzzi room, large bathroom, and it comes with it's own glass surround private dining room over looking a fountain, colorful floliage and playful squirrels to amuse you!!!! The breakfast is every so yummy !! Esp. the omelet and fruit platter surpasses any we've ever had !!! The dinner however, was the best !! A 7 course dinner (salmon & steak to perfection) from soup to dessert, served at a romantic candlelit table, by probably the best (innkeeper &) Chef there is, John Sullivan!!!!! We are planning a Valentine get-a-way right now !! You will not be dissappointed !! we promise Linda and Jim


A lovely chance to relax and unwind!

5 en julio 03, 2012

The setting is lovely. The food was fabulous. The breakfast was scrumptious but the dinner was amazing too. In fact the dinner was better than we had any of the local restaurants. Every course was yummy each displaying a great attention to detail. Our room and bathroom were clean and comfortable and we felt welcome in all the public areas. It was a long drive from NYC but well worth the visit.


Indelible Memories

5 en junio 25, 2012

My wife and I found the Morgan Samuels Inn to be the ideal escape to celebrate our 34th Wedding Anniversary. Supported by an outstanding and picture perfect 3 days of 78 degree weather and and pure crystal blue skies, John and Julie opened their doors to allow us to become a part of their own lives - sharing in the establishment of the Inn to John cooking us a 5-star / 7 course anniversary meal to Julie and my wife exchanging gardening tips to us bonding with their college-age son, Jonathan, and their new 10 week old Visla puppy - Goldwin. I encourage anyone seeking and needing a total escape at any time to visit the Morgan Samuels Inn for one of the finest lodging, dining and personal experiences you will ever have. It just can't get much better! And as for our indelible memories......The Morgan Suite, the fragrance of over 200 years of apple wood burnt in the fireplaces, warm chocolate chip cookies each evening, calming views of meadows, lakes, pastures - and cows, relaxing music, fantastic breakfasts, historic paintings and furniture and the best of all.......John, Julie, Jonathan and Goldwin.


A bit of Heaven on Earth

5 en junio 22, 2012

Everything about this B and B was outstanding. We had the largest accomodation and it was luxurious. The period furniture was beautiful and comfortable. The bed linens were first class. John and Julie welcomed us and spent time getting to know us and answered all our questions about sites to see in the area. We had arranged for the 5 course dinner ahead of time. To our surprise John both cooked and served an outstanding meal. The next morning the breakfast was equally terrific beginning with a silver platter of at least 15 different fruits. It was one of the best B and B experiences we have ever had! Melinda and Al


Anniversary in Wine Country

5 en junio 17, 2012

Our weekend at Morgan-Samuels with host John Sullivan was like a quick trip to Europe for less than the cost of a single plane ticket. Enjoyed a wonderful seven course dinner highlighted by a perfectly grilled and seasoned salmon filet. Jacuzzi suite was nicely furnished and comfortable. The ambiance of this Inn was a reminder of our time in the countryside of France and Switzerland. Carol and Dan.


Easter Weekend in the Finger Lakes 2012

5 en junio 11, 2012

My husband and I decided to take an impromptu road trip up the the Finger Lakes region Easter weekend and were lucky enough to get a reservtion for 2 nights at Morgan Samuels Inn. What a great experience! We originally booked the Victorian Room but upon arrival asked for the Morgan Suite after taking one look at it: stunning! Lucky for us, it was available. Mr. Sullivan couldn't have been more attentive, even lighting a fire for us while we stepped out for a late dinner at a nearby steakhouse (delicious, Mr. Sullivan recommended it). Breakfast was fantastic with several choices each morning. I would have been happy with that beautiful fruit platter! Unfortunately, I was unable to get Mr. Sullivan to reveal what type of coffee he brewed with french press! We took advantage of the option to return to the Inn for dinner, following the day touring wineries. We were not dissappointed. 5 courses prepared by Mr. Sullivan, Exceptionally priced considering it was a private dinning experience. There is no doubt that I would recommend the Inn! Part of the charm definately includes the innkeepers, the Sullivans are delightful. We were able to share a cup of that fabulous coffee on our last morning with Mr. Sullivan and had a terrific conversation. thank you for sharing your time with us! Hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, The Garvins


Great food!

4,0 en junio 07, 2012

This inn is a lovely place with an out-of-the-way feel. Peace and quiet abound! It is very comfortable in this regard. The innkeepers are extremely friendly and accommodating. The feeling that they're there for you is everywhere. The breakfasts are fantastic! The owner, a chef, has a gift for flavors that makes everything delicious! We took advantage of a dinner, and it was wonderful as well, but of course this isn't included in the price of the stay. The garden room was not as comfortable as it could have been. The bed and pillow left a lot to be desired. There were also little moths that came out in the bathroom at night. Harmless, but a bit annoying. One day, the towels smelled musty. This shouldn't happen at a place this lovely. I would recommend this inn for the food alone, and especially if you are an easy sleeper.


Repeat Visitor - and will continue

5 en mayo 06, 2012

This was our second visit and won't be our last. John and Julie are wonderful hosts, the Inn is well-maintained, the food is out of this world and the service cannot be better. If you want to enjoy a stay in the finger lakes, this is the place!


"A memorable experience"

5 en mayo 02, 2012

To begin with, this was our first time in a Bed and Breakfast. We were celebrating our sixth Wedding Anniversary, and I wanted to make it a memorable experience. We were not disappointed. The owners of The Morgan Samuals inn (Julie and John) treated us like royalty. They met us at the door when we arrived,and gave us a tour of the inn.The common rooms and the private dinning rooms are beautifully decorated, and the bedrooms are so lovely, we did not want to leave. We had dinner in one of the private dinning room, and chef John prepared a six course meal for us. I can not even begin to decribe how wonderful it was. In the morning we were treated to a fantastic breakfast. By the time we left we became friends. In just a few words, " It was a memorable stay"


Worth the stay

5 en abril 28, 2012

The innkeepers were simply wonderful, and we have stayed at lots of B & Bs.. The gourmet breakfast was beyond anything we could have imagined. The rooms were generally small, but attractive; the bathrooms, however were exquisite- nicer than I've ever seen anywhere. Wasn't pleased with the mattress, but my husband didn't mind it. I felt the Inn should be at this caliber for the price, but am giving the value a five anyways, as the breakfast alone was worth the cost of an expensive dinner out. Excellent hospitality, beautiful views and blazing fires made it very welcoming.


Perfection!

5 en abril 22, 2012

Much attention to detail was given by the owners (the Sullivans) in decorating. It was beautiful. The meals were absolutely wonderful! Mr. Sullivan had obviously spent a lot of time in finding the tastiest ingredients. He also spent time in connecting with each one of his guests. I would not hesitate to recommend this Bed and Breakfast. It truly was a treat!


Luxurious and Relaxing Comfort plus EXCELLENT food!

5 en abril 19, 2012

We absolutely loved every minute of our stay here! Both dinner and breakfast were beyond our expectations... and so specifically catered to our preferences. John, our host was professional, helpful and extremely friendly. We truly enjoyed talking with him. The grounds and interior were a pleasure to explore and appreciate. We would recommend this wonderful experience in a minute. Thank you !


A wonderful surprise!

5 en abril 12, 2012

We were hoping for a quick getaway for a few days and found a beautiful piece of paradise that we didn't want to ever leave! The proprietor, John, was welcoming, friendly and charming. Breakfast was amazing, but we would recommend everyone who visits to have dinner on site. John created a 6 course gourmet masterpiece, served to us in our own private dining area. We were treated as if we actually owned the home. We have already booked our next visit. I have stayed at over a dozen B&B's and this was by far the best.


How could you ask for anything more?

5 en enero 28, 2012

The highlight was definitely the high class, gourmet food. I highly recommend accepting the innkeeper's personal choices rather than trying to make a custom order -- he is truly a chef and you will not be disappointed (unless you're idea of the perfect meal is a bland burger, then maybe you should speak up). From the moment we arrived we received a warm, friendly, polite greeting and we were made to feel at home. The historic inn is beautiful and we enjoyed the facilities in the room -- a very luxurious bathroom and the wood fireplace was very cozy.


A rare find.

4,0 en diciembre 10, 2011

As a recent guest, my sons were served a marvelous Thanksgiving meal by the owner, whose warmth and hospitality are matched only by the genuine historic character, furnishings, and ambience of the Inn. There really is nothing like it in the area. Step out of the busy and banal world about you and enjoy quiet and elegance that is a rare find.


a wonderful inn in the Finger Lakes wine country

5 en noviembre 11, 2011

We've been coming here for weekend getaways for the past 7 years. The inn is beautiful as are the outside surroundings. Wonderful hosts, wonderful breakfasts. We love staying here. Ken and Joan


Great Place To Stay

5 en octubre 21, 2011

We love the Canandaigua/Rochester NY area and love staying at this Inn. Over the years, we usually stay her twice a year and always pick this Inn because of the great service and the wonderful atmosphere. The grounds are peaceful and relaxing( I say it is a little bit of heaven). The breakdfast is the best of any B&B we have ever visited.


Wine Tour Getaway Weekend

3,6 en octubre 17, 2011

Spent a long weekend at Morgan Samuels with my boyfriend and had a wonderful time! The Inn is simply lovely and the surrounding area is so breathtakingly beautiful! It's definitely a special place. The staff is great, the Inn clean and comfortable. It's in a perfect area to get away for some quite time. Will certainly be back!


Secluded Paradise in the Finger Lakes

5 en octubre 16, 2011

20 years ago today, my husband and I became engaged in this romantic hidden treasure. When returning to a place that meant so much, we were hoping that it still held the magic and charm of yesterday. And it did! Much older, and much more experienced, we were thrilled to find our favorite inn has matured in a good way. Offering all of the modern conveniences while maintaining all of the treasures we value. The long winding pathways, the cows in the meadow, the beautiful views from every window, the delicious food, the warm and wonderful hospitality. Thank you Morgan Samuels for another golden memory!! David and Jessica


Just what the doctor ordered!

5 en septiembre 17, 2011

My husband and I had one night to enjoy some adult time while our daughter was away. We wanted to stay closer to home and limit our time traveling and maximize our time relaxing. The curb appeal of the Morgan Samuels was delightful. A long, treed drive that slowly revealed the beauty of the Inn. A plate of warm chocolate chip cookies in the entryway and Brad's smiling face greeted our arrival. Our room was gorgeous and well appointed. We had a fountain just below our porch which provided some peaceful background noise. Sprinkled around the Inn were benches, swings, chairs just for 2. It was hard to choose which spot to sit and enjoy each others company. Breakfast was indescribable. One of the most amazing omelets I have ever had. After such a filling meal, we strolled the grounds and found the long walk around the property and drives to be a wonderful and relaxing use of our time. I would highly recommend this Inn especially if you want to do nothing but relax. It makes a perfect destination to share with someone you love!


A Perfect Getaway

4,8 en septiembre 11, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our second visit to the Morgan Samuels Inn. We stayed in a new room this time and it was as charming and well kept as the first. We were able to enjoy the grounds this visit and loved all the gorgeous landscaping and finding lovely hidden views around each corner. What topped off our wonderful stay was the amazing breakfast and service. We once again were delighted and amazed with the quality and quantity of scrumptious fare at the gourmet breakfast. Morgan Samuels Inn is a real gem!


Family reunion

4,2 en agosto 13, 2011

We used the Morgan Samuels Inn for a family reunion and were very pleased. Everyone on the staff was very welcoming and the breakfast was nothing short of amazing. Very peaceful locatin. Very relaxing.


A great experience

5 en agosto 10, 2011

As soon as we pulled up to the long tree-lined driveway we knew we chose the right place. Each room was even more beautiful then the next and felt like we were going back in time. The cuisine was absolutely incredible. The best we've ever had. Brad was really helpful in directing us to different locations. I highly recommend choosing Morgan Samuels Inn for your next stay!


We won't ever forget the Morgan Samuels!

4,6 en agosto 10, 2011

We had such a memorable stay at Morgan Samuels, that it's hard to translate the memory into words. Not only is the property spectacular and stunning, but we were treated so kindly and generously by our hosts, Brad and Connie. The property is meticulously maintained with gorgeous views in all directions. We had read about the wonderful gourmet breakfasts-but were unprepared for HOW delicious and generous it was. Brad and Connie were so friendly and helpful, that we felt at home instantly. We definitely recommend Morgan Samuels Inn to everyone...and we fully intend to come back again. Well worth driving off the NY State Thruway to stay here, rather than a Hampton Inn. Please Note- we gave the room (The Garden Room) 3 stars ONLY because it was a small room with a small bath. It was fine for one night (or for one guest). However, you step outside to an instant "secret garden" all your own! Terese and Paul Moorhead


A Step Back in Time

5 en agosto 03, 2011

LOVELY & ROMANTIC.......Last week we spent our wedding anniversary at one of the most beautiful and serene bed & breakfasts we have ever been to, and we have been to many. The inn is so charming with many great areas inside & outside to sit and relax & enjoy. The soft music was so soothing and the ANTIQUE FURNISHINGS were wonderful. The inn keeper, Brad was very gracious and thoughtful; he made to feel so comfortable. The inn owners John & Julie (who happened to be at the inn when we were there) were terrific and we spent precious moments talking to each of them. You could tell that they really cared how things were run for the comfort & enjoyment of the guests. Now, about the delicious CANDLE LIT BREAKFAST; it was suburb with its twenty or so exciting fruits, all very fresh. Unlike other B&B’s we have visited, we were offered a choice of several delicious gourmet entrees, all carefully arranged & served on beautifully set tables. We chose the LOVELY & ELEGANT Morgan Suite that included a personal breakfast room downstairs, which we also loved. It overlooks the patio with its fountain and beautiful flowers and shrubs which are also visible from the other beautiful dining areas. We are looking forward to our next rendezvous to share more wonderful memories. Thank you John, Julie & Brad for making our getaway feel so special. Sorry we missed Connie (Brad’s wife) On a scale of one to ten, we give a resounding 10! Jack & Linda Lysander, NY


Perfect Romantic Getaway

4,6 en agosto 01, 2011

I selected Morgan Samuels Inn for our 26th wedding anniversary based upon other reviews and I was not disappointed. The Inn and surrounding grounds are peaceful and beautiful. The hosts are friendly and the breakfast superb.


Wonderfull Fairytale Inn

5 en julio 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed a night at the Inn and wished we could have stayed another week. Everything about this Inn was perfect and exceeded our expectations, which are generally high. This Inn outclassed any Bed and Breakfast that we have stayed at in Britain, and we are sure to compare all other stays anywhere else to this delightful establishment. We will be sure to stay again in the nearest future that we can manage.


A True Oasis!

5 en julio 20, 2011

My wife and I have been going to the Morgan Samuels Inn for about 4 years now. We are amazed at how relaxing, peaceful, beautiful, and breathtaking the experiences have been. Each time seems to get better. The innkeepers are incredibly warm and down-to-earth as is the additional staff. The breakfast is like no other. It starts with close to 20 different fruits, then baked apples, the most amazing warm bran muffins with fruit inside, eggs, garden or Greek omelets, pancakes or French toast, and a few fresh breakfast meats to choose from. The grounds take you back to the late 1800's. There are two tree-covered driveways (wonderful for walks) that allow this Inn to be away from the hustle and bustle of life. The rooms are beautiful and unique. Wood-burning fireplaces are available in some rooms, which offer that relaxed fall or winter experience. We will always have a warm felling in our hearts when we think of the Morgan Samuel Inn.


Quaint and Classy

4,6 en julio 19, 2011

I was highly impressed with the Morgan Samuel's Inn. The house is a mansion from the 1800s that has been updated accordingly since then, but still maintains the ornate colonial and Victorian touch. It's all very elegant, tasteful, clean, and the housekeeper tidies up the room and bed area every day as well. The land the house sits on is equally impressive. Amidst raccoons, cows, flowers, beautiful landscapes, a tennis court and many acres of nature. The innkeepers are very friendly and always available to give advice on the area or for any miscelaneous needs. Some Bed and Breakfasts can come off as 'creepy,' but the inn and innkeepers are far from that! The food might even be the best part. The breakfast comes with a huge dish of fruit, fresh baked muffins, and an oral menu that is appetizing to everyone. The food is delicious and cooked to perfection. Couldn't have asked for better. If you're looking for a romantic bed and breakfast to be pampered set back from the lakes and town, this is the place for you.


Well worth the visit

5 en noviembre 18, 2010

I was spoiled the minute I walked through the door and was met by Brad Smith with a plate of fresh baked Chocolate Chip cookies. He showed us around the Inn and then showed us our room...a fantastic and beautiful historic estate. He welcomed us and made us feel right at home. the next morning we were greeted in the tea room with a multi-course breakfast, cooked and served by Brad himself. Best breakfast I have ever had. This is my first B&B stay and I think I have been spoiled and may be disappointed in future B&B's. Well worth the visit.


Absolute pleasure

4,6 en enero 01, 2009

Breakfast was outstanding. Room was beautiful. Country setting. Very quiet and peaceful. Warm fireplace.


SPECTACULAR

4,6 en diciembre 09, 2008

Just spent an absoultely enchanting eveing at Morgan Samuels Inn. I am not much into B&B's, but my stay here has changed that opinion. The room and surroundings were the nicest i have seen. The entire home is decorated in antiques. Working fireplaces, and modern bathing facilities blend in nicely with the "old feel" of the home. We were more then surprised at the morning breakfast. It was a gormet feast consisting of a fresh fruit platter, freshly baked muffins, and a choice of breakfast entrees. i am told that everything was prepared by our host, Brad. We will be back in the spring or early summer to enjoy the estate.


Relax and take in fall foliage

5 en noviembre 03, 2008

Beautiful, 1800s inn with lovely grounds and gardens and superb breakfast!!!


Morgan - Samuels Inn

5 en agosto 01, 2008

What a great place to stay! The hospitality, accomodations, service, and grounds provide a very pleasant and relaxing experience. Make the tirp, you won't regret it.


Gracious Grounds, Amazing Breakfast

3,6 en julio 14, 2008

The Morgan Samuels Inn is a grand estate on gorgeous grounds. We've stayed at many leading B&B's across the states and in Europe but this Inn makes one of the best breakfasts we've ever had! The fabrics in rooms and towels could use updating.


Excellence

5 en junio 11, 2008

Elegant but cozy, a wonderful stay, the food is unrivaled, as is the hospitality.


Beautiful Place with Lovely people

5 en junio 03, 2008

The inn had all the charm you would want if you were trying to create a perfect place for a night of comfortable, stress free enjoyment. The food adds to the experience.


Beautiful Inn

5 en octubre 19, 2007

Very tastefully appointed public area and great rooms. Brad, the innkeeper, is a great host. He is ver knowledgeable about the area and also a very good chef.


Outstanding

5 en septiembre 14, 2007

This is a destination inn! We look forward to our stay from the minute we leave our home. Extra special service, beautiful grounds, add to a perfect stay. We recommend this B&B to all!


lake villas

5 en junio 08, 2007

Just stayed at their Lake Villas on Seneca Lake & had the best time. Julie & John made us feel like we were at home. Highly recommened. Going back again next year. Thanks!


Morgan Samuels Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $179 - $299
  • Comentarios (134) 4,8
  • Habitaciones 6
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-5853949232
  • Fax 1-5850000000
  • Tel. móvil
    1-5857216656

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba